223427 User submitted reviews online!!
Bethpage Camp Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 96 user reviews. Phone: (804) 758-4349
CGID3090

Bethpage Camp Resort

Camp Information
Sites
1200
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$90



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   9   9   1   5   7   9   6   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2014
$90
For the money paid to stay here, this campground should have had a lot better upkeep. The sites were dirty, with trash everywhere. I was picking up bottle caps and litter left before we got there all weekend. There are not enough bath houses for the number of campsites, and they are poorly maintained. The campground does not seem to be able to support the number of sites they make available-water pressure inconsistent, electric unreliable, Wi-Fi although advertised, is virtually non-existent. The staff does not enforce safety rules with the golf carts: it was dangerous and chaotic trying to make our way through the constant parade of golf carts, many with obvious underage or under the influence, or both. The cable TV was good, and there is a lot to do here--lots of playground activity and a nice waterpark and lake area with a beach. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$42
Price reflects special rally rate. Site was shaded, level, dirt with sparse grass. Laundry & bath houses were clean. In order for water to flow from shower, you must pull a chain. This is a nuisance when trying to soap up a wash cloth or rinse hair. Quiet at night, bustling during the weekend days. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$36
Here with group rally so had special rate. Wow what a place. Lot of permanent sites but lot of transient sites too. Large meeting room for group event. It rained so we did not have a good opportunity to explore. Would stay again. Free Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$55
We have stayed here twice. This is a huge campground with a mix of seasonal "permanent sites" rental cabins, and regular full hook up sites. The water-park rivals many amusement parks. The staff is friendly and the campground is well maintained. The only negative is there are not a lot of bathhouses . If you needed to use them it likely is a long walk. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2013
$94
We had a very large group camping for July 4th. Many sites had smelly water, but the biggest problem was 17 (so far) people are sick with ear and other infections after swimming in their small lake. The resort is reluctant to agree the illness's are from the lake. Swim at your own risk. Oh, and no walking your dog after 11pm. Our large group will not be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$100
I was very disappointed. Our site along with many others floods after rain. We had at least 3 inches of standing water around our site. Our flip flops floated away. Management told us that they have no control over sites flooding and have no way of keeping track of which sites may flood. I believe that a campground has control over sites flooding; they need to have better drainage in place. I was annoyed that we visited the office 3 times before someone even said "sorry". A few seasonal campers stated that our section floods with every rainfall! The lake and pool were nice but not nearly large enough to handle a full campground on a holiday weekend. There were so many golf carts that there were traffic jams. I will not recommend this campground, mainly due to flooding at sites We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$40
Beth Page is a fun destination with many large spacious sites and a lot of activities. However, the catering service food quality needs a lot of improvement. For the second time now, we were very disappointed in the food. This will not impact most of you who attend so have fun. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$52
I normally don't like "resorts", but this place was an exception. The sites were very spacious and shaded. Only the "super sites" provide a fire ring. What is that all about? As several previous reviewers have mentioned, I do NOT recommend a super site. They are smaller and not shaded. They only provide a concrete pad, a BBQ grill and a fire ring. The showers were pull ring and the dryers in the laundry room didn't dry well. There were four pages of rules for swimming, etc. The most I've seen. The water slides were awesome for kids and adults alike which were also guarded on top and bottom for safety. Staff was helpful and friendly. We stayed here during the week and the activities were good. There is an ice creamery on the premises. There is a river for fishing and the lake is stocked and has a water trampoline for jumping. The quiet and tranquility of this place was very relaxing. However, this place is huge and I can't imagine how busy it would be on the weekends. There would be long lines for the water slides and I'm wondering if it would be as safe, even with all four pools. We would camp here again if visiting the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$70
This was our 3rd year camping here, prices have increased dramatically and this places charges for EVERYTHING now. Staff is nasty, old and dismissive (more than one instance). I was told when I made my reservations this year that I had to pay in full for express check in, once we arrived they had canceled express check in and I had to go to the office. However, this is a great campground for kids, more of a waterpark than a camping destination. Hookups are good, Wi-Fi was unreliable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2012
$75
They charged for air! We stayed in the past with friend in the permanent spots and fifth wheel. Prices have increased dramatically. Staff was friendly but dismissive after the initial greeting (more than one instance). A great site for kids. For adults looking to relax, not great. This is more of a watermark than a camping destination. Oh, rental was high as well. Camping should be affordable: now it costs as much or more, than a hotel. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$85
Camped there in a travel trailer Memorial Day weekend and will not return on a holiday weekend. We sat in a traffic line for 75 minutes to enter the park that we had already paid in full. Their biggest concern when we finally got up to the gate (by the not so friendly attendant) was the golf cart that we had transported for another guest & had been registered and paid for. Four times we were grilled about the golf cart.. We have camped there before and knew where our site was because we were in a group setting and let them know but the "host" taking us to our site told my husband that he(my husband) didn't know where he was going & was fairly rude about it. You have to be careful with riding bikes or walking because there is so much traffic especially by the pools & "lake". Would seriously have to rethink going again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2012
$84
We just stayed at Bethpage for the Memorial Day weekend arriving on Thursday. The campground sites are nice, level and accommodate big rigs. The cable TV is the best I have seen at a campground and the electric power was fine. The park staff was friendly. There is a beach area on a lake and a waterpark with multiple pools and water slides all of which were clean and well maintained. These are what make me rate this a 5. Now for the reasons that keep it at ONLY a 5. This campground is like one big drunk-fest!! I have never seen so many drunks roaming about and cruising on golf carts with radios BLARING!! The park rules about no loud music and minimum age limits for driving golf carts are an absolute joke. Don't even dream of walking unless you like taking your life in your own hands. I saw an old woman moon the folks next door to us but they were likely too drunk to remember: hopefully for them. On Saturday night there was a large crowd (about 70+ people) roaming the streets doing toasts at what seemed to be any site that would tolerate them. Again, they were mostly hammered. While I believe in having fun, this kind of activity is not what I go camping with my family for. The staff seem to be totally absent until around 11pm when quiet time begins and then I saw them cruising about. On a positive note, it does quiet down by 11pm. If the staff would enforce a few rules on blaring music and drunkeness then this campground would be a 10 for sure. From what I saw though, I doubt this will happen. My family will not be returning. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2011
$87
This is an exceptionally well run campground with top notch facilities. We stayed here for the oyster festival, which is a big event for the area. The campground doubles up on the pull through sites on these special weekends. Even with that, there was a good amount of room and plenty of hookups available for each rig. On a negative note, we found the wi-fi unreliable and switched over to 3G. The staff we encountered were friendly and smiling. The camp store seems to have all of the essentials. The campground is pet friendly and has a decent sized area designated for dog walking. With all of that said, we will not be back. We did not have an issue with the campground per se, but we did have significant issues with the overall atmosphere created by the clientele. On this weekend (and I don't know that this is the status quo throughout the season) the place was rowdy, loud, and populated with people who consumed a bit too much alcohol. It was the campground equivalent of a frat party, and that is not what we look for when we go camping. On the positive side, quiet hours beginning at 2300 were observed. We had an exceptionally rude neighbor who played loud music and encroached into our space to the point of playing cornhole on our patio area immediately below our dining area window. Had they had the common decency to ask, I probably would have granted permission, but they didn't so I asked them to leave. This created a bit of tension, but that's the way it goes. I thought that perhaps our situation with the neighbor was unique, but a stroll later that evening proved that we were the ones out of step with the general tenor of the campground. It seemed that every third or fourth site had loud music playing and a crowd of people talking and yelling to the top of their lungs. I hate feeling like a fun-hating curmudgeon because I'm not. I was just surprised and disappointed at what we encountered this weekend. It was as if they took every stereotype of bad neighbors and set them upon Bethpage on this weekend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$76
Nice beautiful park. Water slides and water park is a great draw for the kids. Lot's of activities for the family to do. When you go, plan on staying at the park, as there is not much to do away from the resort. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$75
We camped here for 5 days on our way back from Ocean Lakes RV resort in SC. We loved this place. We were on Juniper 6 which is close to the pool. We did not find it loud at all. They have limited # of golf carts which they need to update. That is the only bad thing I can say about this place. The sites are huge. The super sites are nice, but very narrow and exposed. I wouldn't recommend spending the money. Everything was neat and clean from the campsite to the pools to the ice cream shop to the grounds. We loved it here. The water park was fantastic. My brother in law liked fishing off the docks. The kids loved this place too, We had kids ages from 12-22. Some of the people in the store and running the golf carts seemed to be moody. I only met one lovely lady when registering. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$75
We just camped 3 nights here. What we liked. The water park is great. Plenty of slides and multiple pools for kids of all ages. They even have an adult only pool. Pools were very clean. The lake and beach were beautiful and also clean. Kids will love the trampoline in the middle of the lake. They have mini golf and an ice shop as well. It was hot the weekend we went and I couldn't convince anyone to play. The dislikes: no designated pet areas. We had some all night barking dogs next to us. Also, it gets a little loud from 8:00pm - 9:00pm with all the folks cruising in their golf carts playing there radio loud. But each night it seemed to quiet down after 9:30pm. If you don't have a shower in your RV you will be disappointed with the shower facility. Only 1 shower in each bathroom. No AC and it wasn't very clean by the end of the day after all the lake folks used it. Other than those 2-3 things. This place is beautiful. Staff is very friendly and attentive. We stayed on a supersite. But really all the sites are nice here. Great camp store with just about anything you might need. If you need something for the RV there is an RV store just down the street in Urbanna. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$65
This was our 5th year camping here for our annual vacation. Once again we loved it. The campground is clean and staff is friendly. Staff is transient so they aren't familiar with the area. The pools and water slides are great fun, even for adults. The one thing we love is that they have saved a pool for adults only. Our group is already talking about next year's trip. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$74
We stayed at this park for 3 nights. It is an absolutely beautiful and immaculate resort and one of the best parks we have ever stayed at. The sites were spacious and level. The waterpark and pools were clean and our children who are 9 and 7 practically lived there! There was a very nice mini golf course as well as ice cream shop that unfortunately, we didn't have time to visit. The staff was extremely courteous and helpful. We would definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$62
Just not our style of camping. Nice clean park. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$45
Campground is beautiful and well-kept. The pool and waterslides look nice, but weren't open yet. Not much to do in the area. Activities at the campground are limited this time of year. Sites, although back-ins, were very roomy (a lot more room than on the super sites). The small lake was beautiful at night with many lights. Hookups were good. Wi-Fi was reliable as was the 70+ channel cable TV. My only real complaint was the subpar bathrooms. The amount of showers was very insignificant for the size of the campground and one of the showers was broken. Would love to return to this park during the summer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$69
Absolutely beautiful park. Very nice water park. Yes, a water park with an adult only pool. My 8 year old loved it. Then add the swimming lake and he was thrilled. Now some advice! DO NOT rent the super sites. They are a joke. Only thing you get is a paved site and much less room than traditional. Absolutely worthless to pay the money for this. Talked to 2 others in them and they agreed whole heartedly. The other bad is the ever present golf carts. They are speeding, a few with radios blaring, and driving through the side of my site. They do disappear during quiet time, but take your life in your hands otherwise. They need rules and some sort of control over them! The golf carts and over priced super sites are what lowered my rating. Get a traditional site off the main road, and my rating goes to 9. Control the golf carts and it goes to 10! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$50
We arrived on a Monday and had no trouble checking in, did notice that weekends were far busier. Campground roads are paved and campground is huge so bring bikes, scooters to get around. They do rent bikes for $40/week or $12/day. Some people brought their own golf cart or you can rent one for $50/day. We were at site Juniata 7 which was perfect for us because it was between bath room and pool/lake. Our site was completely level. My observation was that all sites were very level. Just pull in and set up camp. They cleaned the restrooms mid morning. Water park had three slides, they had a kiddie "sprinkler" park and two pools to swim in. The lake is treated so there is no algae. I did see some minnows swimming near the shore and people were fishing in same lake, but not in roped off swimming area. Beach is raked every morning and there are lounge chairs on the beach, but you can bring your own if you choose. They have an ice cream parlor and miniature golf course ($5/person/game), very nice. Weekends get busy and there are a lot of golf carts and bike riders sharing the road, speed limit is 10 MPH, and a light is recommended for your bike if you will be riding at night. We attended the crab feast $30/adult,$15/child all you can eat crabs and hot dogs, french fries, corn chowder, pork sandwich, lemonade, sweet ice tea, and beer. Police cruising the park that weekend, no problems just for security/safety reasons. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$55
My new favorite summertime campground! Last year I posted a review and gave it a 6, mostly because the swimming areas were inadequate for the number of guests. They have a new water park this year that is AWESOME for no extra charge. We camped 3 separate weekends in July already, including 4th of July weekend. Surprisingly, it never felt overcrowded. There were lots of bikes, golf carts and people out and about, but everyone seemed to be in a happy, go lucky mood and very friendly. My son even commented on how friendly everyone seemed. Our site was spacious; Internet connection was reliable; Cable TV; helpful staff; Putt-Putt Golf; Ice Cream Shop; Swimming Lake; planned activities. Can't wait to go back next weekend! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$55
We love this campground and everything about it. We only ever have two complaints. They\ showers have the pull cords which makes it very hard to shower. My 8 year old son always has a hard time getting it to work. My second issue is the charge to bring your own golf cart. This is the only campground that I have been to where it has been an issue. Other then that we love it and come many times per year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$60
This is a great campground. Had never been here before and was leary of our site being so far "back" in the campground. (We were on Sassafrass St.) Apparently the seasonal folks have all the waterfront sites. I was pleasantly surprised with our campsite. LARGE grassy site with a shade tree. Although tight, another RV could have parked next to us (apparently they "double-up" they call it, and do this for the Oyster Fest in Nov. Friends rave about this event.) Great pool and waterpark with slides and tornado/toilet bowl slide that drops you into a small pool. Water spray area for the kids. They also have an "adult" pool where you can find adults in their lounges floating peacefully, cooling off with their beverages and company. OK, I will have my float next time!! My kids LOVED the aqua jump, floating huge trampoline on the sandy beachfront lake. As others had mentioned, there were golf carts zooming around and lot's of all ages on bikes, a very large campground. Lot's of fun! They also have a nice mini golf course and delicious ice cream store. We will definitely be back. The only reason I did not give it a "10" is the bathhouse was not so great, with lame showers and not many of them for such a large campground, plus they definitely need more golf carts! They were sold out days before July 2nd when we arrived for the 4th weekend! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$70
We stayed here over memorial day weekend it was very nice. The staff was very friendly. Would say again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$50
What an Outstanding Resort. Yes, it was Memorial Day Weekend and yes, it was very, very busy with golf carts and kids, however this park was one of the best I have stayed on the East coast. I place this Resort right behind Disney Fort Wilderness. There were a total of 6 campers and 1 rental unit in our group. All in the party had a GREAT time. The resort has water slides, pools, a kids water area, a lake with beach, trampoline, paddle boats, putt-putt, etc. Lots for kids to do. The park is very clean. And the town near by is historical. I think all should go. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$41
My family loves Bethpage Camp Resort. We stayed here over the Memorial Day weekend and then came back again for Columbus Day weekend during their Crab Feast. Our first time here was not that great. They ended up putting us right next to a busy playground which was noisy and loud from sun up to sun down (especially in a pop-up camper that we had at the time). They did have plenty of activities and we especially enjoyed the beach party with the DJ. Be warned that Memorial Day is packed! There are golf carts zooming up and down the road constantly. Our last trip was much calmer and more pleasant with way less people. We received a nice large, level campsite with a fire ring. Although there were not a lot of activities this time of year, the crabfest on Saturday night was excellent and we plan to come back next year for it. I will say the bathrooms could use some updating though. For such a large campground: there were only 2 showers and I had to wait several times to get in. Overall, a nice campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$30
The $30 reflects a large group rate. We came in for a large rally of approximately 180 Bounders. Had a great time. The management here did a wonderful job and the food was excellent. Restrooms were very clean whenever we stopped at one. Wi-Fi was pretty robust for a place this size. I did not go with a 10 because of the grass sites, some which looked like they could be a problem during or after heavy rains. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$40
We stayed here last Halloween (2008) but forgot to post a review. It was a lot of fun. The kids loved all the trick or treating events. The haunted forest was excellent, however, my 8 year old girl was ready to get out of there (can be scary for the younger ones). Very nice park, we haven't tried it yet in the summer, but I am sure it is lovely. We also enjoy staying at there sister campground (Grey's Point). We highly recommend these campgrounds. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$49
Bethpage is a well maintained and energetic resort. We have stayed here many times and keep coming back. They have great activities for the children as well as the adults. The only downfall to this camp resort is the number of golf carts running around the grounds. We will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$55
Great campgrounds with nice big sites and grass. Also a nice lake and pools. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$54
This place is big….really big. As we drove down the access road we could see the campground to our left and we were worried. The TTs were stacked side by side in row after row. We soon realized that this was a storage area...thank God. The check-in process was quick. We were escorted to our site by a camp host who helped us get positioned into the site. The site was basically level (a minor adjustment was necessary). The sites are huge. They stagger the sites on all weekends except during the oyster fest. The pools are dated, but we were told that a water park is being planned. The park was very well kept. The playgrounds we well kept and updated. The boat launch and docks were in good shape. The camp store is one of the best I have encountered. The seasonal section is well kept and very separate from the massive area used for weekenders. I was amazed that the park was as quiet as it was considering how many people were there. All in all…a really nice park that is worth the price. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$50
Camped here over Father's Day weekend. Very nice and helpful staff. Clean campground. Wi-Fi worked great. Cable was great. The campground was not filled to capacity by a long shot but it was VERY crowded. Kids on bikes and golf carts everywhere. This was our 1st visit in the summer months. The swimming facilities are inadequate for the number of campsites. The lake area (which looked really fun) was so full there wasn't a spot to sit on the beach. The trampoline in the lake looked very dangerous with at least 20 kids on it. The swimming pool wasn't quite as crowded (compared to the lake), but it was so full that all you could do was bob up and down - definitely couldn't swim because there was so many users. There was an adult-only pool that looked less crowded...perhaps they should open that up so there are 2 family-friendly pools for visitors. The putt-putt golf was fun and reasonably priced. Ice cream shop was a big hit but lines were out the door. Overall a very nice facility - just that the amenities are not adequate for the number of sites. It felt like it was busting at the seams with guests. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$54
This campground is great. We were escorted to our site (Evergreen 17), which was more or less level, and extremely spacious. The site was all grass, which the kids and dog loved. With the grass sites and the paved roads, there was no dust to speak of. There were numerous activites throughout our stay that the kids enjoyed. There is a nice swimming lake with a sand beach that was clean. The lake had a trampoline in the middle of it, and a dock to jump off of. My kids also enjoyed fishing in the lake. There are also two pools that were spotless. As has been stated in previous posts, there is a large number of seasonals, but they were all extremely nice to us, and we didn't feel like outsiders at all. There are lots of golf carts driving around, but it was not dangerous to me or my young kids. If you are camping with young children, I would recommend camping in the "back" part of the camprground near Evergreen Street. It is less crowded, and the kids can safely ride their bikes around the sites there. The Wi-Fi was strong, and I was able to connect with no problems. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$58
This was a great place to spend the afternoon and night. Check out was at noon so next day was comfortable. Site was large. It looked like they were utilizing every other site. Although we do not have kids there were a lot of activities for them. Good dog walk facility with bags and waste container. I would definitely stay there again We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$38
We were here for Memorial Day weekend. If you are looking for quiet, this is not the place. There are tons of golf carts and bikes and traffic all weekend. It's an incredibly large campground, so if you are in the back, book your golf cart early. The pool and lake were incredibly overcrowded. However, there are tons of activities for the family on site. Unless you want to visit the 7-11 or pizza place, there is not much to do locally. We enjoyed the large grassy sites to spread out and relax for a weekend. This is an every year booking that is close to where we live that we use to make sure everything is working after the winter. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
We camped here as part of the annual Samboree. We were impressed with many part of our experiences: wonderful staff that was friendly and helpful, great sites (but they alternated our rigs so we had a lot of room; in middle of summer may be more crowded), great facilities from the activities center to the pools and beach, well stocked store with both food and camping supplies as well as gifts, and superb rally/convention center. Negatives include: shower is controlled by a pull cord to regulate amount and temperature of water--it was broken and therefore not easy to use. And it was still not fixed the next day after cleaning crew had been in. Wi-Fi does NOT work; I sat right under antenna and could not pick up. Others had similar issue. NO fire pits for most campers and I did not see anywhere we could go for a community fire. Bathhouse/restrooms are few and far between. I could not understand why they would put them in the middle of permanent sites when those folks are hooked to sewers and water. Finally, given the size of the park and capacity, I suspect it could be very crowded in summer if operating at close to full. Manager is excellent at public relations and I hope if he reads this he will take steps to fix. Obviously this camp won their national award for a reason and if you have a family and want activity with lots of others, this is the place for you. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2009
$45
This was a disappointment. Don't believe what they say about waterfront and being on the bay. All the waterfront sites are taken-up by permanent or semi-permanent residents. The place felt like a trailer-park. It got wild at night with plenty of beer-drinking and golf-carts speeding around. There were some wooded sites but many are in an open field. The people and management were very nice and it was well-kept (and huge camp store) but overall this is not really a campground. It's a trailer-park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$40
We went during their opening weekend. It was very relaxing, although the pool and pond were not open yet, which is the only reason I have it a 8. We have stayed here before, and really like it, although all the golf cart drivers get crazy. We like going to the near by dirt track for neat car racing. Bethpage always has plenty of activities for the kid. Paved roads and level sites. We have taken our canoe, and gone fishing there. We will go there again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$50
Overall really nice campground. Was really impressed. Level and large sites, ample power and water. Loved having Internet and cable access. We are planning a trip with friends on the 4th of July. The only problem is that they told us we would be together and we ended up 3 streets apart. They made no effort to resolve the problem. They actually had our friends booked for two sites. Too many people taking reservations at the same time and not updating the books. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$40
We camped here for the long Easter weekend. Once again, had a great time!! Staff was very cordial, campground was clean. Looking forward to more visits. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$42
We found Bethpage to be wonderful. First off, we just bought our first travel trailer and are completely new to camping. We went there on advice from friends. The staff was very helpful. The place was pretty empty so we had like 6 sites to ourselves. Being new, we had to buy some gear there and found the prices to be cheaper than our local RV store. My four year old son had a blast with all the playgrounds and activities that they offered. The pool was closed but the lake/pond/whatever it is was open. We found it very relaxing but could see how on holidays it would be very cramped. We will be back to this place again, for sure. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2009
$75
Stayed for fourth of July last year. Not January as the website forced me to enter. This is an alright place but WAY too busy for us. Went with a large group who wanted to go to a large resort type campground for the holiday weekend. Not my idea of a fun weekend, but I can see how some people would like the amenities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$50
Well maintained park with friendly workampers. We had a great time, enjoyed the park and the area. The park was kid and dog friendly. Site was pull through and shaded. Pricey, but worth it for the weekend. Great amenities, especially enjoyed the boat ride. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$73
I really like this campground, but their security has went down hill. Golfs Carts, bikes, scooters, electric (small kids) scooters, skate boards, large PUs all on the main road at the same time. It was a a mess their security should have been there. Allowing the little Kids riding their electric bikes or scooters on the main road should cease before a terrible accident occurs. People coming in or going out had a time dodging people, golf carts, bikes and etc. Beware they have skunks (approx. 4) that roam around the camp sites at night, even while your around your fire. Even though they are a little pricey I will probably go again next summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$45
We went here last year and just had to come back. The sites are very large, This year some friends came with us and they also had a treffic time. The camp ground is close to Bush gardens and Williamsburg Winery ( it's about a 45-50 min. drive ) We did do both attractions . You can also go crabbing off the pier which we did and we caught plenty of crabs and cooked them over the fire. We got the water to a boil threw in a bottle of beer and some Old Bay, ummm yummy. The camp ground now has a very nice mini golf ( $5.00) which is connected to a awsome ice cream polar. The lake is great. Our kids had a great time jumping off the trampoline in the middle of the lake. The pools are also very clean. We will be going back here again next year for the third straight time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2008
$65
We stayed in the park during the July 4th holiday weekend. There were two couples on this trip. Myself, my wife, two children, our neighbors and their child. We made our reservation a few months in advance; however, our neighbors did not. The staff decided to double us up on the site we reserved so we could all be close (which made it $400 for the site rental). So we get all set up, and the breaker starts popping. So we plug into the next available power source 10 feet away, problem solved. Five hours later an employee approaches our site and begins yelling at me and my neighbor in front of our wives and children and says, "We are stealing power." Now I have been to a few campgrounds, and I have always had the power included in the site rent??? Not this trip, they were so crowed that they stuck us on metered sites back with all the employees, and would only let us connect power to this pole that would not let us plug in both trailers. When we approached the park manager all he offered us was a larger extension cord (that didn't work either) and an explanation that "its our problem we don't have power". Staff at this campground is very rude and inconsiderate to their guests (even the children). Its a big place, kept up nicely, but you don't get many activities for the money. I will be staying someplace more family friendly next time. This place is set up for seasonal sites mainly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$66
Very easy to get to. Nice grounds keeping. Little guard house at the entrance where you are greeted and then provided your vehicle placard and directed to the front office or on a busy weekend, taken directly to your site. The front office desk resembles that of a hotel. The staff (hosts) is abundant, extremely welcoming and evident on their marked golf carts. Camping store is large and well stocked with reasonable prices. The camping sites were all shaded with large white pine trees. Our site was spacious, but from looking at all the sewer hook-ups, you could tell that if all the camp sites were occupied, it would be tight. Pull-through available for those arriving early. Utility boxes had hook-up for cable TV. We stayed during a premium weekend, Chocolate Lovers. There were some scheduled activities geared around chocolate. We missed the pie eating contest. The chocolate mud slide was a regular slip and slide with some chocolate syrup poured on it. After one slide, the kids were ready to go back and swim. Showed up for the chocolate carving and couldn't find a host & when we did he didn't know anything. There are two swimming pools side by side, both not going over 5 feet deep. But I suspect one is more for the mellow and the other for the playful type. There is a place roped off in the lake for swimming with a large floating trampoline. The kids loved this! Fish nibbling at your toes. Signs are posted that there are no life guards but occasionally there was one. His main goal was to keep the kids on the trampoline in check. Swimming is to end at 8 PM, about 8:45 a host came out and told everyone it was time to get out. There are no lights to light the water or the streets. There are constantly numerous golf-carts and bicycles around. Driving a SUV among these can be a bit nerve racking. They do rent golf carts on a first come basis for $45 a 24 hour period. Hosts are always driving around on their golf carts monitoring everything. Past dark, children are not allowed to ride their bicycles unless they are equipped with a headlight and tail light - flashing novelties do not count. There is a family of skunks that inhabit the campground! At first I thought the kids were seeing things, but then I saw them myself and checked with a host - yes, please don't bother them... Check out time is posted as 12 noon, but after checking with a host they said that that is not enforced unless there is another rig waiting for your site. Site side trash pick up is done whenever you place a bag out. Kids did some fishing from the pier by the boat dock and caught enough minnows to keep them content. Saturday night there was a hay ride that went through the campground. The seasonal sites are tight! You got to meet Ms. Dot, the Sunday school teacher. The kids attended Sunday school were they got to make a craft and they loved Ms. Dot! Bethpage has a sister campground, Grey's Point that we'll be trying in August 2008. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$55
Nicely maintained campground for the most part. My site was just a spot in a grassy area and when it rained, I had a 5 inch deep water puddle at my entrance door. We had to wade through this to get in and out. There were quite a few golf carts and I saw two older ladies drag racing down the main street. That was interesting to say the least. The water view is nice and the fishing lake has easy access. The staff was very friendly. I think the price was a bit steep to park in the grass. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$45
Great park, large spaces, well groomed, would stay again. Lots to do in camp and the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$60
Nice, clean park with plenty of activities. We stayed during the Memorial Day weekend so it was very crowded. Although the prices were higher during the "premium" weekend, it appears as the price of the campground is put back into the upkeep of the park. General positives: MANY activities including boating,kayaking(for a $12 per hour fee), fishing, swimming in two pools, beach, and playground for the kids. Other activities offered included arts & crafts, scavenger hunt, and miniature golf ($5.00 per person). Very large, level sites. General negatives: Speeding golf carts, children on bikes cutting in front of your vehicle, noisy even after 12:00 on some nights. We did have an issue when we tried to rent a kayak. We were told to go down to the dock and see if there was a double man kayak available. When we came back after checking, they were in the process of renting it to the couple in front of us. When we said something about doing what THEY had told us to do, and then not getting a kayak, their reply was simply: "Sorry, it's first come first served." We thought that was a bit rude. Generally, this was a great place to stay if you like lots of activities, especially for kids, and like to party. NOT the place to stay if you want to enjoy a relaxing few days. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2008
$54
The lake has fish or something that will bite your legs and the worst of it all is the boredom! You could rip your hair out for an activity. Unless you are into watching your coffee pot perk, you had better bring lots of things for yourself to do. There is NOTHING within miles and miles to do. Pool is nice enough but other than that, its like a cometary. We were welcomed but we ran into people that had a 2 week reservation that were so bored they were leaving early and losing their money rather than staying and losing their minds! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$45
This is a large campground with sites neatly lined up in rows . Nothing special here . Does take long drives to get to the areas attractions . We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2008
$45
We enjoyed this campground! Owners will spread out campers if they are not full which allows more room for you. They will occupy every other site. Accommodations are great and employees friendly. Would stay here again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2007
$38
This campground is actually 100 sites with half being seasonal. Weekends are repeat visitors who get drunk and let their kids run wild. Golf carts abound and accidents are not uncommon. Events planned for these repeats and rates increased accordingly. Week days not so crazy, but rate high for off season. Huge camp store; canoe, bike, paddle boat, golf cart rentals; nice man-made beach and pool; but, nearest shopping is 30 miles away. Oyster Festival over rated and over priced, too! We will not return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$30
We arrived about 10pm (you can check in until 11pm), in pouring down rain. At the camp store, they radioed a host and told us a host will escort us to our site. We waited inside the camp store at the front desk and apparently, the host drove up and waited for us somewhere outside. He finally came in and informed us (not so nicely) that he'd been waiting outside (we didn't know, nor did we see him and we were standing right there at the door watching thru the windows). Maybe it was the rain and the late hour, but we didn't think the tone he took with us was necessary. The bathrooms were clean, but, the pull chain shower in itself was a bit difficult and inconvenient. The grounds are clean and well maintained, but the waterfront sites are all taken by seasonal folks. The sites are very close together and there are golf carts everywhere! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$50
This was a nice campground but very busy. I like campgrounds that are quiet and don't have alot of golf carts. This one had too many golf carts and too much unnessary noise. We went for the crab feast and it was okay, the crabs were cold though. I would recommend this campground if you have kids because there are alot of them. But if you like quiet and not alot of yearly campers then this place is not for you. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$53
What a great park! We have been here 4 times now, (Evergreen 3 is the best site!!). Always a friendly staff. Our only complaint is that it seems as if the "full timers" get better treatment and special rules. Our 17 year old daughter was tracked down, while on a golf cart, and there were other kids, all weekend that were NO way 16 and they never had a thing said to them. I can understand the being 16 to drive the golf cart - but, why a license- IT IS A GOLFCART!!!! Anyway, besides that - the park is great. The beach and the lake are wonderful. We highly recommend this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$43
A family oriented campground with plenty to do. Two pools one of which is a kiddie pool, a lake to swim in with a trampoline and dock. Piers to go fishing and crabbing off of and a boat launch. Close proximity to many area attractions a shuttle bus that runs to town often. Campsites are user friendly with campground providing an escort service to your site upon arrival. Would camp there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$53
This is one of our favorite CG this year. It was our first time here. We are from PA. The activities for the kids are OK, the staff was very friendly. They have a lake with a huge trampoline in it and the kids just loved it. So did dad, lol. The park was very clean, as were the bathrooms. The sites are big . When they have a oyster festival, they double up on the sites. So be careful when you book your trip. We will definitely be back next year. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$50
Nice, clean campground. Lots of events planned during the weekends. The lake was dirty, but nobody seemed to mind. We didn't use the pool, but it wasn't too big (do you expect olympic size). Would definitely go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$50
Good campground for families. Lots of activities for kids of all ages. We tend to like more secluded camping and really came here just to check out Urbanna. Stayed in the middle of the week and while the campground was not as crowded then, Urbanna pretty much rolls up its sidewalks from Monday through Wednesday. There is a trolley service from the campground into Urbanna but we didn't find out until we got there that it only runs Thursday through Sunday and on Thursday it doesn't start until 3pm! Wouldn't recommend staying here unless you like large RV "resorts" and are going with a big family. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$63
This was our first visit to Bethpage and overall we really liked it. The staff was exceptionally nice and even the seasonal campers were friendly. We stayed in one of their "supersites", but was disappointed since it is a bit pricey and they are very narrow. It seemed that there is more room on the other sites, although they are only grass. There are lots of activities (some free and some for a fee) to keep you entertained and the staff seemed to make sure that all facilities were clean, even the small beach on the lake. There were tons of golf carts going up and down the streets from morning until the wee hours of the night, but most were careful of pedestrians. This is very convenient to our home as well, so we are already making plans to return soon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$32
Nice park, clean and well run. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$45
As some other people have stated there are a lot of "seasonal" trailers around. While I didn't see any in "disrepair" there were a lot of them and most of them took up waterfront sites. There are some nice pools and a lake, but the pools were closed when we were there. If they would cut down or move the number of seasonal trailers this would be a really nice CG. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$50
A beautiful campground with large sites. The facilities are first class and kept immaculate. The owners are very hospitable and take a lot of pride in their campground. The oyster festival is one of my favorite events. It a perfect way of closing out the camping season. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2007
$35
SHANTYTOWN is the best description of this place. I don't know how "resorts" like this get away with the kind of advertising that makes you think you are getting one thing, and then get here and find quite another. Vaunted as "Virginia's best waterfront camping..." this couldn't be farther from the truth. There are "seasonals", who apparently rent their sites for the entire year, complete with run-down trailers everywhere who take up all of the waterfront sites with their seasonal rentals. They are all in travel trailers and the like, many of which are in a state of disrepair, and their lots are loaded with junk (propane tanks strewn around, unsightly site modifications (no architectural committee here apparently), trash cans, barbecues, etc. This represents most of the park. The rest is grass sites, and then there are a few sites which they mistakenly refer to as "supersites." A so-called "supersite" is paved and there is a very small paved patio, but the sites are extremely narrow, crammed one next to the other, and are available only in certain areas within the park. We stayed on one of the "supersites". When the adjacent sites were not in use, the "seasonals" used those sites as short cuts to drive their golf carts back and forth and back and forth -- fast! Two carts packed with families actually parked on those empty spaces and sat and gawked at our rig, pointing and studying us for quite some time. The speed limit is posted as 10 mph. No one drives 10 mph. In fact, the staff are some of the worst offenders in their golf carts. And 10 mph is very important because the place was inundated with mindless kids riding their bikes and running out into the streets with absolutely careless abandon. If I hadn't been driving slowly and watching for them, several might have been hit -- and of course, no parents anywhere to care or be concerned. The "seasonals" want to make one thing clear: "This is our park, not yours -- you are an outsider to be gawked at and studied..." The staff were always polite (especially the GM) when we expressed concerns first about the dirty site (which we cleaned ourselves), later about the filthy laundry room (which was never clean during the week we stayed), and again when the trash was not picked up and scattered all over two sites because of animals that got into it. Beware -- this is not for nice rigs, high-end rigs, or anyone wanting a quality resort experience -- it is a shantytown campground with lots of seasonal folks who flaut the rules and run the place for their benefit. 45 minutes from Williamsburg; an hour from Jamestown and Yorktown. Unfortunately there is nothing else worth considering anywhere closer. An absolute shame. Would not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2006
$52
We stayed here during the Urbanna Oyster Festival. This campground is very nice as far as cleanliness, friendliness, and summer activities. However, during the weekend of the Oysterfest there are some issues that make it less appealing to some campers. I had no problem doubling up on the sites as it is necessary for that particular weekend, however, what is the need to increase the cost per day when you get less amenities, less campsite, and more noise than during the summer months? Also, campers are not told that they need to bring additional lengths of hose and/or electrical hook-up and, in some cases, sewer hose. Our water and electric connections had to be passed under our rv to a connection almost 25 ft away and we had to use 3 sections of sewer hose to reach the sewer drain. We also had to go out and purchase a cable t-connection so that we could "share" the cable connection on the post. We were unable to connect to the WIFI the entire weekend. Not sure what the problem was there, but no one in our group was able to get connections either. If you need to use the campground shower, be sure to bring a brick and string because you have to pull on a cord to get the shower to work. There was little heat in the bathroom and the water was very cold!!! The campground offered a hayride to the festival. The cost was $2 pp each way! They made a killing on this service!!! People were lined up all along the bridge to get on the trailer. It's a shame they couldn't reduce that price a little to make it affordable for everyone. For a family of 4 it cost $16 just to go to and from the festival. Golfcarts and bicyclist were everywhere. Nothing can really be done to change that, especially with so many campers and the office being so far away. Only occasionally did I see reckless drivers. All in all we had a good weekend. I felt like we were nickel and dimed to death and we really didn't get anything for our $52 per night other than a crowded campsite, but what the heck. We'll probably be back during the summer months, but it really wasn't worth the price for going to a festival. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$40
What an excellent campground. This is our second visit to this campground and we came back because we loved it. The manmade lake is wonderful. They provide chairs at the beach and tables with umbrellas. Watch the little fishy nipping at your heels!! Not enough to keep you out of the water though. Try a snow cone at the beach bar, it's great!! It has 2 swimming pools, we didn't get in them, but, they appeared very clean. Basketball court, volleyball court. The park was 75% full but the amenities were not full. Highly recommend a mid-week stay, was not crowded at all. Wednesday we had the beach to ourselves. Staff (hosts mainly) were nice. Some of the ladies at the counter were a little bit "sarcastic" but, not enough to ruin the trip. Our host was very pleasant and helpful. We stayed at Evergreen 3 - an excellent 50 x 50 site. Far away from everything, but, close enough! Recommend an end site. Bath houses were very clean. My parents stayed in one of their cabins and it was great. Very clean and lots of room with a nice big deck. All sites are very level and for the most part have some shade. Some of the newer sites have less shade than others, but, still nice sites. Cable TV, what a great addition. It rained one day we were here and the kids loved it. Rented a golf cart. It was a little pricy, but they seem to be everywhere you go. Yes, the waterfront sites are for permanent residents but you can go right down and fish off the dock. We've caught something every time. Beautiful entrance into the campground. Price was very reasonable (I can't remember exactly what it was). Yes, it is an active campground but when it is "quiet time" the place seems to die! Hosts are very conscious about keeping safety in the area and ensuring everyone follows the rules. Highly recommended and we will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$47
My camped here in a fifth wheel and were located towards the back of the park which meant we had more sun on our site. I would definitely recommend staying closer to the pool area which are mostly shaded. As for the golf carts, it was a little crazy, but wouldn't keep me from coming here again. The campground definitely cleared out on Sunday as most people were there for the weekend. Although we didn't use the pools (two of them), we did use the lake which was enjoyable. We have two dogs and they have a separate place where you can allow your dogs to swim. As previously state, all of the water view sites are occupied by permanent campers. Overall, we were satisfied with our stay and plan to return again in the fall. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$47
After reading the previous reviews for Bethpage, I was a little apprehensive about going. I'm glad I didn't change my mind. I thought it was a great place! We somehow ended up with a paved site on Loblolly, right beside a playground, and right down the street from the pool and beach. We spent a good deal of time in the pool as it was extremely hot while we were there. The pool was very clean, well staffed and not very crowded at all, even on the weekend. The adult pool is nice as well. The camp store had everything we needed and wasn't outrageously priced. All the staff we encountered there were very knowledgeable and courteous. We even had a lady chase us down to tell us a golf cart had just come in as we were leaving the store to inquire about one. Only a few minor negative thoughts: there seemed to be quite a few unsupervised kids there who were loud and obnoxious, but obviously that isn't the campground's fault. The other is the same as everyone else, it stinks that you're on the bay, but can only see the bay if you walk down to a boat slip or peek between two trailers. The water on the beach was really green, but again, I'm not sure much could be done about that. It's a beautiful spot despite those things and we had a wonderful time. The grounds are immaculately kept and the hosts were checking golf cart drivers all the time. I didn't see where there was a huge amount of golf carts there and the ones that were, really weren't a nuisance. My son was able to ride his bike safely the whole time we were there, however we didn't let him out on the "main drag" . We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2006
$47
Spaces very close together, sewer almost under our noses. Reach out and touch your neighbor! Very crowed and lots of golf carts running around. People were friendly and nice, would not stay here again though. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2006
$42
Pull thru sites were very nice and wide. Weekend we were there was very busy, but well managed. Lots of 4th of July visitors were camping. Would be nice if campground could have identified a central location at the campground where you could witness fireworks above the tree tops. Pool was clean. Would be nicer if pool could be renovated and made nicer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2006
$47
Not a busy weekend, but still a preponderance of golf carts. Nice park overall with a nice lake for swimming and 2 nice playgrounds for kids. Park is maintained neatly and has trash pick up at site at least twice per day. As other reviewers have stated, permanent sites have the only water front sites so you will be relegated to an interior lot. This will require a lot of walking or a golf cart( we rented one due to this ). Will stay again, but not as impressed as I had hoped to be. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2006
$45
Imagine parking your RV at a drive-in movie theater without a movie screen. This best describes Bethpage Camp Resort. The majority of sites are located in a sparsely planted pine field where you can't even imagine that the park is anywhere near the water. All of the waterfront sites are occupied by permanent trailers and therefore aren't available to motorhomes. I'm all for walking, but you probably will need to rent a golf cart to get to the facilities. On the plus side, the place is well-maintained. The sites are large and level. The facilities are clean and well equiped. The field we were in had unpaved sites. Unless you have a boat and wish to stay for use of their ramp, there really isn't much else to do at the campground that you couldn't do inland at non-resort rates. From your site you'll see about as much waterfront as you would camping in Kansas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$44
Read some of the other comments on Memorial Day Weekend at Bethpage. We were there and had a great time. Any campground that is good will be very busy on a holiday weekend. There were golf carts around however we observed the staff (guys in red shirts on golf carts) stopping carts and checking for a license. Everything seemed under control. The real story at Bethpage, it is a beautiful resort and staff have always treated us like friends. I would highly recommend Bethpage, they are the best. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$46
Overall this is a great campground. I have to agree with other people comments about golf carts. They seem to get out of control. There are a lot of kids just joy riding the golf carts all around the park with no respect for anything. They do not pay attention to people walking, on bicycles, or driving a vehicle. They feel they have the total ride of way. I was almost hit numerous times. Plus there is a lot of drinking and golf cart driving. This is something that the park needs to get a grip on before they loose a lot of customers. There is a large section of the campground dedicated to park trailers. But overall there was a lot to do and I had a pretty good time. I stayed there in a Travel Trailer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2006
$50
This park is a victim of its own success. It is so incredibly crowded that it really takes the fun out of camping. Kids to young to drive are flying all over the place in golf carts, and many adults to drunk to drive have no problem driving their carts. My daughter and I were almost hit by one of these. There are large groups of wandering, unsupervised teens. They liked driving around in their carts and cat-calling to all the females they see in the campground. Large groups of them congregate all around the park. Sunday night I was pleased to see that the local sheriff was patrolling the campground. It was needed, but it's a sad comment on a campground that the local police have to patrol it. On the positive side, the facilities and grounds were top notch. Very clean and well kept. The pool was nice, but the pond with the beach seemed more popular. The floating trampoline was popular with the teens. On the negative side, our (and all our neighbors) cable TV picture was terrible. Visits to the office got us promises that it would be taken care off -- it never was. Our Wifi connection was poor, and when I could connect, was slower than dial-up (even using an external antenna). I think this was simply due to the overwhelming number of users. If you like to cook over an open fire, bring your own fire ring, the campground does not provide any. The sites are very small front to back: the folks behind us just saw the back of our rig when they sat under their awning. I think this campground would prove to be a much nicer place to visit at a slower time of year, when the kids were still in school We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$49
First of all I must say that I really like this campground. I was escorted to my site by a man named Russ. He was very friendly and directed me to the perfect place that was totally level. However I found out the next day that Russ had directed me to the wrong site and that I needed to move one site over. Well after speaking with a manager in the office I was given a free night stay for my trouble. There are still a lot of golf carts that are driven around and if you have small children you have to really watch them so they won’t be hit by one. I did notice that many of the adults were also drinking alcohol while driving around on them. The pool and lake were very nice and had lots of people using them. The campground has added cable television and wireless internet. The wireless internet uses three towers and I had no problem accessing a signal even though my site was in the last row of sites. All in all this is a nice campground and I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2006
$40
Nice campground if you like camping on a football field. There are some shady sites. Worked out great since we went with a group of campers. They have 2 really nice playgrounds for the little ones. There are golfcarts that you can rent (think 40ish a day) but we were unable to get one as they were all rented out. We didn't have an issue with people going too fast or anything like that but I can see how that could happen. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2006
$29
The $29.50 rate is good till May 15th then it goes to $44.95. They just put in Wi-Fi too and it is great. I will say the sites are large but the hookups are pretty far away. Some people needed extensions to the sewer or water hoses. I saw a bunch of these extensions in the camp store so it must be a problem on many sites. There are a lot of seasonals in the campground. I would say about half of the sites. We were here for the FMCA State Rally, they had extra room for motorhomes and had 105 Motorhomes here including big rigs. They had someone direct us to our spot and we had nice power and water pressure and the sewer hose just reached. There were a lot of golf carts running around faster than you can drive a car inside the park and many were driven by kids. They have nice cable and super fast Wi-Fi internet connections too. The sites were large and somewhat sandy though they have grass. The seasonals are just jammed in though and you have to walk through them to get to the club house or camp store. Also they have great facilities for rallys too. I would stay here again but the numbers of campers is huge and overwhelms the amenities when they are full. Nice campground and we would use it again if we have to stay in the area but would not seek it out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2005
$52
We camped for 8 days and part of that was over the 4th of July weekend. The place was Packed! I was very distressed on the amount of golf carts running about without concern for safety throughout the holiday weekend. I can certainly tell you that even though the rules stated you had to be at least 16 drive, many that were driving were not 16. Once the holiday weekend was over the place really cleared out for a few days and was quite nice. Of course, 2 days before we left the Coachman RV Ralley was coming into the campground and really getting crowded. I don't mind crowds but I won't stay here again during a holiday weekend!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2005
$45
We had high hopes of a relaxing weekend, however this campground was very crowded, I assume, due to the July 4th holiday weekend. The campground was clean and looked well maintained, but I felt the sites were a little small. The pools were pretty nice, and there was a pool that was hardly used because it was for adults only. Granted it is nice to have a pool for adults only, but being that the other pool was very crowded at times, it would have been nice to overflow into the adult only pool. There were too many golfcarts being driven at all hours, by people of various ages and states of sobriety. I was disappointed to see adults driving golf carts with beer in their hands with children in their arms. It was very annoying to hear golf carts for most of the day and night. We had an empty site next to us, and I guess people thought it was okay to drive through it, as if it were a road, not being very mindful of our small children. I enjoy music, but I don't care to listen to other campers' stereos late into the evening. I didn't like that there were so many permanant trailers, and we were right next to them, along a busy throughway. Perhaps if we had camped in the rear part of the campground I would have a different opinion. We were so concerned about other campers lack of consideration for the safety of small children, as well as all of the traffic, that we left a day early. I seriously doubt we will ever go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$45
Overall, the amenities made up for my complaints. Pros: Large site area 50 x 50, clean park and nice landscaping, beautiful lake and pools. Complaints: Too many seasonal sites and no sites available at or near the water. These sites do take away what could be a perfect park. Lifeguards could be a little more attentive. Being a 5 star resort, they could also use some sort of on-site deli or restaurant. Overall, I would go again in the future. Camped Father's Day Weekend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2005
$30
Very nice grounds and facilities, well-maintained. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Looks like it would be a great place if you have children (ours are grown and don't accompany us). But it was just too crowded, and campsites too close together, to suit us. One major disappointment: the bathhouses had no heat. We were there in early May and it was still a little chilly. We have no hot water or shower in our small popup, so we shower in the bathhouse. My lady was very disappointed about having to step into the chilled bathhouse air after her shower. I would think that with all the facilities here, they at least could have some heat in the bathhouse. But then, there appeared to be few trailers as small as ours, so I guess most campers shower in their RVs. Anyway, I doubt we will return. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$43
Just returned from BethPage from the Labor Day Weekend. It was pretty packed, but the family enjoyed the campground. Lots and lots of golf carts being driven by teenagers that thought the road belonged to only them and driving at high speeds. Also the temporary RV parking spot to check in was always full of golf carts from people parking there to go to the camp store. The carnival only had one ride which made it boring for my kids. These are the only negative comments I have to say about the campground. Overall the park is very nice and we are planning on returning next summer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$45
Virginia's finest catch in waterfront camping has no waterfront available to weekender/vacation camping families, only seasonals get each and every waterfront/waterview site. Superb facilities, immaculate grounds, nice "kids kamp", and friendly staff make this an otherwise really terrific resort. Bethpage needs to add cable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2003
$40
Very well-run, clean. We made a reservation here as a last minute decision after rains flooded Cherrystone and forced a change of plans. Seasonal sites are in one section, along the water, and completely block the view for anyone not along the water. Transients are in a separate section that is layed out in straight rows with two trees per site. Paved roads, grassy & level sites. Transient sites in front had more shade but could not be used the week we were there due to mud. Trees in back of transient section less mature, no shade. Heat, humidity, and no shade or breeze made our site unbearably HOT. Nice staff, activites, and amenities, but Cherrystone it isn't. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$42
Very nice and clean campground. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Stayed oyster festival weekend and was a bit crowded, but the park is lovely. Nice shaded area, campfires allowed after 4pm. Did not see a lot of activities at this time of year for kids with the pool closed. If you want to rent a golf cart, reserve in advance, but found everything within reasonable walking distance to get to. Would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$47
Camped here Labor Day Weekend. Very crowded! It was a zoo. You needed a golf cart to go anywhere, and of course there were none available. The lake was very nice. The pool was warm and cloudy from so many people. Our site was directly in the blazing sun, although it was a big grassy site. Lots of things for the kids to do. Very nice playgrounds but they were in the sun. Fishing was not an option because we did not have a boat and every area of water access is taken up by a seasonal site. Might return here but never on a holiday weekend and would make sure to ask for a site in the shade. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2003
$38
We visited this park with high expectations and were thoroughly disappointed - I honestly think that this park is highly overrated in the various guides. I find it hard to see this as a TL 10 or a Woodalls 5 having seen other parks across the US that truly deserve that rating. Any park that has a major portion of its total capacity in dated semi-permanent park models with skirts, sheds, and every manner of uncontrolled yard ornamentation should have their TL and Woodalls ratings reduced accordingly. Granted they are all packed together in one end leaving the transients grouped together, you still need to walk through the cheek-to-cheek permanent units to get to the various amenities. My suspicion is that when this park is full the facilities will be overwhelmed (as will any nearby restaurants, of which there are few) and the traffic jam at check-out would be a nightmare. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$38
Nice, but most sites were cookie cutter approach with 2 trees per site and in the newer area they are not yet mature. Sites are level on grass and 25x50 on special event weekends, but 50x50 most other times. Has lots to do for kids. Been there several times. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$40
This one lives up to its reputation and ratings in Woodalls and Trailer Life. We booked 3 nights and then stayed a week. They have it all, sites are 50 feet wide and level, all shaded. Full hookups at every site. They have a lake and the Rappahannock River...lots of boating, fishing and crabbing. We also drove 30 minutes to Jamestown and Williamsburg on 2 days and enjoyed the area. Staff was helpful and all facilities are clean and the whole campground gets a lot of attention from the staff. Big campground but not a "busy" atmosphere like you get at the big beach resorts. This is 2.5 hours away and we will be back! We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2001
$32
Excellent place to visit! The camp is located on a creek just off the Rappahannock River. Our family, including 3 small children, enjoyed the pool, swimming lake, fishing, crabbing, paddle boats, and especially the golf cart that we rented! Unfortunately, there are no boat rentals at the park or even nearby. We were envious of those that had their own boats in the water! Still, the amenities are great and the park is beautiful. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
1999
$28
This is a great park. Must eat in town. Would have stayed longer but eastern humidity got us. Lovely large grassy sites. RV washing area. Williamsburg within sight seeing distance. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com