215029 User submitted reviews online!!
Petoskey State Park/ Tannery Creek Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (231) 347-2311
CGID3352

Petoskey State Park/ Tannery Creek Campground

Camp Information
Sites
98
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$26



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   2   8   9   7   7   9   8   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$26
Two campgrounds here. One was closed when we stayed there. There are 3-4 loops in the woods. Sites air fairly close together, but we've seen worse. We managed to get a spot down by the lake. Just a short hike over a dune and we were on the beach. Nice campground and this was our second stay. There is a bike path into town, which was a plus. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$27
Petoskey is a lovely state park by Little Traverse Bay. The sites are paved, semi-level, and small. The biggest problem is the difficulty of backing in with all the trees. Verizon cell works fine. MIFI does not work well barely pulling 3G. The area is spectacular including the beautiful drive on the Tunnel of Trees scenic byway. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2010
$42
Michigan State Parks are nice as any I've seen, but, their price policy is unfair. We were charges an $8 entrance fee just because we drove a motorhome and an additional fee for our tow vehicle, plus the overnight camping fee. BUT if we had driven a pickup truck towing the same length trailer we would have only been charge a entrance fee plus overnight fees, UNFAIR wake up Michigan you're driving tourist out of your state. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$27
We stayed in the Dunes side of the campground, site 11. It was an awesome site. It was a nice campground with a good swimming beach. My only complaint was the shower house had spiders. Other than that, it was a great place to visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$27
The park has wooded sites that have paved pull-ins. The sites are big enough that you don't feel crowded by your neighbors. The restrooms were very clean and the showers have a large dressing area. The beach on Little Traverse Bay is a short walk from the campground. This is a popular park that fills up during the summer season. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$27
We stayed at the Dunes side of this campground. The sites were big and satisfactory. There was plenty of shade. The showers got a no for cleanliness because they were full of dead beetles and spider webs. The shower heads are also only four feet high! Were people smaller when these showers were built than they are now? Also if you are paying to camp at the campground, shouldn't the fee for entering the park be waived? The campground is inside the park entrance so the only way to camp is to enter the park. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$29
This is a nice campground with easy and convenient beach access at the end of each loop. The campground beach was clean and well-maintained especially in comparison to neighboring beach areas. As a previous reviewer mentioned there is one restroom/shower building for each campground. The Tannery Creek one had five unisex showers for the entire campground which resulted in long shower lines from early morning to late evening. The restrooms and showers were almost always dirty unless you managed to use them immediately after cleaning, which happened only once each afternoon. The campground was full the entire five days we were there, so this could have contributed to the lines and unclean restrooms, but cleaning them twice a day when the campground is full would definitely help. The sites are close together and people with larger rigs may have trouble backing into many of the sites. We personally witnessed a travel trailer and then an RV having trouble backing into the site across from ours because of the narrow road in the loop. The location is great for the Petoskey area and convenient for day trips to Mackinac Island. The bike path is really nice and easily accessible from the campground for a quick ride into Petoskey or even on to Charlevoix if desired. We would definitely stay here again as the beach was outstanding and worth putting up with the restroom issues. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$29
This is one of the nicest Michigan State campgrounds that we've stayed at. We had a lakefront site with our own private trail to the beach. We stayed in site number 164. The bathhouses were clean and well maintained. The staff was friendly and very helpful. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$29
The park was well maintained, restrooms and showers were very clean. One drawback is that there is only one bathroom/shower building for each campground, (Tannery and Dunes),--long walk for campers in the farther parts of the park. We were in site 156 which was the site at the end of the row near the boardwalk platform to the beach. The site was very secluded, but there was a lot of trash strewn around the forested area surrounding our site. There was a camp host, and the State "Rangers" program provided activities for the kids and campers. Very nice park and good camping. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2004
$20
Stayed only one night, it was nice, you had access to the Lake with a nice beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com