221664 User submitted reviews online!!
Stonewall Resort, Briar Point Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 33 user reviews. Phone: (304) 269-8889
CGID3221

Stonewall Resort, Briar Point Campground

Camp Information
Sites
46
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$46



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   9   8   9   7   10   10   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$46
This is the best State Park in the country that I have seen. Private company runs the resort. Site is fairly level if you line up right. Our shore power was faulty upon arrival, 5 minutes after we called it was repaired and even the electrician was friendly. Each site is paved, with picnic table, sealed trash cans (to keep the racoons and black bear out) and parking spots for the bikes. Right up against the lake, good bluegill fishing for the kids and amazing cat-fishing after dark. Pay the $15 at the resort and get daily use of the canoes, kayaks, yolos, paddle-boats, bikes (including tandem), fitness center, various and indoor/outdoor pool (yes the pool is both partly indoor and outdoor). Gift shop and coffee shop there as well. The restaurant is pricy but a great sit down/romantic meal. Marina has bass and pontoon boat rentals that come with fishing gear along with the standard marina fare. Activity center by marina offers two play grounds and fitness course and pay to play disc golf, putt-putt golf, segway tours and a host of indoor amusement. The entire resort is surrounded by trails and hiking of varying degree and borders the Wildlife Management Area. Would rate this higher but the wifi is spotty, using a range extender for the best sites on the outer loop. Call ahead for reservations though this place is always full. Price is the same as the KOA 25 miles south at Flatwoods and offers a lot more for the outdoor family. Bring the bikes, hiking shoes, fishing tackle and plenty of BBQ. Will be back here again when in the area, worth the money overall. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$41
Great park and nice campground. Good Verizon cell service, reasonable speed, free internet, and looks like sat TV available from most sites. Interior roads and sites are paved. Most sites are on lake or have a great view. Welcome Center staff were friendly, but did not provide a campground layoff site map. All sites are back in with a picnic table and grill. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$46
A very nice campground. $46 rate includes taxes. Paved level spots, great views, full hookups, fire rings. No cable or antenna/air TV. Several satellite TVs were in operation in the park and should work from most sites. Three different Wi-Fi systems to connect to, but none were particularly strong from our spot (#38). Verizon and AT&T cellphone service worked fine. The park has numerous hiking trails, fishing and boating, and an Arnold Palmer signature golf course (a superb course, well maintained and well staffed). There is a lodge with a spa, gift shop, dining, and a complimentary boat ride, though we did not use these. Rental boats, kayaks, canoes, and bicycles are available for $15 daily fee per family. Not much shopping nearby, but a WalMart and a Shop and Save grocery store in Weston. A Super WalMart is in Buckhannon, about an additional 10 miles away. Beautiful mountain scenery all around; campground is on a peninsula on a lake. You must make a reservation well in advance, so plan ahead. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$40
One of the nicest state parks we have stayed at. Great lake, nice places to walk, good bathrooms, be sure to take the free boat tour, good power some have 30 and some have 50 amp, very good Wi-Fi for a state park. I would rate it higher but a couple of the tent spots basically share the RV site and we happened to have one of them OR I would give a 9 MAYBE just MAYBE a 10. Very helpful staff. Some people say they reserve a year in advance so beware; it is popular. We would certainly stay again but would plan ahead and pick a better spot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$40
Immaculate campground with 40 sites that is part of a resort facility with golf course, lodge, restaurants, conference center and spa. All sites are back-in with level concrete pads and all are either on the lake or have a view of the lake. Each site has its own trash can. We were able to get satellite but some sites are blocked by trees. Wifi was okay but a bit slow. This is a popular campground so advance reservations will be needed if you plan to stay any length of time. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$38
Nice facilities, lodge is impressive. Sites well laid out and well maintained. Did not care for the open dressing area for the showers. Nice place but we felt it was overpriced for a state facility. For $15 more you can use the lodge's amenities. Probably will not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$48
Really nice RV park. Not too many sites but plenty of room on each one. We had a site overlooking the lake which had a path leading down to the lake. Beautiful golf course and plenty of lake activities. Well worth the visit and we would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$48
Very fun place to stay. Lots to do and plenty of amenities. The indoor/outdoor pool was operational this time of year. If I had one complaint, it would be that they weren't very clear during the check-in process that I needed to purchase a pool pass in order to take advantage of what the resort had to offer. Or that I should request to purchase firewood at that moment. Nor was the layout of the hotel made clear. As a result we had some wasted hours while trying to get a lay of the land. But overall this is a great place to camp. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$42
This was our first stay at this campground "Brier Point" being it's actual name. We booked site 21 but with so few campers here this weekend we found site 16 to be more to our liking. A quick phone call to the registration office allowed us to change sites. The staff at the campground and the resort were very nice and the lounge at the resort was a great place to have a meal and to socialize a bit. We found the campground to be just fantastic. It was perfectly maintained. The sites were spacious with paved, level lots, with fire rings in a gravel bordered area, well positioned hookups made setting up a breeze. Having no cable and no chance of getting a signal on the TV antenna was the only down side for us since we don't have a satellite dish. The lots are really open so if you do have a dish you shouldn't have an issue getting a signal they do have good Wi-Fi signals so we at least had internet. We're already planning another visit because we love the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$34
Very nice campground, one of the nicest I've been to. Beautiful area, sites are large and well maintained, views of lake and resort. For a fee you can get pass to resort, to use amenities. Great buffet at resort, $25 a head. Golf course is terrific, hiking trails abound. Local winery about 20 minutes away, as well as an old large asylum that you can tour. At night you can see more stars than I've ever seen, it's just fantastic. I highly recommend this campground, though get reservations: only 45 sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$45
This is a beautiful campground. The views of the lake & the golf course are stunning. Our camp site was huge (site #40). My only complaint was that we were facing a boat trailer parking lot & our site was before the sign saying only registered campers beyond this point. That meant that there were a lot of people turning around at our camp site. We didn't like the gravel drive either. Other than that, we loved staying here. For $14 a day for 4 people ($3.50 each person over 4... we are a family of five), you were able to use all the resort facilities. That was really nice. We used the spa for services, the gym, the pool, the kayaks, the paddle boats, the boat cruise on Little Sorrel & my son even spent one morning in camp (which he loved). We did drive to the lodge because I felt the roads were too narrow to ride our bikes safely. I'd love to see a bike path to the lodge!! There is a shuttle to take you to & from the lodge which my kids did use a couple of times. We cooked every night so I can't talk about the restaurants. I read in other reviews about no TV or internet... we had both. Maybe that's a recent upgrade but we were happy to have both! I would definitely stay here again, but I would request a different site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$42
Stonewall Jackson State Park Resort and Campground Stonewall Jackson State Park campground (Briar Point Campground) and resort is interesting. The state turned this resort over to a private group to manage and run so the price reflects that. On the medium high side for a campsite but we did have electricity, water, restrooms/showers and a great site overlooking a lake with views of the golf course and Stonewall Lodge. There are 40 RV sites all with water views and 5 walk-in tent sites overlooking the lake. The resort has a marina, an Arnold Palmer Signature Golf Course, spa, hiking, swimming pool, Lakeside Villas, Conference Center, Lodge, restaurants, fitness center, boat tours, and one can bike around the complex. There is a 10% senior citizen discount and WV residents over 62 get a 50% discount from after Labor Day until four days before Memorial Day. Sundays through Wednesdays are cheaper (not much). One can pay $15 extra per day per site for four to use all the boats – paddle, water bikes, canoes, kayaks and bikes, pool, fishing equipment, fitness center, and boat tours. Good deal in the summer! We did not do any of that but we did hike the golf course and walked to the lodge. The golf course is hilly and difficult, since the fairways are narrow; there are many sandpits and the lake winds its way through most of the greens. They have 5 places to tee up at most holes for women and then to expert. Tough course but beautiful! Toured the lodge – really quaint with big fireplaces, indoor-outdoor heated pool, outdoor fire pit and many things to keep you occupied. Spent three nights here with temperatures in the low 30’s to high 40’s mixed in with a snow storm, clouds and a little sun. This was a good stop where we were able to relax, hike and catch up on some sleep. When we arrived there were seven other campers and more were expected for the weekend. We would go back but in the spring, summer or fall. No TV reception here which didn’t please my husband since the Final Four semi-finals were being played on April 2nd so we had to hike to the lodge to watch it in their bar since we don’t tow with our 25ft Fleetwood Pulse. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$40
This is probably the nicest State park I have ever stayed in. The only reason it is not a "10" is that the RV patios are gravel and not paved. It is hard pack gravel though. Our Verizon air card worked well and satellite TV reception was easy. Free Shuttle service will take you to the lodge where a nice restaurant and tavern is open to enjoy. The lower number sites are more spacious than the higher numbers on the two loops. All sites have fire rings and picnic tables. Full hook ups at every site, and a nearby boat launch is available. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2010
$40
This is a very pretty park. We made our reservation over six months in advance, but got a site with very little view of the lake next to the natural gas pipes. Our site was also next to a group of bow hunters that hung the deer they had killed from a tree on their site to bleed it. Then they proceeded to skin it and butcher it. Not what I want to see from my campsite. Also, there is no TV here unless you have a satellite. To call this a Resort is farfetched since there is no TV, no WiFi and no amenities of any sort. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$36
One of the more beautiful State Parks that we have stayed. It is a resort area with golf courses, 5 star restaurants, hotels and cottages. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$38
Can't ask for anything as beautiful. This is a very nice campground, it's private and every site has a great view. No Wi-Fi but who needs it with these views. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$36
Great State park. Very nice sites, some with spectacular views of the lake. Lots of space between sites. We had 50 am service. No WiFi, but the Verizon card worked fine. I think they may have WiFi in the lodge. The only negative is that the people where you check in are really worthless. She told me nothing! I had to call to find out that there is a shuttle that will pick you up and take you anywhere you want to go. If you want to use a bike or canoe or use the pool you have to pay $14, but that is good for the day and covers up to four people. Pool is at the lodge and in and indoor/outdoor pool and has a hot tub attached. Two places serve good food at reasonable prices. You even get a newspaper delivered to your door. All sites are paved and quite level. We have deer right at our site. Would come back in a minute! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
There is a reason you have to reserve these sites so far in advance. This is one of the best, if not the best, campground in West Virginia. It's hard to go wrong with any site here. The trees are maturing so the shade will not be an issue in years to come. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$36
Beautiful CG, everything was great. Cable would be nice since digital TV doesn't work, or at least free WiFi. Be sure to bring a good book, or some DVD's. And be sure to checkout the lodge. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$32
I will judge all other campgrounds by this beautiful, organized and well run park. I cannot locate my receipt for the park but remember that the nightly fee was just a bit over $30 and so worth it. The staff were all amazing, the sites were clean and well organized, the roads were well paved and smooth, the views were lovely and captivating. We camped on the lake overlooking the lodge. The park is relaxing and serene. We are an older couple without children, but saw many children enjoying fishing and biking. Of special interest in the area, was the historic old state (mental) hospital in nearby Weston who's beginnings date to pre-Civil War. We will return to Stonewall again and again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$39
We were in site 7, a large site on the lake directly across from the bath house. The site was level concrete. The bathrooms and showers were cleaned each morning. Staff delivered a local newspaper to our site each morning. Lots of wildlife here. The deer are almost tame. The grounds are lovely and quiet. If you like the water or would enjoy golfing you would like this park. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$38
A nice campground. We would have stayed longer but they were sold out. Some sites are large and some are small so make sure to verify. It's along a large lake and also has a golf course. If you want, you can use the resort facilities. You will need to drive to get from the camping area to the pool and resort area. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$39
First of all this is no longer a state park--it's officially called Stonewall CG as is run by Benchmark Hospitality. This is a very nice CG--flat sites, trees, and nice views and access to the large lake. There are all kinds of amenities, most of the water kind. There is a large marina with paddle boats, kayaks, bicycles, canoes, etc available for a good price. There is also an Arnold Palmer Signature golf course in the park but I don't have any information on it regarding cost. There is also a lodge, restaurants and very good looking "cabins" on the lake. They also offer 10% off the camping prices for senior citizens. The only downside is don't plan on bringing a "big rig" here. We have a 38' MH and there was very little room to back into our spot or extend the slides and it was one of the better sites to back into. You can do it but I would say it's not a good park for 40' and up. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$39
This is one of the nicest state parks we have stayed in. Check in was done at a pull through kiosk, you didn't have to get out of your rig. Every site was water front, paved and level with a concrete picnic pad. The paved roads were wide enough for the largest rigs. We stayed overnight, but this would be a great spot for a week stay. All resort amenities are available at a nominal daily fee. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$25
Very nice State Park. There is plenty to do, especially if you are into boating and fishing. The gorunds are very well maintained as are all the facilities in the park. Reservatioins are a MUST. They book up to a year in advance for a weekend stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
This is a great campground. It is booked out a year in advance on the weekends. All roads and campsites are paved, with gravel at the campsites as well. They deliver a newspaper to you each morning. They clean out each fire pit as guests check out. You can purchase a pass for Stonewall Resort for $14/day for a family of four to use their amenities which are paddle boats, canoes, kayaks, swimming pool, fitness room, etc. We would rate this 10 out of 10 if they had more shade. They also will allow you to request a spot but they will not guarantee it. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and the campground is secure. We had a great experience as there is a lot of lake access for swimming and boating within steps of all campsites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$31
This is the best state park campground we have ever stayed in. The setting is beautiful. We awoke to deer in the front yard. The sites are back-in but spacious. I wish that all state parks emulate this one! The Arnold Palmer golf course on the premises was icing on the cake for us. Call ahead. They fill quickly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$34
Very well maintained campground. No swimming pool but you can buy a daily activity pass for $12 (good for 4 people) that permits you to use the swimming pool at the lodge plus bicycles, water bikes and paddle boats, canoes, and kayaks. Not an inexpensive place but a great vacation spot. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$32
This is one of our favorite campgrounds. Sites are level and roomy and the lake is very nice. We rented a pontoon and enjoyed the lake during one of our stays. Some of the sites are lake front with beautiful views. Also some tent sites are on the lake with wooden platforms. It is exceptionally clean with staff picking up trash daily. Also there are a lot of skunks and deer roaming the grounds that appear to be very used to human company. There is a lodge across the lake with a restaurant and also a beautiful golf course. The marina is within walking distance of the campground. A beautiful place to enjoy the outdoors and relax. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2005
$33
Most of the campsites are spacious and require minimal leveling. The grass is kept mowed and the sites are kept clean. There are a few small trees in the campground so there is very little shade and little privacy between sites. There is a $6 reservation fee in addition to the nightly rate. This park is very popular and reservations are a must for weekends and holidays. The lake level was very low when we were there and some of the locals told us that it "was as low as I've ever seen it." We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2005
$31
This is a state park that is being managed by a private company. The park was an absolute delight. Located on a large lake was lots of water activities available, this is an immaculately kept facility. Sites are huge and very level. The staff actually comes by each day and sweeps out the fire rings. Wild life abounds. Saw a bald eagle as we were leaving today. Tame deer roam throughout the entire park. The golf course is an Arnold Palmer design and the conference center looked magnificent. Perhaps a bit pricey but worth the money. Did not have to check in or check out. Reservation was brought out to me when I arrived at the gate. Receipt was delivered to my site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2004
$30
Absolutely a beautiful campground in the Stonewall Jackson Lake State Park. There's another listing for this campground in RV Park Reviews, but it's website and city address (was Roanoke, now Walkersville) has changed. The actual campground name is as listed in this review. The campground seems to be located on a penninsula virtually surrounded by the lake. Nearly all sites have great views of the lake, lodge and surrounding mountains. Several are actually lakefront. All sites are nice-sized, full hookup with paved pad and gravel parking for vehicle/boat beside. Most sites are angled to take advantage of the views and not the side of your neighbor's camper. They have marked out sites to be added to the campground by next year. I hope they don't begin to overcrowd the existing ones as spacious sites is one of the reasons we come to this campground. Lots of deer roam, so be careful travelling the park roads. Bathrooms/showers (2 to service the campground) were clean, well ventillated and well lit. The nightly rate, does not include an additional, one-time $6 "processing fee", though. Campground guests have access to lodge amenities: indoor/outdoor heated pools, hot tubs, spas, saunas & dining. Huge, soaring lodge with views of the sunkin fire pit, brick patio, lake and surrounding area. Boat tours of the lake available. Marina, championship golf course, rentable cabins and hiking trails. There is not much to do (unless you like boating & golf), but if soaking up peacefulness and the scenery is your thing, then this is a beautiful place to do it. We've been coming to this campground since it opened and always enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$28
Let me start off by saying we had a great time. SJLSP is located in Roanoke, WV. Exit 91 on Interstate 79. It is located almost dead center of West Virginia. This park is very clean and organized. There are 35 sites and all are full hook up. The lots are very large and are part gravel part grass for boat or vehicle parking. All sites have a picnic table, fire ring, and grill. There is a view of the lake from every site. The campground is situated on a peninsula and there are boat moorings located on almost all sides. There were two bathhouses and they were very clean. The playground and shelter were at the point of the peninsula. My oldest son spent most of his and his grandparents time there. The sites were the most level sites I have visited. We stayed in sites 21 and 22. I recommend this site highly. We are looking forward to going back. Unfortunately, we wont be back until Labor Day 2003. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com