214755 User submitted reviews online!!
Stovepipe Wells--No Hookups (NPS Campground) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (760) 786-3200
CGID324

Stovepipe Wells--No Hookups (NPS Campground)

Camp Information
Sites
190
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$6



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   8   7   8   8   10   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  no  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$6
Used the senior rate to get half price at this campsite. Just wanted to correct another posting that the sites were very wide and would accommodate our awning and slides without getting into our neighbor's spot. There were parking stripes to show how wide your spot was and I think the previous writer must have misunderstood or not seen the markings. This was a quiet campground, basically a parking lot as stated before. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2014
$12
A large gravel parking lot, that is Stovepipe Wells NPS campground. We liked it here for the very quietness at night and the wonderful views. Also a good place to go on excursions exploring Death Valley. Sites are spacious but offer no shade nor privacy. But since only a few campers were here that was not a problem. The private park with hookups is on the same lot and RVs there were packed like sardines. Fire pits and picnic tables only on the tent sites. Some leveling equipment is needed. Dump is on the way out. Potable water at the washrooms or the dump. Cannot comment on the washrooms, we did not use them. Surprisingly low prices in the store (except for gas) where you can buy some basic groceries. Across the street is a hotel which offers free WiFi. You can sit on the porch. Slow but reliable and good enough for checking emails or browsing a few websites. No Verizon reception here. We also spent a few nights in Furnace Creek, but would choose Stovepipe Wells over FC when we come back. The quietness, some basic free WiFi and a lower price trumps the more central location of FC for us. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$6
A nice central, cheap place to dry camp and see Death Valley and nearby Rhyolite and Beatty, Nevada. For $4 you can swim and take a hot bath across the road at the motel. It's worth the drive (30 miles) to Beatty for gas/fuel. If you go to Beatty have breakfast at Mel's Diner: cheap and great food, really great food and more than I could eat for $7.95. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$6
This is a dry campground with no hookups. It is nothing more than a huge gravel parking lot, that if full, would be very close neighbors indeed. You might not be able to open slides they are that close. No tables, no fire pits, Fortunately, it was lightly occupied with perhaps 40 or so RV's. There is a general store and restaurant within easy walking distance. Also, a gas station if you want to pay $5 gallon regular. $6 camping fee is the senior rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$6
Hard to beat $6 rate for us old guys. Since we have solar, water and a dump are all we really need. There are overpriced ($5) showers available at the motel across the road, but we passed. What I love about this CG is the total lack of any cell or data signals (except satellite.) The only downside is the fine layer of dust and grit that covers everything but, if that bothers you, don't camp in the desert! The host is a great guy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$6
The rate reflects a 50% discount with a Senior Pass. This campground is basically a large parking lot in the desert. The only reason that it gets a high rating is because it is in beautiful Death Valley National Park. There is a dump station and fresh drinking water. There is also a restroom with flush toilets, but there are no showers. Only the tent sites have picnic tables. The campground is open from October through April. Satellite is not a problem since there are no trees. Neither our Verizon phone nor our data card picked up a signal. There is a small store next door and a bar and restaurant. There is also a gas station that had significantly cheaper gas than at Furnace Creek. Since we love Death Valley, we would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2011
$12
So much to see and do and so little time!! This park is clean and tidy. Staff is very friendly and efficient! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2008
$12
Very basic campground run by the NPS. Pay at the kiosk. All sites are big and was almost empty on the holiday weekend. Close to the center of the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com