220830 User submitted reviews online!!
Madison KOA was rated 8 out of 10 based on 55 user reviews. Phone: (608) 846-4528
CGID3239

Madison KOA

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$50



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   10   7   9   9   8   7   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2014
$50
Not a bad place for a one night stop, but not long term. The location is a little remote and a little expensive for what you get. The bathrooms were very clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$48
100% pull-through full-hookup sites. A little short by today's standards--we are 50' total with truck and trailer, and were almost hanging out the ends of the site. Easy to get into due to layout of the park. Adequate space for awning and slides if you have them. No shade at any site I saw, weak Wi-Fi signal. VERY pleasant and helpful staff, escorted to site, spray-disinfected the water hookup, helped us line up with sewer, took and returned propane tank for fill. Ideal location for overnight stop, the trade-off is significant road noise from nearby interstate. Otherwise very quiet. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$45
This is an extremely well kept campground. In the past, we have not had good luck with KOAs but this one changed our mind. The sites are gravel but level. The bathrooms are very clean with soap provided in the shower. There is plenty of open space for children to play in plus each site is very large. We will definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$50
A pleasant park to stay in while touring the Madison area. Friendly staff. Traffic noise from I-39 noticeable. We could not connect to the free wifi. Good tasting water. Nice dog park. We enjoyed our stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$48
This is a very nice, well-appointed KOA. Sites are gravel and reasonably level, grounds and areas between sites are well-maintained grass. Bathhouse is modern and spotless. Wi-Fi is decent. No cable, but the antenna picked up a strong signal from all of the Madison stations. Friendly, helpful staff delivers firewood and fire rings to your site. There is some shade, but most sites are open and unshaded. Restaurants and other services are nearby. The only (minor) negative is the proximity to the interstate and some road noise. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$50
One of the nicest KOA's we have ever visited with very nice couple running the place. Lots of things in easy walking distance: Subway, Taco Bell, Burger King and a Wisconsin Cheese shop. Easy in/out close to I-94. Will return.. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$48
We are not big fans of KOAs but this was a nice surprise. Easy on/off the interstate. It was a bit difficult to find the entrance to the campground because there was no typical giant KOA sign. Turn right after the Subway. The biggest check in area have ever experienced. Staff was friendly and helpful. We had an escort to our site and our escort even sprayed disinfectant on the water hydrant. Some of the sites are close together. We only hooked up electric so cannot speak about the other utilities. Our Verizon phones and MiFi device worked well. Propane service is available and reasonably priced, and will even pick up and deliver for you if you have portable tanks. Fuel and fast food restaurants are right down the street, I was surprised that there were so many weekend campers enjoying themselves because this did not seem to be the typical destination type campground. This campground was more expensive than we would usually spend but we felt fortunate that we found such a nice place for an overnight stop during a holiday weekend. We will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$39
Stopped here just for overnight heading south. We called a couple of days before we arrived, and the host let us know the water supply was being shut down for the season, so we made sure our tank had enough for the night. We appreciated them letting us know. Nice wide entry, the propane filling station was convenient, so we filled up before we park. It was cold and rainy so we really didn't see much of the park to review it. This was easy on and off the Interstate, level site, it looks like it could feel a little crowded during the season. We did see a fenced dog area with agility type of equipment in it, our pup would have enjoyed it. Sprint and Verizon worked well, clear view of sky for roof top satellite. Don't usually stop at KOAs, because of price, but this one worked for us. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$42
Yes this is a KOA, however, one of the better ones due to the great hosts. The hosts were welcoming and extremely helpful with information of what was on and where to go. The sites were well spaced, level and all pull throughs. The bathrooms were kept clean and pool was good. We stayed extra days and would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$43
We really enjoyed staying at this park. From the entrance, which was nice and wide with plenty of parking to the friendliness of the staff, it was a great first impression & the rest of the stay was equally as nice. I made my reservation online and then realized a week out that I was off by a day, so I called. The staff was very pleasant and willing to correct my problem. The sites were level with grass in between. The place was extremely clean and well cared for. It was a short drive into Madison and we went in daily over our 4 days. My dog loved the off leash dog park. It's nice to let him roam free when we are on the road for months at a time. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$46
This was an easy on, easy off I-94; with gas, and dining, etc. nearby. It is also just 15 – 20 minutes from downtown Madison. This KOA is conveniently located, well maintained, and friendly. No cable TV, but several broadcast stations can be picked up on antenna. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$40
My initial impression about this park was that the sites were too close together. I usually stay in state parks and enjoy larger, more private sites. Fortunately, it was early May so the park wasn't too full. We did enjoy our stay. The campground hosts are very nice. The dogs enjoyed being off their leash and running around the dog park. Although we didn't use them, the shower houses were very clean. The Wi-Fi came in handy since I had to do some work while I was there. It also is very close to Madison and not too far from the casino so we decided to try out our luck since it happened to be a kid free weekend. I'm sure that in the summer time the kids would enjoy the playground and pool. The full hookups are wonderful considering we have a family of five. We would definitely stay here again if we return to the Madison area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2013
$43
Friendly and helpful staff,nice playground and pool,sites were roomy enough and level. Several fast-food restaurants in the immediate area. We were here for a graduation in Madison and not being familiar with the area, I thought we would be closer to the U of W Madison, but it was a 30 minute drive away. When the area was dry, the campground was dusty, and when it rained, our site was flooded right outside our door hence the rating of "5". There was a 2 hour limit on the Wi-Fi. Would recommend it for an overnight stay, but we probably won't be back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$36
We always stay here when in the Madison area. This KOA is conveniently located, well maintained, and friendly. The owners are always making improvements. No cable TV, but several broadcast stations can be picked up on antenna. Wi-Fi was reliable. Don't forget to stock up at Ehlenbach's (wonderful cheese) nearby. We stayed 8 nights. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$41
This is our first time here in almost 4 years. We had a FHU pull-through site that was satellite friendly. That describes most (about 80) of the sites in the park. We were here on the first weekend of August and the park was fairly full. The free Wi-Fi was a bit unusual. You could use it in 2 hour blocks - if you were on it for more than 2 hours it would disconnect. I'm guessing that they had problems with people staying connected 24/7 thus reducing connectibility for others. They also advise that excessive bandwith use will result in termination of usage. These limitations are not a problem for us. As others have mentioned these are several "walk to" fast food places nearby and a small pool. This is a nice, convenient (4 hours from home) park that serves our needs well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$44
Park is very convenient to the Interstate being about 300 yards to the east. Despite this the traffic noise is minimal and you really have to look to see it. Friendly staff, level sites and restaurants nearby. If you want to stay here make sure to make a reservation because they fill up quick. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$42
The owner is very nice and helpful. This is a good one or two nights place to stay but nothing really special about the campground. Site was close to level and all pull-throughs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$30
Nice folks, clean park, good facilities, close enough to the highway. We were lucky enough to find this park just as it was opening for the season. There aren't a lot of choices around Madison, which sometimes can lead to pretty crummy parks, but this one made for a pleasant stay. The owners and employees were making improvements to the office/game room to better accommodate teenagers when we stayed and, while the pool wasn't yet open, it was really nice-looking and well maintained. Traffic is one-way throughout the park, I think making things safer for walkers and kids on bikes. We don't use cable, but Wi-Fi is important, and it was good. The laundry room seems to be the one part of the park that hasn't been worked on recently. The machines are older and it's just kind of tired looking, but everything was working. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$38
Easy access to/from the interstate; wide, level sites; friendly staff. A bit pricey, but it is a well cared-for campground. The gravel roads and sites are well maintained, and the grass is lush. Lots of tenting areas and open space for walking pets, playing frisbee, etc. We would recommend this campground to friends and will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$45
Visiting in area..great park. Easy on and off interstate. Friendly staff, clean park, loved the K9-fenced area. Satellite friendly, sites were level and easy assess; all pull-through sites. Many updates since our last stay in 2009. The new pavilion was awesome. Will be back again since we travel in this area every year! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$43
In a word, overpriced. The good: lots of grass, pretty close to Madison, had a nice big field out back to run the dogs in, and what trees they had were shady. The internet worked, but not well. Wifi signal was weak. The bad: the park is too close to a major interstate (I39, I90, I94) and the traffic noise was extreme most of the time, interior roads were dusty or muddy, depending on the weather, the official "dog park" consists of one tiny fenced area in a large field, spaces are too close, and most spaces have no trees at all. Really, the youngest tree looks to be at least 15 or 20 years old. That means that in 15 or 20 years nobody has bothered to plant a single tree. With a few more feet of fencing, the dog park might have actually been usable. In retrospect, this seems to be one of those parks that doesn't believe in investment. The place was quite full while we were there (4 days) so they must think there's no room for improvement. If that's the case, then they are mistaken. But, they never asked my opinion. I would not go back there, and can't recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$42
We enjoyed our stay here. It just doesn't stand out in our minds. The sites are level and all pull throughs. The roads are dirt and gravel with grass between the sites. The sites were spaced somewhat close but the hookups were good. The people were nice but the park is just a KOA park. Adequate but not cheap. That being said we would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$41
Easy to/from Interstate. Nice wide level spaces, some with shade. Roads were mostly dirt with some gravel. It had rained and they were muddy. Escorted to site, staff were very friendly and helpful. Park looks well maintained. Wi-Fi is a bit iffy, very slow at times, could be better. No cable TV which we thought for the price should be included. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$41
Park is very nice. Spaces are long and well spaced so you do not feel cramped. Roads are dirt and gravel so there is some dust. The park is kept very clean and the staff are very friendly. Price is a little higher than I like, but that is usually the case for KOA. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$47
Typical KOA. We were escorted to our site which had been reserved in advance. Sight was gravel, we needed to add one board under the right side wheels to level. Washrooms/showers were okay, but not close to us and there is only one building for it. Staff was friendly and helpful. Close to the highway but no road noise, and close to groceries and fuel. I would not recommend eating at the nearby "Sunset" restaurant - the KOA manager recommended it but it was not good - food was very slow and orders were not correct. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$41
We usually visit the Madison area in the Fall, but decided to visit over the 4th of July for a change. We stayed a total of 9 days. Every year we notice improvements to the campground. The location is great for us for visiting people and places in several different directions. We found the campground much busier due to summer vacations, but the staff was very helpful and friendly, and most campers were courteous and thoughtful. Our main complaint would be wind blown smoke from campfires, but that's part of the camping experience, huh? There should be cable TV included for the price paid, but we were able to capture several broadcast stations. A change from before was a two hour limit per day for free Wi-Fi. We had no trouble with that limit, but others might have to pay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$33
We have been staying at this KOA for several years. The very accommodating management work hard to please the campers and to make improvements to the campground. We received the off-season rate and the KOA discount for our stay of 11 days. The sites are easily accessed. We feel very safe here since it is located behind a state trooper station. The access on and off the interstate is easily negotiated. Madison and the surrounding communities and attractions are nearby. A few more trees, cable TV and a tennis court would earn this campground a perfect score. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$35
This very neat park is easy on and off with friendly check in. We were escorted to the site, and our faucet was disinfected. The site was long enough not to unhook our big rig. It was level gravel with a grassy area. There is a nice playground, horseshoes, propane, clean restrooms, and 5 washer laundry. A recycling bin is provided. Major networks are available with antenna. WiFi, 50 amps, and Verizon worked well. The pool was closed. There were 2 sewer connections at our site. Many are open for satellite. Even though it is close to the highway, we were not bothered by noise. We will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$40
Nice clean, well laid out and well kept CG. They have a nice off leash dog run. There was no cable TV; but for the price it should. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$44
Friendly staff and convenient location. Quiet. Wi-Fi poor at our site. A bit pricey. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$42
A good place with nice folks. This is our first RV trip and I'm noticing KOA's being a little more expensive than other parks. Not sure why. The facilities at each campsite in the parks, seem to be about the same as others, which is all we look for in a place. The office, pool, etc., do not concern us much. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
This is a great overnight campground just off the Interstate. Easy in late at night and the "new" owners continue to amaze me with their many improvements. Everthing you need plus a nice newer pool and patio. Been stay here on overnights for six years. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$41
Nice campground, easy in and out. Staff very friendly and helpful. Great family restaurant just down the road. Cheese store close and Red Onion market has great selection of home made brats. Would have rated higher but sites are pretty tight and roads muddy when it rains. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
We found this campground to be very clean and family friendly. We had a nice little family reunion with my brothers and sisters and enjoyed it very much. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$42
Great place right off I-90/94/39. Roads are good for big rigs. Sites are long so unhooking a 'towed' is not necessary. Staff was friendly. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$43
We have been coming to this KOA for five years, staying a week each year. When we first came here the new owners had just taken over and the place was being renovated. Since then, we have witnessed improvements every year and the place now looks GREAT! It is very clean and neat. The pool was added a few years ago and is a perfect size. Highly recommend this KOA for family enjoyment. Close to so much, and nice playground and dog friendly! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$36
This was our second stay here this year due a necessary northward start to out annual fall trip down south to MS and LA. As I noted in my July review this is an above average RV park. As it is near the end of the season up here, there were only about 15 rigs in the park. Surprisingly, the WIFI was not very reliable. When we were here in July with a full park, the WIFI worked fine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$38
This park was a one night stop for us. We were pleased that the nightly rate included Wi-Fi without any extra charge. I would have rated it higher if cable was included. The facilities were well kept and the staff was friendly. There was ample space for dog walking. We would stay here again for an overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$39
We've stayed at this campground when we are in the area a number of times over the last couple of years. It's always clean, the staff is helpful and friendly, and the price is pretty much average for a KOA, I believe. The price we paid was with our KOA saver card. It's accessible to the Madison area. We would go there again, and probably will in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$40
Stayed here during a recent business trip. Fairly well kept appearance. Owners are very personable. Would stay here again if business dictates. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2009
$44
We stayed only because it was the closest campground to Madison. This is an old KOA with gravel (dusty roads) and gravel pull-through sites. The staff was courteous and nice. Price was with KOA discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$43
A nice park, clean, neat and well kept. Pull-through spaces for coach and tow were just barely long enough to accommodate our 37-foot coach and toad. It was very tight to get in and out of the site. Compared to other comparable parks that we have stayed at, in Wisconsin and Iowa on this trip: this KOA was overpriced by nearly $10.00 per night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$43
We stayed here for one night as a stop over and were very pleased. We needed RV service, and it is located near a Camping World. Our generator would not run and camping World referred us to an Onan repair center who took us in and fixed our problem promptly. Good Wi-Fi and cable. Would use this campground again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
It is a clean campground, typical of KOA facility. We had easy in and easy out in our motorhome. The staff were friendly and helpful. We would camp there again but the price did seem a bit high. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
A very convenient park to the interstate but does have some highway noise. There are also a factory and an airport nearby that contributes some noise. The sites are gravel/dirt and level. Some sights were tight. Although there were other 50 amp sites available they frequently parked someone on our narrow side so we could barely get out our awning. With the windows open or while outdoors we occasionally smelled manure. There are lots of tenters on the weekends. The Verizon signal was good. A nice park though and well maintained. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
This is a nice KOA with good utilities and adequate sites for most RVs. Previous reviews have mentioned some other positives. The new pool is a bit on the small side and there is no cable but most sites are satellite friendly. Gravel roads and sites cause some dust in dry spells but I did see the staff hosing down some of the roadways. There is also interstate traffic noise which may bother some folks. The free WIFI worked well for us at the site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
This is one of the nicest parks we have ever stayed at. A very clean family park. There is easy access to park from highway and easy in/out from sites. The staff is friendly and helpful. The store is well stocked and there are plenty of large, open, grass areas for pets and playing. It is a great base camp for lower Wisconsin and the Wisconsin Dells. Great place for an overnight stay or for a week. Fast food restaurants are within walking distance and the state patrol is next door. We stayed here in a travel trailer and will definitely stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
Nice overnight stop. Easy in and out. Nice staff. Saturdays there is a nice farmers market in Madison that you should not miss. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$34
You can't believe how nice of a KOA this is. The people are the best and the place is so clean. So easy to get on and off the highway. It holds all of the other KOA's to a higher standard. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$34
All pull throughs make this a good overnighter, however we stayed a week. Nice managers, very clean park and well kept. Near many chain restaurants and a very overpriced cheese market. Easy on and off access to highways. Very level sights with grass and tables, some fire rings. Next to some kind of plant that was noisy, and, of course, being next to highways, very noisy also. Good sat TV reception and Verizon aircard was great for phones and internet. We would consider staying here again in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$33
Grassy sites, very level. Excellent stop for one night while on the road. Price paid reflects KOA member discount for a full hookup 30 amp site. Some road noise but not too bad. Owners and staff are very friendly and accommodating. Two tornado warnings while we were there so everyone hung out in the office/store area. Burger King and McDonald's are right nearby, and there is a cheese place we would have checked out but for the rain. Restrooms and showers are very clean. Would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
Typical KOA. Next to freeway, but noise was minimal. Gravel roads and spaces. Not much for kids but the staff was very friendly and helpful. Restrooms were large, newish and very clean. Not a large number of big rig sites. But enough. Good for an overnight stay and go. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$30
A few big rig sites but call ahead to insure a large site with good access. Large entry driveway for good travel pattern. Entire park in a wagon wheel form similar to a drive-in theater. Friendly, helpful new owners. Some sites could use more rock and are soft after a rain. Well stocked store for camping supplies. Good 50 amp power, water and sewer connections. Good overnight park close to interstate, fast food, fuel, and highway patrol station. Easy on and off of interstate with 45' rig. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$30
I think that was the rate we paid...This is a good "stop off" place. Close to the interstate, like 1000 feet! Felt safe, State Patrol Office as you drove in. A lot of places to get food within walking distance. 2 convenience stores and a neat cheese shop with a 25 foot tall cow in front of it! OK place. Haven't ever done a KOA before, so I don't know what to compare it to. We stopped in the evening and were underway the next morning, but nice enough for what we needed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2001
$26
Loud, near freeway and next to fire station and highway patrol office, and over priced for avaliable amenities. The first thing you see when arriving is a giant sign listing the property for sale. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com