217767 User submitted reviews online!!
Rustic Barn RV Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 37 user reviews. Phone: (608) 568-7797
CGID3255

Rustic Barn RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
58
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$31



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   9   8   10   7   9   2   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$31
Very clean park with great views of countryside. Pull-through sites were easy to navigate, but pretty close together. Internet was not good, really only usable after 9 PM or on weekdays, when not many campers in the park. Very close to Dubuque and convenient for Galena visits. Not having sewer is not a big problem here as owners have portable tank for only $8. TV access over the air got only CBS/NBC/PBS. But others had dishes out and seemed OK. Great bathrooms/showers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$38
Beautiful views. Up on a hill overlooking farms. Level sites. WiFi worked very well. Didn't use the bathrooms, but looked and they were spotless. Easy on and off the highway. I'd guess if you are doing Dubuque, it's the best CG around and only a 10 minute drive to Dubuque. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$39
Very nice place. They don't offer full hook up but was only a short wait to dump when we left. Site we had was very level and shady with great water pressure and faultless electrical. Very nice owners. Everything very clean. Just used this as an overnight but would stay here again We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$32
Well kept small park. Easy to find. Pull-through sites were a bit tight but nice under trees for shade. Owners were great and had everything we needed (we're kind of new at this). Close to Dubuque if gambling is on the menu. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$31
My wife and I stayed at Rustic Barn for 3 months in 2012 and 7 months in 2013. (We traveled from California to care for elderly relatives living in Dubuque, IA.) Note that we paid a monthly rate, which was quite fair, so the daily rate that I entered for this review is my best guess as to the normal rate charged at the time. Of course, weekly and monthly rates yield significant savings. The campground is in a quiet rural setting overlooking the picturesque Wisconsin countryside, yet it is only six miles from Dubuque. Back-in sites are quite spacious, while the pull-through sites are certainly roomy enough to enjoy the outdoors at your campsite and to extend your slideouts with no problem (we have camped in both back-in and pull-through sites). There is a real barn that holds the office and activity center (cable TV, pool and ping pong tables, and a couple of arcade games). There’s also a separate building, the Parlor, which can be used for meetings, pot lucks, etc. All very nice. But the most important “Pro” that comes to mind is that the owners are really great hosts; they are very accommodating and take pride in the appearance of the park and the quality of the accommodations. Bathrooms are cleaned thoroughly every day, whether they need it or not; the campsites are nicely shaded and well-groomed; and the water and electrical services are reliable. We’ve been to all the campgrounds in the area, and Rustic Barn is by far the best. It was a great experience and we'll make the trip again in 2014. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
Pros - long level pull through sites, very clean park, good Wi-Fi if you're close to the office, close to the highway. Cons - poor TV reception on the antenna. GPS will take you in the back way. Don't follow what it tells you. Owner was friendly and we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
This was a great find as Wisconsin does not have that many motorhome parks in the south west area. We ended up extending our visit twice to last two weeks total. The owners were very helpful in all our requests. Our front view was looking over a local dairy farm which was lovely. Great hot water in the clean showers and the bathrooms were spotless. Owner emptied our tanks twice a week and once extra when we asked. We would come here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
Rustic Barn campground is more suited for tent campers than RV’s. The owner is bit of a wise guy and is a master at giving you as little as possible. While advertising that his pull through sites are 80’ long what he doesn’t tell you is that they are SO narrow you can’t fully extend an awning. He staggers campers to allow a little room, but when it gets crowded it gets really tight. Next thing he doesn’t tell you is that there is no sewer hookup. When asked about it he advises that “good water management doesn’t need it”. Well, good campground management would provide it. To offset the lack of sewer he offers a “honey wagon” service for $8, but only on two specified days. There is one public dump and as might be expected it gets crowded as people are checking out. After waiting in line you find out that the only water supply at the dump is a little squirter. There’s no hose hook up to allow you to flush your holding tank. To insure you use only HIS firewood, if you want a fire ring you have to ask for it. WiFi did not work for us. Not having a sewer hookup I was forced to use his showers. Large, but dirty with hair accumulation in the corners. I planned on staying four days but checked out after two. With the exception of electricity Walmart offers just as much without charging you. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$32
Very nice park. Owners very friendly and keep it up. Great book exchange. Lots of room for our big rig. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$33
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this pretty park with the most beautiful setting we have found to date. The owner, goes out of his way to welcome his guests. His park shows pride of ownership. It is immaculate and homey. The sites are large and level. We did not have cable or Wi-Fi at our site although it is available at the homey rec room. Lots of grass and trees. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$31
Pickings are slim in this area. We are in a double site which if we get a neighbor they might night be able to put their slides out. Whoever gets their first can have 50 amp and the other one gets 30 amp. A very weird setup. Their are some sites with sewer but they are taken up by seasonal units that stay the whole 6 months the park is open. $31 a night is ridiculous for no sewer. The sites are fairly level side to side but slope from end to end. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$27
This was our first visit here and we enjoyed it very much. The place is nicely laid out - good roads, easy turns. We camped in one of the back-in spaces with a 24' travel trailer - plenty of room for both vehicles. The site was immaculate, well groomed, level, and especially nice with a concrete slab to step onto from the trailer and a nice picnic table conveniently located on the slab. The scenery is relaxing - typical of the rolling Wisconsin hills and farms. The showers and rest rooms were immaculate and very nice. The owners were especially hospitable and helpful in every way. We enjoyed the chapel on the grounds. This was our first night out this year, also maiden voyage of a new trailer. We had a great time, pleasant and relaxing. That's what why we camp, and we'll be back to this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2010
$27
I wondered if we were at a different park than everyone else. When we called we asked if they had a 50 amp site with the ability to use our satellite tripod. Site we got was 30 amp, and we had to run 100' of cable across the road to get satellite reception. In addition, the site was so unlevel we had to use boards under tires and couldn't put out the front slide because we were so close to the rig next to us. Manager/owner wouldn't move us to a better site because he had "parties" coming in. Level 50 amp sites sat vacant all weekend, the 'parties' evidently never showed. Would not stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$19
We stayed here after about a 5 hour motorcycle ride. This was a very lovely place. The owners were so friendly and wanted to ensure a comfortable stay after such a long day on the road. Restrooms were VERY nice and everything was clean and well maintained. Nice family environment. We would recommend this to everyone!! Thanks for the wonderful experience. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$28
Very nice park. Was quiet during our stay. Showers were roomy, but could use air conditioning. Owners very pleasant and helpful. Has a nice laundry, but only 2 washers and 2 dryers. Good satellite reception and still got afternoon shade. Hook ups on wrong side. Parks drainage is excellent, as it rained quite heavily while we were here, and there was no mud or standing water. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$28
This park provided a perfect place to explore the area. We were thrilled with the warm reception. We had a bit of a time getting level, but it worked out OK. The park was very clean, neat. People adhered to the quiet time (which we appreciated). The honey wagon service was a bargain! WiFi worked OK, not stellar. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$27
Gentleman in office was very friendly. He told us they were new owners/managers. He put us in one site and before we were fully set up, said there was a problem with someone else booking the site later in the week (we were here for 7 nights). I told him if we needed to move, NOW was the time before we were fully set up. We were told to stay and he'd work it out. After we got back from dinner, he then told us we had to move. Poor planning and since we were staying for a week I felt we should have had some consideration. Aside from this, things were good. Campground is spotless, including the bathrooms. Showers are large. The owners/managers are always working on the property to keep it up. The pull through sites with 50 amp are EXTREMELY close. We have a 40 ft motorhome with 4 slides and were inches away from the RV next to us. Had I known, I would have chosen a back in 30 amp to have a little more space and will do this if we are in the area next time. Good thing no one was next to us when we pulled in, as the turn radius was tough. The good thing is that each RV is turned in the opposite direction, so there is better privacy this way, but no outdoor space to speak of if you are parked next to a long RV. GREAT location for Dubuque and even Galena. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$28
This is the best place to camp when visiting the tri-state area. The hosts are friendly, the sites spacious and pleasant, the rural setting charming, and the bathrooms spotless and reasonably updated. Be aware that this is farm country and the atmosphere may be "farm like" at times. The back-in sites are much more spacious than the pull-through sites, but choose the pull-through sites if satellite reception is high on your priorities. Finally, be prepared to work around the lack of sewer connections. The hosts have several options and we found this to be a non-issue for us. We will definitely use this charming facility whenever we are in the Dubuque area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
This campground was well maintained and the people were very friendly and helpful. If TV means alot to you, you won't like it here, as TV reception with a HD Box wasn't very easy to pull in a couple channels. There was no sewer hookup, but they gladly offered to come to your site and pump you out for a small fee, if you didn't care to empty at their dumpsite on the way out. I believe this campground was once very rural as the view from many of the sites was rolling farmland with cattle off in a distance, but like everything towns spread and take away. It was a quiet night and I'd stay here again. Was easy on and off freeway but yet quiet. Bathrooms/showers were very nice and clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
Camped in a 45 footer on Site 45. Easy access west off Exit 5 of Highways 35/151 through a neighborhood. Interior roads and sites are gravel with very little grass and space between sites. You will share an electrical pedestal with your neighbor. The sites do not have sewer: there is a central dump site. Big rig coaches may have trouble making the turn-in to sites that are narrow. Also slide-outs may put you on your neighbor's doorstep. Railroad ties are used to define the boundary between sites, but they become an obstacle in parking. The office staff was friendly and helpful. Wi-Fi worked well and the satellite TV and Verizon cell phone and air-card also worked well. I agree with a prior post that this park is overpriced. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$29
Quite but seems overpriced for what you get. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$27
Small, well-maintained campground. Gravel roads, site. Site level. Wireless works. Beautiful setting, farmland vistas with rolling hills. Used this as a base for visits to Galena, Illinois, and the Field of Dreams in Dyersville, Iowa. Only drawback is lack of sewer hookup at site, but dump station is easily accessible. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$24
Good Sam rate. Good water, sewer and electric. Pull Thru sites are set up so that 2 RVers share a power pole, which means you may face your neighbor's door instead of his back side. Not too bad if traveling with friends/family or the neighbor is friendly. Sites are narrow and would have scored cg better if sites were wider. With slides out you are very very close to your neighbor. Next door to a dairy farm so you get the occasional "odor de cow" but not really bad. The view of the farm is very pleasant and cows come right up to the fence at cg. Friendly helpful owner (owner x 6 years). Very nice barn with sitting area/library and kitchen for use of campers. Convenient for visits to Dubuque Iowa (7 miles on Mississippi River). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$23
A decent smaller park but no sewer and the sites are pretty close together... The location is rustic and beautiful. We couldn't get the Wi-Fi to work and since we were there just briefly for an overnight, we got a signal in the neighborhood right outside the park, downloaded our email and went on our way. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$23
We spent one night at the Rustic Barn Campground. It was relatively close to the Field of Dreams, and was our choice of all nearby campgrounds. It is small and very friendly. It was a little difficult to follow the directions due to the highway access but not hard to find since it is a very small community. The sites are gravel, but very level. We had a minor mechanical problem which the owner tried to help with, even though it was Saturday night. The washrooms, showers and laundry room had a personal 'at home' touch with flowers, carpets on the floors, and music at all times. We would definitely camp there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$32
Nice country setting next to working farm with cattle pasture. We stayed her since it was close to Galena Ill. Without the usual crowded galena camp feel. Very hospitable hosts and very quiet surroundings. Very restful stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$27
Lovely campground with excellent country scenery. Nice hosts. Solid wifi. They pump out your tanks since there are no sewer hookups. Dump easy to access on the way out. Great museum nearby in Dubuque, Iowa. Walmart in Dubuque too. I stayed there to use wifi to work and get to Field of Dreams movie site nearby in Dyersville, Iowa. Would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$24
This is one of the cleanest and best cared for locations we've stayed at in a long time. All the facilities are very well maintained, and the setting is beautiful. Laundry facilities look brand new, bathroom is spotless, grounds are clean and well groomed. WiFi was good, cell phone reception was adequate, some TV from an antenna. We stayed only one night, but would recommend it and would stop again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$26
Very beautiful park with gorgeous scenery and a lovely little chapel. Very friendly staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$27
Beautiful campground. Large, level, spectacular sites. Quaint little chapel under the trees. We were very surprised that they had no sewer. Our fault for not researching properly. Owners very friendly and showed us around the property. Did not use restrooms or showers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$23
Great host that make you feel welcomed. The pull throughs are very close together as side by sides. The back ins are on nice large gravel sites with plenty of room. The pastoral country side was very peaceful. Wi-Fi is available but not accessable from all sites. Very nice meeting rooms and there is a small chapel on the grounds. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$25
Signage to campground good. Wide entrance and plenty of space to park to register. Office friendly and efficient. Access roads are wide and well maintained. Pull-thru sites slightly narrow and are back to back with services in the middle. Back-in sites are better but only have 30 amp electricity. There are only two sites with full hook-ups. The rest are water and electricity but a free pump out service is available except on the day you leave. There is a dump station by the exit. The campground is immaculate and has wonderful views over the pasture lands with cows as your neighbours. There is a little road noise but not enough to keep you awake. Good location to visit Dubuque and Galena. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$24
Beautiful, clean, tidy CG on top of a ridge overlooking rolling farmland. Unique style barn holds office and campers' lounge; additional group room available, plus small onsite chapel. Friendly owners, tiny store, honey wagon service (free except last day of stay, then $5), campfires allowed (ask owners for fire ring & wood$). Would definitely go again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$28
This was a great campground out in the Wisconsin countryside. Right next to a pasture with cows. Kids loved it! The owners are friendly, helpful and aim to please. Exceptionally clean bathhouse and restrooms. Not much for the kids to do but watch the cows but that was kind of refreshing for a change. The only reason I didn't give it a 10 is because they don't have sewer hookups. They are more than willing to come and pump you for free whenever you request and so it is almost as good as having sewer. Great place. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$25
You can eat off the rest room floors. Unbelievably clean...and w/fresh flowers. My only disagreement is there are no sewers at the sites, altho a central dumping station is available on the way out of the CG. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$22
This was a great place to camp. The grounds were very well kept, the restrooms were immaculate, and the owners were extremely helpful. There is a seperate building available with tables and chairs for groups to use, and the lounge area is great. Also, high speed internet available for guest use at no charge. Would definitely camp here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$22
This was a great place. Very clean and grounds well kept. They have a small store with the necessities as well as a selection of gifts. Wonderful gathering room with television and videos. It is off of the highway, in a country setting. You can hear the traffic, but it didn't keep us awake. We will stay there again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com