220367 User submitted reviews online!!
San Diego Metro KOA was rated 9 out of 10 based on 81 user reviews. Phone: (619) 427-3601
CGID309

San Diego Metro KOA

Camp Information
Sites
270
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$75



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   9   9   10   8   6   9   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$75
This place is perfect for our trips to Sea World and the San Diego area. Easy to find and check in. Check in has been simple and fast. The employees have been friendly and cheerful. The campground is nicely laid out and easy to navigate. Easy to pull into sites and out. Sites are good size with enough space for slides. Both of my slides extend 40 inches. We were able to extend our awning. Long level sites. Great place to camp for families with children. Swimming pool, play ground, air pillows, and other activities were all excellent. Our travel trailer is almost 35 feet long and we had no trouble navigating or parking. This was our fourth time here. We will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$45
Stayed here on the first and last days of a Fantasy Caravan tour to Baja California. Rate reflective of group discount. Most would rate this park a 10, but with all the noise and construction, had to make it a 9. We didn't use the laundry and other facilities, but tour mates who did said they were very nice. Easy on and off the freeway for our big rig. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$50
This is the First California RV park we've come across in our travels with ample room at each site! YAY! We arrived today for a 4-night stay. We had only planned to stay 2 nights, but the park is so lovely we extended it to 4. We pulled in & the staff, in typical KOA fashion, were warm & welcoming. Once we got to our site, we breathed a sigh of relief. We've come to expect narrow sites in California for some reason, but not at the KOA! Lovely wide sites, paved for the RV, grass at one side, and a picnic table at each site. Off-leash dog area, pool, little convenience store, and bikes for the kids that look like go-karts. How can you go wrong? Also, typical for a KOA is the volume of activities for kids, including more than one playground area in the resort. Free internet, cable, and 30/50 amp. Full-service park in every aspect. The final bonus is that everything of interest in San Diego is only 50 minutes or less away! We love this park, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anybody. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2014
$56
This is a nice friendly park. They are doing some construction now, probably preparing for spring/summer. Our site was an end site and was very nice. They have Tengo Internet which is worthless. It is good that the mobile phone coverage is fine. Very convenient for all San Diego attractions. We liked the bike path that is nearby. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2014
$35
Rate is based on monthly plus electric. This is a great location if you are visiting the San Diego area. Even though the park is in Chula Vista and not San Diego proper, it is very close to all San Diego sites. There are a lot of trees and green space and the sites are spacious. As usual, this KOA is kid friendly and also adult friendly. We will stay here again in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$68
This is a beautiful park for being in an urban area. The site was level but the electric pedestal was located in the rear 1/3 of the site so that my living room slide forced me to park the RV 3 1/2 feet into the site. I couldn't move forward because my long bed crew cab would then not fit in the site and I did not see any overflow parking (although there may have been). All utilities worked but the Wi-Fi was pretty bad, not from signal strength though, but because the provider was having problems. There was a lot of helicopter traffic flying overhead late into the night that was fairly loud but other then that it is a quiet park. All in all a nice park in a great area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2013
$52
This park is not in San Diego it is several miles away in Chula Vista despite the name of the campground. The park was very noisy because there was a high school seniors trip so we were not able to use the pool area without being subjected to loud screams and horseplay (please warn your guests when checking in if you have a rowdy group). My other gripe would be that none of the staff even waved at any guests when passing them as is customary at most parks. I feel like while the park was o.k. but I would try staying somewhere else in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$70
Nice park only seven miles from Bay area attractions. A bit pricey at $70.00 plus tax and there are no Good Sam or other discounts available - unless you are a KOA member. Showers are clean, but low level of shower heads are an annoyance (approx. 5.5 feet high). Excellent Wi-Fi connection and it's free. Lots of pull throughs as we pull a cargo trailer with our motor scooters in it. Not very populated in the campground which surprised us. Overall, nearly perfect. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$45
Had a great time here, sites were level (we had a concrete pad). Pool and restrooms were clean, quiet park. Only drawback was we were invaded with ants the first night, but I think this area is nothing but a giant anthill and once measures were taken, no more pests We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$62
Very nicely landscaped KOA, but landscaping does interfere with maneuvering a large rig. Our site had a lamp post on the front left within 18" of the pad and a tree on the right front within 2' of the pad. The tree overhung the access road and was not trimmed sufficiently high to clear a rig trying to exit the site. Access roads between the rows are very narrow, sites are concrete slabs with concrete patios. Sliders overhung the patio. Our site was inundated with bird droppings throughout our stay. The campground was overrun with kids, however, it was the middle of spring break. Lots of things for the kids to ride around the campground. Slight road noise from the 805. It is 5 to 10 minutes from the trolley then 30 minutes to downtown on the trolley. Utilities were fine. Wi-Fi signal strong with decent speed, but with frequent requirements to re-connect. Typical Tengo Internet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2013
$32
Rate reflects monthly rate out of season. I absolutely love this campground. It's like family. Great sites to choose from, lots of activities for kids. Chula Vista is calmer than San Diego, but a short drive to all San Diego has to offer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2013
$55
One of the best parks in US. Great staff, location, and facility. Stayed 13 nights. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2013
$55
This is a NICE KOA! Check in was smooth and friendly. Our site was a pull through, very level and paved. Each site has a hedge to screen from the road and neighbors. Lots of trees and grass, with crews working all around to keep it up. Although close to the freeway, we didn't hear it. Internet worked very well and Verizon cell was also excellent. We would love to spend more time here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2012
$60
Great animal park. Very clean with many things for dogs to do. We definitly will come back for the atmosphere and facilities. Nice sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$49
Returned for a wonderful stay of 13 nites. Grounds are kept well. We especially liked early morning walks around the park, including the open green space is the rear. Sites are superbly maintained. Weekends are busy, but during the work week, the facility is wonderfully quiet. Will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$77
This was a very busy campground. The campground is beautiful, the staff professional and helpful. Check in was fast, and no fee for early check in, if space is available. Nice shade trees and grass. Unfortunately, there was a huge family reunion going on in the sites around us. KOA allowed tents in the RV site next to us, and our grass area was now their grass area. We felt very uncomfortable sitting outside of our 5th wheel because their tents were right up against our grass facing our space with their chairs and trash on our grass. Hard to complain to KOA when there are 50+ people who would know we complained. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$55
This is a tough property to rate. Lots of good, some not so good. Beautiful rose bushes, but in the econo section (still $55) just gravel and no landscaping. Seemed to be lots for kids to do, and they seemed to enjoy the pool, which we did not use. Very convenient to San Diego. We walked 5 minutes to bus, transferred to trolley, and were downtown in 45 minutes door to door, on a $5 day pass purchased on the bus and good for unlimited rides. Very good printed info on how to use transit system, if you choose not to drive. You can walk to grocery store and various restaurants. Staff very helpful. Now for the less positive: smell of sewage at various places, including washrooms; warnings to spread powder to avoid ants in RV (but at least they warned you!); Wi-Fi access very inconsistent. Expensive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$85
If you are looking for a fun place to camp with family and friends, this is it! If you are looking for a secluded, quiet type of camping this isn't the place for you! We camped with 5 other families over Memorial Day weekend and it was packed. It's VERY kid and pet-friendly and the staff is great and easy to find with their bright yellow Hawaiian print shirts! The grounds are beautifully landscaped with lots of shade trees and flowers in bloom. The kids had a great time riding all the different wheeled vehicles. We had site #1519 and there were no RVs behind us so it was a little more secluded. Our only complaint is that they won't give you specific sites until you get there, even though they take reservations. That was a little annoying, especially since there were 6 families camping together, but they were able to accommodate us and got us close to each other as requested. It's nice that they have places for tents too since not everyone in our group had an RV. We highly recommend this park to anyone who wants to enjoy themselves, relax and have fun with your family and friends. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$31
This is our first stay in this park, but it will not be our last. We have been here for six weeks, and have really enjoyed it. Spaces are paved, fairly level, picnic table, and grass at each site. Plenty of room for slideouts. It is amazing to find a treed, grassy spot right in the middle of the city. Clean restrooms and showers, that are checked multiple times a day. Beautiful flowers all over the park. They have an award winning former professional landscaper taking care of the grounds and it shows. Basketball, Ping Pong, rock climbing wall, great kids playgrounds, and a very good dog area. Great place to use as a base for sightseeing the area. People in the office very friendly and helpful. Heard one of them going to great lengths finding transportation for for sightseeing for three young ladies with out a car. Busy on weekends, but not obnoxiously so. The rate shown is the monthly rate including electricity. I have to admit it takes a lot for me to give a 10, that is why the nine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$57
Price reflects VK discount. The park has some asphalt and some concrete streets and sites. There are two large Kamp K-9's for the dogs nicely located on the far side of the park as well as a nice pet walk area overlooking a ravine and a huge grassy area as well. Also there is a dog bath $6 for 10 minutes which includes shampoo, conditioner, dryer, etc. Very nice trees and landscaping and we asked for a satellite friendly site and it worked well between the trees and hill. Verizon signal was strong and Tengonet WiFi worked very reliably. I agree there is highway noise and some sites are rather small. There appears to be no attempt to enforce the rules, with campers placing their drying laundry on their vehicles in front of their sites and/or clotheslines strung about and screaming kids unattended and running the park after dark. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2012
$50
This is the best KOA we have ever stayed in. The managers and staff are all friendly and helpful. The sites are long and wide, the children's amenities are endless (including a new climbing wall) and the dog parks are great! We would definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2012
$58
I just have to say I love service with a smile! We were greeted with very happy and helpful staff members, that even though they might have been faking it,actually looked like they enjoyed their job. So many times at RV parks across the country you get some grumpy old fart checking you in that seems so inconvenienced that they have to help you. The park itself was beautiful with great amenities and spacious sites spread throughout the park. Thank you for a great stay and I would definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$70
Very nice park with cement driveways and pads. Large grass area, with enough space between sites. We were in a deluxe site. The Wi-Fi was good and there where plenty of TV channels. It is a typical KOA with a lot for kids to do, except the park is nicer than most KOA's! The only down side is the turns can be tight, they recommend that you disconnect the tow car before entering the park. Also, our site had NOT been cleaned before we arrived. The restrooms where clean and the park is well run. We will visit again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$64
Great laundry. Excellent Wi-Fi. 2 dog parks. Beautiful landscaping. Helpful staff. Everything a family could want. Huge playground. Only negative is the price! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$58
This is one of the best RV parks in US. Clean, safe, and so beautifully maintained. Excellent Kamper kitchen. Easy walk to Starbucks and other shops. Stayed for 2 weeks as a return camper. Will return. Pool is superb, showers plentiful and clean. WiFi works well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$70
We stayed here over the Labor Day weekend. It is a very nice park with a lot of activities for the kids. We booked a premium back-in site, and had plenty of room, nice grassy areas. However, these sites are right off the main road. With Labor Day the park was extremely busy with too many cars going in-and-out that made it somewhat hectic with cars, my kids, other kids, bikes, etc. We will return but will look for an interior pull-through spot without all the congestion. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$65
Nice campground and very family friendly. Sites are average, a bit cramped with not much privacy between neighbors. No fire ring although you can reserve one. Nice pool, laundry. Location is what's bad about this place - far to the beach. Will not stay here again as it's just too far. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$70
This was our first big KOA destination type campground stay. We typically like the calm and quiet of the state parks but were in San Diego for Sea World, Zoo and beaches over the July 4 weekend. You are packed in tight with other campers and the campground was at 100% occupancy. It was fairly loud and active during the day and we were wondering how it was going to calm down at 10pm, but surprisingly, our neighboring campers were very aware of the quiet hours and shut it down and quieted down at 10pm on the dot. The campground has everything to offer: pool, rec room, horse shoes, bike rentals, basketball court and on and on. 20 minute drive to the zoo or Sea World or downtown. Very clean grounds. Overall an interesting experience for us. A bit expensive but proximity to destinations made it worth it. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$40
Great park. Clean and respectful smokers who dispose of their cigarette butts properly! Great staff, very accommodating. Beautiful landscape and added touches like hummingbird feeders and flags. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$74
As always, this KOA is fantastic! Beautiful landscaping, clean, safe and extremely friendly staff made our stay very pleasant. Our grandchildren traveled with us, and they too had a great time. This family owned park shows pride of ownership, and they go above and beyond to make sure your stay is enjoyable! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$58
We stay at this KOA every spring and they continue to improve it. There is a playground and nearby basketball courts to keep the kids busy, along with bike rentals. The staff is always very nice and helpful. Part of our group stayed in the "lodge" - their newest cabin. It was top notch: kitchenette, shower/toilet, new beds, and bedding included. The location is convenient to all of the theme parks in the San Diego area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2011
$62
We've stayed there in the past and had a great time but this time was our worst camping experience of all time. The people in the next site played extremely loud music on their outside speakers all day and way after quiet hours. We notified the management numerous times to no avail. No one from the park would address the issue. The amenities in this park are nice, but we will never stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2010
$58
Wonderful RV park. The facility was clean, well maintained, good layout, and the staff was helpful and friendly. Restrooms and showers facilities were big and clean. This park is like an island in the middle of a city. This is certainly a go back to place. One of the best, even the December rains couldn't ruin the visit. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2010
$55
This is the nicest KOA we have ever stayed at. The grounds are beautiful. There are lots of amenities, and the employees are friendly and helpful. The Wi-fi works great. Our only problem was being unable to use our roof top satellite dome because of all the tall trees in the park. But cable TV is available which makes up for the lack of reception over our satellite system. We don't give very many 10's but this park gets one from us. We would gladly stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$80
First time here and I was very pleased. I went for 4th of July weekend, which was a 3-night minimum, and had a "Preferred Pull-through" site. I'm assuming the rate was higher for the holiday weekend. They have a couple of basketball hoops, a very big playground, high-end outdoor ping pong table, 2 horseshoe pits, large clean pool and activities for the kids given by camp counselors. The staff was very friendly and they offer fire pits, which will be brought to your site by employees, by request. There is a store on site, which I did not visit. There is campground access to a bike trail. They allow tents on the trailer sites, I am not sure if there is an additional charge, but there is an 8 person max per trailer site. Campground is about a 10-15 minute drive from PETCO Field, Gaslamp District, Seaport Village, Convention Center, Miday Museum, etc. I believe you can catch a trolley into town from a nearby station, (about 2 miles). I would like to visit this campground again, very nice. 10% discount with KOA Membership. Membership is $24 annually and can be purchased when making reservation and applied to that visit. Depending on your visit total, it could pay for itself. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$60
Wow! What a gem this place is. We stayed at 3 KOA's on our trip (see reviews for Green River, UT and Beaver, UT) and this one was by far the best of them all. Our plans changed and we called to see if we could arrive a day early, and they said no problem, & we didn't have to move our spot the next day! We felt like we were at a resort! All of the beautiful landscaping and nice touches (hummingbird feeders, garden banners). It was quiet despite the nearby highway and being at capacity on the Friday and Saturday that we were there. We stayed a total of 5 nights, met most of the staff during that time, and we were not disappointed. They deliver the firewood to your campsite for you! Very clean shower rooms & bathrooms. Even though they were at capacity 2 nights we were there, it did not feel crowded or noisy. We met incredible people from all over the world. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$50
This is one of our top 3 RV parks in the US. Has beautiful grounds, an excellent layout, great for kids, and wonderful staff. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$58
World class RV park with large sites, great playground, fenced dog park, nice pool and spa. The grounds are landscaped beyond belief with colorful flowers and spectacular rose bushes. They are worth the price of admission alone. We camped with two first graders and two medium size dogs and were very comfortable. The park is near the freeway so there is some background noise but nothing that can't be ignored day or night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$55
This park is clean, landscaped nicely and has bird feeders hanging on the end of rows. The streets and sites are paved and level. There is grass between sites. The playground is very nice. The pool is heated, but the water was too cold for us to use. The rates are higher on the weekend and the washers are $2. The dog park is nice, but you must walk down a dusty road to get to it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$55
Just finished a long, rainy weekend at the San Diego Metro KOA: our first visit there. Apparently it has won a number of KOA awards and we could see why. The park was spotless, with all of the amenities: paved roads and spaces, excellent utility connections, good cable and Wi-Fi, friendly staff, well-stocked store, heated (year round) pool, playground for the kids, etc. Pets are welcome with a fun pet play area. As is often the case with metro parks, the spaces are kind of close together, but that wasn’t an issue for us. Because of the weather, there weren’t many of us out this weekend. Overall a good experience and we will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$40
We are not used to paying this much ($40 per night) but needed to stay here to link up with others for Mexico RV caravan. It was an OK place to stay and was very convenient to the border and for last minute shopping. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2009
$60
I was completely surprised how such a nice place could be in the middle of the city. It is located close to a freeway, but the noise isn't that bad (more of white noise than anything else). The roads in the campground are narrow so pulling in and out is a bit tricky. Outside of that, this place was wonderful. Concrete pads for the coach, brand new (we attended the ribbon cutting ceremony) playground for the kids, some of the most friendly staff I've ever seen! They don't have fire pits at the sites, but all you need to do is ask at the front office, and they'll deliver a portable one for you. If you don't have wood, purchase it at the same time, and they'll deliver that too! Outside of the freeway "White Noise," my wife and I noticed how quiet this place was. Very child friendly! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$39
Great campground. This place was packed for the Thanksgiving holiday, but it was still extremely clean. The staff was very friendly, and the on-site store had all the little items you may have forgotten. The pool was clean and refreshing, and each of the sites were separated by a nice hedge row and landscaping. Our only minor complaint was that the playground did not have anything for toddlers or infants. A nice set of Toddler swings would have been nice, but this was a minor gripe. The price was a little high, but reasonable compared to other places in San Diego considering all they had to offer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$59
The park is big with a wonderful dog exercise area divided for both large and small dogs. The staff were very helpful especially since it was a holiday weekend and we had a problem with our motorhome. They were very understanding and even offered to refund our stay if we could not get our RV fixed and had to leave early. The restrooms were clean and well stocked, the pool area was very nice and there are a few child playgrounds in the park for the kids. This seems to be a great park for families with children who all had a good time. We will definitely stay here again the next time we visit San Diego. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$60
This is our favorite park. It is super clean with great landscaping. The staff is excellent and super friendly. There are large easy to use sites. The utility layout is excellent. It is pet friendly. There are great activities, and it welcomes a broad range of campers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$64
We really enjoyed our stay here, the campground was a great launching point for attractions in San Diego, and Disneyland in Anaheim. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, the wifi was excellent, and the site was great too. The noise from the highway was the only drawback, we were very close to the entrance. By the end of the week we didn't even notice it. We would definitely stay at this campground again. We did not take advantage of all the amenities, but the laundry, showers and pool were all just fine. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$55
We had a great time at this campground. The staff was very nice and helpful, and the park was nice and clean. It was a little tight driving around but not too bad. About twenty minutes from Sea World and Old Town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$50
This is a great park with plenty of space between spots and very clean. The staff is extremely pleasant and helpful. We were there Easter weekend and they had several fun activities planned for the kids, and plenty of staff on hand to interact and assist when needed. WiFi worked well. Fire pits are first come, first serve but we did not have a problem getting one when we arrived (aside from the delay in it being delivered to our site). We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$50
Excellent place, clean, close and friendly. Staff seems to be always around to help out with info or camping needs. Parking is a little rough with the tight streets. Nightly rate was a guess as wife has the numbers and she is out sightseeing with the grandkids. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2009
$60
Park was very well maintained. Rate was before discounts. Sites were well spaced, but were of barely adequate length. Roads were quite narrow and required very careful maneuvering (but shouldn't we always). New dog runs have been recently added which were very adequate in size, but sometime after dark, watch dogs were released in the adjacent storage yard so most dogs would probably be too distracted to do much. Park was a little pricy, but this is right in a high price area. We stayed 6 days and would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$40
This is one of the nicest parks we have stayed in. A lot of green grass, nice space between sites, and a helpful staff. It is expensive but it is in the San Diego area so guess you have to expect that. You do get some freeway noise if you are near the front but it is quiet in the back. Our rate was low because we were here to meet our Caravan that is going into Mexico so it was a group rate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$53
This is a very nice park. Sites are paved and surrounded with grass and large trees. The internet connection is great and free. The folks at the office are helpful and very pleasant. We needed to rent a car to get around the city and they arranged to have a rental car brought to the park. They also sell day passes for the bus/trolley system at the office. This is very convenient for getting around a large city which does not allow RV parking in the downtown area. The only thing that keeps it from being a 10 is the freeway noise. There are two freeways very close by and the noise is pretty constant. It was not enough to keep us up or anything and this is a big city so a certain amount of city noise should be expected. We would gladly stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2008
$45
We really enjoyed our short (one night) stay here at the San Diego Metro (Chula Vista / National City) KOA. I have been to a few KOA's in California, and this is by far the nicest I've been to. Staff was great and helpful. Check-in and check-out is noon. Restroom and showers were clean. Arcade with video games, pinball, pool table, and books/magazines was a plus. Kids had fun playing basketball, video games, and ping-pong. If there was one down-side (thus the 9 / 10) it was the cable TV. The picture was not crisp (snowy), and when I asked about it, the clerk said they have had no other complaints. Additionally, the park guide (handout) had an outdated/incorrect channel listing. Other than the TV situation, this park was really nice, and we would have liked to stay an extra day or two. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$66
The park amenities were OK and the staff was reasonably pleasant. The biggest negative was that the park was so busy. There were people and kids everywhere. It was definitively not the place to stay for a relaxing weekend. We were placed near a group of guests that would set their big screen TV outside and watch sporting events up until quiet time (10pm). Up to 30 people would be sitting or standing to watch (and cheer) and a few were literally 3 feet from my bedroom slide. I called their office and was told there was nothing they could do until quiet hours started. Sorry, but I paid for a spot too-. My kids were woken up several times. Once quiet hours began the TV went off but everyone sat around and talked- and not quietly. I believe that the staff finally went out and told them to be quiet. There should be a rule as to the number of people that are allowed in a site at one time. I will stay elsewhere next time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$75
In such a large city, this KOA is wonderfully tucked away safely behind iron gates and natural embankments. The staff was kind and helpful. Wonderful place to call home while on vacation. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$50
I can say that my family and I loved this park. It was clean, well run, and enjoyable. It is close to all San Diego attractions and it served us well for our two days at Sea World. The staff was very nice and helpful with any question I had. They have a well stocked store. The bathrooms and showers were very clean even though I did not use them, I did check. This is our top pick of campgrounds in the San Diego area. (We did survey the others) This park was about as perfect as you can get. I give no park a "10", but this was as close it came to it. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2008
$32
Great location for bus and trolley to SD and Tiajuana. Nice pool and spa. Well stocked store. It gets a ^ for these reasons: 1) I called to change reservation and was told "If you do this again, you will lose your deposit." I felt like I got slapped on the wrist. 2) I asked for a quiet space when I filled out the online reservation. This was confirmed upon arrival. I was given a space next to the pool and office, right next to the path leading to the parking lot. 3) On noise, I'm always amazed at the inconsiderate travelers who park their coach, put out annoying wind chimes and then go inside with the windows and doors shut. The people across from me had those especially loud metal chimes that they hung right in front of the pool area. They spent the whole time locked up in there RV, while everyone at the pool and nearby sites listened to metal banging together 24/7. 4) The spa rules specifically state that 9-10pm is adults only. At 9pm about 20 middle school and high school age kids showed up and the staff that was around did nothing. 5) The place has a horrible odor. At about 6pm, I was informed the sewer had backed up and I could not dump tanks until the next day. My black tank was full!. 6) A group of homeless people urinating and fighting in the dog walk area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$55
We camped here in a travel trailer, with 4 children under 10. We love this park! This was our second stay. The staff is friendly and helpful, the pool and playground was clean and the whole park is well kept. It's a great base camp to see all of San Diego. I love that they recycle and encourage campers to separate their trash. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2008
$45
Gorgeous KOA near San Diego. Talked to other guests who return year after year, and I can see why! Friendly staff was very helpful when we were looking for directions to a couple of local attractions. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$55
This was a nice clean park, close to San Diego attractions. The sites are plenty long, but close together. The staff was terrific. I would have rated it higher except for the price. All told, we would stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$90
It was a great park, very clean and nice. Great for families with lots of kids arounds. The people there were really friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2007
$50
This place is great. We've never had a problem that couldn't be solved by the nice staff. We even broke down, (new RV), right in the check-in lane one time. The staff directed other campers around us as we waited for AAA. The problem was solved and we moved on to our site with no other incidents. The campground is well kept and they have a 2 acre dirt lot just for the KOA Chula Vista campers in the back of the campground with a baseball diamond. And they give hayrides on the summer weekends. Great area if you're looking to do some shopping in Tijuana. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$50
This is one of my families favorite parks in San Diego. My daughter loves the playground and she lives in the pool, in fact she wanted to stay at the park instead of going to Sea World. The park is VERY clean, lots of shad and the staff very friendly. We're going back the 24th of August 2007 for the weekend. This is a great park !!!! perfect for going to all the San Diego attractions. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$45
This was by far the most beautifully landscaped park we have stayed in so far. We enjoyed our stay here. The park is convenient to San Diego attractions. Nice pool and clean showers. Our only complaints were no internet and cable only has about 8 stations with poor reception. The gravel sites should be avoided if you have a larger rig. We have a 40' 5th wheel and couldn't get in the site that was given to us. They moved us to a large, pull through site and the rest of the stay was wonderful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$44
We stayed two nights in a 31' Class C. Sites are level concrete with well tended grass between spaces. Concrete pad is big enough for well maintained picnic bench and fire pit if you request one. Hookups are also well maintained. Sites are surrounded by lots of trees in several species. During our stay there were a variety of campers from classic Airstreams to huge Class A's. Compared to some KOA's, this park is average for things for the kids to do. They have banana bikes, quads, and surreys for rent. Playgrounds are well maintained with a rock wall, etc. Pool was large and heated which was nice. Nice dog run with plenty of room. The location is in a very urban area but you quickly forget that once inside. The freeway noise is barely noticable. The location is very central if you are visiting San Diego attractions. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$45
We have stayed here several times and love the Bell Family. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2007
$30
Great park. Stayed here 7 weeks. Clean and well maintained. Friendly, helpful staff. Private yet close to shopping, etc. Free TV Cable and WIFI. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2007
$42
Excellent park, close to attractions and friendly staff. Would have rated a 10 but while the sites are large enough, it's a real trial to get a big rig in on the access roads. While making a turn with my 39' 5th wheel into my access road off the main access road, it was so tight the rear of my trailer took out a Jaguar parked in front of his site (on the already narrow road and legally in his parking spot). The roads need to be wider or make other arrangements for the back in parking sites along the main access road. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2006
$45
This park was wonderful. It was well landscaped and had activities for the whole family. The facilities were very clean and the staff was exceptionally friendly. The park is located in the middle of the city with every and any convenience nearby. When you are in the park you forget that you are in the city except for some nearby freeway noise. The noise is not terribly bad but enough to rate the park a 9 instead of 10. I would absolutely be staying at the Chula Vista KOA many times in the years to come. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$35
Great campground to take the family! We were there for their "Harvest/Halloween Festival" and my kids had so much fun that they did not want to leave! Plenty of things to do for the kids. Playground was in great shape, large "kid friendly" pool, rock climbing wall, arcade, they even had a nice vegetable garden and they let my children pick watermelons, squash, carrots, and pumpkins! Location couldn't be better. Close to everything yet being in the campground made you feel secluded from the city. Although close to the freeway, you would never know it. Wifi worked great and even better yet, it's FREE! Very friendly staff and eager to help! Would have given the park a perfect 10 but as stated in some of the other reviews getting into some of the sites can be a little difficult and not really big rig friendly. We will definitely be back to this park!!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$30
This was our second trip to the KOA and we enjoyed it just as much as the first time. Very clean and friendly people running the park. Good location to visit Sea World and price is good. Close to a freeway, but the noise isn't too bad. We understand that the park will be or has been sold and will be closed to make way for new condos. This is really too bad as it is the most reasonable RV park in the metro San Diego area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$55
Sites are crowded but adequate. Poor design make getting into the site difficult for big rigs. Staff was friendly. Be sure to ask for their brochure which shows where local area business are. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2006
$55
They get marked down heavily on price! (Nearby San Diego County campgrounds are $15 or so per night.) Campground was lovely and quiet, despite nearby freeways. Lots of family fun and huge RVs. (Not quite what we, a couple of fogeys in a campervan, are looking for, but nice.) Hummingbird rating is excellent. We put up a feeder and had customers within an hour. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2006
$35
This is a beautiful campground - it was the number 1 KOA in the US for 2004 and 2005. The store is well stocked. It is convenient to freeways for sightseeing. Mexico is a short drive away. They have monthly rates for snowbirds. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2005
$40
This KOA is sparkling clean and the staff is very friendly and overall exceptional. Our kids were very happy with the playground, arcade, and pool. We would definitely go back here. The only reason for a 9 vs. a 10 is that some of the sites have lots of nighttime freeway noise - not a problem if you are in a hardside RV. We heard a lot in our hybrid. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$35
The location of this park as compared to other parks like Campland could be better. However, the staff is very nice and the park is nicely landscaped. People at the park are very friendly as well. We keep coming back time after time. Its a great park that I would keep recommending to others. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2005
$35
The KOA was the most fun ever! Clean and tidy, all the activities, handy to services. Kids wanted to stay at the RV park instead of going to SeaWorld! Now that's a compliment! But of course, we DID go to SeaWorld, about 20 quick minutes away. The park has great internet access options, nice laudry, pool and hot tub, play ground, rentals of many types of bikes. The sites are paved, landscaping well maintained. You can request a "firepit" delivered if you wish to make s'mores. Things are very fun here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2005
$36
Probably near the top of the KOA parks, but still has tired and overpriced facilities. Lots of kids, lots of rental wheeled vehicles for kids, very busy on weekends. Only some sites get wifi, most do not so be sure to ask on reservation. One dial-up connection in activities room. Many sites are very tight and barely room or tow vehicle - ask for a large site if you have a 40' or larger. Most roads are very tight to maneuver. Paved roads, concrete sites, grass between sites, but sites are close. Nice shade trees. Locked gates at night. Much better than most KOAs. Lots of rallies. I wouldn't call it a "resort", but it is a good campground close to the city. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2004
$35
Stayed in 2003. Had monthly rate; don't know daily. Fantastic place for our 3 month stay needs. Resort-like. Excellent staff. Exceptionally well maintained as a matter of routine. Only dislikes were CA freeways and soot from them! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$31
One of the nicer KOA Camps. Located near the Freeways for easy San Diego area access but nice and quiet and very clean. Have stayed there 3 years, very consistant. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$35
One of the best campgrounds we've ever stayed in. A great place to enjoy San Diego from. It is extremely well kept. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com