220830 User submitted reviews online!!
Canaan Valley Resort State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (304) 866-4121
CGID3210

Canaan Valley Resort State Park

Camp Information
Sites
57
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   8   8   10   9   8   10   10   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$24
This is a heavily wooded campground in a large state park. Sites are a bit narrow, but manageable. Some sites appear to be very difficult to get level on. No on air TV signal, and probably no satellite signal due to trees. We couldn't get a cell signal at our site. This is a very quiet campground with a decent and clean bath house. There is a small grocery store a few miles away and a decent supermarket 10 miles away in Davis. Very pretty countryside and mountains. The pool is at the lodge which is too far to walk, and is currently undergoing major renovation. We did get a weak Wi-Fi signal at the lodge. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$20
This is a lovely campground as long as you do not want any electronic connection (no TV, internet, poor cell phone reception) to the outside world. The campsites are lovely; bathrooms/showers kept clean. I was there before 'season' so the rate was great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$27
Beautiful, well kept park. Plenty of space between sites and most all were heavily shaded. Our only complaint was the electric utilities are placed too close to the site making it difficult to get the slide outs out without putting your awning in the trees. Many pull-through sites are sloped front to rear. Higher elevations means cooler temps than surrounding areas so take warm clothes in fall. Excellent summertime temps though. No TV stations or internet is fine with us. We were here for the great outdoors. Very close to the best hiking WV has to offer and plenty of nearby streams for fishing. Great place to ride your bike as well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$27
Very nice and can't beat the price. The staff kind of assumed everyone had been here before and we had to ask for things that would normally be offered (like directions to our site). But the grounds were clean and in a spectacular setting. Not to much more to ask for. Considering everyone here must burn wood in the winter it would be nice if the wood they sold was actually dry and burnable. I left a big pile behind that won't be useable until next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$26
Our favorite campground so far. Campsite is huge and sits with perfect view of playground. Very quiet at night even fully packed. Super clean bathhouse. Short drive up to lodge for heated pool. Lots of hiking choices and fishing. Beautiful!! Small office on site for ice and wood. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
The sites and area are beautiful. The campground was quiet and relaxing. Many of the campers we met come every year. Deer were plentiful. The campground attendant was most helpful and friendly. The pool at the resort looked nice, but we did not have time to use it. Dolly Sods Wilderness Area is nearby and is worth the drive, especially when in full color in the fall. We hope to camp here again. Only negative would be there is no cell phone reception. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$22
Canaan Valley is a fantastic place to visit. We got to see beautiful fall colors! The campground is tight and a challenge for larger rigs. We pull a 37' fiver, but got in just fine. The pull-through sites are too tight to pull-through: we had to back into our site (#3). However, after surveying the sites, there are several back-in sites that are large enough and two pull-through sites that are much larger. This park is worth a visit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$28
This was our 3rd visit to this park! One of our favorites! It's worth the money, especially if you love the outdoors and enjoy hiking and biking! Our kids love the wildlife (deer and an occasional raccoon.) that come right into your campsite. It's always cool here in the mountains so be prepared for that. The pool is heated so that is a plus! Highly recommend Canaan Valley State Park! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$25
What a beautiful state park. I think that West Va. has a lot to offer and Canaan Valley Resort State Park is a great central location for recreation. I made our reservation for this camp ground only 1 month before we arrived. I didn't think I would get a reserved spot, but I was able to. All of the sites are very shaded and you have a lot of privacy. We had deer in our campsite every day. My children loved this. This will be a location we will visit again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$23
Small campground located on the grounds of a resort state park. The state park is located in a valley with beautiful views of the surrounding mountains. Close to many attractions like Dolly Sods, Blackwater State Park & Seneca Rocks, and there is a ski resort just across the road. All sites are paved, full hook ups ( a plus for a state park) and are a mix of back ins and pull offs from the road loops. Although sites are of decent size, our 37 foot motorhome was about the limit to fit in comfortably. We were in site #10 and had plenty of privacy with the wooded surroundings. Deer, raccoons, chipmunks and skunks were typical site visitors. Restrooms/showers were older yet clean. There is a full service hotel resort, and campground visitors have priviledges there. There are also cabins for rent and a nice golf course. This is a nice campground in a beautiful part of West Virginia and I would recommend it to anyone travelling to the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$28
If you like the outdoors and peaceful setting this is the place to go. Situated in the mountains of West Virginia, this park is affiliated with Canaan Valley Resort and Conference Center. The ski slopes are nearby along with the lodge. The campsites are situated within 3 beautiful tree filled circles with full hook-ups, picnic table, and fire ring. If you have a larger Motorhome or Fifth Wheel, just be careful when setting up. Some of the sites are not very level and leveling up could become a problem if you aren't careful. There was an Airstream Trailer that came in to a site near us and could not level up, so they did leave the park. Park staff is very helpful so I suggest you discuss the size of your unit with them and have them help you choose a site suitable for your unit. Sites 10 thru 34 are reserveable sites while the others are first come first serve. They have a miniature golf course, play area for children, nature trails, and of course the use of the Resort. The only negative feedback we have about this park is that is does not have any lights along the paths or in the site areas; it's very dark in the evenings. Otherwise, this park is a keeper in our log book...will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$24
This is a state park that is run by a contractor. The park has a lodge and a campground. Campers can use the lodge's facilities, including pool and game courts. The restaurant in the lodge is good but pricey. All campsites are full hookup. Twelve of the 34 campsites are reservable - the rest are first-come, first-served. Summer weekends it is very tough to get a campsite here. Reservations are all taken months in advance and the other campsites fill early Friday. The sites are fairly spacious with good privacy. The pullthoughs are basically pulloffs from the road, so the hookup side of the MH is right on the road. There are also backins. The deer are all over this park and walk right through your campsite. Hefty fine if caught feeding them, but obviously lots of campers do. The park is pretty, and it's about 10 miles to Blackwater Falls SP, which is even nicer. If you can't get in to Canaan Valley, there are lots of private campgrounds in the area. The Davis area makes a great destination - lots to see and do year round. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com