206945 User submitted reviews online!!
Plymouth Rock Camping Resort was rated 4 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (920) 892-4252
CGID3246

Plymouth Rock Camping Resort

Camp Information
Sites
678
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$50



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   4   3   1   9   6   3   6   3   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2013
$50
This place is a cesspool with power. Like so many of the Encore parks, this one is place where worn out, beat up, travel trailers go to die and Encore is determined to extract the maximum fee from REAL campers. While there are some newer park models, the rest of the park is travel trailers who have been rode hard and put up wet. This park is completely DECEPTIVE on their website. If you come here to stay for less than the whole season, you are put in a remote gravel field with no trees, no amenities, no WiFi, no cell service. Bottom line, WalMart parking lot but $50 a night. While you do get water and power, the sewer connection is one of the most foul we have ever encountered in 7 years of RV'ing. Instead of having sanitary sewer connections (which is all around the area), they have large open pits/tanks that they have been too cheap and lazy to even bother to put in the ground. As a result the tanks are high, poorly supported, warped, falling apart, with multiple openings to the air. And this is right beside your picnic table! YUM. I thought of taking our dog's feces bags to their cafe since this must be a Wisconsin/Encore tradition. To add to the joy, our collapsed tank had 3 inches of raw sewage sitting on top of it. To add insult to injury, I made a reservation 4 months in advance, but due to needed repairs, we needed to shorten our reservation by 1 day. NO REFUNDS. I would advise everyone to only stay if someone is holding a pistol to your head. I also intend to contact the county health department to have this open sewer shut down. We will NEVER stay here again!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2013
$48
The staff in the office are friendly, but whoever assigns sites has no idea how it is done. Just because you request a pull-thru and FHU does not mean that is what you will get. The maintenance fellows who drive around in the carts here are very friendly and helpful. They deserve a higher number. This park does not. It is very overpriced for what you get. It has been taken over by a corporation and it shows. It appears that the revenue from this park is being shifted to other properties. If you are mobile and stopping for one or a few days, find another place. The "transient" sites are accessed by driving across the entire park, through more than 600 park models and RVs that have been parked for a very long time, on narrow hilly streets with very sharp turns. You will arrive at a barren field at the lowest point where there are approximately twenty somewhat level somewhat gravelled sites. A few have sewer tanks above ground. The park is infested with ants. They will invade your RV. Next door is a dump site for landscape and construction debris. Each evening we heard gunshots from that direction. The WiFi does not work. The only things this park has going right is the guys in the carts and the location near the racetrack. If you have AT&T cell phones there is no connection most of the time. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2012
$45
This is a very crowded campground sites are way too close together. This place caters to its seasonal campers and its more like a trailer park than a campground. There are way too many golf carts (speeding) around. There is supposed to be quiet time but some drunken parties were allowed to go on until 2 am when security finally broke them up.At 7 am sharp be prepared for nearby Road America race track to start up. The LOUD roar of race cars goes on most of the day. This place is the Walmart of campgrounds. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2012
$56
[The Plymouth Rock RV Resort in Plymouth Wisconsin is set up primarily to accommodate seasonal campers. There are maybe 22 full hook up sites in the back of the park that are designed for non seasonal campers. This area appears to be an afterthought at best. Even the outer perimeter of this area was lined with seasonal campers. This arrangement gave the resort the overall feel of a mobile home park. The full hook up sites did not have a typical sewer system like we have encountered in other parks. These sites instead depend on large sewage tanks that sit on each campsite. The sewage tanks sat on the ground, were about 2 feet tall, roughly 4 by 6 feet in size, and made of plastic. In many cases, they were caved in or had rocks on them to cover the dump hole due to a missing cap. You hook your sewer hose to this tank and drain your black and grey water into the tank. The sewage then sits in this poorly sealed container until it is at the overflow point. The camper then calls the office, and they send a guy out to pump out the tank. Due to the fact that these are pull through sites, each rig faces their neighbors tank. The odor from these tanks can be offensive, and they are situated very close to the living area of most of the campers. This park has 2 pools that were well maintained but generally overcrowded with the seasonal campers. The campground map shows 3 pools, but the 3rd one is just a hole in the ground and appears like they may have run out of funds to complete it. There is lake access at the campground. After a short hike down a wooded trail, the lake is accessed by a cement stairway leading out onto a cement fishing dock. There is no beach, marked swim area, or even a place to put a lawn chair. I had made reservations for two weeks but decided to leave after the first week because I could not take it any longer. Although the reservation policy was mailed to me at the time I made the reservation, I asked the manager to reconsider a refund for the second week. His response was that he delivered on everything promised…..we had a pull through lot, we had water hookup, we had sewer hookup and we had cable. He is right, he never promised ambiance! Although I loved the local towns of Elkhart Lake, Plymouth, and Sheboygan, I cannot recommend this resort to anybody who enjoys camping. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$56
Very nice campground! We were given sites at the extreme back of the park, the newest section. Very long, back in sites with a gravel pad. These were seasonal sites that were vacated and they used them for weekenders. The odd thing is we did have sewer hookups, the sewer was a 3 or 400 gallon holding tank half buried in the ground. It was a non issue and we had no smell from it. They say in the next year or so they are going to tie into the parks sewer system. We also had cable TV hookup which worked great. The park was very busy, but you really didn`t notice it. Our neighbors were seasonals and were very friendly, they offered us some of there firewood if we ran out, very nice people, some of the nicest we`ve met. The facilities were all nice, very clean the couple of times I used the bathroom when out riding with the kids. Speaking of which bring a bike: a good one! This is a big park and very hilly. Going to the front was a workout, the ride back was a relaxing coast downhill. They had a country band on Saturday night: very good. All in all a very nice park that we would stay at again if in the area! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$32
Overall this park was fine: we weren't interested in the amenities like the pool etc., which was closed for the season anyway. We had a couple of frustrations. Our site was really not level and we had to put multiple blocks under the tires to make it level. We had to "thread the needle" to get into the site because people had evidently dug their own fire pits as there were big holes everywhere. We had to ask the workers to cut down some branches, since they were so low they were sitting on our roof. The laundry room was fine and was in a nice clubhouse. I doubt I would stay here again. The Wi-Fi was hit or miss, we only had Electric and Water, no sewer, so the $32 price was a bit high considering everything was pretty much closed up for the season, (even the store had very few items left). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$50
This place is just way too big, which makes camping not like camping at all. The sites were way too close together with no privacy. Too, too many golf carts driving around, and they were going way too fast. The people camping in the area or seasonal sites were not friendly at all, snobby from what I had interacted with. The bathrooms were not very private at all, the door was always left open because it would get way too hot in there. So if the campers or men were standing outside the door, they can see and hear everything. If you don't like spiders you would not want to use the bathroom, they were every where! We did use the bathroom near the pool where seasonal sites were; and that was great, huge and very clean. But that is why they have a nice bathroom because they pay more rates for seasonal sites. The theme weekends were great, but just way too busy. We felt out of place and not like we were camping at all. It stormed the one night and flooded near our pop up. The power went out, and all we could see was water out the window. My smallest child had to use the bathroom so we managed to get to the bath house in our car, but no power and we couldn't see where we were going. Very bad experience, if you want quiet camping or a feel for camping: don't come here, it is like a campers resort! Plus, there is no lake access, or beach available for swimming. I felt it was way too expensive and wasn't worth it! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$45
We arrived late, and it was getting quite dark. The hardest thing was finding our site (we were in one of the circle sites). Finally after our second circle through, a gentleman next to our general area stopped by and asked if we needed help. Turns out, they parked in our site, because the sites are not clearly marked. You have to read the table-top end of the picnic table to find the site number, and it was badly faded. At any rate, we got parked, and there were tons of groups camping together, and everyone we ran into for the weekend were all very friendly. The group behind us was a bit noisy, but things died down after midnight. We were happy to find cable hookup (we had just bought our MPG trailer that day), and once everyone in our group turned in, we did the same, enjoying the weather channel. I rose at 5:30 on Sat morning, and took a nice quiet walk down to the lake, which was very serene. I came back and napped again until 9am when I woke to the sounds at the race track. It was a nuisance at first, then it just became white noise. Apparently most people camping were there for the race, so the grounds were fairly empty throughout the day, and all returned shortly after 5pm. The one pool we managed to find at the back of the park was large compared to our last camping experience. It was sparkling blue and very inviting. There were seats at the pool, and although all the seats were full, there was still plenty of room to spread out a towel and sit without being crammed in with the others. We went to the Sat evening concert, which was a cover band. I wasn't thrilled about their performance, so we headed back to our site. It was nice, however, sitting on the hill watching the concert while the kids could go to the playground and still be seen. We left mid-morning on Sunday, but our friends stayed an extra night and said the place was virtually empty, so they had all the lake and pool to themselves. Overall I enjoyed my stay. I didn't have much interaction with the employees, except the first night when I walked back to let them know someone was in our designated spot and asked if it was OK that we parked in the same area, just a different site. They were accommodating on that note. Definitely would come back again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2009
$47
It was much better in past years. New management in 2009 apparently means paying more for less. The garbage overflowed, the toilets backed up. The staff was rude and unprofessional. They nickel and dime for extra people, cars and tents. There are hidden rules and fees, and watch out for the extra over-charge when there is a car race across the street. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2008
$25
It was clean and enjoyable. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2007
$45
I really enjoyed this campground for many years. It has recently been taken over by new management, and they do not care about the campers. Complaints or concerns are not taken seriously by their staff or manager. Staff is very rude. Activities for kids cost $$$ and must have an adult with them. Signs are posted such as no one under the age of 16 in the hot tub and they are not followed. Playground equipment looks nice but broken pieces are not taken care of. Pools are not heated as stated most of the time and allot of the time they are shut down for one reason or another. Showers are not the cleanest and could not get hot water. There is a charge for more then one vehicle. Their security screamed at my children for not riding their bikes in the direction of the arrows on the road. Movies are to be played at night on the weekends, this only happens if someone can run the projector/VCR. Food prices in their restaurant have gone up extremely high this year. I would not return to this campground! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$30
We stayed here for a Jeep event at the race track right across the street. The site we had was huge! There were trees to divide the large, grassy sites. They came by to get trash and clean out the campfire rings on empty sites everyday. There were a fair number of seasonals, and a lot of golf carts. You had to be very careful not to get run over by a seasonal golf cart- apparently they think they own the place. I did not like that you had to pay 25 cents for an 8 minute shower and was not told about this ahead of time. I found a shower that was broken and used it, as we were staying there for a week. It was nice and quiet, until the last day of our stay. They opened the race car school at the track across the street, and the noise was obvious. This is a good place if your are going to the races, however, as the gate is right there! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2004
$35
We camped here July 4th weekend 2004 with friends because they had family who had a seasonal site. Our original site had a huge garbage dumpster on it that was already full (yuck)! They moved us over one site. The sites were very small. We were camping in our pop-up and had trouble fitting it on the second site. We ended up having to switch sites again with one of our friends that was tent camping. I don't see how they can get any size RV on these sites. All weekend long we watched RV after RV trying to pull in to their sites with great difficulty. They did have lots of activities for the kids, including a 4th of July parade that went down all the lanes and gave out candy and prizes to the kids. Quiet times were not enforced. We have 2 small children who are not allowed to go anywhere without one of us with them. The other campers had no problem with this. Children were everywhere unsupervised. We ended up having to lock our coolers in our cars and taking them with us if we left the campground. Because of food and mainly beer that went missing. Our friend that was tent camping next to us had a young boy about 9 or 10 crash his bike into her van and dent it. After determining the boy was okay she proceded to look for his parents and found them on the other end of the lane. They actually yelled at her because she wanted to have a police report filled out so she could claim it on her insurance. I guess it was a nice place if you like to let your children run free while you kick back and party. We will not be back. Kettle Morraine State Forest North Unit is not too far away and it is an awesome place! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2003
$32
If this is supposed to be a camping resort, I'm a monkey's uncle. This is a crowded trailer park with unlevel sites and narrow streets. The sites are close together and flowers are non existent. Upon checking in we were told that the third person in our party would be charged $16/night extra ($32/night was regular rate) because of the car races that were being held that weekend. We reluctantly agreed to pay the extra. There are three entrance gates which are 112 inches wide! My coach is 102 inches wide, so this left me with a whopping 5 inches clearance on each side. The check in clerk instructed me to drive thru the exit gate which was 12 feet wide. She raised the gate from inside the office for me to drive thru and as I was driving thru the gate closed on my coach and scratched the passenger side (20 feet long). I went back inside the office to fill out a complaint report and to see the owner of the park (Bob) but he was out. Next we drove to site 198 which was a drive thru site. The electricity did not work, so I tried to plug into site 199 but it too did not have electric service. We moved twice before we found a site which had electric hook-ups that actually worked. The site we finally found in working order was sloped so much that my HWH leveling system could not level the coach. Next we were instructed that we had to wear wristbands because of the Elkhart Raceway races that were being held on this weekend. Each day we had to go into the office and get new wristbands; even though we were not attending the races. The clerk actually tried to physically put the wristband on my wrist on Sunday morning. I explained that we were going to church & I did not want to wear the wristband during the mass. Woodall's needs to re-rate this park; there is no way it is four stars. I have been camping for 11 years, and this is worst campground that I have been in. I will never go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2002
$68
If you're looking for a "Charlie Brown Christmas" commercialized type place, this would be it! We only stayed here because we had to drop off and pick up our son from camp, and this was the closest (10 minutes away) campground. The campground has three different pools, together with two whirlpools, which was very nice. There are a lot of "seasonal" people who think they are the bosses of the campground and can tell others what to do. Lots of activities happen throughout the day, and don't worry if you forget, because it will be announced over the campground-wide loudspeaker 15 minutes before it starts! "ATTENTION IN THE PARK, ATTENTION IN THE PARK". This can get quite irritating. Although the CG is close to Elkhart Lake Racetrack and you can certainly hear the racecars, that is not the CG's fault, but should be made known. One other note, this campground is EXPENSIVE. We were expecting an extra person along, and she would have cost us $12 per night. Seems a bit pricey to me. Kids cost extra, too. More than two kids will cost you an extra $4.00 per kid per night. A 1/2 gallon of milk cost me $3.00! When I complained about the cost, the person at the counter told me that "when you have a $3 million investment you have to recoup your money somehow. It's the convenience thing. You're always free to go into town to buy your stuff." Also, be aware that even the sites listed as "level" needed at least three boards and two bricks in front, under the hitch to actually become level. All in all, we may go back again, but only for the convenience aspect of it being so close to the camp our son goes to. Just be aware -- it's expensive and commercial. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com