223434 User submitted reviews online!!
Headwaters Lodge & Cabins at Flagg Ranch (formerly Flagg Ranch Resort) was rated 6 out of 10 based on 75 user reviews. Phone: (307) 543-2861
CGID3342

Headwaters Lodge & Cabins at Flagg Ranch (formerly Flagg Ranch Resort)

Camp Information
Sites
97
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$64



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   6   7   5   1   7   6   3   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$64
This is an okay park. It's in a Very popular area (between Yellowstone and Grand Teton) and frankly that means the place abounds with rude yahoos who don't know how to shut their kids up after 10pm. Or, they are starting up their noisy diesel TV at 5am. They are a minority, but a noisy one. The spacing is moderate, the utilities are excellent, the sites are gravel, and mostly level. The pine trees provide a moderate amount of shade for most sites. The roadways are dusty and a bit rough. If you want to explore the two national parks from one campground, this is a good place, but don't expect quiet wilderness or respectful neighbors. And it certainly won't be cheap. I found the convenience store to be poorly stocked. My chief complaint? All they stock is beer. Not a single bottle of wine. And - no diapers. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$51
IF you're looking for a nice campground close to the Tetons, this is it. We stayed a week and not only toured and hiked the Tetons, but also were close enough to Yellowstone to some of the geyser areas to the west of Old Faithful. It is a campground and the roads are dirt and sand. The sites were pretty level, the hook-ups were fine and there is a fire ring and a picnic table with each site. They have just upgraded one bathroom and are planning to do the other soon. There is NO wi-fi and NO cell service. The employees told us that 15 miles south is a nice picnic area on a hill with wi-fi and cell service and you can also go to the Jackson Lake Lodge which we did. There is a gift shop, an upscale restaurant (where we ate breakfast one morning), a gas station and quite a few cabins. We would definitely return to this campground. This campground is a bit expensive but - location, location, location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2014
$65
The park is well treed making it a little tough for parking if you're over 40 ft. The sewer outlet has 2 connections, the bottom and the top. I connected to the bottom near the ground since it is the lowest point. Very dusty since the park does not have asphalt roads. The park does have 'Wi-Fi' , but it's no use even trying, it's very poor. We had to go down to Jackson Lake and use our Verizon hotspot. Be prepared, there is no phone service, need to travel south to Jackson Lake or right into the city of Jackson to get really fast Wi-Fi and decent phone. For the price, I don't think it's worth it, but what can one do when you're traveling a big rig and there are limited opportunities in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$50
Wonderful location, helpful staff, full & working utilities. Sites just a mite close together but the dirt and dust really ruined our stay here. All campground driveways are dry dust and you can count on a nearly continuous coating from the other campers driving around the park. Too bad, could have been a wonderful place, right on the Snake River, a short walk from camp sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2014
$50
The site was dusty and not level. There was a lodgepole pine in the middle of the site making placement of our 5th wheel very difficult. Getting out was even trickier. On the plus side, our site had a spectacular unobstructed view of the snow capped Tetons. The sewer connection was at the highest point of the site and then 18" above grade as well. You would need a sump pump for it to work properly. To top it off, there was some vandalism at night and someone cut our trailer breakaway cables straight through. Our neighbors had their water and electric shut off several times. We spliced the cables back together and then did a quick safety assessment. Learned a lesson here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2014
$69
Total rip off or gouging. It was the worst campsite we have ever stayed in. As stated by previous reviewers the campsite is totally overpriced, the roads are dirt and muddy with potholes, the sites are small with no maintenance, the sewer was up hill so would need a pump to use it, the water pipe was falling over, the electric box lid was broken, the picnic table was grotty and dirty. It spoilt our stay in the beautiful area of The Grand Tetons. We did get a partially refund after we complained but it was still a very expensive stay. We recommend fellow campers not to stay here, stay in the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$69
This is a nice campground, it is 2 miles from the south entrance of Yellowstone and at the north end of the Grand Teton National Park. Having just come from West Yellowstone we were there to explore the Tetons and it was a great location for the four nights we were there. Site are a nice distance apart, some lots had trees to maneuver around but it was not too bad. We had a lot of rain while there and was pleased that it was not too muddy, but I could see that had it been drier while there it may be dusty. Restrooms were clean, but in the shower areas they need to pay more attention to cleaning under the mats, I would use shoes in the shower. Very quiet location. Met lots of nice people. We plan to return to visit the Tetons again and would consider this park again. It is expensive, but everything between Yellowstone and the Tetons is pricey. That is why we spent 6 nights in West Yellowstone, before coming here for the Tetons. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
If they would have used all of the trees to their advantage (or campers advantage) it would have scored a lot higher. Stepping outside we saw no less then 6 camps. Couple beside us were in a tent, right on the road. Just too squished for our preference. Luckily we were gone days to sightsee Yellowstone, but stayed in at night because of closeness of neighbors. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
We had planned to stay here at least a week but left after 4 days. It rained every day and there were large puddles of water to negotiate wherever you went - difficult to put trash into dumpsters because of water. So shaded you can't use your satellite and there is no cable, no Wi-Fi, no phone service. We selected this park because of the full hookups and close proximity to Yellowstone. We wouldn't stay here again. (They did send us a survey that we answered honestly - they replied with apologies and their reasons for the mentioned issues.) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$50
Easy to get to and find. Great location between Grand Tetons and Yellowstone. Friendly staff. No WiFi or cell service at all. Tight spots. Heavily treed. 24 hour Laundry, older machines, after office hours had to go to lodge to pay for dryer, over crowded due to size of campground. Crowded bathrooms due to lack of them. Great Ranger program talks! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2013
$69
This park was way overpriced for the cost. The restrooms where filthy and the showers only got luke-warm. The WI-FI was only available in the lodge and it was down the whole time we were there because they exceeded their bandwidth. I would have given this park one star, but the staff were amazing as they tried to help out with any problems. I would skip this park! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$64
We stayed here for 6 nights as our base camp for Yellowstone and the Grand Tetons. The park is nice, there's good space between sites. Not impressed with the staff, if you have questions they have very little knowledge - better off crossing the street and asking the folks in the lodge. There are 2 bath houses, one is new and the other is very old. When they close it for cleaning they take a long time. Everything is expensive but you're in Yellowstone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$64
Location, location, location! We're BIG, and this was the only place that could take a 45' RV. It was a VERY VERY tight squeeze. Not so easy to get out. Super quiet. Lots of trees; so don't expect satellite and absolute NO cell or Wi-Fi coverage. New 50 amp electrical service. But weird old-style fire plug sewer (so we didn't dump black). Be sure you have a screw-in connection. Nice folks. Decent restaurant (but pricey) and convenience store. But, not real groceries. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$37
We got a spot by chance as we were driving through the Tetons into Yellowstone and wanted to stop for the afternoon. We were able to get into a dry camping spot and were allowed to use our generator, so it was fine. The spot was pretty level, had a fire ring/grill we could move around to suit us. It was quiet and peaceful even with many families and kids. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$33
Rate reflects Golden Age. The park is located outside of Yellowstone and its main drawback is that you will need to drive about 20 miles before you get to the action. If you choose to stay here, leave early to do your driving as it seems most people in the park sleep in until about 10:00 AM. After that time, the roads are crowded. The sites are all dirt as well as the roads, so you will have dust. The NPS has suspended having Rangers give talks at this camp, so you will need to go into Yellowstone or Grand Tetons to hear them. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$17
Rate Reflects Golden Age Access Pass for use in a tent site. No reservations on the Fourth of July week-end. Staff was extremely helpful in finding us a place to stay. Only thing available was a tent site with no hook ups. We were very skeptical when we were told our 36" rig could fit into a tent site, but were pleasantly surprised when the space was more than adequate. It was dry camping-which was fine. This is a large campground in a wooded area. Close to the south entrance to Yellowstone and a short distance to Grand Tetons. Sites were level. Campground had multiple shower-restroom facilities and a nice laundry room. Propane was available & a store across the street. Good base camp for touring Yellowstone, Grand Tetons & Jackson Hole. Recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$32
This is an "in the woods" type park. Check in is 1 PM period - so don’t show up before then. If you have a big rig, I would walk to your site before you pull in. Many sites have trees on both sides that will scratch your coach and/or take off your air conditioner. The guys at the desk seem clueless as to which sites these are so check it out yourself. Also, the sewer receptacle is an old style cast iron fixture that looks like a one armed fire hydrant. The problem is that its 14 inches tall so it creates a negative flow for your sewerage. The fixture does have a side outlet but you’ll need a rock to prop up your hose and keep it attached. The restrooms, showers, etc. seem to be kept clean and most of the sites are level. There is no Wi-Fi and my Verizon broadband card would not work. There is a lodge that seems to have Wi-Fi. There is also a gas station, convenience store, and restaurant. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2013
$34
We have stayed here several years but never will again. No working restrooms & this was peak season. No working showers. Staff unhelpful & unconcerned. Giant rigs on all sides. Dogs (5) locked inside barking constantly for 6 hours. No help from staff. We got a senior rate; otherwise, it would have been $60+/night. We cut our loses & left after 2 nights. Lost money but was better than staying there. Too bad, we had 5 good years there before it went to pot. Would never recommend this place We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$65
Our first visit to the Grand Tetons/Yellowstone National Parks, so we were not that familiar with the area. Flagg Ranch Resort is north of the sites for the Grand Tetons, so if you're interested in spending most of your time there, I would recommend Jackson Lodge or Jenny Lake. The campground was quiet (off-season) and wooded. It needs a little TLC; 20 amp plug was upside-down and the picnic table was chipped and uncomfortable. Our site was relatively level and it felt safe, even though there was a bear sighting. We ate at Sheffields Restaurant one evening; nothing spectacular. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$32
This is a rustic park. We had no problem with the 20 amp service as it was in the 70’s the four days we were here in August. Our major complaint was that we were very near the highway and the noise was very disturbing and took away from the "camping in the woods" experience. The office staff were all very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$32
Park is only 2 miles south of Yellowstone. Very dusty park and no matter how slow you go you will still raise lots of dust and dirt behind you. Additionally, only 20 Amp electric service is available. Staff is friendly and helpful. Propane a real bargain @ $1.88/gallon, a rare find in the area! We probably would not return to this park simply because of the dusty conditions preventing you from opening a window or sitting outside unless you don't mind dust. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2012
$70
This park is adequate but very expensive. It is the only park I have ever encountered with 20amp service. My only complaint is the price. $70/night is the most I've ever paid for an RV site anywhere. I understand they are in an excellent location and we were here during a busy time, but for a premium price you should receive premium service. I have paid less and had a guide to your site, 30/50amp hookups, functioning laundry facilities, and helpful staff. I would not stay here again simply because of the price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$68
We love this place even though it is an old establishment. Lots of trees, just beautiful. Flagg can't help the mosquitos or dust. We stayed here 2 weeks. It is just a great place and we do fine with 20 amps, it really hasn't been a big deal. Staff was very friendly. Change in management this year and they did well. No complaints, will camp here again next year. Reason 9/10 is men's restroom needed attention several days. Wouldn't eat at restaurant across the road, however. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$34
We stayed here for 3 nights. If you are prepared for the 20 amp service then staying here will not be a problem. With cool mountain air you might not even need AC. As in previous reviews bring your adapter or be prepared to buy one at store. Sites are tight because of pine trees but great for shade and some privacy. Staff was extremely friendly and moved us to a different site when we were too long to fit. The new site 91 was still a little short for 35' travel trailer and pickup, was relatively level and we made it work. Great location to see both Grand Tetons and Yellowstone National Parks. The Wi-Fi and cell phone service is lousy but if you are touring it doesn't matter anyway. We wouldn't recommend the Lodge Restaurant, a little pricey and food wasn't that good for the money. Otherwise we had a great peaceful time here. We liked this campground over a nearby park (we toured it and was really tight and unlevel sites) and were glad they were full. If they ever upgrade to 30 amp this would be 10 for us. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$64
Only has 20 amp service - make sure you bring a adapter or they sell them for a few dollars in camp store. Excellent service from camp manager who greeted us and took us to our site and made sure we were all set up and power, water, etc. worked. Pull through sites pretty level, gravel with grass, pine trees. Very quiet with clean showers and restrooms. Camp store on site with all necessities, on-site cabins and restaurant. Close to Grand Teton National Park and Yellowstone National Park. This was our favorite campground during a 2 week travel through Wyoming and South Dakota. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2011
$64
Only half of the RV park was operational, when we arrived. The front desk staff at the nearby resort hotel, where check-in was directed, did not bother to advise us that the electricity was turned off for maintenance and we spent a considerable time testing different sites to find one working, until another resident told us there was a notice on the restroom door about the outage. On going to the restrooms, of the 3 cubicles one was totally blocked with excrement and only one of the other two had any toilet paper. They had clearly not been cleaned that day, and the ladies' side also only had toilet paper in one unit. The owners appear not to care about the RV sites. Almost $70 after tax for a 20 amp electric site without wi-fi is a total rip-off, even if it does have an excellent location between the Yellowstone and Grand Teton National Parks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2011
$64
Very bad experience! We had reserved this campground ahead of time. When we entered the office, the desk was a deep freeze and very poorly kept. The man at the desk told us to go look at some sites, which he indicated on a map and see which one we wanted. So we unhooked our tow and went searching for a site. The dirt roads to the sites were filled with water and mud and the sites were not easy to find at all. 3 out of the 6 sites he said to look at were already used. We picked the most level site we could find but it was too narrow (with pines trees) that we couldn't pull out one of our slides. We would definitely not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$64
This is the second time we've stayed at Flagg Ranch and it hasn't changed at all in 3 years. This is a very rustic campground in the national forest between Grand Teton National Park and Yellowstone NP. It is exactly 60 miles north of Jackson, WY. The campground is heavily wooded, and wildlife (including bears) sometimes wander through the park. The biggest downside, aside from the exorbitant price, which is typical for the area, is the 20amp electrical service. It fluctuates between 108 and 118 volts. If you are prepared for the cost and the iffy power, it's a decent place to stay while exploring the two wonderful national parks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2011
$70
$70 was a rip off. Try to stay in another place like Yellowstone or Grand Teton NP. There is NOTHING at this RV park. You might as well stop along the highway and save the $70. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$48
We enjoyed this campground. Stayed for 6 nights. Plenty of trees and nice space between campers. Older restrooms but very clean. Great location between Jackson and Yellowstone. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2011
$69
This park is the most convenient to Jackson, the Grand Teton National park and Yellowstone National Park at the south entrance. It’s a really pretty setting among the tall pines and very woodsy. It is not uncommon to have wildlife meander through the RV sites. We have stayed here three times or so over the years and sadly this time we have to downgrade the rating. Since 2004 they have made no improvements other than move the check-in from the main lodge to the RV park itself which made things more complicated. When checking in at the RV park there’s no convenient place to park the rig and you will be partially blocking the entrance. They still only have 20A service at the sites and the sewer connection is above ground and hard to connect. You will best be served if you use a stand for the sewer hose. There have been no improvements to the interior roads which are all dirt and there have been no improvements to the site which are also dirt. It is rumored that this park will be turned over to a different organization in the near future. This park is very expensive considering what you get. If we should return we will try another park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$63
This is our second year camping at Flagg and we love it. Yes, it is old and low amps for electricity, but we had no problem. Staff was friendly. So nice to camp in large sites with trees instead of side by side. No Wi-Fi or phones but very nice to have peace and quiet. Pricey for what you get but very close to Y'stone. Animals near camp made it even better. Will go again, unless rates go higher. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2011
$69
This is the most expensive place I have ever stayed. Twice as much as I ever paid before for very poor amenities. Dirty showers, 20 amp electric, unlevel sites and unfriendly service. The only reason I stayed one night was due to bad weather and I had no choice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2010
$63
The location was great and the staff were friendly. The showers and restrooms were too dirty. The showers had green mold on the walls. The sinks had sand in them and gave the appearance they were not cleaned in at least a week. My wife said the women's showers had a moldy smell to them. The site itself was fairly level for a unpaved pull through with full hookup. The picnic table at our site was OK but you could say it saw better days. The distance between the campsites was fair and each person could enjoy their own privacy. In my own opinion, a rating of 2 is the best I can give because the price was too high for showers and restrooms to be in the condition we had at the time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$63
Campground is not developed; is dusty and sites are mostly dirt. There were so many mosquitoes we went inside during the evenings. We were camping, though, so we did expect this. What we did not expect was that Wi-Fi was not working in the campground, as advertised. One has to move to the lodge lobby across the street to access this service. This was not conducive to accomplishing the minimal amount of work we needed to do online. During our two night stay, we did not see a camp employee once, except when we registered in the office. Thus, quiet times were not enforced. All of this did not compare to the condition of the restroom, though. There was so much mold, hair, water, and filth we opted not to use it and used the facilities in our camper instead. At the rates we paid per night, we expected at least cleanliness and the experience the website boasts. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$60
This campground is convenient to Yellowstone as the south gate is only 2 miles. The pulls through sites are tight but have a nice fire ring and picnic table. The showers are fairly clean but be prepared for a loss of water pressure when someone flushed the commode. There is no cell service or internet at this location. The roads are dusty. We had a deer walk through our site one evening while we were sitting by the fire. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$50
We arrived 2 days earlier than expected and they had a site for us. We were here for 9 days. The park is dusty and of coarse mosquitos. There's lots of kids and bicycles. There was one dog fight. They sell firewood in the office for $6 a box. This campground is very convienient 2 miles from the south gate. Has a very nice laundry room, $2 to wash and $2 to dry. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$50
I read the reviews of this campground, so I expected the dust and 20 amp service, but even knowing these things ahead of time, I was still disappointed with this park. The 20 amp service only provided about 95 volts at the pedestal. I didn't expect to be able to run the air, but did expect to be able to keep my batteries charged and run the refrigerator. Fearing damaging my electrical system, I didn't use the park's power. Our site was extremely tight with tree branches for our 40' MH with 4 slides. The park staff told us the Forest Service would not allow them to trim the trees. As a result, we ended up with a huge scratch down the side of our camper. Calling this park big rig friendly is a bit of a stretch. If I had it to do again, I would stay at Coulter Bay, approximately 15 miles futher south. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$50
We stayed for three nights. We had a large dirt space that needed two, two inch boards to level our 30 foot trailer side to side. The site was dirt and very large. We had a picnic table and a fire pit about 25 feet from our trailer. The sewer connection was a bit odd. The connection was about 8 inches above ground level. I had to build a ramp with wood to run my sewer hose into the drain. There was only 20 amp service but this did not cause a problem. When using water at the camp site, the pressure would sometimes drop to zero and then a few seconds later, resume full pressure again. This happened every time my wife or I were showering in our trailer. There were lots of mosquitoes but repellent took care of that problem. There was no cell service for AT&T or Verizon in the park. The campground was full, but by 2300 hours, all was quiet and we had no problems with noise. Camp fire programs were offered by the US Forest Service. People driving way too fast in the campground were a large source of blowing dirt. This campground is an excellent base to explore Yellowstone and Grand Teton National Parks. All the pull through spots were large and roomy. These are some of the largest sites I have seen in a private camp ground. I would return to this campground if I was in the area of Yellowstone again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$50
First week of July the skeeters were not a problem as we had a nice breeze. Sites level, reasonable space between, lots of kids, but quiet after dark. Only 20 amp. Our site was dusty only when someone would drive by too fast, otherwise dirt and pine needles and lots of sparse mountain grass. Nice to see lots of US Air Force families. Would stay again even though a bit pricey. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$60
Nice and clean campground. We were there before the big rush so there were several empty sites. I think it would feel crowded when the campground was full. The bathrooms and showers are clean but the showers were not the best however they did get the job done. I would come back to this campsite again. The location to Yellowstone and the Grand Tetons is excellent. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$68
It's totally infested with swarms of mosquitoes, therefore can't use the picnic table in the evenings. Very noisy all hours of the night. Rules say no generators after 10pm, but nothing about late night parties or tents being erected with hammering in the middle of the night. Since you only have 20 amps, can't run the air-conditioning or heat to go to sleep and can't run the generator so you need windows open at least part of the evening and night. Gas at the hotel across the street is $3.53 gal, gas in the park $3.07 gal. Laundry room was clean: $2.00 wash. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$32
A nice place to stay before going into Yellowstone. Campground is in the pine trees with plenty of space between units. There were fire rings and picnic tables at each site. Several trailers here belong to the Air Force for their personnel on vacations. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$50
We stayed at this park for 5 days: it is perfectly located between Yellowstone National Park and the Grand Tetons National Park. The access road is paved but watch out for the huge speed bumps. The person at check-in was friendly and helpful and explained the rules of camping in bear country and that the rules were strictly enforced. Our site was very roomy with many trees. It had full hookups but be aware that the electric is only 20 amps and you will need a 20 amp adapter. Most sewer hookups are 8 to 10 inches above the ground so you will need support or a ramp for your sewer hose. Sites have a picnic table and a fire ring. The interior roads are dirt with a few pot holes and can be dusty. There are quite a few sites that could handle big rigs. The bathrooms and showers were old but reasonably clean. There was a laundry with 6 washers and 8 dryers. The washers and dryers each cost $2.00 a load. The store was well stocked and there was gasoline and diesel fuel available. The lodge and restaurant looked very nice but we did not eat there. There are paths to the Snake River; it is about 3 blocks away. There is reportedly good fishing in the river and it looked swimable when the water is low. We very much enjoyed out stay at this park, it is not fancy and it can be dusty when dry, but the great location makes up for it. I am not aware of any other camping in this area with hookups. If you don’t need hookups there are several free national forest campgrounds nearby on Grassy Lake Road. The big negative here is the cost of $50.00 per night plus tax payable in full, in advance. I think the tent sites are $26.00. We would stay here again mostly for the great location. Be sure to visit the Jenny Lake area in the Grand Tetons, drive the one way road and stop at the Jenny Lake overlook: the most scenic area of the Grand Tetons in my opinion. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2009
$50
Overpriced at $50 per night. No Wi-Fi, no cell service. You will have to go about 15 miles south to get cell or Wi-Fi service. Bathrooms were not well maintained, water on the floor, toilet paper scattered about, soap dispensers w/o soap. The good news is that if you don't want to use the national park service campgrounds (no services), Flagg ranch is about the closest campground to south Yellowstone. A special note: the highway from Flagg Ranch to about 15 miles south is being redone, causing about 30 minute delays in both directions. The road is rough & dusty (as of 9/09). We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$50
We stayed here four nights. The positives: This park is very close to Yellowstone National Park. They have pull through sites, hot showers, and the best Manhattan Clam Chowder I have ever had in a resort restaurant! The negatives: Dusty campground roads, mosquitoes, no cell-phone service, no TV reception, and only a 110 receptical for electrical service. A big rig across from us had to turn off their refrigerator to use their microwave or they would trip the breaker. Also the hot showers lost pressure every time someone flushed a toilet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$50
We truly enjoyed our three night stay at Flagg Ranch. The proximity to Grand Tetons and Yellowstone was perfect. The 1 mile hike to the natural hot springs for a soak was great. The bathrooms were clean and showers hot, in spite of very heavy use. Our site was spacious and we never felt crowded by neighbors. The staff assured we had a site with water and electric next to our cousins with just a tent site. It was a wonderful stay, but the $50 per night and the high cost of everything in the lodge makes me mark down my rating. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$60
This park is very wooded and the sites crowded together, so there is not much of a view from the sites themselves. However, you can't beat the location, which is between Grand Teton National Park and Yellowstone National Park. There is also a small store and restaurant, which we didn't try. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2009
$50
This park is overpriced. It is a beautiful area, but too far from Yellowstone to go back and forth. Mosquitoes are horrible, so bring lots of bug spray. Bathrooms are very old, although they were clean. We will stay at a campground in the Yellowstone park next time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$53
It is a great place to stay a day or two so you can recharge, regroup, and relax. My family had a positive stay. The people were very friendly, helpful and kind. The showers were hot, clean and inviting. The laundry was a welcoming site and there were many to use so the line went fairly quickly. The snake river was close and our group pulled out a wonderful cut throat out that was very tasty. If you want to be in nature and soak up the beauty while you regroup and re-organize then Flagg Ranch is great. The only thing I can say badly would be the vicious mosquito's they have there. Lot's of room to ride your bikes and stretch out. We had a pull thru site and met some really nice people. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$53
I need to echo/emphasize some comments previously made about this campground. #1, the mosquitoes are brutal (no exaggeration). This place is rustic in every sense of the word. It is significantly overpriced. It is way too far away from the popular sights in Yellowstone to be a base for your Yellowstone travels yet it’s situated right next to the highway which means vehicle noise can be heard at times. The power is woefully inadequate, only 20amp and the best we ever saw out of the outlet was 110v and at times it was low enough to damage electronics. Would not power microwaves in either of our 2 RVs nor would it power other common household items. In addition, we lost what power they do provide for 4 hours one day. No cell phone service or wi-fi. Major bridge/road construction is currently ongoing within ½ mile of here, so we listened to heavy equipment back-up beepers, jackhammers, and dump trucks unloading heavy rock for hours during the day. Everything in the store is way overpriced, including fuel which was between 50 cents (gas) and 75 cents (diesel) more than everywhere else (including inside the park). Do not leave any cooler, stove, or trash unattended outside at any time, rangers were ticketing and confiscating items on a daily basis due to the bear hazard. On the good side, the area is flat-beautiful; the dust wasn’t that bad and wouldn’t be an issue at all if folks wouldn’t speed through the campground, and “Bob” the Buffalo is always around the area and even strolled through camp one night, which was cool. We would not camp here again because it is too expensive and too far away from anything located in either national park nearby. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$53
This is a lovely, well-kept park with big, level sites in the tall pines. The staff is very helpful and allowed us to cancel two days of reservations, which we did because it is a far trek to Yellowstone NP from here. It's a great place to stay on the way, though, and we would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2008
$53
This is a pretty nice rustic park if you are on the Teton side. Don't plan to camp here if you are moving on to Yellowstone and expect to come back to the camp. It's too far from Yellowstone and too expensive to go back and forth, and takes hours of you time just negotiating the roads. The spaces are big, the restrooms were good, plenty of hot water and there are a few trails to hike if you want to. Don't get gas here, get gas outside the park. There is no cell phone coverage here and of course no tv reception, fires are ok and the spaces are adequate for comfort and privacy. The only reason for the low rating is the price. It's way overpriced. If you are going to Yellowstone, wait and get another campground and save 20 bucks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$51
I was surprised at the lack of campgrounds with at least electrical hookups in the area so it is not surprising that the prices are high. The campground was nicer than I expected based on other reviews. The staff was nice. If you go over to the lodge they have very knowledgeable staff that can give you ideas on where to go to fish and see wildlife as well as some of the other lesser known things to see in both the Tetons and Yellowstone. This was a convenient place to camp to see both parks. I paid more for gas here than anywhere else on our trip and recommend getting gas in Yellowstone (or anywhere else). Yes, it was dusty, but this area just does not get enough rain during this time to keep grass growing (which explains the frequent wildfires the whole west experiences at this time of year). The Snake river is within walking distance along the back of the campground, but did not appear to be a good fishing river at least in Aug. The easy pull through sites and abundant trees were nice. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$68
After reading some of the earlier reviews, I wasn't sure whether to stay at this campground. The previous reviews were a mixed bag (good and bad). I decided to stay assuming the negative reviews were probably people that were never satisfied or pleased. I made the right decision and was not dissappointed. I camped in a 28' RV (first time renter). All the RV sites are pull through, and plenty big. The sites have 20 amp elec, water and dumping. The sites all have a cluster of pine trees, which provided the right amount of shade and privacy. The bathrooms/showers were relatively clean, but lacked general maintenance giving them a run down appearance. The ground, like all of Wyoming is a very dry dirt, creating a great deal of dust - make sure you bring a rug or floor mat. This was our first RV trip, and I didn't think of bringing these items, but thankfully we did have a broom. Right next to the campground is the Flagg Ranch Resort Hotel, which has a gas station, convenience store with camping essentials, gift shop, and restaurant. We cooked our own meals, and never ate at the restaurant, but looked at the menu - it's expensive! The campground location between Yellowstone and Grand Teton is perfect for seeing both parks. Overall we had a very enjoyable experience camping here, and would do it again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2008
$55
This park has a perfect location. However, electricity is at a minimum, we ran our refrigerator and hot water heater on propane. Also, the roads are pure dust. Whenever a car goes by (even at 10 mph) it creates a dust storm. Plan on washing your rig when you leave. We were checked in by college kids who had no information on the area, etc. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2008
$50
Private sites, dusty and dry, dirt surface: everything gets dirty. Asked for bear box to store food in. They brought one and then came back and took it away saying they were for tents only? We have tent campers? Not sure about that policy. For the price they should include the bear box. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$50
This campground is in a perfect location. You can visit Tetons and lower Yellowstone from here. Be prepared for lots of dust and mosquitoes in the summer. The roads and sites are dirt. The staff is college students working here for the summer. They were all nice, but either don't have time or know-how to keep the bathrooms clean. The campground was full most of the ten days we stayed here. You must pay in full when reserving. There is only 20 amp electric. My husband switched the refrigerator to lp gas and we were able to run our air-conditioner monitoring it with an amp meter. We had two campsites across from us that had a very loud, all night domestic fight. We got no sleep that night even with earplugs. The next day we asked the staff to give us our money back as we wanted to go to another campground. This wasn't possible, but they did allow us to move to another side of the campground. It was shared that they had never seen so many beer and liquor bottles in one area when they cleaned out the fire pit. Staff member said, "I knew they must have been up all night. We will talk to them." These campers were not asked to leave. The staff is not available in the evening and quiet hours are not enforced. We are pretty lenient in this regard but loosing sleep night after night got pretty old. Children played until 10 p.m. but adults and teenagers stayed up to all hours. At the same time, we also met a lot of very nice families. We used the bath house. Bring your shower shoes. Exhaust fans are present but not in use in either building. With a lot of campers using the facility it was a steam bath and you were sweating right after you showered. The laundry was cleaned daily. One washer and two dryers were out of order when we arrived, but were later working. Expect everything in the resort to cost three times more than usual. We brought a cooler with us and shopped in West Yellowstone for supplies which is almost 100 miles west. We would work hard to find a different campground if we return to this area. Flagg Ranch also has cabins and a restaurant. The restaurant is reservation only and fairly expensive. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2008
$50
A potentially relaxing campground seemed a bit overrated for the price. We saw workers constantly cleaning out the fire pits daily and regularly attending to the restrooms/shower facility. Unfortunately the mosquitos were so bad that we could not do anything outside at our site. Only 20 amp electric available. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$50
A really pretty park located in a stand of lodge pole pines. Being the closest location to Yellowstone Park with sites big enough to handle 30 plus foot rigs is what attracted us to this campground. It is also conveniently located for access to the Grand Tetons and Jackson Hole. Has a great staff that works hard to accommodate your needs. We actually received a call from them when it was too snowy to come to the park. There is a gas station, convenience store, restaurant, lodge and gift shop located next door. There is no cell phone service in most of the area, no TV and no wireless. If you need communications this is the wrong place for you. Avoid buying anything in the convenience store as they are skyrocket high priced. Small Coleman propane bottles $9.19 when you can get them for about $3 where we live. The nearest reasonably priced gas station and grocery is 50 miles away in Jackson. The nearest wireless connection is at the Jackson Lodge south of Flagg Ranch which is well worth the trip. This park has only 110v 20 amp connections. The sewer connection is a little odd too. The connection is a T shape with the inlets located a few inches above ground. This park and surrounding area are expensive so bring supplies with you or buy them down south. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$45
Too much isolation with no cell service, no Wi-Fi, no cable and no TV, we were very isolated with an elderly mom-in-law in another state. Pay phone in the RV park did not work as well as the one in the main lodge. Nearest phone was down by the customer service office for the park not the lodge. But the staff was excellent, knowledgeable, friendly and very courteous. They were from around the US. In June we still got some snow especially at higher elevations. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2007
$55
America's National Parks, " For the enjoyment of all, and the extreme profit of a few". This park was worth about a third of what they were charging. It only had 20 amp electric, the roads and pads are dirt so it was either dusty or muddy, the sewer connections were outdated and leaked and the laundry was ridiculously overpriced as well. This park is not convenient to any attractions in Tetons or Yellowstone. Colter bay would be a better choice for the Tetons and Madison Junction would be better for Yellowstone attractions. On the positive, it did have trees and was easy to get into for a large RV. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$30
Spacious sites. Nice people running it. Would stay there again in future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$48
Expensive for what you get, but there are not many choices near the Tetons. One morning I went to all the bathrooms and all were out of toilet paper; I had to go to the main lodge to find toilet paper. There are some nice shade trees, but the roads are dirt and there is not much grass so everything was pretty dusty. There is not much to do at the campground. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2007
$50
There are not many RV park options this close to Yellowstone, the Tetons and Jackson. So,, this is as good as it gets. The RV park was "a little rugged" and you definitely will know you are “in the woods”. When we were there they only had 20 amp service, so you had to be careful about AC use. A visit to the upscale Flagg Ranch lodge next door is fun, and the lodge is beautifully decorated. There is a gift store in the lodge that has reasonable prices, and a small convenience store at one end of the building. Get ready for high prices at the convenience store. We paid over double price for just about anything we purchased. Thank goodness Yellowstone and the Tetons are so beautiful otherwise these folks would be hurting for business. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$45
We stayed here based on the previous review, but I think they had the wrong park! There is no pool, cable, or wifi as the previous post suggested. This park is in a great location, just south of Yellowstone. The roads are pretty dusty, but they are quite spacious. The Snake River is pretty close by, and there is a convenience store and restaurant on the premises. My husband and son hired the fly fishing guide from the activities desk and had a wonderful time catching cutthroat trout. Overall, it's not as fancy as some parks, but its location made up for lack of ameneties. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$29
We return to this park every year because it’s so great. Nicely laid out in a field with shade trees, spotless and beautifully configured restrooms and showers, well-stocked store, super and clean pool, excellent cable TV, fast ethernet connection, friendly staff; sorry, I’ve run out of superlatives. Would rate it a 10 if it had WI-FI and if the sewer connections were lower, making them useable by rigs with lower sewer outlets. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2006
$45
I'm sorry to say this - but this facility is just ripping you off because there aren't many facilities in the area between Grand Tetons and Yellowstone. It is completely overpriced. Their sites are small, but still, you could put out your awning. There is very little customer service. The day we were there, a large youth group disembarked a bus - must have been 60 boys - the showers were filled from 6 until midnight, and the laundry facilities were stacked up. When they finished, the bathrooms were cluttered with socks, broken glass, and debris. We were only there for a night, but the next day, it still wasn't cleaned up. You could have fires, if you brought your own wood - but they didn't sell firewood at the store. They were out of ice also. For a different price, I might have been able to live with such things. But we were definitely overcharged. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$45
Rustic park with a nice lodge and fuel within short distance. Pros- Park is close to both Yellowstone and Grand Teton Parks. Snake river very close to park, which affords good opportunity to see wildlife (we saw moose, deer, elk, and many birds). Sites are a little narrow but plenty long enough for most campers (40'), much better than Colter Bay. Clean showers and restrooms. Voltage was good, lost power briefly one night. Plenty of shade as most sites are well into the trees. Nice laundry room. Cons- Water was super chlorinated and fouled a filter. Roads are unpaved and can be dusty. Most sewer connections are raised up from the ground with both a 90 and vertical entry. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2005
$49
Being close to Yellowstone Park is a plus, but the campground is so so. They only have 20 amp service and it was very hot when we were there, but couldn't use A/C. You could open the windows for ventilation but the dust from the wind was so bad the whole interior had to be wiped down and cleaned. Then they lost electric due to wind and rain which they could not tell us when it would be restored, so we left and moved on to the Teton area. The campground Ranch name seemed to imply a much better campground than the one we went to. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2005
$47
Highest rates we paid all trip and deffinetly not worth it. Sites are extremely narrow, sewer connections are up hill and the interior roads were a mess. The only saving factor for me, being a fishermen, was the short hike to the Snake river. Skip this campground and travel on down to Colter Bay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2005
$45
First I'd like to say that my expectation were high, as they should be for a premium rate of $45.00 a night to park a tent trailer. All right, the campground is not all bad, in fact it's quite lovely. There are a lot of trees so you'll have shade at pretty much every site. There is a fairly well stocked general store at the lodge, an easy walking distance from the campground. The bathrooms and showers were clean (my wife disagrees). Now for my complaints: While we were there, a windstorm knocked out power to the whole area for about 24 hours. Not a big deal, after all, we are camping and I can take a shower in the dark. Well there was no hot water. Apparently, the propane water heater has an electric igniter. All right, I can see that but the lodge and all the cabins had power provided by large generators. When I tried to say something I ended up getting the runaround by a bunch of rather defensive people. So I tried getting a partial refund for that day, well, I'm still trying. By the way, the campground office was closed while the power was out. The other thing that was a little annoying was the amount of dust in the campground. None of the roads or paths is paved and it was very dry, so every time a car or truck drove by, we were engulfed in a big cloud of dust. Pros: shade trees, location, beauty, clean facilities Cons: expensive, poor customer relations, disrespectul employees, very dusty, I expected way better for $45 to park a tent trailer. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$40
Best location for venturing to both Yellowstone and Grand Teton. PROS: Big pines, Big sites, Easy access, Central location, Professional staff, Walking distance to Snake River (on site), On-site food and fuel, View of Tetons from some sites at south and west of park, Full hook-ups without having to deal with Fishing Bridge CG in Yellowstone or the zoo in West Yellowstone. CONS: Nearby road construction (summer 2004), Dusty interior roads, Only 20 amp electric available, While centrally located, expect to drive at least 20 minutes to get anywhere. June 2004 We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2003
$40
We stayed at this cg in our TT for 7 nights. The location is great for visiting Yellowstone NP, GTNP and Jackson. The campground is nice and well kept, the showers and laundry facility are VERY clean and well kept. You are warned about possible bear intrussions but not the mice!! After the first night stay our TT became infested with mice. We stuffed every outside entrance that we could find with aluminum foil and bought mouse traps in Jackson. We spent the rest of our trip hearing (chewing on our TT) and killing mice. We finally killed the last one on our trip home. We ate one meal at the cg Lodge. Our waitress didnt speak english very well. My steak was ordered med/well and came out RAW (and I mean RAW and bleeding). I sent it back only to have it returned under-cooked again (outside was browned this time inside still raw). I "tried" to eat it anyway, after a couple of bites I gave it up. I got sick from eating the under-cooked meat, a yr later Im still having health problems. Although the campground, facilities and location are nice we would not stay here again due to the mice (we know they can't control them) and the damage they caused. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$38
This was a nice campground 2 miles south of Yellowstone National Park. The Snake River is a short distance away and makes for a nice family walk. Very busy during the summer months. I would recommend this campground. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com