214755 User submitted reviews online!!
Crystal Lake RV Resort was rated 4 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (608) 592-5607
CGID3259

Crystal Lake RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
230
Date of Stay
June 2011
Latest Rate
$55



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   4   1   5   1   6   2   8   3   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  no  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  no  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2011
$55
We didn't get the chance to actually camp here. We made our reservation 3 weeks in advance. Once we arrived, we checked in and drove to our site. When someone else (and their camper) was on our site, we got out to discuss it with that individual. He informed us that the resort had double booked several sites - including ours. In looking at the small site (which was in a very unpleasant part of the campground - picture overflowing trash bins aplenty), and seeing that out 34' 5th wheel would never fit along with the other camper - we called the office. The young girl said she would send someone over to discussit - she said yes it is a double site for this weekend. No one from the office ever came over. None of the maps showed this as a double site. We started asking some of the other campers in the vicinity of our site - they were all angry - and said "welcome to h***". Well that was all we needed we hopped in our truck and headed back to the office. We asked for our money back, the office manager hesitated - we persisted and pointed out that there was no way both RV's would fit on the site. He relented and gave us a refund. I also asked for our gas money back (a cool $100 for our diesel truck one way) - no surprise "no can do." So he wished us on our way back home with steam coming out of his ears. Although we were mad at this scenario - we were VERY thankful we did not stay. From the time we pulled up - it looked like a real run down, unorganized, swampy, buggy, over-loaded trash bin kind of place. I had heard they had sewage issues - and by the looks of it - indeed they had a LOT of problems. I would not recommend to my worst enemy to stay in this h*** hole. We selected this campground because of the atractive ad in the WI camping magazine - this place is NOTHING like the ad - STAY AWAY! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$70
The park was clean and the lake was very pretty. The park needs a lot of work the last owners ran it in to the ground. The new owners are trying to bring it back to what it was. We stayed at the hanger site #3 it was OK when we got there on Thursday but by Friday they backed so many big 5th wheels and big pull along that my 31 foot motorhome looked small and the only view I saw was the peoples slide out next to me. This was a waste of a 4 hour drive and gas. I booked this park due to a buy one night get one free. Next time I will never book a park without checking this review site. We will not be going back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$55
We just got home from camping here for the 4th of July weekend. Was one of our favorite campgrounds before but had not been here for two years. We will never go back! This place is a mess and in a complete state of disrepair. I know they have gone through severe flooding from the lake and had to do bank raising on the lake to keep the water out but that is all they have been doing. Bathrooms were a mess, missing locks on doors. Dump Station was plugged up when we left so they had to use the truck to pump us out. We had serious issues with the rest of the neighbors in the pool site area since they were obviously a big group. Would not share the large group fire pit with our group which occupied 3 sites. Never have I ever encountered such disrespectful campers. Their many dogs were running loose all the time chasing people down the road while ours stayed tied up and well behaved. We asked to change two of our three sites with a couple of their open ones and they wouldn't agree. Talked to managers right away about our issues and they didn't seem to give two hoots about us. They got obviously agitated at the fact that we wanted to switch two of our sites with two of theirs so we weren't walking back and forth through the other large groups. We ended up staying all on our original sites because lake of management cooperation. Lake was very chilly and pool was an ice box. Not enough staff for the busy holiday weekend. Tons of illegal fireworks done by the seasonals over the lake. They let the seasonals get away with murder here. Talked to some other people that we knew that were there in a rental trailer and they too said that this was their 5th year and will never return either. Lake has been no wake for a long time now and didn't call till the day before we left to tell us that if we were bringing a boat so no tubing or skiing. I would not recommend this place to my worst enemy. Our worst camping experience by a mile in 10 years. Never have encountered such rude and insensitive campers in over 10 years of camping. This place doesn't even deserve a rating of a one. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$60
It was OK, the lake was great / nice sandy beach, and nice kiddy pool and adult pool. But the camp sites I think were much to be desired , you basically park in a field. The bathroom was a port a potty! Not a family friendly park there was a bar on the grounds and people drank and partied all night long. I do not think we would go back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2009
$53
We stayed here Memorial Day weekend, 2009. This campground was a huge disappointment. We were in what they call a "hangar site" - literally next to an airplane hanger. For the duration of our stay, we were surrounded by noise and dust from construction equipment hauling gravel. When they were not pushing gravel, the 2 bobcat frontloaders were left running idle in what was supposed to be our parking spot. The pool was not operational. At one point the truck hauling sewage lost it's load in the parking lot by our site and no cleanup was performed. No rules were enforced and the noise from what were obviously drunken parties ended after 3am. This campground appears to cater primarily to seasonal campers. By Monday, we could not stand it any longer and left. I would not recommend this campground to anyone. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$51
My family had a great time in the pool area! The campground it way to congested though. The overnight sites are right on top of each other. I did not agree with smoking being allowed inside the pool area. There is live entertainment on the weekends too, which is nice, but it was "adults only". I did not agree with this either. Camping is a family experience and no one should be excluded. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2006
$38
Unbelievably small spaces. It was difficult to back our tent trailer into the space. I can't even describe how close we were to other campers. We could hear everything they were doing or saying in their tents and tent trailers. Quiet time isn't until 12:00 am - it stayed very active until then. Between golf carts zooming around and horns beeping, getting to sleep was extremely difficult. We weren't allowed to keep our vehicle near our site, we had to park it in a lot. Our space was gravel and mud - no grass. We weren't able to use our fire pit, as it was filled with water from the previous rain. I agree with a past review that they cater to the seasonals. We would have left after seeing the tight spaces, but we had to prepay for our reservation - and they don't give refunds. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$28
Camped here with friends over a weekend. The campground seems to cater mostly to seasonal campers. Transient campers are placed far away from the beach and main areas. There were no shaded sites. It was very crowded on the weekend we stayed. The nice thing is the shower room was like bathroom in your home. Good campsite if your with a group or if you have children. My wife and I wouldn't camp here to relax or enjoy quiet time. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2004
$30
We stayed for 9 days camping. We would not have stayed that long but we had to prepay for the site. You cannot pay when you check in. You pay in full when making the reservations. The problem was during the day on weekdays, they run a daycamp. My children were not allowed to use the water toys or pool from 7am until 5pm. Then when the weekend came and the 100's of kids were gone, they removed most of the toys for the weekend crowds. We were very disappointed because the only reason why we came here was because of all the water activities advertised. However, we did enjoy the winery down the road! Very, Very, Very crowded. Our neighbor behind us...well their bunk of their pop up was up against ours and our neigbors awning was touching the back of our pop up and we heard their private conversations along with us having to keep curtains closed for our privacy. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$35
We had a great time camping here. The sandy swimming beach is well maintained. In the swimming area are numerous large inflateable toys to climb on and dive off. Children's movies are shown on Friday and Saturday nights. In addition to the typical bikes and boats to rent, the campground offers a variety of unusual bikes and paddleboats. The grounds are well maintained and the bathrooms are pleasant and clean. The "valley sites" are small, gravel and unpleasant. The remaining sites in the campground are very nice. The rate for 2003 is high in comparison to similar campgrounds at $34.95 per night for W/E. Even though we had a wonderful time, it's possibly too pricey for us to return. We camped here in a Tent.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com