220505 User submitted reviews online!!
Outdoor Resorts Virginia Beach was rated 9 out of 10 based on 28 user reviews. Phone: (757) 721-2020
CGID3095

Outdoor Resorts Virginia Beach

Camp Information
Sites
250
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$85



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   7   9   9   9   10   5   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$85
It has great beach access and the beach is very nice and natural. Easy access to the nature preserve and sites on the water. Sandbridge is a nice area. That's about it. The cable did not work, ants were bad, and we were told by some other residents that snakes come up out of the water frequently at night. The rates are inconsistent. The bar next door has LOUD bands til 1am. This is a trailer park with some vacant sites for rent. Plain and simple. It has all the look and feel of an 80's Florida trailer park and for that it's way too expensive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$80
Excellent staff and very accommodating! The property is located on the bay side and across the road to the oceanfront. Beaches are clean and not crowded. Several waterfront (bay) lots are available. The sites consist of a several park models in new to fair shape. The roads are paved and sites are concrete. Two pools and playground are well kept. WiFi was spotty but worked. You can expect some noise from the restaurant/bar next door til midnight on a Friday or Saturday nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$96
I'm from Quebec Canada and we have been to a lot of campgrounds around the US from coast to coast. Unfortunately, this year for our 13 days of vacation we were a bit disappointed with this campground. To be clear, let say that the main reason is the price for what you get. It is a good spot to be near the beach, just a mile to walk, but for $96 we had other campground much nicer at lower price. The Wi-Fi was not good - I guess it depends where you are on the site. The bathrooms were just ok and could use a better maintenance. Nice people around and very friendly. Almost all the sites are owned and they are rented when not used, so each site have there own looks depending off the owner. Some are very beautiful, but others are so-so like the one we had 111. Finally, the correspondence with the management was not good. They never confirm your reservation and no confirmation by internet, so you hope that what they tell you on the phone will be what you get. We did, but it was not reassuring. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$80
Quiet and peaceful place! Staff was friendly and very helpful. Gated entry with paved roads and sites. Mostly seasonal. Well maintained lots and facilities. Pools were clean - there are two located within the park. Sites are level and many back to the bay. The beach, pier, local supply store and bar are well within walking distance. If you prefer the busy "mainstream" noisy beach atmosphere, stay 20 minutes north in VA Beach. This was our second stay and third next year! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$60
The spot we had was great. It was right on a sliver of a bay. It was peaceful and we had our own dock to sit on. The beach is within walking distance. Our dog loved it. The sites are all paved and level. Our site was large but difficult to get in to due to a pole in the way. There are a lot of permanent residents but most sites are well kept up. It is a bit of a distance to Virginia Beach itself and shopping but if you like serenity and peace, you will like it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$65
We liked this park for the low key and off the mainstream VA Beach tourism. The beach is across the street and was practically empty. Kids had a great time and the DW enjoyed the waterfront site. The staff was very pleasant and helpful! I believe we have found our new place to park in the Hampton Roads area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$75
This was our fourth trip to this resort and our longest stay. We have never been disappointed in the cleanliness of the Park and the friendliness of the folks who full time and the other campers. Its location is ideal for short trips to the beach (crowded for Memorial Weekend) and fishing in the Back Bay. Not much to choose from in the way of restaurants and shops, but Sandbridge is a fairly small community. We did eat at The Baja, which is right next door. Good food, but you might wait a while for food and a table. For general shopping, we went to Red Mill, about 20 minutes away. Concrete pads make set up quick and neat while the waterfront sites make for an appealing back drop. We spent a lot of time at the #2 pool which was just 2 sites away. All in all, another great stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2010
$65
Hard park to rate. It seemed 75% of the sites were park model Fleetwood trailers or travel trailers with skirting giving it a very trailer park like feel. There are beautiful views of the bay and the park is clean, but it is not up to the level of other Outdoor Resort parks we have visited in Hilton Head and Vegas. The park is also a long drive to VA Beach but just down and across the street from a very nice beach park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$60
I loved this place!! What a great way to experience the beach and stay where there is some sort of privacy. I always find that most places do not have trees because they are coastal. This place has trees and is grassy! The park itself is clean and over all, it was a great choice! I recommend it. No fires though: that kind of bummed-out my husband. But the beach made up for it! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$75
Wonderful park! Waterfront sites galore and just a quick walk to the beach. Front office was very helpful and pleasant. Clean, level and well maintained. A bit far away from the "strip" of VA beach but did not miss it when compared to the local beaches close by. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$59
This is a RV resort where most of the spaces are full time residents. Some of the residents make their spaces available for rent. The roads are fully paved as well as the sites. There is grass around all the sites. Surprisingly there is a water drainage problem although the whole area sits on a finger of land with the Atlantic ocean on one side and a bay on the other. We had 3" of standing water behind our site for most of our stay. There is Wi-Fi, but getting a signal from our site was impossible. When we first arrived a large storm was brewing and for a unknown reason the entire bay was empty of water. It did return in a few days, but the bugs remained all the time. Dusk is thick with gnats, and spiders abound. A great view of the ocean is available from most spots. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$75
In reading a review from June 2007, a reviewer wrote they had visited this resort, fell in love with the Sandbridge area and purchased site #47 while there. Well, the majority of these sites are occupied by park models which are extremely well maintained and the sites are beautifully landscaped (with NO JUNK) visible around any sites. I digress, back to my first sentence. We chose site #47 to camp on and let me say, "it was pure heaven". Ok, more to the point, I'm green with envy. This is a gorgeous resort where you purchase your lot and either stay on it permanently with a park model/your own RV or rent your lot when you're not here. We backed right up to Back Bay with a very large lawn (yes I said lawn), double concrete pad which accommodated 2 vehicles side by side and of course, your RV. Views were awesome with a constant breeze but not so much you couldn't keep your awning out. Wi-Fi is mainly at the office lounge, although maybe if you were closer to the office you could get it at your site, we could not but this was absolutely not a problem. They do have excellent cable TV service, 50amp service and paved roads although they are somewhat narrow. The turn around at the very end of the resort was an extremely tight turn around and I didn't think we could pull it off with a 36' travel trailer and 4 door pick up truck but with help from a permanent camper we just got it turned around. It was rough going. If the owner of site #47 reads this review and ever entertains the thought of selling, please write it here in a review so I will know. We would certainly give it serious consideration. Highly recommend this resort and that's saying a mouthful because we normally don't care at all for a campground with mostly permanent sites. THIS IS THE EXCEPTION!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$60
This place is beautiful! We camped on an interior site and while we didn’t have a direct water view, we had no trouble getting a glimpse of the water and the beautiful sunsets. The sites were all flat, concrete pads and the grass was well manicured. The pool area was very clean and relaxing after a day at the beach (which was only a short walk away). It definitely did not have a “campground feel” to it but more of resort/condo complex (but in a good way!). Restaurants were only a short drive and the boardwalk area of Virginia Beach was about 20 -25 minutes. Great place to ride your bike. Back Bay Wildlife Refuge is a mile or so down the road and it also had some great bike paths. We loved staying here! What a great vacation. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$60
This is one of the nicest campgrounds that I have ever seen. The majority of the campground is occupied by seasonal campers who own their sites. There must be really strict guidelines about the upkeep of the sites, because they were all in great shape. Our site overlooked the “back bay”, which was breathtaking. Our neighbors, each of which were owners in this community, were very welcoming and helpful. Our site was large and had cable TV, sewer and both 30 and 50 amps hookups. It even had a boat dock. The pools were small, but well maintained. Frankly, why use the pools when you have an amazing public beach (on the Atlantic, not the bay) no more than 2 blocks away. We will be back many more times. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$90
This was our first experience at this resort and we were very impressed. Huge sites, full concrete pads and each site had a great view. Only a minute or two to walk to the ocean and 20 minutes from the tourist VA Beach area. Owners of other sites were extremely friendly and helpful. Booked for August already and plan on going back numerous times. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$60
We enjoyed our stay and we will plan a return visit in '08. The concrete pads were reasonably level and well maintained. The staff was very helpful and courteous. I'll take a half point away for the slight deterioration of the 2nd pool bathhouse. The FMCA discount is the only one they recognize, and it is a bit on the pricey side. But, we were just tickled to be at the beach and have a quality RV site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$70
We traveled to the Virginia Beach area for the first time and fell in love. The beach is beautiful and only minutes away on foot. We decided to purchase lot #47 and on Sept. 17th our dream came true. It is available for rent when we are not there! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$50
Second of what I hope will be many stays here. I don't like the condos that were built across the street, but it didn't effect our stay or our view at all. We had site 26 which was out on a point with water views on three sides. BEAUTIFUL! Can't wait to return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2005
$60
This park is very well maintained and manicured. It is compromised mostly of seasonal and rental trailers. Fellow campers and the staff were very friendly. However, being a family with children, we found there to be a lack of on-site activities. Basically, there are the 2 small swimming pools, and that is it unless you have boats, sea kayaks, or Sea Doos. What we assumed was a once lovely view and walk to the beach is now obstructed by the construction of a giant resort complex across the street that does not fit in at all with the quaint environment of the Sandbridge area. Campfires, one of the things we enjoy most when camping, are not allowed. For those who like the rustic, natural feel of camping, this park is not for you. We will probably not return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$40
We really enjoyed this peaceful and relaxing campground. It is one of the nicest campgrounds we have ever visited. I loved the concrete driveway and pads. It did rain and thunderstorm while we were there, so is was nice not having to deal with the grass and mud. The 2 pools and hot tub were very clean. The restrooms were extremely clean and had air conditioning. How nice! My mother and father-in-law stayed in one of the rented campers. They really loved it. Very clean inside. Furnished very well. They didn't want to come home! There was a really nice breeze from the water! We will hopefully visit again some day and will recommend this campground to others! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$60
This is the most beautiful and well cared for resort that we have been to. The staff was very friendly, and even though we saw lots of golf carts roaming around, everyone was respectful and it was VERY quiet. We had two very large sites right on the bay - the sunsets were amazing. Each site had a large deck overlooking the water; perfect for relaxing and enjoying the scenery. The beach was very close, and wasn't crowded at all. The pools at the resort were very clean as well as the bath houses. Our only complaint was that there was only one shower in the bath house. Overall, this place is very clean and very pretty. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$60
This is a very quiet and well maintained establishment. The sites are level, concrete pads and are well marked. Restroom cleanliness was of "surgical quality" and set a new standard of excellence. The grounds are well manicured and are surrounded by Back Bay. The ocean is within walking distance and a municipal park with ample parking ($3 fee from 9AM-5PM), two bath houses and picnic pavilions are approximately .2 mile south of the Resort gate. A welcome change from other resort area spots that feature hordes of teens, unsupervising adults and hundreds of speeding golf carts! Only one small problem during our stay. Red ants. They stirred about the rear of our site and got in the RV. The management expressed amazement in my discovery and obviously had no means to eliminate the pests. Had they done so, my rating would have been a 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$50
This is a beautifully maintained RV resort. We had no difficulties with a 40' motorhome backing into #105. The site was on the canal with a view looking out onto the bay with absolutly georgeous sunsets! The lots, trailers and motorhomes are all well maintained. Trash is picked up every morning. Special stands contained doggie dropping bags and a disposal container. Everybody we saw was meticulous about cleaning up after their pets. Some permanent residents have golf carts but there were no children zooming around - everything was very quiet. There were very few children - mostly this is an adult community. The entrance is gated and the staff was friendly and helpful in pointing out restaurants, etc. The pools were not yet open - but the hot tub was in full use and was very clean. The ocean is about a block walk from the entrance to the resort. Because our site was on the backside of the resort this made for a longer walk to the ocean. The only negative was the roads getting from I64 to the resort - tight, small and sharp curves!! Go slow and watch for mailboxes hanging out and deep ditches along the sides with no shoulders on much of the road. But the resort was well worth the time it took to get there. We will certainly come back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$50
This was our second visit to this park and we will return. Though we arrived after the office closed, an employee who lived nearby was watching for us and was at the office in less than 5 minutes with a cheerful welcome. We were allowed to select a site and were given good directions. The interior roads are just a little challenge, but no problem if you take your time - even in the dark. The sites are well marked and beautifully cared for. The cable service was the best we've seen in a campground. Our site was easy to get into - we pulled straight in onto the concrete pad and had a waterfront view, a private dock, and 15 steps to the bath-house which was extremely clean. There is a boat ramp with access to a wildlife refuge for paddlers and fishermen. The refuge has hiking trails and biking is easy around the area (very level). There are a couple of restaurants close by and the Virginia Beach Resort area is just a half hour away. The number of transient sites varies since this is primarily a residential park, but the permanent site owners are very friendly and welcoming. No open campfires are allowed due to local regulations. The park is gated and secure. We didn't use the hot tub, sauna or indoor pool, but they looked great. Open all year. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$50
Loved it! Pure peace and quiet. No square dances, or theme night entertainment. No Ice cream socials. It just a place to go relax. You can walk to the ocean in about three minutes. There are 2-3 restaurants within 5 miles ( one next door). There is a big state park/ wildlife refuge a mile away. Site were large and level. We will be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$50
Having been to the best - Ft. Wilderness Campground in Disney - I can't rate any resort a 10. I did, however, really enjoy my visit at this resort and will be returning every chance I get to go to the beach. The resort was quiet and clean. Our 35 foot motorhome fit quite nicely on the concrete pad. Our site (#186) backed up to a water canal, had a well maintained picnic table with a nice grill (one that I would actually consider using). The sites have enough privacy for my liking. I particularly like this resort because I can walk to the the beach (1 block away from the entrance of the resort). The beachfront is not very large but I prefer it to the atmosphere at the boardwalk beachfront in Virginia Beach. Please note that my husband and I are past the point of needing a campground that entertains children. This resort doesn't have all the hype that might attract families with children. Beyond the pleasure of being at the beach or one of the pools at the resort, there is not much going on (i.e., campfire, outdoor movies, etc.). It is peaceful, quiet, clean, extremely well maintained and very remote. It is a great place to unwind! I love it. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2002
$50
Very pretty park located on the bay. Well maintained. Sites difficult to enter with big rigs, no room to back in. Very windy, constant breeze, couldn't use awnings. Located block from ocean and mile from Back Bay Refuge, both nice areas, away from hustle of Va Beach. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2000
$30
Nice park, but interior roads are narrow and curvy and generally not suitable for big rigs. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com