223488 User submitted reviews online!!
Western Hills Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 134 user reviews. Phone: (307) 324-2592
CGID3329

Western Hills Campground

Camp Information
Sites
130
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   7   9   2   9   8   7   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$32
Plenty of space to get around and at the site. Everything is level and well maintained. Utilities great. Cable TV and wi-fi good. Satellite TV access excellent. We could see the interstate traffic, but no noise. A concrete pad would have made this a 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$32
Easy access to Interstate with wide, gravel interior roads. Noise from the Interstate and trains is not disruptive inside the motorhome. Pull-through sites are flat gravel and roomy enough for slides and for keeping tow car hitched. Each site has a picnic table, free wifi and cable, both worked well. The campground is clean. There are a few trees along the perimeter and a few arbors with struggling vines growing on them separating every 4th or 5th campsite. Some long term campers have accumulated belongings stowed neatly along side the campers . There are three dog parks. Two have grass that is watered. However, too many people do not pick up after their pets. The park provides a waste can and baggies outside the pens. They have poop scoops, but no receptacle inside the fenced areas. This is perfect for an overnight stop. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$28
Spacious but all gravel interior and sites. Open area, no trees. Clean restrooms. Efficient check-in. Easy on/ off the interstate with a restaurant convenient walking distance to the park. Huge laundry. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$32
This camp has very nice owners, who were very helpful. The park is typical for that part of the country. We stayed 2 nights in a 39' RV. The park is pea gravel with very level sites. There is no shade and the wind whips through pretty bad during the day. Their Wi-Fi was great. I would stay here again when passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2014
$32
The first pull-through wouldn't allow our slide-out so we asked for another site. The row we were on was far away from the pet playpen areas even though they knew we had two small dogs. No grass or trees at RV sites. Very stark and unwelcoming. All gravel. Laundry room was clean but cost $17 for 4 loads of laundry (wash/dry)! $2.50 per machine. A few of the washers ate money or short-changed the time of wash. Several of the dryers cost 50 cents for 8 minutes but you don't know until you deposit coins (that don't have returns)! I suggest you NOT use this laundry room. The game room was locked. Pets are not welcome in any area of park except designated playpens which were at the far end of the park in the tent areas. Staff too busy with their business to be helpful with visitors. Slow Wi-Fi. I gave up trying to use the Internet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$31
Just off interstate, gravel, level sites. No shade but nice clean park. Big laundry room, great Wi-Fi. Clean showers and baths. Friendly staff. Would stay here again on our way through Wyoming. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$30
Typical of RV parks in this part of the country, it was basically a gravel lot with pea stone to help keep the dust down. Easy in/out access. Sites were level, and hookups were fine. Nice enclosed dog runs, one for big guys, and one for the little critters. Some train noise in the distance, but we didn't find it bothersome. Worked well as an overnight stop for us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$32
Good Sam Rate. Lots of open sites, pull thrus are deep enough and wide enough to avoid stacking on top of your neighbors. CG gets a lot of one nighters near the close of each day but CG manager keeps them pretty well spread out. There are some "permanent" residents but sort of isolated in a section by themselves. We had great difficulty with the power stanchion spiking to over 136 volts every night. My EMS automatically disconnects when the voltage exceeds 134 and monitors and reconnects when back to normal. Both 30 and 50 AMP were the same. Our inside volt meter displayed the same voltage as did the EMS at the stanchion. The CG is all gravel but not too bad for level, no shade. Laundry and restroom/showers were spotless, cleaned every day. Close, easy access to I-80. The problem with power is a pain and could affect on board equipment unless your surge protector or EMS will disconnect when the power is too low or too high. There aren't many choices in this part of the country. With EMS I would return, reluctantly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$30
Nice staff and large, flat and level sites. All gravel, good water pressure, etc. Stayed 2 nights on a trip to Colorado. Decent restaurant across the street. Would return to this park next time we need to spend night in Rawlins. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$26
A unique campground in that it offers different levels of service. Rate is for electric only with GS discount. Ideal for a quite overnight stop. Easy access but still far enough away from the Interstate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$30
We had heard some bad reviews on this CG. I disagree. When we arrived there were many sites available. We found ours and later, as more RVs arrived, we thought they would stack them on each other! Not true; everyone was spaced very well. Laundry room was extremely nice and WiFi was excellent. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$30
Big, flat, wide open gravel park. Easy to access and navigate thru. Small lattice fence between sites is a futile effort to provide privacy from your neighbors. Office clerk was very proficient and helpful. OK restaurant in walking distance. Good place to prepare for a last eastward trek out of the Rockies. This is part of the area where sections of I-80 can get closed with little or no warning, so be prepared. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$31
The campground is a large crushed gravel lot with around 130 pull thru sites with either 30A or 50A FHU whichever you ask for. Sites were level and electricity and water pressure were good. No shade at any of the sites. Spacing between sites was OK. Verizon cell signal was good. My Verizon MIFI was 4G. I could get a good satellite signal for Direct TV and got most local channels with my on board antenna. We would stay here again if we were passing thru Rawlins. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2013
$35
Young lady checked us in with a minimum of unfriendly grunts. She seemed to resent our arrival and made us feel unwelcome. If it hadn't been getting dark, we would have gone elsewhere. Highway noise was bad, but the heavy rains drowned out the noise. Park is light gravel and MUD, so it made it difficult to walk a dog. Next morning, our site was a pool of water about 2-3 inches deep. Won't be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$26
Very nice park although there are no trees or shade. Restrooms and showers very clean. Would definitely recommend this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
This is a very friendly, well laid out park that is open year-round. Our space was wide, level and very easy to get into. Plenty of room for slides. Laundry and restroom facilities were immaculate. We were near the office which was clean and staffed by a very sweet young lady. This is a Good Sam Park with usual amenities. There's even a miniature golf course there. The park sits on gravel (which given the winters, isn't surprising). We enjoyed our overnight here. Would definitely stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2013
$31
All utilities worked as they should. WI-FI was in and out, couldn't get tablet to connect. Sites were all gravel as most are in the west. The reason for the three rating is all the noise all night long. It seem all the 18 wheelers run at night and there must have been a train circling the campground as the whistle was blowing all night. I'd stay at a rest area or truck stop if I wanted all the noise. I would not stay at this campground or any other near the Interstate...Lesson learned.. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$40
This is Wyoming. Lots of wind and little rainfall in this part of the state. The park was all gravel where we stayed. Good hook ups with a table. Easy pull through with entrance and exit easy. It is just a very large gravel area with hook ups, nothing else. It was clean with easy on/off freeway. Good for an overnight stay. If the wind is blowing don't be the windward RV and stay in a site that is perpendicular to the wind. They have two different sections that face different ways. It must have been blowing 30 mph while we were there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$28
Good for an overnight stay. Far enough from the Interstate to lessen the noise; close enough for easy on/off access. Gravel lot; good hookups; nice wide lanes/pull throughs; big rig friendly, didn't use WI-FI or cable, but it was available. Rate reflects full hookups with no cable. Three fenced dog park areas and doggie bags, but little vegetation. Only grass was for the tenting areas. Overall fine and would stay again on an overnight stop. Friendly staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$31
We have stayed here several times & have to note that this park hasn't changed a bit. It is a large gravel lot with posts to mark the sites. All sites are pull through, ours was a good width & length. There is nothing at all between you & your neighbor. Wifi was free but we had poor service. Staff was friendly & helpful. Be prepared for the wind, it seems to never stop. For a one night stopover this place will do. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
Excellent overnight park. Easy on/off I-80. Large, angled, gravel, level pull-thrus. Good laundry facility. We stay here each time we are on I-80. Verizon cell good. FourG (4G) not available yet in Rawlins, so Internet was slow. Price is with Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$32
This is a fine campground for an overnight stay. It is all gravel, no grass . . . level and big sites that offer easy in and out access. Big rigs can stay hooked up. Their Wi-Fi was terrible ... one of the worst. Verizon data service was almost non-existent. They offer a la carte pricing, pay for what you want to use. We had full service including cable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$28
A good park for an overnight or for several days. Park is all gravel, well-maintained, and clean. There are many full-time people here; the oil fields have brought in a lot of workers. Park staff are friendly and very knowledgeable of the area. Small book exchange in the office. The park's free Wi-Fi is stronger than our Verizon MiFi. Easy access from I-80 and lots of room for big rigs. Many sites work for parking without having to unhitch your tow. Our second stay at this park; we will stay here again. Remember, you are right on the edge of the Rockies here; it can be very windy, watch your awnings. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$23
Having traveled for way many more years than I want to admit this is the first campground that actually get's it. You want just electric, they've got that. There are 4 free air TV stations. You want full hookups without all the extra's, they've got that. Great for those with satellite service. If you want the full load, they've got that. Complete with a bunch of cable channels. Rate reflects electric only with GS discount. Grounds are gravel, no grassy patched between sites. This is Wyoming high desert after all. There are 3 pet corrals for letting Fido run around. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$30
This is a large very straight forward park. The sites are all gravel, very long and wide. No need to unhook and plenty of room to turn around. The utilities were good. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$28
This is a nice campground with easy pull through spaces and adequate room between units. It's all rock with no grass but that's not unusual in Wyoming. I would give a higher rating except that their free WiFi doesn't work. I couldn't even get a signal in the office. Maybe the problem was temporary but you might ask before making a reservation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2013
$32
Easy pull through sites in a crushed rock parking lot without any shade. Untrained staff in office, unable to use cash register or computer. No pool and hot as blazes there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$30
This is not a charming place, but large, level, gravel, easy parking, good for big-rigs. You choose your amenities and pay accordingly. We wanted cable TV and full hook-ups, but the price is lower without. Laundry room is convenient, $2.50 to wash. Dryer was VERY hot, so don't let it go too long (I could hardly touch the clothes to remove them), but maybe I didn't set it correctly.). Staff is polite, store has some basics and a book exchange shelf. Some highway noise, and the wind kicked up, but we felt secure and were glad to have this place to park for one night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2013
$30
This was an overnight stop on the way up to Yellowstone. It's an adequate park, gravel, and fairly level, and the employees were fairly helpful. We will probably stay here again, but not for a long stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$23
Very friendly check-in. Good WiFi signal. Level sites, good cable. Excellent price (GS discount) and a nice, quiet overnight stay. Easy access to I-80. Would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$23
It was either this or another nearby RV park and I just didn't have a good feeling for the latter so came back to Western Hills. I felt I made the right choice (reading reviews of the other park though seems people like it too so take your pick) Here it was a bit cheaper, I had the row behind the check-in building all to myself. The showers are in the store. The nice lady unlocks a cubicle to let you in, so showering is restricted to their store hours but they were very nice. The only time in all my travels I was in a shower stall that had towel bars - no lack of place to hang your clothes and towel. All gravel sites and there is interstate noise but then the other park nearby or another RV park on the other side of town would have that also. My Wi-Fi was good unlike the other reviewers. Maybe due to my being so close to the building. This place is marked in my notes and I will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$22
Very clean, nice and hospitable; would stop there again. Sites were level and all equipment was functional. Big rig sites were truly accommodating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$35
We arrived in the late afternoon. It was very windy and cold. The staff was very friendly and was very helpful. Yes, it is like a gravel parking lot but for staying the night it was perfect. The Wi-Fi did seem to cut out but while it worked, it worked very well. We were very grateful for this neat clean RV Park. There is a great place to eat just walking distance from the Park. Plus a gas station right there to fill up in the morning when we head out for our next destination. Thank you Western Hills! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2012
$31
The grounds are completely gravel. The Wi-Fi is free but it is horrible. Within a five minute period I lost connection three times. Very frustrating. The actual site is just okay. People coming and going at all hours of the morning and night. It allows dogs but the area for them is extremely small. I would not stay here again since there are other choices near by. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2012
$30
Don't want to take too much away - don't want to add much either. It's a gravel lot. It has hookups. You wanna stay for the night, great. Nothing much to look at, but the staff do try and they have put together some stuff like a putt putt course and cut-out animals for the kids to laugh at. But for me and my house - stay in the rig, get up early and out. Everything worked. That's always good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2012
$28
We pulled into this campground at noon. The office was closed with instructions for self check-in. We picked a 50 amp full hookup site and set up our motorhome. Shortly after turning on our air conditioner, everything shut down. After investigating the cause, I found the shore power was fluctuating between 128 and 132 volts. When it reached 132 volts our Progressive surge protector shut the electrical system down. This happened several times in the first half hour. We decided to pack up and move to another campground rather than risk damage to our motorhome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$17
Stayed while passing through. We took an electric only site to get the $17 rate. Showers were spotless. We were on row 4 which has lots of traffic going into the permanent sites between 5 and 7 pm. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$28
We are a big rig and we liked it. The 130 sights are in one huge all gravel, (many acres) parking lot that is well maintained. No tree, or maneuvering problems. Everything is wide open with generous width and level. We did not find it noisy at all. Great putt-putt course and well stocked camp store. Our 45' 24 ton 4 slide bus was very happy here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$28
We stayed one night while en-route to our destination. Long, level, gravel site; did not need to level trailer. Picnic table was included. Pull through site was long enough so I did not have to unhook my truck. Interior roads were packed gravel, and plenty wide for easy maneuvering. Many amenities, such as a game room, mini golf, free showers before 2100 hours that we did not take advantage of. A coffee shop is a short walk away. No shelter from sun. View from campground was nice. I would definitely stop again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
We stay at Western Hills every trip across Wyoming. All sites are pull-through. The laundry facility is spotless with professional washers and dryers and open 24 hours. The cable is 70-plus channel. The staff is friendly and they run a clean and neat park. Price reflects AAA discount. Make sure to take a photo of the two-headed Cadillac at the Conoco station nearby. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
Large gravel parking lot. Many seasonal or squatters in one section while overnight section was empty when we arrived. A few stray dogs wondering the park. The pet areas are nothing more than fenced sand areas, no grass. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
Internet worked good. Office closed from 11 am. to 1 pm. They parked us way away from the office, park was almost empty. Kind of pricy for what is here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$22
Nice park near the interstate. It was noisy due to access road traffic before dark. Evenings were quiet. Wi-Fi could have been better, other utilities were fine. Would stay again. Good value. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$28
This is a great place ,clean, friendly and spacious. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$30
It is easy to get on and off I-80 at exit 211. The campground was, as others have said mostly gravel, but snowplows don't like grass too much. There is good wi-fi and cable. There is not too much noise from the freeway or the occasional train(s). It is great for overnight or to get out of the Wyoming wind. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$27
This is a nice park for an overnight stay. It is right off of I-80 but it is still quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful. The Wi-Fi was adequate and the cable worked fine. The park is a basic gravel parking lot but the parking sites are level and plenty of room for a big rig with a vehicle in tow. There is plenty of room to maneuver your rig and get into your space. The electric, cable, water, and sewer were easily accessible. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
We stayed only one night at this RV park. It was right off the expressway, easy to find, and easy to get into. Road noise was minimal even though it was close to the Interstate. All the hookups were easy and the camp's brochure offered good directions and good information about local stores, markets, etc. We found the Wi-Fi to be very slow, but we found that at every RV park we stayed at during our vacation in September, so I'd rate this park no better or worse than other places concerning Internet access. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$27
A wonderful overnight stay. All gravel, but extremely clean - and quiet. Staff was friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2011
$33
Want a winning formula on how to make money with an RV park? Take 20 acres, install utilities, level and add gravel. We've stayed here twice and it is convenient to the freeway and fills up at night. At $33 a pop, and 50-100 rigs every night, it is a winning formula. There is just nothing very bad or good to say. Good location, solid utilities, barren and featureless. Since last year, the pet area is full of weeds and the tent area is nothing more than a sticker patch. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$27
Great one night stay over on way to and from Grand Teton National Park. The restrooms and shower areas were clean and there was plenty of hot water. The gravel was level and we had an easy time getting in and out of the park. I'd definitely stay here again for an overnight visit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
This is a place to park for the night. There is no shade, but none was expected. The park was clean. The electricity was very poor, we were unable to use Air Conditioner. The staff at check in was curt, but adequate. We missed friendly by about half a mile. We only wanted a quiet place to sleep after a long day's ride and looking at a long drive the next day. We opened all of the windows because of inability to cool with Air conditioner. A dog barked continuously from 8 pm until 11 pm. The dog was not in an RV, but behind a fence. The office said it belonged to the park. 3 separate calls to the office did not help. Local county law enforcement said there were no noise laws here, but they would stop by and try to reason with them. Sometime after 11:00 pm the dog stopped. It was not really early enough for people who want to sleep and leave at dawn. I wish we had used the sleepless hours driving on down the road closer to our destination. I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$28
If you MUST get off the road for the night and you have already passed the last place, then so be it. To begin, the two young girls in the office were not very friendly. The CG is all loose stone and very dusty. The high winds compound the dusty condition. In addition to the highway noise, several train tracks are across the highway. The east/west bound train are constantly blowing at a nearby grade crossing, day and night. The CG does not recycle. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
Like a pilot, this is a good place for "touch & go landings". It is by the interstate (but little traffic noise). It has good, long, level, gravel sites. You can walk to cafe after landing and playing miniature golf on-site. Wi-fi works well as does the cable and 50 amp. It's not an area you would want to spend your summer vacation, but for utility, price and passing through; it fits the bill. It does get very windy due to being in an open area. It is good for the satellite crowd, as there are no trees. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
An all right stop for overnight. Basically a gravel lot with hookups. This is typical of Rawlins. Sites were level with pretty good hookups. Wi-Fi was good. Looked like a lot of workers camping here, but that's pretty typical of Wyoming, too, and getting more typical in a lot of parks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
Typical gravel lot with grass for tents and a fenced in dog run we took advantage of. The Wi-Fi worked fine and the staff was courteous and helpful. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
Stayed here again on our way through Wyoming. Staff excellent. Easy on/off I-80. Clean. Pull-throughs. Good price with all hookups and cable plus Good Sam Discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
Comfortable for an overnight stop and rest. Very large gravel parking lot with very easy maneuvering for bigger rigs. There is an excellent little restaurant within walking distance. Would stay again if traveling I-80 and need a resting spot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
Friendly staff and the wide sites were very clean. Great for an overnighter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
Other reviewers are right, it's a large gravel parking lot. But that means it's very easy to maneuver a big rig. Good strong Wifi, friendly staff, and easy in and out makes a perfect spot for overnighting. We will be back. We are in a 45' motorhome towing a 20' trailer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
Nothing fancy. Easy to pull through RV sites. Friendly and helpful staff. A little off the highway, so you don't have the freeway noise. Great place for a short stay or layover to the next destination. It is very windy and I guess that's how it is, in that part of Wyoming. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$28
The other posters were right; the campground is a large gravel surface and hard packed, but with not much color. The tent area is nice grass and some new trees are planted. The roads are some of the widest that I have ever seen, so any size rig can maneuver in and out easily. Even though it rained just prior to our arrival, there was no mud to be seen. This is also farther from the freeway than the other nearby campground, so less noise is better. The campground was clean, and the staff friendly and helpful. Our Verizon air card worked well here. There are three fenced dog runs for various size dogs. No pool or spa but a game room and a mini golf course for the kids. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
We camped here on two different days while going to and from the Black Hills in SD. The park is very clean, however all sites are on gravel. There is plenty of room and the bathrooms and showers were very clean. This is not a destination park but is excellent for a stop while on travel. They are pet friendly and have two separate pet areas. There is gas and diesel fuel less than 1000 feet of the entrance. Please note that using the internet to make a reservation results in a $5 charge, use the phone to make reservations. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$24
There isn't any grass or shade trees but Rawlins doesn't have much of that anywhere. Nice level sites. Easy in and out pull through sites with room for toad. The showers are nice but could use a little more light. Diesel readily available by campground. Very windy late afternoon storm but not dusty. Will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$32
Good overnight stop, friendly staff, super big rig friendly. Has a play ground, mini golf area, and dog park. Basic amenities, great overnight stay. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
We choose this campground this time through Rawlins to compare to another one we stayed in before. We felt this was a great improvement, Yes, it is a large gravel spot but the sites were well spaced and the roads are very wide making getting around a snap. Everything worked well, the sites were level and the people friendly. The cable TV and Wi-Fi was good and our Verizon air card worked well. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
This is a nice RV park with gravel pull through spots. The staff was fabulous. The rate was very reasonable with our Good Sams discount. The dog runs were spacious. Our kids liked the playground (the see saw was great) and miniature golf. They had free Wi-Fi. If you have two laptops, you will need two codes and they were happy to give it to you. The cable was awesome with many channels. It would have been nice if they had a pool but as it's windy in Rawlins, maybe that's why they don't have one. We would stay here again if passing through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
This is big and spacious in every way. The sites are long, wide and level. The roads are extra wide. Most sites are full hook ups but some are electric only or dry camping. The laundry facility is very nice, as are the restrooms and showers. Access to the shower room is through the office, so the hours are 7am to 9pm. Just plan ahead. The private, individual shower rooms are big. Everything is clean. WiFi worked great except for one evening. We suspect someone was downloading movies. Up until 2 years ago this area was booming. Now it is partly abandoned. When the oil drilling stopped, the "permanent" residents left. We come out of our way for Among, the Thai restaurant. For the basics, we will always stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
Nice campground for an overnight (as we did), but not a lot to do around the area and no pool or other activities for kids. There are also no trees around the park resulting in constant buffeting all day by the relentless winds. However their hookups are all quite accessible and work well. Wi-Fi is free if you ask for the code and cable TV is only $2.00. All sites seem to be level and are of crushed stone. The park is pet friendly and there are two 50' x 50' dog run areas -- one for puppies (small dogs) and another for larger ones. Very friendly and accommodating staff member. We would stay here again if passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
The staff was friendly and helpful. The campground is a level gravel yard with all of the hook ups. There virtually no trees and it is like parking in a movie drive in. I can accommodate large rigs. It is a good save place to stay overnight and there is a Flying-J nearby. It was very windy when we stayed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$28
Easy in and out off I-80. The sites are gravel and flat, no problem with leveling the rig. This is mid Wyoming, so there were no trees. The park was quiet, but it was only about 1/2 full. Good water and electric. We were in a pull through and did not have to disconnect the toad. Staff was nice. There was a laundry, which we did not use. Two small dog parks. Price was with Good Sam discount. Okay for an overnight stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$22
A level, gravel parking lot, but it works. We had a picnic table and electric only for $22 with Good Sam discount. Free WiFi which we did not use. It's a few bucks more for full hookup (sewer and water) and more money yet if you want the cable TV: right around $30. We find this multi-tiered pricing aggravating. There is a tent area, and a 'no hookup' place for RVer's. Streets are big and wide, but once parked your neighbors are VERY close. A nice laundry room is near the office. The toilets are open 24 hours, but the showers are available only when the office is open; from 7-10 am and from 2 -9 pm. The park is convenient to many services, and close to I-25. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$29
As reviewed before, just a big level gravel lot with hookups. Sites have side by side hookups, but they only assigned every other site. Would not want to be here if they got busy. Place was empty by 10:00 am except for some permanent units. I am not happy with the office person who took our call, they needed all kinds of info to take the reservation. The usual plus make, model and tag number of our RV. Told her we were coming in from the north, she made no mention of the detour. It sends you between two gas stations, as there is no real street there, we passed it and went in though Cappy's restaurant, big drop off from the road getting out of there. So if coming here or RV World, go between the gas stations, they have a 'rough road' there to serve as the detour. We only stopped here to play Rochelle Ranch Golf Course, very nice layout. Peppermill Bar & Grill had great Philly Cheese Steak sandwiches served with a dinner salad. We will not be back anytime soon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$29
Easy in and out, nothing but parking lot with hookups. Very open and windy, large sites. Good for over night, we are staying for 2 days. Lady was friendly in office. We would stay here again, on way to Colorado and did not want to go until after weekend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$29
Nice overnight stay, sites were large and well kept. The showers, restroom and laundry were very clean. The only negative thing about this park (and most of Western Wyoming) is the wind. Every day at least 15 - 20 mph, if not more. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$29
Large sites with plenty of room to maneuver in and out. WiFi was good. This RV Park is good for an overnight stay. We would stay here again if we were passing through the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$27
This park was good for an overnight stay. The office personnel were helpful and personable. Although we were close to the freeway, it didn't bother us in the evening. The dog yard was nice for pets and all of the systems worked well such as cable, electricity, and etc. There wasn't much to offer as far as amenities go -- just a place to safely spend the night. We would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$27
Great spot for an overnight. Large gravel area with plenty of room to maneuver the biggest rig. Showers are in the office available from 7am to 9pm. WiFi can be flakey and sign you out, but is working to post this review. Can hear interstate and trains, but not so bad as to disturb sleep. Two smallish fenced dog areas. Saw deer walking through this morning. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$27
Good stop along the highway. Open sites easy for satellite use. No problem getting big rig in and out, has long pull-through sites. Some train noise, but not bad. Easy on and off I-80. Would stop again when passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$27
Perfect for overnight and would stay here several days if touring the area. Close to the freeway and gas stations; however, did not hear the traffic noise. Did laundry - reasonable price, clean, professional big tub washers/dryers. Exactly what it is supposed to be a clean, safe park for Interstate travel. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$22
This campground was like an oasis in the middle of WY. The wind does blow hard all day, but dies down in the evening and early morning for a good night's sleep. The best part was the clean, new restroom and showers with real walls and doors: very nice. It's hours are limited to office hours: 7-10 a.m. and 1-9 p.m. The laundry was equally as nice, $1.50 wash and 50 cents for 30 minutes drying. It's just off I-80 and close to town. The place filled up every night. Our price was for electric only. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$27
Wind, wind, and more wind. Park is all gravel, but level, with no shade. Had a friendly, quick check in. Easy interstate on and off. WiFi was marginal, good speed, low signal. Adequate for one night on our way to Grand Junction. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$29
Gravel, nice long pull-thurs, full hookups with 50 amp, Wi-Fi, and good cable. Easy in and out for even the largest RVs. We were in the 3rd row and didn't hear the highway noise but did hear trains during the night. The office is closed from 10 am to 1 pm but you can just take a site and return to register at 1 pm. If you arrive after 9 pm there is an honor system box to register. The showers are entered through the office so they have limited times but restrooms are open 24/7. There is nothing beautiful about this park but we would return again for a night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$29
The park is about as good as it gets on this stretch of I-80. Dusty and gravel sites, but level. Two nice dog parks. Spacious sites. Road noise is definitely audible but all the campgrounds are close to the interstate. Good CATV and accommodating front desk staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$27
Nice park for overnight stay. Close to I-80 so easy access. Clean, well laid out and level pads. Pet areas are terrible, very little grass and the "waste" bucket was full and stunk 20' away. Staff was friendly and efficient. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$29
Easy on/off to the interstate. Enjoyed touring the historic prison and county museum. Other than that not much to see. We reserved for 3 nights and that was 1 night too many. The campground is a mixture of sand and gravel and prior to our arrival and 2 days after it rained almost non stop which turned the grounds into a muddy mess. We travel with our dogs and it was so bad that I the towels I would use to wipe their wet coats down I had to place on the floor to avoid muddy carpets. Also train tracks are near thus several trains going through out the night. The dog pens were clean & a good place for Fido to work off some energy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$34
Price reflects full hook-ups with cable TV and Good Sam Discount. Level gravel sites, a bit dusty when the wind blows. Distant highway noise, but not bad. WiFi and cable TV worked good. We didn't checkout the restrooms. Has three nice fenced dog areas. Miniature golf is right next door. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$19
This is not a destination campground but the bathrooms are spotless and the Wi-Fi strong and reliable. Sites are level, all gravel and the power strong. Friendly staff and fast check in. An excellent choice for an overnight stay or a few days of sightseeing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$27
We stopped here as a mid-way point between Rocky Mountain NP and Grand Teton NP. The $27 rate was a Good Sam discount with no cable TV. The park is almost all gravel with no shade; however it was cool and rained 3 days, so that was OK. The staff was friendly, helpful and worked almost everyday on the grounds. There is a nice playground, laundry and miniature golf on-site. In town is a great Thai restaurant (Anong's) with a weekday buffet. There are a few attractions in Rawlins but the rain kept us in the Bus. The WiFi was A+, Verizon cell and data worked well, and we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$27
A large, all gravel park overlooking I-80, with level sites, good hookups, and adequately sized sites. No trees, just gravel, but fairly quiet except for a moderate level of train noise throughout the night. Easy access to the interstate and one exit from the Flying J. Verizon Cell and Aircard worked well. Walking distance to a perfectly average restaurant. Not much in the area, but this is an adequate stay. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$29
If you want grassy sites skip this campground; the whole place is fine gravel. Otherwise I found this to be a very nice place. It has large level sites with good 50/30amp service, good cable TV, and WI-FI, and very nice laundry. They give AAA discount. I would use this place again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$22
Level pull through sites, with 50 amp, and cable TV. Gravel and dirt so when the winds kick up, there's a lot of dust. And this week there's a lot of wind. Not a whole lot going on in town, very little shopping, although the local golf course is challenging. We paid the weekly rate which accounts for a lower rate. The park is fine for an overnight stay, the area does not have enough to hold you here for a week. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$29
This park is ok for one night. It is completely gravel and when we were here, it was very muddy. The WiFi worked on and off, maybe because we were too far from the office. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$29
This park is located not far from the highway, and although all gravel, we found it to be quite level. It was snowing while we checked in and continued to snow off and on while we were there, but the sites did get mushy. When someone left, there was a worker using a tractor to level the site back out for the next customer. There are numerous pull-through sites, and the office tried to keep distances between RVs until it got too busy to do so. Good water pressure. Wi-Fi did not work well - we used our ATT Aircard, and it worked better. Not much to do in the area unless you like scenic drives - which we enjoyed very much. Saratoga Hot Springs is not too far and a fun adventure! Would recommend this for overnight or a day or so for scenic drives. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$28
We enjoyed ourselves, friendly people. Sites were clean. We would stay there again. Only thing they we had a problem with was the office hours. But we worked around them. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$22
We stopped for one night and got a 50A electric only pull through site, perfect for our purposes. The office staff was friendly and efficient. The Wi-Fi is free and works quite well. The park is all gravel, but I believe they may water it to keep the dust down. No trees so very satellite friendly. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$29
Plenty of room here with a fenced pet park. Heard some highway noise and a couple of trains during the night. Drab, no trees but okay for staying a night. Staff was friendly. Restaurant adjacent to the park serves okay food. Cable TV and Wi-Fi available at this price. Would stay overnight again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
Stayed one night and would stay again. Wide open, gravel with large spaces and good hookups. A short walk to restaurant. Cleanest showers and bath we have seen in a long time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$27
We stayed here for two nights and after looking around it is in our opinion the best. The sites and park roads are all gravel with plenty of room for big rigs. The laundry was clean and well kept and had several machines. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$28
Large gravel area but it was clean and easy to get in and out of. They had large spaces and the people were nice. Good for overnight, probably not for longer stays. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$27
A nice overnight stop. This campground is a large gravel parking lot. We had plenty of room to pull-in and did not have to disconnect our toad. Just what we were looking for. Good power and water pressure was fine. Wi-Fi was not so great. Good area for dogs. We would stop here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$27
This is a gravel and dust RV parking lot. Plenty of room for big rigs. Utilities, including Wi-Fi, were good. Staff was friendly. Highway noise not a problem for us. This is just an overnight stop off point. Rate reflects Good Sam discount and tax. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$27
Easy on/off access and adequate room inside park to move our 42' fifth wheel. All gravel throughout. Everything leveled up good as someone drags a grading blade around on what looks like a daily basis. They were kicking up the dust when we were setting up. Park sits on a hilltop so you see the surrounding mountains and rain clouds in the distance. Flying J at next exit is very visible. Far enough off interstate for noise to not be a major problem and railroad is seen beside the interstate but train noise was not noticeable. Great park for overnight stop. Cappy's Restaurant across the street appeared to be a popular eating place. We ate downtown at Square Shooters. Later learned it is most expensive in the area and basically offers a lot of sandwiches and salads. Advertised homemade cooking and pies were not in evidence. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$27
As the commenter below, this was a great park and served us perfectly for the on night. Large sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
We liked this campground! Clean and well run. Has a fenced dog walk area. Lots of room to pull into and out. Pull through sites. Gravel sites. We will stay here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$29
This park is about the best Rawlins has to offer. It was spotlessly clean, both the grounds and the restrooms, and the staff was helpful and efficient. It does not have a lot of visual appeal, but this is southern Wyoming, where trees are few and far between. There is some traffic noise from the freeway, but it was not unbearable. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
We make it a point to stop at this RV Park! It's clean, well-run, and the fenced dog run is SO appreciated after several days on the road!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$23
Agree with previous reviews about there being a "dearth" of campgrounds along Interstate 80. I stopped here to wait out a harsh snow and wind storm. The hosts were very nice and let me have "late" checkout if I needed due to the weather and driving conditions. No landscaping, just a large gravel lot, with 30 and 50 amp. However, the office and laundry are in two cute little "barn" buildings. This resort is year round and water faucets are insulated against harsh Wyoming weather. If you have a surge protector from Camping World, you can use it here, it will fit. There are three sections of "back to backs" that the staff told me are being converted to long pull throughs. The spots still have "two" of everything. I was in one of them, and the one thing I didn't like was that I had to cross my electric and cable cords, as well as my water hose across the sewer hose for the sewer. The other sewer connection was located under the picnic table of the neighboring slot. I'm sure your neighbor will really appreciate it if you use that one. Be sure to have disinfectant wipes to wipe off your hoses and cords. The showers were clean, but they are only available when the office is open. The very nice and cute laundry area is open later hours and has a change machine, and special washers for extra dirty clothes in addition to other washers and dryers. However, if you are in the "full hookup" sections, it's a bit of a hike to the laundry area. There are very nice pet areas, one of them is fenced so you can let your pet run around without a leash. Cable and WiFi were good. You are given a 24 hour code to use for each day you stay. The Wi-Fi can only be used for browsing and email checking, no large files or movies. The rate I am showing is the rate before taxes and discounts. This park has a very unique way of applying discounts and taxes. The Good Sam discount is $3 a day, which equated to a little more than 13%. Then, the sales/lodging tax is applied to the base rate before the discounts. Bottom line, it was still affordable. Good stopover while on Interstate 80. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2008
$29
Just a very large gravel parking lot with hookups. Price reflects Good Sam discount. Train noise! Very close to fuel and propane. Restaurant within walking distance. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$33
We thought this was a very nice and attractive RV park over all for a night's stay based on southern Wyoming standards. The entire park is gravel over dirt, so it could be a bit dusty when hot and it was muddy in places when we arrived after a rain. There's plenty of room to maneuver and the site was level. Water pressure, voltage, and Wi-Fi all were excellent. Cable TV is available only at limited sites. The office staff was friendly. We would certainly stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$29
Good access, wide roads and long pull thru sites, do not have to unhook toads. All dirt/gravel, no grass. Lots of long-term tenants - but all well kept. Quiet campground, but extremely windy on our stay. No trees anywhere - but OK for passing through Wyoming. Not a destination spot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$26
Ditto to the other reviews. One nighter on the way to somewhere else as not much to choose from in Southern Wyoming along I-80. Had significant train noise about four times during the night. Cappy's restaurant next door is OK. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$29
The mini golf here was great for the kids, and free too, although the course was in a mild state of disrepair. The showers are closed whenever the office is closed, with the hours they're open being 7a-10p and 2p-9p. If you need to shower in the late morning, I hope you can wait 4 hours. The laundry was open 7a-9p. Wi-fi did not work the entire time we were there. It basically is a large parking lot, grass not included. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$27
There are not a lot of parks to choose from in Southern Wyoming along I80. This one is a big, flat, dirt/gravel parking lot with FHU and picnic tables at each site. It is actually good for a one or two night stopover park but not a destination park. When we arrived the office was closed and we picked our site. We planned on some outside activities but out of nowhere popped up a thunder storm and stiff wind, which is probably typical for this country at this time of the year. Easy access to I-80 and fuel stops close by. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2008
$26
What can we add ? Second time staying here . Like an oasis in the desert after being on I 80 from Denver. Ditto to all the reviews about nothing in Rawlins. Office closed when we arrived , we selected our site and then payed when office opened . We payed $26 after Good Sam's discount. It's a one night stay for us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$27
A good overnight park. Level sites with very good ingress and egress, and wide sites. A bit dusty, but that is Rawlings. Friendly office personnel. Wi-fi is spotty., We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$22
Great place for an overnight or 2. Ample sites on gravel. Great fast WIFI and cable tv. Friendly management. Rate is winter rate. It snowed while we were there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2008
$24
The staff was very friendly and helpful. They now have Wi-Fi and it is free and speedy. We camped in late winter and got a site without water hooked up yet as freezing is a problem. It got down to 14 degrees overnight. Just a big gravel parking lot, but sites wide and long. 50 AMP. The town itself was very interesting. It is an easy in easy out campground. The showers were off the office and had restricted hours which might bother some people. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2007
$38
Big Rig Friendly. Gravel sites for overnight. Rawlins is a pit stop. Better choice than KOA. No complaints... but one night is long enough for this part of Wyoming. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2007
$29
To be charitable, this part of Wyoming would be very hard to keep clean and green. This is an all gravel, dusty, windswept flat spot with no trees, and tightly packed spaces, parking lot style. Very expensive for the favor of getting off the road for a night's rest, and packed full because you have to stop somewhere when crossing the state on I80. The pet "exercise areas" are superb, with green grass, large fenced areas, and clean up tools. We were treated courteously but curtly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$30
It was fine for an overnight, would never stay longer. The mini golf was free for us and worked out well while I did a load of laundry. Don't get too excited, the greens are falling apart. There were a bunch of men hanging around outside of the laundry, harmless, but drinking beer and smoking. It's a gravel parking lot, but if you need off the road for a night, it works. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$30
Don’t bother to fix your hair ladies, you are in “windy Rawlins” (self-proclaimed by many of the area residents). Can’t blame the park for the location – it is what it is. Aside from the ever-present gales that whip through, the park is not that bad, certainly not a destination resort, but more than adequate for a night or two while passing through on I-80. (they even offer no hook up sites for those who prefer). Easy access on and off I-80, the park is essentially a large gravel parking lot with three rows of level, full hook-up, pull-through sites. The park has very widely spaced rows (streets) and sufficiently wide spaces, some separated by white lattice, trellis-type fences and small greenery. Very clean park and friendly staff. Definitely big-rig friendly with easy maneuverability in and out of the sites. Dog-friendly with pet area and pet play pen. Free WiFi at the site is very iffy – it apparently works in the office. This park plays host to many of the 24/7 workers from the nearby Sinclair Oil Refinery (6 miles away in the town of Sinclair). Some early risers with noisy diesels. The park is also about ½ mile from the railroad tracks. My husband heard the train a few times overnight – I never did. Even so, he said the train did not wake him or keep him awake. The train noise was not very bothersome. The park’s web page is informative, accurate and not over-blown (no pun intended). The site provides several links to local activities – it fails to mention the Wyoming Frontier Prison, located on the edge of town. The prison offers hour long tours every hour – providing a fascinating glimpse into correctional facilities of the Old West. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2007
$28
One of the better places to spend the night. Level sites, for once while going through Wyo. the wind DID NOT blow. Would spend the night again if I had to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2006
$29
The WiFi only works if you are close to the office. They are trying some limited fencing/shrubbery between sites to help create some limited privacy. Worst part was all of the construction workers who are long term stays and leave at 5:30 am in their diesel pickups. Quiets down again at 6:00 am until everyone starts leaving around 8:00 am. They do have a nice office area with a loft for using your laptop. Unfortunately the stairs (curved) to the loft are quite narrow and not for the faint of heart. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$21
I also would only stay there overnight. No trees, lots of other campers, and a highway to wake you often. While we setup the kids got a free game of mini-golf. The next morning another lady charged them to play. Didn't understand why the difference. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2006
$29
Decent for a one nighter. Gravel and heat made a VERY dusty/hot stay. Looks more like an old movie outdoor movie theater turned into a CG. Friendly staff and clean area with easy access to highway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2006
$29
Windy! Nothing wrong with the campground, but we had to keep the slides in and it was really hard getting connected due to the winds. Passable restaurant nearby and not far from easy access gas stations. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2005
$26
This was the worst campground we have stayed at so far. Nothing more than a gravel parking lot, not one tree and the wind blows non-stop. Wi-fi service works better using Super 8 than the campgrounds. The owner escorted us to our site and then proceeded to direct us how to pull in which resulted in scraping the side of our brand new fifth wheel, when she realized what happened she hopped back in her car and took off. Would not stay here or recommed this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2005
$26
Basically ok park. Owner/staff were very friendly & helpful. WIFI is available & free but it has a long way to go to be dependable! Seems every time the wind blows (which is a lot in Wy), the WIFI frequently goes off line. Western Hills wouldn't win any beauty contests due to being dirt & gravel, but the park is kept clean & has attractive small lattice fences with plants/vines growing on them, between RV's. A young girl knocked on our door the few mornings we were there to ask if she could disconnect our water for a few minutes to water the 'lattice' plants. The park is located just off a busy highway. Western Hills features a mini golf course, play ground & laundry room. Paperback books are available in the office for campers enjoyment. If we pass thru Wy again, I'd have no problem staying the night at Western Hills, again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$23
The owners are very friendly. A nice little campground. We stopped on our way west and would stop here again. They have 3 ways to hookup to the internet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2004
$25
This rating is based on an overnight stay only while drving cross country, not for an extended vacation stay. We stopped here for the night and had very high winds, but dust didn't seem to be a problem. There are some train tracks in the valley and the trains run on a regular basis throughout the night which disturbed my sleep, but not the others traveling with me. It's quite a basic set up and not bad for an overnight, the main problem is that the shower area is not open until the office is at 7am, so if you want to get an early start and can't afford the extra weight while towing in the mountains or want to pull out your sewer equipment, it's nice to be able to hit the showers a little earlier in the morning hours. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2004
$26
This is an overnighter only. The manager was very nice & they're doing a lot to improve the place but it's flat, open and dusty. We felt like we'd pulled into a drive-in. The showers were nice but the majority of facilities were still closed when we went through. The wildlife was a bonus though. The tenting area was right out in the open with RV zipping by whipping up the gravel. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2002
$20
Dusty, dirty and when the wind blows, its really windy, dusty and dirty in this city. Hope to pass through next time. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2001
$19
All gravel parking lot. Good for a nights sleep only. A word of warning, don't wash your windshield with a hose. An elderly gentlemen did and was literally threatened bodily harm for doing so. Owner is way too hot headed to be running a campground. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2001
$17
Good for an overnight stop only. This park is just a flat open gravel parking lot with hookups. Very gusty winds the night we were there. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com