214766 User submitted reviews online!!
Pioneer Trails RV Resort was rated 9 out of 10 based on 75 user reviews. Phone: (360) 293-5355
CGID3112

Pioneer Trails RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
155
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$49



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   9   8   7   8   8   9   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$49
The rate posted with this review is for a super premium pull through site before tax. I am not aware of any discounts such as GS or AAA. The first thing I noticed upon arrival was the large open space just inside the property line. This enabled me to park our 41' 5er easily without obstructing anyone else. Check-in was effortless and conducted by an extremely polite and courteous site host. He then proceeded to escort us to our site, despite it being in view of the main office. Nothing appeared too much trouble for this gentleman who assisted in guiding us so that we sat perfectly in our enormous, treed pull-through site. The crushed gravel pad must be at least 80' long and plenty wide enough for our five slides and awning to be deployed without any interference from the trees or shrubs. All of the neighboring sites were empty but there is plenty of room and the trees allow for a feeling of privacy. The whole resort is very 'big rig' friendly. Water, power(50, 30 & 20 amp), sewer and cable connections are all well placed and functioned perfectly. I had forgotten about the cable service prior to our arrival so that was an added surprise. Our site was also equipped with a large metal fire pit and grate as well as a large wooden cabana with a picnic table and bench seating. Each site also has their own garbage bin. I don't know how often these are emptied as I never saw it happen but I do know mine never contained waste for long. WiFi worked well and was very fast but then we were directly opposite the antenna. There is one main bathroom block in the centre of the resort. This requires a numerical code to access but once inside everything is spotlessly clean. The whole unit is well lit and professionally tiled. There is another washroom (not shower) attached to the back of the office block which appears to be available during office hours only. Also attached to the office building is the laundry. $1.25 for a wash and .25c per 10 minutes in the dryer. All washrooms, laundry and office are easily accessible to those with mobility difficulties. For the kids there is a playground area with climbing frames. I also saw horse shoe pits for the adults and there is a short nature walk (no bikes) in the woods around part of the resort perimeter. The whole resort is wrapped up in mixed cedar and deciduous, mature trees giving a definite 'woodsy' feeling. The office stocks some groceries and RV supplies. Propane is available at what I considered to be a very reasonable rate ($15) for a new, empty 20lb tank. Within striking distance is Camping World, Costco, Wal-Mart, Safeway and an outlet mall. There are way too many other attractions in the area to list. The only negative for this entire area and every campground, resort or site (within a 30 - 40 mile radius) is the noise of jet aircraft taking off and landing at the Whidbey Island Naval Air Station. They resumed their training flights earlier this year after a moratorium lasting about 7 months. Occasional (30 or so per day) flights go from about 10am until midnight, four or five days a week. Again, this isn't a slight on this RV resort. The noise will affect everyone for many miles around so I haven't deducted an score for that. Despite this, I would most certainly stay here again when next in the area. This is a fantastic resort with excellent staff. Thank you for providing such a great service. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$36
Clean showers, groomed grounds, nice spacing, and great, friendly staff. Loved it. Close to town and all the great little towns and eateries. We will be back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$40
Very fine accommodations at this park. Very clean, groomed, all the infrastructure (power, Wi-Fi, cable TV) functioning perfectly. The staff was super helpful without being intrusive. Frankly, it would be nice if we could expect this type of facility and service at more "RV Resort" locations. We have had enough negative experiences that it makes an experience like Pioneer Trails the exception rather than the rule. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2013
$25
The rate reflected is the monthly rate+electric+propane for an extended stay during the winter months. This is a very clean, well maintained park with sites in the open and some nestled among the trees. Management and employees were very friendly and accommodating to your needs. They take a lot of pride in keeping the park clean and are constantly picking up pine cones and branches that may have fallen after a storm. The minuses for a park this size are not enough washers and driers (4 of each) and the hour that the laundry is open. We are early risers but had to wait until 9:00AM for the laundry to open. WiFi was good until they had some work done (believed they switched carriers) and then it was poor. If there was a swimming pool and/or a hot tub we would have given them a higher rating. It's unlikely we will return to Anacortes but if we did we would definitely return to Pioneer Trails. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$34
This is very clean and groomed campground. They seem a little strict about rules, but that also means that they care about it. There are some sites with trees, but mostly the spots seemed a bit like a parking lot. Easy access to Anacortes and the ferries, so we didn't really hang out at the campsite. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$19
Stayed a month. Electric is $.09 per kilowatt/hour. Didn't add that to the price of the stay. Very friendly staff. Got an escort to our site. Although a little bit of a small site for our stuff, the wife and I got everything in it. Angled back in sites. Gravel roads and sites located on different levels. Some small (like ours) some very big. Some in trees, some not (like ours). Has garbage cans at almost every site, recycle containers for paper, plastic, and metal behind the store. Allows campfires, so had to close the windows some afternoons and nights to not die of smoke inhalation. Amazingly quiet neighbors except for four nights of our stay. Weekends with drunk noisy neighbors. Got some planes flying over at different times of the day and night. Excellent cable TV, and Wi-Fi worked 90% of the time. Easy in and out with a big rig. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
Great camp ground and friendly staff. The office has a minor amount of groceries for emergencies. We stayed in a pull through overnight. Site was concrete and level. Park is very nicely treed and clean. We didn't use the washroom. There is no pool. Very close to shopping at Anacortes, the WA state ferry terminal, and LaConner. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$40
We just loved this rv park. The sites are mostly gravel, but are nestled among luscious tall trees. Our site was one of the premium sites that had a gazebo as well as a picnic table and fire pit. It was quiet and spacious. Our only complaint was that the park had gravel interior roads which became dusty. The park treats these roads periodically to control this dust, and after a treatment, the dust decreases dramatically. Our daily rate reflects a monthly rate plus electricity that we paid separately. We checked out the other parks in the area and felt this was the best one. Another park has waterfront, with a view of a refinery. We gladly fore go that view to get privacy, spaciousness, quiet, and beautiful forest. The reason we gave this a 9 instead of a 10 is the gravel interior roads. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$40
This is a really pretty park, and perfect if you are planning to spend some time exploring the surrounding area of Anacortes and the San Juan Islands. the staff is friendly and knowledgeable, the grounds are well maintained and attractive. This is a nice park to walk in, and there is also a pretty nature trail. We would come here again, maybe in the summer! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$35
This is a huge park with sites set among very large trees - minimal chance for satellite TV access but good choice of channels on cable. Bathrooms are clean but the shower set-up is a bit funky in that you push a button and get about 1.5 minutes of water. So, you just have to keep pushing the button in order to shower! It was quiet in the fall, but if this place was full it might be a bit too crowded for us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$24
This is the third time we have stayed in this park. If you like a park-like setting, you will love this place. It is large, very well maintained, and clean. All the roads are gravel as are the sites. Utilities are excellent. We did not use the showers nor the cable TV. Wi-fi was normally good, but on busy weekends it was slow. Sites are good-sized and in some cases are separated from others by mature trees. Staff is very friendly and helpful. We had one of the few sites that could receive satellite TV. If satellite reception is important, try to get one of these sites: G12, G11, G7, G8, G9, G10, G14 or G15. The dog park is great, as is the nature trail. Leaving the park to turn onto Route 20 can take some patience. They could use a light at this intersection. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
Prior recent reviews are exactly on target. We would give it a 10 except our "perfect" spots include water views. A real plus for us is that our Verizon Broadband connected at 4G speeds! We were very comfortable with leaving our trailer here for 4 days, unattended, while we visited the San Juan Islands. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
When I think of the ideal campground/RV park, this is it! Tall pines (well-trimmed), excellent Wi-Fi, plenty of space between sites, satellite TV access from many sites, quiet, friendly staff and located in one of the most beautiful areas in the country. If I didn't have ties in Southern California, I'd move here in a minute! The folks who run this place are doing an absolutely exceptional job. I wish we lived closer. We will come back at every opportunity. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$32
HUGE sites, strong Wi-Fi, cable, trimmed trees, nice staff, close to everything, and very clean restrooms and showers. I debated giving this an 8 or a 9. While some roads have been treated, there is still a bit of dust. No pool, but we don't use that anyway. Many sites here have been sold and the owners are VERY nice, and will go out of their way to make you feel welcome. I would recommend this park and would be happy to come back here. Very big rig friendly as well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$45
Wow! This park has incredible sites: large and private. Staff at the office was excellent, friendly and helpful. Would return in a heartbeat! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$55
This campground is equally convenient to Anacortes, WA, Deception Pass State Park, and Laconner, WA. One loop is beautifully landscaped and the other is stripped bare. Site privacy is generally poor. The restrooms are very clean but closed at night. The guy at the front desk was fairly gruff, reading a long list of campground "don'ts" to me at check-in. The heater in our cabin was broken. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
Very spacious wooded sites, nice staff, clean bathrooms, fast Wi-Fi: this place had it all. Easy access to Deception State Park, the San Juan Is Ferry, and we even left the camper here while we went into Seattle for two days/one night. We moved here from another local campground after learning that their Wi-Fi was out. Since we were staying 5 nights and have 2 teenagers, this was important to us. Highly recommended, but make reservations: they were full on the weekend! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$32
A very woodsy and picturesque park. Nicely landscaped; laid out with many different types of sites from heavy trees to out in the open. We stayed in one of the wooded sites and it gives you a rustic sense of privacy. Nice grounds to walk and very friendly and helpful staff. Anacortes is just short drive away. We will most certainly come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$32
We arrived at Pioneer Trails after a 5 1/2 hour drive. We got out of the truck with our dog to check in and immediately, a man from the office approached us and asked us what breed our dog was (not hello, not welcome to Pioneer Trails). I told him Alaskan Malamute. He then asked us if he were a wolf hybrid because he "looked like it" and that he was big. We told him no, he's 100% Alaskan Malamute. He then said that all the people there camping are going to be calling him wondering about our dog. I told him I did not care what others thought and that it was not their business anyway. To make a long, long story short, he insisted that we prove that our dog was not a wolf hybrid. He went on line and looked at our dog's breeder information page and eventually, had to embarrassingly call our vet at home. Our vet straightened things out over the telephone. After 45 minutes of that rude, offending and unexpected fiasco, we were told that our site was not available (why, I don't know). Luckily, they had others available so we set up camp. In all honesty, after the "greeting" we received, we should have just left and not given this place a dime. But, we ended up staying and spent 5 nights and the resort ended up being very nice (we had reservations since December of 2010). Lots of trees and a large off leash dog area. Centrally located so a good place to stay as a base camp. With the exception of that man on the first day, the rest of the staff was very friendly to us and great. My husband said he would return some day but I am not so sure. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$32
Staff were friendly and helpful. Escorted to your site. All sites are gravel, only grass is in play areas. Some sites are heavily shaded, some open, all have fire-pits, full hook-ups, cable TV, free WiFi, free showers and big rig friendly. Playground basketball court, horseshoe pits and dog walk area. Rest rooms, showers and laundry are immaculate. We would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$34
We had a nice stay in the woodsy campground. Most of the staff was friendly and helpful. The sites we had was B5 and was a fine size for our 33' rig. There were fire pits and picnic tables. The laundry was clean. There was a lot of dust and the mostly gravel sites were not too clean so we ended up with a dirty dog! Not much for the kids to do. There is a park but it is not too extensive. Nice fenced dog area. We would return although they have ceased Good Sam discounts. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$32
We have stayed here in the middle of winter but never at the height of the season. Even being full this is a beautiful park with lots of room and privacy between sites. Very helpful and accommodating staff. Plan on staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$31
We stayed for almost a month. They gave us a discount because of the length of our stay. Our site (H-9) was very nice since it backed up to a grassy space. Our site was a little narrow, but the grassy area gave us a nice place to set up our chairs. The personnel was helpful and courteous. We enjoyed our stay and would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$32
Our four day planned stay at this park extended to sixteen. Hosts are extremely helpful and nice. Dust can be a problem when guests don't follow the 5 mph speed limit. With that in mind, I suggest avoiding sites located on the main park road. Sites are level and very spacious. When a guest leaves the site is raked and manicured for the next visitor. My only negative comment about the park concerns the showers. While they are clean and the water pressure is great, one has to press a button about every 15 seconds to keep the water flowing. For the four legged guests, waste bag stations are scattered throughout the park and there is a large off leash doggie run that has grass, trees and bushes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$33
This is a nice campground, but not a 10. The interior roads are dirt and very dusty. Every vehicle that drives by your site kicks up a load of dust. They even have signs that ask you to slow down because of the dust. Why not pave the roads? The wireless coverage is very good, but the internet connection is slow. It becomes very slow during the day when a lot of folks are using it. The grounds are very nice. Similar to camping in a State park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$32
Beautiful, peaceful and quiet. This park is a hidden gem. Found out about it while we were staying at the Northern Lights Casino near Anacortes. The host was gracious on the phone as she found a spot for us during a Canadian holiday. The park was very full! She put us in an oversized pull through end site (B-17) with 15/30/50 amp service. Some sites have 100 amp service. We also had 99 cable TV channels and 100% signal with the parks Wi-Fi at no additional charge. Satellite TV may be difficult to set up depending on which site you have. (Most sites have lots of trees.) The park is nestled inside a large wooded area about half way in between La Conner and Anacortes. Close enough to drive to the store, but far enough to feel like you are lost in the woods of a beautiful state park. Whale watching tours are popular around this area, a must see! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$32
It is a well run, wooded park. The cable TV system has more channels than you will have time for. Trash cans are very convenient. If there is a negative, it is the lady at the front desk. She is about accommodating as an IRS agent. Also, cabins had wrong rate listed on the website. So, if rate is important you may want to call first to confirm. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$32
Fantastic park, clean everything. Strong Wi-Fi. Will definitely come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$32
I agree with previous reviewer about front office staff. They can be a little flakey. If you can get by that, it is a nice campground. One of the nicest in the area. The sites are all good sized for the most part and most are shaded. Very nicely laid out. It is kept neat and tidy and is always pretty quiet. Cable TV is good and free Wi-Fi is fast. Be warned that they no longer accept any credit cards, debit cards. Their website does not indicate this and so we were surprised when told this upon arrival. We were not told when we made a reservation either. So, our cash flow took a hit but, like I said, it is one of the nicer campgrounds in the area and I am sure we will return: with cash. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$31
This is a nice park in a wooded area with level, well spaced sites. The rate reflects a discount for staying by the week. The only gripes are that it is north of the naval air station at Whidby Island. The Navy flies until around midnight, a night or two a week. The fighters are noisy. Also the front desk staff doesn't like to accommodate campsite changes. A site we were interested in, was open when we got here, but we were told that it wasn't available for our two week stay. It was used once for a short overnight during that period. Otherwise, everyone's friendly and helpful. Has good cable TV and Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$32
This is a delightful park: clean and aesthetically pleasing. There is a section in the midst of a cleared old-growth forest with lots of shade, and there is a section that is sunny and roof-top internet satellite dish friendly. There are back-in sites and pull-throughs, most are wide and long enough for the largest RV. Trees are trimmed so that the tallest of RVs have no problems. Roads and sites are gravel. Most sites have a picnic table and fire ring. Water pressure is great. Entrance is well marked. If you want a specific section during the three summer months, make your reservation well in advance, because this is a popular place. Hosts are friendly and will escort you to your site. The lower rating is because we were highly disappointed in the staff’s unwillingness or inability to change our pre-assigned site. When we made our reservations two months prior to our arrival, we stated that we must have a clear view of the southeastern sky for our roof-top internet satellite dish. They told us at the time and when we arrived that others got satellite connection from this site. It looked doubtful to us and we asked for another site where we knew we could get connected. We were told that because we were going to be here for two weeks, they couldn’t move us to the other site. That site was empty when we arrived and empty when we departed. No less than 6 RVs from a pop-up tent to a 40ft MH cycled through that site while we were here. None had a satellite dish and most where here for only a night or two. We did get connected in the site they had assigned us, but we had to pull so far forward that we were almost in the road. It took three hoses to connect to the sewer. We are full-time RVers and lived here for two weeks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$33
Everything about this park reflected outstanding management. A beautiful natural area, good-sized sites, A+ restrooms, well-stocked store, excellent Wi-Fi and cell reception. It was almost completely full; however, the park was exceptionally quiet. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$31
It was a nice park. The park was clean. There were activities for the children. We wish we could have stayed longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$32
This is an outstanding park in a beautiful area. After an initial mix-up that put us in a site that was too short for our rig, the manager made some changes and put us in a beautiful site with plenty of room. Our SAT worked from our site but there are lots of trees and many sites won't have reception. WiFi was strong and fast. We extended our stay and would like to have stayed longer. We'll definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$33
Big sites, heavily wooded, great staff, good roads and convenient to Anacortes. Great in every way. Excellent restaurants in town and they give you a good printout of what is where and what to do. Lots of cable channels and good Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$18
This is the second time we have stayed here. This park has increased in size since our last stay two years ago, for a total of about 150 spaces. It is very clean and well maintained. The staff is friendly and helpful. There are a lot of trees which make it a beautiful place, but can interfere with satellite reception. The spaces range in size, but there are plenty that can accommodate a larger motorhome. We stayed in the newer, less treed section and the spaces here were very generous in size. Wi-Fi and cable TV were excellent, and Verizon wireless reception was good. The daily rate reflects our one-month stay. We definitely will return when we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$35
This is a wonderful, family oriented park. We had a nose-in site which we'd never experienced before, but it provided much privacy. Each site has it's own fire ring which is a bonus. The only drawback is there is no pool; that would be nice for the kids. It has a great playground and is close to lots of things to see and do. The owners provided a nice list of local attractions, sites and restaurants which is always helpful. We are definitely going back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$32
Clean park. Was unable to get sattelite from our location. Friendly staff. Will stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$32
We camped here for Labour Day weekend and thought it was was awesome. The kids loved the park and I loved all the trees. The sites are nice and big. I will definitely come back here again. Maybe even next weekend! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$32
This is one of our favorite places to stay in Washington State. The campground has evolved through the years and has only gotten better each time we go there. Sites are spacious, some shaded some in the woods and some in the sun. All you have to do is ask for your preference. Staff is always extremely friendly and the last time we stayed here they had a BBQ that they hosted for the entire campground, no charge! There are many fine places to dine in nearby Anacortes. Don't miss the Donut House on Commercial Ave. Apple fritters as big as a dinner plate. Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$29
Rate was a weekly rate. A great RV park with a wide variety of site locations. Some areas have large trees for those of us who like shade and some areas have no trees for the satellite users. Next time, I will make a reservation earlier to try to get in row B. We were in spot D2 and had to use several boards to get the RV level. The managers were very nice and helpful with things to see and directions to get there. This is the best RV park in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$31
This is a beautiful campground with very large sites. The trees and landscaping are beautiful. The sites are gravel. They have a large fenced dog run. The staff who registered us were friendly. The campsites were very well maintained. The staff were continually cleaning. The park was quiet. We were on a two month vacation and this was my favorite park. I plan to definitely return and stay for a month. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
We planned to stay 2 days, and ended up staying two weeks! The location is very convenient to lots of activities. Mount Erie is a short drive. Also the city of Anacortes is sweet. Finally the ferries are close by and we spent some days in the San Juan Islands. The park has a huge dog run, and that was important to us. There are lots of fir trees. The hosts were very accommodating to all our changes. The folks in the camp were friendly. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this attractive park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$34
It is quiet and peaceful, with not one spec of litter! It could use a pool and hot tub:) The staff was great, and went out of their way to settle us in our space. It would be a 10 star if it only had a pool. We did not see any children, so if there were any they were very well behaved. I'd go back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$33
What a great place! We will be back.Close to everything. Went whale watching, took the ferry to Port Townsend. Not out of the way at all. If you want a 10, this is the place. Sites are very large,and clean. Only thing missing was a pool, but who needs one when you already a 10!!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
It's a pleasure to be able to give a good review to a park. Management was helpful even to the extent of helping guide us into back-in site. Grounds were clean, buildings well maintained. Showers and restrooms were immaculate. Majestic firs, red cedars and other northwest trees gave a special ambiance to the park. Although you felt as if you were in a state park, access to neighboring attractions was easy. Our only suggestion for improvement would be the addition of a second shower facility. It was a long walk downhill to the one in the park. Otherwise no complaints, an enjoyable stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$32
Very pleasant, quiet, well-run Park. Shady sites. A bit removed from shopping and attractions or I would have given it a 10. Pull through sites were level and spacious. Restrooms were nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$29
We had a shady pull-through site. Some sites are in full sun and it was hot today. They are not as pleasant as the shady ones, although some are in deep shade and some partial. There is a laundry. The staff were friendly and the park was quiet. The roads were gravel and very dusty. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$32
Bravo!!! What a fantastic park! Looks to be renovated within the last 6 months and a whole new section added! Rustic done right! Whatever type of campsite you like you will find it here whether you like heavily treed sites, some trees, no trees! Can accommodate ANY type of rig and they also have "super sites" - double sites that include gazebos! Big grassy areas for picnics, tons of walking trails, new basketball court, and more! No grass in most sites but the scenery is wonderful...big majestic pines everywhere! Roads are gravel but very well kept. They even have an off leash, fenced in dog area! Close to Deception Pass (a must see!) and the Anacortes Ferry to the San Juan Islands. Also close to the delightful town of La Connor. The staff is outstanding and they even deliver wood to your site! Great general store with supplies. We have already booked another trip here in July! Very highly recommended! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$32
Very nice park overall, clean restrooms and showers and nice walking paths and park areas. Very friendly staff, we stayed there almost a month due to work and they always made sure to make us feel welcome and were all very friendly to our children. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2009
$32
Overall this is a great RV park. The grounds are very clean and the gravel roads are well maintained. The park is quiet and the trees provide some great shade and privacy. Sites are spacious, level and well manicured (but no grass). The playground is small but decent. There is a mix of full-timers and folks storing their RVs on-site, but the owners obviously make sure everyone maintains their sites. The hosts are very polite, the bathrooms are clean and the small store is decently stocked with basic supplies. I was happy to see Wi-Fi and cable TV were included in the price. This is definitely a great base-camp for touring the surrounding area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$30
We camped here from September 2008-January 2009. The staff was very helpful, and public areas were always spotless. Great location just outside of town, but setting of the campground was peaceful. Management had their favorite long-term renters, and they were allowed to "break the rules" (have more vehicles than allowed, could make more noise, could leave their pets outside all day, etc.). Because we stayed in the colder months, we were informed that we were required to provide heating tape, etc. for our pipes. We were also charged for our electric use. This was fine with us, but all other campgrounds in the area notified us of these things when we first visited, not after we'd been there for months. Wireless internet was very unreliable. Upon check-in, we were told that some improvements that were needed at and next to our site would be done within a couple of days, but it was more like a couple of months. If we were passing through again for a few days, we'd probably stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$30
This is our idea of an ideal campground. The sites are spacious, with lots of tall trees. Satellite reception wasn't possible, but the cable was excellent. After a windy storm on Saturday, the crew had the debris cleaned up by the next afternoon. The only problem area we noted was the WiFi that went from good to nonexistent at times. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$30
We stayed the weekend of the Anacortes "Oyster Run" and really enjoyed this park. Despite the continuous roar of hundreds of Harley Davidson's on the nearby highway, the park was surprisingly quiet. Employees were personable and helpful. The facilities were great. Our site was very spacious with a nice split-rail fence between sites, fire pit, picnic table, full utilities 30/50 amp, and cable with 99 channels. Lots to do in this area... Deception Pass, LaConner, Swinomish Casino, ferry to the San Juans etc. We will use this park again! Without a doubt, the best in the area! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$35
Very nice campground with well kept grounds. Had a back in site, but the roads were wide enough to maneuver easily with a 35ft fiver. Large variety of sites available to suit anyone's needs. Owners were very nice and helpful. Not sure if Satellite service would work here as there are lots of trees. Would have rated higher except that roads are dirt which made things a little muddy driving around at times. Wi-Fi service was spotty depending on the time of day. Sometimes was quick other times very slow. Other thing was that I was told my site was 50 amp and when I got all set up found that it was 30 amp. Not a big deal but wanted to point it out. Overall, this is one of the best campgrounds I have ever stayed in and I will be back over and over again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$35
This park is fantastic. Nice wooded sites with full services. This is the closest thing to a National Park! Great playground. Perfect Wi-Fi and cable. Owners super friendly. This is the first park I have ever given a 10 to! Book early, it fills every night in summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$15
The rate is monthly. Daily rate is about $30. This is a very nice, well run park. The owners, managers, and staff are all doing a great job. The park is being remodeled to add 55 more rv sites with full hookups. The old covered wagons are for sale. The park is also for sale. If you park in a site in the trees, you will get a lot of pine needles on your roof and you probably wont be able to use your satellite tv but the cable is adequate. There are sites in the sun if you prefer. The park allows open campfires at each site so there can be a lot of wood smoke in the park if there are several fires. The park is usually full from Memorial day to Labor day so make a reservation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$27
WOW, If you want a great camping spot you have to come here. The managers are exceptional; they are friendly and courteous. They make sure you are set up in your camp site by walking down with you and help you park your rig. They are always around; they make sure everything is to your liking and that everything is working well. The rest of the staff are quite nice as well. They make you feel welcome and at home. The sites are large enough and well groomed. The park is a great place for the kids as are the trails and the basketball court. This RV Park is excellent. We are here for the month and will continue to come back. Thanks for such a great place to stay!!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$27
Great park in a great location. Friendly staff member guides you to your site and helps if needed. Large older trees throughout the park and very quiet here. The wifi was ok but not very fast (see older review). Cable was good with lots of channels. Good fire pits at each site that were clean (wood available at the office). A picnic table at each site. We were more than pleased with our stay and will be back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$27
Great Park. Woodsy - well cared for - staff is really nice. Big rig friendly. Cable / WiFi. Rates are really good - have long term discounts too. Week-ends area really busy - suggest reservations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$45
This is truly a park that allows you to feel you are still "camping" even if others laugh at you for calling it that when you have a 40 ft rig with 4 slides! A very well maintained park with tall trees and generous sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$30
Nice large site. The staff was very friendly. It was an excellent location for exploring Whidbey Island and Anacortes. WiFi worked. Not much grassy area for dogs. Shaded sites and very quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$15
This is an older park with mature shade trees. Unlike the other nearby park, most of the spaces are very generous, although some are fairly close together. Management is friendly, helpful, and the park is well maintained. The location is close to Anacortes and La Conner. Showers and laundry are clean, but busy (only 4 washers and 4 dryers). Sites are gravel and most are level. We were here a month in a 50-amp site, with no electrical problems. Cable TV was very good, so no need for satellite in our site. That said, most sites are not suitable for satellite TV because of the many mature trees in the park. We learned that we could drive 30 minutes to La Conner to the cable supplier (Wave Broadband) and for $24 rent a cable modem for the month to obtain secure, high-speed Internet service which complements the cable TV service included in the campground fee. Otherwise, the WiFi seemed to be overwhelmed (translation: slow) most of the time. We camped 31 nights in a 25-foot travel trailer with no pets. Our per-night price reflects our one-month stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$26
This is a very nice rv park. Our site was huge. Woodalls said average site width was 20 feet. Ha! I'd say a whole lot wider than that! Huge trees, very rustic. People who run it very nice and accommodating. Only facilities we used were laundry and it was clean. We were in a 50 amp site and then moved to a 30 amp. Didn't have to run the air much so can't say how good the power was. All in all, a great campground if you like rustic and wooded. WIFI was great and free. Only reason I wouldn't give them a 10 is because they charge $2 a night extra for pets. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$14
Pro's - quiet, big trees, great staff, good value, moderate price, good water and sewer, very good ambience overall. Con's - 30 amp sites may have low voltage if it gets warm. Our motorhome disconnected automatically and we could not use more than about 15 amps without dropping out. I think the 50 amp sites are better. The park was full most of the time while we were here so we could not move sites. The cable tv signal is weak so your picture may be snowy or noisy. There are only a few sites that can use satellite dishes. The wifi worked fine when it worked but there were intermittent outages. Most of the park is gravel/dirt roads so if it is dry it will be dusty. We liked the park a lot and will return again but will get a reservation for a 50 amp site. The rate reflects the monthly rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$35
The family that runs this was very friendly. It was a good place to stay just outside of town. Halfway between Anacortes and Deception Pass. Lots to do here. But their website state a outdoor hotub, but it hasn't worked for almost a year. The ivy is taking over and it doesn't look like they are going to repair it. That was disappointing but I would come back here. Of course, I love the San Juan Islands nearby so... We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$27
Great hook-ups, friendly staff, well maintained grounds, quiet park. We camped with a group of 6 RV's. I would definantly return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2007
$26
We were here a year while working in the area. Very beautiful park, Wonderful host, would return to this park if in the area again We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$27
This is a nice park with a 'campground' rather than resort feel. Trees are everywhere, which is nice. Our site was pretty level, though we saw quite a few that weren't. The big problem here is the showers. There's mildew and they operate on a push button system that can't be adjusted for temperature. Wifi was nice and strong since we were right under the antenna and the staff is super nice and helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2006
$50
We have stayed at this park a couple of times and found it to be OK. This park has the potential to become a great RV resort if they would make it kid friendly by adding a swimming pool and a recreation/game room. The owners also need to give consideration to the seasonal/permanent residents who are letting their campsites get junky. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$25
Beautiful treed park. They had free Wifi and also were knowledgable about satellite sites. The laundry room was clean and moderatley priced. There are plenty of nice places to walk your pets. They have you sign a contract upon arrival acknowledging rules and regulations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$28
Great family park. Lots of trees. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2005
$25
This is a very nice and clean campground, very wooded with fern undergrowth, very nice playground, clean rest rooms and showers, the laundry room was rather small and always busy so we went into Anacortes to do laundry. Friendly manager and staff. We stayed for two weeks in July 2005 for the weekly rate of $150.00, very reasonable for such a wonderful park We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$27
We stayed at the Pioneer Trails RV Resort Campground and found this resort to be all they say it is in their advertisement. The park is very clean and well taken care of. The staff is very helpful. We were provided a guide to our site and he guided us into our RV space. We were able to obtain a space in the trees and recommend these sites. They are very spacious, big and semi-private. The resort provides many recreation activities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$25
We stayed at Pioneer Trails RV Resort Campground because we don't like parking lot type campgrounds and we love to camp among the trees and ferns. Other campgrounds in the area simply couldn't match the larger campsites or fantastic natural setting of Pioneer Trails. We stayed here for five weeks and were thrilled with the campground and the friendliness of the manager and staff. Trash was picked up every day and there were two or more staff members always maintaining the grounds. They have just completed a major renovation with all new electrical, water, cable TV (60+ channels) and sewer system. The packed gravel sites were level and drained well. We were a little skeptical when we saw their web page with the cabins and covered wagons that reminded us of KOA's. Once we got there we found the park to be very large, and those other accommodations were located away from the RV campground and were no problem. We're already planning our return visit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com