223083 User submitted reviews online!!
First Landing State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 46 user reviews. Phone: (757) 412-2300
CGID3093

First Landing State Park

Camp Information
Sites
208
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$37



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   10   7   5   6   8   7   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$37
We were a little apprehensive when we arrived at this campground as reservations are not site specific and they give you a colour-coded tag and ask you to go find your own site that corresponds to the colour. Turns out it was fine. We found a very nice site in the G loop that was very close to the beach. Be advised that sites are on the small side and the maneuvering is tight so big rigs might have a tough time. We were on the beach almost every day and walking on it every night. The campground AND beach are very dog-friendly. On the beach, if you're looking for waves, you won't find many. It's more like a very warm, salt-water lake. Views of dolphins, cargo ships, Navy vessels and helicopters were great fun! Privacy between sites is great. Our only complaint was the Wi-Fi. They have an Internet cafe area, but for eight days we couldn't connect with two phones or a laptop. The staff said that that the Wi-Fi was erratic and that some people were able to connect, but we never talked to anyone for which is was working. Normally, we wouldn't care much, but we were trying to sell our house while we were away. Luckily, MacDonalds is five minutes away with free Wi-Fi. We would camp there again in a heartbeat! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$35
Really enjoyed our stay in this park. Sites were well spaced. Some paved, some gravel, some sand. Bathrooms were older but clean. Had a little trouble with WiFi at lounge but cell data worked just fine. Enjoyed biking and hiking in this park. Lots of trails just across the street in the main section of park. Regular patrols by park police, was a little cold and windy this trip so not sure what bugs will be like when warmer. Will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2013
$32
We really enjoyed First Landing State Park. The campsites are nestled into ancient sand dunes among gnarled live oak trees. They are sufficiently separated from each other that you have some sense of privacy. There are beach access points in each of the loops with boardwalks across the dune ridges to a wide sloping beach. The beach is along the Chesapeake Bay so the water is shallow, without the surf you will find around the corner on Virginia Beach. In the distance you see ocean going cargo and Navy ships entering the Bay. The Trails part of the Park has quite a few well marked trails. The Bald Cypress Trail goes through a cypress swamp with Spanish Moss hanging from the trees. Quite unusual for Virginia. There is a wonderful Visitors Center in the Trails area. The Park also offers cute 2 bedroom cabins for rent in a pine forested area. Like the campsites, they are thoughtfully situated for privacy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$27
Overall, we can't complain about this park. I think we aren't fans of camping at the beach. The park layout was nice, though. Multiple access points from the campground to the beach. Clean bathrooms/shower houses. Convenient concession stand. Fun interpretive events/activities for the kids. Friendly and helpful staff. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2013
$32
The state park itself is absolutely beautiful and has wonderful trails and visitor sites describing both the flora/fauna and the history of the area. We found the campground lacking. While the campground is quite pretty and sites are well separated by shrubbery, the roads are narrow and rutted and are overgrown by shrubbery in many places. We were hit by trees on our roof FIVE times between campsites C1 and C7. Leveling is also an issue, very few of the sites are level - some are as much as a foot out of level from front to back. The state park has WiFi, but you need to be within a few feet of the store for it to work. We were pleased to see that there were laundry facilities - that is until we saw them. The laundry room was really dirty, expensive ($2 for a wash and $2 for a dry) and full of old light fixtures and a pane of glass just sitting on the floor. We complained to park management and absolutely nothing was done during the week we were there. We also complained about the overgrown shrubbery and the same nothing was done. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2013
$35
We stayed two nights. The campground is barely accessible to big rigs. The corners are very tight if you are towing. There were no pull-thru sites for our class A motorhome and the back-ins are small. No place to un-hook except the driveway. Beautiful views from the beach of the anchored cargo ships. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
Location and site selection excellent. Nature programs outstanding and professional. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$38
We have been coming to this park for a number of years and always enjoy our trip. On-line reservations were easy and check-in went well. We camped in Loop G and had no issues getting into our site. The men shower in Loop G was not cleaned and the rubber shower mat had not been cleaned under in ages. The shower head was broken and not usable. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
Very nice campground near the Chesapeake Bay. If coming in a motorhome, recommend asking the ranger to be able to look at all three campground areas (D, G, and H) before committing to an area. This way, you are more likely to get a good level site. Saw many 30' and 50' sites occupied by pop-ups, tents, or vehicles; the park does not require that you have the appropriate RV for the large sites. Area good for biking and the beach is close by and very nice. Definitely will return next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$85
Best site I have ever been to. It is very clean, great staff, and great campsites. I had an awesome pull in site and very close to the beach. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$30
The location gets a 10. We parked in loop G and were just a short walk to the beach. For a couple of Canadians, being able to walk in the sun on the beach in November was glorious. Our site was comfortable for our 30 foot rig, basically sand but plenty firm. The picnic table and fire ring available were in good condition. While there were sites that would handle much larger rigs, the access to them could be prohibitive because of the width of the roads, some tree issues overhead and to the sides of the road. Electric and water were fine, showers were clean and though we didn't need them, having sinks outside to wash dishes was a nice touch. The reservation system and some of the personnel need a bit of work. We reserved on the phone, but the lady couldn't tell us what time the on site office closed. She also couldn't assign a site. We got here at about 7pm due to extensive traffic and there was nothing and nobody available to tell us where to park. However, there were maps available. Because of the tight appearance of the roads, we walked through a couple of loops until we found a site that would accept our rig and we hooked up and parked. The next day we went to the entry station, which was again unmanned, so we went into town for a few hours. We got back and went to the welcome center, and were directed finally to the park office where a fairly surly young man made the assumption that we were trying to get a freebie. I told him that we had already paid via credit card over the phone and after he confirmed it he admonished me for not coming to the office sooner and that not registering gave the rangers a lot of extra work (!!!) I won't judge the park based on one individual though, and although it would have been been nice to have had an assigned space when we made and paid for our reservation, the stay itself was very pleasant and we would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$37
Historic area, close to beach, but actually kind of disappointing for the amenities and site maintenance. We had a decent, level site, but we were there off-season, mid-week, and had our pick. So many sites were very narrow and terribly off-level (and deep sand). Visitor center was nice; boardwalk crossing over the dunes to beach was also nice. Staying off-season without crowds and bugs--the thing to do. But pricey for what was offered. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
I was really disappointed in the campground, we had our shizu with us, we arrived at dark and as soon as she stepped out of the camper she was covered in little prickly things that are attached to a weed that is in growth all over the park, in a matter of a few minutes she had them in the pads of all of her feet, inside her mouth, etc. I talked to other campers and they had experienced the same thing. There was a terrible odor around the restroom. The beach was beautiful, sorry we didn't have a better experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
Most sites are very large, well spaced with trees or bushes between. At check-in you are assigned a Loop and site color-code to fit your size rig. You can drive around your assigned Loop and select the campsite you prefer. To me this is a poor reservation system, if you arrive late there may not be a site that you can fit into (that is for us with larger rigs). If we go again our reservation will start on a Monday, that way more sites will be open. We stayed in Loop G, near the beach and away from the road. There is a bike trail, and hiking trails across the road. WiFi is available near the Park Headquarters, strong signal and fast server. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
This is a lovely park with a short walk to beach. Some sites are closer to the beach but none are really too far away. As with all Virginia State Parks you have a site but it's not specific. When we arrived they gave us one of two loops to choose from D or G, we picked D and after riding through both loops we didn't find any of our colored sites open so we drove over to H where we found a site and then went back and told them where we were. Our site was shaded and a good size, a lot of the sites are not defined by any borders. The showers were unisex individual showers and not the cleanest but they were also heavily used and often had to wait. This is an area that has so much to do in and a weekend just isn't enough time. We will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
There 2 highlights that drove us to this park, price and location. Excellent rates and location compared to others in the area. We stayed in an overflow site in loop H with no hook ups. Nice level grassy and sandy site, no shade but as close as you can get to the well stocked camp store, marginal bath house, restrooms and beach area. Ran generator 24hr/day with no complaints from anyone, although we do have an onboard unit which is pretty quiet. Check in was a challenge; the staff is not helpful with providing directions and/or suggestions. We had to ask several times to get a better understanding of directions and where to navigate throughout the tight and narrow park roads. I strongly suggest unhooking your dinghy before entering. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$21
This is a large campground with direct beach access. Sites are very large, well spaced with landscaping between. At check-in you are assigned a Loop and site color-code to fit your size rig. You can drive around your assigned Loop and select the campsite you prefer. Interior Loops A, B, E offer the most shade, but are farthest from the beach. Exterior Loops C, D, G are closest to the beach, have RV parking in full sun, and typically have a shaded picnic/tent area. Some sites in Loop H back up to the busy Shore Drive. Each loop has a bathhouse and dumpster. There are 4 beach access boardwalks. The beach at First Landing is fabulous! It’s long, not crowded, has warm Bay water with very gentle waves. You can wade out quite far. This beach has no rules, no lifeguard, and is dog-friendly. A huge camp/souvenir store and laundry is at the entrance. Movies are shown at the amphitheater nightly. Campground has no street lighting, and is dark and quiet at night. If you stroll the beach at night, be sure to note where the boardwalks are as it's hard to find your way back in the dark! Across the road is the Nature Area with several hiking trails. Park is well patrolled and campers are friendly. This is a wonderful beach vacation spot! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
This is a very nice state park. We had a site right next to the sand dunes. Could watch the ship traffic. WiFi was available at the visitor's center. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$35
This is one of those CGs that has so much to do, you could stay for a week and not leave the CG. Kids have loads to do. Nice, level (but narrow sites unless you are in the deluxe sites). Proof of the freedom of our nation jet noise can be bothersome to some but I LOVED it!! Free parking near the beach for guests. Overall I rated it a 10 because it deserved it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$33
For location, rest rooms and beach it gets a 10. But for a park that says it is big rig friendly and has 50 foot sites, it gets a 3. So I averaged it. If you are over 40 feet and around 13 feet tall you will have to be very careful and selective. The level areas on some sites are short so your long wheel base will not stay on the level area. Some 50 foot sites need tree trimmed so you can get in, or get your slides out. Park and pick your site and section with an eye for trees and soft sand. Also, when entering stay on the drivers side of the road to the gate shack, or you will hit the over hanging trees. It is quiet and if you are in a site that allows you to see the beach and boats at night, it is very pretty and if you have a smaller rig it is great. A 43 foot, full wall slide requires you be choosey and dodge trees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$35
Cost $35 plus with water and electric. This campground used to be called Seashore State Park, but in the 1990’s the name was changed to First Landing State Park because this is where the British landed before they started the Jamestown settlement. The park was created by the CCC and is located on the bay. They have sites for all size campers but on dirt and grass with two way hookups. The beach is close and some sites do have a view. The state really needs to put some money into this park especially fixing up the sites. You can boat, bike, swim, attend ranger talks and walks, and hike on a number of trails. There are over 19 miles of trails and some are for hiking, biking and exercising with special equipment put along the trails. There is a visitor center. I would strongly urge one to get reservations here because it was packed when we were there. You can not request a specific site only site size, so when you arrive it is first come first serve even with reservations. There is a lot to do around this area with Virginia Beach, Norfolk and Newport News all in the area. Interesting park! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$38
Very nice CG stretched along mouth of Chesapeake Bay. Variety of sites: on the dunes or in the woods. Campground roads are narrow and not well pruned back in places. Has multiple boardwalks over the dunes to the huge beach. Bathhouses are not fancy but quite functional. Has a good camp store. Free WiFi (at camp store). Has a good laundry. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$30
We are locals to Virginia Beach, so this weekend visit was two-fold: (1) I wouldn't be caught dead here during high tourist season and (2) we just got our new Bullet, so this was our "shakedown" cruise. Stayed in "H", like the previous campers and with good reason...Nor'easter are nothing more than winter hurricanes. The one we had here in Nov. '09 has effectively shut off 80% of the available sites (A,B,C,D,E &G). If you have camped here in years past, please keep this in mind. There are only a few sites that will accommodate large rigs and its first come, first serve. We sneaked a peek at "F", hoping that maybe it would be ready soon. Those sites will be on the Bay side as well. And while things were still closed up at the gatehouse, the camp store is now open, still run by the same wonderful people. If you do camp here, please do one cool thing: take two bags to the beach. One to fill with shells and one to fill with trash. The storms have hit us pretty hard, but if we can all fill just one bag, First Landing will continue to be the natural beauty it has always been. Have a great summer! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$35
Great location right on the dunes. Some spots have tree cover but we chose beachfront. There is road noise but otherwise this is an ideal park. Great running/biking trails. Showers, which are free, include steaming hot water and there are sinks for cleaning dishes and such. Currently the eastern half of the park is flooded so only the H campsites, located to the west of the park office on the map, are open. We stayed three nights in site 15H and found it private and lovely. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$32
This was a treasure. We got a spot in the open (hot), but with an outstanding view of the dunes and the bay. It was a short walk to a beautiful stretch of beach that was always empty and clean. We would do this one again, even though it was more primitive than we normally like. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$47
This park was a surprise, not at all what I had expected. The sites are large and remote. The sites for larger RV's are isolated so you feel that you are alone in the park. Our site was were along the edge of the ocean but not on the ocean. You have to take a walkway to get over the dunes to get to the beach. This is a very different kind of park, one that is worth seeing at least once. Very nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$22
Nice shady site, has great large sites, spacious, and away from other neighbors. Some sites are close and within walking distance to beach. Ours was near a bathhouse. Has a nice nature center. Has a very nice, private beach. Like the fact that this campground is gated. Has a nice, shady playground, and nice campstore. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
Fun campground in that is is directly connected to the beach. Some sites were pretty small, and not many with electric. Well maintained however. More shower/restroom facilities are need as they are few and far between. Some upgrades are needed to the some of the older shower houses as well as sewer gas smell is strong. Additional beach access would also be beneficial. You don't get to choose your site ahead of time here, but you do so when you check in. We ended up with a great site, but there were plenty of sites I would not have been happy with. Is a great campground overall! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$32
We could not get reservations on-line for Friday or Saturday so we made plans for arrival on Monday and departing on Friday morning. Upon arrival at 5:30 p.m. on Monday, there was no one staffing the front gate. We noted that 1/2 of the park was closed as we drove through the open sections looking for a sight. We have a 32 foot trailer and only found 2 sights available. We stopped by the front gate house on Tuesday and again on Wednesday and never found it open. It must be to early in the season. The rate of $30 plus tax was about $10 too high for the off season. We still love to see the bay and spend time in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2009
$30
After having a difficult time with the on-line reservation system, we managed to get one. Full prepayment was required, two months before arrival. When we arrived at the campground, we found out what the problem was: over half the campground was closed off (early season? budget issues?). There were only 4 or 5 sites open for 35-50 foot RVs, and you have to drive around and pick one after arriving. The park is divided up by length of sites, and a reservation for one size does not translate to a different size site. We were lucky to get site G6, the best in the park with a view of Chesapeake Bay and the bridge-tunnel. Most sites were not level. This park is much better suited to tent and pop-up campers and there were plenty of them over a hot weekend. Note that each pet (dog, cat, whatever) is $5 more per night. We didn't use the bathrooms or showers, so no report on them. You can't beat the location for visiting in Virginia Beach, so we would stay again if the need arose. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2008
$40
This was a tough park to come up with a rating for. It is an older park and was designed for small trailers and tents. There are limited sites for larger units, and the access to some of those sites is difficult due to road design, trees and limbs. I also would not want to try and get into the park after dark for a first time stay: very tight roads. Registration does not allow you to pre-select your site. So there is no telling what you will get when you arrive. And you have to take the tour through the narrow roads to find an open site. We stayed off season, arriving on a weekend, and there were no registration people on duty all weekend. A real mess when, after we got setup on our site, we were eventually told that we would have to move at the end of the week as they were closing that loop. Not real people friendly, although they did right by us after some discussion. Having said all that, we were on site G-6. Had to work to get a 32' fifth wheel into it, but once into it, it was a great site: very large, very private and a view of the Chesapeake out the back window. Good water and 50 amp service. Bath houses are newer and nice. We wouldn't go back, but if you were tenting or in a smaller rig, this might be a good spot for you. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$30
This is an old campground carved out of the dunes many years ago. The buildings and hookups however are modern and worked great. There are so many sites you can surely find what you're looking for. We made a reservation online so our check in was less than 5 minutes. It's very close to the Edgar Cayce center and about 10 minutes from the Boardwalk. We'd certainly stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$30
Back camping at our favorite local campground. Nice big site at B28 - the bath house was new and very nice. As always the beach was great with our site being near the dune crossover. The checkin process was VERY LONG this time, the staff did not seem very together or organized. It was an annoying way to start, but once we got through that, everything was great. We'll be back. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$30
Sites were good size, easy to setup, and divided by trees/shrubbery for privacy. Easy access to the Chesapeake Bay beach area - just over the dunes. We were here in mid-April and the water was actually warm enough to go in! The bathrooms were clean - though we didn't use them much so can't speak for the showers, etc. Reserved online so quick check-in, easy access dump station, nice camp host. Nice, quiet, family park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$29
This is the best camping deal in Virginia Beach. If you are beach lovers this is the perfect spot for you. Many sites within short walk over the dunes to the beach. Some with Bay/Ocean views. Clear view of the Chesapeake Bay Bridge. Next to the military base. There is always something to keep your attention there. Be sure to bring binoculars to watch the military maneuvers as well as the many different boats in and out of the bay. This beach is clean and pet friendly. Lots of shade for tenters. Access is tight for RVs. Some of the restrooms are updated, However, even the older restrooms are cleaned multiple times a day. Park rangers patrol often. Making for a safe, fun destination. I would highly recommend this campground. Best deal on the beach! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$29
One of the best kept secrets in Virginia Beach! HUGE campsites. Bath houses are cleaned daily and while we were there, checked several times a day. Park Rangers made regular patrols. Short hike over the dunes to the beach. Shower at the end of the dune crossover to wash off the sand. One play ground, so you have to drive over there. Camp store has everything you could need. Lots of interpretive programs and even had a nightly family movie. We'll be back! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$25
This park was nice. It looks to be an older state park but still well maintained. The roads are paved but the sites are just sand/dirt (ours was level). Daily activities scheduled. Store was well stocked and restrooms in that area were newer. There’s a trail center across the street and a museum located near the beach. Sites near the dunes didn’t look to be shaded, sites on back sides of loops were shaded but near a busy road. Not sure if we’d stay here again, as we all missed having a pool, but that's nothing against the campground itself. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2007
$32
Only stayed here for one night. My daughter said the restrooms were really dirty. Short walk over the dunes to a beach. Sites were just ok...all sand and not really level. Probably would not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$29
First Landing State Park is a very nice place to stay, if you are not looking for luxury. We had a 37' Fifth Wheel and could make it around all the roads, but they are tight: and sand only. The sites themselves vary widely. Some are level, some are not. Just a short walk (1 minute) over the dune lands you at the Chesapeake Bay waterfront. It's very beautiful and not too crowded, as the beach is for the park only. The water stays shallow (about 2' deep) up to 100' or so from shore. There are lots of crabs and stuff running around. We went in August, so it was Jelly Fish time, and we even saw one ray. It's certainly worth the money, and we will be going back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$32
This is a great park on the chesapeake bay. Sites are sandy and are behind the dunes so you cant see the ocean but can walk right over the dunes on the walkways. The showers were a bit rundown and needed updating. Beware of soft sand we got stuck and had to dig to get out barely did thinking we would have to get a 4x4 to get the trailer out. Lots of privacy around the dune area. Recently updated to 50 amp service and water on alot of sites We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2006
$30
Bathhouses older and worn looking but probably serviceable, three private shower rooms in the bathhouse near us. Unfortunately many campsites not open for use when we were there so site selection was limited, the G loop has water/electric with some sites large enough for RV's, we have a 30 ft class A. Some sites were quite level and others were not, our site was filthy with junk left by a previous camper but most looked OK. There are some small sites shaded by pine trees but they are very close to the road. The sites closer to the beach are more open and scrubby. The beach is very close, just separated from the campground by the dunes. Beach access is via several walkways throughout the park. Expensive but location is everything. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2005
$20
Located on Chesapeake Bay so can walk over dunes to a beach. Sites vary from being in sandy, sunny areas to being in woods. Park is located between the bay and a busy parkway with some sites located very near the parkway. We visited in the off season and could pick our site; during busy periods some sites could be rather noisy due to the traffic. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$27
We really liked the campground. Short walk to the beach. Store staff was very friendly. We will stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$28
We enjoyed our stay at First Landing SP. All sites were just a short walk over the dunes to Chesapeake Bay. We were there July 4th weekend. It was busy at the day use parking area. We enjoyed the 4th of July barbecue they provided and the fireworks from the beach. The rest of the week was quiet. They have a lot of nature programs that we took advantage of with the kids-crabbing, turtle hunt, sunset beach walk. There were beautiful walking and biking trails on the other side of the busy highway that runs through the state park. Some campsites are extremely close to this highway. Lots of noise during the day. Park is mostly shady tent sites. There was a grassy parking area for big rigs near the campstore/day use parking area but no hook ups. Campstore was one of the best stocked I have seen. Lots of camping/fishing stuff and tons of souveniers. Many well behaved dogs on the beach. I believe a lot of locals bring their dogs because we didn't see a lot around the campground. We didn't bring our pets because we wanted to visit Virginia Beach but the next time we go we will definitely bring the dogs. Only a short drive to Virginia Beach. Staff very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2005
$28
We camped here over Memorial Day weekend, so our comments should be taken in that context. In short, we will not come here again during any busy period. Thus far we have been quite pleased with Virginia State Parks, but this was just too crowded. Other state parks we've been to typically isolate the campground from other facilities. But here they have a day use area with access to the Chesapeake Bay for beachgoers, an educational center, and an amphitheater -- all adjacent to the campground. In fact, you have to drive through the day use parking area and past the educational center and amphiteater to get to one loop of the campground. There seemed to be evening activities at the amphiteater all three nights, so I'm sure those in the loop got little peace. The camp store is adjacent (adjoined?) to the educational center and amphiteater, but on this weekend with its day-use hoards there was no parking anywhere near it. But the kicker for us (with no shower and hot water in our small popup): On Saturday and Sunday they seemed to run out of hot water at every bathhouse. (Friday night was fine.) We tried three of them Sunday and finally resigned ourselves to cold showers. The staff guessed that demand outstripped supply. There is a major thoroughfare adjacent to the campground, and some campsites are no more than 100' from the road, with nothing more than a fence and some vegetation separating the road from the site -- obviously not very peaceful. Fortunately, we got a site closer to the bay, and it was actually very nice. They told us there are no "waterfront" sites and that those closest to the bay are separated from it by sand dunes. But we could partially see the bay over the dunes. And we had a much better view from atop a small dune next to the site on which we could set our chairs and watch the sunset across the water. So the site itself was quite nice, and level. I think this would be a very nice park to visit in, say, September (NOT Labor Day), when the air and Chesapeake Bay are still warm but the crowds have diminished. But again, not for us during busy season. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2001
$17
Charged $3.00 Per Night additionally for each pet. Also for $17.50 the sites where not maintained, needed to have the grass cut. Beach was very trashy. I have been to State Parks before, but this one really stunk. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com