218609 User submitted reviews online!!
Cotillion Gardens RV Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 36 user reviews. Phone: (831) 335-7669
CGID337

Cotillion Gardens RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
80
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$64



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   10   6   4   8   7   9   4   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$64
It's beautiful, clean, and the sites are really nice. This was our first time here and have already made reservations to return next year for a longer period. After chatting with the Office Manager, she gave me some great information about the area and was really nice. It's a really great place for kids that's for sure. The trails are endless, the pool is awesome, and the play area is great for the younger ones, too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$60
Do not come in from the south on Hwy-9, as it is very winding and narrow. Our site was a full hookup, back-in, level, with picnic table and fire pit. Pool was heated and clean. Wi-Fi only worked at the office. Many cable TV channels. Family orientated, with Roaring Camp Railroad just a short hike away. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$59
We have stayed here many times. The staff is wonderful. We had a problem with a slide out and they came to our rescue. We were late checking out because of this problem and they didn't charge us extra; told us not to worry about being late. Stores and restaurants are close. We needed directions and they went on the internet to get them for us. It is real clean and a great place to stay. My granddaughter loved the pool and taking the trails down to the river. We have reservations for next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$59
This campground is in the beautiful Redwoods. The staff is very friendly, the sites are groomed and level, and all the utilities worked great. However, I was disappointed that, while the bathrooms were clean, there were no soap dispensers or paper towels to wash your hands (the restroom across the office only had paper towels). Also, I was unable to find any large trash bins to put garbage in, only small trash cans you'd find at your home. Location is great and close to Roaring Camp trains and the Santa Cruz Boardwalk. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2012
$50
We have stayed in other campgrounds in the area and find that this is the nicest so far. The staff is friendly, the pool is clean and warm and everything works. There are some things that we wish were better. There is no laundry, so you have to drive to town to do a load of clothes. Spaces are clean and well maintained, however, they are very tight. Wi-Fi is good and so is the selection of cable TV channels. The roads in the park are narrow, so you have to go very slow. given the location and the other parks around it, this is a nice place, pricey, but near Santa Cruz. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$55
We had a very nice camping experience at Cotillion RV Park. The helpful staff was pretty much there for all of our needs. The park is very clean, restrooms, showers and all. As others have mentioned the sites with full hookups are pretty close to each other and backing in can take some time. (The staff has great pointers for backing into the tight spots). The scenery was exceptional, tons of tall redwood and a running creek go through the park. There are several nice hiking trails. We lucked out an got 2 last min cancellation sites the weekend of the big Halloween Event at the park. There is is a nice size pool, but it was closed for the season. Overall, for all the amenities, you could not find a better place in the redwoods and so close to Santa Cruz. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$55
The sites are narrow, your awning will be inches away if not touching the neighboring RV. Luckily our site is located where there was not a site next to us, but no sewer connection. The restrooms are clean, no laundry facilities. The pool is large and warm. Campfires are allowed at your site. Exiting the park can be difficult if more than one RV wants to dump. A line of RV develops with no room to squeeze by. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$53
This park is beautiful! One of the best we've visited. Great pool. Clean bathrooms. Friendly staff. Highly recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2011
$56
Summer rate reflects cash or check charge. Can't imagine what it'd be if using credit card. Packed in here like the proverbial sardines. Tall redwood trees are breathtaking but they utilize every bit of space in this park. It says pull-through sites, but I didn't see any and can't imagine a rig bigger than 32 foot getting in here very easily. The smaller rigs seem to manage "somehow." It was entertaining to watch them try to back into the tight spaces. Their slides are just about touching the picnic tables and it is extremely tight trying to maneuver around all the vehicles tucked snugly up against their trailers. Although clean, the bathrooms are dinky and old. We preferred our cramped RV shower over using these outdated showers. This place is 6 miles from the Boardwalk. If you don't have a vehicle then you have few options to get to the beach. To get Enterprise to bring you a vehicle the six miles to the park their most economical rental rates were $69/day+++. A cab ride would run you $45/each way. The Roaring Camp Railroad Depot is in the State park next door and about a 40 minute hike. The round trip beach train ride runs adults $26 each. So, for a family of 3 that's $76 to catch the train to spend about 4 hours at the beach. I wish I had read more current (and honest) reviews that clearly stated just how packed in here everyone was. The staff is very accommodating, and the pool is very nice, but I will not return here due to the overcrowded conditions and the old bathrooms. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2011
$45
This is a very nice park. The sites are good size; most have wooden decks. You are camping among the redwoods and have plenty of trails available for hiking. I have only one complaint regarding this park. I know that they are trying to keep the park clean, but when you are trying to relax you don't want to hear the leaf blowers going all morning long. If you are looking for peace and quiet this may not be the park for you. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2010
$42
We stayed for four nights in Dec., and rec'd a very good off-season rate. The park is lovely, nestled in Coastal Redwoods, with a very friendly staff. The space sizes are quite generous and the park is an easy drive into Felton and Santa Cruz. We checked out the two neighboring parks for future visits and found Cotillion Gardens the nicest of the three. One drawback that we didn't think was important at the time of booking, was no laundry facilities in the park. We had quite a bit of rain and with two adults and two dogs, we used all our "junk" towels trying to get clean and dry. Our bath towels couldn't dry out either, so we ended up spending several hours in town at the laundromat. This is the first park we've stayed in that had no laundry room, but I quickly learned what a convenience it is to simply walk from the trailer! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$50
This is a great RV park. The rate was a little hard because we had extra people for a couple of nights and a tent. It was a holiday weekend so that is usually more, and they gave us 10% off for writing a check. The management is really helpful. The cable TV is great. We were able to watch a football game that we really wanted to see. They deliver wood to your site. Our kids used the pool and were happy with it. There was no charge for our 2 dogs. They let you pick the site you want and guarantee it. We have already booked for next year. The park has a lot of shade and the smell from the trees is wonderful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$45
This is a great campground. The staff was very friendly and always cleaning up the campground even though it was very clean. Space #40 backed up to a stream with awesome giant redwood trees all over the campground. Easy access to the neighboring Redwood State Park. Nice hiking trails. This campground is close to the town of Felton and Santa Cruz. Made it down to the boardwalk and pier for the day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$51
The people at this park were wonderful. My son had another camp site & they got him a drill when he had a hard time putting the tent stakes in the ground. They also help him find a place for tent parts. Our site was nice & shady with a beautiful view of the hillside and creek. We liked it so much we didn't want to leave. We booked another stay with them next year. Lots of kids riding their bikes. This is a very dog friendly park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$48
Nicely wooded campground with lots of amenities. Our rate didn't include sewer but was for 3 people, paying cash. The pool is heated and fairly large and the playground is really nice. The park abuts Henry Cowell State Park (which was full), and there are lots of trails through the redwoods. The push-button showers aren't too bad but the push-button sinks are really annoying--it's really hard not to splash water all over the place. The showers are decent-sized and the water was pretty hot. There's a space heater on a timer in the bathroom, too. I'm not sure why they got a 9.5* from Trailer Life--each has only 2 stalls and 2 sinks, and there is the push-button factor. Not very many for a campground this size. But they were quite clean. The Wi-Fi was fast and the cable gets 70 channels. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$51
Beautiful surroundings and spacious sites. Be aware that the showers have push-type timers and mine was timed right at 5 seconds, making a taking a shower an irritating affair. Wifi was pleasantly speedy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$35
Good rate, 3 nights price of 2. friendly. Easy access to Felton shops 5 min drive. Small play area, little stream site, spreadout sites. Small walking trails from site. Would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$40
The $40 per night was ther average price I paid during the promotion of pay for 2 nights get 1 free. Beautiful park. All the employees were extremelly friendly. Some sewer connections are a bit of a reach. Make sure you have a 20ft sewer hose. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$42
Very nice park, however they only let in big rig like 40 foot during off season. We would love to be able to stay there during the summer, but our rig is to big. Close to Santa Cruz and other areas. We really enjoyed this park, but wish they would let bigger rigs in more often. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$52
A meticulously maintained park amongst the tall trees. It is a short drive to Santa Cruz for beach and boardwalk. There is access to a couple of short state park trails from the campground. The Wifi and cable work well. It's on the pricey side, but they do offer a three nights for price of two special. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$51
Excellent park!!! The owners and employees were fabulous. Very nice people. What service!! You buy firewood from the office and they deliver it to your campsite. Very pretty area up in the redwoods. I would have given a 10, but some of the sites looked very, very small. Do not tow a trailer up highway 9 (incredibly tight and twisty), instead go up highway 17 through Scotts Valley. Great hiking trails right from the park into Henry Cowell Redwoods State Park. Also, see the Roaring Camp railroads. Our kids loved the train ride!!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$60
Tucked into a beautiful grove of redwood trees, Cotillion RV Park offers a lot of scenic beauty. This park is within easy walking distance of Roaring Camp Railroad/Thomas the Train. The campground is spotlessly maintained. The only real drawbacks are numerous children on scooters and bicycles that clog the narrow roadways and pathways. The park's management is ultra friendly and can take care of the RVer's immediate needs. One suggestion for park improvement would be to install clear directional signs for entering or exiting the RV park. It's hard to give ground when encountering a large motorhome or trailer coming at you in the narrow roadways. All in all, though, Cotillion RV Park offers serenity in a wooded environment. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$38
This is an excellent park and we discovered it 4 years ago. It's been an annual trip since then as we attend the Thomas the Tank Engine days at Roaring Camp with our kids each year. As others have mentioned this campground can be full of kids as expected with the Thomas event every year. This is great for us as there are other kids and "young" families in the campground during this time of year. In talking with the few "permanent" residents many other times throughout the year the campground is quiet. Cotillion Gardens though is a great base camp for doing most everything in the area. If steam trains aren't something you're interested in then the Santa Cruz Boardwalk is only minutes to the south. Want to do some hiking? Head north for Big Basin State Park or just stay in the area and hike Henry Cowell State Park. Need groceries or other items? Downtown Scotts Valley is only minutes away as well however there is a large grocery store in Felton as well. Point being this is a great central location to explore the greater Santa Cruz area with lots of things to see and do. The campground is also clean with decent sized spaces. I would give this campground a 10 however the pool has been a little colder than expected on 2 of our 4 visits. Just a little cold for children however it's clean and everyone still has fun. Oh don't forget to check out the tree slide. A unique playground feature that my kids look forward to every year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
We have stayed here at least a dozen times over the years and it has become our favorite campground in the area. Although crowded and over run with small children like most places at certain times of years like spring/summer holidays, that is to be expected. The owners and new office staff are wonderful, you can go to the office, order firewood and they deliver it right to your campsite. They are very helpful in assisting you in local attractions and hiking trails. Roaring Camp Railroad and the train to Santa Cruz is a must and within walking distance, the sound of the steam whistle from the Roaring Camp mountain train softly in the distance several times a day is a treat. We have our favorite and least favorite campsites and only one bad experience with other campers. This was due to the close proximity of four campsites and one loud family that asked all the local campers not to have campfires. To top it off they were camping with others located away from our campsites, yet had to make it un-enjoyable for three other campsites. We will continue to camp here regardless of one bad experience with an inconsiderate group of multi-site campers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$58
Beautiful setting in the Redwood trees, adjacent to Henry Coe State Park and within walking distance of Roaring Camp Railroad. We have been here twice and enjoyed both times. Some of the sites are very spacious but not all - some are really small. The recreation hall has fooze-ball, ping-pong, etc, and movies in the summer. The RV sites are gravel and are raked for each new arrival; most RV sites have a deck big enough for a small tent. Tent sites are grass or have decks. The pool is clean. The bathrooms are small and old, but clean and in good working order. The staff is responsive to maintenance requests (a clogged toilet was fixed immediately). We will come again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$52
Great park for rest and relaxation. Very pet friendly if you are responsible owners. Our dog enjoyed meeting with the others at the park. It is older so anything larger than 35 ft may have a problem. Most sights are narrow. With the slide and awning out, you will take up the whole site with. That being said, I would go back again when in the area. We camped in a 31ft 5th wheel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$50
This is one of our favorite parks and our second visit here. We camped with 4 other rv'ers and had about 8 kids under the age of 7 with us. We had spot 53 which was a bit small but right across from the creek where the kids played. The pool was a great amenity as was the playground although a short trek from the campsite. The park has lots of big trees with a a mountain feel that is city-close. It's very close to lots of attractions in the Santa Cruz area. It's small, clean, quiet, and conveniently located. I gave it a 9 because it seems a bit overpriced at $50/night, but as they say you pay for location, location, location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$45
The good things: beautiful campground, good rates for the area, nice courteous staff, discount for military and for paying cash, quiet. The bad things: pool only open on weekends (how hard is it to open a pool for the day?), lack of play area for dogs or kids (I'd like to see a small grassy field or something), horrible pothole at the entrance nobody tells you about until after you hit it (no worries if coming from other direction, but not told), restrooms had no soap or paper towels, showers had to be turned on every 15 seconds, stream isn't much of a stream. Overall: It is a nice place if you want peace and quiet and don't have dogs or kids. It would be nice if they invested in WiFi Internet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2007
$50
Park is in the middle of the forest adjacent to a state park. Our site was cramped, but there are larger ones available. All sites have a movable fire pit and picnic table. All hookups worked perfectly. Park is well cared for and offers basketball, playground, pool and game room. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2006
$45
We had such a nice time here. The park is beautiful. It backs up to Henry Cowell State Park. The sites are lovely and clean. The park staff were friendly and unobtrusive. We were part of a large group and never felt anything but welcome. We have children (8 and 6 years) who had a wonderful time. The recreation facilities include a pool (closed after 10/15), basketball, playground, video games, pool, and ping-pong. We live 9 miles away but would come back for a quick weekend getaway. What a fun place. I loved the pictures in the rec room of their Halloween festivities dating back 10 years! There were dogs on leashes everywhere but I saw no dog waste anywhere. Everyone we interacted with was friendly and fun! A great family park! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2006
$41
Yes there are signs everywhere. But with good reason. When people follow the signs it is easier for the hosts to keep the park clean and quiet! Our space #49 overlooked a small creek, was mostly level with manicured gravel. A wash tub fire pit and wood picnic table filled out the site. The site was roomie and separated from the other sites by large redwood trees. The campground hosts were very different from each other. One gentleman was very friendly and helpful. He gave us a quick, interesting history of the area and good tips on hikes to take. His partner, we didn't learn her name, was quiet and short in her conversations. The location is in the middle of a redwood grove with a small stream flowing through the campsites. It is an old park but well maintained. It is bordered by the Cowell State Park, with trails that lead from the campground into the park. It is about a 15 minute walk to the Roaring Camp Railroad. We will be back again this spring. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$46
Just returned from our second and LAST visit to this park, at least while the current managers are here. Don't get me wrong, the park is beautiful and picturesque. Having Henry Cowell State Park right outside the back gate is wonderful. But it doesn't make up for the completely rude and inhospitable long-term managers. If you're older than 65 or are bringing kids younger than that, don't bother. I've never seen so many "no" signs in my life. 14 in the pool area alone! The only one that was missing was, "No fun allowed." These folks need to move on. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2004
$40
Nice park right in the middle of a huge redwood grove. The staff was friendly. Sites that back up to the stream are the nicest. 10-15 minutes to the ocean. Just a minute or two to the Big Pines Railroad. The drive over highway 17 is an E-ticket so plan for non-commute time to travel. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2003
$30
This is an old park in the middle of Redwood trees.The sites are very tight for any 5th wheel over 33 feet. The 30 amp electricity was very poor. We even had to turn our water heater from electric to gas to run our microwave! The park itself is beautiful. It is right next to a large state park. No laundry. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2002
$40
Stayed here in November, not too many guest at that time. Had no real contact with the owners other than at check-in. Beautiful redwood location, huge trees, our site had a deck overlooking a small creek. Small playground, seasonal pool. Very close to state park and narrow gauge railroad. Nice place to stay if you're in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2001
$38
This is one of my family's favorites.15 minutes from Santa Cruz in the red woods. This is a very pretty park. Several of the sites have individual touches and you are truly camping in the middle of the redwoods. The only negative was the single push button showers and no soap in the restrooms. They have a rec hall, ping pong, movies. All sites have wash tub fire rings. 3 trail heads venture out into the redwood one going down to a river beach. You can hear the train that goes from Roaring Camp down to the boardwalk. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com