206886 User submitted reviews online!!
Virginia Beach KOA was rated 6 out of 10 based on 60 user reviews. Phone: (757) 428-1444
CGID3096

Virginia Beach KOA

Camp Information
Sites
376
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$75



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   9   7   7   8   8   8   9   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2014
$75
I guess it's all about location location This KOA has the most seasonals I have ever seen at a KOA. Overall not a bad place. Two miles from the beach by foot or car. Being mid April, a lot of activities were closed like the pool. Store closes at 5pm. We picks FHU back end site #348. This site was small but OK. So, pick a pull through. Most looked bigger. Campground showed its age but at $75 a night, I think I could find better. Sites unlevel Not hateful, but just some general house keeping would help. Probably won't return.. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$42
Their Wi-Fi is great because they have multiple antennas and it's fast. Jets fly overhead. Be grateful they are there. They are from the local military base used in training applications for the most part. Yeah, they're noticeable but they're there for our safety and the safety of this country. The park seems to be set up for the summer crowds that flock this place and they can handle it. Everyone on staff was pleasant and seem eager to be of service. Sites are gravel and off level a little. They have bike paths near by and not far from the beach boardwalk. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$45
Great place. The pool was closed, but looked awesome with a slide. Nice jumping pillow and place for dogs. We loved the store and the assistant manager. Wonderful place! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$50
No real complaints about this park. It was adequate and convenient to the beach and shopping. I think it was a bit overpriced for the off-season (pools closed, not anything going on). The jet noise from Oceana Naval Station could be bad at times, but that's Virginia Beach. It didn't bother me, because I sincerely love the sound. Electricity was a little low but not a real problem. Water pressure OK. Reasonably quiet at night, except on weekends when there's a little more party atmosphere. Some noise from the street. Sites adequately sized and reasonably level. People in the office were very nice and helpful. Bathrooms clean. Didn't use the laundry, so can't report on that. Wi-fi OK, cable OK. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$61
The sites at this campground are small and there is little privacy. Trees provide shade at some of the sites, but many of the sites are wide open. Our site had full hookups (water, electric, sewer, and cable). The water pressure seemed low compared to other campgrounds at which we have stayed and the water had a brown tint to it, but was otherwise fine. The cable channel lineup was limited. The stone surface at many sites appeared as if it could use replenishing as water tended to pond and drainage was fairly poor. The campground has many amenities, including two very nice pools (one with water slides), bouncing pillow, playgrounds, half basketball court, horseshoe pits, bocce ball, and 9 hole mini golf in urgent need of repair. Bus service to area attractions is also available. The campground is minutes away from many attractions, including the Virginia aquarium, Virginia Beach boardwalk and ocean front, Ocean Breeze water park, go kart tracks, and mini golf. The jets from Oceana NAS were noticeable but easily tolerable. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$59
We stayed here for 3 nights in a 27' rig. The park and the area has lots to do for kids and families. The laundry is the largest I've seen in a campground. $1.75 for washers and dryers. The bathrooms/showers were clean, but only 2 per building (multiple buildings) which I thought was too few for the number of sites in the park. We used the Dog Park which is nice. The sites were level and spacious, but some can get muddy when it rains. There is a problem with drainage in some sites. Both open and shaded sites. The staff is attentive, but when we were here, the grass needed mowing in some sites and there was trash in some of the fire pits. The park is convenient to the Boardwalk, beach, grocery store, and other sights in the area via the trolley, bikes, or car. The jets flying overhead were not an issue. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$80
We were pleased with this campground. The bathrooms were very nice and the showers were very clean. The water pressure in the shower was very low though. We did use the pool, it was OK. The jumping pillow was fun for my kids. If you are going to the beach, it is well worth the $2.00 pp for the bus pass to take you there. You can buy the pass right in the campground store. The campground store had the basics. The staff was always very nice to us. The sites were large and fairly level. We had site #352 which was a back-in site. It was backed right up to the main road for the entrance to the campground. It wasn't too bad, but the street lights were annoying at night. The noise of the aircraft wasn't too bad either. We felt very patriotic watching and hearing the aircraft in training. I think that the campground is a bit overpriced, but would probably stay here again if we ever come to Virginia Beach again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$38
10 minute trip to the beach by car. I stayed in March so it was mostly work campers there. There was construction of some sort going on around the bath house so the showers weren't that clean. The showers were also individual rooms separate from the bathrooms and were a little small. The staff was nice, but they were out of ice the day I needed it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$89
KOA Virginia Beach This was our second stay at a KOA campground with our family and it was again an excellent experience. The location was a 3.3 mile bike ride along a paved bike path starting right at the campground to the Virginia Beach Boardwalk. For those who prefer motorized transport, the VA Beach shuttle rounded right through the campground every 20 minutes until 1 AM for $2 for an all/day fare. The kids loved the swimming pool with water slides and the jumping pillow was the ultimate favorite of ours (Not to mention that Mom and Dad had some jumping fun as well). The staff was extremely courteous and helpful. The campground was large and full on Labor Day Weekend but still didn't feel crowded. I would give this location a 10 except the Wi-Fi, although functional and free, was useful for extremely low bandwidth applications limited to email and Facebook and AT&T only had 1 bar at this location. Otherwise this park was fantastic and we will definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$75
A bit off the beaten track. This is a great place if you are visiting the base or spending time in the bay. If you are a light sleeper, beware. The F-18s fly in at all hours of the night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$45
We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at this CG. It was well maintained and very friendly staff. I highly recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$43
This KOA has the largest sites for campers of any other KOA I have been to. The bus service was easy to use to get around the beach area. The kids loved the pool with the slide and it was opened quite late! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$58
We stayed here from May to Sept 2011. We had such a good time. Summershiners had activities planned for everyday. Water wars was the best! Two pools: one with 2 slides, jumping pillow fun for all ages. Staff was friendly and the managers are good people. Can't complain about the Jet noise, that's not controlled by the park. (Small price for freedom to me.) We will definitely be returning. Oh, and during the season, for $2 you can hop on the bus (picks up IN the park) and take it to the beach and back all day. Great place to spend the summer. A lot of memories were made this summer at KOA Va Beach. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$54
Had a great trip with the kids (three boys). They had a lot of fun riding bikes. The shuttle to the Oceanfront runs frequently. Great pool for kids with slides and huge trampoline thing to jump on. Downers were the cost and size of the campsites. We did the pull through thing and it's a roll of the dice between narrow lot and super narrow lot! The staff is super friendly and that counts for a lot in my book. Would go again with a guarantee of a larger site and a coupon or two :) We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$70
This campground has been completely revamped. New beautiful sites. Friendly staff. Has a nice pool with slide. Has nice new restrooms and showers. A trolley picks you up at the campground and brings you to the beach. What a change from a few years ago. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2011
$35
Made my reservations from the road. Was not able to log on their internet site for reservations and lost my bonus 250 points for not using the internet. It would not load. Using my brand new KOA discount card I called and asked for a 30amp back in. Reservation person indicated that she looked but was not able to find one. But took the reservation. At check in was assigned a 50amp pull through. After unhooking and set up looked at the bill. It was for the higher 50amp pull through with 10-15 30amp back ins right there empty. Went to the front desk. Everyone was very cooperative and the bill was adjusted and credit was given to my CC. One very important thing I missed. Using the KOA discount card you get 10% off. Very nice. BUT if you are eligible, the MILITARY DISCOUNT is 25%. If eligible please keep that in mind. Now about the Military jets. Way way to nosy! At least 40 took off or landed each day of our stay. All day every day up to 10:00 at night. The noise is very very loud and distracting. This is unquestionably the nosiest campground we have ever experienced. This probably will keep us away in the future. A nice campground that is almost all gravel with low spots to catch the rain. It does drain right in, but while and right after rain it is a problem. Most likely will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$51
Made reservations in February for 2 RVs. Requested side-by-side sites. Arrived at 4:30PM and was sent to a MUD HOLE representing itself as a camp site with hookups. Went back and the uncooperative lady at the desk did find me another site that was better, but would not allow my traveling partner the EMPTY site next to mine. Sent him to another "standing water" site. The empty site next to mine was EMPTY all night! Lady did offer to refund my money if I would leave. I have contacted KOA corporate who replied and contacted the VA Beach KOA: they would not and have not replied. I would stay in a parking lot before staying at this KOA. KOA has been my preference for years. Other than that, this VA Beach KOA did have nice amenities for families and all the hookups worked fine. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$51
Plus side: Very friendly staff and very helpful. Anything you want is within a two, to five mile drive. Lots of great restaurants close. Be sure to check out the Lucky Oyster. Very good! Minus side: Sites are very close together. Lots of trees so hard to get signal with satellite dish and there is no cable TV. But, would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$77
This KOA park was descent compared to others in the area. It has tons for the kids to do. For example, two large pools, one with a large slide. It had a bouncing balloon pillow so the kids as well as adults can do some jumping. The store was well stocked and had a great selections on decorative signs. The sites we were in, were in OK condition. Most were even but you were on some gravel. I highly suggest that you bring a surge protector with you. There were numerous electrical spikes and surges. My surge protector saved me. It stopped the surge from damaging my RV and it took the damage for me. It melted the 30 amp receptacle in the pedestal. I called to report the problem and maintenance was here with five minutes. They replaced the damaged receptacle and had me running in no time. The water pressure was not the greatest, but that was because the park was jammed with people. Wi-Fi service was good. I didn't mind some of the F-16 military jet noise. You hear it through out the day and it was bearable. I rather loved hearing our fighter jets from our U.S Navy flying around. The staff were very friendly and always willing to help. As for some of the northerners (CANADIANS) visiting, I can honestly say they were very unfriendly people with there rude attitudes. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$66
This park is OK but not a great value for the in-season dollar; it doesn't seem to be up to usual KOA standards, although some maintenance on the gravel interior roads and pull-through sites seems to have been done recently. We noted some new power pedestals as well, so electrical systems might have been recently updated. Clearly, more needs to be done to bring this park up to standard. The jets fly from Oceano NAS 8AM-midnight, but locals shrug that off as "the sound of freedom" (they sell "I Love Jet Noise" bumper stickers). We were just here for an overnight, so we didn't really explore the park. The pull-through sites just west of the office were heavily treed and we had to ask for a different site to get satellite reception. The pull-through we had was barely large enough for our motorhome and toad parked cross-wise in front (these are pull-through sites in the sense that you can pull in and then pull out, not spaces where you can leave a toad or trailer hooked up). Staff was generally friendly although some seemed to be in training (difficulty setting up our site and more trouble changing it), and we noticed several other arrivals changing sites during our stay. Wi-Fi is available per their web site but we didn't have a chance to try it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$35
Reviews are all accurate. Good location just down from Holiday Travel park. 2-3 miles from the boardwalk. Huge RV park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2009
$35
We were disappointed at how primitive this park was. We often stay at KOA's, typically they are much nicer than this one. The staff was quite friendly, but the site needs some work. The pull through area is quite muddy and does not appear to be taken care of. There is only one dumpster and it is quite a hike from the pull through area. The one side of the park appears to have some permanent trailers: and these are quite old. Looks a bit more like a trailer park than a KOA. I don't think we will be back here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2009
$35
Jet noise here is not mentioned in other reviews. I don't know why since it is across the street from the other parks in this area. I'm not gonna go into reviewing facilities and road conditions because the earlier post are accurate. My site is a little small for a pull through 50 amp full hook up but there is enough room to keep my dolly attached and staff doesn't complain about parking in the field next to the bath houses. Staff is friendly and well mannered. The real rub for this and every camp in Virginia Beach is the Military jets. Today is my 2nd day here and they started flying at 9 a.m. and as i write this seemed to stop at about midnight. To be fair the flyovers aren't constant but go on all day. The intervals for flyovers are as few as seconds to several minutes when they occur. Staff claims they only fly on Mon-wed in season and taper off during the weekend. This is yet to be seen and I am here out of season so they may alter schedules and fly more who knows. The low rating is for jet noise alone. Otherwise the park seems fine and big rig access is a breeze. It's a shame that the jet noise spoils this area cause just a few miles down General Booth BLVD is a ocean front area with a strip and shops that reminds me of Southeast Florida. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$30
We spent 4 nights at this park. The showers and restrooms are clean. The laundry is clean and has lots of machines that work well. There are two large pools that look clean and inviting another time of the year. The RV parking allows plenty of room on both sides, and is on gravel with some grass around. The grounds could use a bit more cleaning up after people leave. We had a pile of cigarette butts and burned trash remains in the grass where we were parked. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$50
The wireless internet only works if you are seated on the front porch of the campground store. For this price, there is no trash pickup at your site. The camp sites are small and cramped. They do keep the pool very clean but they close it at 8 PM. This campground is next to a Naval Air Base. If you do not like jet noise, don't stay here as the planes were very loud. I liked seeing the planes and they did not bother me, just a word of warning. This campground does not have a downtown parking area. That means everytime you go downtown you have to pay at least $5 to park. Other area campgrounds have a parking lot downtown for their campers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$80
This was our first visit to Virginia Beach and I did some research on this campground. The reviews were less than stellar, but since it was the only thing available, I booked it for 2 nights. The cost was extremely high, it was $80 per night for a tent site with water and electric. The roads were in bad shape, there were ruts everywhere. Our site was small and in the direct sun, there was one tree on our site, and we could see the highway. There were no fire rings and the bathrooms were filthy. Showers were on one side and bathrooms on the other, instead of being attached. The camp store was nice and stocked and pool was nice, but crowded. One perk was the bus that traveled you to the inlet. However, that same bus made a stop at another park, which made me envious. The other park was spacious, clean and full of trees. We definitely can not recommend this campground, even if you are in an RV. The RV sites were small and very close together. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$70
This campground needs a lot of work. The roads really are as bad as other posters described, and the general appearance of the premises is shabby. The bathhouses need updated, and the showers are odd. Even my kids complained about the showers, and that's a first. My particular site was actually fairly spacious, but I kept tripping over tree roots. The staff was friendly, and the kids enjoyed jumping on the big air pillow. The pool looked nice, but we didn't use it. We were only here three nights, and we spent most of the time at the beach or visiting friends who live nearby. If I had camped here for my actual "beach vacation", I would have been very disappointed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$31
This is an excellent park. It is user friendly especially during bike week. Common sense prevails during certain events. I would recommend it anytime of the year. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2009
$64
The site we had was very tight. Had a 30' travel trailer with double slide out noted this when reserving a site. In order to open the slide outs we had to park with a large tree right in front of the entry door. Roots of this tree were about 4" wide which caused a real trip hazard getting in and out of the the camper. Tried to reposition camper but the site was too small and would not allow us any forgiveness. Our pickup truck was parked across the front of the lot sticking out in the road as well as into the site next to us. No fire pit not even room for one. Asked if we could move to one of the several open sites the next day we were told they were reserved. Understanding this was a holiday weekend we asked if they could do something about the large roots before some one was injured. They said there was nothing they could do and they were booked solid. A reduction in the nightly rate would have been a nice gesture. The roads were very poor. Pot holes and ruts everywhere. The bath houses and rest rooms were the worse i'd ever seen at a KOA. Two hours before checkout they turned the water off to the entire campground and never made effort to go around and let camper know of a problem. We will stay at the campground across the street on our next visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2009
$40
This was our fourth stay here and there will not be a fifth. Each time we stay, the experience becomes worse. Roads are terrible with large potholes and gullies. I was told the tractor had broken, it is time to get it fixed. Restrooms were marginal at best. Office staff friendly, but other workers would not acknowledge you if you were on fire. Luckily it had not rained for a while, our site was nothing but bare dirt, easily could have been mud. This park needs a lot of work to bring it up to where it is worth $40/night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2009
$40
We visited this campground and the roads are terrible, one of the maintenance employees loves to say "f" this and "f" that and loves to have a gun on his side!!! We had to leave there quickly and went across the street to travel park and it is like night and day between the two campgrounds. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2009
$55
The sites had plenty of room for a smaller camper like ours, but I wouldn't want to pull a big one in. The campground had very few trees on sites (our site had none). I guess if the beach is your destination, this is a great place to put your camper. But if you want to set up camp and hang out I wouldn't recommend this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$31
We arrived at the campground after 7:30pm on a Saturday night having previously called the facility to let them know we would be there late. A registration form and a map to our site were both available at the entrance as was explained to us. We found our site easy enough, but it had been raining in the area for two days and the site was very muddy with very little gravel to keep the feet out of the mud. There were two sets of men's showers. While one set was okay (a little messy, but fairly clean), the other was virtually flooded all around. There was a sign on the building claiming that the showers were to be cleaned between 8:30am and 9:30am each morning, at 10am there was no evidence of this. Our water and electric hook-ups were fine, but the site sewer hook-up was just an open pipe without any type of interface for the hose connector. The Wi-Fi connection was great. We will probably stay here again in perhaps better weather, but this weekend was a stark introduction for us first-time RVers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2009
$65
Nice park, close to the oceanfront, but a bit pricey. They have a nice store, pool and very friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$29
We enjoyed our stay. The camp host was very friendly as were the owners . Not much happening this time of year but was convenient for us to visit in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$39
Nice but not alot to do, close to beach and golf course right behind the KOA We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
Fun place. Close to Va. Beach north end. 10min to town and all the action. Will be back. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$50
This campground is located about 2-3 miles form the beach. There was a trolley that ran to and from the beach. The area here is mostly level and the campground sports several trees. This is especially true of the tent area. The site we have does not have a tree within 30 feet of it. There is no cable here at this campground. The camp store seems to have a good selection. The pools look to be clean and well kept. They have this jumping thing for a kid that is so cool I want to go and jump on it. It is huge and looks to be in great shape. There seems to be ample playground equipment and other kid type stuff. The laundry room was clean and in good repair. The game room was fairly large and offered several games to choose from. The bathhouses were in good repair and seemed clean. I used one of the showers and there was plenty of hot water. In addition, the showers were very private. There was even soap in the bath rooms and paper towels. In addition, there was a hand blower (drier) in the bathroom. The overall grounds were in good shape. The lawns were mowed, and trash pick up was timely. The Wi-Fi here was a little spotty. I had a slow connection some of the time. Other times the Wi-Fi seemed to just be down. The roads here were a mixed bag. Some of the roads were paved and in good shape. Other interior roads were gravel and were in a mixed state of repair. There were some rough places. Overall, the price could have been just a little lower, and I would have rated it just a little higher. We would come back to this campground. Rating of 8 plus is the rate I would give this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2007
$38
Not the most scenic site we've stayed at but they offer all the amenities you might expect from a KOA. Unfortunately there was an aircraft carrier returning to port during one of our night stays. We watched and LISTENED as she emptied her decks of aircraft, bound for Oceana Naval air base, well into the night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$38
Rate was with KOA Gold (15%). At first I was surprised they did not offer a weekly rate, but after staying there, not sure anyone would want to stay that long. Can you say N-O-I-S-E? Turns out the campground is right under the flight path of fighter jets training out of a Naval Air Station just a couple of miles away. It starts at 8am SHARP and seemed to regularly go to 9:30pm, but one night until almost midnight. I'd never go back for that reason alone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$46
This campground is now owned and run by the corporate office of KOA and is not a franchise. The staff was warm and friendly and very helpful. We stayed in a rather large "rustic" site along the main road which offered quite a bit of room to spread out. The roads leading to this section and other sections were quite narrow with sudden turns. Driving anything but a car could prove quite difficult and if you make a wrong turn you may end up on someone's site. The roads need to be widened and smoothed out. Grassy area campsites were on the smaller side but I found this normal in high tourist area campgrounds. The staff worked hard to keep the bathroom facilities clean, but it seemed the other campers worked twice as hard at undoing what the staff had just cleaned, which made me realize what slobs my fellow campers were. There is no excuse for the mess and filth they made in the restrooms. I felt sorry for the staff cleaning them !! They worked hard at trying to keep them clean. The store was pretty well stocked, the pool was open and clean, the 2nd pool had just underwent repair and opened as we left. Overhead aircraft noise has been mentioned before, and yes it was loud when they passed over during the day, early morning and evenings were quiet, so I have no complaints about the noise. Great proximity to area attractions. Very little "critter" activity other than blackbirds and squirrel. My only complaint was that I cleaned up the site after we set up as the previous campers there left their litter scattered about and the campground could of been a bit more "active" in cleaning the sites when campers departed. I am happy I decided to give it a try and would camp here again We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2007
$45
We live only 7 miles from this campground and have been here before but not sure if I will go back again. They have 2 swimming pools and when we made reservations no one told us one was broken and had no water in it. When we got there, all of a sudden the other one broke so its 98 degrees out and no place for the kids to cool off. The site we had was fairly level with some shade, grass, and was of good size. The Security came around often, was very pleasant and helpful. When I checked into my site a few hours after check-in time the site was dirty with trash from the previous resident, and I had to clean the site up prior to setting up. We had then ask them to come and pick up the trash, which they did in a timely manner. The Rest rooms were nasty with the floors dirty and a few of the toilets overflowing. They have a total of 4 different bath houses and I recommend that during the day they have the staff check them on a regular basis and spot clean if they need to be cleaned, instead of holding off until the next morning to clean them. I did not even check out the showers after seeing the bathroom, instead I drove the 7 miles back home to check the mail and took a shower!! The KOA is close to the beach and I am in hopes after the new owners get everything under control that this will be a nice campground once again. But right now it is a work in progress, and unless I see a drastic change in the way they do they're maintenance and cleaning of the facilities I will be going down the road to the Holiday Trav-L Park which is less then a quarter mile away, with a lot more activities. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2007
$45
Although most of the sites were pretty level, they could use some work. The first site we were given had a huge mud puddle that would be right outside of the door. I went back to the office and was reluctantly given another site. Office staff was not overly helpful or friendly. Security person made rounds about every 15 minutes, a nice feeling. The aircraft noise from Oceana Naval Air Station was bothersome at times, but this is not the fault of the campground. Two miles from the beach, but access is easy. Campfires are allowed, but fire rings are not provided. Some of the long term campers are a little rundown, (the vehicles and sites, not the people). Roads could use some work also, potholes in the paving and large dips in the gravel roads. Picnic tables need rebuilding. Might stay here again, but it would not be our first choice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$32
We took advantage of the free night of camping from KOA to visit this campground and were very pleased. Our campsite was level and spacious and also close to the bathrooms. The staff was very warm and friendly. They also had nightly planned activities. We will definitely return! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2007
$26
Park is pretty run-down and it doesn't appear that anything is being done for upgrade. There are numerous sites that were flooded, but were unoccupied--I assume because it was off-season. There's strong potential these sites would not be pleasant if it rained during the active seasons. The site we had was on high ground with adequate space between sites and was very pleasant. There's plenty of openness for walking pets but no means to access the beach by walking. I don't recommend this park and won't stay here when I come back to this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2007
$30
Nice park with helpful staff. Enjoyed our stay. Hope to get back there again some time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2006
$38
We stayed here with 2 other familys on 2 adjoining sites. Hurricane Ernest or what was left of it cleared the area about 2 hours before we got to the campground. We live only 7 miles away but this was the planned gathering place for friends on Labor Day weekend. The sites were level and large. The bathrooms were old and dated and not all that clean. I only used them when the portapottie would not surfice. I did not even look at the showers after seeing the bathrooms instead I drove home and checked the mail and took a shower there. They have wireless internet but it has questionable reliability. The staff was helpful and polite. I would probably stay here again since I have a shower close by and my own toilet facilities but I recommend the staff take note and do some work on the restrooms. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2006
$47
We were very unhappy with our stay here. We mad reservation a month in advance and a asked to be next to our fiends. They also did the same, we were across the campground from them. The next morning when our friends site next to them was empty. We asked to move the said no! What made it worse is that the site was empty the rest of the stay. Our site was very small. It was hard to maneuver around all the trees. A huge challenge to move the camper to have the awning out. The staff was very RUDE and not helpful, even when at the gift shop. We had to listen to loud music till about 3 in the morning. We also had problems with the water pressure at times it would just drip out. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2006
$40
We stayed at this campground for three days and had nothing but rain the whole time. There is no gravel just dirt which turned into mud with the rain. My rig was a mess with all the mud in a short time. Sites are not very level and close together. Bathrooms were clean and well maintained. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2006
$45
We had perfect weather to attend a rally. The campground was clean. The sites, however, were no where near level. We had a full hook-up site they said was pull thru and could handle a 30ft. trailer. There were so many trees around it was like going through a maze. I ended up scraping the side of my trailer on a tree. Also, the sewer line backed up. Very frustrating! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2006
$26
Last night of two weeks on the road and very disappointed in the KOA. Excessive nearby road noise and KOA is in the flight path of the Oceana Naval Air Station. We were placed in a tiny site in a long term use area of very poorly maintained trailers. Nice people but dirty site, uneven pad and way too much noise. Would not use this KOA again. We camped in a truck camper. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2005
$40
Our family stayed here for 4 nights. Three of us stayed in our camper, and 2 more rented one of the cabins. The 2 that stayed in the cabins said they were eaten up with ant bites. There were several ant traps under each bed. The manager needs to spray or try another approach for the ant problem! My father-in-law went to shower and smelled something terrible. He checked one of the stalls and someone had messed on the floor! Both swimming pools were very dirty. We could hardly swim for the roaches and beetles getting in our hair. One of the pools had really green nasty water. The baby pool was also very dirty. I would not let my child in it! We went to wash our clothes the day before we left. Not enough washers and dryers! Their were 3 washer and 4 dryers that were broken. Also, if you plan on staying at this campground, be sure you take your ear plugs. The navy planes and jets soar through the air about every 10-15 minutes non-stop. They are EXTREMELY NOISY. We couldn't talk outside or barely inside your camper. It starts around 8:00am and one night they were still going at 12:30am. We will not be back!!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2005
$29
We were put in to a long term area. The parking area for the site was a mud hole. We asked for straw to be put down to keep from sinking in the mud when we got out of the truck. Never got any straw and after 4 days were told we had to park either in the designated area or at the bath house. Water quality is poor. Water filter clogged after 3 days. Long term campers said they changed theirs every 2 weeks and the the better filters clogged much faster. When leaving the site we followed the exit route and were unable to manuever around the trees. Had to back up about 100 yards and go out the wrong way. The staff was not helpful and at time were just rude. If this had been the first KOA we had stayed at, we would not ever stay at another one. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2005
$?
We did NOT camp here, rather we drove thru and checked the place out while in the area. What we found was very disappointing to say the least. The roads rattled our teeth in the Suburban. You can guess what that would do to your RV. Even though it was out of season the general impression we got was the place was well past it's prime and not being maintained. We won't be staying here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2004
$20
We stayed at this KOA because of its proximity to friends we were visiting. The rate of $20 was off-season with the KOA card. The sites are poorly maintained - muddy with little gravel. There are many permanent residents and, at least in the off-season, only a minor attempt to keep cleanliness up in general. A camper next to us had trash scattered around their site and nothing was done or said to them by the staff over the period of 3 days we were there. I can only recommend this KOA for its location, but it may be better in the summer when a full staff is on hand. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2004
$50
Did not like this campground. Bath houses weren't clean as often as they should of been for that time of year. Pool had film all around. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$22
Rate I paid was out-of-season with KOA discount. Pull-through sites are small and close together. Some are shaded, others are in the open. Interior roads and sites are not paved. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2003
$35
The campground is very full during the summer season; reservations will be needed. The staff is not always helpful, the showers are to few and always dirty. Your reservation may not be honored. The camp ground mixes tents with RVs at some of the sites. About one third of the sites have shade for RV's. The remaining sites are in an open field with worn out picnic tables and unimproved fire pits. The full hookup sites (water,electric & sewer) are not shaded and the next RV is very close to your rig. There were problems with the water delivery system while I was there; hours would go by without water and no explanation of when the water would be turned back on. I found that several of the staff were rude, and uniformed about their job such as how to use the computer reservation system. I had a very bad experience there and several fellow campers felt the same way. I won't return there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$20
We recently stayed there with our club and found the park to be clean and well managed. We were not charged extra for our dog. There is a wide variety of sites, some shaded and some open. If you have a large rig, the open ones would be better. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$36
Convenient with free shuttle to the beach. Staff was friendly and courtious. The park had security at the main gate and was quiet. Very easy to locate from directions in KOA directory. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com