220830 User submitted reviews online!!
O'Neil Creek Campground was rated 5 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (715) 723-6581
CGID3238

O'Neil Creek Campground

Camp Information
Sites
450
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   3   8   7   8   6   1   6   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
This is a large park, located on a stream that runs through the heart of the campground. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The office store not stocked with much. Much to do for campers i.e. putt-putt golf, tubing down the stream, and fishing nearby, but you pay for everything you want to do at this park. The pull through sites have no sewer hookups. They were long enough for my 34' RV and toad, but not sure a 40' plus could stay without unhooking tow car. The sites are closer together than we like, but okay. It rained as we arrived, and we waded through puddles of standing water to get to our door. (Note: In fairness, it did drain rapidly where we were, but some areas of the park looked to be small lakes.) An older park, with tons of permanent RVs, some pretty run down looking. This park is the only park we could find in the Eau Clair area (there is one other, we later found out), but I would not stay here again without a good reason. It is not our kind of place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
This is a seasonal campground, not brig ig friendly. Big rigs would not be able to cross the bridge; they would drag. They advertise WI-FI, but it is non existent. We had to turn around in their garbage dump area to go back to our site. Extremely steep entrance; most units will drag entering campground. Waterfront sites are taken by seasonal units. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$13
Very nicely wooded, full of nature. Creek runs through the campground. Temporary sites were within proximity to the office for wifi access at the site. Spring rains made the area surrounding the site a swamp. It was a very muddy stay. Nice laundry facilities, clean showers/bathrooms that could use some updating. Dog friendly, and the seasonal residents are very warm. As the weather warmed, the campground became quite lively on the weekend. Tubes can be rented for a ride down the creek, and there are paddle-boats, rowboats, etc., for rent. Beautiful playgrounds for the kids, and mini golf/horseshoes. Limited camp store but this was being renovated at the time of our stay. Tick checks are necessary daily, and with all that wonderful nature does come a lot of bugs. Leveling was a bit tricky on the grass sites, which were very close together. We would absolutely come again. A very friendly place to stay, and great for kids. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
This was a fun campground to stay at. They had some activities for kids and a creek to swim in and tube on. People were friendly even with the crazy, busy weekend. Fireworks were really good considering it's a campground putting them on. I didn't have a site with sewer, but I wasn't worried because their website states they have a honey cart. However, I learned, on Saturday, that their cart does not operate on the weekends. Anyway, not the biggest deal but would have been nice to know before hand. Most sites seem to be fairly tight, but are do able. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$29
We came in on a Monday and it was very quiet. It was nice to see nice grassy sites. The sites were very small and close together. No one was around us so it was not an issue. I had asked for a 30 amp site with full hookups and we were put on a 20 amp site with NO sewer. We only stayed for one night so that was not an issue either but would have been nice to get what I had asked for when I placed the reservation. It did appear to be in nice shape and well taken care of. All of there dumpsters were extremely full and needed to be emptied. I do not believe we will be back as there is many more options in that area that we could explore in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$33
Overall, an ok campground, nothing special. They really had campers packed in close. We were on a newer site with sewer so not as bad but still close. Luckily we camped with good friends. Can tube down the stream but have to walk to drop in point and stream was flowing very fast even though it wasn't deep. There is a small beach area on the stream but again because of the current it is hard to really swim. The little ones certainly weren't safe there. The newer playground was nice. Store was sparse. Lots of golf carts running around. Also long walk to get anywhere. Probably won't go back- too many nicer ones out there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2008
$23
This is a Dr. Jeykl/Mr. Hyde park. Monday thru Thursday this is a quiet peaceful park with friendly office staff and residents. Friday Mr Hyde arrives. Unfortunately, the management doesn't enforce the rules, so expect to have both children and adults walking thru your site, a constant irritating parade of gas golf carts going by, and campfire smoke from unattended fires blanketing the grounds from 8am to well after 12 midnight. We were sandwiched between 4 families that indulged in loud drinking parties well after midnight, then awakened early as well, to cranky tired children that the parents had difficulty managing. We would never stay here again on Friday, Saturday or Sunday! However, if you like to party and let your children and pets run wild, this is a perfect campground for your family. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2006
$22
We were in a pull-thru area which was reasonably spacious. However, no close restrooms-showers. This is a predominantly seasonal family recreation area. The non pull thru areas were very crowded. OK for a night, but this park is geared to families with kids. Friendly and helpful office person. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$22
This campground is large and very family friendly. Some of the sites seem very narrow and with slide outs the space can be tight. I would suggest staying away from 86-91 as they are very narrow. The sites in the 70's seem larger. Also the creek was low on water and hard for a boat to get around but the kids loved it for tubing and swimming. Overall I think things have changed from the previous postings for this campground and I would go back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$24
I had read some of the previous comments and was worried after I had made my reservation. But I was pretty happy with the campground. I'm used to camping at State and County parks where the sites are usually pretty big and spacious. That is the one drawback to this place. The sites are, in my opinion, very small. I have a 33' travel trailer and they had me backing into a spot where I couldn't stay parked with my truck hooked up. The place is cramped. All sites are right on top of everyone else. Most sites are seasonal... But nice to walk through and see what people have done to their campers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$22
This is not the first review for this campground. We stayed here in early spring of 2002, and we would have agreed with the previous reviews. We went back this past weekend and discovered the owners have done a lot to correct the problems the previous reviewer experienced. We were escorted to our site and the owner directed my husband as he backed in. Most of the large boulders were gone. There was a Bounder rally here that weekend. Parking those big class A's didn't appear to be an issue. It's a huge campground with many, many seasonal sites. Most of those sites were well kept, and most units looked in good repair. A creek snakes through the campground. Seasonal sites line the shore. Innertubes can be rented for $1 @ hour, and it's pleasant to float through the park. There is a small beach area on the creek. It flows into a very large lake. We had a very nice time and would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2002
$25
I answered "Don't Know" wherever possible because we did not stay here. We made a reservation about two months before we planned to be in this area. We called to cancel over a week before our arranged arrival date and were told that our one-night depost of $25 was not refundable. We reccomend that you find SOMEPLACE ELSE! This is just BAD BUSINESS!!! We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2001
$20
The main reason we stayed here were the 30 amp hookups! The web site made it sound great and the Trailer Life ratings were high. Sites are OK size, but there was no buffer between them. We had to move our vehicle to allow the neighbors to move one of their many cars. If we had used our fire ring, we would have most likely started one of the neighbor's tents on fire! They cater to seasonal campers mostly. (More than 1/2 of the sites are seasonal). The best sites are all seasonal. The weekend campers are all thrown into a large field, one on top of the other. Campground was dirty with litter all over (site was not cleaned before we arrived). May have been from the out-of-control kids. Place caters to kids as there are shallow creeks to wade and float in. We didn't check out the facilities as we were self contained. They did have shower houses, etc. The dump did work upon departure. The campground folks violated their own quiet hour rules by driving a fork lift truck through the campground shortly after 8:00 am on Monday morning. That's when they started trimming trees and hauling brush. Reservations made 2 months in advance were disregarded and a very poor site was assigned upon arrival. Not that the original site would have been that much of an improvement! If you like a "zoo" with many, many children running all over the place, this is it! Many campsites had an excessive amount of cars and a large part of the campground was assigned to a large group. This seems to be a place for family groups to gather as there doesn't seem to be a limit on # vehicles, # people, or # tents in a site. We will never return! Next time it's the State Park! Please note that we did stay here on Leinenkugel's weekend in August, so the place was really crowded. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2001
$20
Park is not suitable for big rigs. Very few pull throughs and pull through spaces have minimal room to maneuver. Getting into and out of the park is akin to navigating an obstacle course. Interior roads are narrow and lined with trees, large boulders, etc. leaving no room for driver error. Campground has many permanent/seasonal/park models. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com