214403 User submitted reviews online!!
Crescent City / Redwoods KOA was rated 8 out of 10 based on 47 user reviews. Phone: (707) 464-5744
CGID320

Crescent City / Redwoods KOA

Camp Information
Sites
90
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   10   8   7   9   8   8   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$40
We generally don't stay at a KOA, but must say, this is a fantastic campground. The staff is friendly and helpful. The back portion of the park is covered with Redwood trees and when you are back there it gives the feel of being in a rain forest. It is awesome. The front part where we stayed is very well maintained. I would definitely recommend staying here. Our RV is 39' long. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$38
Restrooms and showers were excellent. Nice restful park. Friendly and helpful staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$50
KOA Redwood RV Park in Crescent City, we have stayed here in October and will return. Check in is easy the staff is friendly and helpful. The sites are clean and level all good size, all pull throughs, big rig friendly. Good dog yard. Walk to dog friendly trails of redwood trees right out the campground and short drive to harbors or to many dog friendly beaches. The redwoods and coast line is incredible, 30 minutes to Oregon coast again many dog friendly beaches. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$41
Nice park in a great location with easy access off Hwy 101. Friendly staff offered suggestions for things to do in the area. We had a pull-through site which was mostly level with ease of access in and out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$39
This was our first stay at a KOA campground, so we did not know what to expect. The sites are very narrow and cramped. There were many screaming children (we were not far from the play area) and rude adults with children in tow wanting to cut through our campsite to get to the play area. Things did quiet down after 10 pm and road noise from Hwy 101 was not audible. Water, electric and sewer hookups were in working order. We did use the laundry which was neat and clean with big commercial dryers; not the little stacked type. Staff was friendly. All in all, it was not a bad stay as we were away from our campsite during the day. Place is quite worn, but it is clean. Don't really want to stay here again as we are not into "family" camping. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$39
Our RV site was level, gravel/dirt, with fire pit and picnic table. Wi-Fi and 50+ cable TV worked great. Quiet at night. We walked the campground and the back "tent & cabin" area is dense forest, one of the best tent areas we have ever seen, if you really want the pure camping experience. Showers and restrooms were clean. Family campground, bike rental, playground, game room, and pancake breakfast (seasonal). Quiet time (10pm) enforced. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$41
Although there is nothing fancy in this park, everything here is done right and done well. The location is convenient both for attractions like the redwoods and for the conveniences of town. Our pull-through site was level, and all hookups were well designed. Showers and toilet facilities were clean and spacious. The laundry and rec room are open 24x7. The only thing that keeps this from a higher rating are lack of some "high-end" features like paved roads and community activities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$42
Typical KOA friendliness and routine here. Nice camp. Level, dirt / grass spaces. Kids like the rental Three Wheeled Cruisers to play with. Pancake breakfast made us feel like family. One of our camps we also stayed in summer 02 as well. We may even return on another visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$32
The owner was very helpful. He gave us lots of info on things to do in the area. We had a nice level, grassy site in the redwoods. The showers/restrooms were spotless. This is a hidden gem in the redwoods area. We really enjoyed our time at this campground and in Crescent City. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
This park is right in the Redwoods so we could walk around enjoying the trees. Has a nice dog area and playground. The sites are average size and not real grassy but adequate. Not especially level but again, adequate. Wi fi worked fine. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Quite close to Redwood State Parks, lots to do around here. Quiet and handy to get in and out of. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$38
This park had wonderful hosts and personnel; was clean; close to multiple activities; and had redwood trees right by our door. The unpaved roads create much dust. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$45
Nice campground. Friendly well-run management. We stayed in 106 which was right next to the redwoods and private setting. Wi-Fi worked fine. They had suggestions for hikes in the area. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$34
Park was in a very good location to visit the Redwoods or drive north along to Oregon coast. Our site was water & electric only so I would say it was a little pricey (typical with KOA's, IMHO). Convenient to town and shopping. The wi-fi and cable worked well as did the Verizon phone. The park is well maintained, and the staff were friendly and helpful. We had a spacious site at the corner of 2 roads; the ones that were lined up next to each other looked cramped. Many parks along CA 101 in this area to choose from, so I probably could have some better. If you visit the Redwoods, take the Cal-Barrel drive (3 miles) to get up close to the Redwoods. We probably would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$40
This campground is amazing. The best campground in town. All the other campgrounds are parking lots and run down. Beautifully wooded with redwoods, grassy and fairly level sights. We stayed here 25 years ago at this same park. Kid and dog friendly. They have a fenced in "off leash" dog area. Perfect location in the redwoods and only a short 10 min drive to the shore. Restrooms typical KOA clean and efficient. Campground workers extremely friendly. Fire pits and wild elk sightings with huge velvet racks. A Ten+ park for sure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$37
Beautiful Park, great scenery and amazing redwoods in the tent area. Very pet friendly with fenced in "off leash" park. Huge heard of elk in the pasture in the morning. The campground has two goats, chickens and a peacock (fenced in) that kept our hound dog entertained throughout our stay. Grassy, semi-level sights that are spacious. Typical KOA restrooms, efficient and clean. This campground we feel is the cleanest and best in town!! We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$40
Campground was in good condition for rainy season. Went as a large party and rented out 6 sites. The hosts were very helpful and easy going. The kids playground and the dog park were in good order. I would stay here again. Get a site near the redwoods. Nice small KOA. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$34
Sites are relatively close but not obtrusive. Gravel access roads and pads with grass yard space. Trees all around. Friendly staff. WiFi good, cable very good. One of the cable ports we tried was very fuzzy but the other was fine. Neighbor's campfire rings are pretty close to the RV and might present a problem with smoke or winds, however this is pure speculation because non of our neighbors had a fire. North of Crescent City but allows easy access to the Redwoods and town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$38
We really liked this park; they have thought of EVERYTHING. There are full serviced RV sites, most are a little out in the open but very nice, and rustic tent sites back in a second growth redwood forest. RV sites are easy to get into. If you are traveling with teens, you can relax in your RV while they rough it in a tent in the woods. There is a store with basic things and a little game room, along with various ice cream socials, etc. There is a playground and a fenced pet area as well. We received excellent advice from the store to visit Jeremiah Smith State Park, and we didn't regret it. It's close to the campsite and it's simply amazing. Don't pull a trailer through there though, as it's very narrow. Overall, I would not stay anywhere else when visiting the redwoods. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$42
Entry roads potholed and dusty. Roads within park very dusty. Sites- grass/gravel combo, a little uneven, but sufficiently spacious. Utilities reliable except for Wi-Fi which was spotty at best. CG had neighboring redwood paths. Would definitely return here again because it is the best CG in the Crescent City area and close to numerous redwood forests. Overall, this CG could benefit from some renovations. Stayed here 3 nights. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$38
Very nice campground with beautiful trails in the redwoods. Upon checking in, we had difficulty getting our unit into the space. We asked staff for help and were promptly moved to a larger, pull through site. All staff that we encountered were extremely helpful and friendly. We even got great advice for some day trips. It was great to see the ice cream social and pancake breakfast still being offered. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$32
This was an unexpected stop on the road for us but we were so happy that we did!!! The tent sites were extremely private and all of the facilities were in excellent shape! I will definitely go back to this campground! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$39
While Crescent City was a very mediocre place, this campground was wonderful. Very nice staff. Good store. Had some goats and chickens that were fun to watch. Wooded sites. Wonderful forest trails to walk on. Good cable TV and WiFi. Just a great place. The views in the area are gorgeous and the redwoods are worth seeing. Would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$35
OMG: what a great experience. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE. Sites were big, restrooms were extremely clean, the staff was friendly, etc. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
We camped here for a family re-union. It would not have been our choice if we were organizing the re-union. Staff was not unfriendly or friendly! Sites were close together, which in our case was okay because our neighbors were family members. There was a large muddy area right where we stepped out of our rig. Guess I would say in our experience, this was a typical KOA. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
This is a very busy KOA. The sites are dirt/gravel. The interior sites under the Redwoods are amazing! This is a great gateway for touring the Redwoods. The staff were friendly. They are very busy and generally fill up from June to August so book early. We loved HWY 299 coming in and we took HWY 199 going out. Amazing scenery and great trip! We did enjoy the all you can eat pancakes for 3.00 per person. They offer ice cream for 1.00 a scoop. The campground was quite. We enjoyed a fire nightly and overall a great place. The campground is slightly outside of Crescent City, and you can hear some road noise. Be prepared the temp is way less there. The average temp is 54 summer and winter. You have to see it to believe it! We would absolutely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$34
This campground has spectacular landscapes nestled between giant redwoods. Spaces are fairly level and most have small trees and brush between them for better privacy. The sites have newer utilities including 50amp service and the grounds are constantly being groomed. The office is not very well stocked and severely lacks the basic necessities, which is the reason for not receiving a 10 in this reviewer eyes. Restrooms and showers are very well maintained; some of the best we’ve seen and the laundry is clean and well maintained although in busier times of the year the laundry room may be small. The quaint cabins are beautiful and add to the campground magnetism although they are basically a single room with no bathroom. Evening strolls were perfect even though the stormy weather didn’t play well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2009
$35
Let me begin with the part of this place that makes it spectacular and worth driving to just for this. It's not the RV sites with hook ups. They're just OK. Nothing to complain about, but not great either. It's the part of the park that is a grove of giant redwoods. That's the kamping and kabin part. It is the most wonderful place for taking a walk. Almost as wonderful as the nearby Howland Hill Rd (a 10 mile drive) which is an experience every nature lover should have. So, you won't complain much about the RV part of the park, but the rest: top notch! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$34
This campground is conveniently located right off Highway 101. It is easy to get into Crescent City from this KOA or go to points north on Highways 101 or 199. The office, restrooms, and showers have been decently maintained. The sites have newer utilities, but are poorly laid out and are very close together. The camper cabins and tent sites get the opposite treatment: they were beautifully located in the midst of a great grove of giant redwoods. There is a nice fenced-in pet area and a playground with equipment. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
It is a vVery nice and clean campground, great for kids. The Redwood forest surrounds this campgrounds so it is nice to go for walk around it. The kids had a blast on tricycles. The sites are gravel pretty close to each other. The staff pretty friendly and showers and restrooms were very clean!!! There is a great playground for kids! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
The staff was very nice and friendly. Gave us printed information with directions for things to see in the area. I thought that was very nice. The sites were kind of close but we did not have any problems. We stayed here for 5 days and in a 38' fifth wheel. They had live music, movie night and a pancake breakfast. We enjoyed staying here. The cabins are located in a beautiful, forested area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
Not a fancy park but certainly adequate. Wifi was good and satellite worked. Roads are gravel and slightly dusty. Will stay again if we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$35
Nice park, friendly. Beautiful sites for tent camping. R.V. sites narrow but long. Good access to park. Located 5 miles north on 101 from Crescent City. Plenty of activities to do within 25 mi. of park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$35
Very nice Park. We were up front in space A9 would have rather not have been on the corner. Very nice playground, just needs some seating. awesome dog park. had a wonderful time. Would have rated it a 10 but no hot tub. We even extended our stay a night because it was so beautiful there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$40
We had a site in the back of the park under the Redwood trees and it was just spectacular! We had the most enjoyable evenings cooking at camp, sitting near the bonfire and enjoying the forest setting. We traveled from NM to Oregon and back home, and of the many nights out and the many RV parks, this was my favorite of the whole trip. Beautiful and well kept. Helpful staff and I would recommend it to anyone and everyone who likes the peace and quiet of camping. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2008
$36
Small gravel/dirt park. Cater's to tents with nice sites tucked away under tall redwoods. RV sites are mostly out in the open, sat. reception was good. Free wifi was unusable, even after moving to a new site to get better signal. Had to go to rec room to get any work done. Park is very tight, sites are large enough but the drives getting in and out are tight and not clearly marked. Great location for exploring the northern redwoods, Cresent City has all services (small Walmart). Good food at the Chart Room on the south beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$40
This campground was a great place to stay. Even though we couldn't stay in one of the sites out back in the Redwoods, we really enjoyed our bike ride through them. What a great place to spend some time! The facilities were clean and well kept. The only reason we aren't rating this as a 10 is because it isn't the easiest to find. There aren't any signs around the area pointing you where to go. The GPS didn't list the campground either. We got lucky and found it almost by accident. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$32
Nice park - would be fun for a family with small children in the summer. Even in the drizzle, the walk through the redwoods was nice. 50 amps available. Roads were kind of tight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$34
An older campground with good basic services. Desireable campsites in the redwoods are for smaller RVs. We camped in a 40' motorhome out in the open area. The trees are stunning but it was much warmer and brighter out in the sun. We got a 30amp hook-up and didn't ask if they had 50amp. Average water pressure. Lots of channels on the cable. Excellent Wi-Fi that probably works better in the open than in the woods. Sites are a little close together but very level. Some tight turns getting into the site. Everything in good order. Quiet. Convenient to Redwood N.P. headquarters but a long way from the tallest groves. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$30
This park is beautiful - tucked in the redwoods with lots of blackberries. The loops the cabins and tent sites are on are nice places to walk, since they meander through the redwoods. Five miles to Crescent City and five mile to many different ocean beaches. The park was fairly quiet when we were there, since it was the beginning of the off season. Sites were gravel, fairly level (one leveling block) and most were fairly wide. Some have shade, some don't, so if you have a preference, make it known. Bathrooms were nice and clean, staff friendly. It's right on 101, but not too noisy. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$31
If you have a smaller rig - book a site in the trees! Even though they only had electrical/water hookups it was completely worth it for the location. We left a little early, and in hindsight we should have stayed. The staff was friendly, there were lots of kids, and there is lots to do. The bathrooms were recently remodeled and they're well-cleaned daily. WiFi worked great as long as you were in range of the antenna. Unfortunately it wasn't available in the trees, but it didn't matter. We'd absolutely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$28
Campground is not spectacular although the walk through the tent area is nice. Redwoods that form a tight canopy that blocks out the sky. Not a bad stopover although the RV sites could use a little better maintenance. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$35
This is a tough one to rate. If you have a smaller RV you can get some beautiful sites tucked right into the redwoods. The free wi-fi works, the staff is friendly, and everything else lines up just right. In that case you might rate this a 10. If you have a larger RV, like our 40' coach, there are sites in the grassy area in the middle. They're not bad sites but they don't have the appeal of the in-the-trees sites. In that case it's more like the typical KOA, and gets a rating of 7. The new owners are doing a lot to the place and it's really looking nice. It's the best I've found in the area and is a great location for touring the northern California redwoods. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2005
$22
This is the first year that this KOA is open all year. We were the only Class A in the place. There was one Class C and a couple of Fifth Wheels. It is a beautiful location. New owners are going to "reclaim" some of the sites in the Redwoods that have been overgrown by berry vines and weeds. I was told that all of the driveways and RV sites will be regraveled this winter. Fall and winter are a good time to visit. We were told it is usually full from July through September. It is a beautiful location and worth visiting. WiFi was free. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2005
$30
Being able to camp not only near the Redwoods National and State Parks, but to be surrounded by these trees at your home campsite is the best! The new owners are friendly and enthusiastic about the upgrades they have in the works and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2005
$34
This KOA is close to the redwood parks, but be sure you get a spot IN THE BACK in the woods. Other spots are out in the hot sun with no shade. Once you are back in the woods, there is good privacy and shade. Also, they have a "pet farm" up front with goats, roosters, etc. They SERIOUSLY need to make a meal out of that rooster. It crowed too lound, too long, too often and too much. It was horrible because it would crow ALL DAY. Their bath/showers were pretty clean and working. Hardly any hwy noise in back of camp. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$34
Nice campground with friendly staff; Sites are adequate and easy to get into thanks to personal service from staff helping you get in. Petting zoo was enjoyed by my grandson though the playground was weak. I would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$40
Very nice for tents and camping cabins (we stayed in a cabin), but average for RVs. The RV sites are pretty much without shade and the tent/cabin sites are RIGHT IN the redwoods. It is wonderful! There were big trees and ferns right outside our cabin window and door. The RV sites are only 20 yards from the trees. It is quiet and relaxing. There is no pool. The bathrooms were clean and the staff friendly. The playground was very mediocre, but my kids liked the sheep and goat (i.e. petting zoo without the petting) on the premises. We stayed here three days and loved it! We will stay here again. We camped here in a Campground Cabins.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com