220017 User submitted reviews online!!
Railroad Park RV Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (530) 235-4440
CGID329

Railroad Park RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$37



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   7   3   8   8   9   6   4   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$37
We spent two nights there while touring the area. The word "resort" in the title of this campground might be a stretch. I would describe this campground as rustic, but beautiful. Lots of trees so I didn't even attempt satellite. Verizon at 3G; Wi-Fi was very good. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$37
Sites spread out under big evergreens, with some along the creek. WI-FI available in motel area. Quiet. We have stayed here many times. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$37
The park is in a secluded, treed setting with easy I-5 access and none of the freeway noise. The sites were nice, though some leveling was required. There was no camp host to be found, but we were pre-paid and arrived late so it was no problem. The bathrooms were deplorable; dirty, substandard, and in disrepair. Frankly, they should just be bulldozed and replaced. Good thing we had a self-contained trailer. It would be terrible for tent campers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2013
$37
We should have followed the other RVs that decided to find another campground. Cable did not work. Dirt roads. And too expensive for a rather primitive campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$33
Very rustic treed campground which is charming despite a somewhat run-down appearance. Some sites take a bit of leveling and can be a little tricky for a big rig. But there are plenty of big rig, level sites if available. Office staff are very helpful and try to select an appropriate site to accomodate big rig needs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$35
The RV campground of is your typical run of the mill campground. It is a mix of tents, RVs, campers, etc. with dirt sites. However, we stayed for the collection of remodeled cabooses which are rented as motel rooms that we looked at during our free time. The caboose are located about a quarter mile walk from the campground and since my father worked for Great Northern RR back in the 40s and 50s, it brought a lot of memories back to me. There is a restaurant at the RR site but it was too early in the year and was closed. Make sure you are well provisioned because there are no nearby grocery stores. My wife and I would like to return and stay in one of the caboose next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$38
We were here on Labor Day weekend, so it was a bit crowded, but not too noisy at all. We enjoyed our pull through site w/ hookups, and lots and lots of pine trees and forest brush around. There is a creek/river at this site, and you can hear the sound of the water trickling along. The park was clean and very enjoyable. We have family in this area, so we will definitely be back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
Like the location of this park. It's near Dunsmuir for Railroad Days, a creek runs through it, has good fishing nearby and lots of quiet and shade. Dislikes: it's run down and needs attention. Firepits, sites, tables and grounds need effort. A little work would go along way. I may stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2010
$34
The park was very wooded and somewhat clean. The RV park is about a quarter of a mile from the caboose motel owned and operated by same management. The problem is that management only visited the RV park once is awhile, leaving patrons to fend for themselves and do as they please. Definitely not a destination park. Will rule it out as a overnight stay but. Did not like showering with the frogs in the shower. Spots need to be leveled, stating you better have some blocks to level your RV. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$34
Very nice rustic park with lots of large trees. We had one of the best sites, overlooking a beautiful creek. Due to all the rain this year, the creek was running high and fast, and made so much noise that it sounded like a high wind at night. We were the only ones in the park for the first night, probably due to the poor weather. No facilities in the park itself except for bathrooms and showers, and the pool and spa were available only to motel guests. No wi-fi, and the cable had only a few channels with poor reception. Our Verizon phone and air card worked fine. Unique motel with rooms converted from actual train cabooses. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$32
We arrived at 11pm after a very hectic departure day. Our reserved campsite was easy to find in the dark after locating it on the map outside the office. In the morning we found that we had a beautiful view down the creek which runs through the park. The restroom and shower facilities are rustic, but were clean, in working order, and free. Ice was available on the honor system, which was nice as we departed before the office opened and needed to top up the coolers. We will go back to spend a few days when we don't have plans further up the road. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$33
This is a great park in the tall trees with a stream running next to it. It was very quiet but a little tight for bigger rigs. (Not impossible though). The motel next to it is very nice, made from cabooses. There is a great restaurant that is part of the motel complex. Train lovers will want to come back. We'll stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$25
We like this park because it has the look and feel of a "State or National Park", but the features of a private park with large and wooded sites. The location is close to great wilderness hiking and adventure sports. The owners are nice and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$29
The campground is set in a quiet, peaceful, dense, dark forest, with plenty of space between sites, but this beautiful park-like setting is the only plus (in addition to a 24/7 laundry and free hot showers). The infrastructure is falling apart and badly needs upgrading and maintenance. Voltage averaged 110. Our site was far from level. Neglected restrooms and laundry were filthy (cobwebs and ancient dirt everywhere). No WiFi (a big negative in this isolated little canyon). This is all a shame because it could be a wonderful campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
Everything rustic and charming that a "camper" would want, trees, natural setting on a small river, quiet, treed, forested.. classic Pacific Northwest mountain experience, but lots of sites with full hook ups. My site was right on the ridge above the river, with an awesome serene view. They have done an excellent job of marrying "Campground" and "RV Park", taking the positive aspects of both and making a most pleasant experience. Castle Crags is viewable from some of the tent sites, and all sites are individual with different aspects to enjoy. Some are on the grass, and some on the ridge. Some sites have both a fire ring and an outdoor iron stove. It felt like an old trappers camp, yet I had my air conditioning going full blast and had a good cable TV signal to enjoy at night. Their quiet hours are "From when you arrive to when you leave". A nice rule enjoyed by all there. No radios, or parties. I-5 was heard a few times, but more in an "off in the distance" way when the occasional truck went by using their brakes. I heard no train noise while there, even though Dunsmuir is a train haven. Easy hikes around their little lakes and down by the river was a nice way to spend the evening. Pets are NOT allowed in the train display area.. this was disappointing as I had two Beagles with me, but I understand the limitation. I will make this place a destination for a relaxing vacation stay or to spend more than one night when just passing through on I-5 on my frequent trips between Portland and So. Cal. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2006
$28
The park was very wooded and somewhat clean. The RV park is about a quarter of a mile from the caboose motel owned and operated by same management. The problem is that management only visited the RV park two times a day, leaving patrons to fend for themselves and do as they please. Definitely not a destination park. Will not rule it out as a overnight stay but, will try to avoid it if possible. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$28
A beautiful park set among tall trees (we have stayed here before in the "caboose motel"). We looked forward to eating at the diner only to find out that it was closed on Sundays. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$31
Nice sites among the Pine trees. Good Restaurant and gift shop. There were also cabins made out of railroad cars and there was swimming in the river. Several REALLY good places to eat in town.Really hot in August. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com