206485 User submitted reviews online!!
Stand Rock Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 40 user reviews. Phone: (608) 253-2169
CGID3295

Stand Rock Campground

Camp Information
Sites
251
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   10   10   9   9   8   8   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
We based our first visit on the reviews provided by this website and were not disappointed. The showers were clean, bathrooms immaculate, and sites level. The seasonal sites are in a completely separate area and actually have their own entrance. We walked through the seasonal area, with very, very few exceptions, the sites were up to date, clean, well manicured, and well spaced. While not peak season, we felt the site spacing in the regular camp area was good, angled, and, as far as I could tell, nicely shaded. We camped one day after a 2" downpour, our site was slightly muddy, but nothing unexpected. We camped with friends that had a Motor Coach, otherwise we'd probably asked about switching sites. The owners are on site and seemed very accommodating. We did not utilize the bar / restaurant, but based on the crowd (families), it seemed like a good place. We will camp here again and recommend it to friends. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$47
We stayed at this park based on reviews from this site. We were not disappointed. The bathrooms are very nice and clean. They offer individual showers, and there are plenty of them. They are a very big and super clean and modern. It's nice not having to wait in line in a bathroom that only has two stalls. The pool is nice, it wasn't very busy when we went so there weer not a lot of kids screaming and splashing around which was very relaxing. They offer great discount booklets for all of the attractions nearby, which was awesome because most were buy one get on free or 50% off. The mini-golf was just ok, the kids got bored quickly. I would have given it a 10 out of 10 but the camp store was less than desirable as far as prices and what they had to offer. We stayed in lot 41 but next time we would request 43 or 45 as they both have wooden decks on the lots. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$45
We stayed in this campground for weekend getaway in the Dells, after reading previous reviews we were not disappointed, this campground was immaculate, from the grounds to bathrooms and showers, the rec hall, camp store and pool area were very nice too.This was probably the cleanest and nicest park we have ever been to. The sites are spacious, I would definitely reccommend this place to anyone wishing to have pleasant camping experience it's not to far from the Downtown Dells area either just short drive. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$47
Very refreshing campground. Sites behind pool area, especially outer circle are exceptionally large in size. Grass, private and some trees. These were back-in sites, but I found them to be larger in size compared to the pull-through sites which are accommodating in size. The campground is very clean, friendly staff, with some nice extras such as their snack bar and drinkable water jugs by pool. The seasonals are in the back half of the campground. Transients are in the front portion. Location is good just a couple miles from main attraction area. Only con was poor Wi-Fi from site. If in the area would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$47
This park is REALLY clean! The restrooms are new and modern. The sites are spaced nicely and shady. Even though it was too cold and rainy for us to use, the pool is beautiful and nicely maintained. The laundry room has enough washers and dryers and is REALLY clean. The owners/managers are friendly and helpful. This park is close enough to access all the action in the Dells, but is also situated in a quiet part of the area. We would recommend this park to families, seniors and anyone with pets...really nice experience. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$28
Our visit was after Labor Day and before the park's 10/15 winter closing hence the $28 rate. Level sites, lots of trees, great camp store, OK satellite access. Great walking trails in pine forest and seasonal site area with pond and lake, which were homes for duck families. Management was very professional and invited us to their annual party for seasonal customers (we stayed 9 nights). Great location for Wisconsin Dells attractions, Wal-Mart, grocery, etc. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
It was sooo nice and quiet! The "heated" pool wasn't heated at all, but it was really hot out at least. The grounds are kept up well and the playground is nice. Overall, we plan on camping here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$34
Nice campground close to the action of the Dells, but not too close. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Our back in site was pretty nice, lots of trees and fairly level for our 34' coach and toad. The kids loved the pool. Would certainly consider staying here again. (I forgot the rate we paid, so ignore what I entered.) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$45
Sometimes you get what you pay for in a campground. This is not the cheapest place in the Dells, but it is the best. The owners take care of their business. They plant flowers, keep things painted and clean, have guards at night to keep out troublemakers and enforce quiet hours, plan activities and definitely know how to properly run and maintain a great campground. There are 2 playgrounds and a nice pool, clean and relatively new bath houses, 2 ponds, nice sites, paved roads and a store with a restaurant/bar/game room in the back. it's close enough to the Dells to run and have fun, and far enough away that you don't have to be in the middle of the chaos. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$28
The lower loop of this campground is very lovely with big shade trees. Tiled restrooms-very clean and nice. Pool was closed for season. Virtually no one else camping here in October. Farm equipment noise from harvesting next door. This is my favorite campground in the Dells that we have found so far, and the price is reasonable compared to others. And they were able to accommodate big rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$45
We stayed here for Labor Day weekend, arriving Wednesday night. Management was flexible about our later arrival & left paperwork outside. We stayed on a full hook-up, site 32. The sites in this section are a bunch roomier than the ones towards the front of the park. Site was old gravel, but mostly level. The map on the website is very skewed. We have 2 border collies & they had plenty of room on our site & the place is very dog friendly. Although Wi-Fi was only supposed to be in the office, I was able to get it at my site until everyone else got there on Friday night. The pool was nice on Thursday morning, but didn't revisit. The bathrooms were very clean & new. I only looked at the showers, but they also were clean & new. TV wise, we got a couple of stations. Don't know if they have security guards year round, but they did for that weekend. No one was disruptive that I heard. There are a lot of seasonals & they were very friendly. We didn't use the dump station, but it looks easy to maneuver. Water pressure was OK. We walked our dogs around the park & the ponds within the grounds, but missed going on the trails that others said were awesome. Enjoyed the park & will come back next year. Would have been a 10 if Wi-Fi could be offered. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$43
There's nothing but good things that I can say about this campground. It's truly a 10 out of 10. Quiet, clean, well maintained. Showers/restrooms are beautiful and clean. Our site was so level we didn't even need leveling blocks. There's a large, clean pool, restaurant, large putt-putt course, and volleyball court. It's only about 5 minutes from the Dells attractions. The owner gave us free discount cards and coupons. We will definitely stay here again when visiting the dells. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$45
We stayed at this campground for 16 nights while visiting the Wisconsin Dells. The campground is well maintained and has very nice facilities. The main bathhouse is reasonably new and is meticulously cleaned ... one of the cleanest campground restrooms I have ever visited. The staff at the campground was very friendly and answered any questions we had about the local area. Sites are large and well laid out. I believe that full hook-up sites 36, 37, 39, 41, and 43 are the nicest in the campground due to their large size and the fact that they do not back up to other sites making them relatively quiet. The sites near the front of the campground that circle the mini-golf are nice size but are nosier due to their closeness to the main road. All in all this is one of the nicest campgrounds I have ever stayed at and I would definitely choose this campground again when staying in the Wisconsin Dells. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$34
Site that we had was a full hookup and large that was gravel and level. Even with rain we had that night it drained fairly well. Being at the end of camping season the store still had good supply. We did not use the pool but it was clean and good size. In the morning their was free coffee for the campers which was nice. The campground was about 5 minutes away from all attractions. Getting to the campground was easy but did have a railroad track that was rough. We had no problem getting into the site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$38
Great campground near I-90-94, with lots of trees, level gravel sites, grass, picnic table and fire pit at site. Many family attractions in area. Campground has pools, mini-golf, nature trails, playground, cocktail lounge and restaurant. Good satellite reception from our site (111), and free Wi-Fi is only avail near office complex. Good Verizon air card reception, but zero from Sprint. Bathrooms and showers new and very clean. I would have rated this campground a 9 or 10, but the train whistles during the night prevented that. Since I was aware of the trains, I took steps to prevent my hearing them. We would come again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$42
We camped here during Wo-Zha-Wa and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff is very friendly and the campsites are the largest we've ever seen. The restrooms are new and immaculate and the showers are free, clean and hot! Campground is quiet and well cared for. We will definitely stay again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$28
Overall a good place to come. Lots of trees but beware of the low tree branches in fall. Be prepared, most sewer connections are higher than your sewer outlet. Slight interstate noise, the loud trains do not obey the "quiet times". Close to everything you want to do in Wis Dells. Grounds are well groomed. The owners are a bit gruff, not very personable. The seasonals are very well maintained and in a seperate area from most of the vacation spots. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$45
We've stayed here several times, and each time we have more respect and admiration for the management. This campground is extremely well maintained and staffed by family with a dedication to keeping the standards high. There is a small but extremely well stocked store, videos and vhs rentals are available, with a book exchange area and free wi-fi in the dining area (no wi-fi at campsites.) Free coffee is available every morning at 8, along with pastries for purchase. A bar is open for beer and mixed drinks or wine coolers daily until around 9pm. There's a kind of bare and unimaginative, but adequate, 18 hole miniature golf course, and the swimming pool is huge with a large tabled deck far enough away to avoid being splashed. There are wonderful fish fry's on Friday nights, along with full camp cook-out activities on holidays into the fall. There is foot patrol security at night, with closed gates after midnight-no motor traffic. There are a lot of seasonal residents, but plenty of sites for travelers. This is a very child/family friendly campground, but the need for peace and quite is respected and honored. Being only 2-1/2 miles from the Wisconsin Dells proper, you are right near the action, but far away from crowds and noise. I would have given them a 10, except for the lack of wi-fi through-out the camp. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$42
Just got home from a week long stay. The weather in Wisconsin has caused flooding in some areas of the state. Lake Delton was drained. The campground is dry, but did have some storm damage to some of the pines on the hill from either a tornado or straight line winds. The logging trucks are cleaning up. This was fun to watch how the big rigs take down the trees. There was some sawing during the day, but not anything excessive. Unless you are a day time sleeper, this should not be a concern and they will probably be done in a couple of weeks. Not unique to this campground are the mosquitos in Wisconsin this year. Bring plenty of bug spray. I used Cutter's Deep Woods with 40% deet and did not get one bite. The 7% deet will not keep them away. I sat outside most of the day and until 10 PM. We have two more weeks schedule to camp here this summer. It has been our nearby campground of choice for over 25 years. We come with friends and family. We respect the owners and the quietness of this campground. It is as safe as they can make it. It is other campers that contribute to the problems, not the staff and owners. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$38
Very nice and clean campground. Very quiet and safe. Security guard came around at 1:30 am to warn us of a very bad storm coming in with 70 mph winds and heavy rain. Storm never came, but felt safe that someone notified us so we could secure all outside items. Bathrooms are very clean and pool was enjoyed by the children. Not a over friendly crowd, but everyone was nice when they saw you. Owners are quiet and do not bother you at all. Bought wood and they were friendly. Would stay again if we are in the Dells. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$45
Great park without all the craziness of Wisconsin Dells. A short distance away from all the fun makes this place more quiet and it has less loud entertainment of other campgrounds in Wisconsin Dells. The pool was nice and the soft serve Ice cream is amazing (very affordable might I add.) This park is great for being so close to the Dells and keeping the area quiet. The showers are all separate stalls which are nice. The bathrooms are new and are always being cleaned whenever you look. Would camp here again next time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$40
Our family stayed for 4 nights and thoroughly appreciated the quietness of this campground, the paved roads and extremely clean showers and restrooms. The management staff was not rude to us, not the most talkative bunch, but remained polite and professional. If we are ever back in the area we would definitely pick Stand Rock again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$38
I have been camping at Stand Rock for 20+ years. I really do not understand what the comments about the rude staff. I have never encountered this or seen it. What I have encountered and seen are some very rude campers, at checkin, at the pool and aound the campground. It is not the staff's job to control camper's children. It is not the staff's responsibility to put up with rude, sarcastic remarks from campers. If it is a party time campground, that you want, there are many in the area. They do not have a concierge staff, and may not be able to give you information on the: "best place to eat," "the best water park," "what attractions to visit," etc. The Wisconsin Dells has become an Internationally known tourist area because of it's water parks. As in any tourist area, one must do their own research to make your own decisions about where to eat and what to do. I am especially perplexed about the price gouging comment. The only thing I have paid extra for: is extra campers or visitors, and wood. I personally appreciate the extra charge for visitors and campers. I resent those that want to use a site for more than one unit or invite extras to visit and use the facilities. I have camped on sites throughout the US and have seen sites meant for one camper housing 2, 3, 4, and even 5 tents and vehicles, at no extra charge: ripping off the owners! Those of you that have left negative comments without specifics, may need to look at you role in the treatment you may have received. If you treat with respect, you will get respect. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2006
$34
This is a very rustic campground, a lot of trees which is nice. That said I have to say when we checked in august 2006 we were greeted by a yelling manager she was telling the people in line to shut up. When it was our turn to check in she was very rude. I thought maybe she was just having a bad day but the 5 days that we were there the people that work there were just plain mean. We would never come back here again. We should of listened to the reviews. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$36
We have been camping at Stand Rock for 20 years. We camp for long weekends and weeks throughout the summer and fall. This is a very quiet, strictly enforced, campground. While I have read comments on the staff being rude, I have never found this to be true. Granted, they leave you alone once you have checked in. This is a family owned and run campground. They do not hire teens or others to run it for them. I have felt safe enough to camp here with my children and later my grandchildren, while my husband was at work. he gates close a midnight and at least one or two security guards are on duty throughout the night. New this year - bathrooms and individual showers. A needed and appreciated upgrade. The park and pool is clean and well maintained. The sites are large, the largest of any other campgrounds in the area. Most have shade. As for recreational facilities, there is a pool, an outdated miniature golf, a playground for the 6 year olds and under, a very limited game room, store, bar and restaurant. Our family comes to enjoy the pool and an attraction or two at the Dells and eating in restaurants. The Dells has some wonderful attractions and some not so great. Something for everyone. I think if you treat the staff with respect, it will be returned. If you treat their campground with respect, you will enjoy your stay. It is not a party place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$38
We were pleasantly surprised after reading the other posts,this campground was great! The sites were very big,everything was clean,everything worked,it was a nice quiet place to bring the family and enjoy the Dells. As far as the staff being rude,all I can offer is this,we were there on fourth of July weekend probably one of the busiest weekends for a campground,we asked questions,got answers and were treated with respect!The security was present and on foot patrol every evening and I can only assume that "Quiet" hours were enforced.We witnessed no loud obnoxious campers.Quiet family atmosphere. What we saw was a staff that was just too busy to carry on with idle chit-chat.This was a long review as I am trying to dispel the bad vibe this place got from the previous.We live in Illinois and visit the Dells annually,after this visit Stand Rock will see us next year for sure. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$45
Very nice & quiet campground. The site was too narrow (fire ring too close to light)! Showers were modern & clean except for one that needed a serious cleaning because of a disgusting vandal. Wooded sites available (oak trees mostly). Grass campsites were loaded with earwigs. Not much to do but relax or go to the Dells... We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2006
$42
#1 camp ground facilities, very beautiful surroundings. We liked what we saw when we pulled in. Maybe check in for a week as it had nice grass areas, the pool looked nice, shade trees. All seemed lovely, until we walked in to book a site. Got very bad vibes from the two young girls working in the office, not friendly. Lovee the overall campsite atmosphere, but the people working here were not friendly. So we did not book a site. We expect to be greated by friendly people. Even if the two workers both had a bad day, we would like a smile, and kindness, and be here to make the customer happy. I am glad I came to this web site. I thought it was so right with all the bad reviews on the service people. Now I know I was right about that. I always talk to people in my business. No matter how bad you feel that day, tell them if you want, but always try to smile, or at least be friendly to them. A 'Better than THOU' attitude will not help your business. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$36
We had a very pleasent long weekend here. Our two 11 year olds had a great time at the pool. The campsites were very clean and large with lots of shade. Hook-ups were close and in fine condition. We were nestled in among some seasonals and I was pleased with the pride and care that was evident with all of the seasonal sites. The showers were very clean as was the pool area. Security checked for passes at the gate late in the evening and a secutity guard made a pass on foot aroud the grounds a 8 each evening. We did not notice any rude behavior from the staff/management as described in previous posts. Check-in was quick and painless and the young lady was very curteous and friendly. I think the rude staff is a thing of the past. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2003
$32
Camped here in summer 2003, bad atmosphere as far as owners/managers are concerned, very very rude people. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$29
This was a nice campground to stay at if visiting the Dells, it is away from all the noise downtown but close enough to get there in a few minutes. Pretty quiet and peaceful. Most sites are shaded and some are very large. Pool was clean and decent sized. Bathrooms were clean, I've seen better and worse but they were acceptable. The only down side we experienced were the owners and staff. We felt they were somewhat rude when asked questions about the Dells and/or had other needs. But it was bearable and didn't detract from our vacation; they weren't terrible people though they could improve in their hospitality. We'd return. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$30
This was a nice campground about 5 minutes outside of the Dells. The sites are well shaded and big. Very quiet at night. Noticed about 8 at night a security guy walking around checking to make sure all was okay. The owners were very nice and helpful. Want to stay at a campground not in the hustle and bustle of the Dells this was a good one. Yes there are some railroad tracks close by, but the trains going on them were not that bad. The restrooms were kept clean, the pool is good size. It also had a kiddie pool. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2003
$32
We just purchased a new trailer and are relatively new to this type of camping. It really is too bad that I didn't find this review site before we decided to stay at this park. It was not a good experience and we definitely will not be going back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2002
$27
This is truly the camp ground from hell. These managers have no respect for the customers. Its a shame as the potential is there. STAY AWAY!!! We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2002
$36
Don't bother. Too many excellent campgrounds in the area to go here. Terrible people, terrible atmosphere. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2002
$36
Just got back from a terrible 3 day weekend. Right from check in, red haired girl at counter was very unfriendly, did'nt feel welcome at all. Witnessed 2 events with owner telling people "if you don't like it leave". They are celebrating 25 years in business this year, maybe 5 years too long for them. Don't think they will make it another 5 with their attitudes. Would not recommend going there with so many excellent campgrounds available in the area. We positively will never return. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2002
$36
Beautiful surroundings, but the owners/managers attitudes and demeaner towards patrons make it a very, very ugly place to stay. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2001
$30
Would not recommend this place to anyone. Bad service, bad attitudes, bad people. Nothing but disrespect by owners/managers. Guess they think they are better than everyone. Oh well let them think that, we all know better. Please save yourself the frustration and go somewhere else, anywhere else. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2001
$38
We hated this place. The employees/owners went out of their way to be rude. Gangs of young teens run wild and pick on smaller kids. The playground is poor at best. They price gouge you on everything. We will never go back. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2001
$25
Great campground very close to Wisconsin Dells attraction. It is approximately four miles from the strip and downtown. Quiet location but you could hear some train noise. They have lots of different types of sites. The water and electric sites were huge, level and nicely shaded. The bathrooms were clean but older style. Nice paved roads throughout the campground. Nice catch and release private fishing lakes within the campground. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com