219004 User submitted reviews online!!
Northland Camping & RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 37 user reviews. Phone: (715) 398-3327
CGID3286

Northland Camping & RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
72
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   7   7   7   7   7   7   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$32
Very nice owner, park was well organized and clean. Over the air TV available, Wi-Fi worked well as did the hookups. Easy access to US-2. We would return in the future if in the area. We did not use the pool or hot tub but it looked welcoming and clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$31
The TV reception was good, but the WiFi was not worth bothering with. The office and grounds need work. The location is good for visiting the Port of Duluth/Superior, which has lots of restaurants, shops, pretty landscaping and fountains. The William Irvin Ship Tour is good. The only other campground which is a bit closer is really run down. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$31
Shore services 50/30 amp, Sewer good, Water @ 45 psi, Wi-Fi is weak at the sites, but strong in the office, AT&T Cell Phone is good with 3 bars, Both 3G Sprint Air Card -83 dBm, Verizon Air Card -90 dBm have poor signals. No Cable service. Site is crushed stone and is soft. The site is long enough and just bearly wide enough for our trailer to fit. Our tires sunk deep in the ground on the sides as we backed into the site. Site closeness is good. Enough room to put out the awning without being close to the neighbor. Roads are gravel and good enough to allow getting into the site. Directv Satellite was easy to access. No Discounts. Payment is by cash or check. The owner is very nice and friendly. She gave us a lot of information about the area and told us some great sites to see and photograph. We stayed an extra 2 days to take in the local attractions. We would stay here again, if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$31
Cash or check only. Staff very helpful with maps and suggestions for the area. Quite convenient to Duluth/Superior area. Very adequate facilities. Comfortable roads for a large motorhome. Pool looked inviting even if we didn't use it. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$31
The good - The hosts of this campground were awesome. We arrived in one of the heaviest rain falls of the year. Everything was flooded. Even though we arrived late, the host stayed up for us and guided us to a level solid spot for the night. She then recommended we move to the concrete pad area the next morning when the sun came out because more rain was expected. Awesome advice because for the next 3 days the skies opened up. Electricity was stable and water and sewer were very conveniently located. The laundry facility was clean and very usable. I was able to connect reliability to internet using a Wilson booster with high gain antenna via my Verizon hot spot. We were definitely there off season, so the bathrooms and shower being unheated, were mostly unusable. Campground provided internet was spotty at best. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$32
$32/night cash or check only. Roads and sites were gravel and mostly level – no problem with full hook-up and most are pull through sites with tables and fire rings. Data card and antenna TV worked well. Bathhouse was old could use some work – no soap or anything to dry your hands with – showers were hot but the blowing curtain can be cold. The owners were very nice with maps and info on the Duluth and Superior areas. Easy on and off Hwy 2/53. Pool and hot tub looked okay, but closed after the holiday. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$31
Northland RV Park is easy to access and maneuver within; the level gravel sites are mostly pull-throughs. Basic utilities were reliable though Wi-Fi was sometimes too weak to function and some sewer hookups are very high out of the ground. AT&T phone and data signals are very good in the area. Facilities show a lot of age but are adequately clean. Road noise is very apparent. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$31
Very friendly owner/manager. Good gravel/dirt interior roads and sites all seem fairly level. I saw other reviews and they stated they paid a lesser amount than what I was charged. When checking in, I was told $31 per night and no discounts. The laundry room was dirty and the washer very old, but it worked OK. My wife found a pile of dog crap right outside the laundry room door left from an inconsiderate campers's dog. We don't have a dog so she did not pick it up. There is plenty of fire wood for campfire and Sat TV was easy to get a signal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$27
We stayed here for a week. Sites are gravel and level. Owner was pleasant and helpful telling us about the area. The park location is ideal to see sites both in Superior as well as Northern MN. The laundry could use some TLC. The machines worked fine even though they looked beat up. If we ever came back through this area we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$30
We also stayed here last August for one night. See my 8/11 review. I could almost say "ditto" that review for this one. We had a FHU, pull-through site with good, at sight, Wi-Fi. There is no cable, there are antenna stations and most sites are satellite friendly. The laundry still has old, but working machines and the room could use a good cleaning. Same with the bathroom: it is hard to make old cement floors look clean. The pool was refreshing on an upper 80's afternoon. This is a good, but not great park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$26
The sites are gravel as are the interior roads. Sites are large, level and long enough for large rigs. Not all sites have 50amp. Wi-Fi worked well, even from the back row furthest from the office. There are a picnic table and fire ring at each site. The manager/owner was very helpful and friendly. As others have stated, they don't take credit cards; cash or check only. The rate stated was a weekly rate. This is where we will stay when we're in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$31
Campground very convenient to Superior WI and Duluth MN. Long, fairly level, satellite friendly sites. No cable, OTA basic networks with OK reception. Utilities convenient and worked well. Pool and hot tub very clean. Staff very knowledgeable and friendly. Pet friendly, no designated pet area. Laundry and bath house could use updating. Verizon 3G service good for both data and voice. No problem maneuvering 42' fifth wheel. We would stay here again We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$31
This is a older campground that could stand a little updating but for a up north campground this is normal. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The owners do not take plastic so plan on paying with cash or a check. We were there right after the area was hit with over 10 inchs of rain so some of the sites were not being used as they were to soft for a rig to drive on them. The campground has Wi-Fi through out Its just far enough out of Superior to be rural but close enough that it only takes a couple minutes to get to the city. We really like this campground and the small camping fee considering that all sites are full hook ups. We would definitely stay here again if we get into the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
This is an excellent campground with very friendly owners. We had brake problems which needed to be fixed in town and they had no issue with us staying well into the afternoon of our departure day without any additional charge. The pool and hot tub are also a nice touch. Pull through sites are a plus also. Only minor issue was our site, though hard-packed gravel, was a little crowned so we had to be careful when we set up. Its an older campground but is kept up well. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
Great parks north of the 45th parallel are hard to fine! Although not a RV resort this park is a 10 for parks above the above the 45th. The sights are well packed gravel (we weigh 48,000 lbs) and when you step out the grass is lush and cared for: barefoot anyone? Our 45 foot bus with 4 slides had no problem maneuvering or parking here. Several sites are newly revamped and over 70 ft. The owners of 25 years are fantastic, family friendly, although the owners do insist that children and pets are minded; which is good. Just minutes from town and amenities. Great pool and hot tub,also rare for this area. The bus was very happy here and we spent 10 days enjoying the cool weather and sights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
We enjoyed the quiet here at night and the close location to Duluth and the North Shore of Lake Superior. There is a nice pool to cool down in and the owners are very nice and helpful with any questions. The biggest problem we have found in this and other parks in our two years of "full-timing" is RVers not cleaning up after and not controlling their dogs. The only negative thing at this park are the fire rings as the sites are close together and your neighbors fire is only about 5 feet from your RV which creates smoke problems. We will stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
This is another park we have stayed at previously but haven't been here for years. We had a FHU, pull-through, gravel pad site. There is no cable TV but most sites appear to be satellite friendly and there is some antenna TV. The Wi-Fi worked fine for us in the RV. Most sites are pull-through and are of a decent size. The laundry was a bit dirty and the machines were old but worked. Bathrooms were OK. This was our first park with a pool in almost 2 weeks and I was able to get in it despite some threatening clouds in the area. There appear to be some extended stay customers but nothing that looks full-time. Lots of RVs checked in after us, so it does seem to get lots of overnight travelers. There is nothing nearby, so you need to drive to get to anything. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
Overall a nice campground. Spots were not big, but offered enough room to be comfortable. The pull-throughs are nice and long, with fairly level concrete pads. Not much shade and the playground could use some work. Wi-Fi was flaky. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
Overall this was an OK place to stay while touring the area. Sites are well-packed gravel pads with grass lawns and picnic tables. The owners are helpful with directions through the road construction in the region. The good: easy 15 minute drive to downtown Duluth; roomy sites; warm pool; quiet setting away from the noise of city traffic and trains noise. Needs work: bathrooms and showers are due for a good cleaning; restrooms, pool area and office are looking tired. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
There seems to have been a lot of rain in the area, and some of the sites are in disrepair, most likely because of the rain. By disrepair, I mean that the gravel has washed away, or piled up in some areas. Some sites are very close together, but the manager kept some sites empty to make up for it, thankfully. It is easy enough to get in and out. There are trees between the campground and US-2, but they don't stop the morning rush hour noise from reaching the campground. It is noisier than I would have expected. Our campsite is clean. It is a good location for exploring the area. There are restaurants nearby. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
This was a very nice campground to stay at and enjoy Lake Superior and the Duluth area and such. There is an incorrect review posted on this campground as it is not the park on a river and the roads are not tight. It is quite the opposite as there is plenty of room to maneuver. There is all green grass, sites are generous, very quiet, and I really appreciated the special maps and hints that were provided for this area. We will come back here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2011
$27
We paid for a week and left after 4 nights.The owners were very rude to us and our children. We would not stay here again. The MN state parks were closed and this park was only half full over the week of the 4th of July. I now know why. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$27
Yes, the check-in office is "cluttered", but I'm not camping in the office (and I carry my own soap and towels, for that matter). The owners are friendly and gave me maps for how to get around road construction in Duluth; the sites are level and totally grassy in the pull-throughs (they ask that you NOT use patio mats, and you don't need them with the grass anyhow). While the sites are narrow for rigs with huge slide-outs, it was the fastest set-up I've ever had. Fire-rings and picnic tables are at each site (they even brought out a picnic table for my site, unasked, while I was setting up.) The bathrooms and showers are simple but clean. Pool was nice. WiFi worked fine. The only drawbacks: it's a little ways into Superior to find gas, groceries, or stores; and a chain-smoking woman with dogs in a 5th-wheeler next to me "snuck" into my site in her robe during the night to blow out two citronella bucket candles I had lit to keep mosquitoes and flies away (I watched her from my window in disbelief). If you're expecting concierge service, hot towels, hors d'oeurves, and entertainment, this is not the place for you, but I'd go back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$24
The manager was very friendly to deal with. We had a choice of two sites. The first site was in the regular RV area and it just seemed really tight. Some of the roads are also tight to maneuver around even for my husband who is a master with driving and parking our large 5th wheel. The second site was a regular mobile home site and that worked much better. The park overlooks the Nemadji River and is peaceful. The park itself is older and there are some pretty worn looking mobile homes so I would say that generally, the park is not really "pretty". It is also located near the oil refinery so if the wind was a certain direction, you could get whiffs of the refinery. The location worked great for our purposes. I would possibly stay here again if visiting the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$27
Office was very cluttered. Pool looked in good shape and clean. Close to Hwy 53 but not noisy. Staff was friendly. Campsites were level with grass area. Average park. They do not accept credit cards - cash only. Good for 1 night stays - I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$27
Wi Fi was not operational. Restrooms were marginal at best. Staff was most friendly and helpful. Sites were close but OK. A very average park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2009
$26
We were greeted by a very rude lady that complained about our discount. We used Camp Club USA which was 1/2 price for one night. We had requested a pull through site and were assigned a back in at the rear of the grounds with a row of full time residents. The bathroom/shower facilities were spartan and were not clean. The park didn't provide any hand soap or anything to dry hands. The pull through sites were very long and there were plenty of vacant spots during our stay. The park staff/owner apparently has a grudge about CCUSA members. Our site had a bit of gravel that was mostly overgrown by grass and was not level. The internet was fine. The facility is overpriced for the amenities offered. The heated pool was closed - even at the beginning of September. The owner indicated that she will no longer participate in CCUSA. We would not have known about her park without CCUSA and will most definitely not stay at this park again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
This is a great park with friendly people. The sites are clean and every one has a fire pit. The sites are open, dish reception works well, and there is good over-the air TV. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$26
The park was very clean and hosts were helpful. They provide information regarding the surrounding area. Sites were adequate but not overly large. Length was good and most sites were paved as well as level. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
Certainly not a fancy campground, but more than adequate for an overnight stay. Extra long pull through sites with easy in and out. Close to freeway access without too much noise. Wifi to the sites, but am not sure it would work well if the park were busy. All sites open enough for satellite. Be prepared for a foul smelling, smoky office at check in! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$24
Stopped at this campground on one of our northern trips. Was greeted by a cheerful lady and was checked-in, in just a few minutes. Lots of drive-through sites. As a overnighter, we found this place very easy to find, easy to park rig. These are things that matter most to us while towing a vehicle. We will stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$24
First impressions weren't great, due to the smoke-filled "office" one has to go into upon arrival. But the sites were well level and maintained, with mowing and maintenance going on constantly. The pool and sauna areas were also well taken care of. And the owners could not have been more helpful or accommodating, answering all questions readily and happily. We give this campground higher marks solely because of the owners. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2007
$25
We should have know that we would not enjoy this campground upon arrival. The "camp store" is nothing more than a disgusting bar with the owners sitting enjoying a brew and a smoke. Sites had not been mowed in weeks and owners were constantly hounding people at the pool concerning rules that seemed made up on the spot. Pass on by, too many other nice campgrounds in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2005
$22
To be fair it had been pouring down rain for hours before our arrival, however the roads were not in good shape in the campground and the grassy areas were covered with a couple of inches of water. The check in office doubles as a local bar. The RV pads were pavement strips in need of some repair. The campground might take on a different look in nice weather but I do not think I would stop here again. It is a convenient location and easy to find from major highway. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2005
$22
This park has improved a little bit since we were there in 2003, but there is still room for a lot of improvement. There was a Bounder RV Rally while we were there, don't know if they cleaned it up for the rally or had done so previously. The office area had been cleared of trash & cobwebs and the floor had been swept. The restrooms and showers were hosed out daily, not sure how clean that made them. Grass was cut but not trimmed around utility posts and trees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2003
$21
I agree with the above review. This park needs a lot of maintenance. The office, restroomes, showers and laundry were dirty. The grass needed to be mowed. Roads and sites were gravel & level. It is rather tight for big rigs, but lots of them stay there including Prevosts. I think the reason for this is because it seems to be the only park in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2002
$20
While this is not an uncomfortable park, it needs a lot of maintance. Office/reception area tattered and worn. Most sites are pull-thrus. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com