219095 User submitted reviews online!!
Deception Pass State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 29 user reviews. Phone: (888) 462-2674
CGID3153

Deception Pass State Park

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$26



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   7   8   8   10   7   9   10   4   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2014
$26
So very mixed feelings on this place. On the one hand the park is gorgeous. Lovely beaches, pretty lake, tons of hiking trails. On the other hand the sites are mostly terrible. Many are small, very (very) unlevel, several butt up right against one another. Interior roads are also treed and very tight. We had to walk our 40-footer through the lower loop to get into our site, squeezing through trees and turns...and in the end we probably had one of only a handful of sites large and level enough to take us. The rest are really much better suited to tenters or small trailers. Lastly it's super-crowded and you hear jet planes from the nearby base shooting over the area all day long. We enjoyed hiking the area, but won't camp here again due to the poor site quality. 4 bars of Verizon 4G LTE in camp. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
An absolutely gorgeous state park, on an incredibly beautiful weekend. After a 4.8 mile hike in the morning on Saturday, we sat on the beach all the rest of day. We saw and photographed bald eagles at multiple spots around the park. I don't believe any park in the Washington state system can provide so many breath-taking elements. That said, we sadly will not be returning to this park. This park is far too much of a "tight squeeze" for even a small trailer like ours (21 ft). We camped in a back-in site (#22) that was very difficult to get into. We were unable to get the trailer completely level, and we noticed a great number of the sites are not even close to being level. Additionally, this park is super popular (for the obvious reasons), so every site is full every weekend. This requires patience when departing on Sunday morning, because everyone trying to hook-up is forced to block the one way road through the camp because the sites are too small. We love the Deception Pass area, but we will opt to stay in one of the fine private RV parks in the area from now on. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$30
The park is at the north end of Whidbey Island. It is near Cranberry lake and the beaches face the sound and the inlet. The park has a lot of old growth trees. The location is beautiful and you can easily explore the rest of Whidbey Island, which is very pretty and has an interesting military history. The sites themselves were a little on the small side and backing the trailer in was a little tricky. There are pull through sites, but I would not take a 42' rig into most of them. The restrooms were clean, but there was only one for a large loop, so you had to wait sometimes. My kids enjoyed riding their bikes, playing on the beach, seeing the old forts on Whidbey Island, and hiking. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$26
Rate does not include online reservation fee. We had not been to this park before, and we selected a site that had a drainage problem -- causing the parking spot to be partly wet and muddy as well as the steps to the picnic table and fire pit. This was a random chance situation -- none of the other sites had the problem. Restrooms and showers were clean, but old/worn. Washington parks require use of tokens (3 min each) for showers, adding 50 cents for each token to the cost of staying. It was a lovely park, the nearby naval air base was not too noisy, though a few aircraft loudly passed overhead during the day. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$27
Deception Pass Park is my favorite Washington State Park. It is a wonderful place to camp. The staff is great, the park is very clean and the amenities are modern and always in excellent working condition. From the beautiful old growth trees, the huge ancient-looking ferns, abundant wildlife and gorgeous beach to the crisp air and awesome hiking trails, you cannot go wrong. There is the Oak Harbor NAS nearby but you quickly forget all about it once you immerse yourself in the wonders of Deception Pass Park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$24
We stayed in the Quarry Pond loop. It is actually outside of the park, but you have to check in at the park entrance. The state park redid the quarry pond loop over the winter. I thought it was quite nice. I would have preferred to have been within the state park but it was a fine alternative. I read some of the reviews of this loop and I didn't think that it was that dusty. Perhaps the upgrades that the state park did helped with that. The state park was very pretty. We would stay here again but preferably in the Cranberry Lake loop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$42
This is a great Park. We love coming here every year. There are great trails and beaches. Our family loves this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$24
This place was a sight for sore eyes! Absolutely beautiful trees and plants. The beach is gorgeous and the hiking trails are beautiful as well. We saw eagles, wild rabbits, frogs; lots of wildlife. Our campsite was perfect. The weather wasn't the greatest but it was a great time. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2010
$27
We stayed only one night. We stayed at what is call the "overflow" park named Quarry Pond. This location was an older park that was purchased by the state to accommodate first come first served campers. It is located on the opposite side of the highway from Deception Pass State Park which is available only for reservations. Quarry Pond is an old park and located at the intersection of 2 roads. Traffic noise levels are not too bad considering the closeness of the streets. There is no dump station at Quarry Pond. You must tow to Deception Pass State Park for dumping. Overall, thought it a bit pricey. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$27
We stayed at the Quarry Pond location, across the road from the main park. As of now, it's first-come, first-served. Noisy from highway and for some reason while we were there a lot of the other campers raced by over the speed limit in loud cars frequently. NO rangers on site, perhaps that is why. Otherwise it was very good, lots of spaces. We were told it will be going to a reservation system, which will be a shame. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$31
A short drive or 15 minute walk to the beach (ocean), or the lakeside. Rowboats, canoes and kayaks are available for rent at the lake. Concession stand/restrooms at the beach. Beach is long: over 1 mile, mostly rocky but walkable and playable for kids. Has lots of driftwood for building forts etc., and good winds for kites. Fishing in the lake (don't know about licenses, as I don't fish). Has lots of shady RV sites, some quite large, many pull throughs. Restrooms are clean and spartan. Shower is 3 minutes of hot water for a token, and free if you like cold water. Campside water is potable but not too tasty. Observed no wild critters other than deer. Lots of nettle bushes, so be prepared. Like this park, will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$27
We really liked Deception Pass State Park, but that was before we camped there. Now we LOVE it. Our spot was very private, heavily treed/shady, and even though the campground was full it was pretty quiet. We were on the Forest Loop and didn't walk through any of the others. We found the interior sites to be less private than the exterior sites. We had a split level site, but the spot for our RV was very level and easy to get into. There are miles of trails in the area and being so close to the beach was fantastic. Highly recommended campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$30
I have read the reviews for the past few years, did not sound good, but we needed a place to stay so we decided to try it for ourselves. What a delightful management team. They were saying they had only been here a short time and still learning the area. Well for all you who loved the park but not the past manager, (She is gone) and the new ones are very polite, with smiles, and rolled out the Welcome Mat. I would definitely stay here again. We have reservations for July. Can't wait to go back. Also, the area they are located is surrounded with such beauty. Safe travels everyone! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$27
Lovely park: dark woods, tall trees, lots of space between campsites, easy access to washrooms. It was busy on Thanksgiving weekend, nearly full, despite the cold and overcast weather. Hiking to the beaches, and viewing the Deception Pass bridge was great. Sani-dump was easy to access near the park entrance. Note that a Google maps search for Deception Pass State Park takes you to an incorrect nearby location: the correct location is 48.395986, -122.645617‎ +48° 23' 45.55", -122° 38' 44.22" We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$24
We loved this park! We travelled late in the summer, when the park wasn't too busy, and got a site close to the lake and the ocean. The views around this campground are beautiful, and it was great for bicycles as well. The walk up to the Deception Pass bridge is well worth the effort. The site was clean, spacious, and private. Of all the Washington state parks we have visited, this is our favorite. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
Deception Pass is absolutely beautiful: regardless of the weather. This is western Washington so it can be rainy, misty, foggy anytime of the year. The bridge is one of the best photographed spots in all of Washington state. This campground is open year-round and is one of the prettiest places we've ever camped and worth it regardless of it's popularity and crowds (especially in the summer). There are two sections of camping: the main campground (with over 200 campsites) and then Bowman Bay (on the other side of the bridge with only 10 campsites). Bowman Bay is quieter, very relaxing and some of the campsites are right on the bay. There is only one pull-through site that has hookups, and it has no privacy. (I think it's meant for a campground host.) Please note that the Bowman Bay area of Deception Pass cannot accommodate the bigger rigs. Just getting to Bowman Bay can be a tight squeeze for RV's or trailers over 30'. But to us it's worth dry-camping here than to have W/E hookups in the main campground: just for the peacefulness and beauty. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
Great campground. Tall trees and lots of space between sites. Some narrow roads between trees and some narrow site entrances. Sites do not have sewer dumps. Need a "blue tank" or disconnect and go to on-site sewer dump. Great walking trails, waterfront, and local farmer's markets. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$26
Beautiful place! Lots of trees. Nice lake for fishing and swimming. Great ocean beach. Kayaked the lake. Lots of trails. Quiet. Lots to do. This is a great location for exploring the island. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$26
This is one of Washington's best state parks if you like: a forest setting, mostly shaded sites, and the occasional jet (you are very close to a naval base). If you are planning on camping here over a weekend, you will need a reservation. Note; have only camping in the serviced sites (electric and water) which is called The Forest Loop. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$33
Beautiful campground within tall pines. Sites varied from very large and private, to smaller and less private. Wonderful beaches on the sound as well as a good sized lake for paddling and fishing. Only 2 downsides-- showers required tokens, which were only available at the front gate (which I was not informed of until I tried to take a shower), and the park is located near an active Naval Air Station that had many extremely loud military jets taking off and landing the first day we were there. Fortunately, they did not have much activity the rest of the weekend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$22
The park is great! However, the campground is very tight to pull a big rig around. In some places there are just a few inches of space to fit through the trees. The paved roads are narrow and passing calls for going in the mud. There are large rocks placed in the sites that can interfere with maneuvers. Once you get in great! Enjoy fishing, hiking, biking, boating, Geocaching, and access to local attractions. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$25
Very nice park for those wanting to get back to nature more than they want modern-day conveniences. Tent spots are beautifully treed and secluded as are the RV spots. Speaking of RV spots, I would not try a larger RV. Even my 26' fifth wheel was too large for most of them since the trees hang low and the roads are very narrow, one-way streets. Still, it is very beautiful and is a much better alternative for small RV's & tents than the North Whidbey RV park, which is very unfriendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2007
$25
Be cautious with a larger RV - our 5th wheel is 36'. This park is older - not a lot of room to maneuver or get out if you have a larger rig. The actual campsite might be large enough for you, but getting there or getting out might be a challenge - especially if you get there at night. We enjoyed biking on the paths to the water and hiking to the bridge. Also, the park is periodically noisy due to the close location of the Whidbey Island Naval Air Base. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$30
Great "woodsy" camp ground, large trees, ferns, narrow roads, but paved. We stayed in sight 56 which had water and electricity, pull through site but not very level, our trialer is small and we had a hard time finding a level spot. Large trailers and fifth wheels would have trouble with the roads and some of the sight wouldn't be very easy to back in to. Sights one through 76 have power and water, all others are dry. Bowman bay is close to the sound, but sights are small and a tight loop to drive around to get in and out. Rest rooms were clean, but you need tokens to use the showers, so ask at the front booth when you enter if you plan on using the park showers. Beautiful park with lots to do outdoors, we would come back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2006
$21
I showed up at Deception Pass State Park on a Saturday in April, and managed to get an electrical site. However, I'm sure once it's summer, you need reservations. If you reserve online, you are charged a "reservation fee." Excuse me, how does this "encourage" us to use the web? Spots 1-78 are electrical, and they even have 30/50 hookups! No cable, but I got decent reception on the antena. I had spot number 40 and it was relatively level, despite being a dirt campground in the trees. I enjoyed my stay there, and would have liked to stay longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2006
$21
A beautiful state park that has it all. Hiking, biking, swimming, fishing with the lake and sound within easy walking distance. It was a very clean park with many trees and bunnys hopping around. Some sites were a little muddy so we asked for a different site, they were very willing to make this change for us. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$20
Rustic campground in tall tree setting. Good spacing between campgrounds, some very private, some joining. Snack bar at the lake. Swimming at the lake. Beach front on Puget Sound. Great trails for hiking exploring. Septic dump within campground. City of Oak Harbor near-by with all services. Reservations needed for summer months. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$21
Very nice campground near a lake and the bay. Cranberry Lake has an area for swimming and there is a snack bar on the shore. The campground is set in a woodsy area and many sites are secluded. The forest loop has Electricity and Water hookups but no sewer. Most of the other campsites outside the forest loop do not have hookups of any kind. All campsites have firepits and firewood is available at the local gas station for an unusually fair price or at the campground for not such a fair price.. This campground is a nice destination for a weeks stay. Lots of trails to walk and the weather seems to be a tad better then the surrounding areas. The only minus about this campground is the noise from the airplanes at the nearby military base. But they are fun to watch and normally stop flying by 9PM. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2001
$11
This is a great park, its great for kids and adults...there is a lake for swimming and the ocean for fishing, plenty of trails and beaches to walk. The facilites are pretty clean, I have seen better at some RV resorts but for a state campground its pretty nice. The only draw back is the reservation system...you have to have a reservation at least 2 days in advance, but in reality you should reserve months in advance. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com