206485 User submitted reviews online!!
American Sunset RV & Tent Resort was rated 9 out of 10 based on 31 user reviews. Phone: (360) 268-0207
CGID3194

American Sunset RV & Tent Resort

Camp Information
Sites
120
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   8   10   10   9   7   8   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$36
120 sites, big rig friendly, level, full service, cable TV, secure WiFi, good location, close to downtown but quiet. Friendly, helpful staff. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$33
A little bit older park, but lots of greenery and wide open grassy areas across the street where the deer come to graze. The sites are fairly wide but it may just seem that way because the park was pretty empty at this time of year. The bathrooms were clean. No security code. We were told to lock our bins and our RV when away because of teenaged vandals searching for booze. Go to the marina nearby, it is fascinating. The way they engineered the breakwater is so interesting. You can walk up to a fishing boat and buy slabs fresh off the fish. Gray's Harbor Light is nearby, but it was closed due to lack of volunteers. The Destruction Island Light Fresnel lens is on display at the maritime museum and it is a must. Really a wonderful place to stay and visit. We loved it and would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$38
Very lovely setting. Bathrooms very clean. Good hot water once I switched shower stalls. No hand held shower head and not enough shelves for all my shampoos and soaps, but o.k. I did report it to management. Very nice folks. We came in on an uncrowded Sunday night and was able to pick our spot. We picked the one closest to bathrooms and laundry. It had a nice slab patio and flowers and grass. The only site that did. Has an air hose which is unusual for parks. Didn't try the heated pool, but would have liked to. Weather kinda crummy and we don't fish, so we moved on. Laundry clean. Two dollars to wash. I picked a crowded time to do laundry on Sunday afternoon so had to wait a couple of hours. No biggie. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$36
We enjoyed the heated pool and the hot showers that didn't need coins. Very attractive place with flowers and trees, even though it rained, we had comfort. The washers and dryers were great. Nice owners. I would return. So much for our money. And we walked to the restaurant across the road, which was excellent. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$31
Our first time here and what a wonderful experience. This is one of the nicest campgrounds we have ever stayed in. The staff and everyone else we met while we were there were all wonderful. Beautiful playground and pool area. Very pet friendly. We camped here with our yellow lab and we have never been to a more pet friendly camping area. We arrived home today and are planning our next trip to stay there again. I would highly recommend this campground to anyone with pets or who are taking children along. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
Great park - great staff, very friendly. Some of the sites were a little tight for bigger rigs. Park is in a good location for exploring the area between Grays Harbor and Willipa Harbor, and at the right time of the year Salmon fishing is great, as well. We will use this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$36
Nice neat quiet park located just out of the original port of Westport. Community generally reflects the downturn in the economy with closed businesses. Park sites are easily accessed and flat with good hookups. WiFi is marginal and impossible to use during peak hours. TV stations are limited, but there is cable. Probably the best place to book in Westport. There are other RV parks, but they are marginal. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$31
We stayed here for two nights. We got the Good Sam rate. Staff is friendly. RV spots are fairly spacious. Showers and restrooms are clean. It took a long time to get hot water, but we were probably the first to use them. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
We stayed here four days. The facilities were great including a fish cleaning area, pool, and propane refilling station. The sites were mostly grass and a little uneven but they were fairly wide and had plenty of room to accommodate our RV and truck. Bring mosquito repellent because the mosquitos were pretty bad especially in the area set aside for tents. All of the staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$33
This was a great park to stay at. We saw many other parks in the area but this one was the nicest by far. The staff were great and the facilities were very clean. The laundry was $2 a wash and $1 dry. There were many large green areas that were for tenters and a park but there weren't campers in there yet so this was great for our puppies to run around in. Would definitely stay here again if back in the area. Bought some seafood at a local place called Brady's Oysters. All the food was a good price and very fresh. We also did some razor clam digging on the weekend. Lots of fun and lots of luck, yum! The Chevron station down the road sold a 3 day license. It worked out great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$35
We have been here several times and have enjoyed each time. The workampers here are all nice and like to help you. We will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$33
The park is lovely and has one of the most beautiful tent areas I have ever seen. It is so close to the ocean you can hear the foghorn at night which is quite lovely. The laundry was clean and cheap and the staff was friendly and helpful. The Wi-Fi on the other hand was impossible. They were "working" on it which meant we were off, then on, then needed passwords that were "already in use" etc. This alone was enough to knock their rating down. If they ever get the Wi-Fi upgraded we would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$34
Nicest park in town. Not too crowded and nice clubhouse. Nice staff and quiet atmosphere. Easy access in and out of park. We really enjoyed the town of Westport while we were there. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$33
This is a nice park with super helpful and cheerful staff. We were here with a camping club, and their clubhouse is huge compared to most. 60+ fit with ease with room to spare. Sites are basically level, have enough room for multiple slideouts and electric was steady and strong. RV sites are wide but you do have folks on each side and behind you, but not close enough to feel tight. Small laundry room but showers and bathroom were clean and well kept. Will be staying here again for sure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$36
Good paved interior roadways. Sites themselves are grass with some gravel for the pad. I needed to put three inches of blocks under my left side to level the trailer. There was plenty of room between the rigs on either side of us. Staff at this park is outstanding. This started with the phone call that I made to reserve the site, to the greeting that we received when we arrived. Just plain nice people. While I rated this a 7, I really like this park, and will return again, probably within the month. The physical plant here just does not measure up to the 9's and 10's I've given in the past. Still, it's nice place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$30
This fairly large park is located within several miles of the docks at the entrance to Grays Harbor. In addition to the RV sites, there is an extensive tenting area adjacent. The staff members were friendly, helpful adults, who seemed enthusiastic about their jobs and anxious to be helpful to campers. The small laundry (3 washers, 3 dryers) was clean, airy and inexpensive. It might be difficult to find a free machine during the summer season. A nice park, with reasonable prices, I’ll stop here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$30
This is one of those parks that you hope to find at each destination; well run, well designed, and reasonable in price. It's located close to the marina (not quite close enough to walk), the sites are back-in,s but if not crowded, pulling through from the site in back is allowed. Sites are level gravel, adequately sized, with a table and fire ring. Free limited (22-channel) cable TV is provided. The park was quiet and dark at night, and road noise is minimal. Verizon cell and Aircard were marginal but worked, and the free park Wi-Fi was not working except for one day of our 9-day stay. Lots of workcampers keep things running smoothly, and the owner is friendly and helpful. A great place to stay in an interesting small coastal town. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$28
The rate above is actually $27.90 after our Good Sam discount. This park delivers on all its advertised amenities and the staff is very friendly. The restroom/showers and laundry were very clean. They have a rather large activity building which is available for rallies. The only thing they could do to improve is to have paved interior drives and pads. It's well organized and has the tent sites totally separate from the RV sites. We've seen deer each evening in a meadow across from our site. There are trees scattered throughout the park but the RV pads are not heavily shaded. The tent sites are in a heavily wooded area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$33
This is probably the best RV park in Westport. As we were driving around, we looked at several others, and American Sunset stood out as being the best. Paved roads, although the spots are grassy. Plenty of room to maneuver. The spots are advertised as "pull through", which is correct if there is no one in the spot behind you. Otherwise, you have to back in, which is no real problem - again, lots of room. The laundry looked fine (we didn't use it); the pool was heated to 85 degrees (again, didn't use it); and the office has a nice store that was surprisingly well stocked. They sell propane on site, too, making it real convenient to "top off" when leaving the park. The park is well kept with a staff of several full timers working part time. Fire "pits" are provided and they sell firewood. Each site has a picnic table too, and there are quite a few "shade" trees - I say "shade" because they are mature pines, which provide some shade, but not a lot. However, it doesn't get hot out on the Washington coast anyway. An easy drive to town, and to the ocean too. We definitely would stay here again, hopefully, soon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$31
Long level sites, grass or dirt depending on what site you get. No rain when we were there, or it would have been muddy. Hook ups are at the very end of the sites, so was a bit of a stretch to hook up our sewer connection. Wi-Fi worked great and 23 Cable TV channels. Swimming pool was 85 degrees. Restrooms and showers were clean. Friendly staff. Playground for the kids. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$30
This is a great family oriented park. The hosts were very friendly and accommodating. Everything was neat and clean. They delivered firewood right to my site. The store had all necessary food and beverages and the prices were very competitive. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$23
This park is a great place to bring kids and dogs. When we stayed at this park, an army of kids spent the day riding bicycles at full speed around the park shouting to each other all day long, every day. They were loud enough that you could hardly hear all the dogs barking. The sites are fairly close together (my slide was about a foot from my neighbor's awning and I couldn't put my own awning out because of a tree on the other side). The sites are back-to-back so there will be someone close behind you. The WiFi is very good and most sites have good satellite reception. The park roads are wide and paved so getting into your site is relatively easy. If you are looking for peace and quiet, this park might not be for you. Otherwise, the park is very convenient to the Westport marina and the local beaches. The fishing appeared to be excellent out of the marina. We saw many large bags of fish coming off the boats. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$34
Clean well maintained RV park. Friendly and helpful staff. Spacious sites large enough for long trailers and motorhomes. Wi-fi was dependable and easy to access. Great small fishing town atmosphere. Had a great car show while we were there at the end of July. This was our second trip to American Sunset and will be going back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$28
Very quite place to stay. Park can get crowded and it feels crowded as the sites do not have a lot of separation. Staff very good to work with. Place is very clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$28
The campground is divided into hookup site area and tent site area. The tent sites are spacious and shaded. The RV sites are wide, grassy and level. There is a laundry with 3 washers and 3 dryers, and the pool is heated to 85 degrees. We would stay here again. Managers are pleasant and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$27
Very well run and maintained park with great staff. The olny noise is the seals barking and the rollers on the ocean with your windows open. Town is a mile away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$28
This is a great park. Staff was more than helpful. Sites were close but yet wide enough to put out awning without crowding neighbor. Every site has fire-pit. Tables were freshly painted (for the season) and clean instead of weathered and covered with bird droppings like is often the norm. I would stay there again as well as recommend for others. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$28
Our family has camped at this park now about 4-5 times. We love it here! The pool is a favorite with our kids. We feel very safe in the park...you always see the staff doing rounds. The park has a good-sized playground for the kids with tetherball, horseshoes, swings and room for throwing a football. Watch out for all the bikes and skateboards because you will see a lot of that! There is no shortage of dogs being walked by the owners too. Sites are far enough apart that you have some privacy. Most sites have a tree to separate units. The park has a fairly large tent camping area as well. I highly recommend this park. Our family plans to go back again this summer! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$27
Peacefull and pleasent. Staff very helpful. Close to town. Sites a little old, but all the services are there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2005
$25
Very nice people and park. Westport is a great little fishing village We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$23
Close to town, not a fishing camp, has a rec hall, nice heated pool, play ground and tent area. Big sites with fire pits. Campground store owner operated. Paved access roads. Very relaxing and the staff is the greatest. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com