221614 User submitted reviews online!!
Tex's Travel Camp was rated 5 out of 10 based on 21 user reviews. Phone: (307) 875-2630
CGID3321

Tex's Travel Camp

Camp Information
Sites
89
Date of Stay
October 2012
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   3   6   7   8   4   1   7   3   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2012
$25
This place was scary. It seemed there were more for transient workers tenting and extended stay than travelers. No lights in shower building. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2012
$33
This park is very run down. Close to the highway so very noisy. Not many others staying here so others must have known it is not the best RV park. The picnic table at our site was missing. The grill that most sites had was broken off at the stand and laying on the ground. I will not stay here again, nor would I recommend it. Staff was friendly but not very knowledgeable and seemed too laid back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
This could be a nice campground if yard maintenance were kept up. The showers and restrooms were clean. It is a walk to get to the river access and it is a small area. Lots of train noise at night and also fireworks were being discharged at night. Fireworks are sold in the office. This campground appears that at one time it was a great find, but the grounds need to be taken care of. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$16
Stayed in the upper section (for transients) for 3 nights. Sites were roomy, sites and streets paved, small dirt islands between sites with native grasses and trees 18 to 35 feet tall. WiFi worked great at office: I was the only one on it. Laundry room in an old rail boxcar had clean restrooms and showers. Young women in the office were pleasant and helpful. After reading several negative reviews about this park, we were a little apprehensive. However it was in the right place for our touring, and we would certainly stay here again if we happen to be in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$32
Not a bad place for an overnight stay. Off I-80 a bit, has a separate area for overnighters, fairly large store, view of the Green River. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2011
$36
As indicated in Trailer Life Directory, the only thing good about this park is the restroom and shower facility. Parking spaces are uneven, corners are tight, and the driveway in steep resulting in dragging leveling jacks on the blacktop. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2011
$44
The rates for this nasty park are excessive. We have been on the road for 4-1/2 months and have never paid so much for parking. The grounds were littered with dog waste and trash. Dirt, weeds, lots of highway and train noise, trashy permanent residents in the overnight area, and barking dogs. We will drive further next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$32
This was an acceptable campsite for a night, but a bit pricey. It was very windy so the staff put us in the lower campground which is normally for long termers. It was not as windy and everything worked (unlike the KOA 10 miles east). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2010
$43
Pick your own site and walk back to the office to pay an excessive rate according to the length of your RV. There are only 2 good things to say about this park, the ladies restroom was clean and the interior roads and parking pads are blacktop. Everything else is a negative. Dirt, weeds, lots of highway and train noise, trashy permanent residents in the overnight area, barking dogs tied outside to RV’s all day, and a dirty men’s restroom but it’s the only park in town. YUCK! I’d rather drive further than stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$41
This is probably the nicest RV park in the SW Wyoming I-80 corridor. Has asphalt paved roads and sites. There is modest grass and skimpy shade trees between narrow sites. Maneuvering our 38-foot class A with a toad was not a problem. Hook-ups worked great. We couldn't get the WiFi from our site. The bathrooms were absolutely stunning: brand new tile, large clean shower stall and steaming hot water. Highway noise is a bit much. And it's over priced for what you get. Fortunately for us the park was mostly empty. Every site has a fire pit right under your bedroom window: very poorly situated so you would get smoked out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$34
This park is full of seasonal workers and they have only several sites for over night, in fact they limit the stay to 3 nights, which is what we were there. Most of the time we passed the entrance the no vacancy sign was out. The roads in the upper camp where we were are paved and the sites are full hookup. With the large number of campers and only one small dumpster, it was overflowing. They have cable TV but no wi-fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
The park has been taken over by seasonal workers. There were only 5 sites available for overnighters. Lots of barking dogs. Kids driving thru park on loud atv's. Place is becoming rundown. Went to get a bag of ice & was told the ice machine broke in the winter and hasn't been fixed. General lack of caring by office staff. Not much for the price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
The new section on this park is one of the best that we have seen all across I-80 in Wyoming since there was a good sized separation between the pull-thru sites with grass and a table. The quality of the new washroom was very good, similar to those new office buildings. The park does display the Good Sam logo but it is not clear that they are a member any more. They are across a road from I-80 and the road noise was not excessive. We thought it was the best overnight park for many miles. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2007
$15
We really didn't want to stay here after reading previous reviews but there wasn't much available in this area where we were visiting relatives. If you can go to a different location then do so. We were given a half price discount because the only spot that would fit our 35-footer had sewage hookup problems. We were on the "new" top level that had the very comical hand-painted sign "Viewpoint" that overlooked a green hill with a train track. Compared to the beauty we had just seen in Flaming Gorge we had to laugh. The office was closed and we had to go to the manager's home. They were friendly. If the location is where you need to stay then you can survive a night otherwise move on. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2006
$34
We drove to this park as it was advertised as a Good Sam Park and the Good Sam Logo was on the park's sign. Upon check-in we were told that Good Sam was no longer honored or was any other discount honored. The management had discontinued this service 30 days prior to our arrival. This park is a long way, when you have driven all day, from any where. So we stayed. Never again. It was clean park and the desk help was friendly. The price is outrageous. It was strange that in a 30 day period the logos for Good Sam and AAA could not have been covered or removed from the park's signs. Will never stay in this park again as the price is to high, the information available and the logos on the signs are misleading as to discounts honored. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2005
$28
Ugh! Tex's Travel Camp was a disappointment! We had left a wonderful park & arrived at Tex's Travel Camp... what a culture shock! The only remotely redeeming thing about camping here was watching the trains in the distance, being close to beautiful Flaming Gorge & we did make some wonderful new friends who had parked next to us. Other than that, this park is a nightmare! Folks, there are NO amenities & yet they charge $28?! The store in the office is very limited & didn't even carry charcoal. The only trees are on the lower level where the full timers reside. Tex's is located right next to busy Hwy 70 & all you hear day & night is traffic zooming by. The top level where the rest of us park is just rocks & dust...no trees whatsoever. The only grass is the tiny 'pet' area. I don't think this area has seen rain in decades..everything is dry, dusty & windy. Thank goodness for our satellite dish cause our cable connection wasn't working correctly. Tex's states that they have internet connection in the bathrooms, but during our stay we only saw people get frustrated cause they couldn't log on. The phone in the bathroom isn't a pay phone, but it still eats up your phone card minutes excessively. Your cell phone will NOT work in the park; you have to get out on the hwy to use your phone. We saw a couple of RV's slowly pull thru the park, look around & leave. We absolutely were thrilled to leave Tex's Travel Camp & would advise others to continue on down the road unless your just so exhausted that you have to stop at Tex's for the night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2005
$27
The park is broken into two destinct areas, Seasonal and longer stay sites and overnight sites. The first are in a nice grassy shaded area and the overnighters in a dusty sand area. While registering it seemed as though we were imposing on the park. The dog walk area was very small and had never been cleaned up. The washrooms were new and were clean and large. This was also where the modem hookup was. Over all the park was a disappointment and wouold not reccommend staying there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2005
$23
We fondly called this Tex's Travel Nightmare. While the people were very nice and our site was clean and well spaced, the campground itself, we felt, was very unsafe. There were random children running around with pit bulls and guys using big earth moving equipment for riding around the campground. There was one bathroom which was accessable only by hiking up a hill, which we were not inclined to do in the middle of the night. Overall, this campground was not what it was billed to be in the AAA Campground Guide. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$28
Nice park, easy to manuever in park. The owners were great, know the area and helped in planning our stay. All their advice kept us from wasting our visiting time. Park was clean and sites were of normal size. There is a train track across the river on a hill but the trains go so slow up and down the incline and it is far enough away it was not noticeable. We would recommend this park and would stay again if in area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$27
Camped here in 2002, September. This campground is on several levels, the lower levels have grassy and shady sites and many sites are occupied by permanents. The upper site, which is graveled with no shade, is rather cramped as far as the entry and exit is concerned and I imagine a really large rigs might have problems however our's is 38' and we made it without a problem. The sites themselves are large enough. The upper sites where we stayed twice has the nicest and cleanest bathhouse I've ever seen. There is also a desk with modem and electrical connection in the bathhouse, with a good size desk and chair. They charge $2 extra for each pet, which is why I didn't give them a 9 or 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2000
$23
One of the trashiest parks I have ever seen. Dust 3 inches thick, surrounded by junkyards and located next to the freeway. The only RV park in town. Keep going to the next town. Owner is old and grouchy, with a take it or leave attitude. One night was more than I wanted. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com