214755 User submitted reviews online!!
Terry Bison Ranch Resort was rated 6 out of 10 based on 97 user reviews. Phone: (307) 634-4171
CGID3310

Terry Bison Ranch Resort

Camp Information
Sites
94
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$23



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   8   6   7   6   4   8   7   7   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2014
$23
This was a good park about 20 yrs ago. The front of the registration office was made to look like old store fronts. They are now falling part and disgusting. When I went to the garbage area to dispose of dog waste and a fish head I had to pickup around the site before parking the cans were overflowing on the ground. Rate reflects Passport America. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$24
Lots to do here. Park was pretty full. Quite a few permanent residents but not a problem. Only one night here but wish to go back longer. Pull thru site, level enough so did not use jacks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$42
Dusty campsites that can be reached on dusty gravel roads. Grass has not been mowed for a couple of weeks. Registration staff did not provide much information except number of the assigned campsite and directions to get there. For the nightly rate charged we expected more amenities than the free Wi-Fi, which was slow. We found activities offered on the ranch by reading the posters. I highly recommend riding the train and buy the feed to feed the bison. That was a lot of fun. We will come back again for the activities but not for the campsites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$23
PPA rate. This is a tough one to evaluate. Just as an RV park it gets a 5 or 6. Kind of scruffy. Grass growing in gravel sites which are narrow. At your picnic table you could hit your head on the neighbors slide or rest your feet on their sewer hose. Long term residents scattered instead of being in a certain area. The entry drive hadn't seen gravel or grading yet. Good convenient location to overnight for which it works well especially at PPA rates. But I gave it a 7 because I could see where it might be a fun place to bring the family for a weekend with all the other facilities they have. Should be a real interesting mix when its full with weekenders, overnighters, and long term residents. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2014
$28
We have stayed here before because it is convenient to I-25. Definitely needs some TLC although I admit it's early in the spring season after a harsh winter so hopefully interior roads (mainly the entrance) will be receive more gravel, etc. soon. We only used the campground which was OK, sites are adequate but could be a bit tight if the park was busy. The Senators Restaurant on site was rather expensive for lunch and the food was 'average' at best. There are quite a few long-term residents here but they all seem to be in a certain area and presented no problem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2013
$42
In early November it often looks different than in summer. Staff was friendly and helpful in the office. When we arrived at our site, we were greeted by neighbours dog barking and having done his business all over the place. That is not really the fault of the park, but it doesn't make for a good first impression. The sites are long, slightly sloping forward but no problem for leveling. They are on dirt and wide enough for slide outs but the awnings might just touch neigbours RV. Basic hookups, working, nothing special. WiFi had a signal but nothing was going through. Bring your own solution or get mad! Restrooms were done o.k. but could use a cleanup and an update. Highway noise is always present but doesn't prevent you from a good sleep. I think it is way overpriced for what it is or how it is presented. As an RV Park by itself it wouldn't work, only together with the other stuff at the ranch - in summer time - it is worth while going there. I will not return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$23
The rate is for Passport America 50% off club. We have stayed at Terry Bison several times in the past 4 years going north and south in the Spring and Fall. Basic CG facilities but adequate for an overnight. Agree with previous comments on overpriced sites. We use the showers and they are always clean. Desk people have always been friendly. Some traffic noise but few (if ever) trains. Take a site away from the highway. The best part of the CG is the restaurant. We always get the buffalo meatloaf - very good and lots of leftovers for the road. Good tap beer and margarita's. Very friendly staff and bartender. You get a 10% off coupon for the restaurant and gift shop when you check in. No, this is not a "resort" for us, but for a convenient overnight it works well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$46
A little out of the way but a decent park. They do have a restaurant as part of the complex and the food was excellent. Buffalo meatloaf was very good. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$23
We stayed here overnight. The park is clean with very little staff interaction. Internet was not working probably due to the heavy winds when we were here. This is an ok place for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2013
$41
We stayed here to avoid the flooding in N Colorado. Arrived late (dusk) after confirming they had spots available. It had been raining so the park was full of puddles. The asphalt roads are in poor condition so there are potholes everywhere and chunks of asphalt in the roads. The first spot we went to had too much water, potholes, and mud. We opted for a different spot that looked more level and had less water. After leveling the 5th wheel my wife went inside our rig only to find she had tracked in dog crap on her shoes. Looking further we found several more piles of dog crap on our site. These were from a LARGE dog. I looked out in the field next to the park and there was a guy with 3 great danes running loose....found the source. The park is old and there are a lot of full timers. The owner evidently doesn't care and the park reflects it. When my wife told the clerk about the dog crap problem she said "Why don't you just leave.." Nice attitude! On the bright side the on-site restaurant is nice and they have a good staff. Please remember to clean up after your pets We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2013
$47
We stayed two nights here. We would never stay here again It looks like a homeless camp. We have dogs barking right now. The place is a mess There were only two washers working and one dryer quit while we were in the laundry room. The receptionist was rude at best.. What a dive. Lots of traffic noise too. Stay away.. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2013
$23
This is the closest we have ever parked to a freeway. This is the noisiest park we have ever patronized. One look in the restrooms will send a wise customer packing. Hardly worth the Passport price you see here let alone the full price many reviewers have paid. Had intended to stay 2 nights, however, sleep was nearly impossible so left real early. Checking in I was told passport discount was only good for one night and could use only one discount per stay, so I paid for one night. No room to put out awning. Barely enough room for our total 55 foot length without unhooking (didn't unhook). Neighboring camper had company or visitors and many vehicles made for lots less room around our site. Trash situation brought a lot of flies to the area (reviews think it is animals, but it isn't) there is no dumpster just a lot of regular home use garbage cans overflowing and lidless. Typical dust with no foliage or trees. Good power, level site, not good water. Good reception of local channels. Would never stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$23
We stayed for 1 night, and quoted the Passport America rate. There was a bluegrass festival on the ranch the weekend we stayed. The park was about 85% full. It's close to the interstate, but with the AC on, the highway noise wasn't an issue. We took the $12pp train trip that went through the ranch, and fed the bison from the train. The bison burger available at the restaurant on site was really huge and delicious. This campground is good for an overnight stop. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$23
Price reflects Passport America. Easy pull-thrus. Good 50 amp electric. Dirt and gravel spots. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2013
$46
Campground is way overpriced for what you get. Grounds are ill kept, large potholes in park roads, greenery is almost nothing but weeds. Power good, wi-fi very weak, didn't go into showers after seeing the laundry room area. Be prepared to listen to employee's loud barking dogs late into the night. Tours and fishing are obvious means to separate you from as much money as fast as possible. Certainly not a "resort" park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$46
Stayed here in 2013 Pricey for dirt sites. A little noisy from freeway. Nice to see live animals and they are a sanctuary for hurt and abandoned animals. They have a lot Buffalo but tours are very expensive. The staff is very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$46
This is not a resort! It is Ok for overnight, but not much else. The sites are level and long enough. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$18
Passport America rate. Friendly staff. Easy access, along frontage road. Near Interstate, but noise not an issue. Lots of permanents, but again not an issue. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2013
$32
Next to freeway (noise) and frequent trains (noise). Very windy and dusty area. Gravel and dirt mainly with remote grassy areas. No shade or trees. Ok, if overnight on the way someplace else, but wouldn't spend much time there. My first trip - very disappointing. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2012
$19
This place looks like it has been stuck in a time warp. There has been absolutely no updating in 20 years. Everything at the ranch costs extra and is VERY expensive. Sites are not even close to level and there was mus everywhere. There was TONS of noise from the adjacent interstate and train tracks. Wifi didn't work at all. A bad camping experience overall. Price is PA. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$34
The negatives about this park is highway noise, sites are to close together, and dusty. OK now that we've said that. We had a wonderful stay here, so much fun. The staff here is so friendly and helpful. This is a working Ranch (bison and cattle). The restaurant is good and specialize in bison (which I didn't partake but my husband said was great). Went on a 2 hour horse ride into the hills around here (beautiful). If you have children this is the place; there are several playgrounds. They also have a train ride that takes you around the ranch. We only stayed 2 nights, so we didn't do all the activities. Great place to relax and have some fun. Wi-fi is so so. No cable, but we were able to get a few channels from antenna (you won't have much time for TV anyway). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$33
It is a dirty and rocky campground. Sites are narrow and ours was no where close to level. There are no free amenities. Everything you do costs at least $12 per person. The restaurant was acceptable, expensive and full of flies. We had to fight them to eat our food. WiFi was not working at all. Road and train noise was terrible. This was not a pleasant stay for us at all. We hope we do not have to return here at any time in the future. It is convenient to Cheyenne for grocery shopping. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$20
Nothing but a gravel lot, lots of noise, prices at restaurant were REALLY high. On the plus side: good to see bison roaming out your windshield. AT&T ok. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$19
This park is not pretty to look at. The sites are gravel but level with very little grass. They are not huge but there was room for our two slides and awning. We were able to leave the toad hooked up since we only stayed one night. Cable is not available but we did get 2 channels on our antenna. The Wi-Fi was actually pretty good. All that being said, there is lots to do. There is a train, and many kinds of animals to see including camels, bison, chickens, alpaca, horses, llama, and peacock. You can go horseback riding or ride the train to see a bison herd. There were small, carnival type rides, although they didn't look like they were working. There is a cute little store with a full sized stuffed bison and jackalope to sit on for picture taking. You can buy bison meat at the store. You can fish. There is also a restaurant that will deliver to your site if you are too tired to go out. It is a Passport America member. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
Flat and dry, but easy in and out. Staff is friendly, onsite restaurant had awesome food, lots to walk around and do/see in the park. Stayed during the drought so it was pretty dusty and windy, but overall a good place to stay a few nights. A bit south of Cheyenne but still convenient. Highly recommend the restaurant on property, awesome food and TERRIFIC service! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$20
This was our second stay at this park. Staff is very friendly and helpful. I must agree that the RV area needs a lot of attention. The overnight sites are cramped and somewhat out of level. They do however have an excellent restaurant that serves Bison steaks, which was on my "bucket list". This park rates an average even with the PA discount. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$34
We enjoyed our experience at this park, which is basically a working ranch that allows RVs, not a resort that decided to add some bison. With that in mind, I found it charming and enjoyed walking around seeing the animals. The on site store had some neat stuff. There is a train ride out to see the herd and we were able to feed them. The price stacks up to other parks and services I have seen. There was road noise and the site was not as level as it should be, but I still recommend it if you are open to a rustic site with some novel experiences. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
This park seems to be a part of a larger bison ranch operation, but the RV section has been completely ignored by the owners. It looks dated and neglected, with no visible maintenance or updates. It is 10 miles south of Cheyenne, located on the I-25 frontage road. This park maybe at some time in the past was probably a charming and interesting place to stay, but not now in its present condition. I am surprised at the ratings it gets from Woodalls and Good Sams. We would never stay here again or recommend it to anyone looking for a quality RV experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$20
Internet was down, and they parked us next to a BIG DOG. Did not seem to bother the dog and he did not bark. Was just a BIG DOG to watch out for while hooking up. Everything in the gift shop and added activities, was very expensive. Without Passport America, we would have just kept on going. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$20
In contrast to recent reviews, we find this park is very good, especially for the price we paid (50% off Escapees or Passport America). Good electric, good wi-fi, good Sprint and Verizon signals, and a field full of buffalo nearby. Convenient for an overnight stay. Might be good with children, as well. Highway is loud, but easy access compensates for that. Site was fairly level, as good as most places we stop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
November 2011
$20
1/2 price due to Camp USA. Overrated. By the campground guide I thought it would be away from traffic. The distance quoted is actually a frontage road and it is located right on the highway. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2011
$35
Park is located right next to the interstate so it is noisy all night long. It is off exit 7 and about 2 miles down a service road. We got here about 4:45PM and had to wait for someone to check us in. They seemed more concerned about getting us to go to the on site steak house than telling us where to park. We got parked and leveled and unhooked before we found out that one leg of the 50amp plug-in was off and there were no breakers to be found. We went back to the building and they were closed and gone. We had to move to another site. When we left in the morning we told them about the bad plug and they didn't seem to care. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2011
$32
Although the staff is very friendly, this park leaves a lot to be desired. It is a working ranch, so there are cattle, bison and camels around. There is a very well stocked store and the restrooms are clean, if somewhat worn looking. The RV sites are quite uneven! I asked for a pull-through so I would not need to unhook my car, but my site was so uneven I had to unhook before pulling in. They advertise many family amenities, but they are in poor repair and they charge for some of them. Cable TV was okay, but Wi-Fi was iffy. The RV park is also situated right next to the Highway and the noise from the big rig traffic went on well into the night. There is a restaurant on site that had mediocre reviews, but we found the food very good. Service was excellent and the prices reasonable. My biggest complaint is the condition of the sites. The gravel is sparse and, as I said, very uneven. Connections are not placed very well either. It is a long stretch to the sewer connection. Access to Terry Bison Ranch RV Park is not easy. There is one road in and out. If you miss the off ramp going South it is an extra 18 mile round trip to the next off ramp! If you do find the off ramp, then you need to travel about 2 miles on the frontage road to the park entrance. If you have a family and want entertainment for the kids, it is a good park. If you do not have kids, it is only an okay place. Pluses: Good steak house, friendly staff and well stocked store. Minuses: Access, uneven sites, poor Wi-Fi signal, rough sites, worn looking facilities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$34
Quiet and easy pull through sites. Attractions offered by the "ranch" were overpriced. Would stay here for overnight. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
The big draw for this park is the sight of the bison out on the range. They also have lots of other animals, such as camels (including a baby), llamas, emus, goats, miniature horses, and assorted barnyard animals. Park isn't particularly attractive and there is a lot of noise from the highway. Wind can be a problem, too. No cable and WiFi is spotty. There is a restaurant there; a bit overpriced in my opinion. Nice gift shop with unusual items. They have added a new playground in the back of the park. They also offer "train rides" on on the range to see the bison and horseback rides. You have to go into Cheyenne for any grocery shopping. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
We liked this park just off I-25 South at exit 2. There's a good restaurant on the premises that serves bison many different ways--even soup. There's no cable but we could get sufficient channels. Be careful letting out your awning. The wind can come up suddenly and fiercely. Our next door neighbor from Germany put his up and when the wind came up, had to struggle to get it down. A rainstorm and wind came up during the night and woke us and we put down our TV antenna. Next am, some who didn't had them damaged. We were within sight of the CO border and on the park, we enjoyed a train ride through a bison herd and got to see a yak and beefalo as well. Everyone is nice and they also have a pretty well stocked general store for pick up items. Everything is close by in this area; the Wrangler store, Warren AFB, the capital, and the old Train Depot and Museum. Would recommend Shadows in the Depot for a lunch or evening meal. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2011
$32
We stayed here on the spur of the moment, we were tired and needed full hook-ups. We received a level, pull-thru site with fine electric, water and sewer. The park employees were friendly and the office area is dressed up like an old time western town. That's all the positive I could find. No, we would not stay here again if given a choice. The sites are extremely close together and our neighbor had a large dog tethered outside until 10:45 at night and he barked. The dog's barking wasn't nearly as bad as the motorcycles and the noises drunken idiots who just had to watch their sporting events outside until nearly 11 PM. The outdoor TV was turned up loud as were the people watching. We just lay in bed suffering with it until they finally quieted down at bedtime. Additionally this park is poorly maintained; everything we say needed repair. The grass was ankle high and the insects were annoying. This was without doubt one of the couple of parks that were this bad in all our decades of RVing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2011
$42
We really hated this park and will never stay here again. But not for the reasons stated by the last couple of posters. I hate excessive noise and this park is wildly noisy with freeway noise. It is not the parks fault. They are no closer than many RV parks which have been OK for me. But on this part of I-25 the pavement is particularly noisy and trucks run this route heavily all night. The noise spoiled any enjoyment for me here. If it were not for the excessive noise I would have rated it about 5. The spaces are too close together. But there is grass. The 50 amp works fine and so does water and sewer. The office is cute, plus we had a good dinner in the cowboy restaurant. Good T bone steak and live country music. And there are bison roaming the back 40. So not a bad park except for terrible noise. Not a good park either. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
The park showed signs of deterioration and poor maintenance. Our site was missing a picnic table, the tables at other sites were delapidated. There was so little room between rigs we could only place a borrowed table over the neighbor's sewer connection. Most all playground equipment was broken, and apparently had been for a very long time. Old equipment was parked around the office and playground area. Showers were very poorly lighted and poorly ventilated. During the 2 1/2days we stayed, 2 of the 4 dryers were broken and not repaired. A third dryer ceased to function while we were doing our laundry, after a long wait. While our money for the dryer was refunded, the dryer was not even marked "out of order" several hours later. Service at the restaurant was very poor. We ordered 2 entrees, one of which was "all you can eat bison chili and cornbread." The waitress simply plopped one small bowl in front of me, and informed me that that was all the chili they had left, giving me no option to reorder,and informed us that we would need to order another second entree. It took another 15 - 20 minutes to get the other entree while the first sat getting cold. I asked for a second piece of cornbread, since I was still hungry. The waitress tried to add a $1.00 charge to the tab for the single piece of cornbread, on an "all you can eat" entree, of which there was no more chili. The french fries on the second order were partly burned and of poor quality. Overall, the food quality was poor and poorly served, hardly worth the $30 we paid for 1 small bowl of chili, 2 small slices of cornbread, 1 bratwurst and burned fries with 2 beers, and 1 small serving of trifle. We do not recommend this RV park or the restaurant. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$32
At one time, this was probably a very nice RV park, but it needs some TLC to get back to that point. The grass needed to be mowed (which would have made a huge improvement) and the park needed some updating. Friendly staff was a plus. Would not allow my children on the playground - did not look safe to me. Convenient location. We only stayed one night here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$27
We paid Passport America for 1 night, and Good Sam for an additional 3. RV park needs work but the location is good for Cheyenne. Road is gravel and has some pot holes. Although sites are somewhat close, the office did not put anyone next to another rig while they had room. In 4 days, no one was next to us. Lots of area to walk the dog. Grass/weeds are between spaces and not maintained but not overgrown. Not fancy but it has full hookups and is a quiet park except for the freeway noise, which we couldn't hear over the wind for several days. (Just WY weather). Views of the bison herd from our RV was really nice. Lots of animal activities for kids, but it was "kid quiet." Food in the restaurant is very good. We'd stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$18
This is a large ranch with bison, horses, camels, goats, fishing, a train, horse rides, and a very good restaurant. Very nice people, the grassland is very pretty. The TV signal is great, no cable TV, the Wi-Fi works well and I am far away from the clubhouse. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2011
$18
Park is way over priced, even at the Passport rate of $18, which is 50% off. It is poorly maintained. Would dry camp at Wal-Mart or the Flying J next time. Same amount of interstate noise as a Flying J. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2011
$32
1. Refused to honor Good Sam discount for weekly rate though both are on their website. 2. Entry and interior roads are pot-holed and rough: uncomfortable riding in motorhome! 3. WiFi was unreliable and inconsistent. 4. Sites VERY close together, uneven dirt and grass with no concrete pad/patio. 5. Few picnic tables old, warped, dirty. 6. Bison burger was good. It appears to have been years since any money was put into the RV park part of the ranch. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$18
The rate is first night Passport. After that it is $35.00. The best thing is the long pull-through sites. The roads are wide but full of pot holes. The sites are undefined. Mostly uncut weeds and gravel and no trees. There are a few picnic tables, but they are old, unfinished, and warped. We ask for a site with good WiFi and we were close to an antennae, but it was frustrating trying to stay on and very slow. We ended up going to the library. Which, by the way, is wonderful. If you don't have satellite, forget about TV. The laundry, restrooms, and showers are in the same building as the store/registration. Everything is pretty old. Restrooms and showers have chipped painted floors, and the stalls are very tiny. Only 1 shower has a fluorescent light partially over it. The others are pretty dark! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$18
Nothing fancy here, but just fine for an overnight stay. There was plenty of room to walk my dog, and I really liked that. The bison burger at the restaurant was really good. They have an interesting store with a variety of goods. We bought propane, and they were fast and efficient filling it. I've stayed here twice, for an overnight each time, and would happily stay again, especially for the $18 price. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2011
$28
Can't comment on the washrooms. Saw where they were on the park map, but there were no indicators on the building itself that we could find. Many long term stay vehicles including a mobile home without siding. Decent dogwalking area (no enclosed run, though). Perhaps because of the time of year, there were no bison in the field, although you could see them in a muddy stockyard. I agree with other reviewers that this might be a fun stay for a family in the summer. We would personally look elsewhere though. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$20
Rate reflects Passport America. Site are not level. Staff is friendly and there is a herd of bison in the field beyond. Restaurant on site and lots of playground equipment. I think this would be a fun place in the summer, not April. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$32
Stopped overnight at the end of March. Their summer services are not yet open, but an interesting place still. Nice people and very nice facilities. A big store on site with gifts, clothes, and food items. I want to come back some day in the summer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$32
Very easy to access from interstate. The sites are some what open and windy. The roads are packed gravel, wide, and easy to maneuver for pull through sites. The staff was very helpful, I needed a part and when it was delivered, they immediately called me letting me know that it had arrived. There is a great restaurant within walking distance and the park gave us a coupon. Restrooms were very clean. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$18
Easy to find and a good road into the park. Long enough pull throughs for a motorhome and toad. Our site was not very level. The park is close to the freeway, and right across the freeway is a busy railroad. Heavy traffic all night. We would not stop again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$18
Passport rate of $17 plus tax. Good value for a 50 amp full hookup with strong Wi-Fi. We had no problems leveling. Pretty much just an overnight stop. But note that this exit has nothing else except a couple fireworks stores. If you need fuel or food get it before coming here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$18
This park is located 2 miles from the highway exit, but along a frontage road, so it is noisy. It could use some TLC, sites are in gravel, dirt, dried grass, but are long, spacious, and easy to get into. It was very windy, some dust. We had to use 2 blocks to level on the side, but did not have to unhook. The laundry has 4 washers and 4 dryers, all a little old. The dryers do not work well, it took 2 cycles to get everything dry. It cost $1.00 to wash and $1.25 x 2 (40 minutes x 2) to dry. I would not use the laundry again unless really desperate. The restroom and showers were ok. We ate at the restaurant, a buffalo burger/french fries/beans cost $9.95 and was ok. Our aircard worked good, their WiFi is slow. The rate is a Passport America rate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$26
Our rate was the weekly rate plus 1 day at the Passport America rate. The park is a little run down but they seem to be working on improving it--we've stayed here other years and see the changes. The cabins look very nice from the outside. Laundry room was clean. Highway noise is high, even on the back row. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
This campground is convenient to I-25. This is a great campground for children. There are a lot of animals and pony rides, etc. There was a little road noise from the highway. We ate at the restaurant on the property. We had buffalo burgers and they were very good. They raise the buffalo on the property. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$32
This campground is adequate. Pull-through sites are wide and long enough for big rigs. No shade. Very few sites have picnic tables. No cable; TV reception is iffy. Wi-Fi is spotty. There is a nice store and a restaurant that looks ok, but prices are a little high. You have to drive quite a ways to get to a grocery store. The big draw: lots of animals to look at (donkeys, horses, ponies, goats, llamas, camels, ostriches, peacocks, and of course, bison, lots of bison.) It was wonderful to wander over to the fence and watch the bison out on the rolling prairie. Laundry was adequate, but the dryers didn't work very well. Lots of highway noise. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$32
Grassy wide sites with good hook ups. Has a good restaurant. Kids would like it. Good for overnight stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$17
Rate was the Passport America rate and not valid during Cheyenne Days. Access road was good; interior roads fair to good. Check-in is at the store; the cashier was not particularly friendly and seemed anxious to be done with us as soon as possible. Some of the sites aren't very level, fortunately ours was. Our pull-through site was plenty long for our 40' coach and Jeep in tow. We had dinner in the restaurant - I had a bison burger and it was okay. The buildings, playgrounds, corrals, all look like they were pieced together out of scrap steel, wood, and fencing. The 45 minute train ride was $12 per person which I thought was a little too expensive for what you got. The train ride was extremely noisy - if it was longer I think your hearing would be permanently damaged. ;-) I would stay here again for a place to park the coach; their tourist activities wouldn't appeal to me again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$17
The Passport America price. This place is great fun. Lots of animals to enjoy: buffalo, camels, horses, ponies, a baby mule and baby horses. Horseback riding. There's a great gift shop with exceptionally nice girls working the counter. There's quite a nice restaurant. I hope to stay here again, I wish the PA rate was for more than one night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$17
Price reflects a single night at Passport America rate. Not a bad park for an overnight stay. The entire complex is set up as a destination type park, with horseback rides, buffalo herd, stores, restaurant, photo booths, etc. All of this stuff looked pretty cheesy and commercial to us, but we were fine with the campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$33
Nice enough park about 6 miles south of Cheyenne. As previous reviewers have mentioned, the sites are a little narrow and the interior roads are a little rough. The free Wi-Fi works fairly well. Some traffic noise at night from nearby I-25. Rate posted reflects 1 night at Passport America rate and 1 night at the Frontier Days rate ($10 higher than the normal full nightly rate). The on site ranch with buffalo, camels, and other animals is a plus for families with children, but overpriced for the tours. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
Sadly this park is so poorly maintained we were afraid to let the kids use the playground full of broken equipment. The water had a foul smell and when we asked about it were told 'it gets that way sometimes' NEVER AGAIN. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$16
The sites are somewhat narrow, but you can put out your awning and your slides and so can your neighbor. There is grass, not just pavement. Electric hookup is strong, we have good broadband and good cell phone. This is a destination park with lots to do, though that isn't why we were here. Rate reflects 50% Escapees discount for one day. Second day was $32. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$18
Interesting park and good stop for Passport America members. The pass is good for 1 night only. Park is clean but could use some attention to the interior roads and sites. The sites are VERY close together, e.g. looking directly into your neighbor's window and could not put out awning to sit outside, no room. There are picnic tables in a park like area, with some small shade trees. It appears that the RV Park itself holds a back seat to the real money making aspects of the ranch, which is okay. However this could really be a spectacular park you would tell your friends to put on their itineray if passing this way, especially if they had chilrdren. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$28
We enjoyed this campground. Everyone is friendly. There are things to do. It is clean and well maintained but kept kind of rustic. Unfortunately, the sites are too close together. They have plenty of land, so I can't understand why they didn't put some space in the campground. Also, our 50 amp did not work. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2010
$18
This was kind of a funky park, with a lot of attractions (train, restaurant) which were not open yet. It was gravel with a little grass. Large store on the property with rather interesting items for sale. It was just a rather odd place. Not sure we would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$17
Noisy, dirt/gravel road and sites. Rate is PA rate (50%) Wi-Fi very strong and fast. Long pull thru's. Picked up 6 TV stations on the digital box. Wide open for Sat. reception. Good views. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2009
$32
We stopped here overnight. The campground is out in the open without any shade. Highway noise from I-25 is noticeable. The sites are gravel and mostly level, but too close together. It’s good there were only a few campers here after Labor Day. The grass between sites, if you want to call it that: well, it’s like camping out in a field. One reason we stopped was several web sites and the AAA Travel Guide mentioned a chuck wagon dinner. The girl at the campground store told me they no longer do the chuck wagon dinners. It is ok for a stop over, but we probably won’t come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$32
This is an older campground on the edge of a working buffalo ranch. It sits right off of I-25 and overlooks the rolling prairie. In spite of the highway, it's fairly quiet here. All of the full hookup sites are long, level, pull-through gravel, but they also have W/E only sites for $21/night. The W/E sites are in a separate area of the campground where it's more open and they have a direct view of the prairie. They also rent cabins and horse stalls. The power is good. There is a small store and giftshop with a few groceries and frozen buffalo meat. There is a restaurant on the grounds and you can purchase a buffalo burger for $9.50. The laundry is inexpensive ($1.00 to wash, $1.25 to dry). There are two playground areas for children. The draw of this campground is the Ranch itself. They offer daily tours to see the buffalo by train, car, and they also offer horseback rides. The cost varies: check the website. They have a barnyard where you can pet baby animals (for free), and there is an interesting catwalk that is wheelchair accessible. The catwalk takes you up over several corrals of animals where you look down on horses, cattle, pigs, ostriches, goats, and a donkey below. When we were here on 9/03/09 the campground was only about 25% full and there is one row of seasonal worker fifth-wheels set up on the edge of the campground. That area appears well kept. I think that perhaps the pace here picks up in the summertime, but right now it's very quiet considering that we're in Labor Day weekend. We stayed here for two nights. We got the first night at Passport America rate, but we had to pay the full cost for the second night. They wouldn't honor the Good Sam discount for the second night. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$32
For WY this is a nice park. It is very hard to find parks along I-80. The staff was very nice and they have a nice little store to shop for goodies. Was sorry to hear their season ended the 31st. It seems they had a lot going on during the summer months. We did get to see lots of animals. The bathrooms were very clean,but lacked in lighting. The showers were very dark. Take a lantern with you. Laundry was cheap. Wi-Fi was free and had good service. Sites were gravel and that is expected in WY. The I-25 traffic didn't bother us and was quiet at night. We got the passport on the first night, regular rate thereafter. We would stay here again,nice overnight stop.. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$35
This is a no frills kind of campground on the Wyoming/Colorado border. Landscape is very open, roads and sites are gravel. Lots of bison and other animals to view. Store carries basic items. Very pet friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$18
The fee is for the Passport America rate. The sites are all pull through and we had no trouble leveling. The water seemed soft and the wifi worked well. This is an overnight park although they have lots of interesting animals to view and a really nice playground/kid's area. The staff was pleasant and helpful. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$27
We stayed here two nights. The park was clean and we enjoyed the animals and the open spaces. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
It' a great place for a night stop over. We camped here a week before the Cheyenne Frontier Days and there were plenty of spaces available. Easy in and out. Our site wasn't all that level but not bad. We arrived late. We pulled in, set up , and then paid as we left in the morning...at the park owners request. Very nice people. Park was clean but had no other frills or amenities. The park is close to I-25 so it's rather noisy all night. We'd stay here again for an over nighter but would look for something else if we stayed longer than that. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$34
We camped in 45 foot motor home. The interior roads and sites are gravel. Watch out for there are some pot holes. There is Easy access off Exit 2 east of I-25. There is road noise because of close proximity to interstate. There is little shade available. The staff was friendly. The WiFi worked reasonably well. We stayed during Cheyenne Frontier Days. This park is good for overnight or short stay. Restrooms were not great, but not bad. Some maintenance in the park is overdue. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$31
The sites are clean and well kept. Nice little store and restaurant are attached to the park. They also have trail rides and bison that are next to the park. We enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
This is one of the poorest RV parks we have ever been to. The grass had not been cut, no shade, the sewer opening was covered with a board, the desk help could have cared less about us. Had to wait 1/2 hour to get propane. Lastly, the noise from the interstate is awful all night long. We thought this was going to be a ranch setting, but instead, it's a field with hook up's. Would never go back again!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$32
Very neat working ranch. The road was a little rough coming into the camp and the sites were a little too close together. However, the electric worked great. Sites are gravel with weeds for grass. The restaurant was very nice and the food was great, if a little expensive. Plently of things to do if you have children. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$32
This is a good park to stay in while exploring the Cheyenne area. The ranch itself has a lot of things to do including horseback rides, bison tours, and a lot of different kinds of animals to see. There are playgrounds and things that would probably be of interest to children, although we didn’t see any during our mid-week stay in June. There is a restaurant and saloon on site that is open for lunch and dinner. The RV sites overlook rolling grasslands with grazing bison herds. Now the downside: The RV park is basically a grass field with gravel roads and sites. The roads are in pretty good shape but many of the sites are more grass than gravel. This would not normally be a problem in this dry climate, but the Cheyenne area had unusually heavy rains before and during our stay and the some of the sites with diminished gravel turned into mud holes. The park wasn’t that full so it wasn’t a problem to find dry sites, but they really should replenish the gravel. The road from the ranch entrance to the RV park is also in very bad shape, with many deep holes and standing water. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$17
You can view their website to see what this place was intended to be. It falls a bit short of that so it isn’t a destination park. It’s next to the interstate so road noise is constant. The access roads and pads are gravel. The sites are mostly pull thrus, level, and just long enough for a big rig, but very close together. The wind blows constantly in the spring. Enough to rattle the rolled up awnings. On the positive side, the voltage, water pressure, and customer service was good. Free WiFi with strong signal, but still slow. Bath and laundry facilities are well kept. There is a nice western style gift shop plus a restaurant on site. Notwithstanding the wind and road noise, on balance this is an OK place for a day or two. Rate reflects a Passport discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
November 2008
$31
There is not much to choose from in Cheyenne in November and not much to say good about this one. They only have three sites with water in the winter and the one we had had huge potholes in the drive through portion of the site. Aside from 50 amp service there is not much to say. Next time we will try someone else. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2008
$35
We found the campground to be bit rundown. In its heyday, it was probably a nice place. Wi-Fi was advertised, but the signal was very weak. The fee was $35 including tax. A more appropriate charge would have been closer to $20 or $25 when comparing it to other parks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$32
Very unique. Lots of things for families with children. Nice store and restaurant. Staff friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$32
It is actually about 5 miles South of Cheyenne I-80 but only about 10 minutes away. There are a lot of activities geared to younger children (pony rides, small ferris wheel, playground, etc.) which might be useful if staying during Frontier Days. If you stay near the office you do hear a lot of road noise from I-25 all night. It might be less noticeable in a motor home unit. No fire pits at sites, but there are a couple common ones if you want to roast a marshmallow or hot dog. It was interesting to see the variety of animals (camels, lamas, ostrich). Very friendly staff. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$32
Good CG with various activities available on site. A good place to see buffalo, and other animals. Staff was helpful. While close to the I-25, I did not hear road noise. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
We stayed here 8 nights and feel it is kind of pricey - especially since other than sporadic wi-fi & a small playground, there are no amenities. We made the mistake of having our mail forwarded here (after checking with the office first). On the day our mail should have arrived, we learned that no one in the office actually knows when the mail will come, as it depends on when an employee has a chance to drive into town to get it. Many of the "permanent" RVs have junk under and around them. One man (a CG employee) has a very aggressive dog tied outside, on a long chain that allows the dog into the roadway next to the dog walk area. We were fortunate that this barking, lunging dog's collar didn't break while we were walking our dog. Another "permanent" rig has pit bulls, so apparently the aggressive breeds are allowed here. Next time we're through this area, we'll try a different campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$28
We used this park as an overnight stop on the way to Colorado. It was a bit run down and probably has seen better days. The driveways were gravel and the sites were a mixture of gravel and grass (that needed mowing). We did a bit of a walk around and saw some of the advertised animals. The showers and bathrooms were clean. The price used the Woodall's book coupon ($6 discount on the first night). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$31
This RV park is located about a quarter of a mile off I-25 and can easily be accessed from the interstate. There is some road noise from the freeway but nothing excessive. The park has long gravel pull throughs and adequate spacing between sites. It offers a number of activities for the family which seemed to be priced a little high. There is a restaurant operated on site and a small grocery and souvenir shop. WIFI signal was good. Overall, this is a good park for an overnight stay. Park staff was friendly and helpful. We would stay here again when passing through. Price shown was for 4 people with a Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2007
$31
This is a nice enough park. The sites are level and everything is gravel. The little grass that exists is thin and dry. My only complaint is that much of the things available at the park (such as the restaurant) were closed in October but the rates were still the summer rate. We felt that they should have lowered the rate when they shut down all the extras. There are no trees so satellite service was no problem. It was very windy when we were there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$32
Lots of activities for the family, train tour of the ranch, trail rides, kiddy horse rides. Some of the ranch hands even rode their horses into the campgrounds and took the time to talk to my kids, very cool! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2007
$35
Site was adequate. Management okay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$28
We camped here to visit Cheyenne. It was fine. We don't care about activities. Staff was very nice. We have been there twice. It is very close to I25 with easy access. It is about 100yds or less to I25. The railroad operates across the road. But they don't run many trains. Would use it again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$30
We really liked our stay at the ranch. The restaurant is fine and the facilities are top notch along with free attractions for the kids. Free and fast Wifi was excellent. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$24
We camped here during Cheyenne Frontier Days. The park is an older park and the buildings do look somewhat shabby but it is supposed to resemble an old west town so I think it goes with the theme. The spots are of an average size, not too much room but a sufficient amount. There is a restaurant onsite. I only had the salad bar but my husband had the buffet which included several different buffalo dishes and said it was quite good. Nice playground for the kids and a very nice "general store". Lots of different activities going on at the park but there is a charge for each. Would stay at this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2005
$28
Park shows a lot of hard use. Probably was a great spot at one time in the past. Staff was not helpful, food was poor quality. Sites are not well kept and poorly marked. Buildings look to need upkeep. Sorry experience - expected much more. Too bad. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2003
$24
We were here in September and found it to be hot and windy. Most activities had already closed for the season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2001
$25
This place was so much fun. It is a working Bison and cattle ranch. The staff is wonderful. They have lots of horses and you can take a tour of the place on horseback, horse drawn wagon or bus for a price but it is a very reasonable price. They also have a restaurant right there that is really really good (expensive but worth it). I have a bad left leg and they made sure that I could get on a horse and did it without embarrassing me. Our youngest son and I had a great time riding with one of their guides and the bus tour was so much fun. Learned a lot about Buffalo too. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com