214355 User submitted reviews online!!
Silver Strand State Beach was rated 6 out of 10 based on 24 user reviews. Phone: (619) 435-5184
CGID319

Silver Strand State Beach

Camp Information
Sites
133
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$65



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   6   8   8   9   10   10   4   1   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$65
I have not camped here in over 4 years however I did stop by to check out the new upgrades. They just reopened the park within the last 2 months. It's not cheap. And there is curfew at night. Gate is closed and locked. No sewer at the site but there is a dump station. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$60
It is basically a large parking lot with sites right on top of one another. The place was packed, but the park rangers are really good about enforcing the quiet hours, which makes it peaceful at night, as you can hear the waves crashing on the beach. Due to the location the rangers lock the gates at (I think it was) 9pm, meaning no one in/out until they open them back up in the morning (which I think was 7 or 8); this seemed odd to me. If you have dogs there is a great dog beach on the island, about a 10 minute drive. Dogs are allowed in the park, buf not on the beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$18
Have stayed here many time many times now. For beach front or close to beach it's my favorite. It's just a 4 row asphalt parking lot with no hook-ups. There is one water spigot to fill your tank when you arrive or run out. The ocean beach is wonderful and the bayside beach is just as nice. You can access either one very easily depending on your desired activity. Very close to Coronado or Imperial Beach for anything you may need. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$50
You have to love asphalt and no hookups because this is it. Also they lock the entry gate about 9pm and it remains so until 8 am. This eliminates going out to see the city at night, and it is a long walk from the gate to the RV lot! No Generators from 9 until 10am in the morning - so no microwave foods or coffee. That being said, the surf is usually up and if you can do without all the amenities, it is a fun place - rather pricey however. Ranked down to a 7 because I think the gate and generator issue is unrealistic. Also in summer they will not let you register until 2pm - causing long lines when they do start to register campers. Be aware. If you want to wait in an adjacent parking lot you can -- for $30! No other nearby parking available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$50
We were in a beach front site #123. We were a little disappointed when we arrived as we expected an unimpeded view of the beach and ocean from our site. However, in Winter, a Sand Berm piled high just between the RVs and the beach to protect against any storm surges, blocks your view of the beach and ocean. Bummer. But we still enjoyed the location tremendously. It's still great to be right at the beach front and it's a nice beach. Too bad our dog didn't have a chance to view the ocean since they are not allowed on the beach. Also, there is practically no greenery around for your dog to wander on. The parking lot style no-hookup campsites weren't great, especially when your neighbors may have their generators on the whole day from 10am-8pm - but it's not too bad. I have to say that I found the campground hosts to be exceptionally friendly and helpful. I know that a number of reviewers took exception to their strict enforcement of rules. But we all obeyed the rules and didn't have any problems. We will certainly be back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$50
Stayed in a beachfront site this time vs an inland site last stay, the only way to go, but you must book ahead. Stayed in #104 (which was the old #105) it gives you some separation from the next rig as there is an emergency vehicle lane between you and the next site #103, which is a handicap site. Lifeguard station #5 is in your line of site to the beach but it really isn't a big deal. As usual, tons of shells to pick up including those elusive black sand dollars. The navy seals were very active in training on the beach all week which is always interesting. Several pods of dolphins spotted headed up and down the coast. Also spotted very easily the newest nuclear powered aircraft carrier the Ronald Reagan doing sea trials right off the coast after its last sprucing up. Lots of naval activity, air and sea, to watch all day long. Great place to relax on the beach. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$35
This is a 4 row, asphalt parking lot located right on the beach. There are absolutely no hook-ups, but fresh water is available for your rig upon your arrival so you don't have to transport it. You must be fully self contained to camp here. The current gate hours are 8am to 8pm and they are locked tight from 8pm to 8am, so if you are planning to stay late at Sea World for the fire works, don't! Has an awesome beach for swimming, fishing and shell collecting. Lots of naval ships going by to look at. It is 5 minutes to downtown Coronado for eating and shopping. Great place to just relax. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2009
$25
I should have read some of the reviews before we went to this park. The "Parking Lot Nazis" as my son called them, are out of control. They are very picky about rules, but apply them arbitrarily. It was obvious who the "regulars" were, as they got to "fudge" a little. I DO appreciate rules, as it makes for a more pleasant experience for everyone. But if you're going to enforce them, then do it across the board. But, the beach is the beach. It was pretty, the waves were nice. Not sure if we'll ever stay here again, but it wasn't a completely unpleasant experience. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
If state park campgrounds have an armpit, this must have been it! They say pets ok, but they must stay inside your RV or sit on asphalt. They say family type campground, and sure enough people took their kids, but very much a park for drinking and partying. I truly believe there is enough room here for the State of California to offer some improvement to the sites. I would have gladly paid twice as much at this location for a slightly larger site with at least electricity. Clean up just a little and plant a tree maybe? Anything would help. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2009
$30
My family and I camp here at least 4 times a year. We are San Diego natives and Love Coronado. If parking lot concrete camping is what we get than we'll take it. I choose Silver Strand State park over Carlsbad or San Elijo state campgrounds ANYDAY. The one thing to be sure of when reserving is that you GET A BEACHFRONT SPOT. This makes a world of a difference at this campground. Coronado offers the must wonderful beaches with views. This is a tight fit parking lot style campground. The point is: you're out under your easy up on the sand or in the water and not at your camper. The beach allows offers whole sand dollars to find and other pretty shells. In the evening everyone rides their bikes around the giant oval campground surveying each others sites. There are a lot of bond fires and fire pits. It's definitely a people watching place. If you want to take a warm shower you have to ride your bike under the main road onto the San Diego Bay side - into the sailing club building which closes at 7pm and use your quarters. No the bathrooms are not clean - sand everywhere. It might be a tight concrete campground BUT the beaches make up for it therefore, I'll continue to camp here and each visit we'll drop by the Hotel Del Coronado We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2008
$25
This is was the worst place we have stayed. Forget about the 'quiet hours' rules. The party lasts until late. Most of the other campers were regulars and were 'in' with the park staff. One of the noisiest party campsites was serving breakfast to the rangers the next morning. There was no room to park my tow vehicle (I have a 26 ft Trailer) and no overflow parking. I was told to park it several miles away and walk back. The roads are narrow, and it took 30 minutes to get to my site because I had to wait while other RVs tried to squeeze in to the very narrow parking spots. I will never go back even though we love camping at the beach. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
Silver Strand goes down in our logbook as the worst camping experience we've had. Up to now, the worst was being caught in Yellowstone in 20F temps in a pop-up without a working heater. Silver Strand is not camping. It's a cross between tailgating and a Nascar infield. Very cramped spaces, generators running nonstop, and lots of adult language and beverages in use during all hours of the day. The generator in the site backing up to us ran so long that the carbon monoxide alarm in our coach was going off. With little space between units, this is apparently a very common problem. I'm surprised nobody has died from this yet. Volunteer hosts were very nice, but the state park staff were fairly rude and a little too by-the-book. One of them had my seven year old son in tears because she told him he would be arrested for riding his scooter without a helmet. (Despite the fact that 80% of the kids riding bikes and scooters were without helmets.) The sites which back up to the beach are nice, odd numbers between 49 and 105 if I recall. If you can't get one of those, don't bother. You'd have a better time camping in an RV dealer's parking lot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2007
$24
We booked one night at this beach location, about 2 hours from our home. We drove in and right back out. It is nothing but a small parking lot with each site just a regular parking space. There was absolutely no room between RVs. No privacy at all, and I'm sure every sound from your neighbor would be heard. It was milling with people. Plus they lock the gate at 8 or 9 PM every night so forget about going out to dinner or such. If you absolutely want to stay at a beach location, give it a try. But we are not that desperate! Near my home at the beach is a city RV area right on the beach where the sites are the size of six regular parking spaces and you get water & electricity hookups. You pay more but the experience would be much more pleasant. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$25
Nice enough parking lot right on the ocean. This was the first place we took our new trailer. It's basically a parking lot on the beach. Gen. use is OK from 8 to 8 or so. There are some fire rings on the beach and fires are allowed in containers at the campsites. Front row backs up to the sand. They also offer day use for a quick getaway. Probably not big rig friendly due to limited space size. AT&T wifi available at the lifeguard tower. We like it enough to return for Christmas. Hard to rate any higher for a parking lot. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$90
Very fun and relaxing park. I love the staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2007
$27
Great location - ocean on one side, San Diego Bay on the other. Other than that it is the pits. The gates close at 9 PM you can't enter or exit until 8 AM. Packed in like sardines in a parking lot. There are probably two choice spots in the whole park. There was no room to park our truck. We were directed to a lot where we got a parking ticket. The second night we asked the park ranger where we could park. Even though there were empty spots, and three huge empty parking lots, he made us park about 2 miles away on a city street. We left a day early. There is also no dump station nor will they tell you where you can find one. I think that because of the great location they can provide horrible customer service and get away with it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$17
This is a fabulous location, no doubt. And, for those who are set up for it, and truly like to "dry camp," this is the place. I recommend the front and middle rows. The sand along the back row is used as a dog run. Yuck. The down side is that the sites are so close that we could barely breathe due to generator exhaust, we heard more traffic noise than ocean at night, dogs are not allowed on the beach, and the showers are not convenient. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$30
The only thing good (which is really good) about this "campground" is its location. It is right next to the sand and the ocean is about 30 yards from the camp area. Otherwise, it wouldn't be good at all. No hookups, very restrictive generator time, narrow spots that are right next to each other, you are locked in between 8PM and 8AM. We will go there again only because of the location. We have a toy hauler and we get a beach site spot and put the ramp down. We get a great view of the ocean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$30
The drive alone is worth it - The drive over the San Diego Coronado Bay Bridge is priceless (and toll free!): The 2.12-mile (11,179-foot) long bridge has a vertical clearance of approximately 200 feet. So, hold your breath. The Campground is easy to find, just follow the signs. If you tow and you come from the north, the first turn off the 75 into the access road might be a bit tight. The campground is basically a big parking lot at the beach. Your spot has the size of 40 x 15 feet. Some spots in the north (inland) corner are uneven with a slope. Trailers must be backed in while motor homes can park 'nose first'. Since no hookups are provided the use of generators is very common. So you may consider this when you park. If you have huge slide-outs and tow, you should start a good friendship with your camp neighbors. Most weekends are sold out although they say they have one or two spots for 'overnight' travelers. Location is THE attraction since you camp only a hundred yards from the waterline. The campground is on a small stretch between Pacific and San Diego Bay. Mostly westerly winds will blow constantly (breezy at times) and fill your lot (and rig) with sand. After a day or two you will have a fine layer of ocean dew on your rig (and whatever you leave outside) WiFi is only accessible around the ranger station, so don't put your hopes into it. So, if you know what you will be into it, this is a beautiful and very relaxing spot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2006
$30
For what you get (no water or power), it was a wonderful stay. Park hours somewhat restrictive: 8 am to 7 pm in November, but as long as you were aware no problem, You are right on the beach, and it was fabulous We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$25
This is a great place to camp for a short time as there are no hook-ups. You are very close to the beach no matter where you are parked. The fee is $25.00 a night for inland and $30.00 a night for beach front. This goes down $5.00 during the off season. I would give the park a 10, but the spaces are very narrow and everything must fit within the designated space, including pull vehicles. However, you just can't beat the beach access, even inland you are at most 100 feet from the beach. I preferred to stay here during the week as the weekends are very crowded, but overall great experience if you love the ocean. Reservations are now required at this spot. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2006
$30
Oh my. This was a very bad experience for us. And don't let this oceanview fool you. This is a parking lot and they pack so many people in there that we could only pull out 1 side of our slideouts. They were way dog unfriendly. You couldn't walk them anywhere but on one little piece of dirt and we were really sad because our dog is part of our family. Ranger Bob, that is not really his name, but he was like on the watchout for us. He yelled at us because we took our dog outside this zone and then again because I, a adult didn't have a helmet on with my scooter that went 10 miles an hour, I never even went that fast. The kids can ride skateboards and bikes 20 mph though with no helmets. A trailer that parked next to us pulled his slideout and you could barely slide a piece of paper between his side and ours. It was scary, although they were nice. Also you can't fit you're car on your site obviously and the closest place to park is about 3 miles down the road. Yes that is my review and never will we go back here. Zero stars. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2006
$35
Great view being on the beach, but very tight. Feels like staying at Walmart with a view. Didn't like being locked in at night with no way out or in. Great if you want the beach, but not a place I would keep going back to. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$13
This is a state park "enroute" camp. That means no resevations -first come, first served - limited to 30 nights per year. In summer this is usually filled. In winter often space is available. This can be an economical place to stay when visiting San Diego. You can call campground host at 619 435 5184. Camping spots are just lines painted on a parking lot and thus very close together. Some campers bring washing machine tubs (must be at least 6" above pavement) to have "campfires" at sites. Showers are outdoor cold water to wash off the sand. Park has 2 mi oceanfront 1/2 mi bayfront. A several mi. bike trail goes by the park. It can be foggy especially in the spring. Gave it a seven because I like it's scenic beauty. Stayed there in Oct. '03. Ocean was smelly at that time. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com