224208 User submitted reviews online!!
Rippling Waters Church Of God Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 37 user reviews. Phone: (304) 988-2607
CGID3223

Rippling Waters Church Of God Campground

Camp Information
Sites
110
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$13



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   8   1   8   5   10   8   4   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2014
$13
Site was a little short, but a level site with FHU - used the Passport America discount - check in was great - country campground with 2 small lakes and a beautiful chapel. There are a lot of seasonal campers the other side of the park. Seems to be a popular location for weddings. The road off the interstate is in poor condition. We would stay here again if we were in the area. We camped in a 5th wheel. The pool was closed for the season. Fishing is allowed but is catch & release. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$20
Very nice setting about 4 1/2 miles off I-77 on a long windy road that needs lots of work. Looks like a seasonal place for weekenders. We had a long mostly level pull through with good utilities. We would stop here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$20
Quiet, clean, and level sites in the full service area. Certainly well maintained area by new helpful personable managers who have taken over recently. Bathhouse is old but maintained. Many full time sites but we were not near parked them. Convenient to I-77 and we would stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2013
$25
Managers and staff were unfriendly and often not there. Bathrooms were not clean. Missing signs at the bridge so it's easy to miss the turnoff. Roads need paving to the campground--bumpy. Tree branches hanging down along the way. My positive comment: there is a beautiful church by the lake. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$27
One of the quietest parks I have ever stayed. A beautiful setting on two ponds. Though the county road goes right through the center of the campground there is virtually no offensive noise and our site was the close and right next to the road. I would have stayed here much longer if only there was WiFi available. Even ATT cell service was spotty so using the Iphone HotSpot was not an option. If it had WiFi I probably would have given a Ten rating. If Internet access is not important to you then I would suggest that you don't miss this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$25
The drive to the park is long, narrow, curvy and filled with low overhanging trees. Low tree limbs in the park also attempted to green stripe our RV. Office staff was nice. There are many seasonal campers. Our site was in the pull through section. It had gravel drive and some green space between sites. Park is very quiet except for barking dogs and scenic. Probably would not camp again because of difficult drive for a long RV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$25
This campground was lovely, quiet and serene. It is about 4 1/2 miles off I-77, but is easy off and on. Most of the 4 1/2 miles is a narrow, winding road, however we navigated it with a dually pulling a 40 ft fifth wheel with no problem. It was well worth it! We called ahead and reserved a pull through with full hookups. We were well pleased with the site and with the friendly reception. The campground has a beautiful lake with fountains and picturesque views. We would stop there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$23
The road to the campground is narrow and with a few small hills but you can get there with no problems as long as you go slow. The pull-thru sites are very large and flat. The GC was very clean and quite. The grounds of the CG are very nice. It is only about 20 miles to Charleston from here and is the closest place we could find. It's location is good for seeing the area. We would stay here again if we were passing through because the pull-thru sites are large enough that you don't have to unhook your tow. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2013
$50
Pleasant area among the hills of West Virginia. Unfortunately, the owners overcharge for use and have different pricing for different people. If you do not mind the dishonesty .... it is fine. Make sure you check pricing before you get here and do not get your propane tanks filled here. They do have fish in the ponds, but with all the chemicals in the water. I would stay away. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$27
Yup: the road to the CG is narrow, windy, but well paved. DW closed her eyes a couple of times, but it really is not a problem traveling at a slow rate. The pull-through sites are fine, not much space between sites. Stone surface, some grass. They just put sewer line to the pull-through area. We did pick up some stations on our antenna and the Wi-Fi was fine. Overall a nice overnight stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$27
We camped here for a conference in Charleston, WV. There are not any campgrounds in Charleston that would accommodate our RV. This is a pleasant campground with a couple of lakes and a beautiful little chapel on one of the lakes. Cell phone service was marginal and Wi-Fi was only available at the office. The office was only partly manned so contact the staff was difficult. It is about a 30 minute drive to Charleston. Getting to the campground is a challenge. There is a narrow 2 lane (?) road that winds through the hills. There are many tree limbs that will hit the RV if you are not careful. It is a smoke free, alcohol free campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$26
I read all the comments about the road to this park and almost passed it by. But as it is really the only campground in the area ( north on rt 77) and it was late afternoon we went for it...Boy, am I glad we did! This is a beautiful campground , beautiful grounds with a pond and a little chapel. Most sites are wooded although ours (a large pull-through ) was in a field setting. I think the comments about the road are a little over exaggerated . Yes, it is a narrow winding road , but it is paved and in good condition. You do have to be careful of the occasionial car coming the other way. We were just there for the night and had a pull through site that was easy in and easy out... This is really a nice campground and I would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
Three miles off the highway but it's a nice overnight stay. Very friendly staff. This is a Christian camp so certain codes of behavior are in place. If you have faith you will love the peaceful setting. A picturesque chapel on a small lake with water fountains. It's pretty during the day, but breathtaking at night with lights shining on the chapel and fountains. We felt in the presence of God. Also home to lots of fulltimers. We enjoyed our one night layover here. Would go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$26
This is a beautiful park with a couple of lakes and fountains. The road to it is a little tight and curvy but we managed it slowly with a 40' motorhome. We could not get any kind of TV signal or Wi-Fi but didn't see that as a problem as we were here only 2 nights. The site we had was kind of isolated but the front yard was a lake. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$24
The park is excellent as is the staff. The 4 mile road to it, however, is a sidewalk with a double yellow line so medium to big rigs could use a pilot car because you can't stay on your side of the road and keep your rig out of the ditches. The Lakes are small but very pleasing to see. FIshing is good but catch/release. Wifi, though mentioned, is only available near the office. Though there is no cable, digital over the air reception gets about 8 channels. Most sites are smaller, but spaced ok. Most big pull throughs can handle any sized rig and are 50/30amp, but dont have sewer. We are HDTers and 65' x 13' 4" when travelling. Quiet, peaceful setting and though there are a lot of rigs in place full time, they are not occupied all the time. Great Place except for bad WV roads. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$26
After reading previous posts, I wasn't surprised by the narrow winding road leading to this park, but the drive was well worth it. What a beautiful setting for a RV park. There seemed to be a lot of permanent units, some old but also many newer ones. There are two lakes with fountains, and a beautiful little (active) church across the water. As we walked our dog in the late afternoon, we saw two white tailed deers. The restrooms and showers were modern and clean. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
Extremely nice park; lovely pond with chapel and gazebo; well kept. We stayed in an area for pull-throughs only for the night, but walked the entire campground. Enjoyed the peaceful quiet and the deer that wandered the campground. The only negative is the road leading to the campground, but we didn't think it nearly as bad as some previous reviewers; we have seen worse. We had no problem with it. It is a bit remote, but hey sometimes that's really a plus. It was for us. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$26
This is a very decent overnight stop. There are two primary camping areas. The long gravel pull-throughs with no sewage are down the hill. The very short level concrete pads with sewage are up near the office. We stayed in the latter and had very good electrical service. Note that none of these sites are on the water, despite the park having two lakes. The campground looks much larger. However, there are many permanent residents. While there is a nice lake and a pool, the size and remoteness of the sites would not make this a destination park - at least in my opinion. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$26
Overnighted in this park based on the reviews, and the previous reviewers were right on! Super clean, very quiet, and close to the highway. You do feel like you are going way back in the hills, but it is only a few miles. Be sure to be provisioned before you arrive. Walmart is almost 20 miles to the north, and there is nothing much any closer. Thank you to the previous reviewers. I will be using this campground again We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
What a treasure this campground is. Quiet and peaceful in a lovely setting with birds, butterflies and deer all around you. It is not near anything (stores or restaurants) and the road getting there is "dicey" at best - narrow and windy. I'd hate to try to drive it at night, but it is well worth the effort. If there is a perfect campground in the world this is it as far as I'm concerned, just come prepared unless you don't mind traveling 15 miles or so to a grocery store. We would definitely return here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$25
Positives: Clean, well-maintained park, great place to stay, kid and pet friendly. We stayed here Memorial Day weekend and the following weekend as a "stop-over" point for our trip. Negative: The campground is only 3 miles or so off the interstate, but it is accessed by a narrow road. I thought that I had made a wrong turn, but there was nowhere to turn around so I kept going. I was pleased to find the campground. The 3 miles seemed like 10 since it was just after dusk when we arrived. The campground is located on both sides of the road. The best suggestion is to go on past the initial openings to the campground, to the office and there is plenty of room to park, turn-around, etc. The campground is Christian-owned, so by the rules there is no smoking, no alcohol and no cursing. This campground is a treasure to be found at the end of a 3 mile, narrow road journey. We are so glad that we found it and will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
We pay a yearly fee for a site by Swan Lake. The view is fantastic...the small church reflects in the water. The lake is full of fish and there are 2 females swans and 3 white ducks. My husband enjoys feeding the swans...they eat from his hand. Such a peaceful and serene place to camp. The camp has a swimming pool, zip line, cabins, tent area, paint ball area, trails for bike riding or walking. Must visit to appreciate this campground, The managers are helpful and friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
Agree with everything previously stated, especially about the long and narrow road into the park. Stayed in one of the 9 long pull thru's and was surprised to see no sewer service at any of these sites. Convenient Dump station on the way out however. Quiet and peaceful and would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
This is probably the nicest campground we've stayed at. It is run the the Church of God, and as such has some strict rules of conduct, but this added to our experience. There were no concerns about loudness or drunken parties. The campground is very well maintained. The bath houses were nicely appointed and very clean. We arrived after the office was closed and left before it opened. There were registration envelopes provided, and a receipt was mailed to us a few days later. An earlier review mentioned the bridge on Rt. 21 being out, but that is done and open for travel now. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$22
Since we travel I-75 through Charleston West Virginia, often, we have found this campground both close enough to the Interstate, and excellent for our camping needs. We have happily camped there in both May of 2002 (one night) and May 2009 (one night). The campground, indeed, as well as the whole park, is well maintained, has playground for the kids. Unique among public campgrounds, is a really nice Church Chapel, by the lake, right in the campground!! The staff is helpful and courteous. I am not a Church of God, member, but they welcomed me, as they do for anyone from the general public. Really a nice place. You will like it!! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
This campground is a nice stop between the Carolinas and Ohio. A previous post mentions taking exit 16. However, don't do that because a bridge is out. You need to take exit 119,then 21 south. It is about 5.5 miles. The roads are narrow and winding so it would be best to drive in during daylight. The campground is immaculate. As others have mentioned, there is a large area of permanent campers, but the area is well kept and the full site hook ups and overnight area is very nice. The restrooms were very clean, too. I would rate it higher if the access was easier. Also, the camp store had very limited supplies. Easy check in by a very kind lady who lives right across from the office. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$25
Very ice park. Location is a bit remote but easily accessed. Very peaceful location and atmosphere. Closest park I found to Charleston. I had a meeting in Charleston, and it is about 20 minute drive. Park was not completely operational on our visit, but it was early in the spring. It is located at a church camp and would be really nice in the summer months. Would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$23
This campground is located 20 miles north of downtown Charleston, WV. It is 4 miles from Interstate 77, exit 116, and several signs clearly show the distance and direction to the campground. The road is narrow and winding. This could be a problem if you arrive after dark. Most of the sites are annual or seasonal and about half of these contain RVs that are empty and are used only occasionally. Some are old and not well maintained. The campground itself is huge with a lot of open grassy common areas which are neatly mowed and there is a 7 acre fishing lake. A swimming pool is located over 100 yards from the office and quite a hike from the sites used by short-term campers. There is no parking at the pool – you have to walk or ride your bike. There are about 25 sites available for short-term campers. Nine of these are large pull-through sites but they do not have sewer hookups. Four bathhouses/restrooms are located throughout the campground. They were clean but rarely used. Interior roads and sites are gravel. This campground is in a rural area and the nearest civilization is a very small town, Pocatalico, located about 9 miles away. This is not a destination campground – all the action is too far away. We were here to get away from the crowds during the Fourth of July week. It’s a quiet place although our campsite was only 50 feet from Middle Fork Road and received some early morning road noise from folks out in this area going to work in the city. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$23
Very narrow winding road between interstate and campground made me rate this campground lower. We only used it as an overnight stop. I would recommend a longer stay due to the access. It was peaceful and quiet and clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$23
This is a nice peaceful campground. It does have a narrow road leading to the campground, but is was not a issue. We have a 41' 5th wheel RV. A very beautiful little church located on the far side of the small pond. This is a place to take your family. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$23
Very nice campground! We will stay here again if we pass through the area. The 4 mile drive from I-77 was not good in the dark but driving out in the day was fine. They are typical West Virginia 2 lane paved back roads. When a car came toward us we just moved over and let them pass. We drove the middle of the road to and from the campground. The campground was very nice and quiet. In our group we had a 5th wheel and a Class C plus our Class A and all of us enjoyed the campground and facilities and had no problems. I would highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$23
Very pretty setting; nice campground. Quiet and secluded. This would be a great place to stay for a while; our stay was a night. Although the campground can handle big rigs, the access roads were not designed for them; be sure to go slow on the several miles of narrow curved road leading to it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$25
Great quiet, clean and one of the best campgrounds you can stay in - we stayed here last year too when traveling and will continue to make a point to come back. We love and believe in all that they represent. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2005
$22
First class camping, very clean throughout, easy access from Interstate 77, far enough off the highway for quiet. Facilities are super clean, staff is very helpful and friendly. Overnighters are kept in their own section, easy to get in and out of the park. The nights we stayed, it was uncrowded, quiet and very private. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2005
$25
One of the best we stay in. Will always recommend this CG to any and all. One piece of advice: when staying on the lowest level, use a water pressure regulator. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$24
We used this as a stopover on a trip from North Carolina to Ohio. We found the campground to be clean, well-run and the overnight spaces (which we used) were separated from the seasonal/permanent spaces. Some of the units on those spaces appeared to be quite run down though the grounds were well-kept. Restrooms were immaculate. The pool is small but was clean and refreshing. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2000
$20
This park is safe for families and the families are well-behaved to entice those who don't want rowdy children. Alcohol is prohibited. It is owned and managed by the Church of God, but you do not have to be a church member to use the facilities. I found it a great stopover when I am traveling from North Carolina to Ohio, but would also enjoy staying my entire vacation there. It is almost 5 miles from the interstate which is close enough to use for a stopover, but far enough to be relaxing and serene. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com