215243 User submitted reviews online!!
Bridge Bay Campground (NPS Campground) was rated 7 out of 10 based on 27 user reviews. Phone: (307) 344-7311
CGID3339

Bridge Bay Campground (NPS Campground)

Camp Information
Sites
432
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$11



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   8   8   10   5   10   8   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$11
Rate reflects senior NP pass. Sites are Very tight for RV. 30 foot RV really didn't fit and had to back in to site from it's exit point. I could not make the 'turn' of the pull-through. Site was very unlevel as well. Really set up more for tents. I agree with previous post. Should camp at each 'area' of this vast place and see the sites in that 'area' then move to another campsite. Get reservations when possible then cross your fingers on first-come sites. Of course what you are here for is the scenery -- Priceless ! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$21
We stayed here 4 nights in a tent. It goes without saying that it is in a beautiful location. It's on the west side of the park near the lake and the boat launch. There is a small store right across the street that opens at 9 AM where you can pick up a few food items or coffee and other things. Pay showers ($3.50 plus tax) are available at Fishing Bridge RV Campground 4 miles up the road. There is a larger general store with groceries and cafeteria style dining there that opens at 7:30 AM. The downsides: no hot water or heat in the bathroom. I don't quite understand why the full hookup park has showers and hot water but where they allow tents there isn't even hot water. In fact, the woman's bathroom faucets don't even stay on without holding them on. My husband said the man's bathroom did stay on. We were there early in the season and it got down to 28 degrees at night. Maybe during the height of the season this doesn't make much difference. As another reviewer stated I would not stay the entire trip in one campground again. It's hard to make a person understand how big this park is and it takes a lot of time to travel from sight to sight. It makes more sense to move from camp to camp and avoid backtracking a few hours drive to get back to your home site. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$21
Good location in the park. Friendly staff. Pay showers 4 miles away is the only real negative. Next time we would not stay here for 5 nights. We would move around the park because it is huge and takes a long time to get from point to point. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$11
Price reflects senior discount. We had a double back in site on the G loop. One site was level and the other was not. The sites are pretty close together but it was quiet in the evening. They were preparing to shut down for the winter, so there were fewer campers each night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$10
Recommend that you call Xanterra to make a reservation instead of using their website. We needed a site to hold our fiver and tow vehicle and it required a double site so we could park the truck next to the camper. Not many double sites available. Location is great for visiting the park areas around the west side of the Lake and Gull Point for fishing. A bison herd went through our site and were present during our 4 day stay. The sites in the field area are more level than in the circles. Our site was not level and required that we put the front end almost on the ground, but we had lots of trees and space. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2012
$20
This would be a nice cg if there were level sites in the forest area. The meadow area looked more promising but is so close to the camp road. Our 30' pull through site was very narrow and totally sloped. Second time that's happened in Bridge Bay, so won't be back. Also, campers left fires unattended, host didn't care. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$15
What a great campground this is! My site was high on a hill overlooking the bay. The full moon rose right over the spot and the photos I got were amazing! You can easily walk to the amphitheater and there are pathways down to the beach, which easily takes you to the store and the marina. The funny part was that when I arrived at my site there was a bison sleeping there! I slammed my door a couple of times that didn't work so then I turned on my generator. He left immediately! Of course I could always have asked for help from the campground folks, but this was an easy fix. If you are out in the open without lots of trees around, really secure your screen room or tent because the wind does blow here. That kept me cool and comfortable except in the heat of the day, but I was always off exploring so I didn't care. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$21
For as large as this campground is, it was really quiet. We had a pull-through on Loop B and when we got there we expected it to be noisy because there were so many other campers in the park. But it was a really peaceful, convenient spot to stay for the night and enjoy the park. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$12
Nice, large reservable campground. The front 4 loops are open grass area and the back loops are within a forested area, some overlooking the lake. A few years ago we stayed in the grass area. In the morning a buffalo wandered through pausing outside the ladies bathroom, causing confusion to those coming out (humor to those outside). This time had a site in the forested part. Plenty of chipmunks, squirrels, and birds. More privacy and "park feeling" in the woods part. Rate was with Golden Access discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$20
32' RV and tow vehicle was a tight fit, but overall I was impressed for a national park. It is fairly bare bones, but you are right in the thick of things, just south of roaming herds of bison, and just far enough north-east of Old Faithful that you can drive there easily, but not have to deal with the crowds all of the time. The bathrooms were clean but you have to go to Fishing Bridge for showers. There was a dump station. I was impressed by the reservation system, you can reach them easily and reserve spots up to a year in advance. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$23
Large campground in the heart of Yellowstone National Park. Pull-through sites available, but on one way loops that leave the door on the wrong side. Needed to use blocks to level the coach. Restrooms were very clean. Staff is very friendly. One lane dump station is available. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$11
Senior rate of $9.75 plus tax. As posted before, many sites are not that level and are setup funny. We had one of the better sites, but still were not quite level. Nice quiet area. Dump station is across from CG near lake parking area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$22
When I originally called two weeks before arrival, the only reservations we were able to get were in a different campground. When we arrived, the Xanterra people where very accommodating and quickly changed our reservations to Bridge Bay to one of the first come/first served sites. Site was not level and required lots of wood and levelers to get rig level. I can see where many sites are too small for larger rigs and not level enough to be corrected at all, but the check-in office seems to know what can fit where. We had a great time for the 3 days we were here, and having 50 bison stroll through the campground was an added bonus. Sites were clean and they cleaned out the fire rings while we were there. Evening programs were very enjoyable and educational. Secret: if you need firewood, go over to Fishing Bridge campground just to pick some up. Cut wood is everywhere there since no fires are allowed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
Nice location. Stayed in D loop with a bison nearby, elk visited that night. No bears. Back in sites very small. We had a pull through site, small loop adjacent to the road, difficult to keep all wheels on the paved site. Other sites were no more than a widening of the road, similar to a pullout. Pretty level front to back, had to use blocks side to side. No shade at our site, but a few sites did have shade. Picnic table and fire ring. Heavy summer use, highly recommend reservations. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$22
I gave this a 7 due to location in the park and the fantastic ranger talk in the evening at the park ampitheater. We were in B loop. Our "pull-through" site was basically a wide spot in the road, our door opened into the middle of the road (not safe for kids) and the site was not very level. There was no shade. The staff is very friendly and there was even a bison sitting in the middle of D loop. Rates are reasonable, but I would try somewhere else next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$11
Rate shown is with the Golden Age Passport. Since we usually go to resort type parks and rarely dry camp, it is hard for me to rate this type of campground. Check in was easy. Rangers came by and asked that we move the Jeep since 2 tires were touching the grass. Then came by at 8:10 to "remind" us to turn off the generator. They were very pleasant. Our site was adequate for our 40 foot motorhome. There were several sites that would have worked. Pulling out was really tight: would never have made it if we had hooked up the toad. The marina nearby had plenty of room for hooking up on level ground. A nice place to camp if you like "roughing it". An easy drive north to the falls on one day, then to Old Faithful the next. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$21
We loved this campground! Although there are no hookups, it is a beautiful campground near Lake Yellowstone, and near a marina. The campsites on loops G and H are the most heavily wooded and private. The campsites are pretty level considering the whole area is on a hill. No Verizon phone service or air card service at this campground. We would have stayed longer, but wanted to move on to the northern areas of Yellowstone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$20
This was the only available campground for a same day reservation. YNP has been super busy this summer.Really liked the lake view and location near Fishing Bridge area, but was assigned G loop up on the hillside and nothing was remotely level. Had to ask the camp host for help, and luckily he provided 3 extra boards. Pull thru was short, and on the left so as you step out the door, you're in the road. By the way, it's at 7800' so be ready for cold nights. The lower level loops may be closer to level but had fewer trees. This is really more of a tenting area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$9
We liked this park, although it is dry camping. It's situated on Yellowstone Lake, which is beautiful. It's also centrally located so you can use it as a base for exploring other parts of Yellowstone. The staff were helpful and friendly. Many of the sites are small, however, and difficult to get into, and at the same time "stay on the pavement." It was cold while we were there. The addition of electricity would be nice so one could stay warm by running the furnace. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$19
We like this one, but it can be very congested at the entrance. We are generally fond of campgrounds near marinas simply because they offer another dimension in the activities you can choose to do. We try to stay on the loops and not in the center area which doesn't look as nice. Bathrooms are clean, grounds are kept rather nice and the service at the front entrance was friendly and professional. Great views onto Yellowstone lake from the upper campground road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$19
We made a reservation a couple months in advance and glad we did. We had a site in the treed area of this campground. There are two sections, one is treed and the other is very open. We were very happy with our spot. The staff was incredibly nice and they kept the bathrooms nice and clean. I seen them come and clean four times a day. There is a camp host in each section and they were very helpful with any questions that we had. We would definitely stay here again. We loved our time at Bridge Bay. I would just make sure to have a reservation. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$18
We were reserved for two nights and switched out to one. Staff was friendly at the gate. The site was very open (no trees), and small! I had to drive around the loop twice to position the camper into the pull-through slot, and we were still very close to the road. Left side pull throughs are everywhere. After being in the forest at Madison Junction, the openness of this CG made it look more like a trailer park. Bathrooms were clean. Water spigots were very, very limited in location, unlike Madison. Bear warnings were posted everywhere, and the nearby bicycle trail was closed due to bear activity (that was a reason we went there). Deer were plentiful. We would choose another CG next time in Yellowstone, one with more trees. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2007
$37
This is the only place you can park, expensive comparatively, but thats what happens with a monopoly. Showed wi fi but could never hook up. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$18
This is a typical National Park camp. No electricity, no water, just fresh air, good sleeping, and the resident buffaloes. We took our showers at the Fishing Bridge campground. In spite of the fact that it's all dry camping, we had a glorious time. Take your water jugs to the spigots at the restroom--the water is delicious. If you forget to bring firewood, don't despair. They sell it at the registration office. Campfires are welcome here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2007
$18
We reserved late, so this was the only Yellowstone campground available at the time. Although the campground had a lot of open space, the actual camp sites were very small. The fire ring was on the driver's side of the site. We had a difficult time fitting the motorhome and tow vehicle in the space. There were no trees at all. Bison were omnipresent in the campground. But, hey, you're in Yellowstone! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2006
$18
In the early 80's, a tree fell on someone. The National Park Service responded by cutting down all the trees in the campground. There still are no trees. Sites are extremely small, cramped, and many are way off level. One was so far off that a part in our hitch broke due to the extreme bind. Staff was, for the most part, surly and not helpful. Other choices, any of them, are better. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2003
$18
Stayed at park located in Yellowstone National Park. Park is operated by Xantera Parks, all literature and website show price as $17, but was $18. No facilities other than toilets and cold water. The nearest showers were a few miles away and close to $4. We felt the price was a bit spendy. Luckily we were in a motorhome so were fairly comfortable. Because of the lack of facilities we felt bad for tenters since it rained, snowed, and blew, with temps in the 30s each night. Forest Service operated camps have the same (lack of) facilities, but charge $6 less. In the future we will do our best to avoid the commercially operated camps. On an up note, the staff was very friendly. We drove through Fishing Bridge "RV" park, and agree with other posts, it is a parking lot with no privacy, rigs crammed in, poor hookups, and $33 or so to stay. We would not recommend it to anyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com