206945 User submitted reviews online!!
Marble Quarry RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 36 user reviews. Phone: (209) 532-9539
CGID316

Marble Quarry RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
85
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   9   10   8   6   6   7   9   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2014
$36
Due to the size of our motorhome were placed on the top tier of this terraced campground. It was easy to get in and out of but really a dirty place to park. Water was OK, the sewer hookups are, well, weird. Count 'em: 6 TV channels. There are no dog breed restrictions here and there is dog poop everywhere and barking dogs are a regular occurrence. There was quite a bit of trash on the ground that the groundskeepers would drive by and ignore. The Wi-Fi did not work at all and the office could only offer that sometimes it does and sometimes it doesn't. We won't be returning here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$22
Friendly staff, level gravel sites. The WiFi is great and includes a limited amount of cable channels. A little difficult to get to but we found it. Our site is shaded and very nice size. We would stay here again and used Passport America. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$31
This rv park is one of the best I have ever stayed in, friendly and fun staff, lots of local activity, nearby Columbia old town within walking distance. scenery is beautiful, sites are accommodating. I can't say anything bad about this park :-) and very pet friendly! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$24
Our rate reflects the Passport America deal. However they do not honor Passport America on Friday or Saturday and do not take reservations for Passport America. We paid full price on Friday and Saturday (with a 10% senior discount) then got the half price deal on Sunday. This is a very nice park in easy walking distance of the state park in Columbia and a short drive to Sonora. WiFi was some of the best I've seen in a wide open park like this, really nice! The spaces are well apart from each other with a natural setting, no fences between spots. The spots are scattered around the park in a natural setting - very nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$20
The staff was friendly and helpful. Even though we had arrived 20 minutes after their normal hours, the lady stayed to let us know how to find out which sites would be available in case we were going to be there for more than one night. Pool looked inviting, bathrooms were exceptionally clean. Unfortunately, most of the sites were not level and what little gravel that was on the site was very large which made it hard to use leveling blocks without damaging them, otherwise the park would have rated higher. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$20
Rate is Passport America rate. The campground is average. The shade was nice but this is a rustic campground and is not fancy. However for a one or two night stay it was fine. I wouldn't stay for anything longer. The cable TV did not work since they had been flooded recently and it wasn't fixed yet. They did not tell us this before we setup. There was no cell coverage where we were. Overall just OK - not great but not horrible either. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$22
Sites in lower section are really close together and in gravel. Many spacious sites too including some pull-throughs on the upper levels; they are on asphalt roadways and have concrete pads with picnic tables. Tenters are in a separate area. Grounds seem well maintained for an old park. I didn't see any permanent or cluttered units. The laundry is in terrible condition; dirty and cluttered with two sets of machines; being shared by staff for cabin rental laundry. Clean and dirty laundry piled everywhere. The laundry facility is open just 6 hours daily and is too pricy for the condition it's in. Our price reflects CampClub USA 50% discount. We'd stay here again but not use the laundry. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$40
Nice park! Been here a couple of times. Nice and close to the State Park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$40
We stayed 3 nights, had a wonderful site, totally enjoyed our stay and the staff. The cable TV was as others have said, just a few stations but there was enough for us. The staff was excellent and we thought the campground offered a great variety of campsites that weren't all crammed in together. It's located on a fascinating piece of land with the quarry and lots of odd limestone formations. It's not a resort but more of a campground, which we prefer, since we mainly camp at state parks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2011
$38
We enjoyed our time here. Would definitely stay here again. Sites are gravel and level. Did not need our jacks. Quiet with mature trees and trails surround the park. The office staff and owners were exceptionally friendly. Rustic not primitive. Plenty of nature for kids to enjoy. Not an 'amusement park.' Park is old; however, it is clean, roomy, and they are upgrading it. Short walk to the historic town of Columbia. Had several deer come to visit during our stay. WiFi was good. Had some trouble with the cable TV when we first pulled in and they fixed it in less than 5 minutes: with a smile. The cable TV only has 4 channels. Showers are clean. Better allow 10-15 minutes for the heat to run before you use the shower. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2011
$38
A little muddy in winter. Office closes at 5. Very nice staff, made us feel welcome. Only a few cable channels. Walking distance to Columbia State Park. Saw deer more than once from our campsite. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$23
Do NOT take Rte 49 from Rte 199. What a mistake: it's a treacherous road for big rig. It's 59 from 199. DH wrote down incorrect info, and we drove an hour up and down mountains with tight curves and steep descents. However, helpful friendly staff, level site but no satellite reception due to trees. Was very busy on the weekend, so we couldn't change sites. CG has family friendly amenities (pool, horseshoes, shuffleboard, volleyball), nearby golf, horsedrawn carriages in Columbia, so there's kids-a-plenty. Bathrooms very clean and bright. Near Sonoma, a great little town. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$38
We had a nice private site with plenty of shade. We had the opportunity to visit the park a month prior to out stay and hand-picked the site for our motorhome. We knew we would like it. We did not like the looks of the coral area because the sites seemed pretty close together and offered little privacy. We know we would not like to stay in that area. It looks like it would be good for groups though. The park has many a friendly family atmosphere with volleyball, shuffleboard, horse shoe pits and other grassy areas to play in. Small pool but which we did not use but those in the pool seem to be having a lot of fun. The staff was helpful and friendly. We will be back. This park and the site will be a regular on our list of weekend treks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$38
Stayed one night at this park. Spaces are tight for larger rigs with slides, can be dusty with any traffic. The park is very close to the Columbia state park. The staff was helpful. Family oriented park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2010
$38
This is an old RV park near Columbia. Very convenient if you plan on visiting here. Park is in a pretty setting, but sites are very close together and units with slideouts may have difficulties. We also noticed rigs having to back out of their sites to get out. We were in #29 with full hookups. It was very crowded and the site next to us made it impossible to park our truck without it being literally at our door. Very few upgrades over the years as owners have had the place for over 30 years. While the setting is nice, I would not recommend it for big rigs or large trailers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$34
We camped at this beautiful campground. We couldn't have asked for a more beautiful site. The nice - short - walk to the historical state park of Columbia was great. The staff was courteous and friendly. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$21
Rate is a combination of full price weekend and a special off season: 'pay for 2, get 3 free' midweek rate. We were staying for a week and this was less expensive than the normal weekly rate and was suggested by the RV park to save us money, which we thought was a nice way of doing business. Most sites are back-in and while we were on a hillside, the pads were all terraced and level. Satellite reception was good, WiFi was available in the office. Has asphalt/gravel roads and gravel pads. A trail leads from the park to Columbia State Park which makes for easy sightseeing. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$40
This was our maiden voyage, so to speak, having just purchased our first RV (a travel trailer). The host was friendly, the grounds appeared laid out well to my admittedly unpracticed eye. I appreciated the availability of a pull-through site, although they charged an additional $4 for it. The site was level and the grounds in general were clean. A few deer wandered through the park in the early morning. I heard no highway noise at all while I was here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$35
Great location, friendly staff, nice little store and withing walking distance to Columbia State Park that has stores, gold panning, stagecoach rides, restaurants, bars, groceries etc. Close to Sonora. Sites close and on dirt but with full hookups. Busy park during holidays even in winter. Have camped here many times and will be back. Lots to do nearby. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$35
This campground is in a beautiful place but the spots are not very level. We also found the hookups to be rather inconvenient for us. However the people running the campground couldn't be nicer and the Columbia Ghost Town is just a very short walk and has some great restaurants. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$34
Pros: Quiet, comfortable, lots of shade, close to Columbia State Park, level site with plenty of room. Deer walked into the site next to us and 5 of them were on the volleyball court. Staff was friendly and helpful. Cons: Bathrooms were worn but clean. Only a couple of cable TV channels came in well, and a couple more with static. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$26
Good pool and group areas. Shady and flat in most places so it's easy to get your rig in. The hookups were a little old. The pool was great and I like to visit the town of Columbia. This is a better place for kids. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$37
We stayed for only one night while visiting a friend in the area but enjoyed this park because it is attractive and quiet, and we had a nicely shaded pull-through site. It had 50-amp service which we needed for the A/C because it was hot. As the name implies it is in a former rock quarry: relics of which in the form of large blocks of stone are scattered throughout. This is an older park but seems to be well maintained, although we did not examine or use any of the facilities. There is supposed to be Wi-Fi available but it was unusable from our site, as was our Verizon Air Card. Overall it was a pleasant stay. We will go there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
Nice, clean, shady grounds. The grounds are conducive for walking pets. Management and staff are friendly. Columbia State Park is just a short walk away and well worth the walk. Their pull through spaces are a nice size. I had room for slideouts and an awning. The only bad things are the mosquitoes and yellow jacket wasps. We had a great time for two weeks. Their pool is nice and clean, but could be bigger to accommodate all guests. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$47
We were lucky enough to get one of the sites that was a little bit wider (#57), as many of the sites are wedged in with little or no room between rigs. Memorial Day was completely sold out, but the staff was still attentive and courteous. Very convenient location with a nature trail right into Columbia State Park (get the trail guide from the office for $1.99). No open campfires, so bring your own pit or rent one from the office ($10/day with a $25 deposit). We especially liked the Ice Cream Social on Saturday, where $1.50 got us two generous scoops! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$38
Clean, family friendly campground. Quiet in the evening. Beautiful surroundings and easy walk to Historic Columbia. Only thing that keeps us from rating it a 10 is that there was no internet access, which we needed as AT&T cellular coverage was poor in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$32
We stayed here for two nights. The first space was so uneven that we staggered all evening trying to stay upright. We moved the next morning to a wonderful shaded site. This is within walking distance of the State Park and is absolutely worthwhile to visit. We watched the video in the museum and enjoyed the whole tour. Not a lot of people in the RV park as it was during week-day and school was in session. I'm sure during the Summer, this is crowded. Nice place to walk pets. We had a doe right outside of our front door, nearly scared our cat to death. We would camp here again during the Fall months. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$35
Park is centrally located for area attractions, and staff is friendly. Pull throughs can be a problem to to get into and out of, especially if the park is full. I would consider back-in site in lower part of park. Very little grass for pets. Has poor cable TV reception, and no WiFi at site are reasons I didn't rate higher. WiFi is available at the office. We became friendly with other RV'ers who have spent a lot of time in the Columbia/Sonora area and they rate this RV Park the highest. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$23
Older park with friendly hosts. Bathrooms clean but could use sprucing up. Great location within walking distance of Columbia State park. We camped in October during the week and stayed 3 nights for the price of two, a great value. Very quiet and shaded. Nicely located for day trips to Sonora, Tuolumne, Twain Harte and Angel's Camp. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$36
Good family park with horseshoes, tetherball, volleyball and badminton. The pool was only open one of the three days we were there. Daily newspaper comes to the office. Mostly gravel spots with a little grass. Very shady for the most part, sat users may have a problem. About 12 channels on the cable TV. Walking distance to Columbia State Park. We liked the park and will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$18
I like country style parks. This is one of those. It is not fancy, but I enjoyed it. Easy trail to Columbia State park. The marble quarry was fascinating. We were allowed to have a campfire in our washtub. Although there are lots of trees, I got lucky and was able to get Satellite with my roof mounted dish. They do not claim WiFi, but I was able to get it sometimes at my campsite 46. Used Passport America for a GREAT price. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2007
$35
A nice family park, on weekends the management provide ice cream social and local musician to sing campfire songs. Small store in office with a few necessaries. A short walk to Columbia State Park, we saw a play at the local play house, it was very enjoyable and reasonably priced. A great place for breakfast or sandwich is Billy's Wiskers. A limited number of pull-through's for larger units, most spaces are back in. Get good directions, GPS will try to take you through the State Park roads which have no vehicle traffic. We will return next year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2006
$36
This is an attractive park with many trees. We especially liked the "executive" site we were assigned. With our 42' rig, access was somewhat of a challenge due to a tight turn around the park office. We had to take a longer route through the park and turn around to reach our assigned site. The park was located within easy walking distance to Columbia State Park in the heart of the California Gold Country. I would stay at this campground again, should the opportunity arise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$36
When calling around for a last minute camping destination I was greeted by a very friendly voice at Marble Quarry RV Park. Both husband and wife team at the park were very accommodating. I was given one site when making the reservation and camped at this site the first night. The next morning I asked if I could go into another site since I felt sandwiched into the original site. I was given the available open sites and chose the one I liked the best. The swimming pool was a bit small for the size of the park but kept relatively clean. There are plenty of shaded sites and the trail into Columbia State Park was very well marked. I went into the ladies room just before leaving on the 4th of July. The room has 3 showers stalls and 3 toilet stalls. I was surprised it was as clean as it was with all the traffic that went in and out all weekend long. My site was right above the office building in direct site of the restrooms. I would give this place a 10 if they were to offer Wi-Fi. Cell coverage is very spotty but that is no fault of the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2005
$30
Nice campground. If it rains, stay away. There is mud all around and in the winter they won't open the lower section which is all gravel and you can avoid the mud. Also, if you have a satellite dish, you cannot get reception because of the high trees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$32
Nice and quiet older park. A little tough to get around the trees and the sites are a little too close together. Restrooms were clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. Nice walking trail to Columbia State Historic Park. Sites were all graveled. Cable TV was a little lacking with only about 8 channels and not too clear. Quiet nights. Good play area for kids. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com