214264 User submitted reviews online!!
Furnace Creek Resort RV Park (Privately Owned) was rated 5 out of 10 based on 24 user reviews. Phone: (760) 786-2345
CGID323

Furnace Creek Resort RV Park (Privately Owned)

Camp Information
Sites
35
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$37



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   2   4   1   2   4   8   6   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$37
This is a beautiful oasis in the desert. Early in the morning and later in the evening there is some shade on many of the sites. The grounds of the resort are well maintained but the RV sites are a bit in need of care, leveling, and clean up of brush. Having a store, many restaurant choices (though $$$) is a treat and the pool is fantastic, especially with the high heat of the desert. Large open areas to walk the pooches, just have to watch out for critter droppings and stay off the horse trails. Staff was very hospitable and seemed to enjoy their jobs. Ambient light at night is minimal so star gazing is spectacular. Areas provides for campfires as well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2014
$37
We agree with the other reviews sadly this campsite is terrible. Our site was so small and not long or wide enough for our truck and trailer and have space to sit out. We could not put out the awning because the area has not been maintained and dead trees were in the way. Because of fencing at the back of the site to try to give some privacy this meant that our sewerage connection was 3 feet into our neighbor's site. Our 23 ft sewer pipe would not reach until we had backed just an inch from the fencing, our electric connection is at the back so this had a knock on effect of having to connect the electric before we had fully parked and unhitched. The reception staff had a take it or leave it attitude as they are always full at this of year as there is nowhere else to stay unless you dry camp or drive in from outside of the park. The whole RV park area is very run down and unkempt. The prices in the general store as said by other reviewers are horrendous and gas/diesel is over $5 a gallon, which ok is slightly cheaper than at Panamint Springs. We cannot recommend this campsite at all. We have awarded it 2 solely because the internet/wifi was excellent, but we came here to have a nice experience camping while seeing the stunning sights of Death Valley. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2014
$37
I agree with most of what the previous reviewer had to say. The place has a generally trashy look. There's pet feces everywhere. The RV sites must have been an afterthought. Some of them are just in a row on a strip of asphalt. Some are crammed in between what used to be trees. We got the later. They're all different widths and ours was so narrow our slides were into the bushes on both sides. We went back and requested a different site as many were vacant. The staff refused to even try to accommodate us. What you get is what you get! We spent 8 days without being able to open basement doors. The streets and turns are very tight, but we did manage with our 40 footer; the wife had to "spot" even on the turns. Xanterra really is gouging you on prices. There should be some kind of NPS oversight on these people. An avocado was $4. I saw unleaded gas from $5.42 to $5.98. I had to purchase this outrageous gas twice. Death Valley is a huge park and there's lots of driving to see everything. When the wind blows really hard (only 1 night for us) the power goes on and off repeatedly. We called the office and were told, yeah the wind's blowing and it does that. We finally shut the breaker off and went to bed. We were NOT charged an extra fee for use of the pool and the WiFi. We used both and paid nothing additional. I would not come back here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2014
$37
Disappointments abound I am reluctant to criticize a Nation Park facility but, I think this place is so wrong that I have to say something. Furnace Creek was taken over by Xanterra when this company was given the rights to run all concessions on our national parks. At first I was reluctant to pass judgement even though I had prior experience with Xanterra run facilities. This place pretty much is a clone of other Xanterra resorts we've stayed in; over-priced, poorly staffed and unkempt. Here in lies the problems. Extreme gouging on prices and services. I don't mean a buck or two here and there but, expect to pay almost double; bread $5 bucks a loaf, one tomato for $3 bucks, etc. I don't know if Xanterra runs the Chevron but, we saw gas and diesel for $5.42/gal. General appearance of the whole place is trashy and junky. The RV park has all the appearances of a dump. They have dumpsters spread out through the park without thought to where they have them. Many are located next to parking sites. Coyotes roam the park in broad daylight and at night due to the dumpsters and food garbage for them. I saw several dumpsters that were dirty and smelly which adds to animals in the park. I dare say a confrontation between a guest and animal is very possible. The park workers have taken probably two thirds of the camp sites and they have added to the unkempt and junky image. Many have setup house and have an abundance of personal items and cars that liter their personal areas. The lots are unkempt and not level at all. I saw many people that have to come up with creative ways to level their coaches and trailers. The hookups are poorly located on the lots, and in our case, my sewer hose ran uphill slightly. Everybody parks on basically dirt and gravel while the streets are crumbled asphalt. Hidden fees. The daily rate we were quoted was $37.00/day but they forgot to mention the hidden fee of $12.00/day for WiFi, water, electric and pool usage fee. Outdoor bar-b-Que $27/person for cafeteria style food. A buffet and cafe that charges way too much. No designated parking places when you pull in for disconnecting the tow vehicle or parking to leave the coach while you go inside to check in. Real problems with narrow streets and over abundance of unkempt and untrimmed trees. Narrow streets with tight corners and turns. If we had it to do again, I think we would have gone to the state park right next door. The park looks very well maintained and they do have lots that have full hookups. They do not have a swimming pool but, as it was, the overcrowding in the pool area meant we could not use the swimming pool anyway the 7 days we were here. the other saving grace for this place is the fact that the park has so much to do and places to go that we did not spend a lot of time in our coaches. Allow for the lack of gas at affordable prices and no grocery or mini marts in a 60 mile radius. I would suggest stocking up in Pahrup before driving into Death Valley. Also, top off you fuel as the gas in Pahrup was $2.00/gal cheaper then here. Pahrup also has a Walmart and a Smith's grocery store. Prices are more in line with elsewhere. In closing - if you come here, realize you will be poorly served and gauging is everywhere and for everything. The park is beautiful and offers a lot of outdoor activities for the whole family.Good luck! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2014
$37
The park is not run by the National Park Service. Therefore there are no discounts when using your NPS card. The park is old and run down. Greatly in need of repairs and a good overhaul. It is not big rig friendly. Narrow streets and some trees that can cause you problems. Our site was one of the worst I have had. There is a large propane tank within 5 feet of my front door. I have to believe there is some law about parking that close to an LPG tank. Also next to the laundromat which has a evaporation cooler running all the time, and a garbage bin. Dirt parking makes everything dusty. Tried to have them change my spot, but they were not cooperative. There is also a $12 per day resort fee on top of your daily rental fee. Prices on everything are really high here, so bring everything you need for your stay while you are here so you can avoid paying exorbitant prices. Friends we were traveling with had electrical issues, and the 50 amp plug was installed upside down in the pedestal. Sewer was extremely far away. Had to use an extension hose, and it ran uphill. Lots are also not level, so leveling your coach can be a real problem. I would not stay here again. Would recommend using the NPS park next door where there are some sites with utilities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2014
$37
We called and made reservations for a 40' RV two months before our arrival. Our site was able to handle our length but unfortunately not the width of slide outs or awning. With help from two neighbors it took an hour to back in. No space for the truck or even a table. Sewer hookup is at the far back and out of reach for my 25 foot hose. There are spaces that are wider and have wider access streets but you are at the mercy of the reservation system unless you know the exact space numbers. This is a park for smaller RVs and not a place that I would use with anything longer than 30 feet and a single slider. On our next trip we will either camp in Beatty and drive into the park or take the camper and dry camp. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$34
No "RV" signs on the 190, so make sure you're at the RANCH and not the INN. The reservations clerk, cell reception, and the Wi-Fi get a "10", as all were great, but the rest of the park gets an 8. The sites are pretty narrow, but the road is wide enough for easy back-in. The 50-amp breaker kept blowing when we used the AC and microwave together. Even though the park is surrounded by beautiful Death Valley mountains, NO view from the RV site, which was disapointing. Dog poop everywhere. A lone coyote has made the park his home, and wanders through it daily. The pool and other amenities looked very nice. A borax museum, golf course, general store, cafe, saloon, and steakhouse are on site. Plenty of places to ride your bicycle, but lots of traffic. Having checked out the full hook-ups at the Furnace Creek NPS campground nextdoor, we'll stay there next time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2013
$32
Note this is NOT the NPS campground. No ambiance in the campground itself although the main resort area is nice. Tight maneuvering (we were in a 37' motorhome). Enter through the north side driveway and drop any toad before going to campsite (you can hookup the toad in the bus area when leaving). Campground is basically a flat sandy stretch back in the employee area with narrow strips of asphalt for the rig. Very exposed to sandstorms out of the south (campsites back up to the south facing fence with no wind break) - a sandstorm greeted us at check in. Good drainage (not normally an issue here, but we did get 0.57" of rain one day). Power levels were low - trying to run two high current items at the same time did not work. Sewer runs slightly uphill! WiFi was decent and while it is supposedly not included in the campsite fee, it MAY actually be included - try connecting using site number without the "S". So for site TS68, use room number T68. Lots of traffic (golf carts) through campsite area. However, the campground can't be beat, if you want other than dry camping, for touring the south side of the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2013
$37
The park is a great central place to stay to get around the Valley. Directly across from the RV parking is employee apartment style housing, and adjacent there are many trailers and mobile homes that are parked on the small "streets" that surround the RV area. All of the employees were very friendly, and it is fun to walk around and see how everyone has their little slice of home life set up. You back your RV into your space, and if you have a larger RV, it is somewhat tight to make the turn-in. All of the hook ups are at the very rear of the site, and as others have mentioned, the hook-up for sewer is uphill so you should have some type of support for your sewer hose in order to make grade and get drainage. The only reason I didn't give the park a higher star rating was because it was difficult even with my supports to get grade for of the sewer hook-up. Electricity was stable, cable TV hookup worked well, and water pressure was decent. We could not get our Wi-Fi to work until we called a telephone support number, but after some assistance it worked very well. The swimming pool is fed by a hot spring and is 85 degrees year round. Be mindful not to leave your awning out while you are away touring because high winds can come up on a moment’s notice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$32
Stayed here for three nights. The sites themselves are nothing special. Half concrete pads, half sand (at least the section along the fence that borders the Indian reservation). The employee sites are very nice, but unfortunately we couldn't use any of those. Its a tight back in for a RV in some of the guest spots. You have to get almost 90 degrees to make it. As a previous reviewer mentioned, you need a long run of sewer hose to make it to the connection. And, its slightly uphill so it's best to have a hose support that will help things run downhill. The pool was excellent, quiet. warm, and relaxing. There is several places to eat and get groceries on the property, but beware things are a little pricey. Overall, it was a relaxing and enjoyable experience, and we would definitely come back again. This is also probably your best option during the summer months if you want to be in the center of the valley since most other campgrounds are closed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2012
$32
This is a great place to stay. The resort is a spot of green with palm trees and even a golf course. The rentals were mostly motel style rooms. There are not many places to live in Death Valley so most of the employees live here and are mingled through out the resort. The roads are paved and employees use golf carts to get around. It was designed to encourage walking, and we felt very safe even at night. Within a short distance were a beautiful, hot spring fed swimming pool, the golf course, Borax museum, and outdoor display of old wagons and equipment, a saloon, store, and restaurants. We only stayed 2 nights but had to move to the park campground due to reservations. The place we moved to is less than a mile down the road and a huge flat graveled area just across the road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2011
$31
Stayed over Thanksgiving. We chose this park because it was the only one in Death Valley that would take reservations, and one of two that had full hookups. Wi-Fi is available but the cost is not included in the fee for the site. Cable TV is not normally available but we lucked out and got a site that was behind long term sites and we were able to hook in. Long run to the septic, so had to purchase an extension. Lots of open land right outside of grounds so great places to take the dogs. Great location within walking distance of all the amenities of Furnace Creek. Pool, golf course, horse back riding, museum. Great location to see Death Valley from. The site was pretty level: a basic graveled site. No picnic table or fire pit. If you want a full hookup, this is a great place to be. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$31
Very nice people, no Wi-Fi, full hookup, pool, laundry. We stayed one night and would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2011
$33
As noted in the prior reviews this is not a typical RV park. The primary purpose of this facility is to provide RV/camper space for the Furnace Creek Inn employees, but they also rent out a few spaces to RVers. We found the facility to be safe, quiet, and the best/only full hookups alternative at Furnace Creek. We would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2010
$30
Not much choice for hookup RV parks in Furnace Creek, this is it! The resort area is very nice, but our spot was kind of run down and backed up to a fence with a full timer trailer as a neighbor. Really not a problem though, the park was quiet and safe. No Wi-Fi and cable was not in all spots. Did have cell service though. The big draw for us was the really nice hot springs pool which is included in the nightly price. Very clean, big, deep (8' in most of it) and warm natural hot water. Most enjoyed that! The rest of the facility was pretty nice, only downside was the full time trailers at one end of the park. It has a nice general store, museum restaurants and a post office, golf and tennis. We reserved by phone a few days in advance and were told we got next to the last spot, funny because when we checked in the desk clerk said they had plenty of vacancies ??? I wonder about things like that. Still we would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$31
We were gonna stay across the street at the NP CG, but the DW wanted h/us as we were gonna be here for several days. The check-in process was slow as they register for the resort here too and there was a snooty German couple that was asking all kinds of questions and pretending they didn't know anything. Then there was a guy checking in for a whole group with all their different cards,etc. When the clerk got to me, he apologized and I was out of there in no-time. Security took us to our site in the back and we set up. Cable didn't work, but I traced it down the next day and fixed it, for which I got a couple of free beers in the saloon. It is sandy and windy and we were backed up to the fence, but hey, this is Death Valley. The General Store is great, the Saloon is also great and the restaurant, while a bit pricey, was world class. We really enjoyed our stay there. However, the last night the wind did blow over 60 mph and we rocked, but not as bad as at the NP CG across the street. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$35
We stayed here two nights because the national park sites were all booked up, and glad that we stayed here instead. This place is in the Furnace Creek Ranch, and is toward the back of the camp among full timers and employee RV sites just by the fence. It's not in wide open spaces as you might expect in this huge national park, but not too tight for California standards. Full hookups made it all worth it, since the temperature was up to 101 even in April. There are restaurants and stores within a short walking distance, as well as a nice pool with warmed spring water, very nice for kids/family, as well as a stable and golf course. We saw other RV parks further up the road as well as at Stovepipe Springs: they were just parking lots with no shade. Glad we stayed here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$31
This was my first trip to Death Valley, although this resort is great, the RV sites rough but large very large. They just put in 7-8 more sites while we were there and they were not nearly as big as ours. Some sites have cable others don't. There are a lot of full time trailers here. We would go back, the have a Cafe, a Saloon, a nicer restaurant and shops. We toured on our motorcycle in the day and had a blast. So much to see and the entire area is user friendly. There is golf, horseback riding, and lots of attractions. Great for families. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
December 2009
$30
RV area was outside of main resort, along a perimeter fence behind an apartment building. It was a filthy spot in an ugly setting. The 30amp power was sporadic: likely due to high winds the night we were here. The office staff was overwhelmed during our checkout. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2009
$45
Very poorly kept sites - example: site next to ours had old broken sewer hose and broken chair that had obviously been there for some time, and after mentioning this at front desk, nothing was done. Campground showers did not exist, all showers had to be taken at the Hotel pool, a long walk from site in 115 degrees! Clearly the management and staff of this "Resort" cater only to their hotel guests and treat RV customers like visitors from a third world country! We left early and shall never return! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
January 2008
$29
We stayed here for four nights, not much you can say about this site. Tight squeeze when backing into space, had to hunt for the cable hookup, no sewer hookup (it was behind a fence, unable to reach it), spaces are among the employee RV's. The Stovepipe Wells RV park is much better. Won't stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2007
$28
First time registrants take 15-20 minutes at least for office staff to enter information on computer. Security escorted us to the site. Our site was gravel and easy to back in (for our 24 foot Class C), but some sites were fairly narrow. RV campsites surrounded by resort workers campsites. Surrounding trees helped shelter us a bit from the wind unlike the national park campground across the highway which is wide open. Our sewer outlet was hard to access as it was located on another site behind us with a fence in between sites. The resort has several restaurants, souvenir shop, and the Borax museum. With it being the only full hookup campground in Furnace Creek. I would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2004
$28
Very rude, very dusty,pets welcome but no where to walk them. Will never stay at this campground again, the employees are very very rude. They booked our site for the next night even though we had it booked and told us we had to move. Stay at the Park sites even with out hookups I'd rather support the park than put money in the concession pockets. We stayed in Death Valley in March and even though it was in the 90's it wasn't bad with the breeze. We didn't need the AC. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2004
$28
Very RUDE and SURLY check-in employees. They could care less whether you stay or go away. Typical attitude for a tourist destination. There are aproximately 100 more RV sites here, but are all taken by employee's or local help and they only rent out 12 spaces total. Sites are un-level dirt that is dusty when dry and muddy when wet. The hookup pedestals are in need of repair. Do not plan on arriving early as they will not let you check in until 2pm. They will lie to you and tell you there are no sites "ready" yet before 2pm when in reality they are as ready as they will ever be. Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com