220367 User submitted reviews online!!
Elwha Dam RV Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 71 user reviews. Phone: (360) 452-7054
CGID3163

Elwha Dam RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
39
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   6   9   10   10   8   8   9   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$35
Sites are more closely spaced than I'd like, though at least as good as the norm for commercial campgrounds. Wi-Fi is unusually good. Well kept attractive park in a fun area to visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2014
$36
Good location to visit Olympic National Park. We reserved a pull-though, but was assigned space 14 which is ONLY a pull-through if the spaces behind it are vacant, which they were not. So we had to back in. There was barely enough space to park our little tow car. If you really want a pull-through, quiz them when you make your reservations. If you are larger than 40', it is tight. Wi-Fi worked well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$36
This was a very nice campsite and in fact better than we had anticipated. We had a long site pull thru at the top of the park with a large grass area and picnic table. Tarmac roads and level gravel site. No cable TV, the wifi/internet could be flaky but was adequate. The restrooms/showers and laundry/club house were excellent, very clean and neat. It is just 3 miles from the lovely town of Port Angeles and The Olympic National Park. It is also walking distance from the Elwha Dam Site, the biggest dam removal site in USA. We certainly recommend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$35
This is a very nice park. We stayed in a site up on the hill. It was very long and level with gravel. There is plenty of room between sites in this area. Be advised, there are many tent campers in this area also. If that is a problem you will want a lower site, but those sites are closer together. This campground has the best Wi-Fi we have experienced anywhere. The owner gave us 15% discount as a Good Sam's member. This is more than the usual 10%. We would stay there again. We camped 7 days in a 39' rig. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$35
This park is quiet,off-the-beaten path, rustic and well maintained. Owners are very friendly and very helpful concerning local sites. We would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$30
Centrally located park for exploring the northern part of the Olympic National Park. Pull-thru and back in sites available. Sites are fairly spacious. WiFi not that great. Laundry is expensive at $2.50 for each wash and dry. Staff is friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$35
New & Improved is a great way to describe this park. They recently lengthened, terraced, and leveled quite a few pull-throughs. And they built new restrooms and a really nice laundry room/lounge. New machines that are very quiet. Access roads are a bit narrow, but still navigable. Park is off the main drag so it's quiet. Good place to stay! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$36
Stayed a few nights in the older section. Smallish full hookup site with mature trees and shrubs. Very clean and attractive. Friendly and knowledgeable lady at check in. Wi-Fi ok, no cable but some TV stations from antenna. Good location for exploring Olympic Nat’l Park and a day trip on the ferry to Victoria, BC. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$33
Very nice park a few miles out of town. People were friendly and helpful. The spot we had was tight but doable. They had larger sites but since we had a small motorhome we didn't need it. The rest rooms and laundry are brand new, well designed and beautiful. The only downside we had was the spot we were in was not level enough. If you had power levelers there would be no issue but we don't. Great place and we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$34
What a great park. Friendly, clean, well maintained and a chorus of frogs to lull us to sleep at night. Seating beside the ponds to enjoy the sounds. Brand new bathroom for the men. Brand new laundry facilities that were spotless and roomy. A nice place to put a puzzle together or read a book in the comfort of a great couch and chairs, card table with chairs. I've never had such a comfortable place to do laundry. Loved this place would come back again and again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
The ladies room only has 1 shower and 2 toilets, but wasn't crowded. It was moderately clean. The park is pretty, and there is a trail to the former dam. Even with a Good Sam discount, the rate was a little too high at $35. The hostess is friendly and knows the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$32
52 sites, Easy access, stayed in the nearer section, large level sites, good hook-ups, big rig friendly, older section also adequate but mostly full and long term residents (away from travelers section). Staff were friendly and helpful. WiFi available (slow and sporadic), TV via air or satellite but not much available, Close to Port Angeles. We would stay there again. GS price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
Fairly level gravel sites. Some sites a little close together. Wi-Fi slow in the evenings. Office staff great. Great central location for visiting the the area. ATT and Verizon cell coverage. Many over air TV channels. We stayed four nights. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$32
Very friendly staff. Good Wi-Fi, full hookups, no cable but a few over-the-air stations available. Very dog friendly and some sites are shaded. Would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$38
Lovely park, well kept, quiet, charming and with a very helpful manager. It was recommended to us by friends and now we recommend it to others. Showers and laundry were small and impeccably clean. I'd have given it a 10 except that the entrance to the actual rows of RV spaces was a little tight, but just take it slow, smell the lovely flowers, and you'll make it in fine. We will definitely stay there again. Great location for the tidal pools of the Strait of Juan de Fuca beaches and the glorious Hurricane Ridge of the Olympic National Park or the ferry over to Victoria, British Columbia. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$217
We made reservations a month in advance, Stayed for a week. When we arrived we were given a site that was very crappy, we had requested a pull thru 40'w 4 slides, when we leveled the bottom step was 1 1/2' to ground. When we requested a better site we had to wait 3 days then the owner was not real happy, but we did get in the newer area which was great. Couldn't get any TV, antenna or satellite. Area is located under Bonneville power lines. Park is up for sale and it seems that the owners do not to put any work into the place. We would stay again if we could get into the newer area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$34
Pleasant park: woodsy, close to the main draw here - Olympic National Park. Friendly owner. Wi-Fi adequate. Low water pressure, only two washers and dryers. We enjoyed our stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
We were in back in spot #20 which was nice and roomy for our party. there was only 1 neighbor (a full timer) that wasn't there the entire weekend. The campground was nice and clean. Although our space was roomy, a look at many of the other spaces specifically, the pull throughs seemed to be pretty tight. I marked down for no cable TV and the WiFi which was horribly slow and frequently not available. This park makes a good base camp for touring the northwest side of the area. Peaceful and quiet at night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
This smaller park is run by very nice folks who have worked hard to make it better, and those efforts have paid off. Twelve new sites, all professionally designed and built are pull-throughs and with full hook-ups for Big-Rigs and are very nice sites. Roads are somewhat tight for bigger rigs, but passable, and maneuvering was fairly easy. It's very quiet here, access to the National Parks is easy, and if we are ever in this part of the country again, we will stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
Lovely trail circles the park and the Elwha Dam Trail begins right next to the park. This is a busy place so reservations are really important. It's located very conveniently for many treks to the Rain Forest, Beaches, and Olympic Forest. It's a very nice park with friendly owners. It's an older park with nice big trees and plenty of grass. We enjoyed our stay and are happy to recommend it to others. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
Well maintained site, although some narrow ones. Owners will accommodate travelers without reservations in overflow areas. Lots of greenspace. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$36
Sites: Many pull throughs, but close together. Nice little grassy area in between sites. No shade. Hook ups: FHU (50amp). Bathrooms: Didn't use. Laundry: Didn't use. Pets: Pet friendly with enough area for walking. WiFi: Free, but slow. Verizon Internet: Worked well. Sprint Internet: Worked well. Verizon cell: Good signal. AT&T cell: Good signal. Area/Town/Sights: Some nice hiking trails. 6 miles from the port and town of Port Angeles. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$32
Nice super quiet location. Laundry was expensive and there were only 2 machines. Wi-Fi was good. No amenities such as pool, spa, etc. Nice spaces and friendly staff which helped with tourist stuff. Convenient to Ferry to Vancouver Island - Victoria. Stayed here 3 days. Peace. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$29
The newer section, designed for big rigs, is entirely satisfactory. The sites are level and long enough. Hookups are well placed for a motorhome. Tranquil setting when not overwhelmed with children. Wi-Fi capacity is inadequate; you must get on early in the morning. Out of town in a rural, wooded setting. Friendly, helpful staff. Will stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$32
Quiet park just a few miles west of Port Angeles. Rate includes Good Sam discount. We were assigned one of the new pull through sites which are large and level. BUT when we had parked we almost stepped on some dog poo on the grass pad beside our trailer. There was more than one 'mine' left. Other than that the site was perfect. Little privacy though. Hookups in the right place and in good shape. WiFi worked well with one of our computers; the other couldn't catch the signal. The roads inside the park are narrow, and there are some pretty tight turns. We are 51' combined length, and there was not too much room when making the turns. Drive slowly and carefully! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$36
Very nicely maintained RV park, nice and quiet, and clean restrooms/showers. Lots of bird feeders and nice trail around. Very convenient place to stay at on our way to the ocean from Seattle. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2013
$32
Visited here during President's Day weekend. This campground was fine but very basic. Our site was perfectly level, but sites were narrow and ours did not have fire ring or a picnic table. There is current construction near the bath house so the walk to and from was a bit muddy. The playground area was almost non-existent, but the dam walk was nice. Next time I'm in the area I'm definitely going to the Salt Creek Rec area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$36
Just south of Port Angeles this is a good, quiet base from which to explore northwest Washington. Sites are level, gravel and terraced down a hillside with good satellite TV access. Bathrooms are rustic but clean. Easy access for big rigs. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$32
Elwha Dam RV Park is listed on RV Park Reviews as 6 miles SE of Port Angeles, it is 6 miles NW. Likewise Salt Water RV parks are 9 miles NW, not 6 miles SE. Both parks are very nice. Elwha has full hook ups, including 12 new 70' pull throughs, which are very wide, level and perfect. Wi-Fi but no cable. Saltwater is a beautiful state park, with several large pull throughs, 12 deluxe back ins with direct ocean views, and a separate section of shaded private back ins with no view. Water and electric hook ups only. Plenty of space and ideal for kids. No access after 8 PM. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$36
We picked this campground after reading online reviews of others in the area. Close (ca. 5 miles) to the town of Port Angeles and the entrance to Olympic National Park, this is a nice, clean, quiet, rural RV park built on a slope, with wildlife, birds, a garden, and a duck pond. A pleasant lady who is one of the owners has posted lots of signs and rule sheets prohibiting activities that any idiot ought to know better than to do. Admittedly, a lot of idiots don’t seem to know better. The restrooms and showers are clean. The rate we paid ($36 with a Good Sam card) was not too unreasonable for a campground that close to the National Park. We would probably stay here again if we were in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
Very nice clean fairly level spots. Very friendly staff. Grounds keep very clean. Nice place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$34
We drove through another park and golf resort, and were shocked at how dilapidated and scary it looked. So we tried Elwha Dam RV Park and were very pleased. The price reflects a weekly rate. We stayed in the new section up a terraced hill. All interior roads are paved. The new sites are gravel and separated by pavers, stacked three high. Remember to park away from the pavers so you can open slides and have room to walk around your rig. This may put you closer to having to open your door and step on to the new sod. The sod in the new area is watered by "hand" daily by pumping water from the small pond in front of the sites. The noise from Rt 112 could be easily heard during the day. But, it was very quiet at night. Much of the campground sits beneath a high voltage power line. You can look up the transmission right of way and see, but not hear US Rt 101. We also got a great bonus by picking blackberries behind the new sites near the storage area. The WiFi although slow, was usable. They recycle glass, aluminum cans and plastic. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$31
Very nice park. Great pull-through sites: wide, level, hookups well placed, level. Park is a bird sanctuary & very attractive. Wi-fi mostly worked well. I didn't give the park a 10 because it was the most expensive laundry I've encountered in 3+ years of full-time RVing -- $2.00 each load. But I would definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
We stayed here three nights while exploring the north side of Olympic National Park. We found this RV park to be nice, and a good central location for exploring Olympic. We had a back-in site in the "older" section of the park, which included a fire ring. Site was easy to access and was level, and we were pretty close to our neighbors. I was disappointed that there was only one men and one women's shower stall for the entire park...they charged 50 cents for three minutes. There was wifi, but it was pretty slow. We would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$38
This park is on a hillside. The pull through sites were level and newly landscaped. We received a warm welcome and plenty of tour information upon check-in. The map showed the many park roads which fork here and there. Be careful to take the proper road as some roads are not suitable for big rigs. The pull through sites are new this year and signage is lacking. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
Very well located for access to Olympia NP and Victoria. Pull through sites very big rig friendly but no fire pits. Recently renovated with nice grass and very nice hookups. Wi-Fi is so-so. Single men's shower for entire park! If you have low slide outs watch out for retainer walls! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
We enjoyed our 7-night stay here after a rough start. Though we had made reservations several weeks ahead, upon arrival they had us assigned to a site way too short for our 40-fter. We moved to a new site, got set up, and realized it only had 30 amp. We had requested 50. It was cool enough that we didn't think we would need our a/c, so we stayed there rather than move again. The young girl in the office needs a little supervision/orientation as to lengths of units for which sites and what people require for amps. The new pull-through sites are nice but not finished yet. Bathroom looks antiquated, and the laundry was a steep $2, with only 2 washers and 2 dryers. WiFi worked good. The location was great for visiting many areas of the national park, as well as being only 5 miles from Pt. Angeles. We went twice to breakfast and once to dinner at Cafe Garden, which was an awesome restaurant. If in the area, we would probably return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
Older park though they are currently putting in 10 new long pull through sites. Good access to Port Angeles / Sequim and to the north end of Olympic National Park. Stayed here 3 days. Sites are somewhat irregular in how they are organized but all have reasonably good access with some pull throughs and some back ins. 6 -8 long term occupants but as with most parks they are located along one side, so not an issue. Marked it down since no cable TV and really no TV (2 with infomercials and 2 with old TV reruns). Also, the restrooms are somewhat old style but ok. Good Wi-Fi at least where we were located: could see numerous repeaters around the park. Nicely landscaped. Stayed here 3 nights seeing the area and would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$36
We agree with most of the previous reviews. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The campground location was great for visiting Olympic NP. We were disappointed that our Good Sam $5 off coupon was not honored. Also noticed that this property was for sale. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$36
Very pleasant park operated by very friendly people. Quiet, central to Olympic National Park and state parks. We would certainly stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$33
Very nice park located 10 minutes from Port Angeles harbor area. Very friendly staff. A few of the sites are not very level but the one we had was pretty good. This is a very quiet park and was a pleasure to stay at. Will definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$32
Well maintained with extremely helpful and friendly staff. They allowed us to change sites without complaint. Only down side is there is no cable although Wi-Fi is good. There is a walking path that leads you to a viewpoint of the dam which is in the process of being dismantled to allow salmon to return to the area. Our site had 30amp only but was wide and long enough to accommodate our 38'fifth wheel. We will stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$36
This campground is very pretty and well maintained. The restrooms were clean and the showers were clean, but there was only 1 shower for each restroom, so there was always a wait. There is not a lot for small children to do in this park, as the playground is pretty old and only has a merry go round and teeter totter, but there are nice ponds to walk around and my boys enjoyed playing ball in the large fields. You can take a walk and look at the Dam, but its pretty far away still, so you can't see it that well. The sites were also pretty close together. We couldn't put our awning down. Some of the sites don't have fire pits, which ours did not, but the owner was nice enough to let us use one on a site that wasn't occupied. I don't know if we would camp here again since we have 2 small children, but it is a nice place if you are looking for some peace and quiet. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$34
Made reservations in advance. Park has a pleasant atmosphere with lots of trees, grass, and ponds (for looking, not swimming or fishing). Some sites are quite close together, ours was next to the pond and isolated from neighbors; quite nice for us. Bathrooms were clean even after a weekend of heavy use by X-country bicycle race people. Laundry facilities were adequate. It's a short drive to Port Angeles where you find major grocery stores and Olympic National Park (Hurricane Ridge). They're demolishing the Elwha Dam so there's no access to the lake and dam. Eventually the river will be restored. A nice park although some facilities look a bit old. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$29
We camped here for 12 weeks in our fifth wheel. The rate reflects the monthly rate. This is just a little gem of a park, tucked onto a hillside, with a great location for exploring the Olympic Pennisula. Some sites are quite narrow as noted by other reviewers (my only criticism of the park), but other sites are quite adequate. The grounds and wood carvings are lovely. Sun is at a premium because of the evergreens and it varies by site, but we had happy hour on the sunny porch and met some nice folks that way. We overheard several folks complaining about the lack of satellite or cable TV. Come on folks! It's the rain forest, and you're out in the country. Choose a different campground if you need to watch "The Bachelorette". We actually watched a game or two at the bar a mile up the road. The owners of the park are three generations of wonderful women who really go the extra mile to see that you are taken care of. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$33
This is the nicest park in the area. However the pull-through sites are VERY narrow. We could not use our awning while we were here because of the close trees. Also, the laundry room is totally inadequate with only 2 washers and dryers: one dryer was broke the entire time we were here. They are taking down Elwha Dam so we heard a lot of construction trucks very early in the morning. We would not return to this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$34
Real nice park. Only 10 minutes from the ferry landing to go to Victoria. Nice spaces but the pull through sites are narrow. We had to choose between opening the slide out and the canopy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$34
This park is a favorite: always stay here twice a year on our way to and from Canada. It is on the West side of Port Angeles and about 15 minutes from the ferry to Victoria. It is run by a widowed lady who is 72 and her 94 year old mother!!! They are a delightful pair who have put their personal touch to this park. It is currently up for sale so I hope the new owners will keep up the same high standards. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$33
Nice place, easy in and out, easy to find, very friendly park staff. This is a beautiful setting for any size rig (we are 40 feet) and convenient to town only a few miles away where you can easily catch the Victoria Express ferry to Victoria, BC for the day. Some sites have fire rings, park is pet friendly and extremely quiet and peaceful at night. We will definitely come back again. The only shortcomings we could find was that there is no cable TV. The one channel we could get consistently was a mish mash of things we never watch on TV like old 1960 reruns. The other thing is that the laundry works great but is so small that with a full campground there is only two washers and dryers, we ended up going to town to laundry. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$28
We stayed a week and chose this location because it was centrally located to lots of places to explore. Our $28 rate reflects the 7th night free. The spaces were a little on the close side for our taste. Otherwise, a nice little park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$33
Nice RV park. Spaces between the sites was good. Friendly staff who live on site. Good Wi Fi. Occasional early morning noise from the permanent campers. Located close to Port Angeles. Would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
A beautiful and peaceful little place that has tons of personality. Nice landscaping and lots of bird feeders and sculptures all about. Very accommodating staff, very friendly and helpful. The space was nice, and we had plenty of room between us and neighbors. We did lose electricity for an entire day, which meant no water either, but I can't hold that against the park owners. Wi-Fi worked well, except during the outage. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2009
$29
We spent a disappointing week here. This is one of those parks that will be highly rated by smaller units, and for those of us with large motorhomes, be appropriately poorly rated. On one hand, it is nicely landscaped, with flowers, bird feeders, and ponds, and the staff is very friendly. On the other, the sites are too small for motorhomes with slides, not all are 50A, and the 30A voltage is marginal. It's not possible to get into and out of many sites with a tow attached since backing up will be necessary to get in between the trees and into the terraced sites. The park is heavily treed making satellite reception spotty, and there is no cable TV and little broadcast. There are many permanent residents, and while their sites are neat and segregated from the travelers, they drive through the traveler's area each morning, starting at 5:00 AM. If you have a small unit and only require 30A power, this may suit you fine; for us, we'll pass if in the area again. Curiously, it is less expensive to stay day by day than the weekly rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2009
$32
This is a campground for local workers and is mostly full time RV sites. The sites are too short for a 38' RV with a tow car to pull into. The sites are horribly unlevel and so narrow we could hardly open our slideouts. Upkeep is questionable and the owners have not spent any upkeep money since the 70's! However, the staff was helpful and pleasant to work with. We would likely not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$26
This property is well maintained with lots of interesting flowers, carvings, trails, and ponds to explore. The setting is very peaceful and convenient to town and ferry. The family managing this park shared fresh veggies out of their garden. Most sites are great, a few could be larger. There are trees scattered about, grassy areas and good 30/50 amp hookups. The best Wi-Fi we've ever found was available throughout the park. The staff was very helpful on places we should visit while in the area. We enjoyed our stay and will definitely come back to this beautiful park. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$29
There are clean facilities and friendly owner. Her family helps run the park, and they are nice, too. It is a safe park. Even though it is off the beaten path, it is easy and quick to get into Port Angeles. It provides good access to the Olympic National Park as well as to Neah Bay. We stayed for four nights. On one evening our daughter joined us and brought her tent along - only cost $2 more per night. It is not a show stopper. If we return to the area - we'll stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$29
Stayed here on a trip around the Olympic Peninsula. Nice and clean park. Lots of grass for playing. Primarily gravel roads. Biggest issue: you cannot reserve a particular site. So we were placed in the ULTRA tight spots even though it's supposed to be first come first served. We were there at 2pm, and there were lots of open spots with a fire pit and "room". I had to maneuver around the neighbor's awning and only had 2 feet between my stairs and the wall for the next tiered site. Front desk said that was the "spot they designated for me" and wouldn't move me. We were so disappointed that we left within about 2 hours. Some of the sites are huge with fire pits, so gamble if you'd like. Won't be back unfortunately. Would go back if they would have reservable sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$26
The park is a bit cramped. The sites and roads are uneven gravel and in need of maintenance. The wifi was good. Only a few Canadian tv stations available - no cable tv. The owners are very friendly and there are a lot of nice wood carvings. The price for the park is in line with the services provided. There was never any soap in either the men's or women's restrooms during the 3 nights we stayed there. You only get 6 minutes of shower water for $1.00 so you had better hurry when showering. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$29
We chose this campground because of the reviews here and because they will allow you to store your rig for up to a week if you camp for at least 3 nights. This allowed us to visit family in Victoria without dragging our trailer with us. The staff is very friendly and tries to accommodate requests. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$26
A nice park with full services. It is close to the Port Angles ferry. We stayed one night before going to Victoria. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$26
Small, a bit cramped, but very clean and well maintained. Lots of trees and gardens. Staff very nice. Many beautiful chain saw carvings on display. Owners have done a great job given the physical limitations of the grounds. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
Small park with fairly narrow spaces but well maintained with friendly, helpful owners and staff. We spent 4 days over 4th of July so the place was full but never noisy. It's a short distance off US 101 (not overly traveled) so no road noise either. The Wi-Fi was fairly typical for CG's - worked best at the office (I sat on the deck and enjoyed my iced tea while checking in on email, etc). This is a good base for visiting the North and Western areas of Olympic NP and Victoria, BC. When you take the ferry to Vicortia, buy a Grayline pass to Butchart Gardens at the bus terminal or visitor's center in Vancouver not on the ferry. Last year it was US$30/person vs over US$60/person for the "special deal" pushed on the ferry. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$30
Very well-located park -- near enough to Hurricane Ridge in the Olympic National Park, but not right in town. Fairly quiet. Bathrooms were decent -- bring quarters for the showers. Wifi was temperamental. Management was fairly helpful. The sites were kind of close together, with not much privacy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2007
$27
Park basically has well-maintained grounds and is conveniently located to Port Angeles, but that is about it. Upon arrival, we were given a site that was too small (with a prior reservation) and then we were asked to park our truck somewhere else to make room for other people. There were also a bunch of cigarette butts in our fire pit. In addition, the cable lines had simply been cut. The WiFi was spotty and extremely slow at best (they have a satellite system with an insufficient number of access points). But, the absolute worst was that the manager/owner left me a nasty message on my cell phone our last day there complaining that “your computer system is interfering with our Internet access and would you shut down your system and give someone else a chance." First of all, what she was saying was ludicrous. She thought that because she could see our network (internal network only between two computers within our RV) on her laptop that meant we were somehow taking away from her bandwidth or somehow interfering. She obviously didn’t know how to configure her laptop properly or it is possible that the satellite provider had bottlenecked them for excessive downloads. There were a lot of people on the satellite system, and they obviously do not have the proper setup for that. I would not have minded it so much if the message had been polite and she was just inquiring, but without any knowledge of what she was talking about she just automatically blamed us. It was crazy. I tried to explain to her that another system cannot “interfere” with her system at all. Plus, our system cannot even send and receive except between our two computers. It is only used to access files on each computer from the other and that is it. But, because she has no idea what she is talking about she couldn’t even understand that. I pointed out to her that her system had worked that morning and that was with our system still in place. Anyone who has used an laptop in different areas will know that there can be numerous networks in any given area and you have to choose the network you want to use. They have nothing to do with each other. The people at this RV park are incredibly rude. If anything, we should have gotten a refund for the fact that their system didn’t work properly almost the whole time. Stay away from this park! There are other nice parks including a county park in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$27
Park has been upgraded and now has asphalt perimeter roads which helps keep the dirt down. Also has been given the distinction of being a FWS Wildlife Backyard Sanctuary. For birdwatchers it is great! There are many, many different birds attracted by the feeders and ponds. In the laundry is a unisex shower room and a unisex bathroom, so one can shower while their laundry is running. Because there is only one shower in each of the main restrooms, it is nice to have an option of using this other shower. Also tents are allowed within the RV parking area when there is an RV to be parked also. The store has VHS tapes and DVDs for rent. Just let the staff know how they can help you and you will be greeted with a smile. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$24
Nice campground - quiet. Owners are great. The wifi has great access but the throughput is really slow. Since they are so far from town apparently their only internet access is via satellite. So there is quite a lag between hitting the key and seeing a response. But if you have patience, it works fine. Spots are a bit narrow. Multiple slide outs will fit but it will be tight. There is no cable TV. Use your outside antenna but expect to pick up only a few Canadian stations. We wanted a quiet location with nice amenities close to, but not in, Port Angeles. This was perfect. Would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$28
Elwha Dam is a very nice, quiet campground with lovely grounds. Although many of the sites lack privacy, ours (#8) is adjacent to a playground and so we only have one neighbor. The campground has free WiFi (not bad quality), 24 hour laundry, and attractive landscaping. The owners live on property in a house attached to the office/store, and are very friendly and give good advice about the area. The only reason I give 8 rather than 10 is that there is only one shower in each restroom, they charge 25 cents for each 3 minutes of hot water and don't provide liquid soap in the restrooms. Please folks, just charge a few bucks extra and give us hot water and a way to wash our hands after we use the john. But aside from those minor quibbles, it's a good value, a nice place to stay (even in peak season) and I'm very glad we moved over here and away from the RV shantytown at Log Cabin "Resort". We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2006
$22
Park is wooded, though sites are quite close together in many cases. Some sites are just twelve feet wide. Our problem was with the management. We made a reservation with a credit card for a pull-through site and were told none was available when we arrived. We had to unhitch and back in. We could not get a signal with our satellite dish or service on our cell phone. The brochure lists six TV channels, but these are only signals you may or may not receive with "rabbit ears". When we left on the second day of our prepaid week we were refused a refund. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$28
The staff was very friendly and helpful. The grounds were beautifully maintained with tall trees around and in the park. There are lots of hand carved figures decorating the campground and a play area for the kids. They have a small store with general sundries and dvd's and video's for rent. Propane is also available. Lots of small birds and the odd chipmunk. WiFi is free but very slow. The washrooms and showers were very clean with unique and interesting wallpaper in the laundry room (you'll have to see...). The park is within walking distance of Elwha Dam which apparently is going to be the first dam in the US to be taken out and returned to a salmon spawning river. The walk to the dam is only for the physically fit as it is quite steep however you can drive. There is some traffic noise as the park is not far from the highway but not bothersome. This park is within easy driving distance to a lot of the local attractions. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2006
$25
We had reserved 2 "full hookup" sites (for us and traveling companions) several months ago for a visit in July 2006 and thought everything was in order. We were the first to reserve our sites out of a group of 9 trailers traveling together. All others subsequently made their own reservations for "full hookup" sites also months ago. One of the campers called to speak with the owner the other day by phone and was informed that our "group" would not have any "full hookup" sites as she had reserved them for other people and were full up, but we could all be grouped together with one 30amp plug and one water spigot! I called immediately and was told "sorry would you like to cancel?" and I replied seems to me you could tell the other campers that reserved after we did that you had made a mistake and THEY would not have the full hookup spots and was told "sorry I won't do that!". I then told her that I would check and see what other parks were available and she asked again "do you want to cancel?" and I said no, not yet until I call you back and let you know. Well, you guessed it, I called back 2 days later to cancel and she had already canceled us! Beware of the practices at this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$24
Since our first stay in this park (Oct. 2002) management had changed and the park was no longer listed with Good Sam Club. We stayed here again because of its peaceful location in a forest and the fact that it is only about a ten minute drive to downtown Port Angeles. The park offers nice walks inside the camp, and to nearby places such as the dam and a scenic highway bridge. There are small duck ponds (with ducks), a picnic pavillion, and two acres next to the forest especially for tenters. Satellite reception is possible from some sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com