215029 User submitted reviews online!!
Huntington / Fox Fire KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 72 user reviews. Phone: (304) 743-5622
CGID3216

Huntington / Fox Fire KOA

Camp Information
Sites
117
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   5   5   10   8   8   8   7   4   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2014
$40
Typical KOA in the east. Very narrow roads, gravel in sites last decade. Too focused on keeping kids happy and paying the corporate franchise. During wet weather it can be a mud hole. Was told my rig was ok where parked then requested to move it forward 20 ft 45 minutes later. Needs new gravel on most sites as truck and trailer were leaving good ruts. Roads narrow and not really big rig friendly as claimed (although some were. I was not given one after calling ahead a week in advance explaining size of rig). Overall not impressive and I will not be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2014
$42
We stayed here for 2 nights passing through. Site was a fairly level pull-through of gravel and grass. It had rained a lot several days before so there was standing water several places and muddy ruts where people had pulled out and had to go in the grass since the roads are narrow. I asked them in the office if they could fill the rut by our site with something so when I pulled out I wouldn't have to make it worse. The manager said he would look at it but didn't do anything about it. Really, the best thing about the site was the very large shade tree. Water pressure was good and so was voltage. Basically, just another overprice and undervalued KOA. I'm making my new life ambition to never stay in another KOA. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$43
Signage is terrible. We missed the turn and had to find a place to go back. The run down buildings and junk as we started down the hill gave us 2nd and 3rd thoughts. Site was OK once we got there but we will not return. By the way, I would not swim in the water either. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$37
A lovely, fully staffed park. Staff are knowledgeable about the area and very helpful. Great old shade trees. Nice clean laundry. Nice store with reasonable prices. We stayed 2 nights and enjoyed every minute. If at all possible approach this park from the west. From the east the entry road is quite sharp and narrow. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$42
This was our second visit to this KOA. The staff is extremely friendly and the park well-maintained. Conveniently located just off I-64. Interestingly, it has a beach on a small lake rather than a formal swimming pool. Although we do not travel with children, there are many activities made available for them. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
We liked this RV park. The owners were great. Like the last review stated, we could not get our motorhome into the pull through originally assigned to us, but the problem was rectified quickly by the person that guided us. The park was crowded and tight, but I saw 40' and 45' motorhomes in the park. Maneuvering is tricky, but not impossible. There was a small doggie park that our dogs liked. This was our second time staying there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$40
First off, the hosts were great and that alone would have given a 10 rating. He took us to our site and made sure everything was fine with us before going back to the office. The negative aspect was the campground sites --- we were taken to one site that we literally couldn't even tell there was a site there because the RV's were so close together. We told him that there was no way we could get our 34' fifth wheel in there. He was very nice and took us to another long pull through site that worked out perfectly, since there wasn't anyone next to us on one side. Nice little pond at the campground with chairs and a "beach". We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$42
We had a nice level, back-in site with the newly added cable. Great! All utilities are well-placed and worked well. On-site owners and work staff were professional and extremely friendly and helpful. Owners are constantly working to improve the park and amenities. Yes, there is noise from I-64. However, once inside the coach we couldn't hear it. Sites for every need: shade/sun/cable/ satellite/pull-through/back-in. Last reviewer is incorrect on 2 points. According to the brochure, firewood is available for purchase; they ask you not to bring firewood in, as there is an import ban due to Emerald Ash Borer problems. As for firearms, the brochure states "Firearms, fireworks, weapons, are not allowed within Campground." What you have INSIDE your camper is private. Would we stay here again? Absolutely! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2013
$40
There isn't much to do and there's noise from the inter state. Sites are dirt or grass and most aren't level. The sheet they gave us said no firearms in the camper are allow. They also insist you buy firewood from them. $5 for enough to start a fire. I won't stay there again. aa8xz We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2013
$39
Rate is based on use of KOA discount card. This is just a barely adequate place to stop overnight. Campground has lots of long term campers. Sites are on grass, many are not level, and extremely close together. Some sites are side by sides and if we had a neighbor, our slides would just about touch. Water was not on and yet the price was so high. WiFi was OK and our Verizon MI-FI had a strong 4g signal. Staff was friendly. We will not stop here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$45
This is a well kept park in a rural setting near Huntington, WV. We were pleased with our nice level pull-through site 38 and the performance of the utilities. There are two small ponds available for catch and release fishing at no extra cost. Only drawback is lack of cable TV and the high price which seems to be typical of KOA's in general. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$38
It is a very nice place. Clean and well kept. The only reason i gave it an 8 is that it's along an Interstate. I ask for a site away from the Interstate and they provided it for us. You could still here it faintly, but wasn't an issue for us. We would recommend it and would stay here again our self. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$36
Nice park, good location, clean. Near the Blenko Glass Company, interesting. Price is high for a stop over. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$38
This was a great park that we stayed at for an overnighter. The folks at the desk were great and very helpful. The park was clean, well organized and easy to get in and out of. I gave it a 7 only because it is off the interstate, and you can hear the traffic. It does have swimming, but one half of the pond is for swimming and the other half for fishing. No big deal, but my wife didn't like that idea for the kids. Overall, we liked this place, and the kids enjoyed the playground and ice cream in the store. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
Great stopover location for our trip from DC to Etown. Always stop in Milton for the Blenko Glass Factory. Campground was very clean and well laid out. Plenty of options for shade from old trees and plenty without. The facilities were well maintained, best I've seen in a KOA. Staff was very friendly and helpful - helped us to locate a spot with better shade. Yes, you are right next to I-64, but MOST of the sites are not so close as to be a problem. No pool, but they do have a lake. This would be a great location for a smaller camper rally. Entry coming from the west is not very obvious, and they DO tell you to come in from the East - which is VERY well marked. Will stay here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$42
Nice campground. Extremely nice staff! My kids loved them and always ask to go back. Very clean. Family bathroom was wonderful. Price was a little high for monthly. Highway was loud even at night & the train was very loud too. We got used to it after a while though. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$52
We camped here over Father's Day week end on our way back home. The place was packed. I think the facilities were taxed to the max. The hosts were friendly and very helpful. Coming from the East the entrance is a Sharp right turn, not a problem, just be aware. Close to town and the interstate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$40
Choices in this area are few and far between. This is a very nicely kept RV park run by a very friendly couple who have obviously put a lot of work into making this park the gem that it is. Utilities worked well and access to and in the park was easy for our larger RV. Bathrooms, showers, and laundry rooms were spotless and looked new. Good Wi-Fi internet service. There is no swimming pool but the lake has a beach, with platform in the center, and looks like a lot of fun for kids (or adults who may be kids at heart!) to swim in. It is close to the highway if your space is in the back of the park, but we were in front part and noticed very little highway noise. We will certainly stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$42
We pulled in here for an overnight. Nice park with very friendly staff, we are retired and "family friendly" is not important to us, but I must say the fall decorations outside the office were certainly appealing! The sharp turn at the entrance did not give us problems. Sites are grassy (were gravel at one time), some have concrete patios and some are shaded. More interstate noise at the sites toward the back of the park. Wi-Fi and satellite reception were good. Laundry is small, four washers and dryers that appeared new, and very clean. Restrooms are also very clean. We would stop here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$42
$42- weekly rate divided by 7. Next to freeway, so some noise. Hair pin turn into park from exit 28, poor signs from exit 20, I missed the entrance and the two RVers behind me complained about the same problem. Best to watch for signs to Fox Fire Resort. Paved roads. Water, power, and cell (AT&T) were good. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$42
We don't normally stay at KOA's because they are focused on family activities and we are a retired couple. This park was located off the freeway on our way to Kentucky, so it perfectly fit our needs. It was clean and well laid out, and the staff were very friendly. Restrooms and facilities were immaculate. Must confess, while its proximity to the freeway was convenient, the freeway traffic noise was loud and can be heard from everywhere in the park. Still, this is a great place for an overnight stop or short stay and we would come back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
The owners-managers were the nicest and most helpful I have seen in a long time. The bathrooms were very nice as was the laundry facilities. The site was pull-through and level. We will be staying 1 night again week while passing through but would definitely stay longer if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$34
Very nice park with a couple exceptions: weak wifi and lots of freeway noise. We loved their dog park and the showers were lovely! We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$40
Great campground, the owners are wonderful. We see deer every morning in the field. All the leaves and acorns have been cleaned up. When coming into this park, note there is a water park attached which is not part of the campground. The owner of the waterpark has put a sign up that says closed for season and no RV parking. The CAMPGROUND is open year round. So don't worry, it is OPEN. Will come back to stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$40
This was another KOA which needs some TLC. The site was not very level. There wasn't much gravel, mostly dirt around the site. We didn't swim, but I cannot imagine anyone swimming in their pond. It had scum all around it. It was fine for spending a night, but that's it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2010
$37
We stayed one night because of location traveling through. Next time we'll find an alternative, especially at this price. It looked like there were some large level sites that sat empty. Instead we were on an unlevel site so close to the neighbor that we had to move his picnic table to open our steps, which were about 5' from the door to his small popup. He said they had put someone right on his door every night. There was a dog park, but we didn't use it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$42
If the weather had been better, would have been a great campground. Sites were all very muddy, appeared they had some drainage problems. However the water and playground were in good condition. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2010
$39
Possibly the worst place we have ever stayed, not that the campground was unattractive, but the owner/host was rude and offensive. We paid for a full hookup/pull through site and were assigned site #9. The site was very uneven, but we worked with blocks and got around that. The campground obviously had turned 3 sites into 6 and before we knew what was happening we had a trailer within inches of us on the left and then on the right a motorhome pulled in so close, it almost hit our rig. There were many open sites in the campground and there was no reason to squeeze everyone in, other than to capitalize on their land. We were told they had a huge dog park, which would only be considered huge if your dog weighed 5 pounds or less. When my husband went into the office to ask why the rigs were so close, and the owner basically stated, if you don't like it you can leave. We attempted to lodge our complaint with KOA directly, but that received only their stock: "Thank you for your note," response. We have had other issues during the past year with other KOA Kampgrounds and decided to not renew our KOA subscription and to never stay at a KOA again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$38
We stayed at this park with two grand children. We had a very nice level site and did not feel at all cramped in. There is a lovely lake which was great for swimming and also for the small kayaks we had with us. We recommend this park and would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$38
It was a tight right hand turn coming in from the east but was able to get in to the road without any issues. I will list the pros first; nice, clean and small. The kids enjoyed the lake swimming, the water trampoline, the 2 other water climbing activities and the platform to jump off. There was a nice water park next door (Fire Fox Resort) to go to as well for an additional cost ($12.73 per person). Now for the cons; Interstate 64 runs right by the campground, and yes, you will hear it all day and night. We were told that our site (114) was shaded; it wasn't. In the afternoon it was steamy. When we said something to them about it when we got here, they said they would give us a bundle of fire wood to make up for it (mind you that the cost of the firewood is $5). Yes, there is Wi-Fi, but the signal was very poor at our site, and we could not get connected. We were here over the 4th of July weekend. We did see some fireworks off in the distance which was fine, but when we wanted to light some sparklers, we were told that "fireworks were not allowed" which (they said) included sparklers. I totally understand not allowing firecrackers, bottle rockets, and such but sparklers(?). Sorry, I think that was a little ridiculous; even the state of VA allows sparklers. They told me it was the fire marshal that said that, however. When we got here we didn’t have a fire ring, but the owner told me just to find a spot in the grass to put my fire. Now, if the fire marshal said no to sparklers, you would think that the fire marshal would say no to putting a fire anywhere in the grass. OK, would we stay here again, probably not. Was it a total worthless trip? No, as we went to spend time with our kids and grandkids, that was the most important. The other stuff was just an obstacle that we overcame. We rented a cabin for the other part of our family. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$36
Giving the campground a 6 because of the rude behavior of the owners daughter when reserving our site. Almost didn't stay here because of this. He has two daughters so don't know which, but one needs lessons in manners. Owner is very nice but didn't seem interested in knowing about rude behavior of daughter. This is sad because the campground is very nice and sites are clean and large. Stayed one night. Will we stay here again. NO unless he keeps the daughters away from answering the phone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
This is a pleasant campground. Our site, 14, was long and spacious with plenty of room to be outside on nice grass. Good Wi-Fi. It's about 5 miles away from a major shopping and restaurant area off Exit 20. As noted before, the entry is very tricky. KOAs typically have a large yellow sign at the entry or road leading into the campground. When approaching eastbound there is a large yellow sign on the left BUT it's past the entry and it says oops you missed us. We had to unhook, turn around and deal with the very sharp right turn into the road. We did it with a 45' motorhome but didn't like it. The signs indicating the entry are on the right side of the road but we just missed them as we were focused on the big KOA-typical sign. There is a big Fox Fire Resort sign - that's the road! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
We felt a little better about this campground that the previous reviewer. Our bedroom was away from the interstate, so the noise didn't bother us. Plus, we were able to get under a large shade tree. Be sure to check out the family restrooms when here, even if you don't use them. Really nice facility for a family. Be aware when approaching west bound. It's a pretty sharp right-hand turn. OK with a big 5th wheel, but not for 40+ ft MH. We'll stop there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$34
This is an older campground. It has narrower sites, however they seem adequate for the RV. The campground is well taken care of. Has friendly helpful staff. It is typical of most KOA's. We've stayed here twice now, and the only thing we can say is if you can't sleep through highway traffic noise, this isn't the place for you. It goes on mostly all night. Otherwise we'd stay here again for an overnight pass through the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$37
This is a very nice campground. We had stayed there in 2006 before it was a KOA. New owners have made some improvements. It was clean and the staff was very helpful. Good Wi-Fi... I am not a big fan of KOA's as they are over priced and lack enough gravel on the sites. This is about as good as it gets for a KOA. Good location! I would stay at this park again when we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$32
Ditto on the below reviews, a nice little CG. The utilities were fine as well as free WiFi. Digital TV worked good too. Would return to this CG. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2010
$35
We used this campground for a one night stopover. It is an older campground which appears to be very well cared for. Owners are very helpful. Road off the main highway has a very hard right hand turn. Wide turn works. Back of campground backs up to I-64. To our surprise the road noise was not apparent in our trailer. WiFi was good and digital TV signal (over air) was good. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$34
We used this campground while trading RVs nearby. Campground was well kept and staff was very nice and friendly. We were checked in quickly and guided to our site, which was one of the long pull through sites near the front. Plenty of length, but not very wide.We didn't use any of the amenities, but liked the looks of everything, especially the fenced in pet area. Everything seemed well maintained and tidy. Huntington Mall was only a few miles away. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$33
Owners were very nice and knowledgeable about the area. They went out and met each arrival personally. Very clean park with lots of amenities. Lots of things to do for kids. Would highly recommend. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$37
Very nice campground and the bathrooms and laundry room are immaculate! There's also a fenced in pet walk area which was well cared for and convenient. Although we didn't use the "catch and release" fishing ponds, they looked inviting. Check in was easy and the staff was pleasant. The camp store was cozy and well stocked. We had no issues at all getting into the park around the 180 degree turn. We will return again for an overnight stay! There were a few different activities around town that we would have visited, but didn't have time for on this particular trip. The glass factory tour and a car museum are both free. In addition, the campground is located just 4 miles from the largest mall in West Virginia. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$31
We used this as a stopover sight on-route to Florida. Despite the recent snow-fall in West Virginia, the campground was open, and the staff extremely friendly and accommodating. They gave us a large pull-through site and guided us to our site and made sure we were "set" before leaving us for the evening. They have a nice dog-run and are very pet-friendly. We would stay there again. Note: this campground has a very tight 180 degree entry, but was no problem for our 40 ft. motorhome with toad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2009
$33
This is a nice park that could be a "home run" park if the owners did a bit more to jazz things up. On the plus side, the office is a very nice little log structure--very warm and cozy. Good bathrooms, dog run, etc. My only complaint is that our site was MUDDY. Gravel is readily available in the USA and the owners need to order some pronto. My coach wheels were caked with mud when we pulled out because the site was a mud hole. Many off the others, were too. But this park is nice overall and the night we were there was Halloween and there were lots of children trick or treating. The office staff was very nice. We'd stay here again IF they get gravel to the sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$37
Great overnight stop, staff is friendly and grounds are clean and neat. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$36
I thought this was a good place to spend the night and was significantly better than most KOAs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$26
This KOA used to be connected to a resort & is NO LONGER affiliated with them. The previous owner still operates the resort but not the KOA campground. Entrance to this park is confusing due to "Closed for the Season" signs for the resort making it look like the KOA is closed when it IS NOT!. This facility is clean, friendly & very kid/family friendly & oriented. The owners have taken great pride in their KOA. Pricing was right & I will definitely be back here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2009
$37
Ok park for an overnight stay. It's close to I-64, but very noisy with the interstate traffic (backs up to the interstate) and a train somewhere that we heard all night. Sites were small and I would not want to be here when it was crowded. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2009
$40
Our dissatisfaction here is twofold. 1st-when greeted at the front desk we were told we already had two strikes against us as we didn't have a reservation and also didn't have a KOA rewards card which was a very insulting way to be welcomed. 2nd-the site was so tight with the one next to it that I had to stoop under their slide out in order to connect water and electric. Some customer service training would be in order here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$34
This is a very nice KOA. The turn in to the right on Fox Fire road is tight, but if you take it slow, it's very doable. We had a nice level pull through site as well, although not all of them are real level. With that said, they aren't bad as it's a gentle rolling hill area. Wireless was very spotty even though we were close to the office. Beautiful scenery, and a nice place to stop for the night. Quiet, with a little noise from the highway. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$40
There are fairly level sites and a pleasant reception at this park. We stayed here to wait for an adjuster, due to a slight miscalculation on navigating out of the last campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$32
I don't understand the bad rap this place has been getting on this site. This is the nicest KOA we have stayed at on our 7 week trek across the country. The site we had (15) was relatively level. You shouldn't expect all sites to be perfect. Yes, there is a tight turn to get to the park from US 60 from the east. But there are big rig directions on their website to let you know you should come in from the west. Check it out: drive the few extra miles and quit complaining! Do a little research beyond Woodall's and this site as there is a bunch of info out there. Use it!!! But I digress. There is lots of grass, and a nice swimming spot at the lake for the kids. Friendly staff at the desk, and an escort to your site: a nice touch. This place is not just a good overnight, but would be a nice spot to spend a few days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
We only stayed one night here while passing through. It seemed to be a pretty clean and accommodating campground. The camp sites were of fair size for the most part. They directed us right to our site and helped us park. They have bike rentals and fishing. There is a little dog play park that is fenced in out of the way for the critters. You are very close to the highway but the noise was really not bad at all. The wifi was having problems and the male half of the owners looked into it and got it working for us. DO pay attention to the directions they give you as if you have a big rig you want to enter from the west due to the turn into the campgrounds. The lady that checked me in (I don't think it was the owner) was a little put off that I suggested they put up a KOA sign on the street. They are working on zoning for it I guess. I was looking for the yellow KOA tent and went past the campground. So I had to turn around and make the sharp corner into the grounds anyway with my rig after driving 8 miles out of the way to get the right exit. Oh well. Their sign actually is big and white and says Fox Fire Resort. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$43
Good clean campground with lots of things to do for the kids. Close to lots of shopping as well. If you are pulling a fiver, my recommendation is to enter from the west and not the east. The entrance road turns back on itself from the east and pitches down quickly and will pinch the truck if not REAL careful. Coming in from the west solves most of this issue. I would camp KOA more often, but the price is way to high at $43 per night in West Virginia. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$34
Tons of stuff to do for adults and kids.Park clean and staff friendly. Easy on and off the interstate. Highly recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$32
This was my 7th stop here since i started traveling to Charleston to meet with old friends. The campground has improved greatly over the past 6 years since my first visit. The former owners sold it a few years ago and I am glad they did. I do not miss them at all. The campground has been upgraded and cleaned up since being sold. Trees have had vines taken off, weeds have been pulled, they are now open all year round with full hook ups and heat the bath houses during the winter. They now take reservations over the phone which is very convenient since i usually arrive late and just stay a couple of nights. They left a site map with my name and site number and a line drawn for me to find it. The owner is usually in the office in the morning when i go in to check out and was very pleasant to talk with. The staff is much more pleasant to see and are very helpful. I was very glad to see this since my first visit wasn't all that great. I like seeing how much the campground has changed and plan on coming back soon We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2008
$38
This campground was owned by a family for many years prior to being sold to the current owners. Mr. Current Owner is very nice but he spends time apologizing to guests for Mrs. Current Owner's poor attitude and unfriendly personality. The thing is, the previous owners had such a huge book of repeat business built up over the many, many years, that a lot of folks drive in thinking it is business as normal. They are first shocked to see it is now a KOA. The second shock is that a large part of the property was not sold and is being operated separate from the campground and finally, they are met by a grouch who seems totally unhappy with her ownership of the property. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2008
$43
Ripped off again!! It happens every time we stay in a KOA. Next time I’ll drive another 100 miles to find another campground. For $43 we were provided a gravel, out of level site only about 100 feet from I-64. It would have been quieter staying in a rest stop ON the interstate. There was no concrete patio, no cable and no wifi at our site. Nothing to justify anything close to the rate they charged. They must have had good monthly rates as the vast majority here were long term residents. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2008
$38
We stayed at this park last summer. As we arrived we noticed a strong sewer smell in the air. A girl that worked here said there is a sewage treatment plant nearby and it gets rank, especially in the summer. It was not so bad once we got back in the park, but it never went completely away. The sites are all grass/gravel and somewhat level. The sites are laid out to share power posts. They moved in a big rig with a long trailer that was right in our front door. That was not very good. The Wi-Fi is very limited even though the lady that owns the park said it was recently installed new. My sniffer found about 30% of the grounds have a good signal. The property is located VERY NEAR the Interstate. There is only a row of trees to deaden the sound. Every time a big truck hit the rumble strip along the edge of the road it could be heard all through the park. The property is clean and neat but I suggest you plan no more than one night here as a rest stop to your travels. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
It is very clean and well manicured with large flat sites. Staff nice and helpful. No cable but the dish worked fine and we had a large antenna selection. Bath house was very nice. They could use a pool. Stay away from the back three rows as it does get very loud. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$35
First visit since park has been associated with KOA.More hospitable/friendly owners. Will go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2008
$38
$38 seems about $18 too much for a overnight site here, but there are very few choices in the area, so they can get away with it. The campsite gravel pads are quite rough. The bath house was very clean and well kept. Some shaded sites but not many. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$34
When arriving at the CG entrance driving West, beware of the hard turn onto the road back East to the CG. I couldn't make the turn with the 30 ft trailer and had to go find a place to turn around. This is an older CG that has recently become a KOA. Since it wasn't built as a KOA from the beginning, it lacks the features normally found at a KOA. It has more than half of the sites filled with extended stay folks, some of which are not the neatest. Stay away from the lake activities as the other posts describe, and other than those problems your stay will be fine. Sites were level and the owners were nice and helpful. WiFi worked well. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2007
$39
Revisited park & found it to be a KOA under new management. The turn from w/b 60 was so tight I had to unhook tow vehicle to get coach around turn. Sites are combo grass with some gravel and narrow. Utilities are shared. Wifi was excellent. We saw no improvements in park since our 2003 visit. We felt park was overpriced and will look for alternatives in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2007
$40
We stayed at this campground for one night on our way back home from Pa. The owners were very nice and helpful. The campground was very well maintained. It is easy to access from the interstate. No complaints. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$29
Now a newly minted KOA but not quite up to KOA standards yet. Grassy sites are jammed together with shared utility connections. Sites are level but not large. Pull thoughs are through another site. Access roads have some tight corners. Access from US 60 westbound is a tight turn and down a steep hill. Noise from I-64 and railroad is disturbing. Management is friendly and helpful and really trying to get up to KOA speed. A good overnight stop but not really a destination yet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$28
We stayed at the Fox Fire KOA RV Resort in Milton WV and enjoyed it greatly. This campground is under new owners who were very friendly. They showed each camper to their site and made sure they were on the right sites. If you needed any help the owners were more then happy to help out. This campground was well maintained and clean. The bathrooms were nice and clean as well as the laundry room. I would recommend this campground to anyone. If you are staying for one night or 15 nights, this is a great place to spend a nice, relaxing day or vacation. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2007
$29
Nice park, lots of places for kids to have fun. It's converting to KOA. The staff is very friendly and helpful. It's easy to miss the turn off Route 60 - and the sign pointing to the access road makes it look like you have to drive up a steep hill on a loose dirt road, but don't do it! The access road is right next to the dirt road, but hard to see from Route 60. I wish I could give this park a better rating, but its location between I-64 and some very busy train tracks make the noise bad. The train was the worst - it can't be more than 1/4 mile away and is noisy all night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$38
A pricy park that probably is worth it for an extended stay at a weekly rate but is overpriced for one or two nights. Interior roads are paved but sites are grass and were muddy after recent rains. The first site we were given was too uneven to level the motorhome and we had to request another. Free WiFi was nice and a discount for cash was offered. I'd probably look for another place for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$12
We were in our tent. Nice grassy tent sites In the shade. Nice country setting with country store. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2004
$33
Visited park in 40' motorhome. Found park to be big rig friendly. Roads in park are blacktop. Sites are mix of grass & gravel. Sites are wide enough for any size rig or number of slides. Some sites are level, others would pose a real challenge. The further back in the park your site is the closer to I-64 and the noisier it gets. Staff was helpful & friendly. Park advertises swimming pool, but only a swimming pond is free. The swimming pool is part of an entertainment area that includes paddle boats, minature golf, picnic are, pools, water slide, etc. Cost is $7 per person or $3.50 for last 2 hrs of day. The entertainment area is open to general public for a fee. We paid the $3.50 each to use pool. One of the pools was closed and the other was full of children from the general public. We felt the park should armband campers for pool use only--then if they want other entertainment they could pay an additional fee. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$25
This place was great in some ways and not-so-great in others. First, it is just off the interstate and the road noise is loud. The staff was friendly but some of the rules seemed too strict. We were not happy to find that the pool complex (pool, small waterslide, hot tub, mini golf, kayaks on a small manmade canal) costs an additional $7 per person per day (not mentioned anywhere in their advertising);, and even though the front desk staff said yes, my children (age 11) were dismayed to learn they were not allowed in the otherwise empty hot tub. This may seem like a small thing but it was a large part of the reason we chose this camp, and then they couldn't use it. The free swimming pond with beach is a much better deal than the water area. As for the sites, they are out in the open and not terribly wide, but sufficient. Bike trails around the park are paved and nice but the whole section supposedly on the other side of the interstate was a swamp. Milton is a nice area with things to do (check out the Blenko Glass Factory tour - free!) and we would possibly stop here again, but be prepared for serious road noise and extra expenditures if you want to swim. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$28
This is the first place I have ever stayed that would not take CASH!! Credit card or check. It is a nice campground, but I must agree with the other review. It is somewhat noisy, but if you keep the windows closed and the A/C on you don't hear the traffic. They had a good Blue Grass band playing when we arrived on Saturday evening and a good turn out of listeners. The group was good! Without jacks for leveling one could be forced to do some work to get things level.A nice flea market within 5 minutes. Week-ends only. A nice family place. I would go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$24
To start off we weren't sure if we liked it or not. Our concerns were road noise and our lot wasn't very level. So on our first night we weren't sure if we were going to enjoy our stay or not. The road noise wasn't bad after you got used to it. The campground is situated right beside interstate 64 and it is fairly loud. The lot we had wasn't very level. There were level lots but on our arrival most were taken and we need two side-by-side lots. All lots are grass covered. Several lots had concrete pads. Fox Fire does not take reservations so everything is first come first serve. There was plenty of places to ride bicycles and on the camp map it shows a tunnel going under the interstate to more bike trails but we didn't go over there. There were several fishing ponds and one pond for swimming. We caught 6 catfish and 7 bluegill. The largest catfish was over 30 inches and was caught by an 11 yr old girl. She had a blast! FOX FIRE is located just off I-64 at exits 28 and 20-B on Rt. 60, 3 miles west of Milton, WV. A 60 acre resort offering RV camping with 117 full hook-up sites equipped with 30 & 50 amp electric. Activities include public picnicking, fishing, 240' waterslide, spray ground, swimming pools, jacuzzi, paddle boats, kayaks, putt golf, tennis, basketball and volleyball, hot air balloon rides, and holiday entertainment for the campers. The resort has been in operation since in 1978. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I am rating Fox Fire Resort an 8. Taking one point for road noise and one point for the un level lots. We will visit again and recommend this site for short stays. Nightly Rates 20 or 30 amp electric, rigs under 34' 1-4 people $24.00 50 amp electric, rings under 34' 1-4 people $27.00 Super Sites long pull through or rigs over 34' with 50 amp electric. No charge for pull through trailers $31.50 Enclosed cargo or towing trailers (no hook-up provided) $5.00 Extra person $3.00 We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com