214909 User submitted reviews online!!
Casini Ranch Family Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 38 user reviews. Phone: (800) 451-8400
CGID327

Casini Ranch Family Campground

Camp Information
Sites
225
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$54



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   6   8   7   6   10   7   10   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$54
We camped here for 4 nights in a river-view site. It was a very busy weekend and there were lots of kids running around, but everyone was friendly and helpful. The camp personnel came around often to be sure everything was fine. This is one of the better places to kayak on the Russian River. It is easy access to the river and the current is not bad. Would highly recommend this for families. There are various activities for the children, especially on the weekends. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$54
Great park if you want a very kid-friendly, group-friendly place. Weekends are jammed with kids, dogs (on leash), and associated gear---bikes, pedal-carts, etc. We had two different sites here this past week. The first with full hook-ups was roomy but felt exposed and out in the middle of three rows of RV's; the second partial hook-up site had more trees but the ground was full of squirrel holes, uneven and hazardous to walk on. Riverfront sites have no sewer but are scenic; group sites and individual tent sites are often very shaded and nicely tucked away for privacy. Laundry room was well-maintained and reasonably priced. If you drive 8 MPH instead of the posted 7 mph speed limit, expect to get screamed at by a Workkamper; some staffers were a bit "over the top" with their authority and power. Those driving big rigs or large trailers may want to skip taking the roads from Graton via Bohemian Hwy and take the River Rd. through Guerneville, instead. Also, the address for the camp is Duncan Mills, but it actually seems to be in Monte Rio. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$60
Well maintained and monitored by personnel who check on you. Great location to take a drive up the coast with a stop at Fort Ross and lunch in Guerneville. Nice shops and restaurants nearby the campground if you like that. We should have selected a less shady site further from the roadway. But, we had a great camping experience with friends. The river was fun for rowing. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$47
The approach to the campground itself is visually a bit disappointing at first, as it passes by the RV storage area, but improves considerably just around the bend when the pond and camp come into view. The ducks and geese in the pond, and the donkeys and horses in the nearby fields, are fun to watch. At this time of year, (late October) the grounds are well tended. The staff is friendly; they acknowledge visitors but are not intrusive. At night the raccoons are very active so it is important to secure or dispose of trash and food items before retiring for the night. We enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2012
$42
This was our third time at this location, but the first time in October. The main section with the full hook-ups is kept green, but don't waste your money on river views because there isn't one unless you sit up high in your coach. You get lots of dirt and wind and kids in your space stirring up the dirt with their bikes. No septic there so you pay more for the river view and then the honey wagon. Our view was of the dumpsters. Racoons are a big problem and anything left out is torn to shreds. They were training new check in staff but not watching them very closely and it took forever to check in. Felt like we spent way to much money for what we got and the dirt that has. Infiltrated into the RV was not worth it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$49
It is on the expensive side, but this is the best park we have ever stayed at. It is all about the location. We have stayed here many times. There is always livestock in the surrounding fields. Most of the sites are not right next to each other, even the full hookup area has more room than most parks. The layout is a winding layout between the river and the ranch. There were a number of improvements on this visit, new fire pits in full hookups area, a 2nd dog run area, 5 new horseshoe pits and lots of new landscaping. We always stay here when we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
We enjoy this campground because we love to kayak the Russian River and the park has easy access to the river. The town of Guerneville is full of quaint shops and restaurants. The park is close to where the Russian River meets the Pacific Ocean. We always enjoy our stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2011
$44
This is a unique park bordered by a functioning Ranch and the Russian River. It offers both RV and Camping sites. The location is about 10 minutes from the beach. The entire time you are here you hear the horses and donkeys from the ranch, the river and the wildlife. It is a great place to escape urban life. We have been here many times and love it each time. It gets crowded in the Summer but the park has Hay rides and other events. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$30
We stayed here on a rainy weekend, we were the only ones parked at the Russian River. People were very nice and it was clean. River was beautiful. Not sure what this would be like on a packed sunny weekend, but we loved it alone with our dogs in a motorhome. Biked to Duncan Mills to the stores and had drinks at the Blue Heron. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$49
There are full hook-ups in the middle of the park and partial at river sites and other areas of the park. Nice paths and roads for bicycling and walks. Friendly staff. Clean facilities (laundry room, rest rooms). The rest rooms/showers were apparently fashioned after state park facilities, being made of cinder block, but they are clean and serve the purpose. Guerneville (about 15 minute drive) is close by to run for groceries at Safeway and other local shopping. There are many great sites to select from whether you are tent camping, using one of their cabins or RVing, you will find one that suits you. Be sure to make reservations early for holiday weekends and summer as they fill up fast. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$42
We were with a group of Airstream owners. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The site we had was grassy, large, and flat. Other sites nearby were nicely separated. Virtually all the sites were grass covered, and had been mowed. Interior gravel roads were in good condition; in fact, the whole campground was clean and well maintained. There are two dump stations. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
November 2010
$42
We arrived shortly before 6 p.m. (after nightfall) and there was nobody in the office, no information on the office door regarding availability, prices and so on, plain nothing. We asked another happy camper and they showed us some sites. We chose one with water and power only and out of curiosity tried the Wi-Fi. We found a signal but it was impossible to get online even though we followed the step by step instructions given on a welcome website. The showers are tiled but where the door should be, there was the curtain and where the curtain should be there was nothing. Therefore, whatever you did or how cautious you are, after showering everything is wet and the water is all over the floor. The next one coming in with his dirty shoes has to walk through the water and it will really look messy from then on, not just wet. Too bad! In the morning we were charged $42.18 for 2 adults for a bad service, no information and a site which would have needed more planks than we had to make it level. Half of the restroom was out of order and it looked like it hadn't been cleaned for a while. I really felt cheated big time and the lady wasn't too keen to listen to my suggestions. The 3 points I give are for the setting and layout only. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$46
We stayed here a few times because we love the river, and it is great if you have a canoe or kayak. It is crazy on Friday and Saturday, so if you don't have to don't go there, it is a circus in the summer. The employees in the store are mostly workamper ladies; the husbands take care of the grounds and trash, etc., and the ladies try to be the most unfriendly as possible. The owner of the park should advice the grumpy old ladies to be more friendly to the paying customers. Or it might be not necessary, because we will be back for the river, not for the old bags. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
This was a return visit. We had stayed here a few years back in one of the river sites. This time we got site 4A, which is right on the river, but the hookups are at the front of the long, curving site which required a extra long water hose and electrical cord, which was not explained to us when we booked the site and cost us $75 at the store. On Thursday afternoon the restroom seemed fine (newer and clean enough) but by Friday night it was a disaster. The park was way too full for the two stalls and two showers in the bathhouse. Lots and lots of tents, trailers and smaller motor homes "doubled-up" on the sites, lots of people. The positives were a well-stocked store and a small arcade. Due to the lack of communication regarding the distance to the hookups and the overcrowding we will probably not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
Park is crowded, smoky, noisy, dusty, and does not have enough bathrooms. Has bad roads and it took 45 minutes to check in. If you had a big group, it might be great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$77
We stayed in one of the riverfront sites. They are more like rive rview though as they are across the service road. The only sites actually on the riverbank are tent-only sites. I think there may have also been two, non-hookup, RV sites along the river. The view is still nice though. As reviews on some other sites have mentioned the rules, and amount of related signage, seem a tad overbearing. There were signs threatening arrest, no noise at all after 10pm, etc.. We're quiet people and appreciate campgrounds taking care of their property, but it sort of gave me the feeling I was intruding or that they really didn't like people being there. I though it was weird that they don't want people sitting out after 10pm, yet they don't seem to enforce their dog rules. Several dogs were running around in the presence of staff and one followed me around growling. I'm a dog lover/owner, but this seemed like a far better idea to enforce. This park is very centrally located for the area. Bodega Bay and Fort Ross are both only about 30 minutes away. Our cable didn't work. That's not a huge deal, but I thought for the money it should. The hookups were in bad shape, in general. I wanted to give this park a bit higher, because of the location, but it just gave me sort of an unwelcome feeling. I may give it another try in the future. The nightly rate was for 4 adults and 2 children. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2009
$32
Family friendly; lots of tents which means lots of kids. Windy and dusty. Restrooms weren't kept up. Cell phone service if you have a wilson antenna. OK for tent camping, but we were there in a motorhome. Bonus points for the friendly staff, but we will not camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$39
We enjoyed Casini Ranch. We were here for three nights in July. Weather was great. We had friends who came here over the winter and said it was muddy. So maybe avoid the winter months if you are not into that. We were very pleased with the campground. We had full hookups. Bathrooms were clean, but old. The staff was always available and very nice people. The Russian River runs along the grounds. Nice calm water when we were here, boat rentals and pebble rock beach. There is absolutely NO cell phone service here. There are a few pay phones if you must make calls. Also, DO NOT USE YOUR G.P.S. TO LOCATE THIS PLACE!!! We made the mistake of using our G.P.S. and it took us on the Bohemian Hwy! HUGE MISTAKE!!! Avoid this "so called" HWY at all cost! It was absolutely horrible! It was a paved goat trail, at best. It was very narrow; I don't know if we could have actually passed a car on it. Heavy canopy overgrowth of trees and plants. We actually had branches in our awning when we finally arrived at the park. It took us forever to get there The road went through a huge canyon; no where to turn around with a 5th wheel. We literally thought we were going to the pits of hell! It was horrible. We were fortunate to get cell service and call the park. They were very helpful and walked us through the directions (they actually got on the computer map quest and gave us directions while on the phone). When we finally arrived we where happy with the park, and after our direction disaster. The margaritas tasted even better! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$36
Due to the huge variety of spots available, this site could get anywhere from a 6 to a 10+ rating. We stayed the two weeks surrounding Memorial Day and had the place to ourselves 75% of the time. We were entertained in exchange for being a little crowded the other 25%. There are very few spots w/ hookups right on the Russian River and they are the same price as all the others. Reserve WAY in advance (they take reservation starting New Years day for a full year in advance) or try mid-week any time other than super high season or holidays. Grounds are meticulously maintained. Bathrooms and showers more than adequate. Small grocery store on grounds. They have a limited number of mini-cabins too. Confirm your rate. They don't update their web prices well and make no apologies. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2009
$37
This year Casini has added camping cabins to their offerings. We stayed one night. The grounds crew was working on the road at the entrance, but the new dirt and road graders were not a problem. The one lady at the front desk (general store) was friendly and made sure we got a site that would fit our need. The area was quiet, the wife enjoyed the shops in town, we got a good night's sleep, and moved on. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
Very friendly staff and more than willing to help with any questions. Liked that staff security was always cruising the grounds and kept things quiet after 10pm. We had a pull through site. Sites are close together and gravel not cement pads, however, we were pretty level and did not require much to level the trailer. The only complaint about the pull through sites is that the sewer openings were too small to accommodate the sewer hose, so someone had to hold the hose at the ground connection to make sure it did not leak. We had to keep our valves shut until someone could monitor that no spill over would occur. The campground is very convenient to the river and very large, so bikes would be advisable, it would be a great ride around the grounds. The bathrooms were old and not very inviting to take a shower in. They could use some serious updating. I would like to see more full hook ups in the campgrounds. Even though this sounds critical we did enjoy our stay and would go back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$41
The surroundings can't be beat. Within steps of the Russian River, it's very pretty. This place is definitely a campground - gravel and dirt - so when the wind blows, it's dusty! No wifi at our site, but that didn't matter. There was plenty to do, see and enjoy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
Casini Ranch is a huge RV park that is situated along the Russian River. The RV sites with hookups are arranged near the center of the campground but river access is still convenient. The week we were there they weren't at full capacity but the spaces are large so even at their busiest, this is a spacious place to stay. The only thing that keeps it from being a 10 is there are limited activities around the location if you are not on the river. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$34
This is a remote, idyllic farm setting on a working cattle ranch 5 miles east of the mouth of the Russian River. Some sites are right on the river and several sites are secluded. Very nice park: older, but they are modernizing and building new super sites for large rigs. CATV works well, Wi-Fi is excellent. No cell service, but Verizon is putting in a tower which was supposed to be operational 4/30/08. They have plenty of space for the kids to play. They are installing a bocce ball court, horse shoes, and are upgrading the bath houses. They have a well stocked general store and propane on premise. There is a gorgeous duck pond and the kids can feed the ducks! If you like fishing, swimming, kayaking, biking, or hiking this is the perfect place. Motorcycles are not allowed in the campground, but call to see if you can make arrangements. Located just 69 miles north of San Fran, 5 miles from Jenner, and 35 miles from Santa Rosa, this is a nice, quiet place where you can truly get away from it all. You'll also find top notch restaurants, bistros, wineries, historical sites, summer concerts and festivals, something for everyone. I recommend this little gem tucked away on the river. Be sure to make reservations as they book solid during the summer months. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$34
They are updating with new full hook-up section coming behind the office. The whole place could use a renovation but still a great place to camp. River bends along the campground so many river front sites, some with electricity and water. Full hook-up sites are close together but not too bad because they are angled. And the area is absolutely beautiful. (800) 451-8400 We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$38
Cordial hosts. Easy check-in. Large park with a variety of "levels" from dry to full. Best sites (river) are elec/water. Full are up on high-ground. Although they state that they have wifi throughout the park, it's weak, and you have to go to office to get signal. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$36
We have camped here several times in a 36' motor home. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Great store! They evn have RV parts! Sites can be from side by side open to your neighbor (WiFi sites) to all alone in the trees. Restrooms are cleaned about every 4 hours day time. I know we camped right by them twice. Since it is on the Russian River the water sites have few hook ups since they flood out a lot in winter and elec must be turned off. (something the people who do not know the area should consider.) This is a FAMILY campground. But we have no kids and did not find that to be a problem. All gets quiet at dusk. We love this place so please consider the area and the different types of sites if you decide to stay here. We will be back several times this summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$35
This is a hidden jewell by the Russian River. Well maintained and organized with a friendly and helpfull staff. We stayed longer than originally planned since the place was so nice. The only small concern was that on sunday afternoon a certain amount of gunfire could be heard from a local skeet shooting range. We were ok with it but our dog was a little upset. The wi-fi is better in some areas of the park than others but the staff and overall feel of the place more than compensated for any slight problems. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2007
$40
We went to Casini Ranch Family Campground in August of 2007 and stayed just one night, even though we had reserved three nights. (The rate is $40/night for a full hookup site with 2 adults and 2 kids.) I have to say the place looks nothing like the pictures on their website. When you first pull in, it does seem nice. There is a cute general store where you check in. But once you drive to the full hook-up sites, you see some run down trailers (which we found amusing since their rules say "RVs must be in very good condition and must be of suitable appearance") and then you see rows and rows of sites that are simply weeds, gravel and a few small trees. (I guess the trees have been cut way back since the website photos were taken.) There were only a handful of RVs there mid-week, so we didn't need a reservation. The sites that are closer to the river do seem better, but again you are camped on dirt with some trees, no sewer hookups, and a pretty desolate river. The "beach" along the river is gravel, so there is no sand for the kids to play with and there is a lot of moss in the river, so that could be the reason there was no one in the water. Since we paid for three nights, I did try to get a refund for two nights but only because the campground paperwork did NOT say no refunds for early departures. They refused to give us a refund, but we still left. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2007
$45
Dirty, dusty with lots of stickers and burrs for your pets' coat. If you like parking your Rv in a big field, this is your place. Two pluses: there is quite a bit for the kiddies and good river access. I have no kids so I won't be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$32
We stayed here with our RV group and had a nice large area. The park has a nice club room and were very accommodating. There are lots of things to do in the area, being on the Russian River, close to the ocean, redwoods and wine country. Great family park. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2006
$32
Sites 69 and 70 are the best in the campground. Great view of the river and secluded from the other sites. Water, 30 amp and cable. Sorry no sewer at these sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$36
Wow, Surprised with all the low ratings by others. We have a small group that meets every year in April, that we utilize the full hook sites. We have never felt neglected, as the staff has always been prompt with our requests. The full hookup sites are the smallest of sites because they are grouped together for the septic system, and are away from the river. There are many nice river view sites, that have partial hookups of ether water and power. Yes it can rain this time of year, but have always made the best of it if it does. A convenient location near the northern coastline for day trips. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2005
$35
This campground caters to tent camping. My family used to camp here before we got out Trailer and it was nice. However, the sites for trailers are not very desirable and I wish I would have continued up HWY 1. Duncan Mills is a nice area but this is not a nice campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2005
$33
We stayed there for 4th of July so it may just have been really busy but it was pretty noisy with kids and dogs. We will return though. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2005
$38
This is an older campground. The first thing I noticed is the sewer connection was not threaded, nor was it large enough for the rubber donut. So there was no way to seal the connection. Had to put the hose on and stack a couple of boards on it. The campground section we were in lost power over night with no explaination on why. Only reason we came here was to meet some friends at a rally. Probably won't return on our own. Close to the Armstrong Redwood Reserve, which was very nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
February 2005
$40
They have a habit of NOT making you feel welcome. Seems most of the crew aren't happy with their job. If it rains, which is quite common, don't bother going. Tremendous amount of mud. Tight spaces and overpriced. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$28
This is a great place on the Russian River near Guernville in Northern California. Very family friendly, the sites on the river are electric and water, if you want full hookups they are more crowded. We stayed right after 4th of July and it wasn't too crowded. Bathrooms a little out of date, but General Store, duck pond and the river right there. Wine tasting close by too. Great shady sites for tents as well. Recommend highly! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com