218884 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Stephens Campground was rated 5 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (304) 934-5323
CGID3206

Lake Stephens Campground

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   9   4   2   5   4   7   4   8   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2014
$30
We used this campground for an overnight. This is the land of hills and twisting mountain roads, which we knew, but this wasn’t a good choice. First, it is 9 miles from I-77 to the entrance to the park, too many narrow and twisting miles to traverse with a trailer if it can be avoided. The entrance to the park comes up quickly and could be easily passed. On entering the park, the narrow twisting roads continue with ever tighter turns for another 4 miles or so and then drop steeply downhill into the campground. There is a flat, shaded tenting area along with some nice looking cabins at this level near the office, but that is where ‘nice’ seems to end. Leaving the office, there is another dive downhill into a wide open treeless field of 100 RV sites, mostly filled with seasonal RV campers. The RVs are parked literally shoulder to shoulder and there is nowhere to park a pull vehicle on one’s site. Awnings and slideouts protrude into the neighboring sites and there is barely room to walk between RVs. The city of Beckley runs this campground and the locals use it as their summer seasonal campground to have access to Lake Stephens. Sites for transients like us are scattered among the seasonals. We had to drive up a road with cars parked on both sides, through a single, narrow lane up the middle. We then had to make a tight right turn into our site while avoiding cars in front, behind and on both sides of us, not an easy task with a truck and a 31’ trailer. We also had to miss a yellow marker post in the ground, the electric post for our site and a large piece of road equipment parked just behind the electric post. Our site had just been dug up for some reason (hence the equipment) and was covered with loose, deep gravel. Once we threaded the needle to get in and position the trailer to open our slideout (no slideout = no bathroom), the back end of the trailer was hanging over the back road edge and the truck was hanging well into the road in the front, too far to leave the truck hitched as we’d planned. This is what is advertised as 'drive through'. We had no choice but to unhitch and park on the road behind our trailer, just like everyone else. The loose gravel was pitched seriously downhill on one side and leveling was a nightmare. Leveling boards just sank. Let’s just say we had no trouble rolling onto our right sides during the night. In the morning, our camper had sunk so far down in the loose gravel that it was the devil to lift it back up onto the hitch and get out. Luckily we had 4 wheel drive. Just before we finished putting away our hoses and electric, a man in a truck stopped and nicely told us someone would soon come to remove the road equipment. The man was genuinely surprised to hear me say not to move it on our account as we were leaving. Wouldn't it have been nice of them to have moved the equipment before we arrived, knowing they were renting out the site for the night? Per the signs posted, it sounded like we were expected to back out of our site, past all of those parked cars, the electric post, the yellow marker pole and the road machinery again, instead of driving forward. It seems the road in front of the truck was noted as intended only for children to ride their bikes. Not going to happen. It was early Sunday morning, no children in sight – we drove forward and left. We will not be returning. If you find yourself in the area, try the tiny Beckley Exhibition Coal Mine Campground on the East side of I-77. It is just a few miles on relatively straight and not too hilly roads. The entrance to the campground is up a severely steep hill, but the entire town is hilly and you just will have to negotiate hills somewhere here. Once on top, you’ll find about 15 or so very quiet, shady and relatively long sites where you’ll have no trouble finding space for both your camper and tow vehicle. Oh, and spend some time at the Exhibition Mine, closed in 1910, but a fascinating look at the life of mining towns. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
Would be a 10 if it wasn't 15 miles off the Interstate. Nice paved facility, friendly staff. Weak free Wi-Fi, but I was able to make it work for my needs. One religious channel on air antenna. Mostly seasonal trailers and fifth wheels with a couple of transient Class As like me. No lake views from campsites. Despite all those negatives, very clean and level campsite, a bit on the narrow side, but very long. Marina/boat access require a car ride. Very kid friendly, with a special area in the middle for the tiny ones to ride their bikes. More of a vacation spot/summer home than an overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2011
$32
8 miles from town on narrow winding road, with a few steep spots. Roads are paved with narrow gravel sites, which need help to level. Most sites have rigs there for the season with a few overnight sites left. Power and water were good, cell (AT&T) was weak. We would probably look else where. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2010
$27
If you can find your way, the campground was clean but the sites are very narrow. With an antenna, we were able to receive three channels. The vast majority of trailers (we saw one other motor home) appeared to be long term residents with lots of young children. The narrow road coming in is 9 miles of twists and turns including a 5% downgrade. (Hot brakes and bad nerves) DO NOT follow your GPS because you may never be seen again. If you go here, you are on your own. Never again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$28
First of all, this site is very far away from everything on a very narrow road. The sites are very close together. There is 1 shower in the ladies restroom and there are 100 sites. The restroom was not very clean at 5PM. Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
A very nice park but is too expensive for what you get. We requested a 70 ft pull through and got a 40. We stayed hooked up as the lady said lots of campers do for over night. Worked for us. Sprint wireless card was useless and there's no WiFi. Sites were so close together our slide almost touched the neighbor's canopy, will try to find a different place next time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$26
We do love this lake and the camp sites are nice. However, they do need to enforce a sound ordinance. There were a lot of loud motorcycles and vehicles with loud exhaust systems driving in and out of the campground during what should have been the quiet hours. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2009
$34
We were going to spend only one night so were happy to see all sites are pull-thru. BUT we hardly had room for our 38’ motorhome, much less the toad. As others have noted, sites are extremely tight and there is no shade. The young man who checked us in didn’t have a clue; had to hunt for a map of the park, then gave us one that had been marked up for at least 4 other campers. The only thing going for this park is that it is better than the coal mine campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$29
This is a nice little campground with a multitude of water activities on a beautiful lake. The clientele were very nice and well mannered considering there were several hundred adults and children there over the Labor Day weekend. If you a local this is a great place. However for visitors, the 10-mile trip over a narrow, winding road is not worth the aggravation. There are few choices along I-64: many of which are state parks with no reservations and in some cases no utilities. I will not go back because I thought the trip to the park as unacceptable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
This campground even had a sign on the interstate so thought we would overnight here. It was 9 miles off the interstate down a very narrow hilly road. Sites are very close together, there are several people that appear to be permanently sit up. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2009
$29
Nice out of the way location BUT VERY TIGHT SITES at lest you can hope the camper next to you does not have slide outs, and DO NOT bring anything over 40ft even if they tell you they can handle it! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$24
Not a bad place, but a typical county park...most of the lots were filled with locals using the park as vacation property; most of park was seaonals, but there was room for a few transiants. Facilities were clean and in good repair. We stayed only one night, after a long day of driving...didn't even unhook toad. After dark, it was quite and peaceful. The road to the park is uphill and winding, but not too bad...if were are in the area again, we might stop again for a "one-nighter" We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$22
The campground has a very nice setting, but the sites have no trees. There is a staff problem, and no one was there when we arrived on a Thursday. It seems to be staffed only during the day on weekends. The skunks were gone. The restrooms were quite clean, contrary to earlier reviews. The showers are timed, but you can keep pushing to keep the water going. Park away from the front of the park to avoid the whine of the sewer treatment plant. This place is quite nice for the price. Be sure to visit the Exhibition Coal Mine if you are in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2006
$22
The park itself is very large and very nice, though separated out into sections several miles apart. The RV section is crowded and wide open (no shade), with RVs right on top of each other. We reserved a 50-amp site and that was the site we parked on when arriving. Problem was, no 50-amp service there -- only 30. Notified management and they said their was nothing they could do -- they were full. There was also a problem with skunks while we were there. Lots of them. We saw as many as 5 at one time, in the RV area. We even had one under our RV. They sprayed different animals each night. Notified management of that and they again said their was nothing they could do. The playground at the park is nice, and the lake is very nice. Not much close by -- have to drive about 20 minutes to get anywhere, but it's a pretty place. The road up is a very winding mountain road, but we managed without any difficulty in our 37' fifth wheel. We will be going back to this park in the future, and hope they have some of the problems fixed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$20
We absolutely love this campground. The layout and scenery are both excellent. We are new to RVing. Just started last year and have been here a couple times. Campground is approximately 9 miles from Beckley. The Lake Stephens Campground offers 100 RV Campsites and 27 Tent sites. The Camp store, located at the camp area entrance, offers ice, wood, propane ,and camping basics. The RV Camp area has shower house, play area, basketball, and full hook-ups. The Tent Camp area is located next to the Camp store with shower and restroom facilities. Each site offers parking for two vehicles, tent site, and picnic table. Campground is opened year round with electricity the only utility available in RV campground October 15 to April 15. Campground stays are also limited to 14 days during this time period. Campground fees are also reduced during this off-season period. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com