218052 User submitted reviews online!!
Ocean City State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (360) 289-3553
CGID3156

Ocean City State Park

Camp Information
Sites
187
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$29



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   7   7   8   8   9   9   6   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2013
$29
We were here over a holiday weekend. There are very few full hook up sites here, and three quarters of the park was closed for the season. Park staff was nowhere to be found over the holiday. The site we had was a pull thru site so we parked backwards and stretched extra sewer line, etc. We parked backwards to have some privacy in this very open site. Overall, the campground was very swampy. I've not seen this much swamp land and canals west of Florida. The showers are pay showers. The beach here is quite a hike from the sites, and serves as some weird roadway so beware of traffic! We will not be returning to this park or recommend it to friends. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$28
This is a nice park located close to the beach. The sites and the roads are paved. It is listed as having 50 amp sites but as far as I could tell there were only 2 sites and they were located in the group camp area and had now sewer hook up available. The rest of the loops that were open either had no hook ups or full hook ups with 30 amp. A note on their sewer hook up. I have never ever seen anything like it. A pipe comes up about 10" out of the ground and makes a 90 degree bend. It looks like it's designed to fail if you hook up and dump a full tank. We just went down to the dump station on the way out. This place like all the rest of the CG's run by Washington State had pay showers. They were clean but the mens had no shower curtain but the area was enclosed and my cloths didn't get wet. Verizion MiFi worked well here. We'd stay here again if we were in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$40
Very nice park with fairly level sites and LOTS of shade. It's a hike to the beach but several different trails available. Mosquitoes at this time of year were unbearable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$28
This is a fine state park, especially if you like camping in the woods within a short walk of the beach. We were in site 167, a fairly level pull through and fairly private from other sites and the road. We could get no antenna TV but our Verizon phone and hot spot worked well. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$36
OCSP has larger pads than Kalaloch for RVs. If you have a Class A or larger C, OCSP is easier to navigate. When you enter the park, stop at the office to see which sites are reserved. They do not mark reserved sites with a sign, so you have no idea if it is available. Then tour the available sites and leave a chair, cones, etc., in the site and return to the office to register. If you plan to stay more than one night, check with the office because the pad may be reserved and you will have to vacate. It is not first come first served, as it is in nearby Olympic NP. Be aware that the black/grey water sewage connection is 10" above ground level. We have a B+ and our connection is 10" above ground level so we could not dump our tanks. You do not want to make the connections and release the valve only to find that the sewer hose will not drain. I noticed that 5th wheels did not have this problem. There is a fee (not free) dump near the exit to dump your tanks if you require. RV sites with hookup are now $36 a night at OCSP. (If you can manage dry camping, you might want to stay at the FREE RV lot at the Casino 1/2 miles away. They have a large RV lot with beach access. It is first come first served. It may lack the ambience of OCSP but the price is right.) We have stayed at both and the air smells the same, the water tastes the same, and the weather is absolutely the same. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
One of the more popular State Parks, and located between the City of Ocean Shores and the Quinault Beach Resort & Casino. It is an older park, but well worth the visit. All the previous reviews are accurate, but I would add a few details. 1) The Wood & Ice Truck makes a run through the park around 5p & 7p nightly. 2) The sewer connection sits about 4-8 inches above the ground, and in most cases the typical hose supports fall a bit short. Bring a few 2x4's to set on some firewood to lift it up. 3) Grocery prices in Ocean Shores run about 25% higher than those in Metro areas. 4) The trees around the sites can make it difficult to pick up satellites, and we never could get our Over-the-Air antenna to get any local channels. Not that TV really matters, because the beach is so inviting! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
Great state park with access to the beach, clean facilities, firewood and ice truck driving by, we had a great stay! Recommended! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2010
$28
In winter time, only two of the four loops are open: One RV loop with hookup (w/e/s) sites and non hookup sites; and one tent loop. Keep in mind, during the winter, it rains a lot. There is someone in the office during the day and you are supposed to stop and get assigned a spot. However, with all the rain, you may end up going back to the office and saying, "Um: the spot you assigned me is flooded, can I get a different spot?" If you get there after hours, you can do self check-in, they leave you a list of the available spots. The park takes reservations year round, but reservations aren't really critical in winter unless it's a clam dig weekend. If you like to clam dig, AND you want a full hookup site, you better make a reservation. If you don't make a reservation, you can still get in, but in the non-hookup sites. If you have reservations, and your site ends up being flooded, the rangers will do their best to switch you to a different site. There are two trails to the beach, one is in a "day use" area, and the other trail is near site 157. (There may be other trails in the two other loops, I'm not sure.) Being in site 157 isn't a big deal in the winter, but I'm guessing you would NOT want to be in that site in the summer. If you like privacy in your site, the non-hookup RV sites (which are all "back in) and the pull through utility sites seem to be the best, with lots of bushes. The utility spots that are "back-in" seem to be close together with not much separation (but there is room for slides). The rest rooms were typical for state parks, cement floors. You have to buy tokens for the showers, 50 cents (two tokens) for three minutes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$28
Sites were pretty close to each other, luckily we were in a pull through site which gave me more of a privacy feel than a back in. We had full utility hookups. Park staff were friendly although the front counter person at check in needed some people skills, lucky I dealt with that only at check in, and not see that person the rest of my stay. Place was kept up pretty well and park rangers made their presence known more so than other parks that I've stayed at, I'm thinking it was because of the 4th of July weekend and made sure no one set off fireworks at the park (makes sense). Walking the dunes towards the beach early in the morning, I got to see a coyote and a deer roaming around the dunes, both on seperate days. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$24
We had a dry site and felt the rate was a tad on the pricey side. Also the person at the gate would benefit from taking a course on people skills or get a job not dealing with customers. Typical SP. Had big sites, well spaced. Had good roads etc., etc. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2008
$26
Full hook-up sites are as close together as most RV Parks but without the amenities (no cable TV, no laundry, no convenience store, etc.). Has 30 amp and 20 amp electric, sewer hook ups are curved pipes sticking about 8 inches out of the ground (better have a tight fit or stuff will flow every which way). Showers, which we didn't use are available by purchasing tokens which are good for three minutes. Beach is a good walk from the CG and is sort of boring -- which is typical for that part of Washington. Each site does have picnic tables and fire rings. Would add that the no hook-up sites are more spacious and better laid out. We probably won't return, but if we do we'll take a no hook-up site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$22
Great state park with easy walking access to the ocean. Short drive to attractions in Ocean Shores. Camp sites are getting a little run down and need to be upgraded. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$17
The Campground was great! I enjoyed the cleanliness of the restrooms, and didn't mind that we had to pay for the showers. The staff was friendly too. Very good experience. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2008
$27
State park, so limited hook-ups, some pull-through, some back in. Sites range from tent sites with no amenities to full hook-ups, priced accordingly. Access roads and sites paved and level. Excellent site separation, lots of trees and vegetation between each for privacy. Short, easy access to the ocean. Length limits on the utility sites are very conservative and will actually accommodate a much larger unit that stated. Park staff very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$26
This is a great campground. One loop has 35 or 40 full-hookup (30 amp) sites. None of the other sites have any hookups. The full-hookup loop is a five minute walk from a huge beautiful beach. Only a few sites in this loop are big enough for big rigs, and two of them are handicap sites. Sites 148, 151, and 154 are pull-throughs that will handle big rigs AND give a clear shot at satellites. The other loops would be a real challenge for big rigs to even navigate the roads. Be sure to reserve a site during the summer. We had to leave when Friday (9/7) came because all the sites we could fit in were already reserved. There is a very nice IGA supermarket in Ocean Shores, about 2.5 miles down the road. From Ocean Shores, you can drive your car on several miles of beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$22
Very nice State Park. Had a great pull thru site with lots of trees and privacy. Short 10 min. walk from our site to the sand dunes and beach. Can be windy and one day the fog didn't lift until 5:30pm but that comes with the proximity to the ocean. Would definitely stay again. Would suggest reservations, especially for the full service sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$20
Well kept Washington State Campground. 5 minute walk to the sand dunes and Pacific Ocean. 10 minute drive to Ocean Shores with all necessary activities and services. August is usually has the least amount of rain. Summer reservations highly recommended. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com