221600 User submitted reviews online!!
North Whidbey RV Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 31 user reviews. Phone: (360) 675-9597
CGID3154

North Whidbey RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
112
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   5   6   7   9   7   6   9   9   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$34
First we were booked 10 days at Deception Pass State Park, when we realized we had no sewers, TV or internet. We were able to cancel and get a spot here, we do not regret it. Some sites are small but there is ample parking. The park is under new management and has improved over the last reviews. Everything has a fresh coat of paint, very nice dog park, new fire rings and new picnic tables. The grounds, laundry and restrooms are clean and orderly. The staff is friendly. The internet is like any other RV park, just ok. However the only thing that needs major work is the cable tv reception, on the site we had it was intermittent. We spoke with the manager and she was aware of the problem and was working on it. Keep I mind this place is less expensive than the state park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$19
Price is based on monthly rate. As others have said, the park is conveniently located near Deception Pass, which is a big tourist attraction. The office staff was friendly and helpful. Laundry room was clean. We didn't visit the rest room/shower. The park is easy in/easy out and there are sites that are big rig friendly (at least 41' friendly). The sites are narrow with asphalt, but many of the sites have cracked asphalt and many are not level. There were many RVs with their wheels hanging in the air or on blocks. There are some 30 amp only sites and there are some that have both 30 and 50 amps. There is a fire pit at each site and many of the well-worn wooden tables have been replaced. It appears they're replacing the tables a few at a time. Much of the grass in the park is brown, but staff are attempting to beautify the grounds with plants. The infrastructure in this park is degrading. The cable in many of the sites doesn't work. When we inquired about it at the office, the office person said “Yes, we know about it, but there's nothing we can do about it.” We were unable to get a Verizon cellular signal while in the park. That's not the park management's fault, the park is just in a bad location for cellular. We did, however, have an excellent Sprint data signal. The park WiFi is terrible. You're given codes to enter in order to access the internet, but it disconnects often and then you have to re-enter the codes. They do have a notice in the office that states “We can't guarantee the park WiFi.” If you're someone who depends on park WiFi, don't count on this park to provide it. When we asked to have the router reset, the person in the office said she didn't know how to reset it. There were several days/nights when the planes from the naval station were very loud. They usually stopped flying around 11 p.m. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
This park is $30 a night with a Good Sam discount. It is conveniently located when exploring Whidbey Island; especially Deception Pass. It is a nice setting with fairly wide room between sites. The office staff is friendly and helpful. The only reason I have scored it with a 6 is that this is one of the very few places where I could not get Verizon cell phone or email service. I had to go 5 or so miles down the road in either direction. There is free WiFi and cable TV but neither work well. Luckily we had a spot where our satellite dish worked. We probably will not stay here again due to the cell and WiFi reception. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$30
Rate reflects GS. We spent three nights here while visiting relatives who live in Oak Harbor. It is a drive down to town, but the best around if you can't get in o the one in town. The sites are very narrow. You have to step out into the grass, not extra pavement. Picnic table at each site. The sites were level, and not too close together. Restrooms and showers were nice, except, no shower curtain between the shower and the dressing area for the shower. Very nice people in the office. She switched sites from the one we originally reserved, when I mentioned my wife was a light sleeper. Very thoughtful. Talking to my relatives, the planes go over very irregularly. We had no problem while we were there. They said that sometimes it is a real nuisance, even to them. All in all, not too bad a place. Location near Deception Pass is nice. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$28
We come back to this park all the time because of the nice grassy sites with nice fire pits. No one tells us when we have to put our fire out and go to bed. The back of the park has green grass with trees behind, but also nice paved streets for our kids to ride bikes, rollerblade etc. Kid friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$30
This was a nice well maintained park. The paved parking sites are long and narrow, but the site itself had good outside space. Right across the street is Deception State Park, a great place to walk pets. I didn't find the occasional plane flying over to be an issue. The satellite and Verizon air card worked well here. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
Overhead flights from nearby air base ruin the camping experience. This was a busy park with lots of kids, and crowded sites cement sites very close together. Cable TV almost works sometimes, but WiFi was good. State park across the road provided beautiful scenery. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$30
We've come to this park the past 3 summers. We were glad to see one of the managers from last year wasn't here this year. She was a real dog hater! The other manager from last year was still here and she's great to work with. The new girl helping is also really nice. The park looked nice and the wi-fi is great. The park still needs a lot of work on the cable; it's awful. The wood picnic tables are also pretty bad, but newer ones are good. We will be back. The park is quiet and nice and the staff is great. They worked to make our stay nice. It's also close to a lot of things we like. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$30
Not actually in Oak Harbor, but right across the road from Deception Pass State Park halfway between Oak Harbor and Anacortes. Great base for exploring Whidbey Island and via ferry, the San Juan Islands. Clean restrooms, easy access for big rigs, well spaced sites. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$48
This is a nice park but it's not for Big Rigs!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
This is a nice, well-maintained RV park that is very convenient to Oak Harbor, Coupeville and Anacortes. The Deception Pass State Park is just across the road and the Deception Pass Bridge is just a mile up Route 20. The RV park has nice paved streets and pads and the grass is kept trimmed. The front office staff were very cordial and helpful. It is beginning to get a little long-in-the-tooth and some upgrades to the picnic tables and fire pits would be helpful. But, overall we were happy with it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$28
Very happy to try this Park with our new travel trailer. When we called in our reservation the manager was very friendly and helpful. She was equally as pleasant in person. We were in a pull-through round-about site that fit our 29' trailer OK. Would opt for a back-in site next time. Grounds were in great shape and washrooms were very clean. Cable hookup is a bit odd as in spots only every other service 'tombstone' had cable. There were two connections on it so we were able to string our cable to one - just in time to watch the Canucks game!!! Excellent location right across from Deception Pass State Park. We will be back for sure!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$30
Last year we stayed here and the managers were friendly and was on site all day and night. I inquired about them, they have retired. The new managers were also just as nice to us. We would Highly recommend staying here. So much to see around the area. Make sure to take the Deception Pass Tour, Awesome. And go see the sunsets across the street at the Deception State park beach. You will be happy you came here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
My family and I stayed here several times in the past. We all agree that this year was our most pleasant, We used to avoid the lady in office. It changed over and the manager was a super lovely lady. Most helpful.willing to work long hours as we could see. I asked her about a review that was posted about her not being here after this Fall. She stated that the park is closing for Winter and will re-open in Spring. This is a lovely park and we will most definitely return. Hope to see her next season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
We are currently spending our 4th summer in the park. The previous manager was a bit sharp so we wondered about the new management. We have been more than pleased with the new manager. She is very friendly and helpful. The main complaints about the park have been internet and cable. Both of these are older, need updating, and are totally out of her control to fix. However, she has worked with the park owners continually to improve both, and we understand the improvements are in the works. The park is clean and quiet and we are thoroughly enjoying our time here. I would encourage anyone to come to the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
We spent time in this campground last year and also this spring. The new managers are friendly enough, and the bath houses were very clean! However, the grass needed to be mowed, and the internet was spotty at best. There are cable channels ranging from channel 2 through 16. While we were there the lower channels up to 6 went completely out and the upper channels were fuzzy. The lady managing said there had been several other complaints, but nothing was done. Several lights were burned out throughout the park. One resident mentioned they had advised the office several times, but no lights were changed. The area is beautiful, but the park has no amenities other than poor cable, internet, and clean bathrooms. The least they could do is furnish decent cable and internet. Last year there was a coffee shop open in the mornings. We were sad to see it wasn't here this year. The manager spent quite a bit of time complaining about the park owners and made it quite sure they were leaving in the fall never to return. Hmmmmm, do they know something we don't? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$30
The new managers are very friendly, but the park needs improvements in the following areas: the internet, wi-fi only allows you a few page views, and then you are kicked off. The grass needs cut more frequently; the fire pits need upgraded; eliminate the $5.00 per person guest fee (we had friends visit and they never even used any of our trailer or park facilities, so why charge??); eliminate the extra charge per person over the 4 allowed per site (the state parks don't charge for extra people, just make a max of 6 people per site and you won't scare people away); office needs a bit longer hours (couldn't get firewood after dinner); perhaps look at a park host option like the state parks so campers can get wood, ice, questions answered, etc. after hours. Three park managers back, this park used to be packed. You would have to book a year in advance for holiday weekends. There was none of the extra charges that scare people away. You can fill a park instead of nickel and diming guests. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$30
I have read the reviews for the past few years, did not sound good, but we needed a place to stay so we decided to try it for ourselves. What a delightful management team. They were saying they had only been here a short time and still learning the area. Well for all you who loved the park but not the past manager: (She is gone) and the new ones are very polite, with smiles, and rolled out the Welcome Mat. I would definitely stay here again. We have reservations for July. Can't wait to go back. Also, the area they are located is surrounded with such beauty. Safe travels everyone! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2009
$35
The park is located in a beautiful area, but has sadly run down. The picnic tables are old with mold and nails sticking out. The fire rings are falling apart. The manager was extremely rude and unhelpful. When asked about the shower conditions she replied that we had a shower in our rig and should use it, not the park shower. We told her it was a park amenity and should be clean and available. She told us if we weren't happy we could leave then walked out of the office to another room. The only bright spot was the coffee shop located in a room next to the office. The man and lady operating it were friendly, helpful, gave us wonderful tips on the area and provided great coffee. As long as the current manager is at this park we would not recommend it to anyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2009
$35
We arrived at 6:30pm and the office was closed already. We could simply take an empty spot but that´s about it for the good news. The RV site is close to a military airbase and there were military jets exercising until late night and starting early in the morning. They flew straight above the RV park for their final landing approaches. In the AAA Camp book there was something written about "a peaceful place" - this must definitely be meant ironically. Moreover as the lady, i.e. the manager and owner, told us it´s very common all over the States that the offices close 6pm. Might have been true - long time ago. By that we couldn't get access to the free Wi-Fi without a mandatory code that was only available at the office. Overall this was one of the most disappointing sites we have been to. Very poor service, very unfriendly and snobbish manager. We should have proceed to the Deception Pass State Park which is about 1 mile north of this one. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$85
The manager seems like she just hates dealing with people and maintenance. This is an okay park (good overall location on the island, but lots of street noise, not a lot of trees), however TERRIBLE service. We stayed in the cabin with our kids, and when I asked for dish soap (since the kitchen is "fully equipped", she noted that there are some things that they don't keep in the cabin, and that I should get some soap when I'm in town. The manager wouldn't even acknowledge our existence in the office until we started speaking to her (two different occasions), if you need help after 6pm, you can't get it. She's out of the office. In fact, Sundays are 11-2. My brother's family was tenting, and they had to ask the manager to turn on the water, because the outside spickets were off (which didn't happen until day two, since her hours are so short on Sundays). She audibly noted to her partner when one of the spickets was leaking that they're "done with tents". My parents stayed in an RV, and when we told the manager the cable TV didn't work, she basically said there wasn't anything she could do about it. We were all elated at the fact that my wife, towards the end of our stay, took some time out to chew out the manager for being such a negative part of our stay. I hope the manager somehow, sometime realizes that her terrible service (lack of service) will eventually result in lost revenue. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
An Okay RV park and location. It is walking distance to Deception Pass state park but there is not much else to do around here. Our Dog did like the state park. Facilities are decent, paved pads, picnic table and fire pits. There were several empty sites while we there on a weekend. We never had problems with the manager such as others have mentioned. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
We stayed prior to and over the 4th of July weekend Bathrooms were not cleaned once in 5 days. The bathrooms had no tissue available. The site manager was rude, bordering hostile, to all campers.We will not return despite the great location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2009
$29
We agree with previous comments regarding the management. Extremely rude and unfriendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2008
$29
I would rather use a negative number, but it can not go under 1. Our family came to this campsite for a nice weekend. Instead my husband was assaulted by the manager for having a fire outside our trailer. She told us to put the fire out because it was too windy (the fire was within the pit, very small). My husband told her if you are asking us then you better go to the other campers and put their fire out (their fire had 3ft flames). Her comment was no one else had a fire. My husband went up to the other trailer to see what she would say, and instead she pushed my husband out of the way so far back that he almost hit the ground and told him to mind his own business. My husband is not a light weight either. He didn't want to hit her in fear the police would put him away. The campground used to be great, with great managers. It wasn't until the new manager came that the camp has become non-family oriented. She is extremely rude. We had been going to this campsite for more than 8 years, and now we tell everyone don't bother going. Someone needs to let the owners know how much business they are losing for having such a loser for a manager! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2007
$25
I would give it a 1 rating were it not so conveniently located. First and foremost, the manager lady is extremely rude and very difficult to speak with. My wife and I are full-timing here and we just avoid her as much as possible. Second, they claim to have cable TV. They don't. What they DO have is over-the-air broadcast TV that doesn't come in at all. They acknowledge that there is a problem but they refuse to get it fixed. Third, they advertise free WiFi. It rarely works and when it does, it is very slow. Slower than the old 14.4 modems. We just use our cell phones. For long-term stays, electricity is NOT free so add that on to the $400/month you'll pay. The spaces are pretty close together but allow a small amount of room. Larger RVs would be better off finding a different park. Restroom facilities are well maintained as is the laundry room (laundry is fairly expensive at $1.50 wash/$1.00 dry). I work at NAS Whidbey Island and there are a few of us Navy personnel living here full-time. It is very close to the "back gate" so commuting is easy. It is also right across the highway from Deception Pass State Park which has a great ocean view and some nice, solitary camping spots. Overall, I would NOT stay here if I had a choice. The RV park is nothing to write home about but does have more trees and is less windy than the RV park in the city of Oak Harbor. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2007
$25
The manager was rude to the extreme. She is insensitive to any problems and any input on her park's conditions are taken as personal insults. It doesn't matter if you're polite or not. I paid for two nights and had to leave after one due to a problem with my coach. No refund I was emphatically told. When I said I would report this to Good Sam, she said that was fine. I had a reservation for a month later and I told her I would cancel it if I was given no refund. She said that was fine, she had already canceled it. We had had no disagreements prior to this conversation. I don't know how this park stays in business with a manager like this. I recommend that you visit the Anacortes area but stay somewhere else. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2006
$30
Trust me, you do not want to stay at the campground. I started calling on a Wednesday to make a reservation but got a message that they were taking the day off but to leave my number and they would call me back on Thursday. All day Thursday, I tried calling again, and got Wednesday's message. Finally, late Thursday, I reached them. I asked about a site and the woman told me they had one. I then asked about wi-fi and cable and she responded very curtly. I then told her that I had read in RV Park Reviews that they had some power problems and that I had a big rig, and wanted to make sure that any past problems had been corrected before making a reservation. Her response was (1) RV Park Reviews can shove it, and (2) Perhaps I should find another campground. I did. A campground with personnel with this attitude certainly waves a red flag that you don't want to be a guest there. I'm glad I read RV Park Revews, and called with the question. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2004
$24
Wow, what a disappointment. I don't know where to begin. Made reservations 6 months in advance and they knew we had a 38 ft trailer - put us in a 40 ft spot so we had to remote park. No laundry. Modem was accessible at their convenience; and then was not working at all. Voltage one day dropped to 97 volts. And more. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$25
Pleasant for a night's stopover and not crowded during the winter months. Across the highway from Deception Pass State Park. Restrooms were very clean. Only negative is the road noise from Hwy 20, which borders the campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$25
Extremely well kept park in an area with lots to go see and do. The managers are great. We try to stay here 5 or 6 times a year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com