219992 User submitted reviews online!!
Highland Ridge COE was rated 9 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (715) 778-5562
CGID3282

Highland Ridge COE

Camp Information
Sites
55
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   8   7   9   8   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$22
This place would be awesome if it had water and sewer hook ups. It's beautifully shaded, nice big sites, cool playground, and great hiking trails. Cell service/data is nonexistant and GPS takes you to the completely wrong side of the lake. Crystal caves was pretty cool though. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$20
My husband and I camped here and it is an awesome, excellent, campground! How did we not know about this earlier?! The sites are all large, heavily wooded, private, and beautiful. The campground is quiet and peaceful. Our son and family joined us with their tent and there was plenty of room for all. There is a newer shower/restroom building, a small playground for the little ones, and the walk around the campground is enjoyable. This is our new go-to destination for a weekend get-away. I highly recommend this campground! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$10
Price reflects GA discount. This is a beautiful, well maintained campground. Lots of trees and several trails that go to the lake. We have a 37' fifth wheel and pickup and had lots of room. Site 24 must be at least 90' long and site 10 and several of the 20-24 sites are as long. Power was good for us and since we were the only campers it was nice and quiet. Our Verizon phones, MiFi and antenna TV was all good. Power at the site only. Fresh water located in a few places in the park. We would recommend this one for sure. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$20
This is a very heavily wooded campground with narrow paved roads and gravel sites many of which are unlevel. All sites have 50A service, but the voltage started out low and didn't get any better. There is no lake access at the campground. I am being generous with the rating because it is a peaceful place more suited for tents and smaller RVs not over 30 feet. It is absolutely not big rig friendly. This park is more like a US Forest Service campground than a Corp of Engineer one. Access and Golden Age cards are honored here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$16
Nice wooded COE remote campground with many deep sites to accommodate a 38-foot motorhome, tight squeezes on the turns so unhooked any tow vehicle is recommended. We reserved here via recreation.gov website to be sure to have a site as we were planning on a late arrival. Wonderful service and we were happy to have our site waiting for us. A few of the "first come first served" sites 1-7 might be a tough parking situation as they are sloped or slanted, but some folks with pop-ups, class B's and tents made the most of it. Campground road is blacktopped, but the sites are either gravel or grass. Dense underbrush and heavy foliage make completely private campsites. No aircard signals or cell signals unless you went up the road a few miles. Water is available from spigots throughout the park and there is a dump station. Great hosts were friendly and helpful and courteous. The resevoir and beach area were a drive around to the south side of the lake, far away from the campground, not a walkable distance. Cute town of Spring Valley nearby with groceries, gas, restaurants and shops. I only give this place a 9 due to distance to lake. But it's the type of quiet camping we prefer, so it's a 10 in our book! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$18
We really liked this campground. It was heavily wooded and the sites had some privacy. We had site #1 (a non-reservable site) and it was very roomy for our 30 ft class A. Bathhouses were not very impressive and the day use area is about eight miles away but we value privacy above all else so we were happy. The campground was full over the weekend but we didn't even notice. Not all of the sites are perfectly level and ours had a slope but once you got to the bottom of site it leveled out. They show movies in the recreation hall on Saturday nights. We did fun day trips to Mall of America (about 60 miles) and the Laura Ingles Wilder birthplace site in Pepin, WI (about 40 miles). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$18
Large forested sites. From site 29 we were able to get a satellite TV signal, but that looked like the only site that would have worked. Easy access for big rigs. Quite a nice campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$18
This is an excellent, rustic park. The facilities are as good as they come for this type of park. The park rangers are very friendly and helpful. It's run by the US Army Corp of Engineers. A pleasant surprise was that they have a giant screen TV and run a free family movie on Saturday nights. We didn't take advantage of it, but it is a neat idea. While big rigs can get in some sites, most of the sites are best suited for medium to small travel trailers and pop-up campers. There was a large 5th wheel across from us that was wedged in pretty tightly. Our site was down a hill that may not have been easy for a big rig to negotiate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com