206705 User submitted reviews online!!
Grant Village Campground (NPS Campground) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 37 user reviews. Phone: (307) 344-7311
CGID3343

Grant Village Campground (NPS Campground)

Camp Information
Sites
430
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   8   7   8   10   10   8   5   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$28
Grant Village is a very large campground but is well wooded so you don't feel it. There is a large shower / laundry building just outside the campground (you will need to drive not walk to it) with excellent showers and laundry facilities. If there is a line at the single dump station inside the campground, there is another one behind the gas station. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$20
Loved Grant Village! The campground is amazing. The sites were spread out and we were easily able to get our 37' Class A into our pull-through site with little hassle. The reservation staff were amazing. They placed family we were traveling with on an adjacent loop so that our 2 campsites faced each other. This provided a huge play area in between campers for the kids to play. I was extremely worried about boondocking for a week, but it was not even an issue. Everyone in camp adhered to the generator rules. I ran mine a few hours during the days and was good on batteries at night. I didn't like being allowed only 2 "free" showers a day for my family of 5, and I didn't like that the showers closed at 9pm each night, but such a little price to pay to be in Yellowstone! We had considered staying in the single campground in the park that does have hook-ups. We drove through it and it was horrible. Completely over crowded. Dirty. Muddy. You do not go to Yellowstone for the view found in this section of the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$25
Our favorite cg in YNP, if we get a good site. Prefer A loop because of closeness to showers and Village. And strong VZ cell signal but little internet reception. Get in early afternoon and they may let you go look at empty sites. Many are narrow with tree overhang. Showers are included, and half off discount for fed passes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$29
We reserved only about 3 weeks ahead of time and our site was quite nice. Biggest complaint is that pull thru site was on the left side of the one way road and our door had to face the road. We managed to turn around and entered from the other side. Recommend at check in that you try and get a site on the outside of the loop not the inside or otherwise plan on going in the wrong way on the one way entrance and have someone go ahead of you. Was not a big problem. I would not recommend the A-E loops as they are fairly open with tall trees and little privacy. Other loops more forested and private. Since you can't reserve a particular site recommend you discuss at check in if possible. Rate includes 2 free showers per day. We stayed in H loop which had easy short walk to the lake. If you plan to spend some time on the shore reading a book bring a fly swatter or spray. There is a dump station at the campground and another behind the gas station which is less crowded. If you use the one at the gas station go in with the gas station to your right. The other way has a severe dip that can hinder emptying tanks. We loved the campground and would come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$25
Campsite with limited facilities, but nice sites between the trees complete with BBQ and table. Shower facility is far away from most of the sites, and only two showers per camper per day included. Limited restroom capacity, but clean. No mobile, nor WiFi. Good location, relatively close to the geysers. Good price/quality. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$10
Love the showers! We had a pull through site and it was difficult to get into as there were trees close to the parking space and we had to maneuver the truck and camper in an area restricted by rail road ties in concrete. We ended up backing into the site and gave up on getting the camper positioned the way we wanted. Our site had our doors facing into the site, but other sites had the doors facing the road. Good location for a day trip to Lewis Lake and the Grand Tetons. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$25
A great place to camp and see all of the park. The campground was very nice, showers great. Good laundry. Store and restaurants. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
Nice sites, all pull-through. I had trees preventing me from doing a "pull-through", but was able to back my coach in and park behind. It was a little far from the north reaches of the park, but the West Thumb Geyser Basin was right there. Showers were really nice, but you had to drive there as they were offsite. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
Drive to showers. Full to over full, but centrally located to most of the park. There are a few lakefront sites numbered 305-315. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
This worked out well...had a pull through site that was level and better than ones in Madison. Mostly families and tourist in tents and trailers, not much generator racket. Easy bike ride ride to VC , store, and showers- which were super. Be sure to make reservations in the busy summer season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$12
First, this is an awesome place to camp. Being right in Yellowstone is wonderful. I go there several times a year but this was the first time actually camping in the park. Our site was a short walk to Yellowstone Lake, large pine tree shade area. Spent a week, very quiet and peaceful. Now the bad part. Sites are very tight and trees need to be trimmed, they scratch your rig trying to make the turns. Works OK if you are in a tent or small RV but if your rig is more that 30 feet long its tight. The problem is the sites were all designed when RV's were pretty small. They gave us a pull-through gorgeous site, but there was no way to PULL through. They are laid out in kind of a half circle. Pulled in OK but had to back out when leaving; just no way to make the turns with all the trees. Great location, just be careful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$11
Grant CG is a dry camp operated by Xanterra, so reservations can be phoned in (no web reservations) for 438 sites, both tent and RVs. CG located next to Yellowstone Lake (42ºF), and each site was just a few minutes walk from the lake. All loops are heavily wooded, and built into a fairly level area, so parking at most sites is easy. Most sites are large, so you don’t feel crowded. Elevation 7,800'. TTs are assigned to pull throughs (actual pull-outs), so access is easier than having to fight into a non-level back-in. My site in Loop I had asphalt drive long enough for my TT & TV, fairly level, w/ picnic table and fire ring. Each loop had one or more bathrooms with flush toilets, cold water sinks, hand soap dispensers, electric space heater and hand driers, dish washing room, and 4 faucets (non-threaded) in front to fill water tanks. Dump station & recycle containers at entrance. Cell phone coverage (Verizon) excellent., 1 pay land line remains at entrance. A few sites had newer “bear boxes” for food storage. Nightly charge $20.00 + tax & utility fee, Golden Age $10.00 + tax & fee. Xanterra sells ice and firewood at entrance, ice $3.00 for 7# blocks or 3# cubes, small box of firewood $7.28. We use a 45 watt solar panel kit to keep the TT battery charged while dry camping. Nearby Grant Village for restaurants, stores, features. Lots of families, so seems busy, and some generator noise. Saw elk grazing through CG while we were here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2011
$21
The campground was located about an hour from the closest main attractions in Yellowstone. We got stuck here, because Fishing Bridge would not allow us to camp there because we had a hybrid trailer. They have a no soft side trailer policy. Xantera did not tell us this when booking or re-booking. We were told that all of Yellowstone was booked and that we had no place to stay despite our reservation. I instructed the employee that this was their issue, not mine, and that they needed to find a place for us. After 30 minutes of calls, they sent us an hour back from where we came to Grant Village at the South end. We had a pull through site, but it took us 45 min to get into the site due to other campers encroaching on our site. The campground did not have showers in the bath house. We had to drive to a large bathhouse near the entrance that was $2 a shower. We have a family of 6. I wish the campground has showers in the bathhouses and charges $12 more. I really was not all that impressed with Xantera or the campground, but I did enjoy Yellowstone. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$23
Yellowstone is a wonderful place to camp! The sites are spacious, the bathrooms are clean and people are friendly. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$11
Pulled in on July 4th weekend without a reservation (not recommended!) and the friendly staff was able to find us a spot for a 30' motor home and toad for 2 nights. They continued to try very hard for other nights but had no success. Had a large pull through with lots of shade. Campground was surprisingly quiet with so many people and on a holiday. Showers and laundry are available. Two dump stations near entrance. Generators are allowed. Nice trails to visitor center and amphitheater where there are ranger programs. Rate is Golden Age. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$19
Nice campground in the park. No hookups but I believe showers were available at an additional cost. Staff was extra helpful and cell phones worked. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
Tall trees provide shade, we had a nice pull-through with convenient access to clean restrooms, each with a wash basin for cleaning dishes. Check-in can get congested with limited parking. One-lane dump station near entrance heading out, and another behind service station. Huge, nice, reasonably priced laundry facilities. Cell signal and Verizon aircard both worked good. Only 3 places in Yellowstone with cell signal: Mammoth Hot Springs, Old Faithful area, and Grant Village area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$22
Slow check-in. Lots of shade. Nice showers $2 for 6 min. This is a GIANT camp ground, long ways from campsite to showers, stores, visitor center. Sites were small but, plenty of trees helped with some privacy. Like Fishing Bridge, always someone breaking camp very early or arriving late so don't count on much sleep. Fishing Bridge earlier in week had tons of mosquitoes, none here. Spot was mostly level, I saw several that were far from level. Pull through was tight and door was away from table. This was far nicer than my time at Fishing Bridge. Generator usage was respectable. You are allowed to have campfire here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
This campground has more sites that will accommodate larger rigs than Madison campground. Most sites are generally shaded with lodge pole pines. The campground is a little higher altitude than some of the other campgrounds in Yellowstone, so it seemed just a little cooler. Some of the roads through the campground loops are tight for larger rigs so use care when entering or leaving. As others have said, this is a very crowded campground during the summer. Staff at campground was friendly and helpful. Clean and reasonably priced laundry facilities are located a short distance from the entrance to the campground. We would stay here again when visiting Yellowstone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$11
Sites have no utilities but the restroom was convenient to our site with a wash basin for cleaning dishes. Pay showers are a little distance away. Large campground but well divided into small private sections. Nearby conveniences include, gas station, grocery, gift, visitor center and two restaurants. This is one of three areas in Yellowstone with cell phone service. My Verizon phone worked all the time. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$34
Visited in July, so was packed and very busy. Although quite wooded, it was more a place to sleep vs a natural, quiet camping setting. Pretty close to Old Faithful (20 min.) The folks at check in were awesome, got me a spot the second night when we did not have reservations, 480 sites and it was full. Excellent lakefront beach area and awesome visitor center, restaurant, the cleanest showers I have ever used at a National park. Level spots but not real sense of separation from neighbors. Go in September! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$20
This park rates high due to the location and nice privacy compared to the other Yellowstone campgrounds. No amenities of course, but being on the lake makes up for it! Sites are fairly narrow with trees and it makes for some tricky parking. Decent dump but the check in is a mad house during the Summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$10
We had site I-226. It was great because it was on the side rather than down the loop roadway where sites were back to back. It gave us more room and we were surrounded by beautiful trees. They have flush toilets and heaters in the bathroom. The showers are down the road and were the best we've ever seen in a national park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$20
What a mad house, get there early. This is a nice park but dump station is inadequate for this size of campground. This campground has some tight spots for big rigs so be careful, but as usual it is a great spot for Yellowstone and we did enjoy it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$10
Nice campground with no hookups. Our only complaint was our site wasn't very level. We saw Elk wandering through the campground as we drove in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$19
This is a very well run national park. The setting is spectacular and while the sites are impoverished with respect to power/water, the shower/bathroom facilities are nice and the general store and laundry are great. In all one of the best stays we've ever had anywhere. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
We liked this campground a lot; this and Canyon were our favorites out of the 4 Yellowstone campgrounds we stayed in. Some of the sites are right on the lake (I loop, I think), they're all shaded with pines and many are pull-thrus. Only cold water in the rest rooms. Very quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$17
This is a huge campground. Really huge. There are several different kinds of loops offering a wide choice of sites. Some are in more open forest, others border a very thick forest and back up to a wetland area in a shallow bay of Yellowstone lake. Everything was clean and pleasant. Some of the concession workers at the front station were a bit crabby though. It's a great looking spot, plenty of room to move to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$17
The big attraction for this campground is the trees and the wonderful view of Lake Yellowstone in areas of the campground not surrounded by trees. Many of the sites are not level so make sure to bring along a means by which you can level your rig. This is honest to goodness camping: About 80% of the campers were either in tents or tent trailers with the remainder in everything from travel trailers to motorhomes. Very few campers used generators during the day when we were there so daytime noise isn't a problem. Also, the Grant Village area isn't very busy since it's somewhat removed from the major YSNP attractions. If you are visiting both YSNP and the Grand Tetons it is centrally located. We were pleased to see that the Visitor Center, which contains an interesting Fire of '88 exhibition, is undergoing a remodeling and expansion project. Showers and laundry are located outside the campground where you can get 6 glorious minutes of hot water for $2.00. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$12
The park is awesome. The campground is really nice. It is near Old Faithful. The food wasn't good at Old Faithful. Over priced cafeteria food. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$17
We chose this site based on reviews that it has many trees and shaded sites, and were not disappointed. We reserved a pull through site for a 29 foot travel trailer and got a great site near the end of the access road loop. This ended up being the only way in and out of the site, as we had to back out, no way to "pull through" the c-shaped site with the bollards placed along the road to keep people on the pavement. However, plenty of room to back out. Sites are situated in loops on the side of a main access road. Be aware that they are one-way and plan for a sharp turn to go counter-clockwise from the access road. We needed to swing wide into the other lane on the access road and use all of the intersection to make this turn. Sites are moderate sized (large compared to private CGs, smaller than some state/national parks). Firewood is plentiful and about $7 per box. You are allowed to pick up deadwood all over the park (still plenty after the forest fires). Lake is too cold to swim in and swimming is only allowed in certain areas of the park. There is so much to do that we did not make it to the Ranger activities, but they looked interesting. Pleasant people all around. Drive to pay shower area, but bath house was clean and modern. This CG is not far from Grand Tetons, made 2 day trips there. Recommend spending at least a week in the park, half in this CG at south end and half in either Canyon or Madison area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$12
Madness checking in but shady sites throughout a sight for sore eyes. Roads in need of some help and wildlife sightings a bit few and far between. Load up on fuel and groceries before arriving or be prepared to bleed. Expect to travel long distances to see things as it's a huge park. Would stay again if in area (but prefer the Grand Tetons more). We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$18
Nice campground that hosts a large amount of visitors. Still spacious and semi private. Staff was willing to help with preference of sites. Some sites were little pullouts along the road. Close to village store and gas station. Very far from the park's main attractions. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2005
$18
We stayed here the first two weeks of September and found that it was not busy, however sites were close together so I imagine that during the busy months it could get a little crowded. There are no hook-ups but a dump station and water fill station are located when you come in, and you can use generators. Yellowstone Lake is right by this campground and you can walk down within 5 minutes, we saw several Elk during the evening hours. We would stay at this campground again during the fall. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2005
$18
This is a reservation CG run by Xanterra in Yellowstone NP. No hook-ups, no showers in the CG (there are separate pay shower and laundry facilities near-by) and while bathrooms were clean and pleasant enough the closest one to our site was some distance and the gray water disposal sink was out of order. We loved the shade in site #319 and it's relative solitude but many others are in much more congested loops of the CG. Our site was a bit sloped but plenty wide for our 30 ft class A with just enough room to tuck the tow in front. The ladies at the reservation and registration desk were friendly and infinitely patient with the arriving throngs of visitors. This campground worked very well for us while we saw the sites in the south end of the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2004
$18
We have stayed in this campground twice, once with a tent and the second time with our motorhome. This is the greatest place in the park. We are self contained so we don't need hook ups. We checked out the other one with hook ups and didn't like the parking lot feeling. The elk practically come up and knock on the door. We even had a wolf come thru when we were tent camping and a coyote woke us up one night too. This is the only campground we stay at in Yellowstone it's beautiful. Sites are far enough apart so you can have some privacy. I can't say enough about this place and the people are great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$17
Nice campground and the facilities were clean. We stayed here in the summer 2003 with a tent. Very cold nights and when the rules state 'no unattended coolers' they mean it. We saw a park ranger taking a cooler from an unattended campsite. They are STRICT on the rules. Second night was noisy, someone had a fight. They were quickly dealt with and escorted out of area. Staying in the park was a nice time saver. This is a LARGE national park and we took all 3 days for looking around. PS. Campground was not very private. Lots were not 'stacked' on top of each other, but you could see into others campsite. We camped here in a Tent.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com