214554 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Lenwood Beach & Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 28 user reviews. Phone: (262) 334-1335
CGID3287

Lake Lenwood Beach & Campground

Camp Information
Sites
132
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   8   5   10   1   4   10   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$38
Very nice campground with large sites and plenty of trees. Nice lake with beach and fishing. It's on the outskirts of town but yet away from traffic noise. Well maintained and friendly folks in the office. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$25
Good campground, not immaculate but very clean and some very nice spots. The rules are pretty tight, but that might be one thing that makes the campground as nice as it is. I would certainly come back and recommend this campground. Especially, for those with kids, the lake is pretty fun. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40?
This was a nice campground. Everyone was respectful and friendly. The kids really enjoyed the lake. The only negative was that the quiet hours started at 9 p.m which was a little early for a weekend. All of the campers seemed to follow the rules, which was refreshing compared to other campgrounds we've been to. I would recommend this campground for a nice, relaxing weekend. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$56
This is an old campground! The lake is very close to some of the sites and breading mosquitoes rapidly. The bathhouse only has one shower per and very little to make it handy. The shower takes a quarter to get the hot water running. There is old rusty metal in the overgrown wooded areas, that shouldn't be climbed on by children. The bath house attached to the office is slightly better, but still very old and not clean. Take your own paper towels and maybe even toilet paper on your trips to the bath house. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$33
This is a good park. They do have a lot of rules but it is just to keep the park nice and peaceful for all. Very quiet and peaceful. Stayed here a week, wish it could have been longer. The people in the office were very friendly and helpful. We would gladly stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2012
$60
We were in town for the annual geocachers Cache Bash. We chose this property because it had some of the best reviews and was closest to the location of the event that we were attending. The rules are terribly strict and evidently don't apply to everyone. Several people had 2 cars to a site when we were told that we could not park our 2nd vehicle onsite. We were even told how to park the one vehicle that could remain on our site. When I called to reserve we were told we wouldn't have to pay for all 4 children to stay, but when I reserved the site, I had to pay. $68/night is ridiculous for something that hasn't been updated since 1970. The pay shower was horrible: the water smelled like rotten eggs. We will be in town again, but will never stay at this campground. The only thing it has going for it was the location and it was maintained fairly well. Update the facilities if you're going to charge a premium to camp at your facility and don't be so crazy about the rules. You have to sign a piece of paper saying you understand and have read the rules. The owners seem to be control-freaks. After getting home and taking two of the children to the doctor for an illness that was caught while in the campground, we found that the smell from the hot water in the showers was actually from bacteria in the water. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2012
$41
Lenwood is a very large campground that surrounds a lake with a good-sized recreational beach and playground areas. There were a large number of seasonal campers. Overall, Lenwood's location is good, but is not a very well kept or organized campground for the price they charge. W/E/S site cost $41. Lakeside sites were $10 more. Our utilities worked OK as did the Wi-Fi. Our campsite was on a treed hillside, but a number were located in a lower marshy area by the lake. If this summer had not been the drought of the century, I'm sure the mosquito population would have been quite intimidating. The worst pests while we were there were the biting deer flies that would land on your legs, arms or neck. They were especially bad if you tried to go outside in early morning or where there was no breeze. There was a small restroom/shower building with one side for men & the other for women. Each consisted of 2 toilets, 1 sink and 1 shower that cost a quarter for 10 minutes of hot water. The windows were always shut so the water heater on the wall made the place feel like a sauna. The water had that rotten egg smell when hydrogen sulfide gas seeps into rural groundwater systems. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$35
I only have good things to say about the owner and the park. Owner even offered a hose so I could clean the dust off my coach. I could not find the swamp that the other reviewer talked about. I only saw a sweet lake. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$34
We have stayed here several times before when visiting West Bend and we've never been disappointed. This time we were back to visit relatives and attend the West Bend Cache Ba$h. The owners are helpful and friendly and they are meticulous about caring for the park. Wi-Fi is strong and the utilities are solid. There are many trees to provide shade, but several sites are open enough for satellite reception. Verizon, Sprint and ATT were all strong. This park is, by far, the best in the area and we'll be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$36
We were pleasantly surprised to visit this campground. The office staff was very friendly and helpful. The park was quiet and lovely. We had to add blocks to get level, but the setting made up for the inconvenience. We decided to stay another night and enjoy the West Bend activities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
When we read the reviews on here we were worried that we had made a wrong choice but it really wasn't bad at all. The sites are a little on the small side and lumpy but the trees give nice shade. The beach is pretty nice and the lake was pretty clean. There was a playground for the kids which was well maintained. The bathrooms were very clean and cleaned often. The owners do drive around on a regular basis and check car passes and enforce quiet time which starts at 9:30. That's a bit excessive, but being a family with a 2 year old it was nice to be able to put him to bed in a quiet campground. Overall it's not a bad place as long as you follow the rules. I would recommend it for families with small children, older couples or adults. It's not a place for a party camper at all. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2009
$37
Campground has view of small lake. Short-term sites are tight, and tightly packed when busy. Sewer connection to site next to us was right outside door. Fortunately no one occupied this site while we were here. BE AWARE: There are MANY strict and strictly enforced rules. Although I appreciated and understood need for some of rules, there some were that were extreme. Not dog or guest friendly. Dogs NOT allowed to bark. Guests MUST register and pay - $6 per person, then MUST leave by 7:30 pm. Holiday weekend was very crowded, although not to capacity. Week days mostly empty. (I suspect due to the strict rules, not a desirable place for most to stay.) If owner wants to keep short-term occupancy level low, he is succeeding. Will not return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2008
$35
We were looking for a site for Memorial Day weekend on short notice. We were given the choice of multiple sites - the red flag should of went up there. The sites are too small and too close together. The endless rules and strict enforcement were too much for a relaxing weekend. I was constantly on edge - it was more like being at daycare. We will not be returning nor would we recommend this campground to anyone we care about. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2007
$10
Lake Lenwood. Where to start? First of all the word LAKE is being generous. Large smelly swamp pond would more suitable. Our first clue that this was not going to be a good experience was how empty the camp was when we arrived. This being a gorgeous fall weekend we checked into our first site and sank to our ankles in oozing mud upon exiting our vehicle. The fire pit was filled with 6 inches of brackish water. There hadn’t been rain in the area in over a week. The small drainage ditch that ran the entire length of the site was overflowing with bug larvae filled brackish water that smelled suspiciously of human waste. We requested a different site. Not a problem – the owners moved us down the “shore” (swamps have shores?) a few spots and we set up camp. Just as we were finishing up and ready to settle in and try to make the best of being swamp monsters for the weekend the owner zooms up on his ATV to check on the first site. Possibly to see if we left it “clean” for the next campers? He nearly runs over one of our dogs who was tied to a nearby tree that was well off of the gravel drive. Of course the poor dog barks in fear of being crushed by the large machine. The owner proceeds to chastise us for not having bark less dogs and that they would not under any circumstances tolerate any more disruptions of this sort. He insisted we take care of the problem immediately. Take care of the problem? Our dog barked in fear of being killed and we were to take care of the problem? What did he expect us to do? We were over 2 hours from home. Every camp in the area was filled to capacity – see notes in first paragraph. Were we to rip our dogs vocal cords out? Enough was enough. We immediately packed up to prepare to leave. We had disconnected water already when my husband decided to use the camp facilities before we hit the road. When he returned a few moments later he refused to describe the condition of the bathhouse and lavatories. His only comment was that I didn’t need to know how awful they were. My husband is former military and has served in some of the harshest conditions known and for him to say they were awful I dare not think of had bad they were. We drove our two hours home and were glad to finally pull into our driveway where we could try to salvage at least some of the weekend. Lake Lenwood – not recommended. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2007
$34
A lovely quiet campground around a small private lake. Sites are large enough, grassy sites with some large shade trees, but we didn't see any site that came very close to being level, including ours. We recommend that you go to their website, and REALLY read through all the rules and restrictions before coming here -- and there are a LOT of rules and restrictions. The owners seemed very nice and very helpful, but in our humble opinion, they're way too long on rules. If you come to this campground in the dead of summer you must pay for any visitors, and they must leave the campground by 7:30 pm. We won't be coming back, and the friends we drove cross country to visit won't be recommending the campground to anyone, either. Oh well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$34
This is a nice campground and about the only game in town if you want to be close to West Bend. The park is well-maintained and managed. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. They have the usual rules, which they enforce, but we think that is a good thing. It insures that everyone respects each other's privacy. We enjoy camping here and we will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$36
A campground, not an RV park. Close sites, mostly hard to get positioned, not level, some gravel but mostly grass. A ton or rules and every thing you want is an extra expense. Attitude of owners is very dictator based but appear pleasant. Lots of trees so if you want satellite be sure to say so when registering. Facilities are very old but they work at being tidy. One of only 3 that I found in the vicinity of suburbs north of Milwaukee, and I am afraid it may be the better of those. Beautify lake with a fair amount of day campers. This is our home town area so we may have to stay here again when again visiting friends and relations. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$31
Older campground. Owners friendly and helpful. Sites a bit uneven. Restrooms old, but clean. Very quiet and nice views of lake. A few sites have access to a clear view for satellite connections. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2007
$19
We would not recommend this RV park to anyone because of the harsh rules that are simply ridiculous. We could not even have friends or family come out for dinner because of the 7:30 pm rule that all guests leave the park. I sure don't see how anyone could say this is a family park . It is a shame because the park is quite nice just needs different management and fewer rules. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$33
People very friendly. Had a site with a nice lake view. Guests followed the quiet hours rules very well. Campsite was somewhat un-level but generally nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2007
$33
This campground claims to be pet friendly, yet they wouldn't let me stay because my miniature schnauzers MAY bark. OK I know that schnauzers have a reputation, but not all dogs fit the profile and my dogs may bark when they are excited, but they always calm down. And since I am attending an AKC agility trial, I would be gone most of the day: WITH MY DOGS! Do they kick someone out for sneezing? Or kids for screaming, as they do when they get excited, just like dogs bark when they are excited? I camp quite a bit with my dogs and I have never had anyone complain about my dogs barking too much. I am very respectful and keep my dogs quiet, on leashes and clean up after them. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$33
Seems we are the only transients in CG at this time with several seasonals also. Friendly owners that were helpful as to what to do in the area. Being longtime locals they knew a lot about the history of the area. While rules sounded a little onerous they are what you find in most parks. We would stay again as we didn't get to see all we wanted to in the area. WI-FI free with good signal. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$32
We stayed here for 2 of the 3 nights we had reserved. Had to leave because of problems not related to camping. Overall was very pleased with this campground and will be going back next year. We were in site C-1 since we planned to be coming and going with our motorhome, no towed vehicle. Greeted at office and they were very helpful. Recommended places to eat and when M/H developed problems on Saturday AM, they made several calls to try to locate an open service facility to work on motorhome. Did not find their rules anything that I wouldn't expect any camper to follow, just common sense. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2006
$28
This park does not allow visitors unless they pay an entrance fee. My son and his family came to see our newly purchased motorhome (after we traveled here from Arizona.) My son had been here less than 10 minutes and the owner came to our campsite and ordered them to leave in two minutes or he was calling the law. When I confronted him about it he stated that was his rule that they must register and pay...go figure. We are new RVer's but this surely is not the standard. By being so impolite he just cost himself a lot of business, as we will hopefully be coming to this area for quite a few years. Difficult owners make for an unpleasant visit. Never again at this place! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2006
$32
We stopped here but did not stay. The rules and regulations are lengthy and capricious. For instance, if you bid your neighbor in the next campsite a good night, you have violated the quiet time if it is after 9:30 pm. Pets are NOT WELCOME and are subject to even more onerous regulations which are subject only to the interpretations of the owners. If you truly try to abide by these nuerotic laws you will spend your stay looking over your shoulder. Check the website before you arrive, all regulations are at the discretion of the management without refunds. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$35
This is a nice park that is well maintained. There is a clean beach area on the lake, with a pier for fishing. Rentals of canoes and paddleboats are available. There is a nice play area with some older but safe equipment near the lake. There are also good trails to hike on. They are not paved trails, just dirt trails, but it's fun to explore the area. This is a very quiet, low key campground, and as noted above, one of the owners is..um..a bit obsessive..about keeping it that way. If you like to party, or even listen to your radio turned up in the evening, you should camp elsewhere. The rules are the rules, they aren't unreasonable--actually, pretty standard for any campground--but, you should know, they're enforced. If you're here with a family and want a quiet, safe place to camp, hike, and hang out, then this is a good place. We stay here once or twice a year and have never had any trouble with the owner. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2003
$33
The campground is clean and quiet. That being said; the owner seems to only want to rent campsites to those people who want to be in bed before 9pm. On our last night there(8-7-03) the owner came to our campsite and started yelling at our guests.(They were leaving only 10 min. past time...7:30pm) When we asked him to settle down he only got louder and then told us to pull out. When we asked for a refund, He said we wouldn't get one because we were commiting "boisterous misconduct". We said something about not recommending this campground to anyone he said,"Good! Anyone you know, I don't want here". Needless to say, we will never go back there even if we need to drive an hour out of our way to visit our family in West Bend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$30
Beautiful lake setting for weekenders, but seasonals lack leeway to improve sites creating a shopworn look of park. Amenities of sewer, cable, telephone and hiking trail however are a huge plus, despite over-regulation of seasonals. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com