220521 User submitted reviews online!!
Mount St Helen's RV Park - KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 37 user reviews. Phone: (360) 274-8522
CGID3119

Mount St Helen's RV Park - KOA

Camp Information
Sites
88
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   7   9   8   8   6   9   9   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2014
$35
This park is convenient to Mount St. Helens. It is the only reason we stayed here. When I called to make a reservation, I asked the dimensions of the site because I wanted to make sure my motorhome and Jeep would fit on the site. I was told the site was 40' long and I wanted to know if it was wide enough for the Jeep to fit next to the motorhome. The owner didn't give me a straight answer -- said maybe I should call another park! I told her I'd take the site if other motorhomes and tow vehicles had fit. The length was not a problem because the back of the motorhome could hang over the hillside, leaving plenty of room to park the Jeep up front. The problem was the width. We had to maneuver in and out about 4 times to get to where all the slides could open. As it was, the bedroom slide pushed up against a small tree limb. The awning could only be extended 3'. Our second problem was using our $10 reward from KOA. When I made the reservation, I was told I had to go on the KOA website and print the certificate. This was not possible. I called the KOA Home Office and was told that they took the ability to print certificates away from the campers and placed the responsibility on the campgrounds. When I explained that I had to have it, he emailed me a screen print of it to present to the campground. When I checked in, they were not able to do whatever they had to do on the computer to give me the discount. After about 10 minutes she gave me the discount even though she couldn't get the computer to work. When we were leaving, several tree limbs that hung over the road hit the air conditioners on top of our motorhome. They need to do a better job of tree trimming. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$33
WiFi is great. Location is perfect. Nice easy drive to Johnston Observatory and Mt St Helen's monument. No cable at our site, which was fine. Beautiful valley view from the terraced hill. Friendly staff at the office. Convenient dump station. Although spaces are tight, its not crowded and there are some trees between sites. Great for an overnight stop, not a destination though. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$34
A very clean park. New owners are doing their best to make this a wonderful park. They helped us with all the tourist items and gave great directions and ideas for visiting and eating. Wi-Fi is good. I did not get cable, and the antenna TV got 3 channels. My wife and I actually talked to each other!! Very nice social room with extra oven/stove, micro, etc. The shower bathroom area was small but very clean. Nice hot water! Nice grass and trees all around the park. The long term campers keep their areas cleaned up and unimposing. The view is amazing from my chair in front of my camper. I gave it a 9 only because the slots are very skinny, especially if you have slide-outs. Would love to come back!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$33
Midrange quality KOA. Pluses are exceptionally well groomed and lots of mature trees. Downsides are it is set on a hillside so the turns are somewhat tighter and the roadways somewhat more narrow than I am used to seeing in a KOA. The sites have a fabulous view but are kind of narrow and the roadway is also narrow with a steep hill on one side, enough that I had a bit of trouble backing in. Excellent internet, but only a minimal 11 channels of cable TV. Their big attraction is Mount St Helen's and they know it. Wonderfully helpful friendly staff give you lots of tips with a map on the best possible experience and do regular road conditions checks and they even advised us where the cheapest gas was. We spent two nights here and left our rig in the campground and spent one full day driving up to see the volcano, stopping to view sites along the way. The road to Mt St Helens is long winding and in parts steep and would have not been fun if we had our travel trailer behind us. The drive to the top is about 1 and half hours but there are lots of things to see on the way up and most are kid friendly but not rig or pet friendly. The location of this KOA is therefore ideal, quick and easy off and on the interstate and the perfect spot to safely park your rig and go see the mountain. There were a lot of young (5-) kids here, even for a KOA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$36
Another great place to stay. Wonderful views from the park and very friendly staff. There is an enclosed and fenced pet area with scooper and rake, but our dog just wanted to smell every square inch. There is also a very poorly maintained trail behind the office. To walk our dog we went to Castle Rock and took the river walks. Wi-Fi and cable worked very well, but there is not a TV listing channel, and the online listings did not match up. We were also able to get six HD TV channels on the roof antenna. Showers are extremely tiny. We would and will stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$45
Small park, very convenient to Mt. St. Helen's. Sites were very pitched, hard to get level. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$39
Very nice park. Very clean and well maintained. The staff was GREAT. We were here with a group, so used the clubhouse which was great. We have stayed in many KOAs over the last few years and this one is one of the best. We had discounts, so price listed is not what we paid. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$39
My site was a back in end site on the top level. The park is on a hillside so rows are terraced. The park was clean, the staff helpful and friendly and the drive to Mt St Helens visitor center was about 30 minutes. There is a fuel station about 100 yards from the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
Great RV Park. One of the friendliest and most helpful owners we have met in a long time. Great rate. Park was very clean. New enclosed dog area. Free cable and internet (fast too). Super clean showers and restroom. Kids play area. Great layout allowing all spaces to be easy to back into. Nice views also. Will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$36
New management has taken over this park and it is showing. Very clean, groomed park with easy back-in sites, very friendly staff, easy on and off from I-5 and an hour to Mt. St. Helen's. Great WiFi, clear overhead for satellite TV, nothing fancy but certainly perfect en route overnight or touring. They are planning pull-through sites and other improvements. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$40
I rounded up the price which was $39.72. Too high considering there is no big rig access, no pull through spaces, and no 50 amp service. But the park is really pretty. It is now a KOA. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$16
Well it is an odd park in that the sites are in tiers. I found it a little nerve wracking to park on one tier and it feels like you are on the edge. Definitely need to chock the wheels. Nice and clean. Showers were 25 cents. Cable TV and Wi-Fi work great. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$18
This is a beautiful clean park on a hillside. Great views of the surrounding area. There was no one in the office when we arrived but there were specific instructions on the office window. We found a very level site. Cablevision was excellent as was the Wi-Fi. The sites are a bit tight but we will definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2010
$27
We camped here in a 45' motorhome. We will NOT be coming back here. The sites were extremely tight. We were in the only slot that could handle our rig. Even then it was tough getting into it. We would have left if there would have been anybody next to us (other then our friends). Our friends stayed in the space below us. They had a 32' travel trailer. The trailer bottomed out backing into the slot. They almost had to use four wheel drive to pull out. If it would have been at all damp, they would have had to. The camp was fairly clean, which was a plus. For what little this CG had, it wasn't worth the money. Next time we will be staying a little farther up the road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$28
Park was decent. Set up on the side of a hill. Sites or at least ours was a bit short but you can detach and park sideways. Verizon service was almost zero and WiFi only worked part time. "TengoNet" should be called "terrible net." Staff was friendly and helpful, laundry was reasonable and had lots of washers and dryers. Good place to visit Mt. St. Helens. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
Good location for seeing Mount St Helens, friendly helpful staff, beautiful scenery from the terrace sites. Good WiFi but not much for cable TV, was able to get satellite. The downside is the sites, they are not level, I had to use all the blocking I brought, and very small, barely enough room to get a trailer in and no place to park your truck except sideways partially in street, then the only way to walk out was through the neighbors. I asked if I could park in an empty site and was told no, although there were plenty of empty sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$28
This was a really nice park and the people working there were very helpful and friendly. The bathrooms were very clean and look like they were recently painted. We had had a rough day getting there and when I mentioned that and asked for a more private site, they gave us one along the side in the very back which was perfect for us even though that was not the one they originally reserved for us. We would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$29
This is nice park. It has a very friendly park manager. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$28
Very nice park. My site had trees planted between it and the next site, which is a nice touch. Showers are 25 cents for five minutes, which is adequate if you're quick. Strong WiFi at my site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$22
OK park for a few nights to visit Mt.Saint Helen's, but very tight back in sites which are slightly gravel and some grass. Hard to walk your dog because of the hilly park, and they state they have cable, but it's just your free stations & the Discover Channel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$24
This park has unique terraced RV parking slots that allow them to park RVs up the side of a steep hill. The terracing and landscaping are beautiful, but if your rig is too long for your site, their solution is to let your back-end dangle out into thin air. The RV slots are fairly close together, but there is a tasteful screen of bushes between most of them. The bathrooms and showers were clean and tidy, but it does cost 25 cents to shower for five minutes. I’ve paid more to shower, but I find coin-operated showers to be a pain, and these are worse than usual. The coin boxes are OUTSIDE the showers, so I ended up stationing myself by them and feeding extra quarters when my daughters’ showers ran out. If you were showering by yourself, you’d have to grab a towel to put in an extra quarter. I paid the Passport America rate for one night (half-price, cash only), and the Good Sam rate for the second night (10% off), and I averaged the two rates for the price given above. This campground also charges $2 extra per person if you have more than two people. In general, we found them to be rather persnickety about rates and discounts. On the positive side, however, we were in the area to visit Mount St. Helens, and they offered more and better maps of the area than we’ve seen in other parks. We were surprised though that Mount St. Helens is so far away. It took at least 45 minutes to get to the volcano from the RV park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$30
Friendly easy check-in. It is a nice RV Park. The only down side is the site is a back-in that slopes slightly downhill. To level the trailer, we had to set the tongue really low leaving steps into the trailer pretty high. The Internet connection is high speed. I was able to download Netflix and watch my shows on the laptop. We were camping with a group. The Club house is very nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
We stayed here 2 days so we could visit Mt. St. Helens: the park's main attraction (Johnston Ridge Observatory) is only about an hour's drive east with numerous other visitor centers and viewpoints along the way. Previous reviews have described the park's facilities which are above average and most sites are satellite friendly. There appeared to be numerous extended stay customers and the staff was friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
First let me say the only reason we stopped here was to go and have lunch at The 19 Mile House Restaurant. It, to our disappointment, was closed and for sale. Now, I believe others who stayed at this park must have had a better site then we did. Our site was very narrow and by the time we had our main slide out we only had about 5 feet left for our sitting area. We faced a bushy tree and the sewer/water and cable TV connection utility post. Near the rear of our site there was a really fat bushy tree that took up most of the space for chairs to enjoy what view there was. On top of that we couldn't get our main awning out because the trees were too close. We couldn't wait to get out of this park!! Our Aircard and cellphone, we needed to use our ever faithful antenna/booster because the signal was weak and so was the wi-fi. Water pressure was inadequate but the power was good. We wouldn't go back to Mt. Saint Helen's RV Park again, it just wasn't a very pretty or comfortable park for us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$15
I was almost put off by the previous reviewer's description of the steep terracing but we dropped off our toad near the office and easily backed our 34 ft motorhome into a space backing onto to the washrooms. The receptionist was professional and friendly and gave us good information about going up to Mt St Helens itself and the restaurant at Hoffstadt Bluffs Visitor Centre, both of which we can also recommend. We had no trouble using our satellite dish on site G5 (water and 30A, no sewer) and had Sprint mobile broadband and AT&T 3G coverage. The $1 extra wifi charge was not mentioned (we were given a code anyway) and the Passport America rate of $15 plus tax is excellent value (limit one night, you can switch to Good Sam after that for a rate of around $26). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$28
I love the terraces at this park! It's set on a steep hillside, with a wonderful view of the valley. However, highly recommend you chock your tires as all the sites are "back in" and you don't want to roll over those steep banks! I have a 31 foot Class C with a bike rack, and my back end was suspended out over the bank. The sites are close together with a row of arbor vitaes making an attempt at separation and privacy between sites. If you have slides on both sides, you will probably just fill the width. Some of the sites are difficult to back into. I made it after a couple of tries. However, I watched a very nice 5th Wheel that had a "monster size" matching truck attempt to back in with great difficulty. If you have a toad, or you use a car to pull a trailer, there isn't a lot of room to park the car in your space. The laundry rooms, shower and bathrooms were very clean. However, there is a charge for the showers. The trash receptacles were located inside wooden gated boxes to hide them from view. Also, from a business standpoint, this park took an interesting position on the "should WiFi be free or not" issue. The WiFi is locked down with a code. If you want the code, you pay a dollar. Only a dollar, and that dollar is good for the duration of your stay, be it one night or lots of nights! Even though I despise paying "nickel and dime" fees, I found this approach to be quite fair! And the Wi-Fi worked great! Further, even if traveling in winter, reservations recommended, as this park appears to stay busy what with being five miles from Mount Saint Helens Visitors Center. And finally, I want to note one "watch out" factor for those who travel solo. When you leave the park, and come to the gas station to make your right turn to get on the road to head back to the freeway, there is one additional road merging in from the right that is at such a steep angle, it is difficult to see in your mirrors as to whether anyone is coming on that road or not. For those traveling solo, be very, very careful at that point before you make your right turn to head back to the freeway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$28
Very nice and clean, only real drawback was the sites were very narrow. We could not access all of our outside compartments. There is a hedge type tree line between sites which is good and bad. It is good for a little privacy, but makes the site tight. As mentioned they accept PPA, 1 night Mon - Thur only. Wi-fi is a buck for the code, but good for the duration of your stay. We ended up staying 4 nights. Make sure that you go into Castle Rock and see the visitor center. Well worth the time and just a couple of miles away on the other side of I-5. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$26
Rate is for a site with water & electric only. Average park with friendly staff and quiet area. Nicely located on road to Mt. St. Helens Rec Area (90 minute drive on excellent road to the east). Showers are twenty five cents for 6 minutes. Shrubs separate sites, paved roads, Cable TV had 50+ channels. Restaurant choices in area are limited, but pretty good food. Great breakfast at the 49er near I-5. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$26
Nice park, quiet. Staff was friendly. WIFI was $1.00 extra. Did not have a problem backing in with the trailer. I just left truck hooked up to trailer and had plenty of room. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2007
$26
Easy access from I-5. Road signage leading to park is lacking as well as a sign by the park. WiFi costs $1 and is fast. Sites in the "E" section are generally longer and somewhat lumpy, grass sites. Discovered after paying and asking what discounts are available that they honor Passport America...too late. Did not prominently display P.A. sign. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$26
Wide asphalt interior roads with no obstructions make it easy to back into narrow gravel sites. Not much room for toad or tow vehicle; we were permitted to park in a vacant site across the road. Sites are narrow, about 8 feet from each other, but small cedar trees between sites smell delicious and offer surprising amount of privacy. Some sites are not level. Cable TV is crystal clear, voltage right on at 120, water pressure 40. Staff are calm and friendly. Washington State Parks Mt. St. Helens Visitor Center is 3 miles away--skip that and go on to breathtaking National Monument centers at Coldwater Ridge and Johnston Ridge about 50 miles away on excellent and beautiful road. Great hamburgers and cobblers at 19 Mile House Restaurant which has deck seating overlooking a river. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$14
Passport America park. Nice park. Has grassy sites on hills. It was wet from heavy rains, which made backing uphill into the grassy site a little challenging. Gravel roads. Site was short and a little narrow. Close to Mt. St. Helens.. Staff was very friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2006
$25
Park sets on a hillside, difficult to get into spaces, very narrow and not level, voltage here is so low you cannot use your microwave or risk burning it up. This park wouldn't be a bad park if they would do some maintence and quit letting in undesireables for long stays. I wouldn't recommend this park for big rigs more than 36 ft in length. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2006
$23
Not happy about this park. Made reservations months in advance and was given a very tight sight, very difficult to back into and definitely not even close to being level. When asked for a different site, was told it was reserved for someone staying a week. Not only did that particular site stay empty while I was there, it was given to folks who had only made reservations the nite before and were only staying a day or two! It was impossible to get the rig level, despite adding boards, etc under the wheels. Management didn't care. Also, the cable was lousy. While a lot of channels, none very clear. While the location is great if you're going to Mt St Helens (a must see), I would not stay here again nor would I recommend it to anyone. I understand an RV park wanting to make money but not at the risk of ticking off its customers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2005
$24
Quiet and friendly. Great place to access Mt St Helens. Great places to eat in Castledale. Other than that not much to do. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2004
$21
As with most private parks, the sites are close together but rows of tall hedges separate the sites and provides a sense of privacy. All sites are back in and the rear of your RV faces the forest off to the west. If your RV has the rear picture window, you get a very pleasant view. Many sites are deep enough for large rigs but do not have much room for your toad or tow vehicle. Price is $23 for row D and $21 for all other full hookup sites. Then you get a Good Sam discount. Many channels of cable TV. Nice laundry. Modem access in office is $2 per use. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2001
$20
This park is located right on the route to Mount St. Helens. The staff was friendly, but stated they had pull through sites when they didn't. Claimed there was a misunderstanding. The sites and roads are gravel base, level, but extremely tight. The entire park is located on a hillside and the elevation from one end of the park to other differs greatly. Many sites are almost impossible to back into due to changes in elevation from site to site. I needed my 4X4 pickup locked in low range in order to have enough power and traction just to back in. Not all sites are this bad, but if you draw one of the bad ones you could be in serious trouble. Single slides just fit, doubles are out. Overall appearance was okay, but nothing to do in the campground. Okay for overnight stay, come in daylight or you will never back in. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com