214879 User submitted reviews online!!
Smithwoods RV Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 40 user reviews. Phone: (831) 335-4321
CGID338

Smithwoods RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
80
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$79



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   2   8   9   4   3   7   7   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2013
$79
This would be a great family-friendly park, with one very big exception. Getting to your campsite will require driving across at least four speed bumps that are not gradual and that are angled so that you can't go across with both wheels at once. That means very severe side-to-side rocking when you go in and when you go out. They're a nuisance for your car, but for your RV, they're a serious threat to items stored in the unit. They're in a beautiful redwood grove with views of the San Lorenzo River (no access, but you can look). Nice heated pool. Nice Laundromat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2013
$50
This park is quite shabby. Lots of permanently parked RV's in weedy sites. The restrooms were not cleaned once during our five night stay. Most of the sites are very tight. A plus: The staff was friendly and helpful. We'll stay elsewhere next time we visit the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$44
We love this park! The redwoods are plentiful and gorgeous. Its location close to many activities of the south coast make this a "plus". There are many permanent sites however they don't infringe on short-term campers. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. Only negative I can even think of is that a Wi-Fi repeater is necessary on the sites far from the office Wi-Fi location (i.e., site 133). We will continue to use this campground on a regular basis. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2012
$45
Great campground in the heart of the Redwoods. Nice big sites, needed a little leveling. Quiet area and beautiful park but a few miles drive to groceries, etc. Park hosts very friendly. Water, elec, cable good. Wi-Fi has hotspots so depending where your site is, works ok but intermittent. Would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2011
$53
We stayed at this park last Labor Day weekend. We returned because we were meeting two other couples. We did not like our site last year since it was extremely unlevel. We filled out a provided form when we left last year, and were told we would get one of two other sites. We were given the same site as last year. We were escorted to our site by a staff member in a golf cart. After showing us out site, he said, “boy it’s going to be tough to level.” Then he drove off. It took me five boards to level the trailer. I went to use the lower bathroom and the urinal was out of order and the floor was flooded The Wi-Fi was poor and intermittent. For $53.00 a night a level site, working Wi-Fi and a clean working bathroom should not be to be too much too ask. On the plus side, the coffee bar, wiffle ball tournament, and free BBQ were great. The best thing about the park is that it is close to numerous attractions. If the park wants to charge premium money, they should put the effort into making all the sites level and continue to improve their facilities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
December 2010
$38
We stayed in this park for eight days during Christmas week. The weather caused the cable and Wi-Fi to be iffy. Had we not called or gone to the office to report the problem nothing would have been done. Even though we were the only short time RVers there, the management did not seem interested in our comfort or care to follow-up on the cable and Wi-Fi problems. We did not use the showers because they were old and looked less than appealing. This park is one of the very first RV parks on the West Coast, is family owned and in the redwoods. However, it needs some repair and upkeep. We won't use it again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$53
Our site was a long gravel site, approximately 65 feet long. I needed 2 one inch boards and 3 half inch boards to level the low side of the trailer side to side. I was unable to hook up to Wi-Fi in my site. The site had a good mix of sun and shade. I especially liked the fire pits that were made from washing machine drums. Staff was very friendly and helpful in locating local attractions. Swimming pool and bathrooms were clean and well maintained. The laundry had three washers and three dryers but was only open from 1000 to 2100 hours. There are no discounts on weekends and holidays. The park has a great location to Santa Cruz, Roaring Camp Railroad, Mystery Spot, and Henry Cowell State Park. There are improvements to the park since last year but for the price charged, I expect the sites to be level and WI-Fi to work throughout the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$53
The sites are are well kept and a good size surrounded by large redwood trees. The campground’s excellent location, minutes from Santa Cruz, make up for it’s outdated amenities. It’s a nice and quiet park, great for a woodsy feeling home base for visiting the area. There are only 4 shower stalls for the entire campground, 2 for the men and 2 for the women. They were acceptably clean except for a lot of sand at times from people coming back from the beach. As for the amenities, the pool was clean, the game room as advertised on the website doesn’t exist, there are 2 pool tables for .50 per game but are badly in need of recovering, and the ping pong table had no net and was a weathered piece of plywood. The convenience store is basically non-existent and was limited to items contained in a small hutch but the town was close by. WI-FI worked at our site. Overall the park is nice and its location is great. We have no problem with staying here again in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$48
This is our 2nd stay at the park. We love this park. Quiet and friendly. Each site has a fire pit. About 10 minutes to Santa Cruz. Large redwoods. We will be back again!!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$42
This is a very neat and clean park, well maintained. Staff is friendly and helpful, took us to our site and helped guide our unit into the site. Restrooms and showers are clean with necessary supplies. Next to Henry Cowell SP, Smithwoods is full of majestic redwood trees and no poison oak, unlike the State Campgrounds. We stayed during the weekdays: camp was quiet and peaceful and we will be back again later this year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$43
We have been coming here for years, and we always enjoy our time here. This was the first time for Thanksgiving. The staff is always very friendly and accommodating. They served a wonderful breakfast to all us campers and had Santa Claus there to great the kids. The new owners have really cleaned up the campground and made it more inviting and family friendly. Will be back this summer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2009
$45
New owners have the worst service. Been going there for 15 years and now we are banned. Check in rude, even though we had group site told us who can park at which hook up. We've been here for 15 years, we have a system. Reserved 7 sites, said we can only park 4. Well then why did they take our $. Got mad at us when we had someone deliver wood, then mad again when later we went and bought our own. Hated our dogs, then why allow dogs? Said we were too loud during the day. Can't add wood to the fire after 10pm. We spent $1500 here and were treated like dogs. Went to reserve for 17th year and they said we are not welcome. Last year they were rude too, but not this bad. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$53
This was a very nice park: lots of shade, clean bathrooms, heated pool, laundry and full hookups. The staff was extremely helpful: escorted us to our site and helped guide me in. I didn't care for the location of the site they first reserved for me; they had no problem changing it for me. You should definitely follow the driving directions on their website if you have a bigger rig. I didn't give this site a ten because I like campgrounds a little further away from civilization and the sites were too close together for me. But it is a very well kept CG and very friendly staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$51
Some sites are VERY tight. We had to request a change because we could pull through, but once someone would be behind us, we would be stuck and unable to exit. It irritates me when campgrounds charge extra - we have 3 children and had to pay more. Also, they advertise WiFi - but it is VERY sketchy from most sites and I had to literally go sit by the hub at times. The management was very nice though and the kids loved the accommodations. We would come back here, but will choose our site wisely. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$54
The camp ground appeared to be about 1/2 full at the time. We had a pull through site with full hookups. It was quiet. Pool was great, nice and warm as it is heated. I think it might be a little tricky to get out of the pull-through had the park been full. About 10 minutes drive from Santa Cruz. We really enjoyed our stay here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$43
We have stayed at this park before and found the park pleasant to stay at. The sites are dirt and require some leveling, with a small concrete slab for each site. The bathrooms are clean, but the shower is not located very close to a majority of the sites. Park is among large redwood trees and most sites are shaded. WiFi does not work very well and is spotty at best. The staff are pleasant and helpful. We will stay at this park in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2009
$48
Unfriendly staff. Claims to have WI-FI, but after asking they tell you it "does not reach everywhere" and it was raining so "everyone is having trouble anyway". The latter should not prevent WI-FI from working. In addition, asked about the pool, and the reply was quite rude "it's closed for the season". We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2008
$43
I just arrived at Smithwoods this afternoon, Christmas Day 2008. What a terrific RV park. I had been concerned because of the other reviews that internet access would be spotty, so I asked for an RV space that had good access. And lo and behold my access is faster here than I have at home. It's a beautiful park with terrific redwoods. I'm looking forward to my 4 night stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$40
The good news is that you camp in very scenic locations right underneath the redwoods. And that's also the bad news. The roof of your RV is guaranteed to collect a healthy amount of leaves, needles, and twigs that will end up in all the nooks and crannies. None of the campsites are paved, and it's a challenge to keep the dirt from completely invading the inside of your RV as well. On the bright side, the staff is very friendly and helpful, and they will guide you to and help you park in your campsite. The bathrooms were clean but a bit cramped. Wi-Fi was inaccessible for the majority of our stay. The guest policy seems a bit overly restrictive (guests must pay and can only stay until 9pm). Overall, this is a very nice park in a great location with plenty of amenities nearby. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$43
Nice, older park nestled in the redwoods. Restrooms and showers were clean, but you must pass through the first shower room to get to the second shower (women's). Not much consideration for privacy in the planning of that area! Couldn't get WiFi. All in all, we did enjoy this park, as it's natural ambiance is wonderful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$45
This is a nice park. Quiet, pretty and in a great location. You are within walking distance to the trails in Henry Cowell Redwoods State Park, and a short scenic drive from Santa Cruz. The town of Felton is cute and has a few nice shops and a fabulous New Leaf Grocery Market. Don't be fooled by the idea of a river view site. You are up a steep embankment with a kind of ugly fence separating you from any real view of the river, but there are gorgeous, huge redwoods through the park, and it is scenic for that reason, if not for the river view. Be careful pulling out if this park's entrance. The curve in the road can be a bit tricky. Their Wi-Fi did not seem to work at all for us while we were here, and our Verizon air card did not really pick up any signal either. I would stay at this park again for it's great location. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$39
Very nice park with a terrific staff. WiFi is spotty but it is also free. Location is great. Agree with earlier post-do not drive Hwy 9 between the park and Santa Cruz. Tends to be misty in the a.m. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$40
Park was very nice and staff was very friendly. They provided free TV cable connections. Didn't try wifi since we were only there one night. Quite a few activities available for the kids in the area if you stayed for a few days. Steep incline in and out of facility but otherwise no issues. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$75
Loved this park. Right in the middle of the redwoods and next to a wonderful park. The sites are easy to access and most have privacy fences made of redwood. Gentleman met us and led us to our site. We asked about a truck wash before leaving for the day to go biking, and when we returned he had the name and address of a truck wash waiting for us. He was a very nice and hospitable manager. This park is about 10 minutes from Santa Cruz and about 25 minutes to San Jose. It was the perfect location for us. (PS: We ate at a recommended spot on the fisherman's wharf called Reva's. Very good food and lively atmosphere. ) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$48
They were extremely nice. The great grandson "Smith" offered to park our trailer & we accepted. Out site was nice & shady as we requested overlooking the San Lorenzo river. There are some that get full sun & are close. Be exact as to what you want. There are several miles of hiking trails that are a quick access from the RV park. The area is just beautiful & they keep it clean. They just started taking credit cards. Many people were booking for next year. We are returning in September 2009 for another great stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$50
This is a wonderful RV Park situated among the giant redwoods, truly a beautiful place. Park and facilities are well maintained, and the staff/owners could not be more helpful. We were here in early June and had the place almost to ourselves; July and August are the busy months. This park is a combination of fulltime mobile homes on one side of the park, and leased RV spaces and rental spaces on the other side of the park. Free Wi-Fi worked well at our space most of the time. Great park for rest and relaxation. Very pet friendly if you are responsible owners. For 5vers, entry driveway is steep; truck bedrail clearance could be an issue for some. We look forward to staying here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$40
We stayed mid-week at this park and it was so quite. The staff is very helpful and they guide you to your site. The grounds are very well kept and the restrooms while older are clean. There are a lot of year around/seasonal residents at this park but the owners handle it in such a way that it's not a negative. Towards the weekend a large group of seniors came to celebrate an anniversary. We had a great time and would stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$43
The staff that run this park are great. After checking they take you to your site and help back you in if you want. They couldn't be more friendly. Yes there are permanents and long term people, but their sites are very clean and everyone is extremely friendly. The grounds are kept very clean and the site's albeit are not completely level but it doesn't take much to get level. The bathroom's are older but spotless as are the shower's. They welcome pet's but don't have a specific place for the, all they ask is that where ever you take them to please clean up after them and I have to say I didn't see anything that had been left on the ground. Nice pool, didn't use it and a nice little rec room, also didn't use it. Henry Coe park is within a very short walking distance and there are numerous trails to walk. Use the web site direction's, Hwy 9 is very curvy. We saw rig's of every size there. Overall this is a wonderful park, you feel safe and relaxed. We look forward to staying there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$45
I previously reviewed this park a couple of years ago. Still love it, but just wanted to add one thing: they now have Wi-Fi, which worked great the whole time we were there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$39
We liked everything about this RV park. It's been in the same family since 1920. Very friendly and helpful. Beautiful Redwood trees throughout the park and area. We would rate it higher if it had WiFi and 50 amp. service. We'll go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$47
Great park, in a beautiful setting. Would have given a 10, but they don't take credit cards, and some of the sites are small. Lots of permanent residents, which cuts down on the road traffic. Great for allowing your kids to ride bikes on the street. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$47
This was a great find for us. When another campground ruined our reservation, we were able to find this campsite at the last minute. They were very accommodating. The site is literally situated among a towering redwood forest. The sites were level, gravel, and very spacious. The sites were also secluded. It was a busy weekend for them, they were nearly filled to capacity, but it didn’t appear that way. The park was nice and quiet. Their pool is large, and they also have lots for kids to do (pool tables, rec-room, basketball/volleyball, etc). If they had a hot tub and accepted credit/debit cards I would give them a perfect 10. Their location is perfect for a base to drive into San Francisco, Santa Cruz, and Monterey. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$52
Pretty place. Right in the redwoods and adjacent to Henry Cowell State Park. Paved roads and gravel sites, some with concrete pads. Park is clean. Rates in the Montery Bay area are very high. Our site was to small to park our tow vehicle in as were the sites of others near us. Many empty sites that would have been more appropriate assignments. Bathrooms old and dingy. The only showers are somewhat away from the camping area, up the hill, by the pool. Management was pleasant and new owners are said to be planning improvements. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$43
Nice, quiet campground on the San Lorenzo River. Plenty of shady sites. We went with a group and stayed in "The Point". This was a level wide open area for different sized trailers. Unlike another submission, we had Cingular service. Friendly staff, close to town and services. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$40
Very pretty campground -- lots of redwood trees, right by a river. Shady spots are available -- some are shadier than others. Gravel surface in each spot, which is a plus when it rains. Quiet, well-maintained, well-managed. The staff are friendly and competent. About half of the park is occupied by full-timers in well-maintained trailers -- they are very friendly to campers. Access roads were fairly wide and easy to navigate. The entrance to the park off of Highway 9 is a little steep -- take it slow and put it into lowest gear. If possible, request a spot near the river -- those are the quietest sites. The highway is not too heavily travelled, but once in a while a pack of motorcycles will rumble past. We stayed at this park for four nights -- each day we drove our SUV to a different state park for hiking and mountain biking, coming back each evening to the trailer. Be sure to bring a sweater to the Santa Cruz area -- evenings are often chilly, even in the summer. The park provides fire pits [like large perforated wash tubs] for each site -- it is very pleasant to sit outside in the evenings under the redwoods by a fire. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2005
$36
This park is in a good location and is nestled in redwood trees. However, the sites are small and it is a little crowded. The people were friendly. I camped here with two adults and two Boston Terriers in a Class A Holiday Rambler 32'. I would come back, but not until I try some of the other campgrounds in the area to try and get a larger, more private site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$38
WARNING - NO CHARGE CARDS We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2005
$32
We love this RV park, and since it is only an hour from our home in the Bay Area, we go there often. It is very quiet during the off season (October-April). The owners are very friendly and helpful, and the setting is beautiful (in the redwoods). There are permanent residents, but their sites are very well kept. I want to point out two things, however: they only have 30 amp electricity (not 50) and, as stated in the previous review, they do not take credit cards. This is what keeps me from giving it a "10" rating. It should also be noted (and this is not the fault of the park) that we could not get any Cingular Wireless service. However, there were people using their cell phones, so there were other wireless services in range. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$34
$30 per night with AAA (or Good Sam) discount. Very nice park with lots of big redwoods.Very friendly staff. Let us stay for late checkout on Sunday without any fuss. They have a Mobile Home area and there are quite a few permanent trailers there, but they are pretty well kept. Nice and close to beach and lots of other activities in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2001
$34
Excellent redwood shaded park in a beautiful setting on a stream. Another park right next door, Cotillion Gardens is also very nice but I liked the National Park type layout of Smithwoods. A place where you can relax under huge redwoods and forget about your daily work routine. A destination type park (you would specifically go to camp at this park for more than one or two nights, not an overnighter). Would definitely go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com