214755 User submitted reviews online!!
Mounthaven Resort was rated 9 out of 10 based on 29 user reviews. Phone: (360) 569-2594
CGID3113

Mounthaven Resort

Camp Information
Sites
24
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   10   6   8   9   9   9   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$40
The location of this park on the western side of Mt. Rainier National Park is perfect for exploring the park. The campground is small with only 16 sites and has numerous cabins scattered throughout. Most sites are located under large trees making it very shaded and cool. Sites have little privacy, but most are deep. We had no trouble backing into our site. One small common enclosed area for the restroom, shower, and laundry. New owners took over in April and they are working on improvements. We would return here when we visit the park again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$40
Quietish site 50 yards off main road. Narrow sites with great difficulty backing into them due to narrow roads and big trees. Nicely positioned for Mt Ranier N.P. WiFi exists but only really useable outside office. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
A perfect place to enjoy the woods and forests right outside entrance to Mt. Rainier NP. Wide site with lots of huge pine trees. Even when full, still had some room between sites (about 35' wide?). Enjoyed making campfires with good fire rings. Very small, cozy campground that delivers firewood to site. Sites border a circle that included a play ground, dog walk area and decent laundry room, Really added to our stay at this beautiful NP. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$41
One restroom and one shower for the whole park. We rarely had problems, but you never wanted to be in a hurry to get into either facility. Wi-Fi was fine. Range is a little limited and not all campsites have a connection without walking to the shower room (where the router is located). Sites 14-17 are very tight. I had 16 and could not put my awning out more than 4 feet (3 ft slideout was out). I asked to get another site but was told that someone else was coming. I'm not sure why that person was more important than me, but so be it. This park seems to be the best choice for a RV park in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$38
Nice, small and rustic campground. Pretty quiet beneath towering pines. A little pricey but there is not a lot to choose from in these parts. The camp ground is very convenient to Mt. Rainier, which is why we chose it. The owners are very friendly and helpful. The park is a mixture of RV's, cabins and tents. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
Absolutely wonderful. It was one of the best campsites. Close to Mt. Rainier and set among big trees. The manager is very nice and helpful. We stayed in #17 which was the end spot and very private. Wi-Fi works well near the office in an area with nice chairs, tables, among the trees and moss and everything beautiful! No cell service but ok. We would definitely come here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
This is our second time at Mounthaven, and we enjoyed it just as much this second time around. The hosts are incredibly friendly, helpful, welcoming and just plain wonderful folks. PERFECT location for visiting Mt. Rainier. The only very minor downside is no television (which we don't care about but for the fact that we were missing watching the Tour de France), and spotty internet. Highly recommend! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$35
Peaceful and beautiful campground. Deer roam through the area. The trees are HUGE. Great location for visiting Mt. Rainier. If we get to come back to the area, we hope to stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$38
Very nice park! The trees are fantastic and the sites were perfect for sitting out. The owners and host were very helpful and nice. Go there knowing you won't have cell phone service and no TV. We should all do without those items every once in a while. Get a nice book, sit out under the trees and enjoy! There is Wi-Fi at the office area that works very well. Just a short ride to Mt. Rainier and some of the most wonderful scenery. We recommend this place. Have fun!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$33
Beautiful location very near the entrance to Mt. Rainier National Park, with huge trees surrounding every site. Although the sites would normally be difficult to get into, the owner is an expert at assisting you in backing in. Spotless bathrooms and showers. Many walking paths, creeks, bridges on the property. We enjoyed this park as much as any we have stayed in. Verizon cell and air card don't work, but a short 5 mile drive into town gets you to the general store which has a cell phone repeater, and the park has Wi-Fi for internet. This could be a 10 except that the sites need paving or gravel to cut down on the dust or mud, depending on weather. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$32
This is a no frills campground. I have no idea why it’s called a Resort and don’t know why everyone else gave it such high reviews. It has NOTHING to offer. There’s no 50 amp, dirt roads and sites, no cell phone service, no cable, no satellite reception, no wireless except for the free Wi-Fi near the office, minimal sunlight, and no Sirius XM radio in the campground or in the NP. This is the only NP that we’ve been to that has pay phones for outgoing calls since there’s no cell phone reception throughout this NP. Trees are so dense and tall that no reception is possible anywhere. We needed to drive 6 miles to Ashford to get cell phone service. Make sure you gas up and get groceries before you arrive at this campground because there’s nothing here. The campground has one shower, one bathroom, one washer and one dryer and smells musty. The only two positives are that it has full hook-ups with only 30 amp; it’s about a half mile to Mount Rainier’s Nisqually entrance; owners are friendly; and allow campfires. Unfortunately, this is the only campground with full hook-ups in Ashford. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
I would have to agree with the previous comments and even made similar comments after our stay last year. Unfortunately this year we discovered the park manager is opposed to having anyone visit for even a couple hours. When our son, daughter-in-law, and granddaughter visited for dinner we were told they were not welcome, and Mr. Nice Guy turned real nasty. An interesting note - last year we did not have this problem at this park, we were able to enjoy our family for a dinner at the RV. We will not stay at this park for our annual Mt. Rainier event in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$34
Beautiful surroundings. Owners very nice and friendly. Clean. Well maintained. No cell service but Wi-Fi worked well. At the entrance to Mt Rainier Park. Nice cabins available. Kid and pet friendly. Wish we stayed longer. Our spot did not have sewer but was easy to dump near office. Beautiful vegetation and creeks. Large trees. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$36
This small park is a great place to stay right at the door step of Mount St. Helen. The owners, in their 13th season, were very helpful and friendly. The wi-fi is only available in a small area with picnic tables close to the office. Cell phone access is non-existent. We will stay here again when in the area next time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
What a beautiful place this is! The owners and camp hosts were outstanding. The sites and whole park were clean, well maintained, plenty of shade trees. There was some road noise, but not awful. We even had 3 deer that wandered into the park for a visit. We will stay here again every chance we get. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$44
Rate is for three people and two little dogs; they charge for folks over two and pets. Park is as described by others below. Sights are somewhat tight, and with the trees, you may have a long run for either water, power, or sewer since they are not usually together. Very nice folks, very clean, beautiful setting. Gave it a 9 for the tight fits and dirt interior roads. large units would have some trouble getting into some of the sights. We will definitely stay here again, Rainier is close and restaurants are also close. Get gas in Ashford or Elbe; no gas in the park. Ride the steam train in Elbe. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$32
The campground owner/managers were extremely friendly and helpful. They gave us a book with photos and write-ups about Mt Rainier. We stayed here for a week and would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$32
This is an excellent, well cared for RV park. The owners take great care in all of their touches and it totally enhances the ambience. It is in a forest setting of very large trees. There are also quaint, rustic, nicely furnished cabins. Very idyllic setting. The hosts go out of their way to greet you and make sure your stay is pleasant. Right outside the entrance to Mt. Ranier. There is no cell phone signal and no TV coverage. They have a laundry cabin with one washer and dryer that were large and reasonably priced. It is a small park and so there is never a long line to use the washer and dryer. They do have fast Wi-Fi at the office with a very nice covered area outside to sit with your computer. A very pleasant, relaxing place to spend time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
This is the best campground we've ever stayed in. Very quiet, clean park with wonderful camp hosts. The camp hosts are very friendly and knowledgeable about Mt Rainier and the surrounding area. Only 1/2 a mile from the park entrance. All of the RV sites are tree covered, pretty level (dirt) and well maintained. No paved roads so your coach will get dirty! At the entrance is a short, narrow bridge which might make some drivers uncomfortable but we crossed over in a 40 foot motorhome. The sites are a bit tight due to all the trees but the camp host easily guided us into our spot. No cell coverage and WiFi is only available right outside the office. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
The setting is absolutely beautiful, the sites are scattered amongst mature conifers. There's lots of shade. The on-site managers (a married couple) are terrific, very attentive, cheerful and helpful. There's only one washing machine, one dryer, one shower and one bathroom. But since this is a fairly small park, those limitations are not really a problem. All of the facilities are in very good condition. We originally planned to stay for just a couple of days but extended our stay to almost a week. The location is excellent, very near the Nisqually entrance to Mt. Rainier National Park. If you want full hookups in this area, this is really the only choice in Ashford. The sites are fairly close together, but better than most RV parks. The sites near the highway get somewhat more road noise. We had a 20 amp hookup, which powered our small trailer (including the microwave and air conditioner) with no problem. There are also several nice housekeeping cabins, which would be very handy when you are coordinating an RV trip with some non-camping friends. The Wi-Fi (which works best near the office) was very good. We would certainly stay here again, given the opportunity. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$32
Great Place - Great People It was refreshing to spend time in a park that allows a "camping experience" and still use a motorhome. The sites were large very clean and well shaded. We will definitely try to stay here more often. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
What a place to stay. Our family enjoyed this campground. The owners are the nicest you will come across. You are walked to your site and helped with the back-in. Some sites are a little tricky, but staff knows how to get you in. Our site was tree covered and fairly level. Full hook-ups with 30 amp service only. Fire ring at each site and a picnic table. Staff work hard at keeping this place clean and their facilities nice. Our friends stayed in a cabin that was spotless. There is only one shower and restroom at this campground. Games and puzzles available from registration. Wildlife sometimes visits the campground. Trails lead from the property for a nice hike. Very close to the entrance of Mt. Rainier. Just ask staff for things to do on the Mountain. Make reservations at this campground as it gets full (and I can see why). If you came here for internet, TV, cell phone coverage, you booked at the wrong place. Get out and enjoy nature. If you do not stay at this campground, you are doing yourself a misfortune. I cannot say enough about this place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
This is a 5 star campground which has very, very friendly staff. Grassy shaded and quiet sites. Small campground, reservations are a must during the summer season. It's close to Mt Rainier entrance. We have stayed here twice and will return again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
It is a lovely park amidst the trees. There are just a few RV sites, pretty close together, although it was not full while we were there. We recommend calling ahead, since it's such a small place. There are wonderful and friendly hosts who gave us good information about Mount Rainier. The park entrance is five minutes away. There are some restaurants in the area, but I recommend you stock up on food in Morton (SW) or Parkland (NE). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
The owners, Craig and Joan, are wonderful, friendly, helpful hosts. Good Wi-Fi connection available on the patio near the office, but not at the individual sites. Mounthaven is less than two miles from the entrance to Mount Rainier National Park. So if that's your destination, this is a GREAT location! Negatives: No cell phone reception. No cable TV. No way to get satellite. All gravel/dirt sites. 30 amp service only. Be aware of mosquito's and biting flies. The nightly rate is a bit high, but you're paying for location, not amenities. We'd stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$33
The RV park is about a mile from the entrance to Mt Rainier Park. It has multiple cabins and RV sites surrounding the cabins. It has the feel of a campground with dirt sites, fire rings, lots of shade and even resident deer. Don't let the narrow entry bridge worry you -- the sites are plenty big and easy to maneuver. The owners were onsite managing and very friendly. We stayed four nights and went into Rainier Park every day. It's the closest RV park to the Park and provides great access to the Paradise Inn area. We loved it and would come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$25
This park is a beautiful setting, with lots of tall old growth trees. It is in a quiet location minutes from Mount Ranier Natl Park. Big sites with fire rings. All back in sites, we found some challenging with the number of trees. Level sites and very attentive owners made this one of our favorite parks yet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$25
We loved this park. The owners were very friendly and helpful. They even had local restaurant menus for you to look at before heading out. Sites were clean, big shady and quiet. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$25
Big rigs can fit but you will have to maneuver around some very large trees. Campground is about 1/2 mile from the Nisqually entrance to Mt. Rainer National Park. Great location to see the park while having full hook-ups since none are available in the Nat'l Park. Owner/Managers were friendly and very helpful with local information. Very shaded quiet sites with tall old growth forest all around. Also, there is a hot tub. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com