214770 User submitted reviews online!!
Sand Springs Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 22 user reviews. Phone: (304) 594-2415
CGID3217

Sand Springs Campground

Camp Information
Sites
78
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   6   4   6   8   8   7   5   3   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  no  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  no  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$32
This park is full of trees. Shady spaces, fairly level. We did observe 5th wheels having issues backing into back in spaces. They could probably improve those space by removing certain trees! We were after season, so a quiet park for us. It does fill up on football weekends. We would camp here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2013
$34
A remote campground located in heavily wooded hills. A little pricey for what you get. Access from interstate is on narrow paved road from I-68. Exit #15 and follow signs to campground. Do not use your Garmin or TomTom as they will direct you to a logging road. Gravel interior roads with gravel semi-level sites. Maneuvering can be difficult for larger rigs due to the trees and narrow roads. Sites are well spaced with good access to utilities and all worked properly. A picnic table at each site. TV and Satellite connections did not work at my site due to trees. Verizon cell and data worked in the pull through area. WiFi service was spotty. Showers/restrooms are terrible. The restroom smelled like a pit toilet. Very very quiet with no train, plane or traffic noise. Depending on who is in the office, you will be escorted to your site. Lots of full time folks giving some areas the look of a “trailer park”. Good for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2012
$30
This is the only campground with full hookups near Morgantown. We were visiting friends so we had no choice. The owners do not keep the place up. The roads are very rough and there are trees everywhere along the roads so it is extremely difficult to maneuver your rig. The bathrooms were not clean. The laundry only has 2 washers and 2 dryers and there are a fair number of full timers so there should be more. Beware that there is no Verizon data coverage. There is Wi-Fi but it only works right by there office not in your rig. The full timers were OK, but the unit across from us had a stuffed sofa sitting outside. Unbelievable. Some of the people who stayed on the weekend were loud and so were their barking dogs All in all we will probably not be back. We would stay somewhere else without full hookups before going back here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$34
Sand Springs Campground is a clean, well maintained park. Tent sites are beautiful. RV sites are close together; one site is even in the road, causing traffic to back up down the hill to a different intersection; some larger trailers had difficulty doing this. The person working the desk was very confused about sites and sent several people to places already occupied. At one point, the desk person barely looked up from her newspaper when we asked questions, stating she was just filling in for someone who was ill. Needless to say, we will stay elsewhere in the future, even if it means staying farther from Morgantown in order to get full service sites. For short stays, we'll stay at a local state park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$34
Quiet mountain RV park. We had a long pull through for the night. Wi-Fi was out. TV was good on the antenna. Watch out for logging trucks on the very narrow road to the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$36
We enjoyed our stay at Sand Springs Campground. Very friendly staff. CLEAN, generous sized sites. We had full hookups. Site fairly level. Plenty of DTV stations. Wi-Fi only works within about 80 feet of office. VERY IMPORTANT...YOU MUST use I-68 exit 15 to get to the campground. DO NOT use Tom Tom directions as it'll lead you up a 4WD road at the other end. Clean showers, the only thing I would mention is that they have a carpet sample just outside the shower which seemed smelly and thoroughly soaked when I used the shower (25 cents for 9 minutes). I would highly recommend this campground! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$25
I stayed at this campground from mid-May through mid-September. There appeared to be some turmoil amongst the office staff - maybe settling into new ownership? I got mixed messages on whether mail could be delivered to the office. I was able to track down 2 of 3 mail packages with one package still MIA. The campground is heavily wooded and roads are narrow. Pulling a trailer through the campground requires strict attention. This is an active logging area - watch for logging trucks on the access road. This is a mountaintop campground, sites are not level. Be sure to bring plenty of levelers. Bathrooms are older and were not as clean as I like. Wi-Fi was available but I didn't use it. Reasonable reception of several over the air TV channels. NO Verizon data coverage in this part of WV. I was able to make/receive Verizon phone calls. My Sprint data service worked reasonably well. Small laundry room was clean and cheap. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$32
This CG is a fair jaunt from I-68 exit 15. Big rigs need to be careful as the road is narrow leading to the CG. If you are looking for an unfriendly staff, this is the place to camp. There are many signs of a blunt and directive nature which do not portray a friendly atmosphere. You need to get a code for the Wi-Fi from the office -- the staffer didn't give us one at check-in so we had to go back and get it. The roads are gravel and rough. Sites are gravel and NOT level. Nice pool. Another camper told us that you have to pay to use the showers, hadn't seen that since 1980. If you must, use it for one night but not as a destination CG. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2011
$34
They forgot to tell us NOT TO GO BY GPS directions when we booked the night. We ended up on single-lane, uphill road with slim options to turn around. With the help of a local resident, we were able to get turned around with some, but minimal, damage to the rig. He said there have been numerous rigs that had to call tow trucks to get them back out of there. Finally arriving late at the park, interior roads were very narrow due to the many trees we had to dodge as we entered & exited our site. Leveling the rig was impossible & laundry room was dirty. Owners were very nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2011
$34
This could be a very nice campground, but it needs work. Very remote and extremely quiet. Lots of trees and nearly every site is shaded. Close to Morgantown and Cheat Lake. The interior roads and sites need a lot of maintenance. They were very rough and needed grading. Most sites require extreme leveling of your rig. The small amount of grass surrounding the sites was very high. Wi-Fi was available near the office. We would not return to this CG. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$31
This is what I would call a "primitive" campground which was OK with us. Large sites, needed to level, side to side, front to rear level. We used the pool, very nice. Had shower buildings, clean and well kept. Wi-Fi was a hot spot but didn't use it. Office personnel were very friendly, being from the south I appreciate the "southern hospitality". The roads were rough due to construction. We stayed one night and would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
We stayed here overnight returning from Kentucky. Looked to be a lot of ongoing work. Maybe new owners fixing things up. Site wasn't very level but we were able to level the camper. Pretty easy access off of I-68 but couldn't hear the traffic. Nice pool for relaxing after a day on the road. Bathroom/shower was marginal. Nice, friendly staff. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
This campground is not as bad as the other reviewers make it out to be. The roads are quite passable for my 41' motor coach. Although trees are everywhere, they are maintained and the branches more then high enough for the tallest motor coach to avoid. Yes, wireless is only available at the rec room, but as far as campgrounds in this particular area go (most are horrific), this place is quite reasonably priced and access is not that difficult to navigate. The pull through site are reasonably level. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2010
$33
We stayed here for one night on our way East. It is not very often we are not happy with campgrounds, but this was our first. We found this park with our Good Sam book and how it became a "Sam" park is a little questionable. Access to park is on a narrow lane and a half paved road with just enough room to pass a pickup coming the other way. With lots of construction going on, the interior roads were rocky, uneven and narrow. Actual pull through site was scary to get into with trees all over the place, and we wondered if we would hit something. Wi-Fi access is only at the game room and slow at best. We would NOT recommend this campground to anyone with an RV: just too scary a place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2009
$34
Sand Springs Camping Area does not easily accommodate 40' rigs, interior roads are narrow, turns are sharp, tree limbs can be serious impediments to getting around the park, no satellite access, spotty cell phone service, one very narrow road for access and egress. We considered ourselves extremely lucky not to have met oncoming vehicles on that road. There is no way two RVs could pass on that road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2009
$33
Overpriced considering park amenities. Roads in are narrow and filled with pot holes. Sites are somewhat level, some sites have new gravel, some sites do not. Owner is only doing the minimum in maintenance and improvements. Good for an overnight stop only, we wouldn't stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$32
We thoroughly enjoyed this campground, and will plan to stay here again in the future. It appears the owner is either expanding or renovating many of the sites and they are all very nice if you enjoy "woodsy" type campgrounds. The 2 mile road has been resurfaced and is now smooth all the way. We used a pull thru site but the backins are plenty large enough to get into with no problem. We would rate this higher if the bath houses were a little newer. They were clean, but many parts were rusty from age. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
It is a long 2 mile bumpy road into the campground. The sites are large with lots of shade. No cable, but our dish was able to see out. There were lots of antenna stations. The bathouuse dated but clean. Washers were $1.00 a load and nice setup. The staff and owner are glad to have you there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$32
Needed to spend one night without unhooking toad. The staff was very helpful in finding us a spot. Would stay again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2008
$34
All sites are very shaded. We were there on opening weekend so the owners were doing a lot of work getting the campground ready for this season. The restrooms and showers are clean but dated. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2005
$30
The only thing this campground has going for it is the shade trees. When we were trying to make reservations they don't even answer the phone until after noon. They said it was because there were cleaning the restrooms. Not even, we looked they are nasty. Glad I had my own to use. Site were very aggressive to get into and very difficult to level on. Some people just gave up leveling because they were only staying one night. They did not enforce the leash rule for dogs and large ones ran around not on a leash. It seemed to be a party park for the young at heart with lots of noise and drinking. The road to get into this place is well over 2 miles long and you could not possibly pass another RV. We thanked God that we did not meet another vehicle coming in or going out. I would never use this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$30
Good place to stay overnight. One of only a few parks on I-68. Owners very friendly, they lead me to my site. Pay showers, a quarter for 9 minutes. I didn't use the showers so I don't know how they worked, but I would have rated them an 8 without the pay showers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com