206616 User submitted reviews online!!
Olympia Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 27 user reviews. Phone: (360) 352-2551
CGID3159

Olympia Campground

Camp Information
Sites
95
Date of Stay
December 2013
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   8   7   9   8   8   8   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2013
$33
For us it was another return visit. Friendly owners, helpful. Park road is paved, not very wide and longer rigs have to watch out. Sites are left-right interchanged and on dirt, some have gravel and all have plenty of pine needles. Sites are very long but narrow, and there are trees too. Slideouts are OK, awnings can work on certain sites. Satellite dish will work on sites 1 - 4, the others are too much in the trees. Hookups are dated but working. Wi-Fi works as long as you are close to the office. Restrooms are clean, tiled floor, standard separations. It is convenient for us visiting our friends and we will return again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
This is a very nice small park just south of Olympia. Its supper clean, well maintained, nicely landscaped and set amongst some old growth pines. It’s also in close proximity to a Walmart, Costco, grocery stores etc. However, the main drawback is that it’s a former KOA and like older KOAs it’s VERY tight and a lot of the pull-throughs are very close together. You park in opposite directions and the slides on the rig next to me are about 2 foot from mine. There is no cable and for some reason you can’t pick up the major TV stations over the air. The office also serves as a Texaco gas station and convenience store. The 30 amp is a light 30 amp. The back end of the park is heavy forested and is pretty much for tenters and really small rigs. Not a lot can be done about how the park was laid out, but they need to rock the pads. When it rains you end up with mud and pine needles in you rig. Putting in 50 amp would also help to make it a great park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
Great CG for visiting the area. Behind a gas station, but very quiet. Dry camping area way in the back is like being in the woods miles from any town. Were it not for a little highway noise and air traffic noise by day, you would never know. WI-FI further than sites closest to the office is very spotty to non existent. Sites are a tad close, but the area with utilities is not exactly a destination for RVs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$33
Nicely kept park and very quiet except for occasional low flying planes from a nearby airport. Lots of tall pine trees. I would have appreciated cable as there are very few over the air channels available. We were in site 10, far from the office and the WiFi was not very good. The signal was okay, but it kept going up and down. I used my own Verizon MiFi. Sites are a bit close together. There is a weak 4G Verizon signal here and phone calls weren't always clear. Park is in a decent location and not too far from the capitol in Olympia. It is also near a place called Wolfhaven, a wolf sanctuary and worth a visit. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the air at the gas station in front is free to use. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$35
Beautiful trees in this campground. WiFi worked great (we were right behind the office). No TV cable hook-ups but great wooded area to meander in. Close to downtown Olympia (State capital, Japanese gardens, Tumwater Falls Park). Very nice staff who was happy to give directions to tourist sites. Quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$28
It was our 3rd stay at this park (4 nights), always in winter. The roads are paved, sites are on gravel and you might need a board or two to level, nothing major though. The sites are left-right interchanged and pretty narrow. I didn't have a problem with my slideout but no chance for the awning, the trees were too close. The hookups are dated but still working, 30 amps only and no cable TV. The WiFi worked o.k. but we were on site #3 pretty close to the office. I setup my satellite dish and got a very good signal, but my sat tripod was on the picnic table. Any site further away from the office is way more in the trees and therefore no sat signal. The restrooms were clean and had very nice tile floors. The shower is a fiberglass one-piece unit (perfect) but the changing room is a little bit small and should have more than 1 hook. As the whole park is under tall trees (very nice), there are millions and millions of pine, fir and other needles covering the ground and you will get them anywhere! It was raining heavily on our last 2 days and there were plenty of water puddles, some deeper than others and we tracked dirt everywhere. That is what you get when you want to be as close to nature as possible. The noise from the distant highway was slightly heard, but almost nothing from the close by airport. We will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$28
Lots of shade so 30 amp was enough - we didn't need AC. Dirt sites that are tight. WiFi worked ok but signal was weak in parts of the campground. The game room doesn't have much to recommend it. Near airport but only heard planes when outside and not very often. Quiet and peaceful when walking the dog at night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$34
This was probably our 4th stay here. Great campsite for peace and quiet. Not a lot of kids like their Heritage site but still enough for them to have fun. Bathrooms are always clean and the pool is fun for the kids. There are 3 unofficial areas in the park, the front is for bigger rigs and coaches, the middle is for smaller units or people wanting power and water and the rear loop is more for tenting. I think the rear washrooms are now closed and they have porta-potties but the front washrooms are still spotless! Staff at the gas station/store have always been friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$26
No TV. Sites were dirt so be careful tracking in dirt. Only 30 amp available but was ok because it was cool. The site was level if you positioned correctly. Roads tight for big rig. Site was long enough but side by side. Your neighbor needs to be all the forward. Water pressure low. Nice pool. Wi-Fi in the main building. Management nice. Showers were the best, could use more hooks. Quiet park with one airplane fly over. Stayed a week for sight seeing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2012
$28
Cold and rainy tonight, so the park is soggy and muddy. Very accommodating hosts, however, and spotless restrooms compensate for a park that's seen its better days. Sites are gravel/dirt with some patches of brave and enduring grass here and there. If you're accustomed to perfectly flat concrete pads, you won't appreciate leveling your rig fore and aft and sideways as well. That said we have no major complaints--and relish the almost surreal quiet of Oly CG. We'd certainly stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2011
$28
We stayed for 4 nights and would come back if again in the same area. The restrooms were clean, not super clean, the tiled floors were nice but I would have liked the shower cubicles to be bigger to have more room to dress. Additionally, instead of just 1 hook several hooks would be nice. The sites were more or less level, on dirt and as mentioned earlier, the buddy sites are really close together. We stayed here in November and the fir needles on the floor were about 1/2 inch thick. Nothing wrong with that, but whatever you do, you will bring a good part of it into your RV. The Wi-Fi was working great and the hookups were ok too, even though a little bit dated, at least everything worked. No cable TV though. Being outside you could hear the train going by, but not inside. The same goes for the I-5. Every once in a while we heard an airplane, but nothing major. There were some seasonal guests too but NOT that many to influence the overall picture. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$28
Overall, not a bad place to stay. The potential here for a great campground is here, but the owners just do not have the ability to make it great. As stated on the site, the campground check-in is at the gas station in the front and the campground is around back. I think the same owners run the American Heritage Campground. The RV sites at this campground are buddy sites for the most part. They are close and you better be friendly due to your neighbor being so close. Some back in sites are single and I would prefer them to the buddy. The campground was quiet except for a few planes flying so some small airport(?). Hookups were easy and the sites are tree covered for the most part. The sites are also fairly level, dirt or grass covered. The lady at check-in was very nice and helpful. She walked us to the site which is the reason they can be difficult to get ahold of on the phone. The pool was still closed at this time due to lack of money to heat it. It was a little cold when we stayed, so that would have been needed. The lady at the front desk almost seemed to offer the American Heritage pool to me when we checked in, but did not really push the offer. The tent camping on the back loop looked awsome. I think they had it best when it came to sites (their restrooms were closed, inserted were a couple of port a potties). We rode bikes a lot here around the campground and my kids played on the playset. It was easy access from and to I-5 and far enough away that you could not hear it. It was however a little strange going through the farm areas to get there. Just up the freeway is a major box food store, a regular grocery store, and a new Walmart going in. I would stay here again if needed, but would pick my site before driving around to the actual campground. Some corners could be a little tight for really big rigs. I think next time I would choose a back in site or the buddy site I had with the big dirt pile in the buddy portion of the site. Be safe out there and enjoy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$30
This is a super pet-friendly park and has really wonderful tent sites located in the back of the park in the woods. We needed a pull-through site due to the length of our rig (over 40 feet), and they are located at the front of the park under huge Douglas fir trees. Because we were there in November, there were only about 4 other RVs there, so we had 2 or 3 empty spaces on each side of us, which was great. The pull-throughs are quite close together and have no privacy because the big fir trees have been limbed quite high, and there is no other landscaping until you get back to the tent sites, which are very private and separated with natural vegetation of salal, etc. We really enjoyed this campground with our big dogs, but some people may not have liked the fact that the sites were quite wet with all the rain, and there were a myriad of fir needles on the ground everywhere, which did end up getting in the RV regardless of door mats, boot-wipers, etc. The washrooms are coded-entry and were very clean with good shower facilities. There is a small store with a gas/diesel bar and propane available, as well as free Wi-Fi. We would definitely stay here again. The rate includes the state tax. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$27
This campground is close enough to the interstate, but the nights are quiet enough for sleeping. We heard a few helicopters the first night around 10:30, but none later. Wi-Fi is available at your site. If this park was full, you would be very close to your neighbors. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$28
This campground received and "8" purely for location. However, there are lots of trees and it is an easy off I-5. They have a laundry and a pool, no cable TV. The sites are very close together and there aren't very many. You check in at the gas station. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$27
From the first phone call I knew this would be a terrific place. It's convenient off the highway and in a wooded area. It feels like camping should feel except we're in a 40' motorhome. Nice thing about this park is that it is quiet and laid back, propane and diesel is available on site, store is well stocked (great ice cream selection). Easy pull in and space to maneuver a large rig and toad. Check in was fun and the camp hosts were great. Wish we had more time to spend in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
Rate is the daily rate for a FHU 30 amp pull-thru site. Park is in a wooded setting and has both RV and tent sites. Because of the trees, a portable dish was needed to receive a satellite signal, and this was limited to just a few sites. This is an older park with somewhat narrow roads and sites, but is a nice, and very low key place to overnight. Park in front of the Texaco station to register. Reasonable priced gas, diesel and propane available. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$31
Nicely treed. Quiet. We could not get into American Heritage Campground close by. This is actually owned by the same people as American Heritage. There are cable plug-ins there but there is no cable. Friendly staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$31
Spent 2 nights here midweek and the park was very quiet except for the campers in the tent area. Some arguing going on between a couple. Highway noise is noticeable day and night but not so loud that you were disturbed in your sleep. Woke up on the morning we were to depart and found everything soaked from the dew. Took quite a while to get the dirt swept off of our mat and our shoes were caked with dirt. Hubby didn't know he had dirt on the soles of his shoes and it ended up on the carpet. The pool was very nice and clean and the staff was very friendly. The park office is in the gas station which carries propane and diesel. Costco and a new Trader Joe's nearby. Don't expect to get your satellite in, too many beautiful trees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
This is a great place, easy to get to and you feel like you are miles from the Big City. The people are very friendly and the store has books and videos to buy very cheap. It is a clean park you can tell they work hard to keep it up. Some spots are close but if you can get a spot in the back of the camp they are very private. It is does not look like they use them, we asked for the most remote spot and they put us right up front, not sure why. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$28
Let's face it...it's not fancy. Due to lack of rain, was a little dusty. There are no paved pads. We got the only satellite-friendly site (next to pool), and had good reception. Negatives aside, this is a very beautiful location in tall trees. The management is VERY friendly and efficient. This place oozes a sense of relaxing calm. We would happily stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
The people that work here were supper friendly and helpful. They need to cut back the brush: I almost couldn't open the door on my truck. You would never know that you are only a few minutes from downtown Olympia. I would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2008
$28
Wow, a woodsy campground to make you feel like you are "away from it all" yet close to a city. The owners, who also own American Heritage Campground, work very hard to keep this like a "campground" (that happens to have hookups) and not an RV park. I had site #14. The good news on that site is that if you are lucky, you might get the Wifi (it faded in and out). The bad news on that site is that if it rains, you get the fun of digging your sewer hose out of a "lake" that will form under your RV (but the electrical post was high enough to not be a problem). But to get the experience of being in a lovely wooded site such as this, I'm willing to make that sacrifice! All RV sites are pull-through, but they are "side by side." The "evens" pull in one direction, the "odds" pull in the other direction. Because of this, the RV electric spots are somewhat close together, not bad, just somewhat. Slide outs are ok, though. Lots of "big rigs" pulled in the night I stayed there. The spots are in dirt and aren't very level. I have hydraulic stabilizing jacks, and I think I hit the limit on one of them as to how far the jacks can be extended. Further, Site #14 had a pine tree which prevented me from putting my awning out. It was also fall, and some of the smaller "decorative leaf" trees in the landscaping were in full color, making it just beautiful despite the rain that occurred while I was there. If you want to use the WiFi, you go in the office building. There is no cable. I had difficulty pulling in TV stations, even the digital ones, via antenna. I'm not sure how satellites work here. The showers and restrooms were fairly clean. The laundry room was in the main building with the rec room, which had a pool table, and other tables where customers were busy using the WiFi. Laundry was $1.75 to wash, and 25 cents for increments of 10 minutes to dry. This seems expensive but the washers were large capacity top loaders, and the dryers were the large type you see in laundromats. The park has a gas station and a propane station. The main building, which also has a small store, appeared to be a "folksy drop in" center, and I had a great time just talking to people that "dropped in." This campground is a great place for an overnight, or to "get away from it all" for a few days. The only thing I didn't like about this campground is the route my GPS unit "suggested" to get here. I came in off WA State Highway 8 from the west. My GPS unit routed me through a semi residential/semi strip mall area, which wasn't conducive to RV's. I had to make a lot of "tight" turns and I swear I scraped a tire against the curb on one of those turns. There has got to be an easier way to get to this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2008
$30
There is lots of dirt, mud and pine needles in the Fall. It is an older park, friendly staff, easy to find from the interstate. There is minimal highway and road noise. The paved roads are narrow, sites are mud or dirt. This park has a seasonal pool, convenience store, fuel station (gas, diesel, propane, air, and water). It is definitely a short-stay place, unless you prefer 1970's RV parks. Tall trees makes it exciting to find the right satellite; ask for a site on the east border of the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2007
$30
Nice park with pull-throughs in the front area (big rig) and back-ins in the back part..Does need a bit of upgrading and does have some full-timers,but neat..The big trees make it like a state or NP cg. NO road noise from the freeway, near the airport tho and it is pretty easy to get too..It is the best park for traveling around the Olympia area.. All employees were very helpful and the owner loaned me a bucket of hot water to thaw out the faucets so I could fill my onboard tank because the temp never got above 28...BD. Have stayed there several times and will again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2006
$24
Not a bad campground heavily wooded which means that not a lot of grass in some sites but that goes with the territory. Unlike reviewed earlier some sites are pull throughs and I saw up to 42' rigs their I had no trouble with my 40' rig, these are all in the front section. I also saw very few seasonal campers. Road noise from I-5 was minimal, I am a light sleeper and had no issues with it. I would use this campground again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$25
I would rate this higher if the sites were more level. It's an old KOA that need more rehabbing...It is quiet with big trees and has full hu, partial and no hu sites. Some of the park road is paved and the back part isn't. Has a full gas station, convience store, game room with cable tv, propane and a dump site. I would use it again...BD..The only real problem was setting up in a 4" rainstorm and the resulting lakes. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com