223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Milton Heights Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 29 user reviews. Phone: (905) 878-6781
CGID3364

Milton Heights Campground

Camp Information
Sites
153
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   7   9   9   7   7   8   8   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2014
$28
Rate based upon monthly stay in 50amp site. We have stayed before and always enjoyed our stay. The landscape while not pristine, is very well looked after. The grass is always cut, trees constantly being trimmed and fallen branches taken away. One day the water service was shut off while I was doing laundry. I asked the people digging up the pipes about it and was told it was to repair a leak found the day before. It was only off 3-4 hours but some notice or a bulletin posting would have been nice. We suffered about 20 short power outages during our month. One neighbor disconnected and used his genny preferring not to risk the erratic (mostly high) power. Like the park but degenerating services are a concern. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$28
The rate reflects a monthly rate, tax included. The park has good water pressure. The water is very hard, but the water softener took care of that. There is lots of open space to walk and get your daily exercise. The park has a good sized pool and playgrounds. The pool is clean and well maintained. Our site was located at the far end of the park, far enough from Hwy 401 so as not to hear the noise, but sites at the front of the park are closer to the freeway with all the noise that goes with it. The far end of the park does border on Campbellville Rd, but in the evening, the traffic is minimal and the trees make a good sound barrier. Shopping and dining is readily available in Milton, only minutes away, every store you can imagine, and then some. Olde Downtown Milton is close by with many shops and restaurants The park also recycles, with bins located along with the trash bins. There is a store in the campground, carrying basic groceries, snacks and camping supplies. The washrooms are kept clean and in working order. Once the weather warmed up and we needed to run the AC units, we had problems with the breakers on the pedestal constantly popping. Shortly after reporting the problem, a maintenance worker came, replaced the breakers and we did not have any more problems. The first day we arrived, we had problems with electricity, getting a ‘low voltage' error (104 VAC) and the air conditioners would not work.. Unfortunately, it was a holiday weekend so there was nothing they could do about it. Luckily the next couple of days were cooler and there was no need for the AC. The. local utility came in days later and made some changes. The voltages went back up to where they were supposed to be (124 VAC). In the part of the RV park where we were located, all the sites are back in, but not angled, so are all tight approaches with not a lot of swing room. The parking area was level, but not so on either side. Because of the dips on the side and the narrowness of the approach, we dragged backing in until the wheels climbed back up the dip onto the site. The dumpsters need to be emptied more often or else they need to get another bin to handle the amount of garbage the park generates. There is a charge of $5 for guests to drive into the RV park. This was a real sore point. We had not seen friends and family for 2 years and if they were coming to visit, why should they pay to get past the gate when not using any of the pool or picnic facilities. The Wi-Fi is very slow when it works, which was only about 50% of the time. We have a roof antenna booster for Wi-Fi, so we got a strong signal, but even with that, many times the system was overloaded with no available IP addresses to connect to, or worse yet, their ISP was down. Even with a connection, it would drop in the middle of reading a news article. When it goes down, it would stay down for days. We will probably stay here again when we come back to southern Ontario. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$36
This is a gem in the midst of a city area. Nice level sites with full hookups. The staff were friendly and helpful. Great family campground close driving distance to Toronto and Niagara Falls. We would definitely stay here again. The park is immaculately maintained. However, the Wi-Fi was very slow, to the point of not being worth the time, but free. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$34
Nice park. We had a back-in 30 amp full hook up that was level. There's lots of walking space and open spaces for a view and dog walking. There's also a field to let the dog run off leash. The campground was very clean. My only complaint was the slow and spotty Wi-Fi. Don't advertise it, if it's lousy. The only cable available is for long-timers who set up their own cable separate from the campground. There is road noise from the highway, but not a bother for us. Our rate reflects a GS discount. If going to Toronto, the train leaves Milton very early in the a.m. We drove about 20-30 minutes to Oakville to take the 40 minute train ride into Toronto. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$32
Far enough from Toronto but close to what Toronto has to offer. This park is OK, but they do squeeze everyone in when they are busy. Finding the park can be a challenge if you are new to the area. All in all, an acceptable campground. We'd go back if we ever go to that area again. We used our Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
Rate is weekly rate. Our third year at this campground since we have family in the area. No 50 amp sites available for our time period so we had to do with 30 amp, but then the power company cut down the voltage to the point that we thought our A/C might be damaged...got to 104.1 volts for an extended period of time. The day before we left the power got to a high of 110 volts. The WIFI here has always been problematic and nothing has changed in that respect - management states that there is only one ISP available to them and there isn't much they can do, but at least they have stopped charging the $35 fee for the "service". Otherwise, this is a great park although subject to road noise from the 401 on the park's east field boundary, but the setting is beautiful and the staff maintains it well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$41
Older, very well kept park with narrow interior paved roads. Constant traffic drone from Highway 401 but quieter at night for sleeping. Lots of seasonal sites and a huge tenting area that only had a couple of users and visitors, so great for us while we were visiting the area. Very pleasant stay. Short distance outside Milton, close enough to visit Toronto etc. Rate cited was for a fully serviced, big rig, back-in 50 amp site. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$37
Rate reflects Good Sam rate including tax for a 50 amp back in site. Road ways are paved, but back in sites are gravel, although pull through sites are paved. This is a year round park with many winter occupants. Our length was a little too long for the site so we had to cut up the wet sod getting in. Water connections are in concrete tile (with covered opening) set into the ground which keeps the line from freezing, but our well was substantially filled with water and our connection had to be fished out of the dirty water. Chlorine bleach sanitized the connection and we tied up the hose so that it could not sink back into the water. Voltage on electrical service showed low voltage on Line 2 of the 50 amp service at night when long term residents returned until they retired for the night and again in the morning, but okay in between. Line 1 was in the 118 range most all the time. By appearance some of the pull-through sites seem to have limbs in need of cutting back. Will likely stay here again when next in area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$42
We have stayed there in past trips. This is the best CG for the West side of Toronto, Hamilton area. The people are friendly and helpful. We were there a couple of days and did a lot of sightseeing in the area. Everything was good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
We had a great stay. The sites are very big; lots of room for all trailer sizes and chairs, etc. to enjoy the day. The pool was nice and big with a small slide for the kids. The park is centrally located to all sorts of amenities. We went to Canada's Wonderland during the day so I can't comment on what the park is like during the day; however, it was nice and quite at night for sleeping. There is some noise from the highway, but not much. The staff was very nice and accommodating for our late arrival. They even offer a half day so you don't have to rush around all morning to be out at 11:00. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$39
Nice older facility, but it has good site spacing and took our 40' just fine. For Canada it had 50 amp power but all sites are back in. No pull through sites. Trees are present but not a problem for satellite. There are a couple of sites though, that might prevent a signal. Wi-Fi is fee based but, if I remember correctly, it was super reasonable with a strong signal. This CG is convenient to highway 401 but is too far from Toronto to use as a base of operations. Great staff, by the way. We will definitely stay again when in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$33
I agree with the previous reviewer that it is a quiet park geared towards families and mature couples. Not that younger ones would not be welcomed, but they would have to respect the rules of the park in place which are meant for everyone to enjoy their stay, in a quiet, peaceful surrounding. We stayed for 6 nights so that my husband would be closer to the client he was working with that week, as we live about 105 km away which makes it a long, early drive every day. We were very pleased to find this campground being opened all year around which is a rarity in Ontario. Pleasant staff, very clean grounds and as far as the noise from the 401 it isn't really that bad. It kind of becomes part of the surrounding noises along with the birds, etc... We would definitely go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$35
Overall good campground open all year (unusual for Ontario). Close to all major amenities and highways. We stayed for 3 weeks waiting to head south. All connections are at the back of site but within good reach. Gravel base to park both coach and tow. Can level with know problem. Water pressure a little low but doable. Laundry room very clean and tidy. Did not use the bathrooms so can't comment. Grass between each site with picnic table. Wi-Fi was good however a little slow at times. Campground appears to have lots of transient worker living here while Milton experiences a housing boom. The campground itself is neat and tidy. Not sure about the smell from the septic ponds.It was bad at times in the fall, I'm sure the summer would be terrible . Could hear highway 401 noise most of the time even with windows closed. Entrance to park well marked. Interior roads paved. All tree branches cut back so as not to hit coach. Park could accommodate any size motorhome. Check in was easy, people very friendly. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$35
Nice park,paved roads, clean. Extra vehicle $2/dy, cable $4/dy. You should be aware there are a large number of young families in the park. I assume they live off the grid. The children do not appear to attend school,and most seem to to have cash businesses like driveway sealing, asphalt repair and house painting. These people stay to themselves and will not acknowledge your "Hello or Good Morning" greetings. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$34
This is a nice campground with lots of sites and good facilities. The row with 50 amp service is mostly filled with seasonal campers, so if you want 50 amp, make a reservation. Wi-Fi is available and works pretty well, but there is a fee. The park is quiet and well-maintained. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$34
We chose this campground to be close to a sporting event in Mississauga. It was 30 minutes to Mississauga and maybe 45 to downtown Toronto. Service was friendly, washrooms were clean, water was hot. Internet worked quite well (just a bit slow at times). No cable, but we bought a $15 antenna at Canadian Tire, and had decent reception (of course that will not work once Canada converts to digital TV in August 2011). Site was pull through asphalt, pretty level. Near the highway, but we did not really hear it, not a problem. While it is near the highway, you have to exit a few kilometers away and take a back road. Pool looked nice and big, but too cold to swim while we were there. One complaint would be the electrical outlets in ladies washroom. They were so loose that my hairdryer kept disconnecting. A good choice to be close to Mississauga and Toronto. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$31
Medium-sized level sites; a generally clean and decent campground. Wi-Fi isn't free, although the rates aren't too bad. The main negative is the constant highway noise! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$30
Close to many things... including a noisy 6 lanes highway. Friendly hosts. Clean and very well kept. We stayed over 2 months this year. A pleasant place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$38
The park has a friendly staff and our site was fine. Rest rooms and showers were clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$35
The above rate includes the add-on cost of internet access ($10 for 3 days). This is a very large campground with a variety of sites, but they all seem to be at least good and many are excellent. There are several seasonal sites but they were fairly neat and tidy. The laundry facility is clean and functional. We did not use the bathrooms or showers. This campground is situated in a rural area, away from public transportation. If you don't have a vehicle, be prepared to take a taxi to the GO station or whatever. Aside from transportation, this campground is within 30 minutes of downtown Toronto and is a great place to stay to visit the area. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$29
We recently spent two weeks at this park, I would highly recommed it to all. It's clean and quiet and the staff is very friendly and helpful, I look forward to staying here again next year on our travels. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$32
Good clean pull through sites. Some pull through sites have gravel base, most of them have Asphalt base. Pool was closed when we stayed here during Victoria day long weekend. Children's playground was nice and clean, both my kids really enjoyed it. The campground had lots of children and pets. Pull through sites have nice tall trees providing shade and wind protection. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$29
The Milton Heights Campground is a large family campground with minimal amenities. We camped here in July and there were a large number of children who took advantage of the pool for most of the day. The campground was nicely kept. While there was a cable hookup at the site we used, it did not work. The campground requires the usage of a key card to go in and out and you must pay a $20 cash deposit for the card. They will accept either US or Canadian dollars for the deposit and return the same upon return the key card. The campground did not offer any wireless access. They did offer a 10% discount for Good Sam members. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$28
This is a well-maintained and attractive campground. Staff is friendly and well-managed. Sites are level and good width between adjacent sites. It is 40 minutes to the GO train to Toronto. My only complaint is that our 30 amp site did not have 30 amp capacity. If we had air conditioner on, no other appliances could be used--toaster, microwave, coffee pot. If AC was off, we still could only use the toaster, or microwave, or coffee pot or convection oven. We told them of the problem and they came and replaced the outlet in the junction box, which made no difference. We then bought a new adapter and that made no difference. We have never had this problem before with 30 amp sites. We camped here for the month of July. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$27
Nice fairly level pull through site with full hook ups. Only used campground for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
We looked at all parks in the area and this is the best and decently priced. But no Wi-Fi. Had to run into town to Starbucks to do computer work. Super nice folks. Well run and organized. Clean heated pool. Alphalt sites with picnic tables. Family oriented. Water had nice pressure and tasted great. Will let you wash your unit, too. Laundry was OK but not cheap as previously mentioned. $1.50 wash/$1.50 dry. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$28
Arrived to a friendly and smiling staff. (Good first impression). Was given the choice of a number of spots to check out as to the one I wanted (I like that). Early in season but quiet except for some road noise but not a problem. Very clean however there are a couple of old seasonal/fulltime "eyesores" on sites. Paved interior roads. Site size was pretty good in some areas of park. Would return again if I needed access to Toronto (This was the closest park OPEN at this time of year to Toronto so it worked well as a base). There was a pool and playground but not sure of the "draw" of other activities in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2005
$25
Cost was $25 nightly in Canadian funds. Managers and staff are extremely friendly and helpful. They have weekly, monthly, and seasonal rates. Very comfortable and friendly. We stayed there for six weeks. There is freeway noise in morning and evening commuting hours only. There are seasonal RV sites in a specified area where folks use their RVs for cottages. Laundry facilities are very reasonably priced. Everything was cleaned twice daily and as-needed. Commuted daily to Mississauga in 40 minutes. Driving to Toronto to sight-see takes about 45 minutes. Main observation: I don't recommend taking an RV off the freeway and into downtown Toronto as streets are very crowded and narrow. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2004
$49
About an hour from Toronto and 15 minutes from a GO trian station that will take you into the heart of downtown Toronto in 30 minutes. Shoping nearby in Milton. Nice country setting. Would probably stay here on another visit to Toronto, but would prefer something closer to the city. I could hear road noise from the nearby freeway even though it wasn't visible from the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com