218071 User submitted reviews online!!
Wisconsin Riverside Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 28 user reviews. Phone: (608) 588-2826
CGID3281

Wisconsin Riverside Resort

Camp Information
Sites
204
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$58



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   7   8   10   5   8   8   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$58
We RV'd here on Memorial Day weekend. The resort's overnight full hook-up sites were full and the tents sites about half. There are seasonal sites, most look well cared for. Some appear to not have been opened up yet. The main building includes check in, a well stock store, and a full service restaurant & bar. The food & service was excellent. There are several pull-through sites all the rest are back in. The sites are deep and will fit the longest of units and allow for a vehicle in front. Not many trees but that allows for great satellite reception. There six waterside sites, they are not actually on the Wisconsin River but on shallow, muddy slew. We will camp her again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$46
The area for short term stays is very open and sites are spacious. The pool is large and other visitors made good use of it. We had a nice meal in the restaurant. We stayed for three nights. Though pricey, we would stay again if in the area We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
Nice campground, but expensive. Also, they charge a dollar to take a 6 minute shower. Nice restaurant on the grounds. Nice pool. Not much shade on the campground, as the trees are new. Not much to do in the area, unless you are seeing the House on the Rock. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$42
We were here for Memorial Day weekend. Very nice campground located right on the Wisconsin River. We had a River front site which was really just a slough leading to the river, still nice though. Most of the campground is paved which keeps the dust down. They have a very nice lodge with a bar and small game room. The owners have put a lot of money into the campground and it shows. Nice newer heated pool with kiddie splash area. And newer shower/bathhouse up front. They also offer canoe/kayak/tube livery service. So no need to get back in your car once you're there. Very close to House On The Rock, and downtown Springreen is very nice. We would definitely go back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$39
This campground was very nice. The staff is great and very helpful. We did the River tubing and had a great time, however we were not sure where to get off and missed our stop. It took us almost 45 minutes to walk upstream dragging 5 tubes so be sure to pay close attention, because there is no markings telling you exactly where to get off. A nice flag or sign would have been great for us that have never done it before. The pool is nice, the campground is very clean, and the new building is great. Lots of little flea markets, antique shops and craft fairs are close by. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$46
Very expensive for one night of traveling through an area. Site was dirt and not terribly level. Ask management which sites get Wi-Fi before letting them assign one. They have a disclaimer that Wi-Fi will not reach all their sites. No bars, but Verizon 3G was working. No cable TV, just a few over the air channels. For that price I expected cable TV. Otherwise a nice park that caters to families wanting recreation on the Wisconsin River. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$40
Tight turns for big rigs with dinghy to get into pull-through sites. Not a lot of shade. Fee is too much for campground atmosphere with resort title. We were there 2 nights while biking Military Ridge Bike Trail (cinder based Rails-to-Trails) located in Dodgeville. Frank Lloyd Wright area. One time visit area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$40
This is a very nice campground. It is located on the banks of the Wisconsin River and is very near the town of Spring Green (a very nice town to visit). Our satellite dish would not work because of the trees and the camp does not have cable, a drawback. Wifi connection was good. Signal strength was good and speed was good. Speed commonly reached 54 mbps. However the wifi connection was not secure. With all the concern about information theft, parks should provide secure wifi connections. The excuse that "we've never had any problems" simply doesn't work. If there had been problems it is likely the park would not have known about them. Come on park owners, get into the information (theft) age. The employee at the office when we checked in was very grumpy. Not sure why park owners put up with grouchy employees. They represent your park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$40
Access is great. Staff is very helpful. Interior roads are mostly asphalt. Pads are gravel with a cement pad for picnic table. All have fire rings. The pool is new. The office includes a big store, canoe rentals, and a restaurant and bar which are very nice, and new. Lots of shade trees and grass. Great places to walk the dogs. No cable, but sat reception is good. Good water pressure. Wi-Fi is very good. There are some seasonal sites, but they are neat. What a great place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$43
Great park with lots of activities and located close to area attractions. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$46
Check in was fast and courteous. Our site was located in a newer section where the lots are spacious, gravel/grass, level, with a concrete pad for the picnic table. These sites are all back-in, however on the west side there is enough room to drive onto your site from the rear. Because this is a newer section, there is very little shade, but lots of new trees have been planted. Bathrooms are modern, but could have been cleaner. There is a new building for the camp store, restaurant and bar which is very nice and overlooks the river (fair prices). Our Wi-Fi signal was strong and worked well. Our stay was quiet and pleasant. This campground is located at the edge of town, so it's very close to the local restaurants and shopping. Overall this is a nice campground and we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$46
Nice campground, we stayed in pop up and had to pay for sewer hook up even though we dont have toilet ect,(all they have). Nice pool area kids loved, and we used the river for canoeing. Restrooms could use a little more attention with sandy soil and pool, river near by. I prefer to pay a few more dollars a night more than have to pay for showers whae change machine was out of order. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$50
We stayed in the one site that is advertised as river view. It had a peek a boo view, that we paid an additional $10 for. Do not bother, the site was dirt and grass. Our RV jacks needed extra support not to sink into the dirt pad. This area is in the section with permanent seasonal RVs. The newer area is for short term and overnight. I would stay in this section. The sites are large, dirt, grass with a concrete pad for the picnic table. The location is quiet. We stayed here to visit Taliesin and House on the Rock. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$40
I felt that this park was great for families. You have a HUGE campsite which is a plus. Friendly people, well behaved kids and an awesome river. We stayed with a bunch of other campers and they ALL thought the same. Too bad the bar is being ripped down and a new one can be put up. Now they have no excuse why they cannot get any Chicago Bears football games on the screen :-) The showers and bathrooms I felt, need a paint job and some clean up but overall this place is very nice for anyone who wants to camp by a river and go tubing. Also, the old bar was nice. The store was very small. I hope by the looks of the new construction we will see a new bar and store. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$125
This was a wonderful camping experience. The family had a blast swimming and tubing and exploring. The only thing that bothered us was the group in the next cabin got quite loud. Other than that it was a wonderful weekend. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$36
Nice level sites with enough room to enjoy outside. Check-in desk people are friendly and helpful. The place is busy on the weekends with lots of people from outside the campground using the tubing/canoeing facilities, but it's up front, so the campground isn't affected. We had site 10 which was at the turn of the road and had LOTS of room. The pool is a nice addition from when we stayed here in 2008. Showers are pay showers but every site has sewer, so we didn't need them. A fun place to stay for families and adults. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
This is a very nice campground with paved streets & all level sites which are wide and long. Free Wi-Fi was available. The bar & restaurant was clean and had good food. The Park is situated along the Wisconsin River and sponsors canoe and tubing escort services. The management staff were friendly. I would give this a higher rating if it had concrete pads rather than parking on grass. While it has a limited number of pull-through sites, the majority are back-ins. Nonetheless, there was ample room to turn and access the sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$37
Nice grounds and facilities. Was raining so we could not evaluate swimming pool or river access. They have a laundromat. Sites are all level grass with paved roads. Price a bit steep for just overnight use but maybe if we had been able to use pool, etc. it might be worth it. Sites had a small concrete pad and picnic table. A nice extra feature. Registration was friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$38
The parking lot should be marked so cars and RVs can co-exist. If one is not careful when arriving, you could get boxed in, because you have to get turned around to go to the campground. The pull throughs are adequate and Wi-Fi was accessable from our site. We stayed 2 nights, so we could take a day trip to New Glarus and The House on the Rock. The roads to New Glarus have many twist and turns, so this park was a wise choice to leave our motorhome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$31
Very nice park with really large, long grass sites. Cement patio with newer composite picnic table. Excellent free Wi-Fi. Many older park models and trailers in a separate section. Friendly staff and very well kept grounds. Rents watercraft for Wisconsin River right alongside. Bar and restaurant on site We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$36
This is now Wisconsin Riverside Resort, nothing else has changed. The previous reviewer is correct about confusion on where to park for check-in but if the lot isn't full can just park near the road, don't get too close to the office building as you turn back to the campground. Paved roads with grass sites. Camp area backs up to a large agricultural field. The grass is hard so even when it rained the site was firm. We were in a back-in full hookup 50 amp site. They have planted pine trees that are closer than desired to the sites, they didn't need to be so near as there is lots of room around the sites. When in the site could not open the awning. Trees not a problem with satellite TV. Wifi doesn't reach all camp areas but an air card worked OK. This is a resort that's definitely oriented towards the river activities. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$36
First, note that this campground has changed its name to WISCONSIN RIVERSIDE CAMPGROUND AND RESORT. I just didn't want to start a new listing because locals and a lot of other people still know it as Bob's. We're here for a week visiting friends in Spring Green and this is a perfect spot. There are only a few big-rig pullthroughs, but lots of back-in sites. It seems to be mostly weekenders, anyway -- the whole place cleared out on Monday morning and we were the only transients left. There is a large section with permanent installations (rvs, park model homes, modular homes, cabins, combinations of all the above) that have clearly been there for years and are not necessarily well kept up, but this is a fishing and vacation camp, not a high-end RV resort. The area is beautiful, the office staff have been friendly and helpful and everything works as it should. The entry parking area is a bit confusing about where to park to check in and if more than one rig were to arrive at the same time (especially if there were a lot of cars also in the lot -- locals rent canoes here for trips on the river) it might be tough, but otherwise directions and ease of access to sites is good. The only other negative is the sunken fire pit at each campsite -- in the dark it would be very easy to fall into one if you're not looking where you're going. Some kind of raised barrier around the pit would be helpful. We'd definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$38
This is one of the best campgrounds in the area. We have a 40 foot class A with a 24 foot trailer for our toys, and we had plenty of room to pull around and drive into the site. The sites are fairly level and compacted well. This location for all the parks and attractions is ideal. Pretty much centrally located. The bar where the office is located sits on the Wisconsin River and has decent food. The food was much better last year. They must have gotten a new cook, and quality of food went down. We would have given a higher score on the campground, but there were two things that pulled it down in our opinion. First, the grass could use a bit of care. If they would at least fertilize and spread bug granules it would be a great improvement. Second, they say you should not bring your firewood because of the ash disease, but I suggest you do. They will rip you off there. It's $5 for an armful. I have big arms, and that is not enough for one evening. You need two. So $10 a night for fire wood is a joke. The mosquitoes were horrendous. We had to use our fogger twice each evening. I know you can’t control the mosquito population on a river, so be prepared to use a few cans of bug spray. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$25
This is a mixed campground with a large number of long term seasonal sites which are not very well kept. Signage to campground limited. Good area to park to register. Office friendly and efficient. Access road to transient sites good except one corner where a tree needs trimming. Transient section well laid out with large flat grass sites with full hook-up. Solid electricity and good water pressure. Further sites are being developed in new section. Was a good location to visit the attractions of Spring Green. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2006
$25
Sites are all sand/grass, but level. We had a small water drip at their faucet that we couldn't stop - and the drippage stained our white hose badly with rust. Be sure you have a filter. No sand burrs, but lots of ants and gnats. It's an OK place to stop for a day or two (we stayed 3), but there's lots of room for improvement. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2005
$23
We stayed in the new section with pull throughs that will handle big rigs. Electricity was good, 50 amp. Site was level on gravel. Picnic tables on concrete pad. Clear line for satellite. Staff was very friendly. Gave a 7 because we only stayed a few days and did not use the facilities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$21
This looks like a fun place to bring kids in the summer and enjoy the Wisconsin river; it appears to be sandy and shallow here. (We visited in late October.) The RV sites are tucked behind the yearly rentals: you can't see the river. Management was pleasant, and the facilities appear neat and well-cared for. The shower/bathroom area is about 50 yards from the RV section; we could not use them because they were being painted. (We were here during the week. They were ready for the weekenders.) Our only complaint is this: the grassy area of the RV section was also growing sand-burrs! This is NOT a good place to walk barefoot. And be prepared to pick them out of your pet's fur every time they go out. Hopefully, they will treat these weeds and replant grass. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2004
$22
This park was passable but not great. It apparently caters to the locals: there are many seasonal sites, some of which are pretty run-down. There's a bar on site, and they run tubing trips down the river (which is nice but the mosquitoes were absolutely swarming). The RV sites are very narrow and in a small wide-open area with no shade. We were there 4th of July weekend and several campers were setting off large fireworks all weekend; nothing was ever done. My children were a little nervouse around some of the other campers, who seemed to be in packs of teenagers. For an overnight it's not bad but I wouldn't make this a destination. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com