219004 User submitted reviews online!!
Hiouchi RV Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 43 user reviews. Phone: (707) 458-3321
CGID321

Hiouchi RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
133
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   7   6   8   7   7   4   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$38
For us this is a nice park for an overnight stay or two. Very quiet and close to the redwood trees. It was clean, well kept and easy to get into. Some sites have shade. If you are interested in seeing the redwoods without going into the park, a short distance west of the campground is a road named Walker. There is parking and some great trails that wind thru the awesome trees on that road. Warning, the road west of this park (hwy 199) to the coast is very winding and very narrow for big rigs. There are big redwoods at the very edge of the pavement in some turns. Route 197 is the better way to go. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$30
5 miles east of Crescent City up US 199 but worth the trip compared to anything else around there. As HDTers it is hard finding RV parks on the west coast that can comfortably accommodate us without parking the HDT off-site. Well maintained Escapees 15% discount park with large green belts adjacent to most sites. Killer Wifi. Best choice for HDTers in Crescent City area. 5 miles up 199 in the Jedediah Smith Redwoods National/State park. Well managed, maintained, Escapees discount park. 15% only. HDTers could fit into many of the sites but their location of street side utilities makes you have to squeeze between those and the concrete patio slab. Many of these utilities are protected with old concrete highway dividers so some slideouts that are closer to the ground might not open all the way so check your fit before blindly opening them. Very pleasant park to be in. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
Pull through sites are in an arc off of a blacktop road. Fairly level and easy for set up. Long enough for trailer and truck. Wi-Fi and cable TV worked well. About 8 miles from Crescent City and shopping, restaurants and Walmart. Located in the Redwoods and a very pretty setting. Of the several RV parks in this area, this would be my choice. I would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
There were no current reviews on this park, we took a chance and booked a couple of nights. The park is not representative of the pictures on it's web site. The pull through sites are a short loop that requires you to fit your RV between a concrete pad (where the picnic table is) and a concrete barrier that "protects" the electric box. We have a 28' travel trailer and there is no way I could squeeze my rig in the site I was given, some sites are larger and there were larger RVs in those sites. We were given a list of open sites and told to take one and pay in the morning. We decided the back in sites offered the most room, the problem was that most of the sites we looked at had black widow eggs in the boxes and the 30amp plugs were filled with them, the spigots were covered with spider webs and the grass (weeds) were 6"s plus. We chose site 2 which was level and was relatively free from spider webs. After setting up we discovered it did not have a cable TV connection, not a big deal for us. We did not use the restroom or shower facilities. To use the shower, you had to purchase tokens from the park (25 cents for 4-5 minutes), not what you would expect from the price this park charges. We were given a $10.00 discount for the two nights because our site did not have cable TV. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$39
Good driveway to main office for a motor home. Friendly staff. We were placed in a 30 amp site so not sure if there is 50 amp. Good water pressure. Some sites are spacious but others are close together and all are on gravel. Very good WI-Fi and cell phone reception (AT&T). Many cable channels. Some Hwy 199 noise during day. Fog burned off in afternoon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$38
As other reviewers have noted, this park has many sites laid out in a rather unusual manner where rigs park head to tail in a row. Depending on your length and the length of the rigs in front and back of you, you may or may not be able to pull in and/or out of your site without unhooking your toad. Sites are gravel, reasonably level, with a picnic table and concrete patio. There is a lot of open green space, although the park has a serious gopher problem. The restrooms/showers and laundry room are not centrally located, so are a long walk from many parts of the park. The laundry room is large and has six washers, but only three working dryers. Lot of channels on the cable TV. We didn’t try the Wi-Fi; Verizon cell service was good and broadband worked, but was very slow. The person who took our reservation recommended coming in from US 101 via route 199 instead of 197, even though this is a few miles longer if coming from the north. After getting here and driving both routes, we found 197 to actually be better, with fewer sharp curves, grades and narrow spots. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$41
Convenient location. Nice big greenbelt. Noisy lawn mowers due to size. Friendly staff. Nice shade. Good override as well as proximity to Jeremiah Smith. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2011
$33
As stated by others, sites are oddly shaped but adequate. We found Wi-Fi fast and dependable. Nice park and in a great location. Road noise is not a big factor as Hwy 199 has very little traffic at night. Showers were very clean, but restrooms could use some work. Stopped up toilets and lack of paper. Would return as it is an easy in and easy out park and reasonably clean and taken care of. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$27
We thought that this was a nice place, but nothing fancy. Pull through sites are oddly shaped and could be a problem if the place was full. But being the off season, we had no problem at all. The office staff was very friendly and helpful with information on local areas. Great place to see the Redwoods!! We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$26
This is a pleasant, welcoming park offering good facilities and convenient access to Redwood National Park. The inland location gave us warm and sunny weather in contrast to the coast a few miles away. Utilities were mostly good; WiFi was slow and spotty at times, sewer hookups were inconveniently set at an angle. A lot of the park has an unusual configuration with sites arranged nose-to-tail but they seem to be long enough that it works for even large units to pull in and out of the rows. The laundry, restrooms, and club house areas were neat and clean. The price reflects Good Sam and cash discounts. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$27
Location of park is ideal for visiting the Redwoods in this part of Northern California. Close to Ranger station and access to many trails through the magnificent Redwoods. However the park is somewhat run down. (A recurrent RV'er stated that the park used to be pristine). Rest room facilities are adequate. Grounds need lots of attention. Sites are gravel. We were at the park periphery and WiFi did not work for us but worked elsewhere. Would probably return because of terrific access to Redwoods. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$27
In this area, it's hard to find an RV park with full hookups that isn't right off the highway. This park goes farther back than most and road noise was barely noticeable. Friendly staff, pretty park, very clean restrooms (showers 25 cents for 5 minutes), plenty of room, level spots, WiFi and cable TV worked great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$27
Okay park. I wouldn't call it a "Resort", but it worked for our stay. Not a lot of shade, and if it was full, it would have been cramped. Strange layout with pull-through sites running front to back in a line to form rows. Nice staff, and the Wi-Fi worked good. Full hookup worked fine. For the price, it was acceptable. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$22
Laundry room is a little old but well kept. Location is the best for seeing the Redwoods. This is the quietest park!! No noise at night. Grass was dried out but it is September. Convenience store within walking distance. Gravel, level sites that are parallel to the road. We were able to get AT&T reception at our site as well as their free internet. Would recommend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$36
Nice park. Pretty drive off the 101. Easy check in, gave us a site and said if like another close by, take it. Nice. Wi-Fi was good and then gone just like that. Not good for an RON. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$41
We stayed here three years ago: liked it then, like it now. Parallel pull through sites are great, with no problem getting in, or out with a 40 ft 5th wheel and long bed truck. Everything worked as stated above. Landscaping is very nice and it was a very soothing stay. Very pet friendly also. A relaxing pool or hot tub would have made it a 10. The setting is very serene being next to the Jedediah State Park with its tall Redwoods. Food at cafe across the street was very good. Personnel were very friendly and would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
Very nice quiet park conveniently located. Try to get a site on the creek. Lots of green space. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$27
Nice big RV park with lots of room and well maintained. Only a couple of miles from a popular Redwood Forest trail and the ocean. We checked out a couple of other RV parks nearby and they didn't look very nice or family friendly: meaning there were some shady people wandering around the area, or were tired looking RV's packed in tight. I saw alot of homeless (?) people wandering around Crescent City. This was not the case at all here. Free Wi-Fi and laundry was open 24/7. I would recommend this to others. The only thing is if it's crowded you might get stuck in their parallel sites, but they have alot of sites so it probably won't be a problem. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$27
We stayed here overnight, unusual parking in that we were parked in line, but had plenty of room to manuever. Located very close to Redwood National Park and state parks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$28
Just like the prior reviews say: great RV Park. A few things to add: tokens are required for the showers (25 cents for 5 mins), purchase at the Office or from the Campground Host. There is a gas station and store right outside the Park entrance which is easier than driving to town. Nice (Rowdy Creek) Fish Hatchery to visit in the town of Smith River, open year-round. Jedediah Smith State Park has river access for an $8 Day-use fee, and to camp there now has increased to $35 a day, a bit pricey. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$28
This is a very nice RV park with great access to the Redwood forests. Pull throughs are easy to access and give good privacy. This time of the year we only had 5 other RVs in the short term area. Their padded picnic table access was right next to the site and it was very quiet. Their cable TV access was very good and so was my satellite TV. We would definitely stay here again and only be 10 minutes from Crescent City and 5 minutes from Jedediah Smith Redwoods State Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$25
The park and surrounding area was beautiful with all the Fall colors. Parking is a bit unusual as they are parallel pull-throughs. Not many other guests when we were here so parking wasn't a problem, but might be if your spot was between 2 occupied spots. An ideal place from which to tour the Redwood forests. The staff was friendly and courteous. We would return if ever back in that area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$28
Friendly, easy check-in. It's right in the middle of a Redwood Park just as advertised. We had site B9 so our front door faced an open area in the middle: the morning sun, the road and gorgeous tree-covered hills. A wonderful setting with a peaceful view. Internet connection is not high speed. It's good enough to do e-mail and web surfing, but not good enough for Netflix downloads to watch movies. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$35
For a large rig, this campground is a great alternative to the state park campground across the road for seeing the Redwoods. Sites are large, clean and level and it was easy to pull in. Full hookup, reliable Wi-Fi, cable, and a outside phone jack. Grounds are well kept and bathrooms are clean. The receptionist that checked us in was extremely friendly and provided helpful local info. The only negatives were that there was little to no shade at our site and that there was no pool or playground for kids. Overall, you get more than your money's worth here - a good bet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$12
Comfortable well maintained park. Lot's of room and open spaces. Very easy to park. Staff friendly and helpful. WiFi unpredictable. Park like setting. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$15
Rate reflects CampClubUSA rate. Stayed overnight. Agree with other posters about pull-through sites. They might be harder to get into when the park is full. Since there were some vacancies, we were able to pull through the spot prior to ours, so it made it very easy. Like that you look out on trees/grass rather than into someone else's RV. They allowed us to wash the OR road and rain grime off, so that was a pleasant surprise. Staff was friendly and helpful. Very clean overall. Did not try to use the WiFi. The redwoods are fantastic, however we did not get a chance to stay and explore. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$25
I liked this camp ground because it has beautiful trees surrounding the park; it is across the street from a restaurant that serves breakfast and lunch only. Not great, but gives you an alternative for meals - and a gas station convenience store at the entrance.Yet is it virtually in the middle of the Jedediah Smith redwoods, as beautiful and thick a forest as you can find anywhere. It seems most of the people staying there came for the steelhead and salmon fishing in the Smith River very nearby; 20 to 70 lbs per fish they told me. A very friendly staff; who even let me wash my coach which is rarely permitted in other parks. I will return. I did not give it a 10 because of the sewer connections which are set about 10 inches above grade which is not the best for gravity flow - although I had no problems. For the odd parking, more like parallel parking although I had an front row spot I just pulled in and pulled out. The shower facilities are a bit dated, though clean and you need to purchase tokens - 25 cents each for each 5 minutes of shower time you want. Oh yes the internet WiFi was very poor; worked sometimes and sometimes did not; and was slow when it did. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2009
$26
We stopped for one night, and the park is OK. We had a 38' fifth wheel which was easy to drive into their pull throughs, however it might be difficult in peak season as pull throughs are parallel to road and could be quite tight. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2008
$26
We were here on a very low attendance time, so getting in and out of a drive through spot is easy. This is not your typical drive through. It is more like parallel parking type drive through. So if you have the spot in front and or back filled, you will have a hard time parking. The permanent residences are very low percentage, and they are neat and tidy spots. This spot is perfect for group camping, since you are able to share large grassy areas, if you pull side by side. Sites are gravel and level, but you have an adequate patio with a table. No fire pits. And the utilities are in the right spot. Lots of trees and centrally located for nearby sites. Though it is right off the 101, it is a very quiet place to stay. We would come here again for a 3-4 day lay over. Staff is very nice. And again, the free internet WiFi is available, but not reliable. They too say they are working on upgrading. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$26
We were pleasantly surprised! It is off the beaten 101 path, but easy to get in/out from highway 199. There were relaxed off-season rates The staff is friendly. It was uncrowded, level, and comfortable. There was strong satellite TV, but cell phone/air-card reception was a bit slow. Numerous close-by trails to soak up magnificent old redwood groves and the Smith River. We would revisit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$29
As others have said the pull-through sites at this park are unique. They give each unit lots of space as well as common space. The management are very friendly and helpful. Laundry facilities were clean and they have lots of both washers and dryers. The only problem is their sewer hookups. They are above ground and difficult to use. Previous reviews indicated this, so I simply used the dump site on the way out. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
This park has just changed its name to Hiouchi RV Resort. It is an older but very well-maintained park. Most of the sites are pull through but in a unique way. The pull through set-up allows everyone to open doors onto a green belt area. It would be great for clubs or rallys. The staff was friendly and very helpful. There is a lot to do in the area and the front desk staff gave us the "locals" scoop on what to see. There are quite a few long term people but we found everyone to be very nice. We will certainly stay here again in the future. Great park at a very good price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$30
We stayed in the park for 6 days. It would be rated a 10 except for the restrooms and showers. The showers were not clean, and had dirt and mold. It is still perhaps one of the nicest parks in the area and is about a 20 minute drive to crescent city. The redwood trais are very close, with state park across street. The staff is very friendly, we would stay here next time in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$26
Nice friendly staff and very accommodating. Very quiet and met several nice people camping. Fenced dog play area needs improvement, but adequate. WiFi worked well most of the time. They have lots of cable channels available. We stayed one night but would have liked to have stayed one more. It's far enough off the highway where you don't hear any noise. We would definitely stay here again amongst the redwoods. Sites fairly level--some have tables and fire rings, but ours just had a cement slab, which is ok for a one-night stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2007
$30
Friendly on check-in with maps of the local area. Wi-Fi is free and quite good. There is a charge for the showers. An older park that has a different layout with the pull-through sites parallel to the roads. Not that easy to get into these sites when the park is full. Nice concrete pads overlooking the large center field that includes a basketball court. As mentioned in previous reviews this park is about 9 miles outside of Crescent City away from the ever to common coastal fog and wind. Beautiful Redwood trees are on the drive to the beach and not far south on Hwy. 101 are the "Trees of Mystery" which is a must see. Found it quiet as we were not near the highway. This RV park is probably the best one in the area as the ones in Crescent City for the most part looked pretty bad. The only issue that we had was lots of dogs not on a leash as supposedly required and people not picking up their messes. Looks as if there were a lot of semi-permanent people staying here with a few very dirty units having a bit more old cars and stuff(?) at their site than the rules would have you believe. The sewer connections are not designed by an RV'er as they are about 6 to 8 inches above ground. Go figure. A bit of advice. I would not recommend going to the local Crescent City Safeway Mall after dark. Lots of teens and older hang out there and could get a bit scary. All that said, we would probably not stay in this area again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$26
This is an older park with paved roads and paved picnic table area but most sites are gravel. Pullouts cannot be used near the hookups but fortunately the back-in sites are very deep so a motor home or trailer can be positioned so as to extend the pullouts. The surrounding area is very nice and the extra long sites make the roads seem very wide. The drive from Crescent City is through an incredible stand of large Redwoods. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
Easy access of US19. Office staff was friendly. Pull-through sites were different, because they are situated parallel to paved interior road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$25
Very large and spacious sites. Sites are gravel with a small concrete pad for picnic table. Road inside park are asphalt. Older park with fair facilities. Site was a bit unlevel and noticed several around us were having problems getting level. Free WiFi was spotty and I had to have them reboot to get working. Have to be in close to office to get signal. No pool or spa. Staff friendly and helpful. Lots to see in this part of the country. This park is located outside of Crescent City by 9 miles, making it warmer and less wind and fog than Crescent City. I think this park is the nicest in the area. Eat breakfast and/or lunch at The New Harvest Cafe in Crescent City. Hwy 101 & Northcrest We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$20
Restrooms need updating. Needs more big rig/drive-through sites. Otherwise a very nice park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$26
Large, friendly RV park. What is very nice about it is the huge open park in the center, and the trailers hookup around the perimeter. Both back in and pull through sites are available. There were many campers who were staying through the summer here. We camped in late July and the sun shone everyday with clear blue skys. This park is down the road from Jedadiah Redwood State Park. I would rate this park as a destinationn park, with side trips to Oregon or the redwoods. When we left, we drove down Hwy 199 up to Grants Pass, Oregon, a beautiful drive. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$24
Nice park. Seems to cater to an older crowd, maybe because of location and low rates and is now owned by a large casino. Park is actually located 9 miles east of Crescent City on highway 199. All paved streets in park. Large laundry room. Modem area could be more user friendly as you have to sit on a chair with laptop on your lap, they have table there but it is used for their fax machine, phone, and other stuff. Friendly check-in staff. Can handle any size rig. No "instant" phone hookup. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$26
Nice park, lots of grass, priced right. 82 pull-through sites, tables, laundry. Has small concrete patios built more for 5th Wheels than motorhomes. Set-up on gravel but has paved roads. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2001
$26
Very clean, friendly, nice area, felt safe.We stayed 3 months as many do so its a nice place.Great value, friendlystaff, pretty area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com