218707 User submitted reviews online!!
Sherling Lake Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 60 user reviews. Phone: (334) 382-3638
CGID32

Sherling Lake Park

Camp Information
Sites
41
Date of Stay
January 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   10   6   9   10   8   8   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$25
Wonderful quiet campground with spacious sites and concrete pads. Nice little walking trail by a lake. City campground. Don't accept credit cards - must pay with cash or check. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$25
Cash or check only. Nice city park and well maintained. No cable but can get about 7 local channels. Great for a night or two. Went on a nice walk around the lake. This was our first time in Alabama. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$25
We have stayed here many times overnight while traveling and we have spent a week here three different times. Never have we had a bad experience. The park is one of the best kept places we have been to. The staff are some of the nicest people you would ever want to deal with. The park is a city park owner by Grenville AL. It is well taken care of and maintained. All the utilities work fine and cell phone service is excellent. They don’t have cable TV but you can pick up 8 - 10 stations on an antenna. I will defiantly stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$25
This a secluded, wooded park. Quiet and clean. The sites are gravel with grass between each. The staff was very friendly and escorted me to my site. I would have rated the park higher however, like so many they claim they offer Wi-Fi. You have Wi-Fi if you are within 30 feet of the office. I would return knowing that this is just a place to park for a day or two. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
Secluded campground in a beautifully wooded setting. Paved road & our site was a paved pull-thru parallel to the road. It was very easy in & out. Wi-Fi signal was a little weak, but worked fine. Staff was very friendly & helpful. We only stayed one night & did not get to check out the lakes & walking trails mentioned by earlier reviewers. We will definitely return & stay longer on our next trip. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$25
In our travels we use RV Reviews to determine the best available campground when it's time to stop for the night. After a long day of driving in the rain, we saw a break in the clouds and decided to stop early for the night. Check in was great and the staff showed us to our long, wide spot. Shortly after setting up, the storm caught up with us and the power suddenly went out. The manager was kind enough to come to each RV and personally assure us that power should be restored soon. It took a little over an hour, but the power came back on and the rain stopped. Drainage was awesome and in no time the puddles were gone. We highly recommend this park and give it two thumbs up. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
Beautiful woodland sites. Very helpful staff. Wi-Fi signal strength a bit weak. Lovely lakes and golf course close-by. Private and secluded. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$25
We stopped here overnight (during a rainy trip from Nashville to south Alabama), so we didn't 'check' out the park. Easy to get to from Interstate, and our spot was easy to park and level up. Pull through so didn't have to unhook tow car. We plan on stopping again on our way north this spring. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$25
This was a stopover on Interstate 65. 45 miles south of Montgomery. About 2 miles from the Interstate. We had a 45 foot RV with a 20 foot trailer and they had a spot that worked perfectly. Owner stayed late to make sure we got to our spot and led us by golf cart. A large number of permanent residents but a very nice park overall. Beautiful lake - natural and the spaces are well separated. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$25
Very nice park for an overnight stay just 3 miles from the I-65. Several level pull through sites with most sites full hook up. Attendant will take you to your site in his golf cart. Cash only, no credit cards taken.Good Sam park. Nice walking trail around the small lake. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$25
A pretty city park located off the beaten track in a quiet area: quiet, green, and well-kept. Very convenient to the interstate, yet far enough away to miss the noise. Friendly manager. We stayed here in a large rig for several nights: totally enjoyed our visit and will return again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
December 2011
$30
The park itself was 2/3 empty. We asked for a back in site, and he said "none available". Our "pull through" amounted to a "pull over along the side of the camp road". We had no fire ring, no table, and no room to sit next to our motorhome. Management was no help, and just said, this is all we have. The park itself was clean, and probably a good place to spend a night, but I wouldn't want to spend more than that there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2011
$25
This was our second and third visits. We now list this as one of our favorite parks. The only reason I don't give it a 10 is the playground is a pretty long hike from the campground (of course it did do me some good as I need the exercise). The over night pull-through sites are long and fairly level and the hook-ups are conveniently located. In addition to the playground there is a nice lake and walking trails. We will be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2011
$25
This is a public campground operated by the city of Greenville. The actual name of the campground is Sherling Lake Park. The campground is an excellent overnight stop with wide paved access roads and paved sites. We had some issues here with the electrical utility box at the site. Our surge protector kept tripping, Site 39, and likely due to power fluctuations. Perhaps it was just restricted to our site and it stopped a couple hours after we arrived. The restrooms are aged wooden structures and there was mold or rotting wood around the base of each shower. There is a combination of pull throughs and back-ins. Some are spacious and some are not so spacious. Some have full hook-ups and some have just water and electric. The Wi-Fi worked well and fast. There are to many street lights here. We would likely stay here again in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$25
This is truly a hidden gem. For RV travelers who are in search of a 1 night stay not far from the interstate, with no traffic noise and with all the extras, this is the place for you. The check-in staff was exceptional and friendly. We got an escort to our pull-through site. I had inquired about the possibility of fires and before you knew it free fire wood was delivered to our site. Our site was level, pull through and spacious. We were able to receive roof mounted satellite from our site. Our Verizon service was OK. Wish we could stay here longer than just an overnight stay, but we have obligations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
This is a lovely tree-filled RV park in a quiet country setting about 4-5 miles from the freeway, but the roads are good, and there are no gotchas. The park has two small lakes you can easily walk to, and it's a perfect setting to walk your dog. I was surprised that Sherling Lake was able to handle big rigs and that the turns were comfortable. We drive a 45' Quad-Slide coach and tow. This was a one-night stopover, and we asked for a pull-through. They have a few pull-through sites that are very nice and roomy. We stayed in site 39. We loved the spot, but the trade-off was that our satellite was blocked by the trees. Some sites had no such problem. We regretted not being able to stay more nights. it's so peaceful, and the staff is gracious and helpful. Highly recommended in a region where there are not many really good options for RV travelers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
We stayed here for 1 night. Our site was level and was across from the rest/shower rooms. We arrived late and did not meet the campground host until the following morning. Did not have a problem with the site. There is exposed wiring outside the rest/shower rooms. Needs to be addressed. Otherwise, I would have given this campground a 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
We stayed here for one night. The owner was a wonderful communicator as we were a late arrival. He called to give us directions to our site as well as everything we needed to know about hooking up for the night. It is a beautiful campground that we would love to stay for a longer period. The golf courses surrounding the area were beautiful as well. Thank you for making our stay so comfortable. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$25
Very pretty state park atmosphere. Lots of trees. Stayed here only one night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2011
$25
For the price this CG is a good stop over in the winter. Summertime it is a local favorite. The facilities are in good state of repair. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2011
$25
Another overnight visit to a great campground. Long pull through sites available. A walk around the lake is a nice break from long day of driving. We were escorted and spotted to our site. Wi-Fi was good. Cash or check only. Very nice county park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$25
This is a great campground in a nice area. We were arriving a bit late on a Sunday evening and the host called to check on us and let us know how to enter/ where to find him. He led us to our site told us to pay in the morning and left us alone. The site was very level and plenty long to leave the car hooked up. There is no playground at the campground but more than likely there is one somewhere in the park. They do not take credit cards, so be sure to have check or cash. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
Outstanding place to stay: clean, great trails to walk, and the management is great. Very safe and secure. Next to Trent Jones golf course. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
This park is a find. It was in a very clean park setting, no highway noise, and beautiful. The grounds were very clean and manicured. The staff was friendly and helpful. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
This one is a jewel. A little ways out side of town and just gorgeous. Paved and level sites and lots of pull throughs. This city park could set the standard for others!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
Very clean park in a pretty park setting. Nice that it was far enough from the interstate that you didn't hear the road noise. The facilities were spotless. The staff were very friendly and escorted us to our site. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$20
Friendliest staff, quiet campground. Fast Wi-Fi connection. We really liked the location. Convenient to I-65 and shopping but far enough away from town to be quiet. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
Very nice. Located in trees and has a lake. Very quiet and serene. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
Beautiful campground with excellent sites and facilities. Only problem was there's no TV reception. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
Excellent county park. Paved roads and cement pull through pads or back-in sites to park on. Lots of trees and grass, very open. Our Sprint cell phones worked as did the Sprint air card but it was slow. Roof top dish worked between trees. We over nighted so didn't get to see the rest of the park, we'll be back when in the area for a longer stay here. Good turkey dinner at Bates House of Turkey 3 miles away along with diesel and all the fast food places. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
The staff are friendly and the spaces are 50 feet or more apart. The interior roads and sites are paved. WiFi is weak unless you are close to the office. The park lake and nearby golf are great. No license is needed to fish. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$24
Well maintained CG. Pleasant atmosphere with easy access hiking trails. Lake is attractive with moss hanging from the trees which enhances the overall look of the park. Escorted to our site and has garbage pickup every day if placed by the road. Friendly and helpful staff. Great weekend get away for R & R. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2010
$25
An excellent campground for the price. Many summertime faculties for young people. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2009
$28
This park is operated by the City of Greenville and they do a wonderful job. It is located about 3 miles off I-65. Set your odometer when you see the sign, miss the left turn into the park and you will drive 15 more miles to find a turn around. There is 50 amp service with sewer, water and wi-fi that actually works without passwords! Very quiet at night and close to wally world and Bates House of Turkey for lunch or early dinner. Cash or check, no plastic taken. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$25
This is an excellent campground. Clean, quiet, and right around the corner from the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail Cambrian Ridge Course. Free Wi-fi. No problem with satellite TV. Very nice staff. Pull throughs for big rigs. We've stayed here two other times and it's been great every time. We like overlooking the woods while enjoying the fire and cooking on the grill. Free firewood. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
What an absolute delight. Escorted to the site, which was very, very level. CG was wonderfully quiet. One of the best we have encountered at a completely acceptable, actually very good price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$23
This is a very nice, clean park with very friendly, accommodating park attendants. The roads are well maintained. We were not able to get antenna or satellite TV, and this is probably because of the trees. Other than not being able to get many channels (to watch football) we will definitely stay at Sherling again. You just won't find nicer park staff anywhere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$22
Very nice campground with pull-through sites that help for short stays. We stayed here two nights on the way to the beach. W-Fi is available but you need to be close to office. Restrooms need to updated but a one-holer is OK. Will stay here again next time through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
We stayed at this park four nights. It is very nicely kept and run, and very quiet and peaceful. The WiFi Internet access was good at site 18. We were able to get several TV channels with our digital converter box and regular antenna on top. The only problem was that our cell phones did not work, sometimes we had one or two bars, and then a few minutes later, no bars. We will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$22
Excellent stop over park on the way to the coast. We stayed 1 night here. Price is good for Full hook-up park. Nice level sites. We will stay here again next time in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$22
Impeccably maintained park. Helpful staff. Wi-Fi available at sites near office. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$21
I was on site 34, a pull through facing south with no shade or patio area, just sloping grass. The park is very clean and well kept and is run by the city of Greenville. The utilities were very good and WiFi was strong on this site. Other sites are more shaded but some of them don't have sewer. There are several small lakes/ponds on the property and a walking trail to explore. Overall a very nice quiet, clean park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$22
We enjoyed our 3 day stay here and plan to return. The WiFi connection was very good and we were able to pick up all the major TV broadcast stations out of Montgomery. The park has a nice hiking trail. The bass fishing is good and there is a golf course next door that is open to the public. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$24
Sherling Lake is a beautiful park. Two small lakes provide enough fish for dinner. Staff is very nice and friendly. Campground is clean and neat and trash is picked up daily at your site. Sites are quite close together, but we were surrounded by three huge fifth wheels pulled by semi trucks, so maybe the sites weren't as close as it seemed. There are covered picnic tables, and a nice walking path through a wooded area. Sites have some trees - enough for a little shade. Close to town and Walmart; the campground has a bit of highway noise, but it dies down at night. Restroom/shower facilities are clean but small for the size of the campground with two toilet stalls and one shower stall in each (men's and women's). We will come here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$22
We only stayed here for 1 night and I didn't get any wifi signal, nor was there any cable, but after saying that, I must tell you this was one of the nicest RV Parks we have stayed in. Clean, neat, and staff very friendly. It alsmost has a National Park feel to it. We certainly would camp here again. We camp in a fifth wheel. Also is a good Sam camp. I would give it a much higher rank if they had all amenities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2008
$22
We have been camping for more than 10 years. This is the first time we were bombarded with ants. Management should work on the ant problem. We will not ever return here. They should refund camping fees, due to such a mess . We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$22
This campground is excellent--paved roads, concrete pads, lots of space between sites, covered picnic tables. Our site even had a swing. We were there overnight, so we didn't have time to check out the fishing in the lake. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2008
$28
Very nice campground, staff very friendly. Had to leave quickly due to bad weather moving into the area. Will return to this campground in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2007
$25
We did an overnighter in this park. The space we had was level. The overall appearance of this place showed pride of ownership. The bath house I used was clean. However, it was just a little out of date. The check in was easy and the roads were wide enough for any big rig out there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$20
This campground remains consistently good from year to year and is a great place for anything from a quick overnighter on the way to your destination or several nights while in the area. We stay here at least a couple of times each year while visiting family, and we always know that the place will be well-kept and pleasant. This is the first year that I have noticed the free Wi-Fi access, and it's great; we are in a site about 100 yards from the office, and I have a strong and very fast connection. The sites are of ample size, and some of them are downright roomy and scenic. The utilities work and are well cared for. The office staff is friendly and escorts you to your site, making sure that you are satisfied and settled before they leave you. This is a great place, and a solid "8" - highly recommended! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$20
Clean, and well maintained park with very friendly staff. The lake was great, where we fished there with our grandkids. There were 5 RV's and 2 tenters with us and we all had a great time and everyone loved the park. I would have given them a 10 but the sites on the outside of the loop had awnings which hung over the road. It wasn't an issue for us as the grassy area behind the sites was huge and well maintained. That's where we spent all our time anyway. The park was patrolled by the local police several times a day and they even stopped to chat a couple of times. A very safe, well run park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$19
A great overnight or weekend stop for lake fishing. Clean, safe, and well maintained park with exceptional friendly staff. The lake is spectacular. All ran by the local county that demostrates it's attention to RVing through its' upkeep of the park. This was our third "passing through" overnight stay between Birmingham and FL. Easy to reach from I-65 with quick pull-through drives in the circle drives. Highly recommended! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$20
An excellent example of a county run park. Nice, big spaces. Fishing and hiking and trails. A little bit off the highway, but highly recommend. We use it as a stop between Atlanta and the Florida panhandle. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$24
Nice campground. Staff was very friendly and helpful in showing us our site. Almost all of the sites were pull-through and paved. For a municipal campground this was a nice surprise. It was quiet, clean and very peaceful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$19
Staff is very friendly. Campsites are easy to pull in and not on top of each other. Adjacent to a small lake and a Robert Trent Jones Golf Course. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$20
We have stayed here 3 times on our way from Chattanooga TN to Santa Rosa Beach Florida. This is a wonderful city park, better maintained than most private campgrounds and state parks. Sites and whole campground well groomed and the staff are the most helpful of any campground we have ever stayed at. If we lived closer, we would make this a regular destination for a weekend trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2006
$20
I don't usually give out 10 rankings, but this place deserves it. Wonderful state park with large paved sites that is totally big rig friendly and most reasonably priced. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2005
$25
The park managers are a delight and very friendly. Although I was assigned a particular site when I made my reservation, when I asked if I could look around and choose my own, they were very happy to ride me around in the golf cart showing me the campground. Some of the sites are a little close together, but that turned out to be very desireable for the groups of families that were camping together when we were there. All of the sites have power and water, and about half of them had sewer as well. Sites had concrete pads and were very level. Many were landscaped and the park had a great mix of natural and manicured attributes. Only a few sites had fire rings or grills; many did not have picnic tables. Since we were there to visit family in Greenville, we didn't miss those. My site recommendations are #12, 13, 4 & 5 if you do not need sewer, and #21 & 38 if you do need sewer. The campground is convenient to I-65 and Greenville restaurants and shopping. We stayed here during Thanksgiving and it's a fantastic alternative to a motel. Highly recommended. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2004
$20
This is a city park just off I-65. Great overnight stop from the Gulf Beach area. Shopping and restaurants are just about 3 miles from park. The sites are large and scattered randomly to satisfy anyone's liking or needs. All roads are paved and sites are concrete. There are wooden swings at many of the sites. Would rate it a 10 but not sure about the facilities available in the park. We will return to spend a longer time here in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$20
Great golf course, big playground for the kids, a little way off of I-65 however. We have stayed there many times, most times headed North from Mobile. Most of the time there are sites available for the taking, just pull in off the highway, pick your own spot, and pay in the morning. During a previous visit, I was greeted by several deer 20 feet from the trailer when I went outside to drink coffee early in the morning. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com