224124 User submitted reviews online!!
Hidden Oaks Family Campground was rated 5 out of 10 based on 19 user reviews. Phone: (985) 345-9244
CGID3371

Hidden Oaks Family Campground

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   7   7   7   2   8   7   1   4   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2014
$20
Health Department must never visit as many Sewer connections had no cap on them. Fires are allowed, but no fire rings. People just built a fire where ever they wanted and then leave with hot embers in their fire. 50 amp sites are limited and Office Staff didn't know which were 50 and which weren't. Some sites can be used as pull-thurs, but clearance under the electric wires is limited. We would have pulled down the wires if we had tried. Okay for an over-night stop, but wouldn't stay any longer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2014
$20
We used PPA. The office staff was friendly and offered site for us to use. There was road noise but we were not bothered as we used our AC. The owners dog left a present on the grass for us at departure and the lawn man was cutting in circles around us, I guess we did not leave early enough for him. The electric and water were good. It was peaceful and pleasant. I do believe I would avoid weekends when locals use the beach area. There are many seasonal campers here. We did not use the pool or see any activities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$20
The price reflects PPA one night. The office gal was wonderful. She gave us different directions from I-12 that only was two miles off the highway. Much better than our GPS of 10 miles. Parking is on grass. The sites are all large. The stream is a wonderful addition. Even though it is only the end of March, we noticed mosquitoes. Big picnic area. We were only here one night so we did not have the opportunity to check out the pool or beach. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$20
Beautiful, woodsy, peacocks, walking trail along river, good overnight PPA park. Layout was confusing but office was helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2012
$44
I arrived here in a torrential downpour only to find that the sites i was given to choose from were actually located in a field. A field of mud. A field of mud covered in about 3 to 6 inches of water. I wasn't going to drive 25,000 pounds of rig into a muddy swamp, lay a 50 amp cord in the water then plug it into a very tenuous looking outlet. I doubt a tow truck could have gotten me out of there after "settling in" all night. I chose to ask for a refund which was happily and understandably provided to me. The staff was also helpful in providing directions to find my way back to the highway as this place is 10 miles back into the swamps of Hammond. I would not recommend any big rig stay at this park. It is more for campers or locals looking for a place to gather for the weekend. Friendly staff kept it from being a total disaster. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$40
PROs: Groups are allowed to park in a circle, or any arrangement within your area. Local/permanent residents areas are private on one end of the park. Not intermingled. Friendly owners/staff. Beach area very nice. Nice pavilion with a wonderful DJ most of the time we've been here. This is more of an adult campground and we love it since our kids are all grown. CONs: Very little TV reception and no Wi-Fi available. (We like to watch the weather reports). Pool is small. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$40
This was a nice park.It had many activities for everyone. We love the fact that a band came and played. All staff and other guests were very friendly. We will be back to this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2010
$35
I agree with previous posts. Yes, roads are terrible; they do somewhat help to slow down the speed of the golf carts that run rampant. There doesn’t seem to be any funds being used to update the campground. The bathhouses are dirty and bug infested; the one by the river even had what looked to be human waste on the walls. It seems to be mainly used by the daily visitors who come to swim in the river. In my option this is a safety hazard to the children at the campground. These people drive up, pay the fee and have full access of the campground without any record of names or license numbers. My main complaint however was the raw sewage that covered the ground and was literally bubbling out of the drains. Initially we thought the problem was isolated to the campsite next to us but by the end of the weekend the problem was with most of the row of sites. By the second night our puppies started vomiting; by the third we were all nauseous. It rained the third night so it was impossible for us to leave and the rain water mixed in with the sewage; gross does not come close to describing it. Once the rain cleared out the humidity kicked in and the smell was unmistakable. Our camper and everything in it will be disinfected before we can use it again. We will definitely not be camping at Hidden Oaks in the future, and I do not recommend it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2009
$35
"Hidden" is a great name for the location. Honestly it reminded us of the movie "Deliverance". The pathways and sites were very very bumpy. We had a pull through but it was so rough, we ended up backing out of the space. One night was more than enough for us. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2009
$40
My wife and her family grew up at this campground and once had a permanent site but the monthly fee is too high. Since we got our travel trailer, we've camped here a few times because it's fairly close to home. We will however, probably not return. First of all, the roads are HORRIBLE. I understand the river rises and floods the campground every so often but it doesn't look like any effort is put into patching or fixing the roads. We normally stay in the back by the river (they do have a nice walking trail to the river that can be enjoyed in the morning with a cup of coffee. Our dogs love it also.) Like other people have said, they have no concrete pads or any indication of exactly where they want you to park your RV. I guess if you have a group of RV's, this would be a good place for you because you could park them in a circle. Most sites do not have sewer that we ever saw. Watch for the golf carts: they are everywhere and I do not agree with the ages of the kids driving the carts. Some are way too young and they hang out at the beach with the carts until quiet time and then it looks like a parade with all of them blaring music as they come back to their sites. The back bathhouse is never clean and showers seem to be a breeding ground for mosquitos. I got bit more in the shower than I did at the campsite. The owners are nice. They have bingo's on Saturday and Sunday and either a band or the owner's husband, DJ's on Saturday nights. They do have a pool that we've never used and a huge open area for kids to play in. Overall, it's nice with the trees and shade and things to do but we feel since no money is pumped back into the park and the fees (especially on holidays) seem to keep going up, we'll stay at the more affordable and cleaner state parks instead. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$40
This is an excellent campground. They have some type of function every weekend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2008
$16
This is not the best campground we have ever stayed in. It has a lot of permanent trailers covered by roofs. Looked kind of shabby. The price was right. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
December 2007
$35
We heard bad things about this campground and decided to attend due to snow weekend. We had a great time in the snow and might attend for this weekend again; however will try not to come back for anything other than the snow. Our sites were not the greatest, and it looks like a trailer park. Most of the campers are regulars, and if you don't camp there regularly, you don't fit in. I got the feeling that this park welcomed the drinkers and party animals. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$30
We loved this campground. The kids really had a nice time too. Everybody was so friendly. The kids loved the creek. The nightly dances were also good too. We loved everything about this campground and will be back there this year to camp. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2006
$30
This campground is leaning toward the backwoods type camping. It was quiet when we were there, and it was comfortable. The sites are not paved. I was not dry or wet when we were there so it work out fine staying there. We were only staying there for 1 night on our way to Florida. I had to be very careful when parking because there are overhead power lines. I nearly raised my antenna onto one of there powerlines. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2006
$30
When I made my reservations I was told that the sites had sewer hook up at every site. To my despair there was none. They messed up on my reservations, sent money ahead of time. There are different zone's at the campground A-H. There is a 70+ lady, they told me that took my reservations and she messed up on lots of campers. She put us in zone F and moved us to zone A and spelled all of our names wrong. Well we decided to stay after a long drive. We camped as a group of 5 campers, it was a holiday so we had to stay a three night min. So at $30 + tax each night. Was not worth the trip. They do have a lots of things to do for the kids. If you like dust when it is dry, mud when it is wet,like to park anyway you like, and love loud noise. This is the park for you. Just remember not to let your kids run around with out shoes. They do not have fire rings. They let you burn anything. Some places that campers made fires, where still burning some had broken glass and nails and screws sticking up. So look close before you park. Well I guess you would know I will not camp there again. It was not for me. I like to get something for my money. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2006
$22
This is one of the worst campgrounds we have ever camped at. You basically are camping in the yard with electric (outdated) randomly placed. There are no "sites" per say, you just park on the grass (very unlevel) and plug in where you can find electric. No full hook ups however they just added on a few "sites" (again randomly placed) that have full hook ups but you have to lose an axle to get to them. The roads should be deemed hazardous because there is no cement anywhere and you literally need a 4 wheel drive to get through CG. The owners do not put one cent into this campground and they think the activities they plan make up for it. Well, it won't be long until someone sues them for a fire or losing an axle. Between ancient electrical boxes and holes the size of small car; something bad is surely going to happen. I would strongly advise you not to risk camping here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2005
$25
The sites are poorly marked. Outdated electrical hookups that need serious attention. Loud noise from other campers allowed all night, apparently no quiet hours enforced. Restrooms and bath houses are unclean. The campground does have some family oriented activities which could make this an attractive place if management would only sink some money back into the place. Unless noticable changes are made I cannot recommend this campground to anyone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2003
$25
This review is somewhat difficult because some things about this CG were great: planned activities, entertainment, beautiful white sand river to wade in, lovely live oak shade trees, plenty of room for kids to run and play. These areas would rate a 9/10. Other areas were not so good: bathrooms that were clean but always crowded and in desperate need of updating, uneven muddy dirt roads, some unlevel sites, poorly marked sites, outdated electrical service to sites. These issues would rate a 2/3, so overall my rating is 7. I would go back here. The seasonals were kept up nicely, the staff were friendly for the most part. They just need to pump some more money back into the CG and refurbish it a bit. Definitely more a family type place, not an "RV resort". They have a fun website that is kept fairly current with the events they sponsor. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com